View Full Version : Survey: Choosing a school to study STPM in Johor
louisev7
11-04-2009, 08:11 PM
Hello everyone, I need some guidance at choosing a school to study STPM in Johor.
louisev7
14-04-2009, 07:07 PM
Anyone can give some suggestion over here?
I heard that Convent, English College, SSI in JB is good? STK in Kluang? SSI in Kulai?
Anyone can tell me which is a better choice?
Johnivan
18-04-2009, 09:47 AM
Anyone can give some suggestion over here?
I heard that Convent, English College, SSI in JB is good? STK in Kluang? SSI in Kulai?
Anyone can tell me which is a better choice?
Hi louisev7, nice to meet you. I'm from STK Kluang. We have Phy, Bio, Chem, PA, Maths T. You can choose between 2 packages: either Phy or Bio, and the rest of the 3 subjects. It's a nice school, except that the canteen sucks... School hours slightly different from others: 7.30am to 3.30pm (Wednesday till 4.30, because of KOKO), Saturday no school at all. Lunch break is at 1.20pm to 2.30pm.
Want to give it a try? We have students from Mersing, Kahang, Air Hitam as well... I heard one Indian Girl is from Kulai...
louisev7
19-04-2009, 12:00 AM
Hi louisev7, nice to meet you. I'm from STK Kluang. We have Phy, Bio, Chem, PA, Maths T. You can choose between 2 packages: either Phy or Bio, and the rest of the 3 subjects. It's a nice school, except that the canteen sucks... School hours slightly different from others: 7.30am to 3.30pm (Wednesday till 4.30, because of KOKO), Saturday no school at all. Lunch break is at 1.20pm to 2.30pm.
Want to give it a try? We have students from Mersing, Kahang, Air Hitam as well... I heard one Indian Girl is from Kulai...
Hi, Thanks for giving me precious info. Do you have hostel in your school? Or people usually rent houses nearby?
cuppycake
19-04-2009, 03:56 AM
STK do have hostels. and the canteen not that sucks la.haha.it's famous for its nasi goreng.at least, among my friends.anyway, can't comment much on stpm. i'm spm leaver.
and er, johnivan, out of topic, but it's until 3.30 & 4.30 for form 6? so the building is now solely for form 6 and u guys don't share it with form 1 now? since when?
louisev7
19-04-2009, 12:11 PM
Where is the school location? in town? in rural area? i mean village.
Johnivan
19-04-2009, 01:43 PM
Where is the school location? in town? in rural area? i mean village.
It's just opposite the police station in town. Buildings near us are the railway station, Pejabat Pelajaran Daerah Kluang, Public Library, Mamak shops...
and er, johnivan, out of topic, but it's until 3.30 & 4.30 for form 6? so the building is now solely for form 6 and u guys don't share it with form 1 now? since when?
It's interesting to find another STK student in Recom... Well, i don't know when did you graduate, but the new timing started this year. And the block (Campus, as our Pengetua said...) is only for the Pre-U (form 6) students. We have a Dewan Kuliah in our block.
Just to add a little, we are using the lecture system (VERY different from other schools...). Everyweek we will have to join 2 other classes for 2 hours of Lectures (all subjects at different days...), which means the teachers will be teaching 3 classes at the same time for 110 minutes. Then the rest of the time we have tutorials (where teachers come in to our own class, either give us modules, or homework, as well as discussing with us the sections that we don't understand...).
cuppycake
19-04-2009, 05:43 PM
well i just graduated last year and so much has changed. i did hear from cikgu xxx during sports day that the form 6 dont share teachers with other forms. apparently the buildings (or campus) also.*slightly off topic. sorry louisev7*
stk is is quite strategic actually. walking distance to all the malls in kluang. and the public library.
but be prepared for mundane rules in stk.we have our own buku peraturan that all students supposedly have to carry one.
louisev7
19-04-2009, 07:59 PM
It's just opposite the police station in town. Buildings near us are the railway station, Pejabat Pelajaran Daerah Kluang, Public Library, Mamak shops...
It's interesting to find another STK student in Recom... Well, i don't know when did you graduate, but the new timing started this year. And the block (Campus, as our Pengetua said...) is only for the Pre-U (form 6) students. We have a Dewan Kuliah in our block.
