View Full Version : Discussion: JPA computer science/IT/ICT 2009

coolwx
04-04-2009, 05:33 PM
curious to know if there are anyone else applying or studying this course under JPA ~ FREE TO DISCUSS ABOUT IT :nod

any senior studying CS/IT/ICT can gave some tips here?

Speeddemon
05-04-2009, 09:54 PM
I'm applying for computer science too...but i don't see anyone applying for computer science this year except me lol

XterNalz
06-04-2009, 04:55 PM
Anymore computer science applicant ? OR any of your friends applied for this ?

lesto
07-04-2009, 04:27 PM
Which pre-u programme will we study if we get the JPA scholarship for computer science? A-levels or ADTP? Which college will we be sent to in Malaysia?

XterNalz
07-04-2009, 05:10 PM
Which pre-u programme will we study if we get the JPA scholarship for computer science? A-levels or ADTP? Which college will we be sent to in Malaysia?
Are you a JPA computer science applicant?? JPA computer science scholars will be sent to Inti Nilai for AUP.

lesto
07-04-2009, 09:53 PM
Are you a JPA computer science applicant?? JPA computer science scholars will be sent to Inti Nilai for AUP.

Nope. I'm only asking on behalf of my friend who is a comp science applicant. I'm applying for pharmacy...

XterNalz
07-04-2009, 10:01 PM
Nope. I'm only asking on behalf of my friend who is a comp science applicant. I'm applying for pharmacy...
I see. How did he do in his SPM? I'm from Melaka too, SMJK Yok Bin.

lesto
08-04-2009, 01:17 AM
I see. How did he do in his SPM? I'm from Melaka too, SMJK Yok Bin.

Oh i see. Are you an SPM leaver or a scholarship recipient already? I and my friend are (or were...) from SMKGB. He scored 9 1As and 2 2As.

jsonlau
08-04-2009, 06:23 PM
Hey guys, I'm also a JPA Computer Science/IT applicant. Now have to wait until third week of May. =)

ClearConscience
22-04-2009, 06:36 PM
I'm a JPA scholar for Computer Science/ICT programme. My advice to those who have applied for this course, please do not accept the offer if you do not really know what computer science is all bout. It is a wrong perception that good computer users(end-users) will perform well in Computer Science field. You might think that daily computer usage is an extremely easy task for you but it has NOTHING to do with Computer Science at all. I'm a frequent computer user(at least 6 hours per day) and a heavy gamer, my relatives and friends tend to address me as a "computer pro" but I'm a little quite regret of my decision to take the JPA offer. I do not find Computer Science interesting and often feel inferior compared to my colleagues. However due to the responsibility as a JPA scholar and pressure from parents, I made a promise to myself that I would not give up at any cost(at least completing the course). Sometimes, I think that I might become a better engineer if I opt for engineering course at local university. You have to identify your interest well. Please do not accept the offer on an impulse just because it will lead you to quality USA education. There is a huge cost for the quality education, you need to endure the immense amount of stress when you are studying in the most influential country in the world. Furthermore, the USA university application procedure is pathetically tedious. PLEASE DO THINK WELL BEFORE MAKING ANY DECISION. My two cents. Sorry that I'm not able to disclose my identity if not JPA will hunt me down.

Speeddemon
23-04-2009, 03:18 PM
I'm a JPA scholar for Computer Science/ICT programme. My advice to those who have applied for this course, please do not accept the offer if you do not really know what computer science is all bout. It is a wrong perception that good computer users(end-users) will perform well in Computer Science field. You might think that daily computer usage is an extremely easy task for you but it has NOTHING to do with Computer Science at all. I'm a frequent computer user(at least 6 hours per day) and a heavy gamer, my relatives and friends tend to address me as a "computer pro" but I'm a little quite regret of my decision to take the JPA offer. I do not find Computer Science interesting and often feel inferior compared to my colleagues. However due to the responsibility as a JPA scholar and pressure from parents, I made a promise to myself that I would not give up at any cost(at least completing the course). Sometimes, I think that I might become a better engineer if I opt for engineering course at local university. You have to identify your interest well. Please do not accept the offer on an impulse just because it will lead you to quality USA education. There is a huge cost for the quality education, you need to endure the immense amount of stress when you are studying in the most influential country in the world. Furthermore, the USA university application procedure is pathetically tedious. PLEASE DO THINK WELL BEFORE MAKING ANY DECISION. My two cents. Sorry that I'm not able to disclose my identity if not JPA will hunt me down.

I understand what you mean. I applied for jpa's computer science and am now waiting for the results. I, too, am a computer addict and have been regarded as a computer pro like you. I'm very sure that i like computers, but since your advice is to reconsider taking computer science, what do you suggest so that we can evaluate whether we are really suitable for this course?

XterNalz
25-04-2009, 03:33 PM
I fully agree with this. However, I have browsed through the curriculum of Computer Science from several reputable USA universities and found that Computer Science is not that dull. I guess it is fine for me.

List of JPA Computer Science applicants (as far as I know)
1. Speeddemon
2. jsonlau (10A1s, 1A2[Physics], 1B4[BC])
3. coolwx
4. shoujo_sm
5. Reonadawn (11A1s, 1A2[BM], 1B4[BC])
6. hazeem_1925 (5A1s, 4A2s, 1B3)
7. XterNalz (me) (9A1s, 1A2[EST] and 1B3[BC])
8. non-recommer (10A1s and 1B3[BM])
9. non-recommer (9A1s and 2A2s[BC & Sejarah])
10. non-recommer (8A1s, 1A2[Moral] and 1B3[BC])
11. non-recommer (8A1s and 2A2s)
12. non-recommer (8A1s and 2A2s)

*For recommers that applied for JPA computer science, if you do not mind that I disclose your SPM result here, please PM me. Please inform me also if you know anyone applied for this course. - to be added to the list.

Speeddemon
25-04-2009, 07:22 PM
I fully agree with this. However, I have browsed through the curriculum of Computer Science from several reputable USA universities and found that Computer Science is not that dull. I guess it is fine for me.

