View Full Version : internship at home

sueyi
02-06-2004, 01:02 AM
Sometime ago chen chow made this comment on a thread thats locked already .. To those who plan to work in Malaysia over summer, apply for an internship at one of the MSC-status company at Cyberjaya. Check out weblinks of Recom!!!

A few points ..

- I study in US and this summer will stay in US to do internship, but I am curious if there are any Recom-mers who have managed to get an internship at home. Honestly, I am not very educated on what are the top-IT companies in Malaysia and I'd really want to hear the experience of any Recom-mers who work at these companies for long or short period of time ..

- What are the top-IT companies in Malaysia??? I'm so uneducated .. lol. We all know Air Perintis of course, any other opinions?

- Is it hard for overseas students to want to do summer internship at home, or do the companies just blink at u when u tell them, "Well, I only wanna work for 3 mths" =P .. (june to aug for US/UK, i think nov to jan for Aus?) I'm eager to hear the experiences of anyone overseas who tried contacting home about stuff like this, or from local U's who try to apply for short-term experience at local IT firms.

Well .. hope to hear replies =D

windy_city
02-06-2004, 01:15 AM
I have a friend going back to Malaysia for internship this summer.
He will be working in KLCC for Accenture, good for him, but the pay is not so high, about RM1200 without OT.

Anyway, it is not that hard to get a internship in Malaysia even for a few month, try IBM, they are hiring overseas undergrad for internship too, but i am not sure how much are they paying.

02-06-2004, 03:06 AM
misled_youth is interning over the winter (i'm in australia). Based in Bangsar. Who wants to join me for Teh Tarik near UBU (University Bangsar Utama)?
Extreme q reviews (http://vaporizerinfo.com/)

sueyi
02-06-2004, 05:10 AM
Hi misled_youth! Where are you interning and how do u get the internship from austrailia .. is it thru personal connection or from an application on a website, etc, and weren't people surprised when you say you want to work for only 3 months?

Can't join u for teh tarik ... not there ... but have a good time :)

Anyway, it is not that hard to get a internship in Malaysia even for a few month, try IBM, they are hiring overseas undergrad for internship too, but i am not sure how much are they paying.

Well .. what I really wanna know is if there is a standard way that overseas students can apply for summer/winter positions at home which are advertised, without writing into HR's directly or ask thru personal connections. Actually I have no more summers to do internships in =) but this is something good to know for family and friends.

02-06-2004, 05:23 AM
The application for internship for back home are pretty much loosely linked. For those MSC-status companies, there are central websites by Multimedia Development Corporations to collect resumes, and also get recruitments for those companies, especially start-ups. So, for those desiring to work in high tech start ups, MDC would be a good way to go to apply.

I think they would want to take people for 3 months.

I think many MNCs are also taking people for internships too, although the salary won't be high. However, I think the experience is what that matters.

I know that some companies, like Accenture came to my campus to look for people who would like to work over summer in Accenture in KL. Many MNCs have positions open in their websites too.

Check out the job opportunities thread in ReCom for some of the postings too!

Good Luck~! I would strongly urge anyone that finds any job/internship opening to post it here in ReCom.org too!

04-06-2004, 05:22 AM
I also suggest you contact some of the IC folks who're looking in to setting up Internship Asia back home. I didn't update myself iwth their progress, but seems like things are moving. Anyone (Wei Cher, you there?) want to say more about it?

sueyi
05-06-2004, 12:46 AM
hi .. thx for your replies ...

Well .. I did a search for "Internship Asia" on google and found some information about it .. apparently for students there is an application form here:
http://www.shef.ac.uk/~massoc/internshipform.xls and it is to be sent to register@<hidden>. The information is from this page from Sheffield http://www.shef.ac.uk/~massoc/main.html and there are other summer opportunities at home listed too that look useful for UK students, including for Ernst and Young.

well .. maybe good for next summer for those interested!

** does anyone know what are the good "local" IT companies in malaysia (not international firm), anyone work there .. whats your experience?