Just to add a little, we are using the lecture system (VERY different from other schools...). Everyweek we will have to join 2 other classes for 2 hours of Lectures (all subjects at different days...), which means the teachers will be teaching 3 classes at the same time for 110 minutes. Then the rest of the time we have tutorials (where teachers come in to our own class, either give us modules, or homework, as well as discussing with us the sections that we don't understand...).
seems very convenient.. are the students allow to go out from hostel every week? and is there a need for student to bring own laptop, printer, etc? How many subjects students have to take? The lecture system is so new to me, do you find it efficient?
well i just graduated last year and so much has changed. i did hear from cikgu xxx during sports day that the form 6 dont share teachers with other forms. apparently the buildings (or campus) also.*slightly off topic. sorry louisev7*
stk is is quite strategic actually. walking distance to all the malls in kluang. and the public library.
but be prepared for mundane rules in stk.we have our own buku peraturan that all students supposedly have to carry one.
Is alright cuppycake, not out of topic at all. I need gain as much info as I can before making decision.
Johnivan
20-04-2009, 10:01 PM
seems very convenient.. are the students allow to go out from hostel every week? and is there a need for student to bring own laptop, printer, etc? How many subjects students have to take? The lecture system is so new to me, do you find it efficient?
Well, if you choose to stay in the hostel, you will face the same problem as my Kulai friend: not allowed to go out for tuition, unless there is somebody who will fetch her... So she ended up going back to Kulai every week for tuition (Btw, I know she stays somewhere south, not sure whether is it Kulai...)
Instead, you could choose to stay in the flats nearby. We have a teacher in charge. I have two friends from Kahang and Mersing (both Chinese) staying in the flats together nearby, then they walk to school everyday. More freedom, i suggest...
Laptops aren't required in schools, but if you would be staying in the school hostel, i think they will have one. We have computers in the school library as well.
You have to take minimum 4 subjects. You can check out the net for other electives if you plan to take extra (like me...). Btw, taking 4 subjects is enough to kill a student already...
To be frank, the lecture system caused us no time to study or finish our homework, but we are forced to follow. I think it has its pros too, it trains us to manage our time better.
louisev7
20-04-2009, 11:19 PM
Well, if you choose to stay in the hostel, you will face the same problem as my Kulai friend: not allowed to go out for tuition, unless there is somebody who will fetch her... So she ended up going back to Kulai every week for tuition (Btw, I know she stays somewhere south, not sure whether is it Kulai...)
Instead, you could choose to stay in the flats nearby. We have a teacher in charge. I have two friends from Kahang and Mersing (both Chinese) staying in the flats together nearby, then they walk to school everyday. More freedom, i suggest...
Laptops aren't required in schools, but if you would be staying in the school hostel, i think they will have one. We have computers in the school library as well.
You have to take minimum 4 subjects. You can check out the net for other electives if you plan to take extra (like me...). Btw, taking 4 subjects is enough to kill a student already...
To be frank, the lecture system caused us no time to study or finish our homework, but we are forced to follow. I think it has its pros too, it trains us to manage our time better.
Going back everyweek for tuitions??!! wow.. she is super..
Sounds like the lecturer system will kill person like me..
I might dead of rushing hw..
SapphireDragon
20-04-2009, 11:35 PM
May I suggest Sekolah Tinggi Muar? Its my alma mater...very cool students and teachers. Phua Chu Kang say PCK Pte Ltd best in Singapore, JB and some say Batam. I say, High School Muar is best in muar, johor and some say Malaysia.
Haha, visit my blog (http://lwjheaven.blogspot.com/) to know more.
louisev7
21-04-2009, 12:59 AM
May I suggest Sekolah Tinggi Muar? Its my alma mater...very cool students and teachers. Phua Chu Kang say PCK Pte Ltd best in Singapore, JB and some say Batam. I say, High School Muar is best in muar, johor and some say Malaysia.
Haha, visit my blog (http://lwjheaven.blogspot.com/) to know more.