List of JPA Computer Science applicants (as far as I know)
1. Speeddemon
2. jsonlau
3. coolwx
4. XterNalz (me) (9A1s, 1A2 and 1B3[BC])
5. non-recommer (10A1s and 1B3[BM])
6. non-recommer (9A1s and 2A2s[BC & Moral])
7. non-recommer (8A1s and 2A2s)

*For recommers that applied for JPA computer science, if you do not mind that I disclose your SPM result here, please PM me. Please inform me also if you know anyone applied for this course. - to be added to the list.

I agree with XterNalz...the curriculum actually sounds fun to me...

shoujo_sm
25-04-2009, 07:29 PM
I am also apply for ICT. Newbie in Recom.

Speeddemon
25-04-2009, 07:31 PM
I am also apply for ICT. Newbie in Recom.

Welcome to recom :))

I guess we'll have 8 applicants (that we know) that applied for computer science now

XterNalz
25-04-2009, 08:54 PM
Welcome to recom :))

I guess we'll have 8 applicants (that we know) that applied for computer science now
Updated..now with 9 applicants. :)

jsonlau
26-04-2009, 10:27 PM
Thanks clearconscience for the experience. I'm aware that I'm not choosing IT for the fact that I like using the computer softwares or the Internet. Plus, the job potentialities for IT is decreasing. I really like to know how does the datas being formed and processed everytime we give commands to the pc. I really want to know how codes like </a> gives what commands in what ways. And the list goes on.

hazeem_1925
29-04-2009, 01:11 AM
Hi guyz......I m comp science applicant too. I m curious to know the result...

My spm result is 5 A1, 4 A2, 1 B3............=)

Speeddemon
29-04-2009, 12:10 PM
Hi guyz......I m comp science applicant too. I m curious to know the result...

My spm result is 5 A1, 4 A2, 1 B3............=)

Hi...same here...everyone praying hard to get jpa...good luck to all of us :))

XterNalz
30-04-2009, 06:21 PM
Now with 11. Anymore applicant ??

Speeddemon
01-05-2009, 10:44 PM
Now with 11. Anymore applicant ??

XterNalz, just for ur info, i heard that my classmate applied for the scholarship too...computer science...i'm not sure of his results and i don't know whether he's a recommer...just for ur info...:))

Reonadawn
06-05-2009, 09:20 PM
Im a Recom newbie here. Also applied for computer science, SPM 11 A1, 1 A2 (BM), 1 B4 (BC)

XterNalz
09-05-2009, 12:15 AM
Mine is JPA IPTS. Besides Speeddemon, anyone else got overseas programme?

jsonlau
09-05-2009, 01:21 PM
Me! I got it! Woohoo!

Speeddemon
09-05-2009, 05:37 PM
Congratulations to those who got jpa computer science....to those who didn't get it, dun lose hope....try appealing and u might be successful in securing it....good luck and all the best =)

yuan_renn
09-05-2009, 08:49 PM
Congratulation for those who got the scholarship, yay!!!

Reonadawn
09-05-2009, 09:10 PM
I didn't get it :(... Anyone has tips on how to write a good appeal?

gundamseedw
10-05-2009, 09:45 PM
i got offered as well, any other applicant got it too ? melaka ?

XterNalz
10-05-2009, 09:55 PM
i got offered as well, any other applicant got it too ? melaka ?
I know who you are, from LYN?? Is yours overseas programme ?

nelsonyap48
10-05-2009, 11:39 PM
I'm from LYN too, got the offer to overseas for IT!!!

SPM results: 8A1s, 1A2, 1B3(chinese)
KOKO: 7.5

Speeddemon
10-05-2009, 11:47 PM
I'm from LYN too, got the offer to overseas for IT!!!

SPM results: 8A1s, 1A2, 1B3(chinese)
KOKO: 7.5

Congratz.....by the way, how do u know ur cocu marks for jpa?

nelsonyap48
10-05-2009, 11:50 PM
Congratz.....by the way, how do u know ur cocu marks for jpa?

Actually i got the marks from the school(koko teacher), the teacher print it out in a certificate and gave me so that i can use it to apply scholarship!

hazeem_1925
11-05-2009, 12:01 AM
hey...i got offered to. thanks to jpa... I think they will send us to intec to do ADFP n will send us to USA...By the way, who already receive the offer letter???When did u receive??? thanks

Speeddemon
11-05-2009, 12:16 AM
Actually i got the marks from the school(koko teacher), the teacher print it out in a certificate and gave me so that i can use it to apply scholarship!

Oo...i believe it's ur cgpa for cocu...i thought it was ur cocu marks for jpa....sorry my bad :P

hey...i got offered to. thanks to jpa... I think they will send us to intec to do ADFP n will send us to USA...By the way, who already receive the offer letter???When did u receive??? thanks

Congratz...i haven't received the offer letter...according to seniors, we will receive it in few days time....depending on the courier system...

nelsonyap48
11-05-2009, 12:16 AM
Well, i heard alot saying we will be sent to INTI nilai wor....

gundamseedw
11-05-2009, 12:17 AM
ADFP ? i tot A-level

Speeddemon
11-05-2009, 12:19 AM
Well, i heard alot saying we will be sent to INTI nilai wor....

There are two unis actually....one is intec, the other one is inti nilai...most will be sent to inti nilai....hope i'll enter inti nilai too :))

by the way, how u all check the KOKO mark ?

no idea...i heard that it depends on ur position in uniform bodies and societies and also ur participation in competitions....the cgpa is not used....

XterNalz
11-05-2009, 12:19 AM
There are two unis actually....one is intec, the other one is inti nilai...most will be sent to inti nilai....hope i'll enter inti nilai too :))
The bad thing about Inti College is that they will not make any preparation class for SAT 2 while INTEC does.

gundamseedw
11-05-2009, 12:29 AM
erm .. SAT2 .. wat is that, isn't it the same 1 year Pre-u in Malaysia den next year onward go US ?

nelsonyap48
11-05-2009, 12:31 AM
But i want INTI, there got friends(>10) and HOT chicks, you know wat i mean!
And then is quite near my home town, seremban, 35 min can reach.

Speeddemon
11-05-2009, 12:59 AM
The bad thing about Inti College is that they will not make any preparation class for SAT 2 while INTEC does.

