View Full Version : How much can you expect to earn if you are graduating now?
windy_city
02-06-2004, 01:23 AM
Found an interesting article about the earning of undergrad students who will be graduating this year. Seems that engineering students will have the upper hand in job market and higher starting salary too!!!
For full article, pls go to: http://msn.careerbuilder.com/Custom/MSN/CareerAdvice/242.htm?siteid=cbmsnhp4228&sc_extcmp=JS_cg02_april04_home1>1=3468&cbRecursionCnt=1&cbsid=912f8292b86a4a84ae94a3f5c2ab8221-139410268-rt-1
02-06-2004, 01:38 AM
Just wondering is the average salaries cited in that article is quite low. 60% are actually earning below $30,000 and 86% earning below $40,000 and 93% earning below $50,000.
I went to have a check at average Cornell Engineering fresh graduates earn $53,549(2001), $50,825(2002). I could not find the statistic for 2003 graduates.
So, would be interested to see the statistics from other universities.
03-06-2004, 08:58 AM
This is an article I found on MSN Careers about 10 ways to help you negotiating a good starting pay.
http://msn.careerbuilder.com/Custom/MSN/CareerAdvice/266.htm?siteid=cbmsnHP4248&sc_extcmp=JS_js07_may04_home1&cbRecursionCnt=1&cbsid=83ea1db3f43f4ae98d850e2b56fc11dd-139524754-x7-2
14-06-2004, 06:37 PM
any information related to the starting pay for new graduates in malaysia?
Steppe
14-06-2004, 08:43 PM
This is what I gathered from my parents:
pharmacy graduate, about RM 2,000 per month in gov't, after 3 years in gov't, about RM 3,500 in private
'forestry' graduate, about RM 1,400 - RM 1,700 in private oil palms company
medical housemanship in gov't, about RM 4,000 including on-calls allowance
14-06-2004, 10:00 PM
Just wondering is the average salaries cited in that article is quite low. 60% are actually earning below $30,000 and 86% earning below $40,000 and 93% earning below $50,000.
I went to have a check at average Cornell Engineering fresh graduates earn $53,549(2001), $50,825(2002). I could not find the statistic for 2003 graduates.
Don't expect any Malaysian Employer to pay you that much not even in ringgit.
In Malaysia, Engineers of all fields Make around 9,000 - 12,000 US Dollars a year. My brother who had been working in Malaysia as a System engineer for about 3 years makes only 10,500 dollars a year. If he was to work in USA doing the same thing he'll get paid about 65K.
There's a reason why IT companies are moving to countries like India and Malaysia.
benben
20-06-2004, 08:38 AM
how about the starting salary for those civil engineering graduates??? which line which has the better pay?? contractor/consultant?? thks..
20-06-2004, 09:56 AM
check this out
www.salary.com
24-06-2004, 04:40 PM
how about the starting salary for those civil engineering graduates??? which line which has the better pay?? contractor/consultant?? thks..
in malaysia or what? become engineer in malaysia won't get rich one lah. starting salary RM2000-3000 (max) per month and you have to work like a kuli. in most cases, you're basically a high class technician. as third said, there's a reason why companies move their manufacturing ops to countries like malaysia (actualyl in malaysia's case, it's "moved").
if u wanna become rich doing civil engineering, work for govt. contractors will, erm, treat you very well to get contracts. that's where you make your bucks.
xovey
26-07-2004, 08:12 PM
these are the stats from my university
http://career.eng.ohio-state.edu/ASPs/ECSSalaryOffers.asp
Daniel
26-07-2004, 08:43 PM
can an engineer set up his/her company? Most of the engineer that i knew spent their whole life serving in a big company and does not earned a lot. I could hardly found any engineer that open their own company. :oops:
dinna_g
27-07-2004, 02:12 AM
can an engineer set up his/her company? Most of the engineer that i knew spent their whole life serving in a big company and does not earned a lot. I could hardly found any engineer that open their own company. :oops:
of course you can. i know someone who set up his own engineering firm in malaysia. and normally, an engineer will move to the management side after earning a lot of experience doing technical work. dont worry, you wont end up doing the crappy job your entire life. and of course, it depends on your performances, if you do well, you'll go further up! have faith in yourself!
gonjeng
27-07-2004, 09:48 AM
first of all, i dont think it is fair comparing how much you make in mesia and in US. here (US) the culture is different. it is has become a lifestyle, where ppl are trying to earn as much money as possible, since they, at least most ppl i know, live for money. in mesia is different. we use money to live, rather than the other way. i do agree though that money is one of the factor in choosing a job, but then... is that all to it??? ntah, i personally would rather choose sth that brings me close to recent tech :)
nonetheless, does anybody know how much an engineer with a masters degree may earn? in US, theres a somewhat a big jump in salary per year between undergrad and masters. so is mesia the same???
kevinkhoo1986
28-07-2004, 04:50 PM
Anybody know what is the basic salary for fresh an architect gratuated from local U in Malaysia? What about it future prospect?
cmhang
30-07-2004, 08:13 PM
Which field are you referring to?
FYI, I'm a fresh grad. in the field of IT. Starting salary that most of my friends get is around RM1800 (yes, I'm not working coz I'm thinking of furthering my studies and I'm helping out my father right now :wink: ) but for first class students, Shell is offering around RM3000, Intel (Penang) around RM2800, and Motorolla (Penang) around RM2700.
Accounting student is around RM1700 if not mistaken... and for engineering, it's around RM2400 (without first class)
Most companies are giving RM300 ~ RM400 more for first class graduates.