05-06-2004, 02:04 AM
thanks jinjoo for the introduction =) We've only just started, and we used to have a website....but we lost our hosting recently....but it'll be back soon when I finish my exams...

anyway, it's an organisation aiming to aid overseas Malaysian students get an internship back home, we're trying to aim at the local tech start-ups....but also include a few MNCs...sounds like the same as other job agencies but we're doing it for free....and students too will have to work for free....

anyway, it's just a concept...which i hope will work...anyway, will keep you guys updated after my exams =)

about local IT companies try Karensoft, from where i worked last year they sound like a really promising local company =)

bt3on9
05-06-2004, 02:16 AM
wow... it sounds like there are quite a number of US grads going to Accenture for internship... i will be going there for my 2nd round interview next tuesday... hope that i can get through...

sueyi, i think i can help you since i studied and did my internship here in malaysia.

some of the major "local" IT companies are like SCS, Paracorp, Netinfinium, AKN, eBworx, Xen, e-Genting. i will get more for you if you want. for now i could remember these few names only.

from my view, many of these local companies dont hire overseas grads for internship because somehow there is a policy that they must give priority to local grads. without this of course many of the companies will get overseas grads instead of the locals.

the monthly allowance is quite standardised; RM 500 unless u get into huge MNCs like Accenture, HSBC or even IBM. anyway, my friend did his training in Siemens, and he got only Rm600.

why dont u stay there and do your internship? you wont gain as much exposure/training back here in malaysia unless you are in a MNC.

btw, I did mine at eBworx, got involved in project management and development. responsible to build a timesheet system using asp, com/com+. and sql server 2000. local IT companies are more involved in development of web based systems using asp, jsp, .net

windy_city
05-06-2004, 02:22 AM
wow... it sounds like there are quite a number of US grads going to Accenture for internship... i will be going there for my 2nd round interview next tuesday... hope that i can get through...

dun worry, i think it is not hard to get Accenture in Malaysia, they are in need of cheap labor now. They need to meet a deadline soon, that why so many people got hired(plus the pay is really good compare to other internships in malaysia, i just realize how low they pay for an intern back home)
Anyway, good luck, it should not be a problem, my friend got it just by being interviewed over the phone!!

Anyway, just receive an email from Motorola, they need some grad in mech E and EE in their factory in Penang. Interested people, pls be on the lookout for it!!

bt3on9
05-06-2004, 02:33 AM
windy_city: now you realised that there is an exploitation of professional workers in malaysia? haha... real cheap labour... RM1200 internship you all consider cheap... we are pretty much blessed to be paid RM 500... really... many of my friends work like dogs in their internships and paid only RM 300.

btw, if you guys and gals studying in overseas and are scouting for a place to do internship in malaysia, i strongly recommend Maxis if you want a taste of a good, I mean real good and lucrative internship at a local company.

sueyi, from your location, i assume that you are studying CS in Carnegie, true? if yes, dont look for local companies. apply IBM, Sun, Fujitsu, British Telecom, Accenture, Siemens, Ericsson, InventQJaya, NTT, McKinsey.

windy_city
05-06-2004, 03:36 AM
windy_city: now you realised that there is an exploitation of professional workers in malaysia? haha... real cheap labour... RM1200 internship you all consider cheap... we are pretty much blessed to be paid RM 500... really... many of my friends work like dogs in their internships and paid only RM 300.

Sorry I was being naive in my previous post, the "cheap" word there mean low pay, not the quality of the labor is cheap.
Sorry for the misunderstanding.

That why I said i just realized that they pay so low for intern back home. RM1200 is good enough, can earn more with OT, plus my friend is just freshman.

sueyi
05-06-2004, 03:55 AM
bt3on9 ... thanks so much for your offer to help. well I am not looking an internship right now, i am interning at siemens near philadelphia this summer, have just settled in the town. i havent started work yet but after my summers over if anyone who wants to email me about hows its like there, no problem ..

i just wanted to know about the IT industry at home, what are the good IT companies, how is it for overseas students to go home and do internship, how is the pay and the experience like. plus just want to hv a conversation bout IT companies at home.

wei cher .. what type of things karensoft do?

ohh .. i just realised i had been to the inventQJaya website before .. not to offend anyone, but when i read their http://www.inventqjaya.com/Technologies.html page, it sounded a bit crazy and not real .. since i have now done more inspection of the website, i guess i should change my mind :)

and bt3on9 again ... best luck for your interview!!

05-06-2004, 04:12 AM
inventQJaya was on my campus looking for Malaysians to intern or work full time with them. In fact, I got a job offer for internship from them, by just helping them organizing a talk here.

