View Full Version : Survey: Veterinary Science for JPA?

hansley
22-04-2009, 11:54 AM
I'm just wondering anyone out there applying for veterinary science for JPA?

farkickin
22-04-2009, 01:03 PM
I'm just wondering anyone out there applying for veterinary science for JPA?

me..u apply for it too???

SapphireDragon
22-04-2009, 01:07 PM
I'm curious why people choose veterinary: Can someone explain to me why? I heard its intersting

farkickin
22-04-2009, 01:36 PM
idk bout others but for me, i apply for vet bcoz i love animals n easily feel pity for them..i want to save those suffering animals..but i know that not many ppl apply for vet..so if i dont take vet course, who else will..who else will save those animals:P

anyone else apply same course as me???
senior mybe??can u share ur experience?need some advice too:)

SapphireDragon
22-04-2009, 01:43 PM
Then u have a high probability of getting chosen by JPA right?

farkickin
22-04-2009, 01:46 PM
haiz..dont know..i did sucks in my interbiu

hansley
22-04-2009, 06:53 PM
OMG.
i applied for veterinary cause i really have passion in it.
actually it was a hard decision cause I have equal interest in medicine and veterinary.
but ended up choosing vet since medicine maybe harder to get.
my interview was rather difficult.
in english and bm
and i honestly think i didn't performed that well in bm compared to english.

farkickin
23-04-2009, 01:05 AM
OMG.
i applied for veterinary cause i really have passion in it.
actually it was a hard decision cause I have equal interest in medicine and veterinary.
but ended up choosing vet since medicine maybe harder to get.
my interview was rather difficult.
in english and bm
and i honestly think i didn't performed that well in bm compared to english.

yay!! finally i found some1 with same interest..
ok..lets find some more gang members..hehe:)

u r a boy rite???
can i kno ur result???

hansley
23-04-2009, 11:03 AM
Guy duh. Oh wait, I have a blog here (http://hansleyliew.blogspot.com)
My result isn't that outstanding to be known.
Tee hee...
Not straight A1s nor straight As
embarrassing much.

farkickin
23-04-2009, 02:40 PM
Guy duh. Oh wait, I have a blog here (http://hansleyliew.blogspot.com)
My result isn't that outstanding to be known.
Tee hee...
Not straight A1s nor straight As
embarrassing much.

its ok..no need to tell
dont feel embarass la..mine too not str8 a..

ive read ur blog..quite interesting..

wishing u all the best for jpa..
mybe we can meet if both of us get it

hansley
23-04-2009, 04:18 PM
I've got a B that ruined my whole cert I conclude, thus not straight As thanks to that bloody B. I don't really put much hopes for JPA, even seniors with 11A1s or 12A1s tend to have the tendency to fail to get JPA. So, instead of pleading for it I'll make it as an alternative. I'm more prepared to do A Levels or form 6.

But then, still have hope. So, just pray for it. ^ ^

farkickin
25-04-2009, 01:58 PM
only 2?? anybody else??

norelle-kimi
07-05-2009, 06:19 PM
I did apply for veterinary science-jpa.

hansley
07-05-2009, 06:49 PM

AWH. GREAT! one more...hehe

farkickin
07-05-2009, 10:14 PM

yeah..3 ppl now

hansley
07-05-2009, 10:41 PM
yeah..3 ppl now

just curious.. was vet the first choice ???

farkickin
07-05-2009, 10:47 PM
just curious.. was vet the first choice ???

first choice for what??

hansley
07-05-2009, 10:51 PM
first choice for what??

JPA i mean..

farkickin
07-05-2009, 11:02 PM
JPA i mean..

owhh..i think yes coz we can only choose 1 course in jpa rite?
or isit u mean something else..
i dun understand la..:P

hansley
07-05-2009, 11:19 PM
owhh..i think yes coz we can only choose 1 course in jpa rite?
or isit u mean something else..
i dun understand la..:P

what i mean is.. from the beginning do you aim to be a vet ???
cz for me.. i cant choose between medic and vet actually.

farkickin
07-05-2009, 11:36 PM
what i mean is.. from the beginning do you aim to be a vet ???
cz for me.. i cant choose between medic and vet actually.

ooo..now i understand..

