View Full Version : Survey: Actuarial Science 2009
AlvinLee91
22-04-2009, 04:27 PM
Hi 'leng zai' n 'leng loi'
I love Physic, Maths n Account .
Who have same interest with me?
Feel free to share your opinion and ideas regarding actuarial science.:laugh
Thread title changed to reflect appropriate contents.
seehua
eddielau
22-04-2009, 05:19 PM
Hi...SAme to ME...
Im applying for actuarial science.actually i oso duno much about actuarial sc.
alvin,How was ur spm result?
AlvinLee91
22-04-2009, 05:37 PM
Hi...SAme to ME...
Im applying for actuarial science.actually i oso duno much about actuarial sc.
alvin,How was ur spm result?
U duno much? then why did u apply? {Jz joking!}
I got AAAAAAAAAAAAs. how about u?
CCY_to_the_top
22-04-2009, 07:15 PM
U duno much? then why did u apply? {Jz joking!}
I got 12As. how about u?
wow..12As...good luck!!
22-04-2009, 07:23 PM
Actuarial science is more than maths, it's related to finance and commerce too, you've got to like, or at least interested in these, or else you might find later it's not really of your likings...
debie
23-04-2009, 03:40 PM
ya...me me me!!!
i applied for jpa actuarial sc toooo...
bt nw i am offered into matrix...
anyway, i wl still register at matrix on 11/5 while waiting for d jpa result...
gd luck...evry1~~
AlvinLee91
23-04-2009, 04:29 PM
ya...me me me!!!
i applied for jpa actuarial sc toooo...
bt nw i am offered into matrix...
anyway, i wl still register at matrix on 11/5 while waiting for d jpa result...
gd luck...evry1~~
Ha ha, same as me.
I also got offer from matric at KMKedah.
n going to register there.
How about u?
Cadence_hope
23-04-2009, 04:32 PM
Here are some information I'd gathered from many websites to prepare for scholarships interviews. But I cut off some unnecessary paragraphs to make it brief and easy to understand. I arrange the info in the form of Q&A. Those questions I picked from a post of ReCom which I forgot where is the thread. Not sure whether I should post here or under the actuarial science thread. Sorry if I post in wrong thread... Btw, I hope this helps. :)
Why Study Actuarial Science?
Why did you choose this field? (relate those characteristics with you during interview)
Important characteristics for an actuary to have would be as follows:
high-level of mathematical ability
Interest in solving complicated problems. An actuary who has devised a brilliant solution to complex problem must be able to explain his solution to non-actuaries!
Sharpness, creativity, practicality coupled with good business sense
Good oral and written communication skills.
Perseverance (especially in tackling the exams!!!).
Strong computer skills
Time-management skills
Good judgement, imagination and clear logical thinking
High demands of actuaries (quoted from here (http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/5/22/business/17793333&sec=business))
More actuaries are urgently needed to ensure the successful implementation of the risk-based capital framework (RBC) and other regulatory policies in the insurance industry, Actuarial Society of Malaysia president Raymond Lai said. He added that this was because there were a lot of processes, risks, stochastic modelling and other technicalities involved in the implementation of the RBC that only actuaries had the expertise to handle.
According to Lai, of the 51 actuaries currently registered with the society, 42 are working in Malaysia. In the next five years, it expects to register 100 more actuaries. He said the number of actuaries in Malaysia was very small compared with other countries. For example, Hong Kong had more than 1,000 actuaries and Australia about 3,000.
Where would you like to pursue this course? (just my answer and opinion, u guys can ignore it if US is not your choice)
The United States is the premiere destination for international students from all over the world. The main advantages of higher education in the USA are as follows:
World class learning institutions
Worldwide recognition
Supporting industries, training & research
Because of the vast wealth of resources in America, the opportunities for practical training related to your field of study are vast. Most college and universities have established affiliations with employers and researchers in different fields of study, thereby creating an avenue for students to obtain hands-on and invaluable experience.
Technology
Many universities incorporate the latest technology into their curriculum, encouraging students to obtain proficiency before they go out into the workplace.
Flexibility
This means that, very often, one can choose when to attend classes, how many classes to enroll in each semester or quarter, what elective or optional classes to take, etc. An American education is very conforming to each student's needs.
Global focus
More and more often, American colleges and universities are focusing on the global aspects of each subject, better preparing students with a worldwide view of their field.
What do you think actuaries work for?
Actuaries are professionals who provide expert advice and relevant solutions for business and societal problems that involve economic risk.
An actuary working for an insurance company might calculate how much a company would charge for a new type of car, homeowners, or health insurance. He or she may have to figure out how much money needs to be invested in a pension fund. Or, an actuary might calculate how much damage an earthquake or hurricane could cause.
Where do actuaries work?
The traditional areas in which actuaries operate are: consultancy, investment, life and general insurance and pensions. Actuaries are also increasingly moving into other areas of the financial sector where their analytical skills can be employed.
The areas of work for actuaries are not limited to life insurance and consulting firms only. Instead, the horizon for this line of job is very wide. Below are some of the areas of work which actuaries do:
Life Assurance
Actuarial Consultancy
Investment and Financial Services
General and Health Insurance
Employee Benefit Industry (e.g. EPF)
Government Sector (e.g. BNM)
Colleges and Universities
How do you become a certified actuary?
No specific degree is mandatory but, like most good jobs, graduating from college gives your career a "jump start." Most practicing actuaries today have a degree in math, actuarial science, statistics, or computer science. A degree in business economics or finance would also give you a great start.
What are the professional papers that need to be taken
Society of Actuaries (SOA) - United States
1. Preliminary Education Component - Consists of five papers:
Exam P Probability (same as CAS Exam 1)
Exam FM Financial Mathematics (same as CAS Exam 2)
Exam MLC Actuarial Models - Life Contingencies Segment
Exam MFE Actuarial Models - Financial Economics Segment
(completion of MLC and MLC will entitle candidate credit for CAS Exam 3)
Exam C Construction and Evaluation of Actuarial Models (same as CAS Exam 4)
2. Validation by Educational Experience (VEE)- Validation of these topics is required in addition to the four Preliminary Education examinations (P/1, FM/2, MCL, MFE and C/4). The SOA, CIA, and CAS have implemented VEE requirements for the following topics:
VEE–Applied Statistical Methods
VEE–Corporate Finance
VEE–Economics
3. Fundamentals of Actuarial Practice (FAP) - Web-based course comprising eight modules and two assessments:
a) Module 1 - Introduction/The Role of the Professional Actuary
b) Module 2 - Core External Forces
c) Module 3 - Risk in Actuarial Problems
d) Module 4 - Actuarial Solutions
e) Module 5 - Actuarial Models
f) Module 6 - Model Selection and Solution Design
g) Module 7 - Selection of Initial Assumptions
h) Module 8 - Monitoring Results and Completing the Control Cycle
Assessments:
a) First Assessment upon completion of Modules 1 to 5
b) Final Assessment upon completion of Modules 6 to 8
4. Associate Professionalism Course (ACP) - Half day course covering professionalism, ethics and legal liabilities. Upon completion of the Preliminary Education Component, VEE, FAP and ACP, the candidate will obtain the title of Associate of the SoA (ASA).
5. To proceed from Associate to Fellow in the SoA, additional courses have to be completed:
Two FSA Modules in one specialty track
One Company/Sponsor Perspective (CSP) paper and one Design and Pricing (DP) paper from one of the following areas:
a) Finance: Advanced Finance and ERM(CSP)/Financial Economic Theory (DP)
b) Enterprise Risk Management (ERM): Advanced Finance and ERM (CSP)/Financial Economic Theory (DP)
c) Investments: Advanced Portfolio Management (CSP)/Financial Economic Theory (DP)
d) Group and Health: Group and Health CSP Exam / Group and Health DP Exam
e) Individual Life and Annuities: Individual Life and Annuities CSP Exam / Individual Life and Annuities DP Exam
f) Retirement Benefits: Retiremenet Benefits CSP Exam / Retirement Benefits DP Exam
- Strategic Business Management (SBM) Module
- Fellowship Admissions Course (FAC)
Can you handle the pressure and rigour of pursuing this career as a large percentage of people drop out?
For those who persevere and qualify, the rewards are well worth the effort and self-satisfaction plenty. All of this specialist training and development of judgement does take time (typically four to six years to qualify as an actuary), but is a valuable investment for a student to make.
By and large, the rewards are good. It is no secret that an actuary is one of the higher paid jobs. Of course, salaries can vary according to company policy and market forces of supply and demand. A successful study of actuarial science should produce an analytic, business-aware individual who would be equipped to fulfil a range of senior roles in finance. By carrying on to complete the professional exams to become an actuary, a reward of a responsible job and high salary should follow as a reward for the commitment you will have made!
debie
24-04-2009, 01:35 PM
Ha ha, same as me.
I also got offer from matric at KMKedah.
n going to register there.
How about u?
i gt johore matrix...
khangsheng91
24-04-2009, 01:45 PM
Actuarial Science ROCKS!!
I applied actuarial science too in JPA. Hopefully can get the offer but my result wasn't very good. 11A but 9a1 2a2 only.
I get matrix offer and going to KMPP ( penang campus for matrikulasi program)
Nice to meet you all here!
Cadence_hope
24-04-2009, 04:41 PM
Actuarial Science ROCKS!!
I applied actuarial science too in JPA. Hopefully can get the offer but my result wasn't very good. 11A but 9a1 2a2 only.
Some spm leavers with straight A's but not A1 also managed to secure jpa scholarship. So no worries. :)) It really depends on many factors.
I heard some of my friends chose actuarial science just because they love maths and the high salary of an actuary. In fact actuarial science involves business and accounting. I'm quite worry about that because I didn't take ekonomi or akaun in spm. But I'm quite interested in business.
Xenocide
24-04-2009, 07:25 PM
I applied for the JPA acturial science too. I also get matrik in johor, and I think I will register for it first. Is the result for JPA will be anounced in the third week of May? The 'third week' means or 10th-16th or 17th-23rd?
Saikit
24-04-2009, 07:26 PM
3rd week of MAY = 11 - 17 of MAY
khangsheng91
24-04-2009, 07:40 PM
I hope so! haha I love maths very much and interested on business but I not really like account cause I hate memorize things. Perhaps I am quite lazy LOL..
Saikit
24-04-2009, 08:08 PM
actural science did related to a bit of accounting stuff.. be prepare >.< actural scientist work very very very close with the accountants of the company
SapphireDragon
24-04-2009, 08:35 PM
I hope so! haha I love maths very much and interested on business but I not really like account cause I hate memorize things. Perhaps I am quite lazy LOL..
As far as I'm concerned, accounting doesn't need much memorisation. It just incorporates theory and then apply it. Its difficult at 1st but when u get used to it, its one of the easiest subjects.
debie
24-04-2009, 09:51 PM
Some spm leavers with straight A's but not A1 also managed to secure jpa scholarship. So no worries. :)) It really depends on many factors.
I heard some of my friends chose actuarial science just because they love maths and the high salary of an actuary. In fact actuarial science involves business and accounting. I'm quite worry about that because I didn't take ekonomi or akaun in spm. But I'm quite interested in business.
ya...i like maths also, n i din take acc n economy in my spm, i can rather say dat i noe nothing abt acc, economy n business...
bt i heard dat we can learn all dis frm d basic once we enter university, so i think u dun hv to worry so much for dis moment...or if u reali worry, i suggest u may borrow some refrence books on acc n economy frm those who hv them, at least u wl noe lil bout them b4 u enter actuarial study...
ya...i like maths also, n i din take acc n economy in my spm, i can rather say dat i noe nothing abt acc, economy n business...
bt i heard dat we can learn all dis frm d basic once we enter university, so i think u dun hv to worry so much for dis moment...or if u reali worry, i suggest u may borrow some refrence books on acc n economy frm those who hv them, at least u wl noe lil bout them b4 u enter actuarial study...
sumore to add on...
i gt a senior who is same like us, frm sc stream, take AS course, n now he is one of the qualified actuaries...
since most of the actuarial students r frm sc stream, do u think there wl be problems for us???
DoomScythe
24-04-2009, 10:15 PM
Regarding the knowledge of business and accounting, I suggest that you take those subjects while you're doing your pre-university. It helps a lot when you're in the university, otherwise you might find yourself to be quite lost then.
Most students are selected from the science stream because there are more intellectually-inclined students in the science stream. As you know, student who did well in PMR tend to go to science stream, whether or not they like it. Thus, this might explain the reason why there are more selected from science stream.