05-06-2004, 04:52 AM
as for karensoft, they do custom softwares/IT solutions like ERP, ERM, CRM software, etc

bt3on9
06-06-2004, 12:02 AM
windy_city: i knew you were referring to low pay when you mentioned "cheap". yeah, local IT companies could not afford to pay you high and most of the time, they don't even "dare" to hire grads from overseas, which results in many overseas grads going into huge MNCs which offices in Malaysia.

sueyi: in malaysia, if you get into local IT companies, for a fresh grad, the salary range (monthly) is ranging from RM 1400 to RM 2200 the most. only semi-conductor and MN companies like intel, accenture, altera, siltera, motorola, shell, schlumberger, sun, oracle, samsung, ibm will pay a fresh grad with a monthly salary ranging from RM 2500 to RM 3500.

InventQJaya has just recently set up its office, a huge one indeed, at Cyberjaya. It seems that it is the only company in Malaysia, hiring people with Masters, PhDs to do R&D in a variety of fields, biotech all the way till nanotech.

It has also, relentlessly, publishing those positions in The Star. Look very extremely... WOW... I am sure they most probably take in grads from esp the states. I somehow feel so from the way they publish and you know describe the requirements of their positions.

06-06-2004, 01:47 AM
ok....my site is back up again =) so for those who would like to know more about Internship ASIA, please visit here:

http://www.internshipasia.tk

Hasn't been updated for a while...'cos it's my exams...but it'll change soon =)

...and about internships, isn't the main intention to learn new things instead of earning money? But seriously, 500 a month for photocopying is not too bad =)

Anyway, what do you guys think of working for free...if we can get students to be more involved in the company?

Cheers =)

06-06-2004, 02:11 AM
Wei Cher, I have a thread here that i try to find some jobs offered by MSC-Status companies. I have found some. Will try to add more when I am free.

06-06-2004, 04:23 AM
thanks would be helpful if you can email me the contacts of these promising companies =)

Cheers =)

26-06-2004, 12:39 AM
hey guys, help me out.....just wanna do a quick survey about internships:

1. Would you work for free as an intern?
2. Which company will you choose to do your internship in? A big MNC or a new tech start-up?
3. Will you consider an internship back home in Malaysia?
4. Which industry do you wanna do your internship in?

What me and a couple of guys here in Imperial aim to do is to setup an organisation for overseas students to get internships back home, for more information pls visit our webpage. (http://www.internshipasia.y-host.com)

Anyone willing to contribute original articles about internships/the working world are welcomed =)

Thanks in advance =)

windy_city
26-06-2004, 09:40 AM

2. Which company will you choose to do your internship in? A big MNC or a new tech start-up?

What me and a couple of guys here in Imperial aim to do is to setup an organisation for overseas students to get internships back home, for more information pls visit our webpage. (http://www.internshipasia.y-host.com)

Anyone willing to contribute original articles about internships/the working world are welcomed =)

Thanks in advance =)

Answer:
1. No way I would work for free for a profit making company! Unless it is a non-profit organization (this does not include those companies that are not making profit. :D )

2. I think a big MNC (look better on my resume :o ) Actually small or big company does not matter as long as I have the opportunity to learn stuffs.

3. Sure I will consider an internship back home!! (Another reason to make me feel less guilty wasting all those money on plane ticket to fly back :o )

4. Consultancy (example Accenture) and banking industry. (Citibank (Malaysia) Equity is a good start, my friend just get in for an internship there)

gonjeng
25-07-2004, 11:02 AM

Thanks in advance =)

heh...
1. will i? well personally, it depends on the work i'll be doing. if i'll be doing some boring routine job, just helping little bit here and there, my answer would be 'hell no!'. if if the work enables me to gain valuable experience, sth cool, things i can proudly put on my resume (and brag :p) and tell ppl what ive done, i wouldnt mine. basically, so long as in the long run the market value of myself increases, i wouldnt mine doing an intern for free :)
2. in this case, i'll go for the co. that can provide me with most educational experience. big or small doesnt really matter... whats the point of doing an intern in a big company when all i'll do is just photocopying :p
3. hell yeah!
4. in majoring in aerospace engineering. so obviously i wanna go into aerospace/aviation related industry :)

well thats all 'sepatah dua kata' from me :)