View Full Version : Will Malaysia win a medal at the olympics?

CyberJaya
30-05-2004, 09:53 PM
Who is Malaysias hopes to win a medal in the olympics?

30-05-2004, 10:13 PM
Badminton players?

30-05-2004, 10:25 PM
any medals? or juz gold?

SpRInG
30-05-2004, 10:43 PM
i think definitely not.....
malaysia so lauya

chillout
30-05-2004, 11:00 PM
As Malaysians, I don't think we should be so negative about Malaysia's performance in the sports' arena. Don't lah kutuk Malaysia lauya all... don't forget... u are as good as criticizing your very self... =P

I have faith in Malaysia!

30-05-2004, 11:05 PM
I think we should look at not only medal. Medal, ie means top 3 in the world for an event. But should that be the end goal? Getting a medal in Olympics. What good could that be for the society? Perhaps help create awareness for the sports, spur those in the sports to try harder...

In fact, qualifying into Olympic games is a good step ahead. Getting qualified means those athletes are among the best.For some sports, like badminton, where we are traditionally been pretty strong, aiming for a medal will be great! Perhaps, the qualification of our women double could be an inspiration to try harder. They are among the top 20.

For Malaysians that qualify in other sports, for instance archery, look at 10 years ago, we can't even get a single medal in SEA Games. Today, we have a monopoly of gold medals in SEA Games and 2 of our athletes qualify for olympics. Is it an improvement?

CyberJaya
31-05-2004, 12:37 AM
I'm talking about any medal? I think Badminton is the main hope. There might be someone else with a chance? If there is anyone then enlighten us.

31-05-2004, 02:31 AM
only badminton stands a chance.

but i agree with chenchow, i think qualifying for the finals or even semis (or just generally doing well) would be more meaningful (not to mention realistic).

i think the only msian athlete, besides badminton players, that is world class is lim keng liat@<hidden> lim, the berkeley-based swimmer. i highly doubt that even he would come close to winning a medal.

so badminton remains our only hope, unless i'm missing something.

31-05-2004, 06:27 AM
Chef-de-mission says malaysians getting better (http://www.emedia.com.my/Current_News/NST/Wednesday/Sport/20040526075547/Article/indexb_html). i agree.

if only our hockey team could have made it.

31-05-2004, 07:41 AM
winning a medal is a dream that still far away for malaysian.
it is great if malaysian can get a better results in olympic.

31-05-2004, 01:26 PM
this is our problem,
if we dont win, we'll give a million excuses. if kalah bola, they say orang putih badan besar. if kalah lumba lari, orang hitam kaki lagi panjang. sometimes they blame the judges/referee/umpire for not being fair. losers.

u know what, maybe it's not their fault that they are like that. that IS our people maybe. i blame the politicians. when they didn't win, they always blame the other party for "menyebarkan dakyah", main kotor or something. remember Dato sri Hamid othman, and how he dealt with his defeat last two elections.

that's just the way we are.

karimaka
28-07-2004, 03:29 PM
i hope they do

tree007
28-07-2004, 06:02 PM
blaming other factors is a norm in sports... great example.. David Beckham.. "the earth moved... ".. haha...

anyhow.. badminton is a sure bet for medals.. i have hope in chong wei.. yeap.. nto choon hann, hafiz or whoeva.. but chong wei.. hes my current fav. dun ask me y.. i love to watch him play.... but as for the target set by badminton team.. i dun think they can make it.. 'cos they aimed for at least 1 gold... let's c... signles... maybe gua.... doubles... our hopes on the so-lou pair of tan fook- wan wah.. haha... they go out 1st round also no suprise.. :P

go chong wei!

28-07-2004, 06:45 PM
at least beckham knows his science....

anyway, i think the Malaysia team will be able to get a bronze.... pls.... from any sports.... but of course, badminton has the highest chance!!!

28-07-2004, 07:16 PM
well, i think anything's possible....

BUT...if u guys r talking abt a gold medal...maybe...maybe not...

deekay
29-07-2004, 12:14 AM
Badminton obviously stands a good chance if they hold up.

Keng Liat in swimming is a possibility (he ranked in the top 10).

Another is Josiah Ng in cycling (who is ranked top 6 in his event) but he has been injured the past few months.

03-04-2005, 06:28 AM
With the greater emphasis on sports by the government, what do you guys think about the state of sports in Malaysia over the next few years.

One good news from our sports fraternity, comes from our Junior World Cup hockey team which participated in the 6-nation invitational competition, as a prelude towards the Junior World Cup.
Malaysia has been able to beat Korea, India, as well as England, while held Germany and Pakistan to stay unbeaten after the group matches. We will play Pakistan in the final.

Hopefully this momentum will spur our nation on, especially since this young hockey team with an average of 20, will mature and eventually step into our national team soon.

03-04-2005, 02:47 PM
I seems that the most likely medal for Malaysia would come from Badminton (if we ever get a medal). I wonder why our badminton squad is so inconsistent? They would be so hebat in one season and suddenly (especially during Thomas Cup), lose steam...

We might get a better chance at a medal if they include Sepak Takraw into the Olympics. And bowling!!

nxwen
03-04-2005, 05:19 PM
Definitely badminton has the biggest chance to land us a medal. But the shuttlers are really inconsistent.

We would stand a chance too if they include squash. Ong Beng Hee and Nicol David are not bad. They managed a silver in Commonwealth Games right? (if i'm not mistaken)

Anduril
03-04-2005, 10:05 PM
I certainly hope Malaysia will get some medals in year 2008 in Beijing. After all, money always has its way to inspire and spur on people.. :wink: