View Full Version : Survey: Anyone applied for Engineering Course(no country stated) under JPA

01-05-2009, 06:31 PM
Hello. I just want to know who are the one who applied for the engineering course in JPA which will send you to English speaking countries. Jz want know why you choose this course and want to know more information about this course.

BTW, I joined it cause language is not my cup of tea so prefer to go places that uses english as the Lingua Franca.

01-05-2009, 06:33 PM
I know Keiko123 did

JenJen
01-05-2009, 06:41 PM
Mayb u should call jpa to ask, it's more accurate that way

01-05-2009, 06:45 PM
Mayb u should call jpa to ask, it's more accurate that way
You must pity those government who has to answer numerous call by many people across the country for trivial matter. so, it is better to discussed among ourselves. Plus, who knows when you call, they were in a bad mood and straight away took your JPA application form away. Who knows.

JenJen
01-05-2009, 06:48 PM
You must pity those government who has to answer numerous call by many people across the country for trivial matter. so, it is better to discussed among ourselves. Plus, who knows when you call, they were in a bad mood and straight away took your JPA application form away. Who knows.

Lol, ya hor~~ ask keiko or other seniors, mayb theyll know

01-05-2009, 06:55 PM
What are the countries can JPA send us to anyway? Since now it the global economic turbulence, hopefully they don't send us somewhere in africa to cut cost.

01-05-2009, 06:58 PM
no lar gov not that bad...general engineering is in uk,us, canada or australia

luminodreamer89
01-05-2009, 07:08 PM
However, there are hearsays that mostly, students who are sponsored under JPA Engineering, will be sent to either Canada or Australia, rather than all the countries stated in the press release.

Can any seniors clarify this?

01-05-2009, 07:20 PM
i guess maybe exchange rate not as high as uk or us...

CabalUchiha
01-05-2009, 10:58 PM
i applied for dat course too. No reason, coz its nice... the language, the culture n the advancement of US, UK, Aus in technology..

Details of tis course is simple, engineering.. wad do u wanna know about tis course ??

i have a fren studyin in intec now n he's goin to US for engineering next year

02-05-2009, 10:55 AM
i applied for dat course too. No reason, coz its nice... the language, the culture n the advancement of US, UK, Aus in technology..

Details of tis course is simple, engineering.. wad do u wanna know about tis course ??

i have a fren studyin in intec now n he's goin to US for engineering next year
Since he went to US, how was the SAT? What is the minimum required in SAT? How long is the bond?

02-05-2009, 02:46 PM
I know Keiko123 did

Wa... Understand me... So touched... *sobsob* Hahahaha... :laugh

Hello. I just want to know who are the one who applied for the engineering course in JPA which will send you to English speaking countries. Jz want know why you choose this course and want to know more information about this course.

BTW, I joined it cause language is not my cup of tea so prefer to go places that uses english as the Lingua Franca.

Me! Me! Me! Hohoho...

For me, not knowing why I applied this course... T.T

For General Engineering, the countries include US, UK, Canada, Australia, New Zealand. For me, any country will do. Hehe...

I cant get your main point actually... =.=
Btw, I'm not expert so I cant answer your question too.

Which specific Engineering you want to study? :huh

YcajGno
02-05-2009, 03:27 PM
I applied for general engineering too. After all it takes time to learn up and master a certain language, lets say German? I've considerred of choosing the German engineering, but then again its like starting all over from scratch for the language. But I do believe some are taught in English as there are a few number of Asians studying in Germany.

Ok, cut the crap hahah. I chose general engineering because I'd like to see how far I can go to stretch across. Be it any countries, I'm sure the quality is rather promising. To be able to meet with new environment and new people, it ought to be wholesome! =)

What do you guys want to major in? As for me, I'm going for mechanical engineering. :)

02-05-2009, 04:07 PM
Since he went to US, how was the SAT? What is the minimum required in SAT? How long is the bond?

Well the SAT's requirement is depends on the universities you wish apply. Schools like M.I.T, Caltech, Carnegie Mellon, Berkeley and Stanford generally demands a solid, high scores. This is due to the high worldwide competition. But be reminded too, SAT is not everything. US universities admission evaluation are very holistic and comprehensive. They stretch beyond academics.

Talking about bond, its should be around 8 to 10 years.

03-05-2009, 08:10 PM
Is there any alternative test besides SAT? A friend of mine said that USA accepts ATC? Does JPA allows us to take ATC?

03-05-2009, 08:15 PM
Is there any alternative test besides SAT? A friend of mine said that USA accepts ATC? Does JPA allows us to take ATC?

Well, why don't shall we wait for the results and the documents? Its worth to discuss then, not now.

And if you're really curious, go ahead to the US application V2 thread.