30-07-2004, 08:23 PM
And I believe that if any student has any distinct unique skills, especially soft skills that could be found during interview, that could bring in a good increase in starting salary... Even if not, if you impress the company fast enough, your increment would come pretty soon...
kevinkhoo1986
31-07-2004, 02:24 PM
FYI, I'm a fresh grad. in the field of IT. Starting salary that most of my friends get is around RM1800 (yes, I'm not working coz I'm thinking of furthering my studies and I'm helping out my father right now :wink: ) but for first class students, Shell is offering around RM3000, Intel (Penang) around RM2800, and Motorolla (Penang) around RM2700.
Accounting student is around RM1700 if not mistaken... and for engineering, it's around RM2400 (without first class)
My brother graduated from UTM and work as an electronical engineer in Penang with a basic salary of RM 2600. He is not a first class graduate.
02-08-2004, 01:05 PM
Actually I'm asking where can i find website that shows information about the starting pay for fresh graduates in Malaysia. But anyway, I think we can get a rough estimation by our discussion here. Thanks for the info, cmhang. ^_^
Btw, how much can we expect for the starting salary for a biotech graduate? In Malaysia, UK, US or Aus?
02-08-2004, 01:58 PM
misled_youth's dua sen:
1. Public Relations Officer/Consultant - RM1,300-1,500
2. Journalist - RM1,500
My future is bleak indeed...
Vaporizer video (http://vaporizers.tv/)
cmhang
02-08-2004, 02:19 PM
You are most welcome, pandaboy.
I came across this... and thought it might be useful, especially for those that's in the work force. Though it's kindda outdated but then... I think it's still good to know... and there's some tips like how to cope with a difficult boss... etc.
http://adtimes.nstp.com.my/jobstory/articles.htm
And the link below leads you to graduan where you might be able to find some useful information. It's a webpage for Malaysian Fresh Grads.
http://www.graduan.com.my/graduan/index.taf
skyguy
20-02-2005, 04:43 PM
How much can a doctor earn as a government medical officer upon graduation after completing his/her housemanship. (Salary for the first 3 years)
Dr_Tay
20-02-2005, 05:50 PM
Anything from RM800 per month to RM2,100 if you are lucky. Putting engineering graduates at RM3000 is abit too lucky. Infact, you probably have to have good connections or your family owns the company. The starting pay of an MBA is RM2,500 per month so you can imagine why should they employ a graduate for RM3000 when they can get an MBA for RM2,500. The maximum you can go after 15 years of work experience as a manager is RM4000. Anything above that you can thank God. An ex-securities commission head once told me that we are losing all the good people because we don't pay enough. Plus the fact that we are importing cheap labour from Bangladesh and Pakistan who are willing to work for your graduate jobs at less. Pathetic isn't it?
bunny
20-02-2005, 10:23 PM
Just a question, what are the working hours of an engineer in Malaysia like?
It's true that in US, an engineer can earn a lot more, but I also heard (from someone's personal experience) about an engineer in Motorola who earns a lot but works 355 days a year, i.e. works all weekends and only get 10 days of leave in a year.
Working is not just about the absolute value of your pay i guess, it is also how hard u have to work to get and keep that kind of pay.. :)
20-02-2005, 10:47 PM
For government servants, the starting pay is about RM1400+ (quite near to RM1500), plus housing allowance which is slightly more than RM200, and another basic allowance for RM150 or so. In all, it is about RM1750-RM1800. Furthermore, it would depend on which job you are doing. For doctor, there is a critical allowance of RM500, and for each night you are on-call, you earn some dollars extra. For government servant job that require you to travel, and if you own a car, the travel allowance is 55 cents per km for those with car of 1500 CC and above. (This does not include the travel you go from your home to office).
For engineers, most of my UTM friends who are graduating in these two months are fetching a basic salary of RM3200-RM3400 in companies like Intel, Altera etc. Those are the basic pay, not inclusive of overtime. Those are mainly for design-work.
20-02-2005, 10:58 PM
For government servants, the starting pay is about RM1400+ (quite near to RM1500), plus housing allowance which is slightly more than RM200, and another basic allowance for RM150 or so. In all, it is about RM1750-RM1800. Furthermore, it would depend on which job you are doing. For doctor, there is a critical allowance of RM500, and for each night you are on-call, you earn some dollars extra. For government servant job that require you to travel, and if you own a car, the travel allowance is 55 cents per km for those with car of 1500 CC and above. (This does not include the travel you go from your home to office).
For engineers, most of my UTM friends who are graduating in these two months are fetching a basic salary of RM3200-RM3400 in companies like Intel, Altera etc. Those are the basic pay, not inclusive of overtime. Those are mainly for design-work.
Whoa...so basically those who are working in private companies earn double the amount of government servants?
21-02-2005, 01:06 AM
You should call your friends and ask them, Really?
RM3200 is a little high for a fresh graduate.... the most they'll make is RM2500.
skyguy
21-02-2005, 09:44 AM
[quote="Dr_Tay"]Anything from RM800 per month to RM2,100 if you are lucky[quote] RM800 !? Dont you think this is too low for a Doctor, after going through 5-6 years of hell i think fresh government doctors should earn at least 2.5k above for a start. But for RM800 that's disgusting. No wander most of JPA sponsered medical students in UK, Ireland and Australia choose not to come back upon graduation.
21-02-2005, 09:53 AM
[quote="Dr_Tay"]Anything from RM800 per month to RM2,100 if you are lucky[quote] RM800 !? Dont you think this is too low for a Doctor, after going through 5-6 years of hell i think fresh government doctors should earn at least 2.5k above for a start. But for RM800 that's disgusting. No wander most of JPA sponsered medical students in UK, Ireland and Australia choose not to come back upon graduation.
Why is studying medical for 5-6 years equated to hell? Almost everyone in my family including my father are doctors and most of them feel a fresh graduate from a medic school and an engineer are just as valuable.
Just think about it... i for once would rather not be treated by fresh grad. I feel like a guinea pig.. anything could go wrong in the hand of a young impatient Dr.
21-02-2005, 09:53 AM
Anything from RM800 per month to RM2,100 if you are lucky RM800 !? Dont you think this is too low for a Doctor, after going through 5-6 years of hell i think fresh government doctors should earn at least 2.5k above for a start. But for RM800 that's disgusting. No wander most of JPA sponsered medical students in UK, Ireland and Australia choose not to come back upon graduation.
Dr_Tay was refering to expected salary for fresh graduates generally...(the subject of his reply says so....)
lzyee
21-02-2005, 09:57 AM
what about architect? in Malaysia i meant.
nocona
21-02-2005, 02:52 PM
RM3200 is a little high for a fresh graduate.... the most they'll make is RM2500.
Agree with 3rd. Averagely RM2200 regardless of whatever degree you are having, of course, technical related certificate will get higher pay but still around RM2200 +/- 10% max. Intel gives RM3200-RM3400? huh... Intel is looking for PhD at this moment... the degree candidates are more than secondary school students... they are paid around RM2200. First or 2nd class... doesn't matter BUT... with working experiences will help you to get another RM100-RM200. Sorry pal, no OT ok??? According to labour law, salary (Basic pay) above RM1545 (if I am not wrong with the figure) is not allowed to have OT hourly. Hence, Intel is paying RM50 per 4-hours as mileage. For Altera, if you are pro (not only good but pro) in VLSI designing... go for Altera, definitely you will get RM3k+.
Anyway, these bunch of salary will be only numbers if you don't get a job. My sister is a graduated MBA but Intel doesn't give a shit... So, if you can't get the desired job, find whatever job that pays you money... at least you are earning something. Even if you are only paid with RM800... Hello... Doctor pon kena makan nasi ok??
-nc-
Dr_Tay
21-02-2005, 03:04 PM
Just was given an interview in investment banking and the average income is more than RM4.5k but they expect 8 days a week job conditions. Literally married to your job. They also expected you to be a financial planning expert with their products and I was thinking if I were so good I should be making money for myself instead of making it for the bank that pays me peanuts. If the organisation expects a superman, I think superman can open up his own Cryptonite Corporation and take business away. One more thing the catch is you will be dealing with all the dignitaries with all the fancy titles which mean nothing if they all want some favors. So really the organisation is asking for the world. Being product oriented is not so healthy and less so customer oriented. Really, I don't blame my ex-students and friends who have resigned from that organisation to complain about it to me.
As for the manager that interviewed me it was almost as if he could not figure out how to boost the profit figures of the bank and was trying to tap my brains, so I gave him a scenario where as a management trainee of an ex public listed company I did sales and the company went bankrupt with all the mismanagement and alter ego that went along with the directors and management. So I am not at all surprised of working for an environment of high pressure only to see the company go bankrupt infact I have seen it twice, with two companies I have worked for both going bankrupt. Quite common actually. Sometimes the company is so broke that they don't have money to buy toilet paper so you have to buy your own loo paper to answer nature's call.
21-02-2005, 11:53 PM
I got offered 1k.
Times are bad man...
California Dispensary (http://california.dispensaries.org/)
22-02-2005, 02:36 AM
I got offered 1k.
Times are bad man...
That sucks considering i made over RM1800 working as a hotel waiter in KL when i was 17. I only worked for 3 months and started with no experience.
22-02-2005, 02:43 AM
I got offered 1k.
Times are bad man...
That sucks considering i made over RM1800 working as a hotel waiter in KL when i was 17. I only worked for 3 months and started with no experience.
yeah...that really sucks if u spent 3-4 years on a degree and still get less than wat u started with... i was 16 and worked part time as a promoter at World Of Sports in Subang Parade, (in Subang Jaya, Selangor if u know where it is)...
i made about 1.5k a month.... commision included...(1% of the sales got me an extra of $300)....well, it was Raya month... and Christmas period...
then again, that was about 4 years ago...
22-02-2005, 03:28 AM
I got offered 1k.crap. what job?
22-02-2005, 05:28 AM
Those figures about Intel RM3K-RM3.2K, I get from my classmates who are graduating this march/april from UTM. I know a few of them who told me the figure, they are mostly getting between 3.95-4.00 in their CGPA, as well as some of them have done practical training in Intel, as part of their degree.
22-02-2005, 06:27 AM
Chenchow, My brothers best friend graduated from MMU few years back with a 4.0 and attended Oxford but couldnt finish because his scholarship was canceled when he got married (a violation of the contract)
He is getting about 3400 now and thats after 2 years worth of experience.
I'm a little skeptical about those figures especially that it;s from Intel.. which is pretty cheap when it comes to raise for it's employees.
But if it's truly the case then great.. maybe i should apply a job there too.
Dr_Tay
22-02-2005, 08:21 AM
Low salaries are part of society's policy to keep the nation competitive but the bringing in of foreign labour from south Asian countries will further depress the salary levels. Therefore, low salary and low value products are the industries that we will be developing. The vicious cycle will keep on repeating itself. Further, if outsourcing is brought in lower salaries will be demanded and thus both factors will serve to depress remuneration levels in the face of hyper inflation. What you earn does not keep in line with inflation rates. The fact is most businesses here want cheap, cheap and more cheap, no career development, no private pension plan, no job security and no welfare, just slave labour man.
linglingling
23-02-2005, 01:53 AM
Is there anything Malaysia is doing to prevent brain drain? Is there a place where we can find salary quotes for Malaysia?
Anyone has any idea what a PhD holder earns?
An interesting website for you (USA) :
www.salary.com
Dr_Tay
09-03-2005, 11:39 PM
Well my ex-colleague was a PhD holder he got RM5000 a month for being in chemistry. He was given a full weeks work, academia during the weekdays and counselling and marketing during the weekends Sundays included. He still drove a battered up Datsun and can't seem to find better jobs elsewhere. Occupational mobility is somewhat constrained being a PhD holder here. Heck even an investment banker with only a degree gets RM15000 a month at an international bank which is an insult to a PhD holder. Of course that investment banker spent some years at an IOFC so gained the necessary expertise at the expense of breaking up the family and getting a divorce from the spouse. So is it really worth it? Question is why are the salaries so low for so much work? To keep the nation competitive it seems but does the theory hold up if not, what went wrong?
In terms of salary quotes you can guage from the statistics of a certain online recruitment agency that the average wage of a Malaysian say senior manager level is RM5000. Any higher is through your connections or from other means. Toast yourself maybe and land yourself in the majority and just maybe you will get more.
Recruitment agencies left, right and centre are contributing to the saying why don't you go abroad to work, thus encouraging and fuelling the brain drain. Headhunters seem to be retrenched themselves so what hope do we have. In the land of scarcity it is not what you know it is who you know and even then the salary for a starting graduate is RM1000 + or - .
Don't end up just a statistic and be swayed by the data of FDI coming through the media, at the end of the day you are still going to be unemployed. Join the club man.
10-03-2005, 12:53 AM
what about class A lecturers? they make quite good m oney don't they? RM 17,000 or so.
nwx86
11-03-2005, 02:38 PM
Anyone knows the salary for a freshie pharmacist working in the gov? well, they say a pharmacist can make lots of money...how true is that? another question...Does anyone knows the future prospects of a Bachelor of Technology Management holder?
11-03-2005, 03:24 PM
Anyone knows the salary for a freshie pharmacist working in the gov? well, they say a pharmacist can make lots of money...how true is that? another question...Does anyone knows the future prospects of a Bachelor of Technology Management holder?
hahaha... my bro gonna graduate from UUM with that... really soon... having his finals at the end of this month and he will be free...
job prospect... virtually anything from HR to IT and to ... becoz unless u are a professional, if not, virtually, there are not much differences between one another...
11-03-2005, 11:26 PM
i'm living and working in new york, near p'diddy's office, 2 blocks from times square, and yet i still hidup kais pagi makan pagi, petang i don't eat. ahh.. it's tough trying to make ends meet without motherfather sponsorship.
nwx86
13-03-2005, 12:09 AM
what about class A lecturers? they make quite good m oney don't they? RM 17,000 or so.
What are class A lecturers? How many classes are there anyway? Is it only in the private sector where they have such classes? RM17k per month? thats quite a good pay.
Dr_Tay
13-03-2005, 06:22 AM
Class A lecturers getting 17k must be in Rupiah.
As I said a PhD in Chemistry gets RM5k a month and has to work 7 days a week including Sunday for student counselling and marketing.
The college has a drop in enrolment and fall in profits due to over expansion all over the world. They were so mingy that we had to buy our own toilet paper for nature's call.
Right now I have heard that college is trying to retrench people without having to pay severance pay and their fees have increased from RM36k to RM46k. So beware if you wanna spend alot go there.
The college is also filled with Ah Bengs and Ah Longs so becareful might get bullied. Infact, staff bully each other as well, almost made a report, but college take no notice.
My advice is if you can work abroad work abroad as the salary here is very low unless your blood is blue or well connected with a silver spoon in your mouth. If not you will retire at RM5k max and that is it. Curry rice everyday man at mamak that is cheapest with the low wage rate. That is why there is import of cheap labor from other south Asian countries, so as to keep our wages low.
Agnes
27-03-2005, 10:36 PM
I guess you guys would like to check this out... :wink:
www.jobstreet.com
By the way....can anyone give me a hint on how much will a pharmacist or biotechnologist ended up in Malaysia?
I heard from a counsellor that to be a biotechnologist, we have to get a Phd. or else we will end up to become a sales / lab assistant..... 8O
And may i know is 5k per month in US is consider much? considering the fact that the living cost in US is high.....
Randomphantom
02-04-2005, 04:26 PM
After studying econs, I am more willing to subscribe to the economic viewpoint regarding salary that "high and low" can be superficial. The nominal wages of working overseas might seem high at times, but consider the currency, inflation and price level, and you might end up having less "money" or purchasing power at the end. So for that mamak curry rice you take as granted, you won't be able to enjoy the same curry rice overseas for the same cheap price as in Malaysia.
As for PhDs I don't know about the opportunities for them in Malaysia but I think that it is rather limited (lack of infrastructure, brain drain...) YET. So the pay might be lower as a result as compared to overseas.
Investment bankers get a fat pay packet though, and it can become ungodly sums. But I don't think that its an entirely good deal. Investment bankers work long hours on end, and they don't have much time for other "more" worthwhile pursuits in life. There is always a good chance of getting burnt and out of the game in a few years time. I've read that they get less pay per hour of work as compared to say accountants.
So, lots of moolah does not necessarily mean a good deal. It entirely depends on your goal.
bskueh
03-04-2005, 02:23 AM
I have a latest news from my friends working in Intel Penang and his pay is RM2700, IBM KL RM2500, and Alan Dick KL RM1800. Currently offers in KL company for a fresh graduate in Engineering is RM1600-RM2200.
18k fresh graduate currently unemploy in m'sia, I'm here to wish them all the best!
There is a neighbour of mine graduate in Australia as a pharnacist get RM1000 as starting pay in a private hospital.
I guess you guys would like to check this out... :wink:
www.jobstreet.com
By the way....can anyone give me a hint on how much will a pharmacist or biotechnologist ended up in Malaysia?
I heard from a counsellor that to be a biotechnologist, we have to get a Phd. or else we will end up to become a sales / lab assistant..... 8O
And may i know is 5k per month in US is consider much? considering the fact that the living cost in US is high.....
They said working in bank gets high pay but the work is hectic and u almost have no time for ur self,is that true?Can anybody tell me what is the starting pay for a junior bank officer in Malaysia?
Here's an ad from Intel in Malaysia that recently came into my inbox.
------------
Intel Malaysia has opportunities in Penang, Kulim and Kuala Lumpur. Over the past 30 years, Intel Malaysia has grown into the largest, most mature manufacturing facility outside of the United States. Intel Penang is a key assembly and testing site, Intel Kulim assembles processor packaging and is an important operations center for mobile modules, and Intel Kuala Lumpur includes a multimedia super-corridor development center as well as a sales and marketing office.
Intel Malaysia has BS, MS and PhD opportunities for graduates in the following disciplines:
? Electrical & Electronics Engineering
? Computer Engineering
? Microelectronics Engineering
? Telecommunications Engineering
Please send your resume to Catherine.h.jensen@<hidden>.
For more information, please visit www.intel.com/jobs/malaysia.
Candidates must have unrestricted right to work in Malaysia.
Cath Huntington Jensen
Program Manager
International Recruiting Team
Catherine.H.Jensen@<hidden>
For more information on Intel India, please visit www.Intel.com/jobs/India.
For more information on Intel Malaysia, please visit www.Intel.com/jobs/Malaysia.
For more information on Intel China, please visit www.Intel.com/jobs/China.
Dr_Tay
12-05-2005, 06:29 AM
Alot of multinationals advertise jobs in Malaysia but they have already been taken up or their operations have been moved to places like China and Vietnam e.g. Xiamen. It is thus a waste of time applying to them but you can still try. There are more graduates and postgraduates chasing after too few jobs and because of the current slowdown it is quite frustrating. So beware what is advertised may just be window dressing.
mita27
19-06-2005, 10:13 PM
I 'm a US grad & I used to make around 3K/month on my first job in a Japanese Company (Shah Alam) but i had to work like 24 hours sometimes &
1 month without a day off . I left the japs for lower wage job in a US chipmaker for a meagre RM 2200+ salary/mth but i 'm feeling much healthier and happier than my first .My advice is that If u have the opportunity to go abroad & study , stay there , look for job (be it ILLEGAL waiter/waitress ) and live there. Malaysia is an ideal place where 1st world multinational Cors build their sweatshops .
BTW , Something about intel that every malaysian should know bout
http://www.faceintel.com
http://www.faceintel.com/penang.htm
masdie
19-06-2005, 11:04 PM
I have a question. Why is the salary here low? Is it because the companies themselves earn little? Or is it because the bosses are stingy? Or is it because the malaysian law restricts our pay? Anyone care to explain it to me?
ps: should I create a new thread regarding this matter? or can we just continue here?
mita27
19-06-2005, 11:34 PM
That's because we are third world cheap labors waiting to be exploited by the developed nations.
we have to learn live with it until potong finally comes up with a decent car for export .
masdie
20-06-2005, 12:43 AM
That's because we are third world cheap labors waiting to be exploited by the developed nations.
we have to learn live with it until potong finally comes up with a decent car for export .
I am very serious. Are you serious?
mita27
20-06-2005, 03:13 AM
Oh Yes ,I'm serious
ask yourself this question ,
If we arent cheap , why would they come here ? :lol: :lol: :lol:
Irresistible
20-06-2005, 06:03 PM
My neighbour graduate with 1st class (computer Enginering) in UM. His starting pay is RM2800, working in INtel Penang. At INtel,there is an incentive of RM300 for 1st class degree holder.
For A/cing course, the salary range from 1700-2100 (That is the highest range if u work in BIGFOUR ) When I do my industrial training in a small A/C firm in my hometown, a fresh graduate degree holder from New Zealand (University of Messey) work as audit assistant at a pay of 1000. :( :( :( :(
Unbelieveable? Believe it !!!
Now, I have regret for choosing A/c Course, Heavy Wokload ( we have to meet deadline) & little pay!!! :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
Don't know how much they will pay me when I graduate??? Surely not high, hopefully not low. :cry:
Irresistible
20-06-2005, 06:17 PM
As I said a PhD in Chemistry gets RM5k a month and has to work 7 days a week including Sunday for student counselling and marketing.
At Msia, a UM lecturer with a master degree (with experience) receive a salary of RM3000++. The pay is not high, but the work load is considerably low. U can teach tuition as your side income or even sell insurance (sometimes, the side income is more than the salary received)!!
hi..
any graduate in Math here?
i would like to ask whether anyone can give me some salary quotes for a Math graduate in degree?
and would much appreciate is some experienced Math grad can tell me wat kind of company taht a Math grad can work in?...Intel..petronas?....any big company taht is hiring Math Grad instead of landing in merely Education field?
Thank you in advance ya!!!
Randomphantom
20-06-2005, 10:39 PM
What's A/c irresistable?
Accounting?
zingkov
20-06-2005, 11:49 PM
In Malaysia, there are 3 classes among Professors: A Class, B Class and C Class.
A Class Prof did earn that much (17k). But in UTM, only got 1 A Class Prof, i.e. the Vice Chancellor, 6 B Class Prof & quite a number of C Class Profs. Even B Class Prof's requirement is not easy to meet, for instance, in my faculty (mechanical engineering), only have 1 B Class Prof, namely Prof Salman Leong, who is the No.1 expert in vibration field in the entire Malaysia. But for him, his consultancy fee earning weighs at least 5 times more than his salary in the university. And he just has to come back and teach 1 day per week.
What I mentioned above came from the mouth of my Deputy Dean (Academic). Hope he didnt make any exaggeration there.
By the way, I just obtained my tutor job offer today. Basic salary RM 1781.99, housing allowance RM210, other allowance RM170, so total around RM2162. not bad i would say, considering the flexibility of the job.
merry_go_round
21-06-2005, 12:40 PM
how about grads from computer science field? do they stand a chance to secure a job like engineering and medic grads?And what's the least and the most they can get with a fresh degree?
and one more thing what is the difference between comp. sc and comp. engineering? Confused a little bit.. (out of topic..) :roll:
seancl85
21-06-2005, 02:37 PM
em..just curious..let say u are a graduated medical student who got a mbbs....if we try to compare a student graduated from Uk and another one graduated from malaysia,india,indonesia or ukraine...will there get lesser pay?
do they actually look where is ur degree from..?..or they just see which university that is recognised n the payment is the same
Jhuen
21-06-2005, 02:44 PM
i actually heard of a case like this before,where they pay you according to the uni u graduated from..i'm not so sure about medicine,but from the case that i've heard,the fella'a an acounting graduate.when he went for a job interview,the interviewer asked him which uni did he studied in..He(the interviewer) said that if you're from UM,then your pay's RM 1800,if you're from UUM,it's only RM 1000..
that's what i heard...but it's not confirmed though..
seancl85
21-06-2005, 05:10 PM
i think...that only happens to field like accounting,business but so far...never heard of ppl studying in other countries got pay less than those local universities' students...i mean those countries even like thailand,filipina,indonesia,vietname professional workers..got pay even higher than our local grads..
Irresistible
21-06-2005, 05:29 PM
A/c =accounting.
Big accounting firm prefer A/c degree holder from UM & USM or ACCA or any other professional qualification graduate.
Normally, they will pay overseas graduate better (+100 :cry: ). 1st class degree holder(+100 :cry: ). But, I dont think they will pay lower just bcoz u graduate fr. not so famous university/college.
Since UUM have the most no. of unemployed graduate (tht I read from newspaper).U know la, big firm more choosy....
Price Water House Coopers -1800-2200
KPMG-1700++
Ernst &Young-1900-2100
Kassim Chan Delloitte -1600++
**Medium size accounting firm give about 1400-1600. Small firm 1000++. :( :( For commercial co, it depends on the size of the co. On average (commercial firm), the pay is about 1800.
This info is gathered fr. my seniors, KL have a better pay considering the high living cost.
smartalex
21-06-2005, 05:46 PM
Well, I plan to major in either Chemical Eng or Industrial Engineering here in Korea.
Can someone tell me which job will have a higher pay?
And I wonder what's the chances of finding a job if I major in Industrial Engineering...?
mita27
21-06-2005, 06:00 PM
My Major is Chemical engineering , & i had a hard time looking for job related to my field .in addition , Chemical eng is so much tougher than Industrial Eng , Unless u are absolutely interested in CHemE or u plan to get a job in developed nations .My advice is that u major in Industrial eng if it's one of your options, the job scope is better here in Msia and it's less stressful .
Job opportunity in Jobstreet.com
http://search3.jobstreet.com/searchGo.asp?key=industrial+engineering&spe=-&loc=&site=my&by=search
Kazaf
21-06-2005, 06:55 PM
After studying econs, I am more willing to subscribe to the economic viewpoint regarding salary that "high and low" can be superficial. The nominal wages of working overseas might seem high at times, but consider the currency, inflation and price level, and you might end up having less "money" or purchasing power at the end. So for that mamak curry rice you take as granted, you won't be able to enjoy the same curry rice overseas for the same cheap price as in Malaysia.
As for PhDs I don't know about the opportunities for them in Malaysia but I think that it is rather limited (lack of infrastructure, brain drain...) YET. So the pay might be lower as a result as compared to overseas.
Investment bankers get a fat pay packet though, and it can become ungodly sums. But I don't think that its an entirely good deal. Investment bankers work long hours on end, and they don't have much time for other "more" worthwhile pursuits in life. There is always a good chance of getting burnt and out of the game in a few years time. I've read that they get less pay per hour of work as compared to say accountants.
So, lots of moolah does not necessarily mean a good deal. It entirely depends on your goal.
That is not entirely true. I shall use law as an example that is where I will be working. The starting salary for fresh graduates at the leading international law firms in London is about 2500 pounds (RM17,000) per month during 'chambering' (training period) and rises to about 4300 pounds (RM28,000) after that (In Malaysia, it is RM1000 during chambering and RM2500 after chambering). Even with the high living standards in London, I think you can buy much more with 2500 pounds in London than RM2500 in Malaysia. For example, my weekly personal grocery bill is 20 pounds (and I am a greedy eater!), I can furnish a studio flat in London from Ikea for 1500 pounds, a 29-inch widescreen TV is 250 pounds, a laptop is 700 pounds, a new BMW 3-series is 19,000 pounds, etc. And when you go on holiday abroad, the Pound Sterling is one of the highest currencies in the world, whereas the Ringgit is much weaker. On holiday, my mum was horrified when she had to pay HK$20 (RM10) for a wan tan mee in Hong Kong, whereas I laughed as it was only 1.40 pounds!
As for the investment banker, my friend (Malaysian, first class LSE grad, Cambridge Masters degree) just got fed up and tired of his investment banking job after the long working hours (60+ hours per week). So he retired from his job at a leading investment bank at the age of 33, with over 1 million pounds (RM7 million) in savings (he is quite a saver and had huge bonuses). :-) Now that really isn't too bad for a retirement fund while you do something you enjoy now.
zingkov
21-06-2005, 07:29 PM
And I wonder what's the chances of finding a job if I major in Industrial Engineering...?
Tons of job waiting for u...literally every factory needs industrial engineers! Quite a number of my industrial friends obtained jobs even before presenting their final thesis!
But i think u should look for korean companies 1st...
yuckfou
28-06-2005, 03:02 AM
Salary is important, yet not crucial. Work experience tells the employers how much you're worth to the company. Employers in US would pay you more to work in the east coast such as North Carolina or Tulsa, Oklahoma compared to in California. Why? Because not many people wants to work in the rural areas. But, cost of living is cheaper there than in CA or AZ or even NY.