DaRkiezz
25-04-2009, 01:04 AM
So is the chance bright to get a place for actuarial science under JPA? I got 10A1, 2A2... But still quite worry... Since so many spm candidates did well last year... Straight A's are all the way...
eddielau
25-04-2009, 01:46 AM
there is a lot of excellent candidates applying JPA for actuarial science.Im quite scared too.haiz...a few guys in my school with 13A also apply for it...this year ,it will be very competitive.
khangsheng91
25-04-2009, 01:54 AM
Duno eh, cause my spm account make me frustrated cause a lot of format needed to memorize. Luckily know a little bit about account. But if I can't get JPA's offer I think I will appeal but change my course to Computer Science.. Perhaps that course will be more easier to get selected..
By the way is it good enough for studying Actuarial Science in Local U? What U you guys suggest?
eddielau
25-04-2009, 02:10 AM
I attend for few education fair before..
for most college,u hv to study ATDP ,then to US...
For HELP college,they also offer us to study in canada but 4 years there.under a scheme,they will offer us part time job related to actuarial science..the pay is quite high..
For Local U,lik UM,i dun think they can provide us a good course.Nt much ppl study this course in local.....
khangsheng91
25-04-2009, 02:14 AM
Yea if go for private sure no problem. Now d problem is should I choose Actuarial Science when I graduated from matrix and going to Local University. Which Uni should I choose? And is it a good choice for studying AS in local?
eddielau
25-04-2009, 02:15 AM
DUn worry...I think actuarial science is more on maths and economics,nt much on accounting as actuary does not need to prepare much financial statements lik accountant
25-04-2009, 02:18 AM
There are only two local public universities offering actuarial science, UM and UKM. I think there is an active recommer studying actuarial science in UM though....
eddielau
25-04-2009, 02:19 AM
Yea if go for private sure no problem. Now d problem is should I choose Actuarial Science when I graduated from matrix and going to Local University. Which Uni should I choose? And is it a good choice for studying AS in local?
Im facing a same problem as urs..
SO,im thinking of nt to enter matriculation bt enter for form6 if im failed to obtain JPA.coz after graduate from matriculation,we can only enter a few oversea university.i dun think UM can provide gd actuarial sc course.
If really dun hv choice bt to study in local uni,i think we should study stastistics or maths in local uni.
khangsheng91
25-04-2009, 02:26 AM
But bro, my opinion lah, i think that matrix secure you a place in local uni but form6 2 years hard to say eh. Many things can happen within this two years. And the chances to go overseas are so slim unless go for private.. But what for you wana go for private after form6, it is better to go for private direct if you have the ability.
Yea i also not sure about those local U's AS course. But my fren told me that it is not important where you study but the professional paper you take. So if now i know how AS students in local take for their papers maybe I will go for it. BLUR~
eddielau
25-04-2009, 02:35 AM
mayb u r rite.we r still new in that..we duno much about it yet.
by the way,khangsheng,how was ur spm result?
khangsheng91
25-04-2009, 02:41 AM
Haha mine result sucks. 9a1 2a2 only a2 for I hated most sub : sejarah. BC is really to hard and i just get a2. I hate memorizing. LOL
eddielau
25-04-2009, 02:45 AM
ur result is quite good ad...
if u were active in co-cu,u can sure secure a JPA scholarship.
khangsheng91
25-04-2009, 02:50 AM
okok only lor. I duno my co-cu good a not and i duno co-cu affect the result how much cause when interview that time the panels just flip thru and never look at in clearly. I went for quite a couples of JPN organised 's camps and I am also participate in National Robotics Competition, New South Wales Competitions for math assessment, Olympiad national mathematics, Quiz kebangsaan kemia those lor.. nothing special lah..
eddielau
25-04-2009, 12:38 PM
okok only lor. I duno my co-cu good a not and i duno co-cu affect the result how much cause when interview that time the panels just flip thru and never look at in clearly. I went for quite a couples of JPN organised 's camps and I am also participate in National Robotics Competition, New South Wales Competitions for math assessment, Olympiad national mathematics, Quiz kebangsaan kemia those lor.. nothing special lah..
wah...
very active ad...
better than mine ad
cboon47
25-04-2009, 01:00 PM
wah,it seems many plp apply jpa for as,very competitive and i m very scared now...
eddielau
25-04-2009, 01:48 PM
anyone won any prize for Olympiad national mathematics competition before?
or any medal in national physics ,chemistry, australian maths competition and new southwales?
SapphireDragon
25-04-2009, 02:10 PM
anyone won any prize for Olympiad national mathematics competition before?
or any medal in national physics ,chemistry, australian maths competition and new southwales?
Actually the UNSW competition is not that quite "wow" already cuz anyone can enter it, unless u get high distinction. Juz pay money and u have a proud "participation" already..plain bullshit.
eddielau
25-04-2009, 02:16 PM
Actually the UNSW competition is not that quite "wow" already cuz anyone can enter it, unless u get high distinction. Juz pay money and u have a proud "participation" already..plain bullshit.
thats y im asking whether anyone get medal or mayb high distinction for it.
khangsheng91
25-04-2009, 02:17 PM
Yea that Maths assessment pay then can participate. But I got High Distinction and Distinction For two years in a row. But science assessment just credit only, sad sia.. Chemistry quiz I gt credit only. Not really rocks. So total up still nothing special. Haiz.. scary
eddielau
25-04-2009, 02:27 PM
Yea that Maths assessment pay then can participate. But I got High Distinction and Distinction For two years in a row. But science assessment just credit only, sad sia.. Chemistry quiz I gt credit only. Not really rocks. So total up still nothing special. Haiz.. scary
How about olimpiad maths n national phy competition?
any reward?
khangsheng91
25-04-2009, 02:34 PM
Olympiad? 5 question i just able to answer 2 or 3. you think i can get what prize? haha.. physic i din take part cause already take part in chem
AlvinLee91
25-04-2009, 02:35 PM
Yea that Maths assessment pay then can participate. But I got High Distinction and Distinction For two years in a row......
Wah!:nuts Congrats.....!
khangsheng91
25-04-2009, 02:42 PM
Thanks.. prepare myself for matrix in penang. say bye bye to my old school.
eddielau
25-04-2009, 02:44 PM
how about u ,alvin lee?
won any?,mind to share wiv us?
Olympiad? 5 question i just able to answer 2 or 3. you think i can get what prize? haha.. physic i din take part cause already take part in chem
u r better than me ad...
i totally cant answer any..
all juz simply answer ...haha..
so,did u hold any post in secondary sch?
Cadence_hope
25-04-2009, 03:57 PM
At least you had chances to participate in those national competitions. In my record of co-cu activities there are only two participation at 'tahap kebangsaan' which is Chinese Calligraphy Competition and an online quiz because my school never send students to those prestigious national competitions, since it is a new school. I guess this doesn't help in my jpa application for actuarial science.
Btw, which country you all chose for actuarial science during jpa interview? I chose US..
eddielau
25-04-2009, 04:08 PM
if im nt mistaken,5 marks is for participation.nt according to the competition level.if u particiapted in national phy or chem competition n won the champion,u still represented the sch ....so,it is juz 0.4 mark for that.
another 5 marks is for position held in sch....so,total 10 marks...
However,since u participate in so many competitions,u will hv a high mark for it...dun worry...
At least you had chances to participate in those national competitions. In my record of co-cu activities there are only two participation at 'tahap kebangsaan' which is Chinese Calligraphy Competition and an online quiz because my school never send students to those prestigious national competitions, since it is a new school. I guess this doesn't help in my jpa application for actuarial science.
Btw, which country you all chose for actuarial science during jpa interview? I chose US..
the interviewer din ask me about that..Bt i would lik to further my studies to US la.
I dun think they will look through our opinion...
they will choose themselves...
Cadence_hope
25-04-2009, 04:34 PM
the interviewer din ask me about that..Bt i would lik to further my studies to US la.
I dun think they will look through our opinion...
they will choose themselves...
Is this true? Among the jpa scholars for AS, majority of them were sent to US?
eddielau
25-04-2009, 04:56 PM
Is this true? Among the jpa scholars for AS, majority of them were sent to US?
NOpe..most were sent to AUStralia....
since we are facing economics crisis,mayb this year they wont send any to UK as it is very expensive to study in UK...
khangsheng91
25-04-2009, 06:01 PM
u r better than me ad...
i totally cant answer any..
all juz simply answer ...haha..
so,did u hold any post in secondary sch?
Still ok lah. Post in school? I am a committee member of Prefectorial Board in school. Besides that I am also President of Kadet Bomba and attended few negeri and kebangsaan camp. Vice president also my post in Chinese Language Society. In addition I am Sin Chew's junior reporter's vice president in kelantan.
I am aiming to go for US too but i think it will be very very tough cause my english is poor. sad...
cboon47
25-04-2009, 08:43 PM
NOpe..most were sent to AUStralia....
since we are facing economics crisis,mayb this year they wont send any to UK as it is very expensive to study in UK...
erm...Aus?but my seniors here all sent to US...
or may b ur seniors all sent to Aus?
eddielau
26-04-2009, 12:22 AM
erm...Aus?but my seniors here all sent to US...
or may b ur seniors all sent to Aus?
ya.all my seniors were sent to AUS..
mayb my seniors were nt excellent as ur seniors..haha
AlvinLee91
26-04-2009, 03:54 AM
............. New South Wales Competitions for math assessment, Olympiad national mathematics, Quiz kebangsaan kemia those lor.. nothing special lah..
Wah, U participate in SOOOOOO many activities. Who said that u r okey only? So ACTIVE !
I had achieved a Silver award in Asia-Pacific mathematical olympiad as well as High Distinction in UNSW competition toooooo............. BBBBBBUUUUUUTTTT ........................ it was in Year 2003, when I was Standard Six. Ha ha ! :-)
Luckily I got High Distinction in Nasional Chemistry Quiz in Year 2008.
So I have something Special to add on for my coco.
how about u ,alvin lee?
won any?,mind to share wiv us?
Very SORRY la ... I'm so busy preparing for going to KMKedah. U know, they encourage us to wear Batik in Thursday, but I found that some brand SELLING FOR RM138.00 ! FOR one batik shirt???? I dont know whether to buy or not.:cry
......In my record of co-cu activities there are only two participation at 'tahap kebangsaan' which is Chinese Calligraphy Competition and ........
Hi Cadence_hope,
I also participated Chinese Art Painting Competition at Nasional Level for two years simultanously and achieved High Distinction for both years.
Can we insert this competition in our coco marks???:amazed
Cadence_hope
26-04-2009, 10:11 AM
Hi Cadence_hope,
I also participated Chinese Art Painting Competition at Nasional Level for two years simultanously and achieved High Distinction for both years.
Can we insert this competition in our coco marks???:amazed
That's great. :) Of course you can, if that two years are in your form 4 and 5, plus you have certs to prove your participation and achievements. :amuse
cboon47
26-04-2009, 12:26 PM
Haiz,u all seem got matrics...sad lo,i din get it..
is anyone din get matrics but hving excellent result for spm?
Saikit
26-04-2009, 12:35 PM
Haiz,u all seem got matrics...sad lo,i din get it..
is anyone din get matrics but hving excellent result for spm?
i got straight A and i didnt get it :))
eddielau
26-04-2009, 12:51 PM
i got straight A and i didnt get it :))
Almost all my friend with straight A got it..
Only a few with high family income didnt get it...
Mayb this is the reason...
cboon47
26-04-2009, 02:26 PM
erm,i dont thk so cos i got straight A also,stay in rural area n low income ,stil didnt get it...:cry
btw,my last hope is jpa...
fyi, my friend studying actuarial science under jpa tells me that most jpa scholars are sent to the US for that course. in fact, the number is almost double the number of scholars sent to australia. he also says that he has not actually come across scholars that were sent t the UK last year.
Saikit
26-04-2009, 06:22 PM
my family income around 1.7k =.=
Cadence_hope
26-04-2009, 07:46 PM
fyi, my friend studying actuarial science under jpa tells me that most jpa scholars are sent to the US for that course. in fact, the number is almost double the number of scholars sent to australia. he also says that he has not actually come across scholars that were sent t the UK last year.
:nod I also found that there were more scholars sent to US as compared to those sent to australia. Most scholars were sent to INTI-UC for 1 year pre-U study.
khangsheng91
26-04-2009, 07:52 PM
If i not mistaken should be Inti's American Degree Transfer Program not meh?