Wow, interesting introduction! Haha:))
SapphireDragon
21-04-2009, 01:06 AM
Behold the next business maestro!! Who wants my advice on slogans for products please contact me...one word $50000
shiqinlee
22-04-2009, 07:33 PM
I want to know the best school in Batu Pahat or Johor for form 6 art streem. Well,I would like to take p.perniagaan,math S,account and economic.For additional information,I'm from science streem,SPM and I just don't really enjoy working in lab.Is it okey to me to change streem?.My mum and aunty would like me to go for nursing but I don't think I can stand with that career later.I like business and I like to be somebody with own company next 10 years...or be a executive before that. One more thing,can I go to oversea like harvard business school with my STPM result?cuz all subject that I would like to take is fully in malay.
cuppycake
22-04-2009, 07:52 PM
well, you can go oversea with your STPM. it's the equivalent of of A-levels. it doesn't matter whether the subjects are in malay because oversea unis will ask you to take an english proficiency test like ielts or toefl..
us unis, you need to take SAT though.
that said, i think for harvard business school is only for postgraduate programmes. you need a degree first.
Johnivan
25-04-2009, 03:47 PM
I want to know the best school in Batu Pahat or Johor for form 6 art streem. Well,I would like to take p.perniagaan,math S,account and economic.For additional information,I'm from science streem,SPM and I just don't really enjoy working in lab.Is it okey to me to change streem?.My mum and aunty would like me to go for nursing but I don't think I can stand with that career later.I like business and I like to be somebody with own company next 10 years...or be a executive before that. One more thing,can I go to oversea like harvard business school with my STPM result?cuz all subject that I would like to take is fully in malay.
Don't worry, STPM is recognized by every country in the world. If you want art stream in Kluang, you can try SMK Tun Hussein Onn (Sekolah Sukan, for secondary...). Their form 6 is the only form 6 art stream in Kluang which offers Maths S. Their form 6 teachers are very good.
By the way, are you changing streams? Just in case they send you to Science stream, you will have to wait for the application to transfer to art stream first, which will only enable you to get into your desired school in August.
As for loisev9, have you decided? All Kluang form 6 schools starting this year will end their school at 3.30pm (some 4, i heard...), so there's no runaway...
louisev7
27-04-2009, 11:22 PM
Don't worry, STPM is recognized by every country in the world. If you want art stream in Kluang, you can try SMK Tun Hussein Onn (Sekolah Sukan, for secondary...). Their form 6 is the only form 6 art stream in Kluang which offers Maths S. Their form 6 teachers are very good.
By the way, are you changing streams? Just in case they send you to Science stream, you will have to wait for the application to transfer to art stream first, which will only enable you to get into your desired school in August.
As for loisev9, have you decided? All Kluang form 6 schools starting this year will end their school at 3.30pm (some 4, i heard...), so there's no runaway...
I haven't decide yet, still waiting 'hope' for JPA and matrik( rayuan)...
cuppycake
01-05-2009, 12:48 AM
All Kluang form 6 schools starting this year will end their school at 3.30pm (some 4, i heard...), so there's no runaway...
oh, so all schools in Kluang are doing the lecture system is it?that's very advanced of them.so there's no escaping for us then.
shiqinlee
06-05-2009, 01:06 PM
I got science stream at SMK Dato' Jaafar in JB. Now currently my family and I in Batu Pahat,Johor. We had moved here last year. So,how can I change my school? Where is the best school for Stpm and have hostel?
Anyone??...please help me.
urgent!!.
louisev7
06-05-2009, 07:57 PM
I got science stream at SMK Dato' Jaafar in JB. Now currently my family and I in Batu Pahat,Johor. We had moved here last year. So,how can I change my school? Where is the best school for Stpm and have hostel?
urgent!!.
I think you have to go Pejabat Pelajaran Daerah to settle this..
Johnivan
08-05-2009, 03:34 PM
urgent!!.
If you are changing states, you can either go to your PPD to settle it, or some will even just go straight to that school without informing anyone. It's always better for the 1st one...
If you are changing streams, you have to enter the school that you are registered with FIRST. Then, the counselors will inform you and ask you to fill in a form to change streams. I don't know how is the situation now, but previously, the more A's you got, the harder you can transfer from Science to Arts. :)