The university where you graduated from helps you get an interview, but not necesarily determines your salary. Job salaries are very competitive these days. It's either you take it or leave it. Because someone else will take the job for a lower pay.
For example, if the employer is able to find a fresh graduate from a less known university to work for a lower pay, definitely that'll take him in compared to someone who graduated from Harvard or Stanford. Why am I sayint this? Simple.
Every entry level candidate needs to go through a couple of months of training before getting into the real job. You may come from Stanford, but if you're asking too much from the company (high pay and compensation), they rather take in someone who graduates from a less well-known university. Money is everything to the company. Unless you've proven youself exceptionally good to the interviewers, don't try to drive a hard bargain with them. It'll be your downfall... Do you research about salary (about the job and average pay of other people in the company) before negotiating the salary and accepting a job offer. This way, you'll know how much you're really worth to the company.
For those who needs to know the average salary in the US for jobs, do it online. There are a few free websites that are pretty good. Obviously, the pay in the US is higher compared to the pay in Malaysia. But the tax is higher too. For example, tax in California is about 30% of your annual salary. Houses cost a least USD 600k for a small little home. So, be content of where you're at for now. Tap the work experience from your company and then look for a better job with higher pay somewhere else in the world.
glamour
17-03-2006, 02:32 AM
hello...i really need to know how much does a pharmacist get...i mean the first salary....when they work with government??how much they will get after that??i really got to know this....please
17-03-2006, 02:43 AM
hello...i really need to know how much does a pharmacist get...i mean the first salary....when they work with government??how much they will get after that??i really got to know this....please
My cousin who is now bonded with the goverment for atleast 10 years is making about RM 2,200 (med student) in her second year. She ofcourse will get the oppurtunity to futher her studies fully paid while in the bond. Will eventually get to choose what kind of Dr. she wants to be after the 5th year.,
glamour
18-03-2006, 01:28 AM
ohh...the salary of a pharmacy is not tht much...what is the highest salary a pharmacist can get when working with government??after studying for 4 years do they need to work at the government hospital first??
Babikia
18-03-2006, 04:08 AM
A/c =accounting.
Big accounting firm prefer A/c degree holder from UM & USM or ACCA or any other professional qualification graduate.
Normally, they will pay overseas graduate better (+100 :cry: ). 1st class degree holder(+100 :cry: ). But, I dont think they will pay lower just bcoz u graduate fr. not so famous university/college.
Since UUM have the most no. of unemployed graduate (tht I read from newspaper).U know la, big firm more choosy....
Price Water House Coopers -1800-2200
KPMG-1700++
Ernst &Young-1900-2100
Kassim Chan Delloitte -1600++
**Medium size accounting firm give about 1400-1600. Small firm 1000++. :( :( For commercial co, it depends on the size of the co. On average (commercial firm), the pay is about 1800.
This info is gathered fr. my seniors, KL have a better pay considering the high living cost.
A/C? NOT GOOD.....at all.....
Face it, actuaries earn more than engineers, accountants, computer people....list goes on.....actuarial rulezzzzzz!!!! And unlike accountants, actuaries don't flaunt our riches (not like accountants have any lar)
*comments are based solely on US salaries....have no idea about malaysia.
Babikia
18-03-2006, 04:56 AM
My neighbour graduate with 1st class (computer Enginering) in UM. His starting pay is RM2800, working in INtel Penang. At INtel,there is an incentive of RM300 for 1st class degree holder.
For A/cing course, the salary range from 1700-2100 (That is the highest range if u work in BIGFOUR ) When I do my industrial training in a small A/C firm in my hometown, a fresh graduate degree holder from New Zealand (University of Messey) work as audit assistant at a pay of 1000. :( :( :( :(
Unbelieveable? Believe it !!!
Now, I have regret for choosing A/c Course, Heavy Wokload ( we have to meet deadline) & little pay!!! :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
Don't know how much they will pay me when I graduate??? Surely not high, hopefully not low. :cry:
Told you A/C suck BIG TIME.
Actuaries rule!!!!!!!!
Babikia
18-03-2006, 05:55 AM
hi..
any graduate in Math here?
i would like to ask whether anyone can give me some salary quotes for a Math graduate in degree?
and would much appreciate is some experienced Math grad can tell me wat kind of company taht a Math grad can work in?...Intel..petronas?....any big company taht is hiring Math Grad instead of landing in merely Education field?
Thank you in advance ya!!!
A math grad becomes an actuary to earn more than enough money.
ohmygod
18-03-2006, 06:28 AM
Face it, actuaries earn more than engineers, accountants, computer people....list goes on.....actuarial rulezzzzzz!!!! And unlike accountants, actuaries don't flaunt our riches (not like accountants have any lar)
*comments are based solely on US salaries....have no idea about malaysia.
Babikia...you study actuarial science??? You plan to work in US after that???
18-03-2006, 07:28 AM
my answer to the title of the thread...
o?...my job will be my passion...
sathyasri
18-03-2006, 03:05 PM
i would like to know which have gud prospects..especially the salary?doctor or pharmacy...do we need to spend long time in medicine.. ne pros here...advance thanks
glamour
18-03-2006, 04:55 PM
i also would like to know about the pharmacy prospect??can we get easily get a job if we take pharmacy??
yuckfou
19-03-2006, 03:03 PM
Agree with 3rd. Averagely RM2200 regardless of whatever degree you are having, of course, technical related certificate will get higher pay but still around RM2200 +/- 10% max. Intel gives RM3200-RM3400? huh... Intel is looking for PhD at this moment... the degree candidates are more than secondary school students... they are paid around RM2200. First or 2nd class... doesn't matter BUT... with working experiences will help you to get another RM100-RM200. Sorry pal, no OT ok??? According to labour law, salary (Basic pay) above RM1545 (if I am not wrong with the figure) is not allowed to have OT hourly. Hence, Intel is paying RM50 per 4-hours as mileage. For Altera, if you are pro (not only good but pro) in VLSI designing... go for Altera, definitely you will get RM3k+.
