View Full Version : Uni / Col Lecturers

fangirLING
31-03-2009, 12:27 AM
Hi people,

May I know more about lecturers in any Uni you're in? Do they speak fluently and communicate well with all the students? Mostly foreign or local?

Please reply with the Uni you're in and answer my questions.

Thanks in advance!

Athersin
01-06-2009, 10:02 AM
I had completed my pre u study at kolej matrikulasi pp...one of the drawback with the lecturers is they speak malay, which is sometimes hardly understand by most of the non-malays.

Why should they speak malay since the subjects are fully in english medium?

Gov should consider training them to improve their spoken n written english if we really wan to upgrade our local uni..

Do the lecturers and professors at IPTA speak english while giving lecture? Pls..i dun want malay language to be heard around the lecture hall anymore, is fine to talk a bit by using malay but since the subjects that we learn are in eng, why not use more english to teach?

i am alrdy glad if they can use 70% english, 30% malay to lecture, cos i noe they shouldnt be blamed for their inproficiency in eng.

Cadence_hope
06-06-2009, 08:52 PM
Hi people,

May I know more about lecturers in any Uni you're in? Do they speak fluently and communicate well with all the students? Mostly foreign or local?

Please reply with the Uni you're in and answer my questions.

Thanks in advance!

At INTI, all of the lecturers here are very fluent in English speaking. I believe most of them had at least one master degree or higher. Majority are local people graduating with an oversea degree while some of them are foreign..

SapphireDragon
06-06-2009, 09:16 PM
I had completed my pre u study at kolej matrikulasi pp...one of the drawback with the lecturers is they speak malay, which is sometimes hardly understand by most of the non-malays.

Why should they speak malay since the subjects are fully in english medium?

Gov should consider training them to improve their spoken n written english if we really wan to upgrade our local uni..

Do the lecturers and professors at IPTA speak english while giving lecture? Pls..i dun want malay language to be heard around the lecture hall anymore, is fine to talk a bit by using malay but since the subjects that we learn are in eng, why not use more english to teach?

i am alrdy glad if they can use 70% english, 30% malay to lecture, cos i noe they shouldnt be blamed for their inproficiency in eng.
Also in KMPP. Totally agree with you. But En.Muzaidi (Chem) is the only one who speaks less Malay than others.

inadilemma
06-06-2009, 09:30 PM
in kmperlis, almost all of the lecturers during lectures and tutorials use Malay as their main teaching medium although the the syllabus is in English.

so, i really pity my friends who are still in kmperlis because they have to study on their own most of the time. Lectures and tutorials seem useless because students never pay full attention. What is the point of learning a subject in Malay when all the books and examinations are written in english???

of course they do use english, but only maybe 20%. Even my chemistry lecturer claimed that she will only use english for keywords and her lecture will be all conducted in Malay. I remember her saying, "saya tahu Bahasa Inggeris kamu baik, tetapi saya pasti kamu tidak dapat menandingi pengetahuan saya dalam Kimia". =.="
Imagine a chemistry teacher who can't even spell SULPHUR correctly and instead, she spelled SULFUR.

the same problem goes to physics and chemistry...haizzz.

Fortunately, only my english tutorial teacher can speak fluent english..

i really feel that the government should do something drastic to correct this by hiring lecturers with the relevent qualifications and the ability to speak fluently.

06-06-2009, 09:55 PM
Imagine a chemistry teacher who can't even spell SULPHUR correctly and instead, she spelled SULFUR.
Actually "sulphur" and "sulfur" are both correct, sulfur is American spelling, while sulphur is British spelling.

cantdecide
06-06-2009, 11:12 PM
i just finished my matriculation studies at KMK.
i think i can say that almost all of the lecturers there speak English when teaching.
at least, they don't fully use Malay, except when chit-chatting with students.lol.
so, i don't really have any problem during my time there. :D

Athersin
07-06-2009, 02:46 PM
i just finished my matriculation studies at KMK.
i think i can say that almost all of the lecturers there speak English when teaching.
at least, they don't fully use Malay, except when chit-chatting with students.lol.
so, i don't really have any problem during my time there. :D

i don't really like them use Malay all the time, i suppose most of the lecturers in gov school , colleges and uni tend to speak more malay than eng. this is very very true, i comes from SMK, then matriculation and now USM(i am going to see whether USm hire lecturers or professors who hardly speak english)..not because i am westernised and support West culture instead of our BAhasa Kebangsaan, you see, how china ppl learn english though it is not their mother language.they r so dedicated and wish to somehw master this globalised language..lingua franca.