Cadence_hope
26-04-2009, 08:02 PM
If i not mistaken should be Inti's American Degree Transfer Program not meh?
Actually I'd already enroll into that program in inti sj. But for jpa scholars studying in INTI UC their courses should be different from the one of common ADTP students right? Because they are placed in inti for pre-U study and not degree courses..
khangsheng91
26-04-2009, 08:11 PM
Than I am not sure already. Haha.. sorry can't help
eddielau
27-04-2009, 01:29 AM
For Those JPA scholars who r sent to US,will JPA force them to try to get into Ivy League or other Prestigious university in US?
especially for actuarial science...
is this true?
or juz khabar angin.....
cboon47
27-04-2009, 10:59 AM
can someone tel me whether the probability to get jpa if we applying actuarial science is high o not compared to other courses?
Saikit
27-04-2009, 11:18 AM
can someone tel me whether the probability to get jpa if we applying actuarial science is high o not compared to other courses?
all the information that you ask can be answer in this post
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7789
Cadence_hope
27-04-2009, 11:58 AM
all the information that you ask can be answer in this post
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7789
Among those who went to jpa interview last year only 19.6% who secured the scholarship. That means only 1 from 5 of us will get it *gasp* :amazed
DaRkiezz
27-04-2009, 01:53 PM
Errr...But I thought there is a number of universities they provide places in Aus and Uk?
khangsheng91
28-04-2009, 10:53 PM
Actuarial Science.. I duno i got that effort to finish all study and exams anot. stil quite worry.. worry about cant get jpa, even worry about cant follow when get into the course after gt jpa's offer..
cboon47
28-04-2009, 11:42 PM
Actuarial Science.. I duno i got that effort to finish all study and exams anot. stil quite worry.. worry about cant get jpa, even worry about cant follow when get into the course after gt jpa's offer..
same feeling!but what i worry about is whether can get jpa o not....
AlvinLee91
29-04-2009, 12:06 AM
same feeling!but what i worry about is whether can get jpa o not....
If we love very much and have strong interest in Maths, and know about statistic and finance, its no problem for us.
All we need to have is:
-superior math aptitude
-strong analytic skill
-good business sense
-communication skill
-strong computer skill
-problem solving skill
.......and other skills.
"!Pray hard for JPA!"
Angel01
29-04-2009, 07:55 PM
i also applied lar, they wont give go UK?
AlvinLee91
29-04-2009, 07:58 PM
i also applied lar, they wont give go UK?
It depends. There are three country that JPA will send you: UK, US as well as Australia.:)
Maybe this year they send u. Nobody knows.
Angel01
29-04-2009, 09:34 PM
hey do they offer go to UK for actuarial?
Cadence_hope
29-04-2009, 10:37 PM
hey do they offer go to UK for actuarial?
I think they won't because UK studies are larger budget compared to US and Australia during the economic recession now. However there's always a possibility since UK is one of the countries available for jpa scholars pursuing actuarial science..
snoopy_sy
01-05-2009, 02:14 AM
Hey. I also applied for Actuarial Science under JPA. Hope to go US for further studies. But, if no scholarship = can't go US. Sigh.
Looks like this year a lot people actually applied for this course.
Anyway, good luck guys.
Cadence_hope
01-05-2009, 05:25 PM
Hey. I also applied for Actuarial Science under JPA. Hope to go US for further studies. But, if no scholarship = can't go US. Sigh.
Looks like this year a lot people actually applied for this course.
Anyway, good luck guys.
There is a more economical choice to pursue actuarial science and other courses in US, which is American Degree Transfer Program. :) So I still can go US without JPA but of course I need other scholarship to cover my 2 years education fees in US.. For those intend to take actuarial science under ADTP, there is a special scholarship for them: Vijayashanker Foundation Award for Actuarial Science (http://www.macee.org.my/vijayashanker%20Actuarial%20Science.htm). Sorry this is a bit out of topic but I hope this helps.. :wink
snoopy_sy
01-05-2009, 05:41 PM
There is a more economical choice to pursue actuarial science and other courses in US, which is American Degree Transfer Program. :) So I still can go US without JPA but of course I need other scholarship to cover my 2 years education fees in US.. For those intend to take actuarial science under ADTP, there is a special scholarship for them: Vijayashanker Foundation Award for Actuarial Science (http://www.macee.org.my/vijayashanker%20Actuarial%20Science.htm). Sorry this is a bit out of topic but I hope this helps.. :wink
Thanks for the info ya.
But isn't it a little bit risky to go under ADP as the scholarship in US is not confirmed. What if, can't get any scholarship after 2 years in local, and I'll be hanging half way there as the expenses in US is really really expensive.
Sorry, I'm kinda out of topic.
sinyi
01-05-2009, 06:23 PM
Hello.. I applied actuarial science for jpa.. the jpa result might be coming out on 6th may.. just have to be patient.. good luck ya:))
eddielau
04-05-2009, 01:35 PM
hope that JPA will choose more scholars this year for actuarial science....
AlvinLee91
04-05-2009, 09:59 PM
hope that JPA will choose more scholars this year for actuarial science....
....so that we can make more friends:)) and have more classmates who study actuarial science.......
debie
05-05-2009, 12:12 AM
hey there, do u all discover me??
i applied actuarial sc course tooo
haha...1 more future course-mate^^
btw, let's share ur spm result, cocu achievement here...
eddielau
05-05-2009, 12:35 AM
13A...
normal co-cu achievement.
u?
debie
05-05-2009, 12:44 AM
13A...
normal co-cu achievement.
u?
me...straight 11A1s:laugh
cocu....bad~~nt even reach state level:cry:cry
AlvinLee91
05-05-2009, 01:23 PM
me...straight 11A1s:laugh
cocu....bad~~nt even reach state level:cry:cry
Never give up coz you have STRAIGHT A1. Coco achievement 10% only.
debie
05-05-2009, 09:37 PM
Never give up coz you have STRAIGHT A1. Coco achievement 10% only.
ya, u r right:laugh:laugh
btw, nice to meet u~~
mind to share ur achievement??
AlvinLee91
07-05-2009, 03:49 PM
ya, u r right:laugh:laugh
btw, nice to meet u~~
mind to share ur achievement??
I got 12As.... but my koko not very good. Ok nia.:)
debie
07-05-2009, 10:36 PM
I got 12As.... but my koko not very good. Ok nia.:)
let's hope each of us can secure a place in jpa actuarial sc course..:))
n den share the outcome here again
gd luck, my frens~~
Cadence_hope
07-05-2009, 10:44 PM
Wow are you so sure that we will be course-mate? Lol.. Btw I got 12a1's and B3 in GCE-O.. You guys including GCE-O result in your number of A's? My co-cu also normal. Nothing special.
debie
08-05-2009, 12:52 PM
Wow are you so sure that we will be course-mate? Lol.. Btw I got 12a1's and B3 in GCE-O.. You guys including GCE-O result in your number of A's? My co-cu also normal. Nothing special.
not included, btw, i gt an A1 for my GCE-O..:laugh
bt i think they wont put the GCE grade into consideration
if we all can secure d scholar, y cant we becum course-mate??
let's think optimistically:))
God wl sure make d right choice for us, whether we gt it or not, there'll still be a bright future for us since we all hv excellent result, rite?
09-05-2009, 12:34 AM
Say, anyone got overseas JPA actuarial Science course?
eddielau
09-05-2009, 12:38 AM
nope..i din get...
all candidates from my sch apply for it din get...
debie
09-05-2009, 12:46 AM
Say, anyone got overseas JPA actuarial Science course?
ya..i get it:))
09-05-2009, 12:50 AM
ya..i get it:))
congrats. i didn't apply for actuarial got france engineering for jpa. anyway, he wandering how many of u got. he got local actuarial sc.
debie
09-05-2009, 12:53 AM
congrats. i didn't apply for actuarial got france engineering for jpa. anyway, he wandering how many of u got. he got local actuarial sc.
thanx^^
erm, sorry, i not so understad wat u mean??
can u clarify for me??
AlvinLee91
09-05-2009, 12:57 AM
Anyone else get Actuarial Science under JPA?
Please state where you go. Overseas or local?
09-05-2009, 12:59 AM
thanx^^
erm, sorry, i not so understad wat u mean??
can u clarify for me??
sorry, i typed too fast. busy chatting and replying message. i asked the questions on behalf of a friend of mine who got actuarial science but is in local. he was just curious.
debie
09-05-2009, 01:04 AM
i think i gt overseas 1, no country stated...
eddielau
09-05-2009, 01:07 AM
i think i gt overseas 1, no country stated...
can show us ur letter in website?
debie
09-05-2009, 01:19 AM
Nombor MyKad
Nama Penuh
Kursus SAINS AKTUARI
Negara TIADA
Status BERJAYA
Jawapan TERIMA
Sukacita dimaklumkan bahawa saudari / saudari telah berjaya dipilih dan ditawarkan
Biasiswa Persekutuan di bawah Program Ijazah Luar Negara 2009
Surat tawaran rasmi akan dihantar kepada saudara / saudari melalui pos setelah jabatan ini menerima
pengesahan penerimaan tawaran daripada saudara / saudari.
Sila klik butang 'Terima Tawaran' sekiranya saudara / saudari menerima tawaran atau klik pada butang
'Tolak Tawaran' sekiranya saudara / saudari menolak tawaran. Sila sahkan penerimaan / penolakan
sebelum 11 Mei 2009.
cmt26
09-05-2009, 02:05 AM
hey, i got jpa actuarial science too. Actually, i don't really know about this course. What subjects we have to study? no science subjects like physics? all maths? lol. then, about the country they send us, mostly they will send to us only isit? what about australia? TQ.
Cadence_hope
09-05-2009, 12:19 PM
Congrats to all of you who got it!! Btw, I failed although I obtained 12a1s in spm. I guess the other factors pulled my marks down. Now I'm trying to appeal.
debie
09-05-2009, 01:30 PM
hmm...semms dat so far jz me n cmt26 gt dis jpa AS overseas scholar..
i'm so curious y so many of u like AlvinLee n Cadencehope fail to gt it..all of u r reali absolutely excellent..
anyway, do try to appeal, coz dis is d last n oni chance for u to gt it, instead of crying over spilt milk rite?
btw, though u din gt it, bt do believe in urself dat u r reali excellent, fail to gt jpa doesnt mean u r a loser, mayb another better 1 is waiting for u, who knows, anything under the sun perhaps 1 day becum a miracle...
cheers up guys!!!
GAMBATEH^^
smile!
09-05-2009, 06:18 PM
hey, i got jpa actuarial science too. Actually, i don't really know about this course. What subjects we have to study? no science subjects like physics? all maths? lol. then, about the country they send us, mostly they will send to us only isit? what about australia? TQ.
Maybe you can try to research more about the course actuarial science. Hehe.. Anyway, actuarial science students can be sent to either uk, us or australia.. In 2008, JPA send us to either US or australia only.. None to UK that i know of.. Anyway, it's kinda math and business orientated.. I would describe this course as a combination of Business and Science courses.. Business because of the business courses la.. Science mainly because we have to take math courses..
yuan_renn
09-05-2009, 08:01 PM
not included, btw, i gt an A1 for my GCE-O..:laugh
bt i think they wont put the GCE grade into consideration
if we all can secure d scholar, y cant we becum course-mate??
let's think optimistically:))
God wl sure make d right choice for us, whether we gt it or not, there'll still be a bright future for us since we all hv excellent result, rite?
I doubt this. Then why we were required to fill in our GCEO as well when filling the aplication form?
Wow, I must praise you for your courage, lol. "don't really know" still apply. Guess it's about playing with numbers gua:P
Maybe you can try to research more about the course actuarial science. Hehe.. Anyway, actuarial science students can be sent to either uk, us or australia.. In 2008, JPA send us to either US or australia only.. None to UK that i know of.. Anyway, it's kinda math and business orientated.. I would describe this course as a combination of Business and Science courses.. Business because of the business courses la.. Science mainly because we have to take math courses..