Anyway, these bunch of salary will be only numbers if you don't get a job. My sister is a graduated MBA but Intel doesn't give a shit... So, if you can't get the desired job, find whatever job that pays you money... at least you are earning something. Even if you are only paid with RM800... Hello... Doctor pon kena makan nasi ok??
-nc-
ahh.... Intel. The world's famous sweat shop. Minimum input (salary) and maximum output (labor). Might as well work in a meat market. Better pay selling meat compared to 10 - 15 hours daily without OT working for your manager who has his manager who has his manager who has his manager to report to. I bet sometimes you don't even know who you're really supposed to report to. Do they still feed those intelers with stock options that's not even worth a dime?? Intel stocks are in the mud. Show me the Money! And what's with that employee evaluation crap??
glamour
20-03-2006, 01:21 AM
hello....i would like to know about the pharmacy prospect? is it 100% garenti we can get job if we take pharmacy??is it pharmacy is like doctor where after study we must work in government hospital for certain year???
MY GOD !!! U guys are whinning with low pays. Well everyone should be passionate in what they are doing. Getting a job is far far better than the jobless ones. So appreciate it. Fresh graduates go out here & gain some valuable experience before comparing how high is your salary.
glamour
21-03-2006, 11:25 PM
hello....i would like to know about the pharmacy prospect? is it 100% garenti we can get job if we take pharmacy??is it pharmacy is like doctor where after study we must work in government hospital for certain year???can i get easily a job as a pharmacist after study????anyone who know this answer please reply..thank you!!
25-03-2006, 10:21 PM
hello....i would like to know about the pharmacy prospect? is it 100% garenti we can get job if we take pharmacy??is it pharmacy is like doctor where after study we must work in government hospital for certain year???can i get easily a job as a pharmacist after study????anyone who know this answer please reply..thank you!!
In this competitive world, there is no such thing as guarantee, right?
You would need to perform at a general desired level. If you do perform, I defnitely don't see any reason why you can't get a good job. For Pharmacy, you would need to do housemanship for a few years too at government hospital.
On whether you can get a job after study, it would depend on how good you are, not only within the subject matter, but in terms of soft skills, communication, networking skills, etc.
Soft skills are crucial for every major.
30-03-2006, 11:28 AM
-nc-
I heard from my Intel friend that Intel is currently on the cost saving mode and expanding their operations in Kulim. Instead of offering a permanent position, Intel offers graduate trainee program which is a 12 months contract job. The basic salary for first degree and master degree ranges in RM2500-2800 and RM3200+ respectively. Graduate trainee will not be entitled to stock option but will be compensated with one time bonus RM3000. The trainee may convert the program into a permanent position after a few months of working, depends on his performance af course and the position availability.
Yes, I do agree that Intel is a world famous sweat shop. You can learn a lot of intel bad stories from www.faceintel.com and http://www.faceintel.com/penang.htm specifically for intel Penang.
Well, I learn from my junior who had his industrial training in Agilent Penang last year that Agilent is a very good workplace. Basic pay is almost the same like Intel but with lesser stress and lesser work politics. But not very long after his training, the whole business unit of semiconductor including the manufacturing and R&D department were sold to Avago, which is a bad news for engineering fresh grads who are interested in Agilent. The management in Avago is not stable yet since Avago later sold some of the departments to Marvel. They are investing company afterall.
zefflodo
28-11-2006, 02:49 AM
hmms....these day production(graduates) are more than demand(jobs) in every type of jobs......too many graduates oledi...sometimes i really headache which course to choose.....i spent 5 months to choose my course....chemical engineering or IT better....anyone?
28-11-2006, 11:23 PM
zefflodo, you have got to be kidding :) More often than not it's the opposite, where the demand for skilled people is high but our skills produced are not thee to meet it.
It's very common to see fresh grad coming into the market un-armed with anything and then feel like the world owes them a living. The fact is you have to start somewhere and gain some experience first, then specialize in an area and make yourself special. Then after a efw years you'll find yourself quite a number of possibilties, of which then you might be fighting with other desire to do yuor own thing/business/volunteer work/seek meaning in life stuff.
As long as you think you'll be happy studying for the course, and you can graduate with some respectable grade, you should be ok, it's just a first degree anyway and I can promise you that it will make very little difference in your first job. Sure it might make somewhat a difference when you're trying to get the job, but by not being too picky and start as early as possible, you'll start acquiring even more skills on the job.
29-11-2006, 04:43 PM
zefflodo, I agree with Jiinjoo. While there are a lot of graduates produced, as Jiinjoo pointed out, many are not ready or rather well-prepared to take on real world jobs. Many are just good at studying and doing assignments.
I have talked to many people who are hiring and they all mentioned a same point. There are many university graduates that they browsed through their resume, of which they only find a portion that is worthy to be interviewed. And often out of those few that they interviewed, none or very few impressed them.
So, it is not what you study. It is more about what you are interested in and more importantly on how you equip yourself. Merely getting high CGPA would not be sufficient.
Athersin
07-06-2009, 07:19 PM
For me, it should be at least RM 3500-RM4000..That is the market price for a pharmacist in government hospital setting.
But, the higher educated you are , the higher salary you will get? Do you really agree? I still see there are some graduates had been paid lesser than RM1800.How come ? Starting salary for a fresh graduatee should be around RM 1600-RM 2000.Then only it is fair. What do u think?