I think i can still handle SAT 2...but SAT 1 is really freaking me out...esp English part....anyone has made preparations for SAT?

erm .. SAT2 .. wat is that, isn't it the same 1 year Pre-u in Malaysia den next year onward go US ?

SAT stands for Scholastic Aptitude Test...it's a test which acts as an entry requirement for most US universities....2 papers for SAT: SAT 1 and SAT 2....

But i want INTI, there got friends(>10) and HOT chicks, you know wat i mean!
And then is quite near my home town, seremban, 35 min can reach.

Likewise....i heard that it's better so i'm hoping that i'll go to Inti...
Wow it sure is convenient for you....i'm from Penang so i'll have to stay at the hostel if i get Inti....:))

nelsonyap48
11-05-2009, 01:02 AM
Too bad! There's a swimming pool also. Man, i heard my friends said the pretty girls there are daily updated, different everyday!

Speeddemon
11-05-2009, 01:07 AM
Too bad! There's a swimming pool also. Man, i heard my friends said the pretty girls there are daily updated, different everyday!

Let's keep the thread clean and avoid talking about pretty girls because i believe you can meet bunch of them when u r in the US :))

By the way, i'm curious to see how the university looks like....can anyone provide links or pictures for this? Thanks in advance....

gundamseedw
11-05-2009, 02:49 PM
any1 else is offered for JPA overseas ? am i the only 1 here ?

jsonlau
11-05-2009, 03:53 PM
I need to enquiry on something.I got Jpa overseas for IT. Is the IT courses offered are programming and ICT only? Need help for this question. :)

I called Jpa but it seems the one on the phone can't answer me on this one. She also says Jpa will pick the degree for me, not me choosing it(oww..). She also says we will get the offer letter either this week or next week.

Reonadawn
11-05-2009, 07:59 PM
Am I the only one in recom who applied for IT and didn't get?? D:
Oh well... Trying to appeal but not putting too much hope... Have to apply to US and hope for scholarship from unis there...

XterNalz
11-05-2009, 08:40 PM
Am I the only one in recom who applied for IT and didn't get?? D:
Oh well... Trying to appeal but not putting too much hope... Have to apply to US and hope for scholarship from unis there...
Ya, try to get financial aid from some need-blind universities.

*I'm not better than you, they only offered me IPTS.

gundamseedw
17-05-2009, 12:44 PM
so CS/IT/ICT is the field of study, then the major is ?

XterNalz
17-05-2009, 02:21 PM
so CS/IT/ICT is the field of study, then the major is ?
The major is known as Computer Science in USA, you can hardly find any IT course there.

hazeem_1925
17-05-2009, 06:02 PM
acctually, I would like to do software engineering...but jpa dont offer software engineering, so i chose CS/IT/ICT. So, the major for my CS/IT/ICT coz here is SOFTWARE ENGINEERING.. I dont know if jpa let us choose our majoring coz but I hope so.... I heard that they will give us the majoring coz....

jsonlau
19-05-2009, 03:40 PM
acctually, I would like to do software engineering...but jpa dont offer software engineering, so i chose CS/IT/ICT. So, the major for my CS/IT/ICT coz here is SOFTWARE ENGINEERING.. I dont know if jpa let us choose our majoring coz but I hope so.... I heard that they will give us the majoring coz....

I think jpa will choose for us right? So we only get to go for Computer Science is it? Those who know about this please enlighten me. :)

Btw, the only country for IT is it US only?
http://esilav2.jpa.gov.my/esila_new/pdf/2009_PILN/syaratpiln2009.pdf

According to the above link, no.22, it states that US is the only country that offers CS/IT/ICT. So are we going to INTEC uitm first at shah alam, then going to US?

Oh ya, coursemates, let us know each other before going to study. :))

XterNalz
19-05-2009, 03:48 PM
I think jpa will choose for us right? So we only get to go for Computer Science is it? Those who know about this please enlighten me. :)

According to the above link, no.22, it states that US is the only country that offers CS/IT/ICT. So are we going to INTEC uitm first at shah alam, then going to US?

Most probably is Inti Nilai instead of INTEC.

gundamseedw
19-05-2009, 05:39 PM
how do u know that ? is it only 2 college/uni in malaysia to study pre-u for cs/it/ict scholars ? no others ar ?

hazeem_1925
20-05-2009, 11:43 AM

Ya the only country jpa send for IT/ICT/CS is USA... So most probably we r goin' to USA........n I m sure for that..

TheKomunis
23-05-2009, 11:16 PM
me also got this piln for sc ... still waiting for the offer letter..

anyone know when we gonna enroll the pre-u??? :cry

jsonlau
25-05-2009, 11:31 AM
Most probably end of June or beginning of July.

nelsonyap48
26-05-2009, 10:19 PM
Can anyone here tell me whether or not the intake for INTI nilai is over? I got Computer Science for overseas, but i heard my friend said intake already over, dont know true or false

jsonlau
27-05-2009, 12:21 PM
For JPA scholars, they will have special places in the uni.

If there is no more places in INTI, JPA may find another uni for you.

No worries.

nelsonyap48
30-05-2009, 08:59 PM
anyone got the offer letter for CS?

gundamseedw
01-06-2009, 12:50 PM
erm i got my offer letter today... will be sent to inti uc for ADTP for 2 years ? i though it's 1.5 years .

abyssesour
01-06-2009, 04:52 PM
congrats to those who got it!!

to those who are going to INTI-UC for American University Program (AUP), your contract states 2years here but it can be shortened to 1 year only provided you make the cut-off points and get accepted to ivy league/ivy league standard universities.

and if anyone's interested to buy SAT I or SAT II books, do PM me!!

gundamseedw
01-06-2009, 06:38 PM
erm can u tell more about how to shorten it to 1 years ? coz i got it for 2 years .

Speeddemon
02-06-2009, 12:04 AM
Hi guys. I just received my offer letter today too.