Got anything to do with marketing?
cmt26
10-05-2009, 12:25 AM
Wow, I must praise you for your courage, lol. "don't really know" still apply. Guess it's about playing with numbers gua:P
Lol. Initially, i don't know what to pick for jpa application. It is like i don't want something too related to science neither not related to science. Just maybe a combination of both, with less science like chemistry in what i study in the future. And, i found about actuarial science. Plus, with my teachers advice abt the pro of actuarial science, thus in the end, i just click on actuarial science. Lol..Can really imagine i will be a future actuarist. Haha..but i hope i can cope with the study la..i don't want to fail!
debie
10-05-2009, 12:44 AM
Lol. Initially, i don't know what to pick for jpa application. It is like i don't want something too related to science neither not related to science. Just maybe a combination of both, with less science like chemistry in what i study in the future. And, i found about actuarial science. Plus, with my teachers advice abt the pro of actuarial science, thus in the end, i just click on actuarial science. Lol..Can really imagine i will be a future actuarist. Haha..but i hope i can cope with the study la..i don't want to fail!
recommend u some related websites, go n c, mayb can help u to understand dis career better...
www.iamactuary.com (http://www.iamactuary.com)
www.beanactuary.org (http://www.beanactuary.org)
DaRkiezz
10-05-2009, 03:26 AM
Congratz to those who got it. I did apply for actuarial science too. Really interested in this course since I was form3. Did all my research on this course and the pathway to be an actuarist. But now, got turned down by JPA...
Quite disappointed. I got 10A1s, 2A2s. (BC and BIO).
So I guess the other factors pulled me down,just lik Cadence...
(most probably my family background part i think since i did well in my co-curricular).
Now I'm trying to appeal too...
smile!
10-05-2009, 11:09 AM
I doubt this. Then why we were required to fill in our GCEO as well when filling the aplication form?
Got anything to do with marketing?
welp..I don't think it has much to do with marketing.. But then we still learn a little bit of all elements of business like finance, marketing, accounting etc.
yuan_renn
10-05-2009, 11:36 AM
Congratz to those who got it. I did apply for actuarial science too. Really interested in this course since I was form3. Did all my research on this course and the pathway to be an actuarist. But now, got turned down by JPA...
Quite disappointed. I got 10A1s, 2A2s. (BC and BIO).
So I guess the other factors pulled me down,just lik Cadence...
(most probably my family background part i think since i did well in my co-curricular).
Now I'm trying to appeal too...
Jyjy, good luck in appealing!:)
Cadence_hope
10-05-2009, 12:55 PM
I would describe this course as a combination of Business and Science courses.. Business because of the business courses la.. Science mainly because we have to take math courses..
I already started my actuarial science study. For the first two years the compulsory subjects for actuarial science are:
- Calculus I,II and III (for me is really difficult, well, I just attended 3 classes for preliminary/basic calculus I and I took long time to ask and understand the concepts)
- Business and marketing
- Accounting I and II
- Microeconomics and microeconomics
- Statistics
- Computer science
Choose one or two of any
- natural/physical sciences (bio, phy, chem etc)
- social sciences subjects (psychology, anthropology, sociology etc)
- humanities subjects (history, philosophy, world religions etc)
- perhaps communication (public speaking)
The subjects required might vary,depends on which universities/colleges you are, or going to study in. This information given is just as a reference for those who going to pursue actuarial science study. Do correct me if there is any mistake. :)
Smilehoe
10-05-2009, 01:18 PM
Check this (http://math.um.edu.my/ismweb/omega/actuarial/BScActuary_07-08.pdf) as a guideline on the course structure. It's for UM students, but generally, they don't differ much.
debie
10-05-2009, 01:21 PM
I already started my actuarial science study. For the first two years the compulsory subjects for actuarial science are:
- Calculus I,II and III (for me is really difficult, well, I just attended 3 classes for preliminary/basic calculus I and I took long time to ask and understand the concepts)
- Business and marketing
- Accounting I and II
- Microeconomics and microeconomics
- Statistics
- Computer science
Choose one or two of any
- natural/physical sciences (bio, phy, chem etc)
- social sciences subjects (psychology, anthropology, sociology etc)
- humanities subjects (history, philosophy, world religions etc)
- perhaps communication (public speaking)
The subjects required might vary,depends on which universities/colleges you are, or going to study in. This information given is just as a reference for those who going to pursue actuarial science study. Do correct me if there is any mistake. :)
btw, where u study for ur actuarial science course??
Cadence_hope
10-05-2009, 01:47 PM
btw, where u study for ur actuarial science course??
Now I'm studying in inti under ADP, majoring actuarial science because inti offered me merit award for first year. After first semester I will apply for undergrad scholarships. Sigh.. I need a scholarship desperately to cover my US study for 2 years.
siewlin
18-05-2009, 12:46 PM
debie and cmt26, my future coursemates XD
can i ask for ur results, income and co-cu??
i got 10a1 2a2 (BC & 1119)
income RM0 =.=
co-cu just same like khangsheng91
national chemistry & physics, olympiad, new south wales....
and renjer puteri, pembimbing rakan sebaya...
the offer letter will be received within this week
there the country will be stated so let's wait and see how's this year distribution
actually i went for matrikulasi in negeri sembilan for the orientation
many of the jpa scholars absent on the registration day
but i went there for taking experience
learnt to mix well with oher races
as the preparation to study overseas in the future (which is alot more tougher =.=)
i used the printscreen from the esilav2 website as the prove of getting jpa to quit my matrikulasi after 7 days staying there ^.^
have alot of fun although it was very tiring
woke up at 4am everyday... duh~
my frens who applied for medic din get a place in jpa
their results are superb, maybe because of their income and co-cu :(
and also the large number of applicants for medic
according to the press, our ministry of education is very upset with this and he promised to help those who get all straight A's and appeal
but my frens who failed the jpa and get offer by matrikulasi
they decided to stay in matrik if really cant get jpa
since matrik secure a place to enter local u
as far as im concerned, the probability of jpa sending us to uk is very low due to the high currency exchange for pounds.. is like 5++ =.=
mostly will be sent to aus or usa
and from what i searched in website, our seniors were sent to INTI-UC for pre-u right?
so, my future coursemates, see y'all there ^.^
cboon47
18-05-2009, 01:31 PM
hi,i got actuarial science also under jpa...
debie
18-05-2009, 01:37 PM
income RM0 =.=
there the country will be stated so let's wait and see how's this year distribution
as the preparation to study overseas in the future (which is alot more tougher =.=)
i used the printscreen from the esilav2 website as the prove of getting jpa to quit my matrikulasi after 7 days staying there ^.^
according to the press, our ministry of education is very upset with this and he promised to help those who get all straight A's and appeal
as far as im concerned, the probability of jpa sending us to uk is very low due to the high currency exchange for pounds.. is like 5++ =.=
and from what i searched in website, our seniors were sent to INTI-UC for pre-u right?
this thread finally 'refloat' after long sinks, haha:laugh
hi there siewlin, nice to meet u, 1 more coursemate, hooray~~
well, i ady shared all my achievement here (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=8486&page=2)
i gt matrix offer too, bt i din go:P coz i think we should leave our places for those who appeal for it
ya, i heard dat we'll most probably sent to INTI for AUP course
anyway, jz wait for the letter...
hi,i got actuarial science also under jpa...
reali, 1 more actuarial sc fellow:laugh:laugh 4 oredi~
nice to meet u fren~
18-05-2009, 01:38 PM
Just to clear some doubts. If the trend persist as previous years, you'll be send to Inti Nilai for the AS course for both of you heading to US and Australia. UK is out of the question, unless you're a Bank Negara scholar or other provider.
siewlin
18-05-2009, 01:40 PM
so until now how many actuarial science scholars??
i also feel sorry to go matrik, and some might think that im just showing off
but i bought the bus ticket on saturday morning and the results were known on friday night, after i came back from my farewell party -.-
so i chose to go matrik first
so sorry for those who strive to get into matrik =.=
debie
18-05-2009, 01:43 PM
Just to clear some doubts. If the trend persist as previous years, you'll be send to Inti Nilai for the AS course for both of you heading to US and Australia. UK is out of the question, unless you're a Bank Negara scholar or other provider.
ya, my fren who is currently studying A-level at INTI-UC told me dat most of the AS students under JPA r sent there for AUP course
btw, r u 1 of them??
siewlin
18-05-2009, 01:49 PM
ya, my fren who is currently studying A-level at INTI-UC told me dat most of the AS students under JPA r sent there for AUP course
btw, r u 1 of them??
how about ADTP??
basically AUP and ADTP are the same course. You will get to know more of the details if you eventually take up the course. by the way, the courses as listed by cadence hope are more relevant to the AUP programme, as students going to australia will be doing SAM, which includes different subjects. however, in essence, the material learnt is still the same in both systems (lots of math and other business related subjects).
cboon47
19-05-2009, 12:40 AM
yes,agree cos all my seniors who studied AS under jpa studied in INTI before going overseas.
nice to meet u fren~[/quote]
nice to meet u all...:laugh:P
Cadence_hope
19-05-2009, 10:34 PM
yes,agree cos all my seniors who studied AS under jpa studied in INTI before going overseas.
nice to meet u fren~
nice to meet u all...:laugh:P[/quote]
Hope to become one of your gang.. I heard the appeal result for mca will be out tomorrow. That's my last hope for jpa.. Good luck to Alvin too! (if he also appealed through mca)
debie
19-05-2009, 11:22 PM
Hope to become one of your gang.. I heard the appeal result for mca will be out tomorrow. That's my last hope for jpa.. Good luck to Alvin too! (if he also appealed through mca)[/quote]
ya, all the best for both of u n others who appealed for it:laugh:laugh
i'm looking forward for ur gd news soon^^
DaRkiezz
20-05-2009, 12:06 PM
Is the result out yet? I'm too applying for actuarial science.. but still waiting for the appeal result..
skatemusicianer
20-05-2009, 12:11 PM
hope u all get it! heard that this year some of the students deserved but didn't get.
cmt26
20-05-2009, 05:06 PM
income RM0 =.=
hey siewlin! sorry for the late reply to ur question.
i scored 11A1 and A2 for 1119.
income : rm 3000
my co-cu: school prefects, pen. setiausaha lembaga koperasi sek, treasurer of renjer puteri, ajk of admin for ed board, art club and blue hse member.
competition joined not as super as the one u guys joined. i just involved in bahas ala parlimen peringkat negeri, f1inschool,national physics quiz but all merely involvement.
so, i guess all of us will be meeting each other in inti-uc. hopefully all of us can cope with the studies! haha..that's wat i am worry about!
btw, if anyone of u guys get the letter, do share it over here so that those without the letter yet have an idea of wat is going on. TQ!
And meet u guys there! :)
aea91
20-05-2009, 05:37 PM
hey i got JPA too for actuarial science. nice to meet you all. :)
debie
20-05-2009, 10:26 PM
hey i got JPA too for actuarial science. nice to meet you all. :)
hi, nice to meet u too~:laugh
aea91
21-05-2009, 09:28 PM
hi, nice to meet u too~:laugh
you got actuarial science too? :) during ur JPA online application, what was ur country of choice?
debie
21-05-2009, 10:11 PM
you got actuarial science too? :) during ur JPA online application, what was ur country of choice?
ya, i gt AS too~
we were not given the chance to choose rite?
i remember that there didnt gt any column to fill the country of choice
AlvinLee91
21-05-2009, 11:31 PM
Hope to become one of your gang.. I heard the appeal result for mca will be out tomorrow. That's my last hope for jpa.. Good luck to Alvin too! (if he also appealed through mca)[/quote]
Hai!! I am back again...!:laugh
Yep, I appealed through mca too.
So, now we need to wait for the results to be announced by 27May.
GOOD LUCK!!!:P
aea91
22-05-2009, 08:16 PM
ya, i gt AS too~
we were not given the chance to choose rite?
i remember that there didnt gt any column to fill the country of choice
i thought we did have a choice? anyone wanna clarify this?
22-05-2009, 10:48 PM
i thought we did have a choice? anyone wanna clarify this?
Nope, no choice.
siewlin
25-05-2009, 09:36 PM
anyone who get the PILN for AS receive the offer letter???
pls notice me here if anyone get the letter...
thanks XD
sheng
26-05-2009, 10:08 AM
if im not mistaken, for the past 2 years, there were no scholars sent to UK for actuarial sceince, majority of them were sent to US n AUst for the rest...most of them were sent to INTI UC for pre-U courses (either AUP or SAM)
for AUP, u can choose either 2 go for ivy league (1 year) or other uni(2 years)
for SAM, u will stay in inti for 1.5 year and currently there are 5 uni provide AS course.
vimal06
27-05-2009, 08:43 PM
Actuarial Science mostly, if not all will be sent to INTI UC, Nilai.