MaSterZ-TaKinGs
05-05-2009, 01:30 AM
However, there are hearsays that mostly, students who are sponsored under JPA Engineering, will be sent to either Canada or Australia, rather than all the countries stated in the press release.

Can any seniors clarify this?

yup... JPA mostly send us to Aussie @<hidden> Canada...but, most of my frens bound to go to Aussie including me...:P
btw, i'm currently doing AUSMAT @<hidden> KBU International College...pls dun be shy to ask anything...:amuse

05-05-2009, 01:34 AM
In the interview, bond years= no. of years of your course x2

e.g 4 years cours has a 8 year bond

05-05-2009, 01:37 AM
How many years do we have to study Pre-U locally?

05-05-2009, 01:38 AM
1 year if not mistaken. They will ask us to take SAM. Am i right?

05-05-2009, 01:45 AM
Oh.. So what are the colleges that in their list?

MaSterZ-TaKinGs
05-05-2009, 02:01 AM

dat one based on course that u take...
if SAM @<hidden> AUSMAT is 1.5 years...:)

05-05-2009, 02:02 AM
dat one based on course that u take...
if SAM @<hidden> AUSMAT is 1.5 years...:)
why 1.5 years? Normally SAM is one year program.

zane
05-05-2009, 02:07 AM
I am applying engineering under JPA also. Reasons?simply prefer engineering rather than medic..lol. I hope to go to US UK or australia la...haha...just dun send those scholars to those weird countries....hehe.Yeah, in fact I feel that I myself haf no high chance in securing this scholarship. Reasons? competition too strong. Just hope the God will look after me luh...lol

MaSterZ-TaKinGs
05-05-2009, 02:15 AM
Oh.. So what are the colleges that in their list?

i) Taylor?s University College (ICPU, SAM, ADTP)
ii) Kolej Teknologi Timur (A-Level)
iii) INTEC, UiTM (A-level, AUSMAT, ADFP dan Persediaan Timur Tengah, Rusia, Korea, Diploma Jepun & Perancis)
iv) Malaysia France Institute (Persediaan Perancis)
v) Ambang Asuhan Jepun, Universiti Malaya (Jepun)
vi) Institut Bahasa Teikyo (Jepun)
vii) Kolej Damansara Utama (A-Level)
viii) INTI International University College (SAM, AUP, ACTP)
ix) Kolej MARA Banting (IB)
x) Cempaka International School (A-Level)
xi) HELP University College (A-Level)
xii) Pusat Teknologi dan Pengurusan Latihan (A-Level)
xiii) Kolej Yayasan UEM (A-Level)
xiv) University College Sedaya International (A-Level)
xv) Kolej Bandar Utama (AUSMAT)

why 1.5 years? Normally SAM is one year program.

usually 4 the first 6 months, u will be entering the bridging program first...
it's a preparatory program before entering SAM @<hidden> AUSMAT...

I am applying engineering under JPA also. Reasons?simply prefer engineering rather than medic..lol. I hope to go to US UK or australia la...haha...just dun send those scholars to those weird countries....hehe.Yeah, in fact I feel that I myself haf no high chance in securing this scholarship. Reasons? competition too strong. Just hope the God will look after me luh...lol

nah..dun be too humble...u'll get the same chance as others...!!:)

iamnajwa
07-05-2009, 11:24 PM

ur reasons are simply same as mine..cuz people mostly choose either medic or engine generally..but now i juz noe dat we cant do twinning on dis course..so....i might not go if i got dis...cuz my mum cant let me go overseas for long period...so...kena ikut ckp mak..:nod

08-05-2009, 11:31 PM
ur reasons are simply same as mine..cuz people mostly choose either medic or engine generally..but now i juz noe dat we cant do twinning on dis course..so....i might not go if i got dis...cuz my mum cant let me go overseas for long period...so...kena ikut ckp mak..:nod

Lol... You cannot say like that. Anything come to you in future, you have to bear them independently. Period doesn't matter as long as you can gain knowledge. If this time you prefer not to go overseas, perhaps next time you're required to work in foreign country, so how? Reject your boss? :P

Anyway, any decision is in your hand right now. I know everyone has his/her own difficulties. Others can't change your mind somehow. Good luck for your future! :)

Anyone got General Engineering? Reply A.S.A.P

08-05-2009, 11:40 PM
too bad, the guy who started this thread was exiled to france engineering. haiz.

hrixenz
08-05-2009, 11:42 PM
try the official link..still france engineering?

08-05-2009, 11:45 PM
try the official link..still france engineering?
yup, double checked they throw me to france. crap.

08-05-2009, 11:47 PM
boyz_zoo...you upset?

hrixenz
08-05-2009, 11:48 PM
yup, double checked they throw me to france. crap.

lol @<hidden> jpa..anyway congrats,u can remove ur sig now :nod

08-05-2009, 11:58 PM
hahaha. thanks for reminding me that.

