View Full Version : Is taking both Biology and Physics convenient?
vision
31-05-2004, 11:23 PM
My friend has make an undecided decision. He is currently studying in Biology side (Form Six) and he is thinking of taking Physics in STPM, which means, he will be sitting for 5 subjects for STPM. Is that a wise decision? Do you think it's convenient for him to stay in Biology class since Physics is tougher than Biology? Or should he switch to Physics side instead? What will be the effects for him if he sits both Biology and Physics paper in STPM? What does he need to do in order to score well for both subjects : Bio and Physics? Please help.
01-06-2004, 01:12 AM
I think Physics and Biology are comparable in toughness. Both are science courses, and I think it depends on one's interest.
I guess the moment he decides to take both of these courses, he needs to know that getting 5As or 4As, are no difference based on current system. The best 4 courses are selected. And he could not afford to get an A- for PA especially if he is aiming for medicine, pharmacy, dentist...perhaps more courses may have cutoff of 4.00 in 2 years' time.
I think he can work hard on his own, for either of the course. Take the one that he does not have as much confidence and study on his own on the one that he has more confidence.
ingshan
01-06-2004, 06:39 PM
tell him don't be stupid...learn from others experience...no advantage in taking 5 subjects...unless he is still undecided whether to become an enginneer or a doctor...
*hei don't be so negative*
hei what negative...see the news...even 5As connot get the course they wanted...
01-06-2004, 10:04 PM
Hmmm.... it boils down to his interest. if he likes Biology, then go for it. If he likes Physics, go for Physics. If he likes both, and wants to be a doc/engineer, then go for Physics. Form 6 Biology syllabus is a little irrelevant to the Biology course for medic students. In fact, he will find himself studying Physics and Chem for the first year of his medic course. And it is definitely a bonus for him if he chooses to be an engineer.
Yeah, like what Ingshan said, no point working his nose through getting 5 As, if he can't secure straight As. It is the flaw in the govt system. But if he believe that he can cope up with it, then let him go for it.
01-06-2004, 11:42 PM
I am just wondering whether Biology course is required to apply for medicine/dentist/pharmacy in IPTA. While it may not be so connected, but is it a requirement, because I guess we won't want to misadvice vision's friend.
gohweihan
02-06-2004, 01:31 AM
I am just wondering whether Biology course is required to apply for medicine/dentist/pharmacy in IPTA. While it may not be so connected, but is it a requirement, because I guess we won't want to misadvice vision's friend.
You need Biology for Dentistry (in all public universities) and Medicine (except UPM, which accepts either Physics or Biology).
02-06-2004, 01:44 AM
Thanks Wei Han for the information. So, I guess if anyone's ambition is going to be studying in Medicine or Dentistry, taking Biology is pretty much needed.
So, to vision's friend, I guess he should include Biology in his choice, if he has the ambition of becoming doctor/dentist.
02-06-2004, 02:13 PM
My grand senior took Physics instead of Biology for STPM, and he was offered to do medicine. Dunno if it's still applicable now or not. But my friend is doing the same. She's in Physics class now, but going for medic.