View Full Version : Discussion: JPA Interview of 31st till 5th April (please read before you post)

30-03-2009, 11:25 PM
This thread is specially allocated for to discuss about interview being held from 1st to 6th april. I realize although thread on JPA exist, but there are too many irrelevant details which takes a long time to skim through.

In this post, please be reminded you're only allowed to tell your experience on this year's interview and the group discussion topic. Please do make this post useless by posting about your interview venue or date to find friends. Keep it simple and less cluttered.

Friendly reminder.

And as for the moderator, I'm sorry for creating a new thread, but I've left no other option. We need to know how the interview scheme has changed this year to help the rest of the candidates for the subsequent dates starting from 31st.

wyeyip
31-03-2009, 11:07 PM
eek.. nobody posting anything eh..

sarahcsm
01-04-2009, 12:12 AM
Venue: Kepala Batas
Time: 4.15 - 5.45 pm

To everyone who applied for medicine/pharmacy/dentistry:

Here's some stuff which happened during my interview:
a) They'll first ask you to introduce yourself by elaborating on yourself, family background, school, SPM/PMR/UPSR results, co curricular activities (maybe try to add stuff which can't be proved with certs), why you want to be a doctor/dentist/pharmacist, your country and why. Be sure to be prepared on the reasons of country, cause for my group, they kind of really drilled us on that part. They'll ask you things like why not another country. They'll also ask you if you would accept another not so reputable country eg. Indonesia / Russia.

Language: Eng/BM

b) Next will be stating your opinion on a certain topic, and then discussing the same or a different topic with your group members. Say everything you want until they stop you =) In a group discussion, if you really can't think of anything else to say, try to conclude the discussion.

As for my group, we had to state our opinion as well as discuss on this topic:

If YOUTUBE was to be removed from the internet, how would you feel?

Language: Eng/BM

All the girls in my group wore a baju kurung, and the interviewers were kind of pleased with that fact. So, baju kurung people =) Not that other formal wear is not acceptable, but I think the majority wears baju kurung. All the guys at that venue wore a formal wear. Black pants and long sleeve collared shirt. Some wore their school uniforms, but it's not really suitable, i think.

The interviewers are looking for fluency of language, maturity of thought, and they want to know who you really are. Usually, they'll tell you things like:

Don't be disappointed if you don't get the scholarship.

But don't take that to heart. They're just like warning you, so that you don't complain to the press / JPA if you don't get it =)

All the best to all those who have yet to be interviewed!! And to all those who have already completed the interview, don't worry, it wouldn't help if you did anyway =) Hope all of ya get the scholarship!

01-04-2009, 01:11 AM
btw, why there are 2 threads with same title?
it's confusing...

dreamer1210
01-04-2009, 01:42 AM
btw, why there are 2 threads with same title?
it's confusing...

yalo.. now i realized it really had double post. technical error?

technicolor
01-04-2009, 06:05 PM
-THE DETAILS-
Date: April 1, 2009
Session: 2 pm
Venue: MBI Ipoh
Course: Science
Attire: Plain white shirt (kemeja), black slack, belt, a grey necktie :P
Panel 2, Group 2

-THE CHRONOLOGY-
1.00 pm
I arrived MBI quite early, because one of the seniors on Recom.org asked us to make friends. Once I entered the building, I saw a lot of people gathered around. And, obviously most of them look so pandai and intelligent. Most of them are chinese lah, not many melayu. Perhaps most of Malays are applied for MARA instead of JPA, I guess.

1.10 pm
We're heading to the Level 2. Then, one of the staffs asked us to check out our names on a noticeboard. Make sure you remember your panel and number as well. Then, we lined up for registration. After that, they asked us to arrange our documents in the clear folder based on the checklist and sit according to our panels.

1:50 pm
The first group were still in the interviewing room. Yeah, I made some new friends there. My group consists of 5 applicants, 3 of them are chinese (all girls) and one of them is an indian boy. We also have made some assumptions about the panels/judges.

"Panel ni makan orang kot"
"They must have asked difficult questions lor"
"Probably they are fooling the interviewees lah. Today is April 1st kan?"
"Mati lah kita"

3.30 pm
One of the staffs there (looks like my cousin) gave us some tag numbers to wear. I got number 2. T.T
Then, she brought us to the interviewing room which most likely looks like a bilik gerakan mesyuarat sekolah. There are three female panels waiting for us. Two of them are Malays and the other one is Indian.

3.35 pm
The interview began. They asked us to self-introduce ourselves in Malay. Then, the discussion starts (in English). We got easy topics, I guess, but I still couldn't do my best. :'-(

The topics are:
1. Consumption of junk food among children.
2. Online social networking among teenagers.

I did it badly. I have no comments on this. *bigcry*
What I can say is, the topics are different for every panels/groups. So, I think there's no way for you to be 100% prepared for this interview. One more thing, memorizing doesn't help. It's a JPA interview, not an ULBS presentation.

4.15 pm
The interview ended. :)

So, for all next JPA interviewees, no need to worry. Just be yourself and speak out loud. Good luck.

Regards,
Rudy.

01-04-2009, 06:12 PM
Moderator Note: Redundant thread - Locked. Please use the other similarly named thread.