09-05-2009, 07:43 AM
Congrats to those who get the scholarships!

In terms of Engineering, most would actually be sent to US, Australia, and some would be to New Zealand and Canada. Hardly any go to UK.

In terms of bond, it would be 6 years.

On preparatory program, one of the ReComers have shared it above. It depends on the program you get.

Good Luck!

KimberleyCT
09-05-2009, 12:14 PM
Hi everyone! I too applied for engineering with JPA. I applied through the overseas application (PILN) but during the interview, I mentioned that I want to study at one of the foreign universities at the Malaysia campus. (Monash/nottingham uni malaysia campus) . The interviewer double checked if I really wanted to study locally and noted it down on her paper when i said yes.

I just checked the status of my application thru esila and it seems that I have got an overseas scholarship. I am very grateful, but would much rather study locally. Anyone knows how I can change it to local?

Another question regarding the bond. I understand that the duration of the bond is the number of years you are sponsored multiplied by 2. Does anyone know which companies JPA engineering scholars are normally bonded to? Thanks! :)

Scrmath
09-05-2009, 04:39 PM
When appro we would gt the letter fr jpa??

Is it after we gt the letter,they would let us to choose go Alvl or SAM all tat???and is all the Pre-U college they giv us is recognised internationally?and SAM generally study wat?is it jus like stpm or A lvl?

Sry i noe i ask a lot...but thx a lot if willing to help!

iamnajwa
09-05-2009, 05:16 PM
anyone pliz answer dis..i got jpa enginering but they say they will send me to ipts...so im planning to do twinning..is it based on jpa or the uni i'll be send which can or cant allow me to do twinning?

Lol... You cannot say like that. Anything come to you in future, you have to bear them independently. Period doesn't matter as long as you can gain knowledge. If this time you prefer not to go overseas, perhaps next time you're required to work in foreign country, so how? Reject your boss? :P

Anyway, any decision is in your hand right now. I know everyone has his/her own difficulties. Others can't change your mind somehow. Good luck for your future! :)

Anyone got General Engineering? Reply A.S.A.P

well..i agree wif u..but u noe..when i talk bout dis face to face wif them i juz cant stand my reasons anymore..i really understand y they dun want me to study abroad...they had their personal experience when my brother studied in japan 3 years ago..they really2 miss him..which cant be described in words..its too abstract..so..its really my sacrification 2 let go dis opportunity..huwaa..anyway, i got utp too..so juz move on to utp..dis is a hard decision but im satisfied wif it..wish me luck yaa!!

pureint91
09-05-2009, 10:01 PM
Anyone gt overseas general engineering here?

VioPipe
09-05-2009, 10:20 PM
my friend got engineering for USA, PILN 2009, will fly to usa this june. by 13rd. jpa called her last wednesday. tomorrow, she'll join Tatanegara [ something like that] tll 18may.
weird ah? she got uni of Tantaville [spelling error, maybe]. she had talked to prof of that uni, Prof John.
~direct fly to Usa~

pureint91
09-05-2009, 10:22 PM
Yup, tat 1 is special offer, gratz to her

jimosama
09-05-2009, 11:50 PM
wow wow..hw can some scholars directly fly to the US? i mean, i have an aquaintance who directly flew to US and he got 8A1 in spm. ohh..he applied engine. :nuts

isnt that cool :amuse

10-05-2009, 10:31 PM
wow wow..hw can some scholars directly fly to the US? i mean, i have an aquaintance who directly flew to US and he got 8A1 in spm. ohh..he applied engine. :nuts

isnt that cool :amuse

Cool is cool. But the only feedback , they don't get to enter Ivy League or Top University like stanford etc...

10-05-2009, 10:38 PM
my friend got engineering for USA, PILN 2009, will fly to usa this june. by 13rd. jpa called her last wednesday. tomorrow, she'll join Tatanegara [ something like that] tll 18may.
weird ah? she got uni of Tantaville [spelling error, maybe]. she had talked to prof of that uni, Prof John.
~direct fly to Usa~

not tantaville i guess......
maybe vandebilt university in nashville,tennessee....

anyway,about the bond.....
my sis didnt work for the goverment.instead she work with private company here in KL.
i asked my dad and my dad said my sis got pelepasan....
what's that???

MaSterZ-TaKinGs
10-05-2009, 11:14 PM
When appro we would gt the letter fr jpa??

Is it after we gt the letter,they would let us to choose go Alvl or SAM all tat???and is all the Pre-U college they giv us is recognised internationally?and SAM generally study wat?is it jus like stpm or A lvl?

Sry i noe i ask a lot...but thx a lot if willing to help!

u'll get the offer letter around 2 weeks after the result(approximation based on lst year)..