ACtuarial Science students as far as I know dont really have much choice for Ivy League universities but taking how my batch is currently doing I think anyone with a burning passion to get through will get into Ivy League and enter as freshmen (meaning only 1 year in INTI)
But I am from SAM program actuarial science.
There are only 5 universities approved by JPA for us to fly to and competition will be tough. But if you are hardworking, no problem about getting through.
The staffs here in INTI are pretty dedicated in seeing JPA students do well, so no worries guys..
Welcome to INTI for those of you who will be coming here..
Cadence_hope
27-05-2009, 09:51 PM
Actuarial Science mostly, if not all will be sent to INTI UC, Nilai.
ACtuarial Science students as far as I know dont really have much choice for Ivy League universities but taking how my batch is currently doing I think anyone with a burning passion to get through will get into Ivy League and enter as freshmen (meaning only 1 year in INTI)
Thanks for your info though I'm not going to inti uc. But I'm a part of inti family too, currently an AUP freshie at INTI college Subang Jaya. :P I heard that among ivy league universities there is only U Penn which offer degree for AS. So it must be REALLY competitive. :(
debie
31-05-2009, 10:21 PM
i saw frm other forum dat a guy received his letter d 2day
he gt US, wl do ADTP at Taylors
since there is a guy frm AS course received the letter d, i think we'll gt ours within dis week mayb...
cmt26
01-06-2009, 12:15 AM
i saw frm other forum dat a guy received his letter d 2day
he gt US, wl do ADTP at Taylors
since there is a guy frm AS course received the letter d, i think we'll gt ours within dis week mayb...
oh serious? taylors? not nilai inti uc ah? haih..i am hoping for the letter to come as fast as possible!..
debie
01-06-2009, 12:14 PM
hey, i gt my letter finally!!!
SAM at INTI for 1.5yrs, then aus for 4 yrs
actuali i wish to gt ADTP, save 1.5 yrs
bt it's alright, ok still~
cmt26
01-06-2009, 01:06 PM
hey, i get my letter already. I get Taylors.
ADTP, 2 years at Taylors
3 years at US!
Anyone get Taylors???Tell me!
TQ.
debie
01-06-2009, 02:53 PM
hey, i get my letter already. I get Taylors.
ADTP, 2 years at Taylors
3 years at US!
Anyone get Taylors???Tell me!
TQ.
haizzz...we cant be classmate anymore:(
anyway, congrates, u r lucky to gt ADTP at Taylors:)
siewlin
01-06-2009, 03:36 PM
hey, i gt my letter finally!!!
SAM at INTI for 1.5yrs, then aus for 4 yrs
actuali i wish to gt ADTP, save 1.5 yrs
bt it's alright, ok still~
exactly SAME here !!!
if adtp also save 0.5 years nia la.. it's ok..
but no more ivy league?
debie
01-06-2009, 04:10 PM
exactly SAME here !!!
if adtp also save 0.5 years nia la.. it's ok..
but no more ivy league?
hi, classmate~~:P
ivy league..i'm nt sure
SAM is actuali 11mnths oni bt dunno y SAM under JPA needs 18 mnths, wonder~
Giselle
01-06-2009, 04:25 PM
hi, classmate~~:P
ivy league..i'm nt sure
SAM is actuali 11mnths oni bt dunno y SAM under JPA needs 18 mnths, wonder~
Because you can only take the exam in November, I guess.
cboon47
01-06-2009, 06:14 PM
til nw ,siew lin debie r my clasmates...
nice to meet u all:)
but a little bit sad cos we nid to study 5.5yrs,so long...compared to those go us...:(
Cadence_hope
01-06-2009, 06:28 PM
Woo~ failed jpa appeal but I can aim for the top ranked AS university now. Canada Waterloo I'm coming! :P
Giselle
01-06-2009, 06:32 PM
Woo~ failed jpa appeal but I can aim for the top ranked AS university now. Canada Waterloo I'm coming! :P
That the spirit! It's good that you're very positive.
aea91
01-06-2009, 06:38 PM
but a little bit sad cos we nid to study 5.5yrs,so long...compared to those go us...:(
does this mean that all JPA Actuarial Science scholars this year are headed to Taylor's and not INTI, Nilai?
Cadence_hope
01-06-2009, 06:43 PM
does this mean that all JPA Actuarial Science scholars this year are headed to Taylor's and not INTI, Nilai?
Debie will do her SAM at INTI, right not?
cboon47
01-06-2009, 07:06 PM
no,i dont mind whether is inti o taylor,but i prefer usa
some more,us just nid to study 5 yrs
aea91
01-06-2009, 07:11 PM
Debie will do her SAM at INTI, right not?
so it's SAM at INTI, Nilai and ADTP at Taylor's?
Cadence_hope
01-06-2009, 07:33 PM
so it's SAM at INTI, Nilai and ADTP at Taylor's?
So far I never heard of anyone being arranged to do AUP at INTI. You haven't receive your jpa letter?
aea91
01-06-2009, 07:49 PM
So far I never heard of anyone being arranged to do AUP at INTI. You haven't receive your jpa letter?
sadly i haven't received my offer letter because here in sarawak, today and tomorrow is the Harvest Festival public holiday. So Pos Laju are not working.
cboon47
01-06-2009, 08:57 PM
sadly i haven't received my offer letter because here in sarawak, today and tomorrow is the Harvest Festival public holiday. So Pos Laju are not working.
is ok,just wait patiently,gud luck...:)
when we study SAM in inti,r we have to choose 2 science subjects?
correct me if i m wrong
boyboysotong
01-06-2009, 09:17 PM
hi there...
i gt nilai inti sam..
who gt the same?
siewlin
01-06-2009, 10:12 PM
is ok,just wait patiently,gud luck...:)
when we study SAM in inti,r we have to choose 2 science subjects?
correct me if i m wrong
no.. no science subjects. see another envelope with inti brochure..
for SAM, AS take easls, two maths, econ and accounting.. i think u see the a-lvl one
yalo.. too sad.. SAM next year November only can take exam
tat's why we have to waste 0.5 year this year
but it's okay, more time for me to study.. and to learn better english >,<
and for the universities offering AS in aus, which is the best??
hi there...
i gt nilai inti sam..
who gt the same?
so now, debie, cboon47, boyboysotong, and me.. we are classmates ^.^
debie
01-06-2009, 11:59 PM
for the universities offering AS in aus, which is the best??
ya, we r classmates:laugh:laugh
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Group_of_Eight_(Australian_universities (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Group_of_Eight_(Australian_universities))
i thnk this may help u~
cmt26
02-06-2009, 12:40 AM
it seems that mostly everyone get sam in inti. :( no one going to taylors? anyone? plz inform me if u r going to taylors. i need to confirm stuffs.
hey, debie and siewlin. too bad we canot be classmate :(
i need to know who is going taylors!
vimal06
02-06-2009, 08:14 AM
for SAM, AS take easls, two maths, econ and accounting.. i think u see the a-lvl one
Ermm guys for actuarial Science in Aus you dont have much Universities for you to choose from. Jpa only allows u to further your studies in 5 universities..
1) Melbourne Uni
2) Macquarie Uni
3) ANU (Australian National Uni)
4) UNSW (New south Wales)
5) Curtin..
But either way,you are gonna hav to apply for all anywayz.. No worries.. You only need to worry about universitiy application in your 3rd semester which is NEXT YEAR..
aea91
02-06-2009, 09:04 AM
Hey guys, i would like to noe when is the registration date for SAM in INTI and ADTP in Taylor's? I haven't received my offer letter yet and it would really be helpful if you all could tell me? Thanks.
cboon47
02-06-2009, 10:35 AM
oic,tat min we dont nid to study science sub...thks a lot...:)
Hey guys, i would like to noe when is the registration date for SAM in INTI and ADTP in Taylor's? I haven't received my offer letter yet and it would really be helpful if you all could tell me? Thanks.
for SAM in INTI,it wil b on 1st july,830am:)
aea91
02-06-2009, 10:46 AM
oic,tat min we dont nid to study science sub...thks a lot...:)
for SAM in INTI,it wil b on 1st july,830am:)
thank you cboon! you are extremely helpful. :) for ur info, i am headed to INTI for SAM too. nice to meet you. hope to see you all there. =)
debie
02-06-2009, 11:45 AM
thank you cboon! you are extremely helpful. :) for ur info, i am headed to INTI for SAM too. nice to meet you. hope to see you all there. =)
oh really??u r going to join us??
nice to meet u~~
c u there:P
siewlin
02-06-2009, 02:14 PM
seems like we have got one more course mate XD
aea91
02-06-2009, 07:31 PM
oh really??u r going to join us??
nice to meet u~~
c u there:P
haha. yes, i will be joining you all for SAM at INTI. :)
seems like we have got one more course mate XD
haha. nice to meet you too, coursemate! :P
cboon47
02-06-2009, 11:27 PM
wow,hope we wil becum a big family soon...
cboon47
04-06-2009, 01:00 PM
so can someone tell me wat can we do for the preparation of AS nw?
debie
04-06-2009, 01:47 PM
so can someone tell me wat can we do for the preparation of AS nw?
u mean preparation for the course???mayb u can find some books n read
anyway, do u think u hv time for this?u gt lots of other preparation to do rite?
btw, i wanna ask what stuff u guys gt inside the INTI's envelope?
cboon47
04-06-2009, 03:02 PM
u mean preparation for the course???mayb u can find some books n read
anyway, do u think u hv time for this?u gt lots of other preparation to do rite?
btw, i wanna ask what stuff u guys gt inside the INTI's envelope?
erm,it includes 2 INTI books,the 1st is genearl guide bout INTI n the other is bout A lvl /SAM,followed by 2forms to fill in,which r application for acco n admission...i thk tats all:))oh sorry,got a black pen also,haha
can someone gv me some website bout economics?cos i not so familiar bout it...thks a lot
sonatinalai
04-06-2009, 03:37 PM
hmm....can anyone tell me why you want to do Actuarial Science apart from a 'money factor'? (i.e. it is a lucrative job)
What are the countries will you get for Actuarial Science and the colleges?
Thank you.
Cadence_hope
04-06-2009, 04:23 PM
hmm....can anyone tell me why you want to do Actuarial Science apart from a 'money factor'? (i.e. it is a lucrative job)
What are the countries will you get for Actuarial Science and the colleges?
Thank you.
Honestly, I didn't know anything about the average salary of actuaries when I chose this field as my career in the future. I only knew that after I do research on it. You can refer to my post on first page in this thread here (http://www.recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=225190&postcount=8). The main reason why I chose AS are because of my great interest towards maths and business. For the others, that post explained all in detail.
JPA only sponsors their scholar to further their studies in US, UK and Australia. If you flip through the previous posts, you will know that most of the scholars this year are sent to taylor's uc (AUP course) or inti uc (SAM). Btw did you get JPA?
siewlin
04-06-2009, 05:26 PM
can someone gv me some website bout economics?cos i not so familiar bout it...thks a lot
are u from art stream? anyone here from science stream? did u all take account and econ in spm? ishhkk i have totally no idea wat's that... grrr.. have to go college library to study =.=
cboon47
04-06-2009, 06:57 PM
are u from art stream? anyone here from science stream? did u all take account and econ in spm? ishhkk i have totally no idea wat's that... grrr.. have to go college library to study =.=
no,i m frm science stream.i took acc n econ also in my spm.But i just thk tat econ is not so simple like wat we learnt in f4 n f5.So,i hope some one can gv me website bout it...
For these 2 sub ,they r very easy as long as u knw the concept n the most imp thg is it does not nid to memorise...:))
Cadence_hope
04-06-2009, 09:41 PM
Don't worry. I'm also from science stream and I didn't take any arts subject in spm. Actually what we study in those subjects are just basic concepts. You will learn from zero when you study for those business-related subjects such as micro and macroeconomics, marketing and accounting.. Without any taking arts subject in spm, you still can catch up. :)
boyboysotong
04-06-2009, 11:17 PM
hi,,,,, debie, cboon47, aea91 n siewlin ..........nice to meet u all ... my classmates 2 b..haha...
btw,, wat should i wear on the register day? how abt u al ? any ideas guys... i dunwan 2 b naked...
cmt26
04-06-2009, 11:26 PM
still no one going taylors over here? sigh...
so, must we start with anything now?must we really start to study econs and other by now? any hint on what are we going to face in our coming future? is the subject really hard? must we really concentrate and revise daily? sigh..getting a bit nervous. our long holiday finally comes to the end. lots of questions, right? i just want to get myself prepare physically and mentally. LOL.
anyway, to all AS students, all the best!!!:)
Cadence_hope
04-06-2009, 11:56 PM
btw,, wat should i wear on the register day? how abt u al ? any ideas guys... i dunwan 2 b naked...