To shorten the courses, there are criteria to fulfil. Like what abyssesour mentioned above, we have to get admitted into the ivy league/ivy standard unis. Besides, your SAT marks will have to be higher than the benchmark and you have to maintain good grades during the aup program. In other words, there's a cut-off point for your cgpa. That what i know roughly. Please enlighten me if there r any mistakes. =)

gundamseedw
02-06-2009, 12:41 AM
any senioes know the list of universities in America for us to choose from ?
according to the site here http://www.intimal.edu.my/Academicnew/template.aspx?LID=ComputingNITB&LIDC=ComputingADTP-PU&LIDM=ComputingNITADTP&Title=Computing%20%26%20%20IT%20-%20American%20Degree%20Transfer%20Program

for computer science is
U.S UNIVERSITIES
lowa State University (http://www.iastate.edu/)
Indiana University of Pennsylvania (http://www.iup.edu/)
Kansas State University (http://www.k-state.edu/)
Michigan State University (http://www.msu.edu/)
Ohio State University (http://www.osu.edu/)
SUNY-Buffalo (http://www.cs.buffalo.edu/)
University of lowa (http://www.uiowa.edu/)
University of Kansas-Lawrence (http://www.ku.edu/)
University of Mississippi (http://www.olemiss.edu/)
University of Missouri-Kansas City (http://www.umkc.edu/)
University of Nebraska-Lincoln (http://www.unl.edu/)
University of Oklahoma-Norman (http://www.ou.edu/)
University of Wisconsin-Madison (http://www.wisc.edu/)
Wichita State University (http://www.wichita.edu/)
Winona State University (http://www.winona.edu/)

so there are no universities of california? i tot can go california ...

nelsonyap48
02-06-2009, 01:29 AM
Got my letter too. So many papers man!

abyssesour
02-06-2009, 10:33 AM
list of freshman unis under the JPA list (so far for my year)

all the ivy league universities (8)
MIT
Caltech
Carnegie Mellon University
Northwestern University
University of Washington-Seattle
University of California, Berkeley
Johns Hopkins University
Stanford University
University of Michigan (only for those majoring in actuarial science)

the required CGPA is 3.5. to those who want to go as freshman, do try to work on your SATs now. ^^

and do note that the list of all the unis is actually very very long. don't be dismayed if you only see a short list. (:

TheKomunis
02-06-2009, 05:22 PM
i just got the offer letter !!! huh... 2 years at the inti.. and 3 years abroad... anyone please enlighten me about AUP???

Reonadawn
02-06-2009, 05:28 PM
My rayuan got through and I was accepted!! :D But JPA say that I got accepted into Sains Komputer/Teknologi Maklumat dan Komunikasi and not The course I applied for, which is Sains Komputer/ICT. What is the difference? And when do you think my offer letter will come?

02-06-2009, 05:33 PM
My rayuan got through and I was accepted!! :D But JPA say that I got accepted into Sains Komputer/Teknologi Maklumat dan Komunikasi and not The course I applied for, which is Sains Komputer/ICT. What is the difference? And when do you think my offer letter will come?
Teknologi Maklumat dan Komunikasi is translated from English which means Information and Communication Technology. Thus, ICT = Teknologi Maklumat dan Komunikasi

TheKomunis
02-06-2009, 06:09 PM

that is the same course... hahaha.. so hilarious...:cry

Justin Wai Khan
02-06-2009, 07:51 PM
congrats to those who got it!!

to those who are going to INTI-UC for American University Program (AUP), your contract states 2years here but it can be shortened to 1 year only provided you make the cut-off points and get accepted to ivy league/ivy league standard universities.

and if anyone's interested to buy SAT I or SAT II books, do PM me!!

Hahahahahahahahaa.. I wanna buy... can?? =P

abyssesour
02-06-2009, 10:28 PM
^ cutiekhan: i believe you don't need them? (:

hazeem_1925
02-06-2009, 10:45 PM
hey,
does everyone got the same 2 years adtp in inti and 3 years in us.... No one got 1 year AUP hah????? if that is the case, we will all meet at the same place....INTI!

TheKomunis
02-06-2009, 11:03 PM
I don't think so... maybe we should reach the cut-off points and perform very well to have a 1 year AUP....

anyone know??

Speeddemon
04-06-2009, 03:56 PM
I don't think so... maybe we should reach the cut-off points and perform very well to have a 1 year AUP....

anyone know??

Don't worry. I believe they will brief us when we register there. I heard that there will be a 1-week orientation for us so i believe they will tell us all the details. :))

By the way, to shorten it to one year, we'll have to get at least 1800 for the SAT mock test, 3.5 for our cgpa and get admitted into one of the ivy league/ivy standard unis in the jpa list. U can ask abyssesour more on that as she's our senior. Please enlighten me if i'm wrong.

Justin Wai Khan
04-06-2009, 05:39 PM
^ cutiekhan: i believe you don't need them? (:

GRRRRR! =.=" :mad

gman
04-06-2009, 10:37 PM
Don't worry. I believe they will brief us when we register there. I heard that there will be a 1-week orientation for us so i believe they will tell us all the details. :))

By the way, to shorten it to one year, we'll have to get at least 1800 for the SAT mock test, 3.5 for our cgpa and get admitted into one of the ivy league/ivy standard unis in the jpa list. U can ask abyssesour more on that as she's our senior. Please enlighten me if i'm wrong.

yes, all of you will be briefed when you get there, so don't worry. basically speeddemon, you have highlighted the requirements to shorten the local program by one year, according to the programs of yesteryear. whether it will change or not for your batch, we don't know. oh, and getting 1800 for the mock test isn't actually a prerequisite.

Speeddemon
05-06-2009, 04:47 PM
yes, all of you will be briefed when you get there, so don't worry. basically speeddemon, you have highlighted the requirements to shorten the local program by one year, according to the programs of yesteryear. whether it will change or not for your batch, we don't know. oh, and getting 1800 for the mock test isn't actually a prerequisite.

Hmm i see. However, i don't understand about the mock test stuff. It isn't a prerequisite for shortening the program?

gman
05-06-2009, 06:08 PM
well, according to the previous years, passing the SAT mock test only entitles you to getting the cost of sitting for the real SAT this year funded by JPA themselves. If you do not pass the mock test and still wish to sit for the test, then you will have to pay for it by yourself. at least that is what happens in INTI.