yea..me too had a difficult time choosing those two courses.
but then, i think the animals need me more than the human..:amuse

hansley
08-05-2009, 12:24 AM
ooo..now i understand..

yea..me too had a difficult time choosing those two courses.
but then, i think the animals need me more than the human..:amuse

owh. thats cool. heheheehe i think so too.

leongyinyee
03-06-2009, 05:19 AM
Hi, senior here. Studying in Canada currently. Anyone of u get the scholarship?

farkickin
03-06-2009, 11:36 AM

me..but i got australia..
do u hv friend that got aussie too??
mind to tell me your experience?:)

leongyinyee
04-06-2009, 12:35 PM
this year? my bro get australia too. to enter vet college in canada is not so easy. we have to take 3 years of sc degree 1st. I am enrolled in Bio-Medical Science now. For Australia, I am not so sure about it. However, I think you all need to take a year of degree in sc 1st. U all can ask ur senior in INTEC after u al register there.

Fire_dragoon
04-06-2009, 07:55 PM
i got vet, australia. goin to intec. who guys got the same course?

ayja
04-06-2009, 09:45 PM
this year? my bro get australia too. to enter vet college in canada is not so easy. we have to take 3 years of sc degree 1st. I am enrolled in Bio-Medical Science now. For Australia, I am not so sure about it. However, I think you all need to take a year of degree in sc 1st. U all can ask ur senior in INTEC after u al register there.

if I'm not mistaken - for australia it's only university of melbourne that requires you to take a degree in science first. other than that, sydneyU, UoQueensland and Murdoch allows you to go into BVSc straightaway. Don't worry so much juniors, the people from IDP will explain to you when you enter

farkickin
05-06-2009, 01:30 PM

yeah me dis year..i think same as ur bro..

i dun understand, why it stated in the letter 3 years only for the degree??:(

leongyinyee
06-06-2009, 11:52 AM
I think JPA did some mistakes as generally most of the courses they offered(accountancy etc.) only take 3 years to graduate in Australia. You all can try to ask JPA officer during the registration day and I am sure that they will sort all the things out. Don't worry. Everything will be fine.

06-06-2009, 10:49 PM
I think JPA did some mistakes as generally most of the courses they offered(accountancy etc.) only take 3 years to graduate in Australia. You all can try to ask JPA officer during the registration day and I am sure that they will sort all the things out. Don't worry. Everything will be fine.
yes, nowadays they cut short the degree period to 3 years and that includes engineering too.

norelle-kimi
07-06-2009, 04:36 PM

I got it..ICPU in Taylor's Subang Jaya.
Will you mind sharing your experience with me??

leongyinyee
09-06-2009, 03:05 PM
reply ya! =)

billiejean
18-03-2010, 02:38 AM
erm i need some help here... i'm applying for veterinary science for JPA.. is it hard to get into universities overseas? I check out the websites and it seems like very few universities are offering this course and its competitive... I'm kinda worried now.. oh no.. Any seniors out there? can u share your experience or enlighten me on how the pre-u studies goes about here? I would really appreciate your reply.. thanks in advance!

btw... anyone else applying for vet? :)

kerolaura
18-03-2010, 09:50 AM
For my batch, only less than 10 scholars got vet for nz n aussie bound. So, u can consider this competitive.

ayja
18-03-2010, 02:08 PM
erm i need some help here... i'm applying for veterinary science for JPA.. is it hard to get into universities overseas? I check out the websites and it seems like very few universities are offering this course and its competitive... I'm kinda worried now.. oh no.. Any seniors out there? can u share your experience or enlighten me on how the pre-u studies goes about here? I would really appreciate your reply.. thanks in advance!

the requirements for Aus unis are quite high. As for the NZ uni (only one uni in NZ offers vet) you'll need to compete once you're here. That means you have to compete with other intl students once you're in the uni for limited places into the programme. As for the UK, I have no knowledge of whether students are sent there. The pre-u programme is SAM for Aus/NZ and ICPU for Canada. You can check out what I wrote just a while ago here
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?p=297659&posted=1#post297659

blurhead
18-03-2010, 02:12 PM

During my batch (SPM 2008), there are about 10 Vet Sc students going to Aus and NZ. I'm not sure bout the numbers for Canada tho... And for our seniors (SPM 2007), from what i heard from my friends, only 2 out of the 7 students managed to fly to Australia. Not sure bout NZ though. In NZ, there is only one university which is recognised by JPA, which is Massey. I heard the TER score was rather low at 80++? For Australia, there's Melbourne and Sydney University, both having a rather high requirement for TER (if I'm not mistaken, a minimum of 97?) So yeah, you can say that vet science is rather tough to enter in overseas universities.