Just casual wear will do. We need not to wear uniforms anymore during universities life. But you can be the special one.. :P
so, must we start with anything now?must we really start to study econs and other by now? any hint on what are we going to face in our coming future? is the subject really hard? must we really concentrate and revise daily? sigh..getting a bit nervous. our long holiday finally comes to the end. lots of questions, right? i just want to get myself prepare physically and mentally. LOL.
Relax. Relax. Relax. It's a brand new college life that should be really enjoyable! :laugh
I will like to share my thoughts after studying for the ADP course, majoring AS at INTI SJ for one month. Oh, one month is still considered a freshie. ^^
Hmmm, overally I think the 'hardest' subject is calculus. BUT if you are very concentrated during the lecture, keep on asking questions whenever you don't understand and doing a lot of practises it will be no problem for you to cope with it. Remember, you must ask others if you can't understand the concepts, because they are usually related. You should understand the former ones or else you can't handle the next. Well, that's what I thought of. Maybe you and the others will have different perspective towards this later on.
I suggest you to strengthen on your English language proficiency while waiting. There's no much thing to prepare for. For what I've learn until now, general science subjects are quite easy (oh they just repeating what we learn in form 4 and 5). Social sciences need memorizing as well, but they are really interesting. For business-related subjects I think most of them you only take after first semester.
During the first semester, as a freshman, you should understand how the American education system works. I don't know how is the AUP at Taylor's but I suppose it doesn't differ much from the one at INTI. The system is quite different from the secondary school one in evaluating students' performances. For example for my calculus subject, final exams only bring about 40% of the total marks while the remain 60% are tests, assignments and quizzes. Some other subjects include presentations, class participation, attendance, laboratory work and projects etc. Sometime the lecturers will give pop quizzes without informing the students, so you have to study after one or a few chapters. :))
All the best to everyone. By getting rid of school uniforms, lots of unnecessary rules and the rigid, dull education system, we shall have a great and unforgettable moments during college or universities life! :laugh
cmt26
05-06-2009, 12:23 PM
Just casual wear will do. We need not to wear uniforms anymore during universities life. But you can be the special one.. :P
Relax. Relax. Relax. It's a brand new college life that should be really enjoyable! :laugh
I will like to share my thoughts after studying for the ADP course, majoring AS at INTI SJ for one month. Oh, one month is still considered a freshie. ^^
Hmmm, overally I think the 'hardest' subject is calculus. BUT if you are very concentrated during the lecture, keep on asking questions whenever you don't understand and doing a lot of practises it will be no problem for you to cope with it. Remember, you must ask others if you can't understand the concepts, because they are usually related. You should understand the former ones or else you can't handle the next. Well, that's what I thought of. Maybe you and the others will have different perspective towards this later on.
I suggest you to strengthen on your English language proficiency while waiting. There's no much thing to prepare for. For what I've learn until now, general science subjects are quite easy (oh they just repeating what we learn in form 4 and 5). Social sciences need memorizing as well, but they are really interesting. For business-related subjects I think most of them you only take after first semester.
During the first semester, as a freshman, you should understand how the American education system works. I don't know how is the AUP at Taylor's but I suppose it doesn't differ much from the one at INTI. The system is quite different from the secondary school one in evaluating students' performances. For example for my calculus subject, final exams only bring about 40% of the total marks while the remain 60% are tests, assignments and quizzes. Some other subjects include presentations, class participation, attendance, laboratory work and projects etc. Sometime the lecturers will give pop quizzes without informing the students, so you have to study after one or a few chapters. :))
All the best to everyone. By getting rid of school uniforms, lots of unnecessary rules and the rigid, dull education system, we shall have a great and unforgettable moments during college or universities life! :laugh
hey, thanks for enlighten me! so, adtp is not a full exam oriented course la? hahah..thanks for telling me that!
debie
05-06-2009, 02:10 PM
erm,it includes 2 INTI books,the 1st is genearl guide bout INTI n the other is bout A lvl /SAM,followed by 2forms to fill in,which r application for acco n admission...i thk tats all:))oh sorry,got a black pen also,haha
so the envelope jz gt these stuffs oni rite...i thought they missed out sumthings, coz there r so few documents dat they given to us, nt like INTEC, gt a book vf all the sch rules n the introduction of the sch
about economics, i think u dun need to worry so much, coz most of the actuarial students r frm science stream actuali...Dont be so tense bout the study right now, jz enjoy ur time vf ur family 1st, evrything is ok, we r on the same boat wad~
aea91
05-06-2009, 07:14 PM
hey guys. i have a cousin who is studying actuarial science in Australian National University(ANU). no cause for caution but he did mention that actuarial science is indeed a very tough course(PLEASE DON'T START PANICKING) and we should be prepared for very dry shots of statistics. you have to analyze and assess the statistics on your own and be able to calculate the resulting risk from the data provided. after all, that is what actuarial science is essentially all about. :) so let's look forward to studying hard and good results. cheers! :laugh
Cadence_hope
05-06-2009, 08:15 PM
hey guys. i have a cousin who is studying actuarial science in Australian National University(ANU). no cause for caution but he did mention that actuarial science is indeed a very tough course(PLEASE DON'T START PANICKING) and we should be prepared for very dry shots of statistics. you have to analyze and assess the statistics on your own and be able to calculate the resulting risk from the data provided. after all, that is what actuarial science is essentially all about. :) so let's look forward to studying hard and good results. cheers! :laugh
I think everyone should ponder over this deeply before choosing actuarial science as his/her life career. I'd heard of rumors that part of them dropped out because they could not handle the pressure and rigor of the study. Others were unable to cope with those professional papers until they gave up. So, judge your interest and ability carefully so that you won't regret later... Gambateh :)
aea91
05-06-2009, 09:09 PM
I think everyone should ponder over this deeply before choosing actuarial science as his/her life career. I'd heard of rumors that part of them dropped out because they could not handle the pressure and rigor of the study. Others were unable to cope with those professional papers until they gave up. So, judge your interest and ability carefully so that you won't regret later... Gambateh :)
I strongly agree with you. Many choose the course because of the high paying salary and the prestige that comes with the actuarial degree and constantly bug Recom with questions about what is actuarial science even after they've obtained the scholarship.:notrust Such incidents is immensely frustrating. The four professional papers that you are required to sit for before graduation are not easy so please really be sure that you really have interest in actuarial science for what it is. :)
Cadence_hope
05-06-2009, 09:39 PM
I strongly agree with you. Many choose the course because of the high paying salary and the prestige that comes with the actuarial degree and constantly bug Recom with questions about what is actuarial science even after they've obtained the scholarship.:notrust Such incidents is immensely frustrating. The four professional papers that you are required to sit for before graduation are not easy so please really be sure that you really have interest in actuarial science for what it is. :)
*nodding my head constantly* :nod
Four professional papers are compulsory before graduation? I'd never heard of that from my course advisors and any other people. I once attended the talk given by Mr. Raymond Lai, the appointed actuary of Bank Negara. He said that the first few preliminary papers are considered 'easy' actually. But for the, maybe fifth or sixth and the following, many of them will face difficulties in passing the papers.
I still think that the number of papers is not limited. Even a degree is not a must for one to become an actuary. Besides from other academic aspects, what the companies actually emphasize on is the number of professional papers taken. The more you took, the higher your salary. This is what I knew from websites and also Mr Raymond Lai. :)
debie
05-06-2009, 10:17 PM
*nodding my head constantly* :nod
Four professional papers are compulsory before graduation? I'd never heard of that from my course advisors and any other people. I once attended the talk given by Mr. Raymond Lai, the appointed actuary of Bank Negara. He said that the first few preliminary papers are considered 'easy' actually. But for the, maybe fifth or sixth and the following, many of them will face difficulties in passing the papers.
I still think that the number of papers is not limited. Even a degree is not a must for one to become an actuary. Besides from other academic aspects, what the companies actually emphasize on is the number of professional papers taken. The more you took, the higher your salary. This is what I knew from websites and also Mr Raymond Lai. :)
ya, exactly~
well, since no 1 can expect wat wl happen 2mr, we cant even ensure dat whether we r able to cope vf this course...bt wat we can do is dat we should strive for it n do not easily surrender to hardship n obstacles in study...
btw, my teacher's cousin is currently studying in aussie for this course too...he wl cum back soon n i wl try to gt some info frm him esp abt the professional papers n the education system there
05-06-2009, 10:26 PM
You don't have to pass any papers to be complete the degree. Having the degree doesn't meant you're an actuary. Only those who passed the papers are considered actuaries. As for the 4 papers before graduation, I'm not sure which actuary exam aea91 is referring to but it's usual, for some high achievers, in SOA to complete 4 exams if they started out during their university time.
cboon47
06-06-2009, 09:28 AM
You don't have to pass any papers to be complete the degree. Having the degree doesn't meant you're an actuary. Only those who passed the papers are considered actuaries. As for the 4 papers before graduation, I'm not sure which actuary exam aea91 is referring to but it's usual, for some high achievers, in SOA to complete 4 exams if they started out during their university time.
agree,my seniors also encourage me to take paper during the university time so tat after u finish ur degree,u wil b much easier to find a job...
siewlin
06-06-2009, 09:33 AM
I GET THESE INFO FROM THE WEBSITE OF ASM (ACTUARIAL SOCIETY OF MALAYSIA), HOPE IT WILL BE HELPFUL. JUST SHARE~ AS FOR ME, GOING TO AUSTRALIA, HERE'S THE PROFESSIONAL EXAMS IN INSTITUTE OF ACTUARIES OF AUSTRALIA (IAA)
QUESTION: we go to aus to study AS, so we take the prof exams of IAA and will be recognised by malaysia (ASM) right? or we have to refer to ASM about which country's prof exams should we take? because different country take different system. if so, after we take the exams and become one of the member of IAA, we are still recognised by ASM and we are one of the member in ASM??
Institute of Actuaries of Australia (IAA) - Australia
Part I - Identical to the CT1-CT8 of the Core Technical Stage in the Institute of Actuaries - United Kingdom program. They can either be completed by sitting for examinations directly from the institute or via courses from the following universities:
Australia National University (ANU), Canberra
Macquarie University, Sydney
University of Melbourne, Melbourne
University of New South Wales (UNSW), Sydney
Core Technical (CT) Stage - Comprises of eight papers :
CT1 Financial Mathematics
CT2 Finance and Financial Reporting
CT3 Probability and Mathematical Statistics
CT4 Models
CT5 Contingencies
CT6 Statistical Methods
CT7 Economics
CT8 Financial Economics
Part II: The Actuarial Control Cycle - This part comprises of two papers. They can only be completed through courses from the abovementioned universities. Upon completion of Part I and Part II, the candidate will gain the status of Associate of the IAAust (AIAAust).
Part III - Four papers which have to be taken directly from the institute:
Module 1 - Investments (Compulsory)
Modules 2 and 3 - Choice of:
a) Life Insurance (Parts A and B)
b) General Insurance (Parts A & B)
c) Superannuation and Planned Savings (Parts A & B)
d) Investment Management and Finance (Parts A & B)
Module 4 - Commercial Actuarial Practice (Compulsory)
Professionalism Course - Two-day residential course, highlighting the obligations, risks and legal responsibilities of being a member of the IAAust. Practical Experience & Mentor Program - To fulfil the one-year practical experience requirement under the supervision of an approved mentor.
aea91
06-06-2009, 02:10 PM
most universities in AUS encourage their students to take their actuary professional papers while they're still in university, thus enabling better qualification after graduation. that was what i meant.
Cadence_hope
06-06-2009, 02:22 PM
most universities in AUS encourage their students to take their actuary professional papers while they're still in university, thus enabling better qualification after graduation. that was what i meant.
Not only those universities in Aus but I believe most of them encourage that. In my college they are already starting course for preparation of Paper 1- Probability but only for seniors who passed Calculus I-III.
cboon47
07-06-2009, 09:09 PM
for the APPLICATION FOR ACCOMODATION form,at the nearly bottom part,it got wrote that I ,THE UNDERSIGHED,......MENTIONED ON THE REVERSE SIDE OF THIS FORM.,but i cant find it!
can some one enlighten me,pls
emergency nw...