Speeddemon
05-06-2009, 07:04 PM
I see. So that means no matter how, we are going to take the real SAT. The mock SAT test only determines whether you get to sit the test for free or not.

blessed07
09-06-2009, 09:38 PM
I am going to Inti for computer science too. See you guys there :)

xingER
10-06-2009, 11:33 AM
looks like i'm de only gal going for dis course:( letter stil not received yet *sigh*

blessed07
10-06-2009, 12:28 PM
looks like i'm de only gal going for dis course:( letter stil not received yet *sigh*

how come u still not yet receive your letter?
who say u r d only girl?
im female too.
nice to meet u.:))

gundamseedw
10-06-2009, 01:55 PM
phew, i thought there are only guys who apply for this course. btw, where r u all from ?

blessed07
10-06-2009, 09:52 PM
im from sarawak ! nice 2 meet u all..

nelsonyap48
11-06-2009, 09:33 AM
Question.

1st of July you guys go INTI for registration right?

After registration we stay there or go home?

gundamseedw
11-06-2009, 11:30 AM
stay there

Reonadawn
11-06-2009, 08:37 PM
I'm another girl going! :D Also haven't received letter -_- Maybe it'll come next week...
Wait we have to register on 1st of July?! So early?! I thought we would be Sep intake lol. I dunno whether got time to fill in all the forms...

Speeddemon
11-06-2009, 09:23 PM
I'm another girl going! :D Also haven't received letter -_- Maybe it'll come next week...
Wait we have to register on 1st of July?! So early?! I thought we would be Sep intake lol. I dunno whether got time to fill in all the forms...

Wow, looks like this year we have quite a lot of female computer science scholars. Good thing, i believe :P

You can start preparing the necessary stuff and open a bank account. Also, you can take the medical check-up since some hospitals require weeks before they can give you the result. :amuse

gundamseedw
11-06-2009, 10:16 PM
erm for those who not yet take the letter, you all nid to take ur blood test at private hospital already. coz the result for blood test at gov hospital/clinic nid around 3 weeks to be known.

Speeddemon
11-06-2009, 10:37 PM
For your info, it's possible to do most of the tests at private labs like pathlab or bp lab. I went to a government hospital in my area, and the kind nurse there recommended me to take the urine and blood test at bp lab, before going back to take x-ray and mantoux test. By doing so, i could save at least RM100 and she said after getting the results from bp lab, the doctor from the hospital will analyze it and help me fill in the medical report.

All in all, i spent only RM110 for all the tests:
Urine + Blood Test = RM85 (at bp lab)
X-ray + Mantoux Test = RM 25 (at hospital)

xingER
12-06-2009, 09:07 AM
good thing knowing tat there r other female scholars:) i'm from sarawak too.. too bad i've been offered ipts not overseas ><

gundamseedw
12-06-2009, 11:25 AM
IPTS will be studying at which college/uni ? inti also ?

blessed07
12-06-2009, 11:53 AM
good thing knowing tat there r other female scholars:) i'm from sarawak too.. too bad i've been offered ipts not overseas ><

I c.. nice to know you.. :))

yours is overseas as well? if u r going to inti, then tats great, we can be friend :))

Speeddemon
12-06-2009, 12:56 PM
IPTS will be studying at which college/uni ? inti also ?

Most of them usually get Monash, Nottingham, Swinburne, Curtin, UTP and so on...

Reonadawn
12-06-2009, 08:50 PM
yours is overseas as well? if u r going to inti, then tats great, we can be friend :))
Yeah I'm going overseas. Nice to meet you!
Wow I can't believe I'm going so soon. Not ready to leave yet D:
I want to see the letter 1st before I do my medical checkup... Do you think there's enough time?

blessed07
13-06-2009, 11:00 AM
Yeah I'm going overseas. Nice to meet you!
Wow I can't believe I'm going so soon. Not ready to leave yet D:
I want to see the letter 1st before I do my medical checkup... Do you think there's enough time?

I do not know. it depends on how long will it takes for the person who are in charge to do your medical check up report. Mine still have not ready after one week. if you are going to inti, see you there.:))

nelsonyap48
13-06-2009, 11:44 AM
Question:
For those who are going to INTI UC nilai, do we need to pay for any fees during intake?

gman
13-06-2009, 10:00 PM
Question:
For those who are going to INTI UC nilai, do we need to pay for any fees during intake?

no, i believe you don't need to. at least that was how it was last year. if you are still worried, you can call the centre of american education at inti to find out.

Speeddemon
14-06-2009, 01:33 AM
Question:

Negative. I called INTI few weeks ago, and they said that any fees will be billed directly to JPA. No worries, cheers :))

xingER
15-06-2009, 01:48 PM
anyone of u study form 6 while waiting for de letter?:P

ultimatekiller
17-06-2009, 11:31 PM
erm, may i ask the other jpa scholar who get the offer letter in piln2009
the aup in inti is how long a?
n degree at us is how long?
bcoz my offer letter state 1 yr in inti n 4 yr in us

gundamseedw
18-06-2009, 12:02 AM
yours what course ? what program they offer u ? ADTP ?

i think all here is 2 in my and 3 in us for adtp

Speeddemon
18-06-2009, 11:24 PM
erm, may i ask the other jpa scholar who get the offer letter in piln2009
the aup in inti is how long a?
n degree at us is how long?
bcoz my offer letter state 1 yr in inti n 4 yr in us

yours what course ? what program they offer u ? ADTP ?

i think all here is 2 in my and 3 in us for adtp

Ultimatekiller, i'm not sure who or what course you are referring to, but in my offer letter, it's mentioned that we have to do 2 years of AUP at INTI and 3 years for degree in the US, and i believe it's the same for other applicants.

For some strange reason, the American Degree Transfer Program is called AUP too, so in face, ADTP and AUP mean the same thing.

ultimatekiller
18-06-2009, 11:29 PM
firstly,thx for the ppl reply me ,gundamseedw n speeddemon
my course is computer science/ ict... bla bla

but my letter stated so ler
my pre u course is AUP( American University Programme) in inti nilai (12 bulan)
n den degree course at us for 4 yr
tat is the things they write in my offer letter n my tarikh pendaftaran is 1st of july
so i m really confuse as i see some of them state 2 yr local n 3 yr us
so any 1 can tell me y? n anyone get the same things juz like me?