Gov should really really review on how they train and hire lecturers in matric.

My frens at various matric colleges reflected to me that some lecturers refuse to use English in their lectures and the students also tend to speak in their respective mother tongue.IF this is the case,I wonder how would Malaysia education system improve and make their name in the international stage.No wonder there are getting more students choosing private universities or going abroad.:wink

fangirLING
11-06-2009, 07:11 PM
Yea, I agreed with you athersin. I find it so hard to understand too when it comes to the subject which has to be taught in english. They explained everything in BM. I find it so annoying & ridiculuos. saying that their english isnt gd enough. If you're not willing to try, you're not gonna improve yourself.

i find those teachers selfish and irresponsible. They're now teaching and guiding us, the young ones who might be the future leaders in the country. They're not putting an effort in this, how do we improve the system in the country? Sighs ***

Anyways thanks everyone for replying this thread. I would love to hear more on other unis and also cols.

yuan_renn
11-06-2009, 07:20 PM
Haha, they're not being selfish or irresponsible, fangirLING. Yeah, they should try to upgrade themselve. But, if they're trying to make themselve teach in English while their english is not that good, the outcome might be worse:P

Young
11-06-2009, 07:25 PM
I did my Pre-University (AusMat) at Sunway College last year and I am full of praise for the lecturers. They speak in perfect English and they know their field very well. A few students in my batch had poor command of English but the lecturers did not give up on them. Instead, they translated the course content into BM/Chinese so that it's easier for them to understand.

Communication/voicing-up of opinions in class is highly encouraged and more often than not, intellectual debates which happen in class turn out to be very motivational and beneficial.

The lecturers are all Malaysians with Masters degrees as their minimum qualifications. Quite a few of them are pursuing PhD studies too.

I'm currently studying at the University of Western Australia but since it's a foreign institution, I doubt it'll be relevant in this thread so I'll leave it out unless requested. :)

yuan_renn
11-06-2009, 07:34 PM
I did my Pre-University (AusMat) at Sunway College last year and I am full of praise for the lecturers. They speak in perfect English and they know their field very well. A few students in my batch had poor command of English but the lecturers did not give up on them. Instead, they translated the course content into BM/Chinese so that it's easier for them to understand.

Communication/voicing-up of opinions in class is highly encouraged and more often than not, intellectual debates which happen in class turn out to be very motivational and beneficial.

The lecturers are all Malaysians with Masters degrees as their minimum qualifications. Quite a few of them are pursuing PhD studies too.

I'm currently studying at the University of Western Australia but since it's a foreign institution, I doubt it'll be relevant in this thread so I'll leave it out unless requested. :)
Haha, glad to know that my upcoming college is that nice. Good luck to you Mr. Senior:)

Athersin
12-06-2009, 09:39 AM
Haha, they're not being selfish or irresponsible, fangirLING. Yeah, they should try to upgrade themselve. But, if they're trying to make themselve teach in English while their english is not that good, the outcome might be worse:P
i dont blame them for their inprofiency..Their eng is not good has ady become the truth but the most frustrating thing is that They dun wan to take any initiative to improve and converse in eng!:wink

I agree that translating languages into the a more understandable mother tongue language will benefited and make us more comprehend to the contents and the msg well. But lets see, they converse in malay-english.bahasa rojak..they translated malay into eng in a rather annoying way..:notrust

i really envy those in private institutions and overseas who can enjoy the very encouraging and conducive environment to study and conversed well in english.

12-06-2009, 08:38 PM
i agree that sometimes although GOV does provide some incentives to them for brushing up their english languages, they seem like don't care about that and instead use the money in things that are unrelated .

I am not trying to say anything bad about the matric lecturers but they should know best how are they going to enhance themselves in order to nurture more aspiring and caliber students in future.