Another q:the APPLICATION FOR ADMISSION form,at the iv part,which column i should tick?
debie
07-06-2009, 09:59 PM
for the APPLICATION FOR ACCOMODATION form,at the nearly bottom part,it got wrote that I ,THE UNDERSIGHED,......MENTIONED ON THE REVERSE SIDE OF THIS FORM.,but i cant find it!
can some one enlighten me,pls
emergency nw...
Another q:the APPLICATION FOR ADMISSION form,at the iv part,which column i should tick?
ya, i also cant find anything on the reverse side of the ACCOMMODATION APPLICATION form, so i jz leave the signature part blank...
for the admission form, iv part, i ticked pre-u
cboon47
08-06-2009, 09:09 PM
ok,thks...
i just went to gov hosp tis morn,what a shock!i onli can take my medical report on 22/7!then i had called jpa to claim bout tis,they said it is nvm if i cant hand in the yellow book on the registration day...
got some one same situation as me?i am quite worry bout it...
debie
08-06-2009, 10:16 PM
ok,thks...
i just went to gov hosp tis morn,what a shock!i onli can take my medical report on 22/7!then i had called jpa to claim bout tis,they said it is nvm if i cant hand in the yellow book on the registration day...
actuali i thnk u can do ur blood test n urine test at BP lab if u wan to save time, bt u should make sure whether the doctor who is going to fill in ur medical report accept the test results at BP lab or nt...
Cadence_hope
08-06-2009, 10:34 PM
for the APPLICATION FOR ACCOMODATION form...
ok,thks.........
Should you move to another thread like 'Q&A in filling the JPA scholarship documents (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7002)'? Thanks.. :)
aea91
09-06-2009, 12:26 AM
ok,thks...
i went to the govt hospital last thursday and they said they can only give me my medical report in one months time.:nuts they told me to go to a private hospital. today i got my medical report from the private hospital already. :)
cboon47
09-06-2009, 10:26 AM
i went to the govt hospital last thursday and they said they can only give me my medical report in one months time.:nuts they told me to go to a private hospital. today i got my medical report from the private hospital already. :)
then hw bout the cost if doing in private hosp?
Should you move to another thread like 'Q&A in filling the JPA scholarship documents (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7002)'? Thanks.. :)
but i thk i wil get the ans faster n more precise frm here cos onli few of us got the same INTI form...
anyway,thks:)
aea91
09-06-2009, 12:24 PM
[QUOTE=cboon47;260580]then hw bout the cost if doing in private hosp?
mine cost rm247.25 but i get entitlement to a free medical check up from my insurance company. so free lah. :laugh
hey guys. can you guys identify yourselves as those who are going to INTI Nilai for SAM? cos i heard that we can choose our roommate on registration day. so i'll start the ball rolling.
i'm aaron, 17, male, SAM inti nilai 18 months.
i'd prefer a roommate who is also taking actuarial science. more common ground.
Perhaps you all would like to shift your conversation to the Inti thread. You are deviating from the threads title on Actuarial Science. I'm sure you would get much more information there. ~ Capablanca
boyboysotong
09-06-2009, 08:44 PM
hi... aaron.....
u sure v can choose our roomate?
aea91
09-06-2009, 11:04 PM
hi... aaron.....
u sure v can choose our roomate?
yes we can. that's what i read from the inti thread la.
yuan_renn
11-06-2009, 08:32 AM
Hello, you're going to Taylor?
aea91
12-06-2009, 12:51 AM
why is there no one in the actuarial science 2009 thread? hello? anyone?
sinyi
12-06-2009, 01:14 AM
why is there no one in the actuarial science 2009 thread? hello? anyone?
hi =) here..
aea91
12-06-2009, 01:25 AM
hi =) here..
did you get actuarial science under JPA? :)
sinyi
12-06-2009, 01:45 AM
did you get actuarial science under JPA? :)
yea... going to taylor on 5th july.. u? =)
aea91
12-06-2009, 12:51 PM
like most actuarial science students here. i'll be headed to inti-uc, nilai. 1st july.:)
smile!
12-06-2009, 03:32 PM
hmm...most of the actuarial science students this year are going to taylor's? or inti? As i know, most of you all going to US right?
aea91
12-06-2009, 06:09 PM
hmm...most of the actuarial science students this year are going to taylor's? or inti? As i know, most of you all going to US right?
nope. i'm headed to aussie under SAM in inti-uc. i think quite a number of actuarial science students are headed to inti but i dunno the full percentage. :)
from what i can gather so far, the US bound students seem to be heading to taylors while the australian bound ones are heading to inti uc.
aea91
12-06-2009, 10:14 PM
from what i can gather so far, the US bound students seem to be heading to taylors while the australian bound ones are heading to inti uc.
yes. agreed.
cmt26
13-06-2009, 12:43 AM
Hello, you're going to Taylor?
yea.going there. taking adtp. *nervous*...u sunway right?
hey, sinyi! i am glad i finally found an AS student studying in Taylors under JPA. Finally! I have been like searching, asking around. U are offered ADTP right? any idea wat are we gonna study first? i am not really sure abt this programme anyway. one of my fren say one of the 2 years of this course will be AFY. haih..any idea?
yuan_renn
13-06-2009, 01:26 PM
Yeah, going on 3rd of July. good luck then:)
cmt26
14-06-2009, 10:54 AM
Yeah, going on 3rd of July. good luck then:)
me 5th july. lol. taylors n sunway are quite near. haha..maybe we might meet in sunway pyramid when we shop for our stuff. hehe:))all the best to you too~!
yuan_renn
14-06-2009, 11:02 AM
me 5th july. lol. taylors n sunway are quite near. haha..maybe we might meet in sunway pyramid when we shop for our stuff. hehe:))all the best to you too~!
Haha, sure. Why not?:P
Cadence_hope
14-06-2009, 11:21 AM
Those who're going to sunway, taylor's or inti subang jaya can have a small gathering too. In fact I'm at inti sj and it is just next to taylor's. :))
yuan_renn
14-06-2009, 12:25 PM
Those who're going to sunway, taylor's or inti subang jaya can have a small gathering too. In fact I'm at inti sj and it is just next to taylor's. :))
Wow, I see. So these 3 colleges are near to each other then? How about Nottingham and Intec? Small gathering? In Sunway Lagoon:P Yay!!!!!!!
Cadence_hope
14-06-2009, 01:05 PM
Wow, I see. So these 3 colleges are near to each other then? How about Nottingham and Intec? Small gathering? In Sunway Lagoon:P Yay!!!!!!!
<digression> I don't know where are Nottingham and Intec. Sorry.. But INTI SJ and Taylor's are just opposite to each other, while Sunway-UC is not far away from them. :laugh </digression>
cmt26
15-06-2009, 12:31 AM
yea. let's make a gathering at sunway lagoon! haha..
<digression> I don't know where are Nottingham and Intec. Sorry.. But INTI SJ and Taylor's are just opposite to each other, while Sunway-UC is not far away from them. :laugh </digression>
do students from inti sj and sunway uc stay at casa subang too? just curious :D
aea91
15-06-2009, 12:06 PM
guys, no offense but i think u're deviating from the actuarial science 2009 topic. perhaps you'd like to move ur conversation about the gathering somewhere else? just a suggestion. thank you. :)
PoisonedFire
18-06-2009, 11:17 PM
hey, sinyi! i am glad i finally found an AS student studying in Taylors under JPA. Finally! I have been like searching, asking around. U are offered ADTP right? any idea wat are we gonna study first? i am not really sure abt this programme anyway. one of my fren say one of the 2 years of this course will be AFY. haih..any idea?
Hi! I'm from kedah and taking adtp actuarial science too!
meet all of you there :)
aea91
18-06-2009, 11:56 PM
welcome to the actuarial science thread. :) best of luck to you!
cmt26
19-06-2009, 01:58 AM
hey,nice to meet you too. going taylors rite? meet u thr, future classmate!:)
PoisonedFire
19-06-2009, 10:04 PM
welcome to the actuarial science thread. :) best of luck to you!
thanks, I'll try my best :)
hey,nice to meet you too. going taylors rite? meet u thr, future classmate!:)
yup, hope can meet many new friends there
areiya
19-06-2009, 10:44 PM
yay another new future classmate :) nice to meet you !
cmt26
19-06-2009, 11:15 PM
HEY, any idea what to wear on the registration day? should we wear formal or casual, since there will be jpa representative going on tht day? :)
areiya
20-06-2009, 12:16 AM
HEY, any idea what to wear on the registration day? should we wear formal or casual, since there will be jpa representative going on tht day? :)
hmmm good question ... what to wear ??:huh
aea91
20-06-2009, 01:00 AM
hmmm good question ... what to wear ??:huh
i'll be wearing smart casual. sumth like JPA interview day. :)
boyboysotong
20-06-2009, 10:06 AM
i'll be wearing smart casual. sumth like JPA interview day. :)
Jpa is smart formal...:))
aea91
20-06-2009, 01:28 PM
Jpa is smart formal...:))
owh. then wear something less smart then smart casual. :)
debie
20-06-2009, 02:36 PM
owh. then wear something less smart then smart casual. :)
i thnk mayb t-shirt vf collar n also long jeans
cboon47
20-06-2009, 03:35 PM
i thnk mayb t-shirt vf collar n also long jeans
i thk i wil most probably wear wat debie said:)
cmt26
24-06-2009, 11:47 AM
registration date is approaching!!nervous, anyone? for those going to inti, all the best. do update us from time to time about wat u guys study there. n for those going taylors like me, meet u guys there!
Cadence_hope
27-06-2009, 10:07 PM
Just a casual wear on registration day will do.. It's not as formal as what you think. For those going to taylor's or inti at sj, hope to meet you guys there :))
cmt26
10-07-2009, 10:19 AM
hey everyone there! i have a question here. anyone in AS knows which uni in US is the best for this course? any recommendation? any of the ivy league? TQ :)
sinyi
10-07-2009, 04:00 PM
hey everyone there! i have a question here. anyone in AS knows which uni in US is the best for this course? any recommendation? any of the ivy league? TQ :)
hey cmt, i'm here =P UPenn, wharton business school... :)
hey cmt26. to be honest, there isn't actually a ranking that shows which university that is the best in actuarial science. In the ivy league, the wharton business school in UPenn is the only place that offers this course. Sometimes the way in which the course is conducted differs from university to university. for instance, at wharton, you actually go through a series of business courses throughout the course of your degree and then take a few courses related to actuarial science. On the other hand, in the university of michigan, the course is more mathematically oriented, as it is conducted by the mathematics department. other places such as drake university are actually pretty good in terms of their actuarial science courses, but maybe not too good in other fields (hence many of you may not have heard of it before as it does not really show up in the higher portion of the Times university rankings)
cmt26
12-07-2009, 11:35 AM
hey cmt26. to be honest, there isn't actually a ranking that shows which university that is the best in actuarial science. In the ivy league, the wharton business school in UPenn is the only place that offers this course. Sometimes the way in which the course is conducted differs from university to university. for instance, at wharton, you actually go through a series of business courses throughout the course of your degree and then take a few courses related to actuarial science. On the other hand, in the university of michigan, the course is more mathematically oriented, as it is conducted by the mathematics department. other places such as drake university are actually pretty good in terms of their actuarial science courses, but maybe not too good in other fields (hence many of you may not have heard of it before as it does not really show up in the higher portion of the Times university rankings)
so does it means that uni like upenn don't really teach us the course as deep as the other uni likes u mention, uni of michigan? meaning if we chose to go to an ivy league (upenn), we'll study more on business first, then oni study stuffs related to actuarial sc? if that is the case, then it is better for us not to choose an ivy league right? other than michigan uni, wat are the other uni options that we can consider? coz, there are news that jpa won't allow us to go to michigan cz they are too many malaysian there. what about uni of texas at austin and uni of iowa? are they good? TQ.:)
honestly speaking, i am not too sure whether any of the approaches teach you more than the other. if you want to find out more about how the unversities conduct their courses, you can visit their websites. if you go to upenn, their course outline states that you wil only move on to the actuarial science courses towards your third year. most of your other courses will be business related, but you will also have the privilege of having a liberal arts education. somehow, i feel that this method may not be all that bad, as i haven't really heard too many complaints about it. i think that in universities like upenn and the university of michigan, the quality of education should be about the same, it is just which method suits you better and what other things can the university offer you.
yes, the problem of michigan has been emphasised by jpa for quite a while. unfortunately, if michigan is taken off your list of options, then you will be stuck with only upenn if you wish to go to the US after a year (unless they change the list of options). if you wish to go after 2 years, then you will have broader options. the university of texas austin and the university of iowa are not bad at all, but based on jpa's policy for the past few years, i think that you may only be able to go there after 2 years. othe unis that are also known for their actuarial science courses are purdue university, university of wisconsin madison, new york university, university of illinois at urbana champaign, pennsylvania state university and university of nebraska lincoln.
ilovemeganfox
13-07-2009, 01:14 PM
hey... how many professional papers do i have to do?