Speeddemon
18-06-2009, 11:44 PM
firstly,thx for the ppl reply me ,gundamseedw n speeddemon
my course is computer science/ ict... bla bla

but my letter stated so ler
my pre u course is AUP( American University Programme) in inti nilai (12 bulan)
n den degree course at us for 4 yr
tat is the things they write in my offer letter n my tarikh pendaftaran is 1st of july
so i m really confuse as i see some of them state 2 yr local n 3 yr us
so any 1 can tell me y? n anyone get the same things juz like me?

First things first, you're welcome :amuse

I have totally no idea why your offer letter is different from ours. But from what i know, last year's seniors seem to get 1+4 in their offer letters while scholars of 2009 seem to get 2+3. Maybe it's a good idea to call jpa to clarify this so that you get peace of mind. But mind you, 1+4 is not a bad thing. :))

ultimatekiller
18-06-2009, 11:55 PM
oo.is it. ok. thx much yaa. ur tarikh pendaftaran is also 1st of july in inti?
ya.i noe tat.can go us earlier to adapt the environment.
n is thr anyone else receive the same offer letter jzu like me?

gundamseedw
19-06-2009, 12:01 AM
yours is AUP ? mine is ADTP (i thought it's the same?) and 2 years inti, 3 years in US.

blessed07
19-06-2009, 10:46 AM
1+4 is a nice thing ^^

Reonadawn
19-06-2009, 11:21 AM
Eh I also got 1+4 doing AUP! I wonder why different...

Speeddemon
19-06-2009, 03:23 PM
yours is AUP ? mine is ADTP (i thought it's the same?) and 2 years inti, 3 years in US.

It's stated ADTP in the offer letter (2+3), but AUP in the INTI booklet.:huh

I can't figure out why there's difference in our offer letters though we are taking the same course under the same scholarship. Maybe we can clarify things out during registration by asking the jpa officials.

nelsonyap48
20-06-2009, 01:12 AM
2+3 here.

you lucky b*******(1+4).

ultimatekiller
20-06-2009, 12:47 PM
1+4 is a nice thing ^^

hi blessed, then how about ur offer letter?

yup, mine is AUP. n i thought in inti it is known as AUP, juz in taylors n intec it is known as ADTP.

haha, then we are in the same fate. will know when we are at there.

then is there any 1+4 or 2+3 here?

Speeddemon
20-06-2009, 02:53 PM
2+3 here.

you lucky b*******(1+4).

I like the way you say it LOL. But don't freak out man, cause there are lots of people in the same boat with you (including me, of course:P)

My seniors told me that though it's 1+4, all scholars still have to fulfil the requirements aforementioned to make it. :amuse

blessed07
20-06-2009, 10:13 PM
congratulation to those who got 1+4, mine is 2+3 ^^

cookiemonster
25-06-2009, 02:08 PM
Essentially, i think it doesn't really matter whether it's a 2+3 or a 1+4 in the letter. Cause it all boils down to whether you want to go to US as freshman or as transfer. :)

Even if your letter said 1+4, but you didn't make the cut...then you'll be doing 2 years in Inti like us in Inti now. And if not mistaken, everyone (regardless whether their letter states 2+3 or 1+4) is entitled to apply for freshman, if you really want to. Some seniors choose to not apply for freshman and just do transfer.

Maybe JPA had some typing/printing error thingie with the letters. :P

YShen
27-06-2009, 06:20 PM
hi blessed, then how about ur offer letter?

yup, mine is AUP. n i thought in inti it is known as AUP, juz in taylors n intec it is known as ADTP.

haha, then we are in the same fate. will know when we are at there.

then is there any 1+4 or 2+3 here?

I think no worry la coz my offer letter also states 1+4...i think by now,we have at least 3 JPA scholars getting AUP 1+4..I'm taking computer science/ICT too..a newbie in recom^^...I'll be registering without my parents and laptop..hope everything will be so far so good until then=.=

ultimatekiller
27-06-2009, 11:59 PM
I think no worry la coz my offer letter also states 1+4...i think by now,we have at least 3 JPA scholars getting AUP 1+4..I'm taking computer science/ICT too..a newbie in recom^^...I'll be registering without my parents and laptop..hope everything will be so far so good until then=.=

hi, take it easy man. me too,without parents, frend n laptop.haha.nice to meet u here.
let all of us meet there on wednesday ba.inti nilai we r coming!!!

Speeddemon
28-06-2009, 03:30 AM
Hey guys, have some questions here:

1. What are the documents inside your INTI envelope? I have 3 booklets and 2 sheets of form. Is that all?

2. Besides the documents stated from 5(a) to 5(g) in the offer letter, are there any other documents or stuff that we have to bring during registration? Are they stated anywhere?

3. (This is off-topic :P) For the CIMB bank account, is it ok if we just photocopy the first page of the account book and submit it during registration?

Hope Recomers would be kind enough to answer. Thanks in advance :))

YShen
28-06-2009, 11:09 PM
Hey guys, have some questions here:

1. What are the documents inside your INTI envelope? I have 3 booklets and 2 sheets of form. Is that all?

2. Besides the documents stated from 5(a) to 5(g) in the offer letter, are there any other documents or stuff that we have to bring during registration? Are they stated anywhere?

3. (This is off-topic :P) For the CIMB bank account, is it ok if we just photocopy the first page of the account book and submit it during registration?

Hope Recomers would be kind enough to answer. Thanks in advance :))

1. yes. but do check out this link here because there are some useful info plus an additional form that might need to be submitted as well...http://www.intimal.edu.my/intinew/Events/JPA.pdf

2.basically,follow what is guided in the yellow guide book provided by JPA..Be sure to fill up all the forms.Any doubt,leave the question for registration day ^^..I,too,the same..

3.Yup.I only photocopied the front page of the CIMB account book,didn't provide address or branch number as stated in one part of the yellow guidebook..

Believe me,I was no difference like you,directing all these questions to my friends..I think what I can say is,just be cool..I guess things will be alright^^..hope to see you guys on Wed...:))

Speeddemon
28-06-2009, 11:28 PM
1. yes. but do check out this link here because there are some useful info plus an additional form that might need to be submitted as well...http://www.intimal.edu.my/intinew/Events/JPA.pdf

2.basically,follow what is guided in the yellow guide book provided by JPA..Be sure to fill up all the forms.Any doubt,leave the question for registration day ^^..I,too,the same..