JPA will choose wat r u going to take either alvl,SAM,ICPU, etc...
SAM is generally like matrix but not 100% the same...

jimosama
11-05-2009, 12:06 AM
what is the difference between aerospace engineering and aeronautical engineering?
in terms of jobs prospect..

Cool is cool. But the only feedback , they don't get to enter Ivy League or Top University like stanford etc...

what are the example of ivy league universities that offer engineering courses? i mean, i checked on a website and it seems like cornell, brown, yale doesnt offer engineering..

correct me if im wrong..:amuse

pureint91
11-05-2009, 05:03 PM
Congrats to those who get the scholarships!

In terms of Engineering, most would actually be sent to US, Australia, and some would be to New Zealand and Canada. Hardly any go to UK.

In terms of bond, it would be 6 years.

On preparatory program, one of the ReComers have shared it above. It depends on the program you get.

Good Luck!
Can u tell us which country is best for engineering?

gman
11-05-2009, 06:10 PM
what are the example of ivy league universities that offer engineering courses? i mean, i checked on a website and it seems like cornell, brown, yale doesnt offer engineering..

correct me if im wrong..:amuse

all ivy league universities offer engineering.

by the way, there are quite a number of students that are sent to the US for engineering as well. the duration of their preparatory course in malaysia will be either a year or two, depending on a few factors.

the bond for the engineering students, as of last year, is 6 years. i am not too sure if they are changing it this year.

Scrmath
13-05-2009, 01:19 PM
Anyone gt overseas general engineering here?

Wad is general engineering actually?we suppose no nid to choose wad kind of eng nw rite?

Do anyone hav website that has details on Ivy league?i am so blurred in foreign uni cuz i never tot of going overseas..

13-05-2009, 01:45 PM
Wad is general engineering actually?we suppose no nid to choose wad kind of eng nw rite?

Do anyone hav website that has details on Ivy league?i am so blurred in foreign uni cuz i never tot of going overseas..

General engineering is nothing actually. It's just that you guys haven't declare the major yet and being under JPA, you got the freedom to choose between E&E, chemical, mechanical - I suppose.

I strongly pledge you guys go do some read up on internet. It's ridiculous asking if anyone has website that has details on Ivy League.

Just google for MIT, Caltech, Yale, Princeton, Carnegie Mellon, Berkeley, Standford .

And i would suggest to read US Uni Application, in pre-u forum in RECOM.

Scrmath
14-05-2009, 01:13 PM
General engineering is nothing actually. It's just that you guys haven't declare the major yet and being under JPA, you got the freedom to choose between E&E, chemical, mechanical - I suppose.

I strongly pledge you guys go do some read up on internet. It's ridiculous asking if anyone has website that has details on Ivy League.

Just google for MIT, Caltech, Yale, Princeton, Carnegie Mellon, Berkeley, Standford .

And i would suggest to read US Uni Application, in pre-u forum in RECOM.

Ok thx..cuz i tot is some kind of eng so a bit worried..thx ya:))

ZZZ345
14-05-2009, 06:17 PM
not tantaville i guess......
maybe vandebilt university in nashville,tennessee....

anyway,about the bond.....
my sis didnt work for the goverment.instead she work with private company here in KL.
i asked my dad and my dad said my sis got pelepasan....
what's that???
Your sister was really lucky.

When the scholars graduate and come back, JPA will assign a job for them working with the government. But if JPA couldn't find a job for their graduates within 6 months or so......they release them from the bond, thus 'pelepasan'.

Usually some of the graduates from non-critical courses may be released by JPA. But medicine, dentistry and pharmacy almost impossible to run away from JPA.

pureint91
17-05-2009, 12:47 PM
Can everyone who applied for jpa engineering state their details as following:
SPM result:
Hometown:
PILN Result: Successful/Unsuccessful
Other offers:
I noe it is a bit late but i hope eveyone is willing to share his or her application result~

I will start with mine 1st
SPM Result: 12A1s
Hometown: Kuantan, Pahang
PILN Result: Successful
Other Offers: IPTA, Matriks
Co curricular achievement: 86.5%
Family Backgroud: Mom tch, dad bank officer

Scrmath
18-05-2009, 03:19 PM
SPM Result: 10a1 1a2
Hometown: jb(hometown is nt where yr grandmother live rite?although it supposed be..)
PILN Result: Successful
Other Offers: IPTA, Matriks
Co curricular achievement: 7.8 for cgpa

19-05-2009, 05:36 PM
Now that there are separate engineering threads for each and every kind of institution, this thread will be closed to keep the JPA section clean and tidy. Please post your enquiried in the relevant threads. General questions about JPA enginnering can be posted to the Engineering Q&A (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=8242) thread.

seehua