Are there any exemptions if i do a degree in AS?
hey... how many professional papers do i have to do?
Are there any exemptions if i do a degree in AS?
the number of professional papers that you must do depends on which actuarial society you wish to take your papers from. you can take papers from the australian, british, american or scottish actuarial bodies. exemptions will be given for only certain actuarial bodies if you take courses in certain universities. i do not think the american actuarial bodies give any exemptions but i think the australian actuarial society might give exemptions if you take courses in certain unis.
for more info, you can check out this website: http://www.actuaries.org.my/default.asp?p=9
Cadence_hope
20-07-2009, 03:10 PM
yes, the problem of michigan has been emphasised by jpa for quite a while. unfortunately, if michigan is taken off your list of options, then you will be stuck with only upenn if you wish to go to the US after a year (unless they change the list of options). if you wish to go after 2 years, then you will have broader options. the university of texas austin and the university of iowa are not bad at all, but based on jpa's policy for the past few years, i think that you may only be able to go there after 2 years. othe unis that are also known for their actuarial science courses are purdue university, university of wisconsin madison, new york university, university of illinois at urbana champaign, pennsylvania state university and university of nebraska lincoln.
Thanks for clarifying those questions. Actually the universities you stated (in bold) are in my list of consideration.. But my first choice will be University of Waterloo, Canada while nebraska lincoln will be my second choice. I heard that the co-operative program (normally called as co-op) provided by U of Waterloo is quite prestigious around the world. Yeah Canada is not under the list of countries for JPA sponsored actuarial science students. Just wanna ask that do you have any extra info on that? Tq. :laugh
Vowynne
15-12-2009, 02:55 AM
By and large, the rewards are good. It is no secret that an actuary is one of the higher paid jobs. Of course, salaries can vary according to company policy and market forces of supply and demand. A successful study of actuarial science should produce an analytic, business-aware individual who would be equipped to fulfil a range of senior roles in finance. By carrying on to complete the professional exams to become an actuary, a reward of a responsible job and high salary should follow as a reward for the commitment you will have made!
Yeah, it's funny because I've been really attracted to the actuarial sciences as a way to make good use of my success in math coursework... and I keep looking at actuary salaries (http://www.glassdoor.com/Salaries/actuary-salary-SRCH_KO0,7.htm) and thinking "this is really good!" But then I start looking at the length of time people spend on these exams and how few people make it to the end and I'm just like :cry Well, it's not that bad I guess. I should probably just suck it up and get going, huh?
16-01-2010, 01:00 PM
From the past posts from all the seniors who succeeded to secure the JPA scholarship for the course actuarial science, I found out that some of the applicants don't really know what is actuarial science, yet they still managed to secure the scholarship. It is just so frustrated to know some of the candidates who are really have deep passion in actuarial science didn't managed to secure the scholarship, while some who don't really know the course managed to secure it. How could this happened??? maybe just doing well in the interview will help a large portion in securing the scholarship??? without knowing much in this chosen course??? someone please help to clear this doubt... thanks in advance...
it could just be luck. plus, some people who are passionate about actuarial science may not have the results to pull them through, but that may only be for certain cases. However, you'll be surprised to find out that quite a few people that eventually get the scholarship end up not wanting to be actuaries in the future after they get a taste of the subjects that they take in university.
17-01-2010, 02:30 PM
yeah maybe luck plays a very significant role too in determining the fade of getting the scholarship, but i'm quite sure that the interviewers would definitely ask the candidates about the chosen course. So, the applicants must at least know a little bit about actuarial science in order to answer the questions asked by the interviewer. I would not be surprised if students who are studying actuarial science in the university eventually ended up into other fields as the course is extremely tough to be studied, especially when taking the professional exams from certain recognized bodies. Hence, all the applicants must be mentally and physically prepared for what to face in future before applying scholarships for this particular course.
n1dh0g
17-01-2010, 11:16 PM
yeah maybe luck plays a very significant role too in determining the fade of getting the scholarship, but i'm quite sure that the interviewers would definitely ask the candidates about the chosen course. So, the applicants must at least know a little bit about actuarial science in order to answer the questions asked by the interviewer. I would not be surprised if students who are studying actuarial science in the university eventually ended up into other fields as the course is extremely tough to be studied, especially when taking the professional exams from certain recognized bodies. Hence, all the applicants must be mentally and physically prepared for what to face in future before applying scholarships for this particular course.
Hey there. I just finished my SAM under JPA and am heading to Australia soon to do Actuarial Science. Ummm honestly to answer your question the JPA interviewer never asked us any questions about actuarial science(AS) during our interview -_- and honestly me myself had only a rough idea of what AS is about.... even when our SAM class just started most of the students do not know about AS in depth ...but we eventually learn more about it as we do our SAM. Even during the pre-u, there are some students who actually ask JPA to change to other fields due to loss of interest in AS... there are others who can't make it for AS as well after the SAM results are out (as AS requirements are quite high....) and have to settle with other courses with lower requirements.
18-01-2010, 12:15 AM
Hey there. I just finished my SAM under JPA and am heading to Australia soon to do Actuarial Science. Ummm honestly to answer your question the JPA interviewer never asked us any questions about actuarial science(AS) during our interview -_- and honestly me myself had only a rough idea of what AS is about.... even when our SAM class just started most of the students do not know about AS in depth ...but we eventually learn more about it as we do our SAM. Even during the pre-u, there are some students who actually ask JPA to change to other fields due to loss of interest in AS... there are others who can't make it for AS as well after the SAM results are out (as AS requirements are quite high....) and have to settle with other courses with lower requirements.
For what you have just said, i think it's quite surprising that the JPA interviewer didn't asked anything about actuarial science since JPA wanna invest in students for this particular course. I think they should ask something about actuarial science during the interview to ensure the candidates are at least understood some rough ideas about AS before pursuing it, for they may be more mentally and physically prepared in studying this particular tough course. Hence, the applicants who have a great passion in AS would be having a greater chance to secure the scholarships compared to those who don't really know about it and ended up into other courses due to the loss of interest in it. Btw, I'm just a SPM'09 leaver and have a deep interest in pursuing actuarial science in future... so do correct me if i'm wrong... :)
angel_tnp29
18-01-2010, 01:37 AM
I'm not actuarial science student. But I have lot of JPA and MARA actuarial science students who are taking this course in Taylor's ADP. Before you really consider this course,you really need to do your research thoroughly before you apply. Some of the applicants were applying with the thought 'i love math and i will only do math for the rest of my life'. yes, having passion in math is one of the consideration. however, it is not enough. when thing is getting harder, people lost interest. u have to consider as well. is this the kind of career that u want to commit to for the rest of ur life? do u know what actuary really does? i had seen many people who were math geeks in the school suffering even before they go abroad. this is all due to the above-the-iceberg understanding when they applied for this course.
*jpa didnt ask me abt my course as well:-)
18-01-2010, 04:05 AM
I think forcing an 18 student to choose their course of study is not effective at all. At the age of 18, very few people really know what they want. Some may THINK that they know what they want but as they are being exposed to more opportunities their interest changes. This is most apparent among those who are studying medicine. Actuarial Science wise I've met many students who are initially studying actuarial science now have lost interest in the field; and don't get me wrong, it's not that they cannot do well in the papers. They do well in papers, and have every bit of potential to be successful actuaries (jpa sponsored), but I guess the field becomes not so appealing anymore as they progress on. In fact, two close friends of mine have passed all 5 papers, but one applied to do masters in computer science and another one is contemplating to do masters in finance... Both of them are at the edge of leaving the field.
Actuarial science is a very dry field, in my opinion, compared to other math intensive, equally challenging courses like Computer Science, Finance or Pure Mathematics. Maybe that's why people are leaving this course to pursue something else.
For what you have just said, i think it's quite surprising that the JPA interviewer didn't asked anything about actuarial science since JPA wanna invest in students for this particular course. I think they should ask something about actuarial science during the interview to ensure the candidates are at least understood some rough ideas about AS before pursuing it, for they may be more mentally and physically prepared in studying this particular tough course. Hence, the applicants who have a great passion in AS would be having a greater chance to secure the scholarships compared to those who don't really know about it and ended up into other courses due to the loss of interest in it. Btw, I'm just a SPM'09 leaver and have a deep interest in pursuing actuarial science in future... so do correct me if i'm wrong... :)
Nicholas, I would suggest you study mathematics instead of actuarial science. Actuarial Science is a subset of Mathematics. So you come out of a uni with a pure math degree, you can choose to take actuarial paper later on when you work. Actuarial science is no doubt, difficult, but it's not going to be that bad once you are trained to think rigorously in mathematics.
Plus, with mathematics your future option is going to be broader than just studying actuarial science. You can do a lot of things with a pure mathematics degree.
18-01-2010, 01:43 PM
I would suggest you study mathematics instead of actuarial science. Actuarial Science is a subset of Mathematics. So you come out of a uni with a pure math degree, you can choose to take actuarial paper later on when you work. Actuarial science is no doubt, difficult, but it's not going to be that bad once you are trained to think rigorously in mathematics.
Plus, with mathematics your future option is going to be broader than just studying actuarial science. You can do a lot of things with a pure mathematics degree.
yeah i'm agree with u Seiryu that most of the 18-year-old students don't really know what they want to be, even though some might think that they have found it. Well, indirectly i'm the second type of student and i thought i have found my chosen course but i can't really say much on it as i haven't really study it, even though i have done a lot of researches on it. Maybe it's true that i should train myself in the first place before being exposed into the actuarial field for not to loss interest on it during my study. However, shouldn't it be better if i started it during my degree? I mean, if I start studying actuarial science during my degree, wouldn't it much easier for me to study for the exams??? If i study mathematics during my degree, definitely the lecturer won't teach something about actuarial science. After obtaining my degree in mathematics, i still have to start from the bottom and study for the actuarial exams. Maybe it's a good way for me to sharpen my mathematics skill before switch into actuarial field and not to loss interest during my study. Is there anyone in Recom study mathematics during degree and eventually switch into actuarial field??? I would be glad to know the opinions from someone who truly experienced this kind of pathway.
Btw, i just failed to secure my Bank Negara Scholarship... so please forgive me if i'm a bit rude... :cry
I'm not actuarial science student. But I have lot of JPA and MARA actuarial science students who are taking this course in Taylor's ADP. Before you really consider this course,you really need to do your research thoroughly before you apply. Some of the applicants were applying with the thought 'i love math and i will only do math for the rest of my life'. yes, having passion in math is one of the consideration. however, it is not enough. when thing is getting harder, people lost interest. u have to consider as well. is this the kind of career that u want to commit to for the rest of ur life? do u know what actuary really does? i had seen many people who were math geeks in the school suffering even before they go abroad. this is all due to the above-the-iceberg understanding when they applied for this course.
*jpa didnt ask me abt my course as well:-)
yeah, it's true that when thing is getting harder, people loss interest. But in my opinion, I think that having passion in maths is just not enough if wanna be an actuary. That's what most of the applicants think of and eventually just like what u have said, they lost interest in actuarial science even before study abroad. For the answer of your questions, I think i have made up my mind that this is the kind of career that i would like to commit to for the rest of my life. Based on my researches in the internet, actuary calculates and managing risk by using maths skill which including probability and statistics as well as knowledge in fields of finance, economics and accounting to solve business problems. Even though the probability and risk model can be determined and calculated by using computer, but actuary is still needed to interpret it to the people as not everyone learn the skill of evaluating the risk model. So an actuary must have a strong communication skills too and i think i have it.
Actuary is an expert who evaluating the likelihood and financial consequences of future events, designing creative ways to reduce the cost of undesirable events and decreasing the impact of tragic events that do occur. An actuary primarily work in the insurance company, bank or some other financial institution. The specialization in the actuarial field varies in its range from health care, general insurance, life insurance, financial plans, risk management and so on. So i can't really tell what an actuary does due the the variation of the fields. Based on the above statements, I truly got interested in actuarial science and decided to give it a try. As the course is very tough, the students must be mentally and physically prepared for the study of AS. Correct me if i'm wrong... =)