3.Yup.I only photocopied the front page of the CIMB account book,didn't provide address or branch number as stated in one part of the yellow guidebook..

Believe me,I was no difference like you,directing all these questions to my friends..I think what I can say is,just be cool..I guess things will be alright^^..hope to see you guys on Wed...:))

Hi YShen.

1. I think i met you in INTI thread few days ago, and i gave you the link :laugh

2. I've read through the yellow book twice, but i seem to be getting confused. Is it possible for u to list out the documents that you're bringing since we are taking the same major? Don't worry, just to double check :))

3. I see. Will do it tomorrow.

Yup, i think you're right. Anyway, thanks for answering :amuse

ultimatekiller
29-06-2009, 01:08 PM

erm,i thought cimb bank didnt giv out the bank account book as i only receive an atm card n a paper show my acc details. Did u guy receive that acc. book o have to request?

Speeddemon
29-06-2009, 03:41 PM
erm,i thought cimb bank didnt giv out the bank account book as i only receive an atm card n a paper show my acc details. Did u guy receive that acc. book o have to request?

It has been mentioned in JPA 2009 Q&A thread, but i'm not sure though. It seems that if you're not 18 yet, meaning that your birthday has not come, then they won't give you a bank book. You can still have the card, just that they give u a statement instead of the book.

ultimatekiller
29-06-2009, 03:55 PM
It has been mentioned in JPA 2009 Q&A thread, but i'm not sure though. It seems that if you're not 18 yet, meaning that your birthday has not come, then they won't give you a bank book. You can still have the card, just that they give u a statement instead of the book.

so u guy hav the bank book?
ya,i havent offcially reach 18,but going reach soon.
then wat shud i do now? request a bank book? then how i going to tell jpa ler?
may i noe which page in the Q&A thread that i should refer to

nelsonyap48
29-06-2009, 04:10 PM
Question.
about the link, there's a form right? need to fill it up or not? but it's for applied science wor....

Going with my mother and sis. no laptop here too.....oh well......

i wonder who's gonna be my room mate......

Speeddemon
29-06-2009, 04:27 PM
so u guy hav the bank book?
ya,i havent offcially reach 18,but going reach soon.
then wat shud i do now? request a bank book? then how i going to tell jpa ler?
may i noe which page in the Q&A thread that i should refer to

I have the bank book. I believe they have given you a bank account statement. Your details like name, ic number and bank account number should have been stated on that piece of paper. Just pass it to the officials during registration.

By the way, u can refer to JPA 2009 thread or Q&A in filling in documents thread:
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=8494
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7002

Question.
about the link, there's a form right? need to fill it up or not? but it's for applied science wor....

Going with my mother and sis. no laptop here too.....oh well......

i wonder who's gonna be my room mate......

I think applied science include science and computer science. Never mind, just fill it in and in case they don't need you to fill in the form, you can just throw it away. I've filled in too.

nelsonyap48
29-06-2009, 05:32 PM

Hi Nelson,

Congratulations and warm greetings from INTI University College (INTI-UC)! As promised, here’s some information about the forthcoming registration and the ADTP in general:

All JPA-sponsored students are advised to turn up for registration at INTI-UC on July 1 (Wednesday)
Time: 8:30 a.m. – Noon
Venue: Sports Hall, 2nd Floor, Services Building
Attire: Smart casual

(Note: You will be notified should we make any changes to the time and venue of registration).

Besides documents required by JPA (please refer to items (a) to (g) on page 2 of your offer letter), please bring along the following items for submission to INTI:
1. Two passport-sized photographs
2. Two copies of IC
3. Certified true copy of SPM results (2 copies)

Students need not make any payments during registration since all expenses will be billed to JPA directly. Please know a briefing session between JPA officials and students will be held on the same day and that Orientation session will begin later that evening. Classes will officially begin on Monday, July 6.

Some quick info about the American education system:
Under a set of core requirements called General Education (or Gen. Ed), students would be advised to take certain courses/subjects in order to fulfill the said requirements. Simply put, Gen.Ed. is what separates the American system from its British or Australian counterpart. In short, no matter what a student plans to major or specialize in, he/she would have to take the following courses/subjects:

English Composition (at least 1 course)
Mathematics (at least 2)
Natural Science with lab (at least 2) e.g. Biology, Chemistry, and Physics.
Social Sciences (at least 2) e.g. Psychology, Sociology, Anthropology, Economics, and US Politics.
Humanities (at least 2) e.g. US History, Philosophy, World Religions, Art Appreciation, and Music Appreciation.

In your case--since your major is ICT--your 1st semester courses at INTI most likely would be:

ENL101: English Composition I (3 credit hours)
MAT132: Calculus with Analytic Geometry I (4 credit hours)
CSC101: Introduction to Computers & Information Processing(3 credit hours)
Social Science (3 credit hours)

In addition, we (INTI) would arrange SAT and TOEFL preparatory classes for you and your fellow JPA-sponsored students.

As for accommodation, all sponsored students will be provided with on-campus accommodation based on the following arrangement:
Twin-sharing, air-cond room with common bathroom facilities i.e. no bathroom attached. For your information, meal is not provided; on-campus eateries where students may patronize include cafeteria, canteen & bakery.

I hope you will find the above explanation satisfactory but do let me know if you need further clarification. And if you know someone who will also be enrolling in the ADTP at INTI-UC on July 1, kindly share this info with him/her.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you on campus this Wednesday!

Sincerely,

Zaleha Haji Mohd Isa (Ms.)
On behalf of Center for American Education (CAE)
INTI University College (INTI-UC)

Tel: +6-06-798 2000 ext 2172
Fax: +6-06-799 7531
E-mail: zaleha@<hidden>

Note: This e-mail message has been scanned for Viruses and Content and cleared by NetIQ MailMarshal - INTI University College
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Note:
The information contained in this email is confidential. It is privileged and intended solely for the addressee. If you receive this email by mistake, please promptly inform us by reply email or by telephoning the phone number listed above and then delete the email and destroy any printed copy. You must not disclose or use in any way the information in the email. Any review, retransmission, dissemination or other use of, or taking of any action in reliance upon, this information by persons or entities other than the intended recipient is prohibited.
Thank you.
INTI University College

YShen
29-06-2009, 10:03 PM
Hi YShen.

