View Full Version : I want to know more about STPM
Casperloo
01-05-2009, 10:41 PM
Okay, this thread is to help those want to take STPM this year. So, please recommend any book that you feel is great for STPM and state the reason. Your help is appreciated.~
markwongsk
01-05-2009, 11:21 PM
I have finished my SPM last year, and intend to do STPM if and only if no scholarship. So, I want to take Bio-stream with Further Math T, Any of you know any school in Penang offers this subject?
Btw, Can someone recommend books for PA,Bio,Che,Math T and Further Math T for STPM level? I have take a look at Popular, and found out Longman seem good....but hope to know any feedback of other great books.
If no school in Penang offers Further Math, do you guys think take triple-science is advisable?
And, any good tuition center in Penang for STPM? As far I only heard of Tanjung.
Longman has errors which hopefully your teacher can point out, but shouldn't be an exhaustive reference book. There are other books with further information which you should read upon completion of Longman (which means ASAP)
Normally people have Phys + Chem + FM or Triple Science. So I think you may want to reconsider your subjects... because for uni, nobody's gonna see Bio + FM but people may want Physics + FM. Bio + Physics is to increase your course selection whereas Physics + FM is to increase your competency in a course (esp for UK)
winter_cool
02-05-2009, 01:31 AM
Any advice? Which books to choose? Cuz we really dont want to waste precious time and $$$ to search for the good books...:P
lawteoh
02-05-2009, 01:51 AM
I have finished my SPM last year, and intend to do STPM if and only if no scholarship. So, I want to take Bio-stream with Further Math T, Any of you know any school in Penang offers this subject?
Btw, Can someone recommend books for PA,Bio,Che,Math T and Further Math T for STPM level? I have take a look at Popular, and found out Longman seem good....but hope to know any feedback of other great books.
If no school in Penang offers Further Math, do you guys think take triple-science is advisable?
And, any good tuition center in Penang for STPM? As far I only heard of Tanjung.
Yes, advisable if you can cope with the stress level. =)
Another point is.. I think NUS looks more at the number of subjects which u take.. So, higher chance to get admitted into competitive courses like pharmacy. =)
Casperloo
02-05-2009, 02:23 PM
Yes, advisable if you can cope with the stress level. =)
Another point is.. I think NUS looks more at the number of subjects which u take.. So, higher chance to get admitted into competitive courses like pharmacy. =)
How you know I want to take pharmacy :huh
Any advice? Which books to choose? Cuz we really dont want to waste precious time and $$$ to search for the good books...:P
Yes, that's my intention to open this thread..... Please all people Emphasize on Recommending books in this thread.
lawteoh
02-05-2009, 02:40 PM
casperloo: err.. seriously, u r taking pharmacy? lolz.. im talking in general la.. =)
JenJen
02-05-2009, 04:48 PM
How you know I want to take pharmacy :huh
Yes, that's my intention to open this thread..... Please all people Emphasize on Recommending books in this thread.
I do not really recommend longman, since the book is lacking of vital information. (Serious waste of cash since i bought physics longman, the examples and exercises given are too less, the information is not clear, totally regretting buying this book)
Popular in Ipoh only has longman STPM books, never seen pelangi...
sugan
03-05-2009, 02:22 PM
i saw a titled physics at mph from Mggraw hills and another two books titled 'chemistry ' and 'college physics' ( black cover)
is it any good to stpm student?
Web shows (http://livesexwebshows.com/)
nicodemus
03-05-2009, 03:30 PM
McGraw Hill? I think those are more suit for A-levels altough STPM students can use them too...
Emm... Recommended books by me are as below
(format of subject: publisher, writer)
Chemistry: Fajar Bakti, Tan Yin Toon
Maths: Fajar Bakti, Lye Min Soon
Physics: Not sure, I didn't take this subject
PA: I forgot
Bio: Longman (Pelangi does not follow the syllabus much)
Anyway, for those staying in Perak, Penang or Sungai Petani, Kedah... Bio book are not necessary as you have an excellent tuition teacher named Mr Khor. His notes are all you need for STPM Bio.. =D
03-05-2009, 03:40 PM
Anyone has Physics, Chemistry & Mathematics's notes in soft copy or knows a web that has it?
hi. I am going to enroll myself in form 6 very soon. I have face a big problem here. I want to study law after that but i was a science stream student. So is that a neccessary for me to switch to acc stream? however, if I fail to get 4.0 in acc stream I will fail to realise my dream and then after that I dont know what i want to study. Understand what i mean? I mean the only reason make me change to acc stream is just to make my chance in study law higher and I have no choice after that. Should I take the risk?
Anyone here is now pursuing law in uni? Are you come from science stream?
winter_cool
03-05-2009, 08:32 PM
Yes, that's my intention to open this thread..... Please all people Emphasize on Recommending books in this thread.[/quote]
hmm...i think the title should be edited as it's quite general...:)
choogirl
03-05-2009, 08:56 PM
Bio: I used my teachers' notes completely. But I think that longman is suitable. Unless you can memorise the detailed facts in fajar bakti (trust me, you won't wanna try for bio)
Chem: Tan Yin Toon for physical is very good. But there are a few errors in the Phase Equilibrium chapter. For organic, still Tan Yin Toon (but I used my tuition notes). For inorganic, it's Longman (I used my tuition notes too)
Phy: I recommend Fundamental of Physics by Halliday & Resnick. It's a university book. Buy it at the cheapest price in Sunway University College. Some STPM questions were even nick from there! If you can't find this book, buy Longman + Fajar Bakti. Fajar Bakti is very very good but must be read after a simpler version of physics notes like Longman. I used Fundamental of Physics and Fajar Bakti's.