Should you receive the JPA scholarship and heading towards Aus or NZ, you'll be doing the AUSMAT (or also SAM) programme for 1 and a half years, most probably in INTEC. For Canada, you'll be doing the Canadian Matriculation, i'm not sure where and for how long.

ayja
18-03-2010, 03:17 PM
During my batch (SPM 2008), there are about 10 Vet Sc students going to Aus and NZ. I'm not sure bout the numbers for Canada tho... And for our seniors (SPM 2007), from what i heard from my friends, only 2 out of the 7 students managed to fly to Australia. Not sure bout NZ though. In NZ, there is only one university which is recognised by JPA, which is Massey. I heard the TER score was rather low at 80++? For Australia, there's Melbourne and Sydney University, both having a rather high requirement for TER (if I'm not mistaken, a minimum of 97?) So yeah, you can say that vet science is rather tough to enter in overseas universities.

Melbourne U does not offer undergraduate vet programmes anymore.

billiejean
19-03-2010, 02:06 AM
For my batch, only less than 10 scholars got vet for nz n aussie bound. So, u can consider this competitive.

so few of them got JPA for this course? does JPA limit students from taking this course?

the requirements for Aus unis are quite high. As for the NZ uni (only one uni in NZ offers vet) you'll need to compete once you're here. That means you have to compete with other intl students once you're in the uni for limited places into the programme. As for the UK, I have no knowledge of whether students are sent there. The pre-u programme is SAM for Aus/NZ and ICPU for Canada. You can check out what I wrote just a while ago here
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?p=297659&posted=1#post297659

thanks alot for the info! but do they send students to study vet in US?

Should you receive the JPA scholarship and heading towards Aus or NZ, you'll be doing the AUSMAT (or also SAM) programme for 1 and a half years, most probably in INTEC. For Canada, you'll be doing the Canadian Matriculation, i'm not sure where and for how long.

only 10 from the whole Malaysia?? why is it that they offer so few people to study vet?? hmmmm..... btw.. thanks for ur reply!

ayja
19-03-2010, 03:14 AM
thanks alot for the info! but do they send students to study vet in US?

So far no. Because in the US veterinary science is postgraduate entry.

only 10 from the whole Malaysia?? why is it that they offer so few people to study vet?? hmmmm..... btw.. thanks for ur reply!

They do no 'limit' or 'discourage' people wanting to be vets. It's not few relative to the number of applicants. If you check out the proportion of scholarships they gave out in 08 (spm 07 batch) somewhere here on recom, you'll see that the percentage of those who got it relative to those who applied is higher than most competitive courses. But of course, don't apply just for the sake of getting the scholarship.

A lot of this info can be found on the JPA website (esilav2.jpa.gov.my) for the countries they send to - and the respective universities for the requirements (you can go to the jpa website, key in country, course and uni and see if it's recognised.). Take time to read it..

blurhead
19-03-2010, 01:18 PM

You can get the statistics from here.
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7789&highlight=distribution

Based on the statistics, JPA awarded 14 Vet Sc students with the scholarship for SPM 2007 leavers. The numbers did not change much last year and probably this year too. Btw, the 10 that i mentioned was only in my batch in Ausmat, I do not know the numbers who will be going to Canada. Don't be discouraged though, think positively. :)

*ps: I tried counting all the Vet Sc students in my college and i only got till 8.

billiejean
20-03-2010, 12:55 AM
You can get the statistics from here.
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7789&highlight=distribution

Based on the statistics, JPA awarded 14 Vet Sc students with the scholarship for SPM 2007 leavers. The numbers did not change much last year and probably this year too. Btw, the 10 that i mentioned was only in my batch in Ausmat, I do not know the numbers who will be going to Canada. Don't be discouraged though, think positively. :)

*ps: I tried counting all the Vet Sc students in my college and i only got till 8.

oh no! so few of them?? hmm... what about the interview for vet science students? will they ask stuff about that? does JPA offer vet locally? hmm.. i hope i can get the overseas one though.... btw... r u a vet student? :)

blurhead
20-03-2010, 01:08 AM
oh no! so few of them?? hmm... what about the interview for vet science students? will they ask stuff about that? does JPA offer vet locally? hmm.. i hope i can get the overseas one though.... btw... r u a vet student? :)

Nope, I'm not a vet student, hehe...