1. I think i met you in INTI thread few days ago, and i gave you the link :laugh

2. I've read through the yellow book twice, but i seem to be getting confused. Is it possible for u to list out the documents that you're bringing since we are taking the same major? Don't worry, just to double check :))

3. I see. Will do it tomorrow.

Yup, i think you're right. Anyway, thanks for answering :amusethe

Ya,I only realized that you were the one who sent me the link after sending post..lolx..:P
Ok,I'll tell you what I'll be bringing along.My CIMB account book,yellow guidebook(the forms inside),Biasiswa Persekutuan agreements,offer letter,photocopies of :frontpage of account book,penjamin's IC,my own IC(more than 1 copy) and SPM result slips(certified),followed by Borang Akujanji and 2 forms(registration&Accommodation inside INTI envelope.I even brought along my original SPM result slip (in case if needed) and also photocopies of my parents' IC(just to in case also):))btw,how do i noe who is u when we're in INTI?yell "who's Ultimate Killer??"wakkaka..lolx:laugh

I did received my account book although I'm yet to reach 18.You can choose to have just the card or together with the account book.However if you're still under 18,it'll be stated in your account book that your account is a teenage account with a lower daily withdrawal limit which is RM200 lor...If without the account book,how are you going to provide a photocopy of the frontpage of the account book?Or else,maybe you can just photocopy whatever bank statement with your account number,I guess :P

Speeddemon
30-06-2009, 12:30 AM
Ya,I only realized that you were the one who sent me the link after sending post..lolx..:P
Ok,I'll tell you what I'll be bringing along.My CIMB account book,yellow guidebook(the forms inside),Biasiswa Persekutuan agreements,offer letter,photocopies of :frontpage of account book,penjamin's IC,my own IC(more than 1 copy) and SPM result slips(certified),followed by Borang Akujanji and 2 forms(registration&Accommodation inside INTI envelope.I even brought along my original SPM result slip (in case if needed) and also photocopies of my parents' IC(just to in case also):))btw,how do i noe who is u when we're in INTI?yell "who's Ultimate Killer??"wakkaka..lolx:laugh

LOL. The documents i'm bringing are almost the same as yours, so no worries i guess. :))

I dunno how to describe myself :huh. No special characteristics, just that i'm quite fair :laugh. Never mind, we'll know each other in no time and be friends. Hope to meet you all at INTI!

YShen
30-06-2009, 11:33 AM
:nutsWOW...just one more day and we'll be joining into a big family in INTI..So excited!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:cry:P

nelsonyap48
30-06-2009, 12:08 PM
how you guys go to the college? i mean what transport............

im staying in seremban, so mom's fetching me.......

noroimusha
01-07-2009, 08:33 PM
the

NOOB....:nuts :nuts :nuts

Reonadawn
03-07-2009, 06:45 PM
Yay I have the Internet up and running. Now, does anyone want to reveal who they are? For privacy, just mention your Group name. Then PM if you want to know more.
I'm in Group 10 XD

Speeddemon
03-07-2009, 07:08 PM
Yay I have the Internet up and running. Now, does anyone want to reveal who they are? For privacy, just mention your Group name. Then PM if you want to know more.
I'm in Group 10 XD

Hey, me too! I'm in group 6, the only computer science scholar in my group. :))

gundamseedw
03-07-2009, 07:15 PM
Group 1 here, i think most of u all hav already noe me.

Speeddemon
03-07-2009, 07:16 PM
excluding me... =P

gundamseedw
03-07-2009, 07:21 PM
hey.... for that 3 seniors looking for Externalz .... hes not in INTI. JPA offered him MMU Melaka. see the thread here http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?p=257545#post257545

XterNalz
04-07-2009, 10:15 AM
hey.... for that 3 seniors looking for Externalz .... hes not in INTI. JPA offered him MMU Melaka. see the thread here http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?p=257545#post257545
Who is looking for me ???

hazeem_1925
04-07-2009, 11:31 AM
hey i m in group 4...............

Reonadawn
04-07-2009, 11:02 PM
Haiyo everybody in different group one. Nvm, I just ask in class la XD

Speeddemon
04-07-2009, 11:43 PM
I think most of us will be in the same class, since the number of JPA computer science scholars is not many compared to science scholars. It would be great if all of us are in the same class! :amuse

codercode
06-07-2009, 12:19 AM
Hi, I'm one of your seniors ('08 batch) from Inti. Feel free to ask questions if you have any doubts.

ultimatekiller
06-07-2009, 11:17 PM
hi guys n gals, i know none of u. maybe i should ask around other people who is who.

Reonadawn
07-07-2009, 05:02 PM
Haiya, next CS class someone make announcement: WHO IS IN RECOM?!
Then you know la. XD

ultimatekiller
08-07-2009, 10:10 AM
Haiya, next CS class someone make announcement: WHO IS IN RECOM?!
Then you know la. XD

then u wil b the 1 shout out loud ba. since today u already make the annoucement.haha

Speeddemon
30-11-2009, 03:17 AM
It has been so long since someone posted in this thread, so perhaps i'll reactivate it? :P

By the way, how did u guys find CSC 101? And anyone taking CSC course next sem?

technicolor
02-12-2009, 08:43 AM
I heard that even applied science students also still have to take CSC101 later :notrust

And you guys have to take BIO121 instead :nuts

Speeddemon
02-12-2009, 10:33 AM
By right CSC students should take physics. Should be pretty fun to take bio i think, though i don't like some creepy animal dissection.

Reonadawn
02-12-2009, 02:13 PM
Lol wasting away time until the next JPA batch comes in XD
But animal dissection is fun! D: I don't think BIO 121 students did much dissection though.
Bio isn't a requirement for CSC students, we just have to take Physics or Chemistry :P

samgooi4189
05-12-2010, 03:00 PM
I am joining the pack, now CSC101 not really needed for taking advance programming. During Aug 2010 semester, some students able to enroll in JAVA without CSC101 or C programming =). Btw, most FOCIT lecturers are helpful.
Waiting to transfer next year~

Speeddemon
05-12-2010, 07:17 PM
Speaking of which, mohan is the best programming lecturer ever. :))