I'll let you read one my classmate's experience. She wrote this last year after she attended the interview. You can read it here (http://www.recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=217734&postcount=160).

From my experience, they won't ask too detailed questions regarding your field. However, they will most probably ask you why you chose this course, why do you think you deserve it rather than the others... These kind of questions are favourite questions i would say.

And btw, I don't think JPA offers vet science locally... If you wanna do vet science locally on your own, UPM offers good qualifications and studies for vet science... Just another option besides JPA...:)

billiejean
20-03-2010, 01:18 AM
Nope, I'm not a vet student, hehe...

I'll let you read one my classmate's experience. She wrote this last year after she attended the interview. You can read it here (http://www.recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=217734&postcount=160).

From my experience, they won't ask too detailed questions regarding your field. However, they will most probably ask you why you chose this course, why do you think you deserve it rather than the others... These kind of questions are favourite questions i would say.

And btw, I don't think JPA offers vet science locally... If you wanna do vet science locally on your own, UPM offers good qualifications and studies for vet science... Just another option besides JPA...:)

so means.. its either i get it or not is it? chances are really at stake..but it seems like less people are applying for vet sc or maybe less recommers applying for vet....hmm.. did ur fren get the scholarship? :nuts

blurhead
20-03-2010, 01:28 AM
so means.. its either i get it or not is it? chances are really at stake..but it seems like less people are applying for vet sc or maybe less recommers applying for vet....hmm.. did ur fren get the scholarship? :nuts

Yes, haha, or else she wouldn't be called my classmate... :)
Well, not getting the scholarship is not the end of your dream of becoming a vet scientist (if it really is your dream lah)... there are always other options, like self financing for pre-u studies and get a good result, maybe you might obtain scholarships from overseas universities... the scholarship not necessarily must be from JPA only.

Well I would say, generally very few people chose vet sc. And for those who are taking up vet sc in my course now, i could really see their passion towards animals and towards realising their dream... :)

billiejean
22-03-2010, 10:39 PM
Yes, haha, or else she wouldn't be called my classmate... :)
Well, not getting the scholarship is not the end of your dream of becoming a vet scientist (if it really is your dream lah)... there are always other options, like self financing for pre-u studies and get a good result, maybe you might obtain scholarships from overseas universities... the scholarship not necessarily must be from JPA only.

Well I would say, generally very few people chose vet sc. And for those who are taking up vet sc in my course now, i could really see their passion towards animals and towards realising their dream... :)

yea.. i agree.. very few people chose vet sc. i wonder why.. i like animals.. especially dogs and horses... erm... does JPA consider vet sc as an important course? as in the applicants have to be straight As students like those applying for medicine? congrats to ur fren!! She will make a good vet! :)

blurhead
23-03-2010, 12:18 AM
yea.. i agree.. very few people chose vet sc. i wonder why.. i like animals.. especially dogs and horses... erm... does JPA consider vet sc as an important course? as in the applicants have to be straight As students like those applying for medicine? congrats to ur fren!! She will make a good vet! :)

yeah, but you have to understand, being a vet isn't all about treating cute animals like dogs and cats. If you're working for the government for instance, they might send you to animal farms (cow, goat, sheep, chicken, horse or even pig) to actually monitor these animals to prevent diseases and all... so some people have this wrong idea about vet science... its great that you like animals. :)

Yes JPA do regard it as important, or else they wouldnt send students overseas just to study vet science. Every course that is offered by JPA is regarded important to them, if not, they will not sponsor students to do these courses. Like for instance, JPA sponsored students to study actuarial science previously till this year, they removed the course from the list, reason being "bukan kursus keutamaan" (or something between that line)...

You don't have to be straight A's, definitely. But straight A's will be an advantage tho. I have friends here who did not score straight A's but still managed to get the scholarship. So don't lose hope, just hope for the best!

billiejean
23-03-2010, 01:17 AM
yeah, but you have to understand, being a vet isn't all about treating cute animals like dogs and cats. If you're working for the government for instance, they might send you to animal farms (cow, goat, sheep, chicken, horse or even pig) to actually monitor these animals to prevent diseases and all... so some people have this wrong idea about vet science... its great that you like animals. :)

Yes JPA do regard it as important, or else they wouldnt send students overseas just to study vet science. Every course that is offered by JPA is regarded important to them, if not, they will not sponsor students to do these courses. Like for instance, JPA sponsored students to study actuarial science previously till this year, they removed the course from the list, reason being "bukan kursus keutamaan" (or something between that line)...

You don't have to be straight A's, definitely. But straight A's will be an advantage tho. I have friends here who did not score straight A's but still managed to get the scholarship. So don't lose hope, just hope for the best!

thanks alot! U seemed to know very well about the stuff bout JPA.. haha! well.. it may be stinky, but pigs look cute at times though..hehe.. How long is the bond for those taking vet sc? will they release us from the bond if there's no job for us here?:)Btw.. what are you pursuing and which country will u be heading to?

ayja
30-03-2010, 04:51 PM
mm does jpa offer scholarship for students to study vet locally if i fail to get PILN? i really hope they do =( i really hope i can be a vet

I don't think they do. But if you want to do vet locally you can do STPM followed by applying for UPM. Alternatively what you can do is by applying for Asasi Sains Pertanian in UPM thru UPU (hope you've heard of that before =P) which is like a foundation course, one year, a bit like matrikulasi and then you'll be able to compete for vet science in UPM . that'll be quite a good alternative. but i'm not sure if applications for UPU have already closed...

aquapup
02-04-2010, 12:05 AM
hey thanks alot for all the info here:) have applied for jpa vet sc 2010, interview's on monday!

billiejean
02-04-2010, 03:40 PM
mine in putrajaya.. argh.. fear chilling my bones as the day creeps in! hmmm. i choose vet science because i love animals.. dogs, cats, horses.. haha what about u?

aquapup
02-04-2010, 03:43 PM
mine's in kepala batas :nod i really adore animals and i believe there aren't enough people to care for them~

billiejean
02-04-2010, 03:52 PM
if they ask where would u wanna study vet science, where would u choose? and why? :)

02-04-2010, 04:14 PM
Reminder: Please minimise chatting in this thread, as it is meant for discussion. Thank you.

02-04-2010, 05:19 PM
How long is the bonding years for vet science?

aquapup
02-04-2010, 05:29 PM
How long is the bonding years for vet science?

I've heard that it is 6 years long..

yileong
12-05-2010, 01:34 PM
I applied for Vet too, and I am shortlisted for the 2nd batch interview. Waiting for the result! >.<

acym1220
23-03-2013, 04:05 PM
Hi guys, I'm a SPM leaver and I plan to become a veterinarian too. Unfortunately, I have financial issues so I can't afford to go overseas to pursue my dream. What pre-u course should I take to get a scholarship? Do you guys have any details regarding the vet degree that you can share with me? Thank you so much!

ayja
31-03-2013, 03:25 PM
Hi guys, I'm a SPM leaver and I plan to become a veterinarian too. Unfortunately, I have financial issues so I can't afford to go overseas to pursue my dream. What pre-u course should I take to get a scholarship? Do you guys have any details regarding the vet degree that you can share with me? Thank you so much!

Hi! Good to know that you're keen on going into vet science. Unfortunately JPA doesn't offer scholarships to students to do veterinary science overseas anymore. You could consider doing form 6 and then attempting to get into UPM. I think there are also loans from PTPTN you may consider.

The vet degree is quite intense. You learn a lot from the basic animal (x how many species), the physiology (how things work) to things like grass+farm management and rotation to parasites (inside and outside) in the first 2 years. Then you go on to learn what causes disease+death, and then you get onto the medicine and surgery bits. There is a lot of knowledge to learn, as different species have different aspects affecting it (also, different treatment options). A good support system (ie family, friends) is essential in my opinion, as well as taking time to relax and have fun while you're at it. That's a bit of my spew, wish you all the best!