PA: Fajar bakti. The one where they combined paper 1 and paper 2. PLUS PLUS PLUS (VERY CRUCIAL) past year papers of PA. All subjects also better buy past years papers but PA is a MUST!!!!
Math: I used Pelangi for both Math 1 and 2. It was sufficient for me.
sugan
03-05-2009, 10:16 PM
choogirl,you said you suggested oxford fajar bakti, for physical and organic chemistry, but why you did not suggest fajar bakti instead longman for inorganic chemistry?
HottiestBABE4Cock (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/HottiestBABE4Cock)
choogirl
03-05-2009, 10:22 PM
They used to have fajar bakti for inorgnic but it's not available now. Or at least I don't see it.
holy_spring
04-05-2009, 12:08 PM
blurred here~~
is ther separation between organic and inorganic in chemistry..??
i meant the separation of book...
as choogirl mention before~~
please kindly enlighten me
SjPark
04-05-2009, 12:34 PM
blurred here~~
is ther separation between organic and inorganic in chemistry..??
i meant the separation of book...
as choogirl mention before~~
please kindly enlighten me
yup...separated...which means 3 books for chemis...
Eurytos
04-05-2009, 01:09 PM
Bio: I used my teachers' notes completely. But I think that longman is suitable. Unless you can memorise the detailed facts in fajar bakti (trust me, you won't wanna try for bio)
Chem: Tan Yin Toon for physical is very good. But there are a few errors in the Phase Equilibrium chapter. For organic, still Tan Yin Toon (but I used my tuition notes). For inorganic, it's Longman (I used my tuition notes too)
Phy: I recommend Fundamental of Physics by Halliday & Resnick. It's a university book. Buy it at the cheapest price in Sunway University College. Some STPM questions were even nick from there! If you can't find this book, buy Longman + Fajar Bakti. Fajar Bakti is very very good but must be read after a simpler version of physics notes like Longman. I used Fundamental of Physics and Fajar Bakti's.
PA: Fajar bakti. The one where they combined paper 1 and paper 2. PLUS PLUS PLUS (VERY CRUCIAL) past year papers of PA. All subjects also better buy past years papers but PA is a MUST!!!!
Physics : Fundamental of Physics by Halliday & Resnick is a good book, but I used Giancoli's Physics For Scientist & Engineers because it had more equations involving calculus and less words : ) To score in STPM Fajar Bakti would be more than sufficient with proofs to all sorts of theorems ( albeit without much use of calculus ). Also doing exercises is very important try searching the market for a physics exercise book ( forgot the publisher ) that has complete solutions even for MCQ questions.
Math : I also used Pelangi, but because you might want to try some exercise books too.
Chem : Longman for all 3 sections of chemistry. Though many ppl prefer the more detailed version by Tan Yin Toon, i still stuck with the Longman version ( Which probably explains why i got an A- for chem ) coupled with exercise books for chemistry from virtually every publisher.
P.A. : Paper 1 would be best studied with Fajar Bakti's Revision Book. For Paper 2, buying any book is like buying lottery I don't see the difference of having a book or not.
F.M. : Refer to Further Maths 2009 thread. Lots of examples there.
eddielau
04-05-2009, 01:18 PM
can an stpm candidate take bio , chem and phy?
3 sciences...
choogirl
04-05-2009, 01:33 PM
The MCQ question Eurytoes mentioned is Longman green book I think? That's quite good too if you need extra exercises. I prefer Fundamental of Physics because the way it explains it is so interesting that it seems like a storybook. I have not seen the book Eurytoes mentioned though.
can an stpm candidate take bio , chem and phy?
3 sciences...
Of course! I took all three. Maximum 5 subject. You can take it even if your school doesnt offer it (unless your school objects)
sugan
04-05-2009, 02:09 PM
what is MCQ? when should i take letter from old school?
married woman Cam (http://www.girlcamfriend.com/webcam/housewives/)
nicodemus
04-05-2009, 03:34 PM
hi. I am going to enroll myself in form 6 very soon. I have face a big problem here. I want to study law after that but i was a science stream student. So is that a neccessary for me to switch to acc stream? however, if I fail to get 4.0 in acc stream I will fail to realise my dream and then after that I dont know what i want to study. Understand what i mean? I mean the only reason make me change to acc stream is just to make my chance in study law higher and I have no choice after that. Should I take the risk?
Anyone here is now pursuing law in uni? Are you come from science stream?
Hey YEE, i suggest you could just go with Science stream. No harm done changing to accounts stream.
I have a friend who did science stream too, and now he's studying law at MMU. =D
MCQ means multiple choice question. That's your normal objective questions. ;-)
I'm not sure but I think you can start taking the letters now. Go back to your school and ask at he office. They'll know...
sugan
04-05-2009, 03:50 PM
but 11/ 5 is getting near
LIVE SEX WEBSHOWS (http://livesexwebshows.com/)
[quote=nicodemus;232860]Hey YEE, i suggest you could just go with Science stream. No harm done changing to accounts stream.
I have a friend who did science stream too, and now he's studying law at MMU. =D
Thanks for telling me that. But may I know why your friend choose to study in private instead of public uni after 2 years of hardwork in form 6?Is it because he/she cant get course he want(law) offered by the government?
lawteoh
04-05-2009, 09:26 PM
what is MCQ? when should i take letter from old school?
MCQ is basically a book with questions and sample answers, and yeah, the questions helps a lot.. normally, my teacher would just pick some questions from that book and modify it..
I think u could get it at any bookstores, cause the demand is quite high..
sugan
04-05-2009, 11:36 PM
which publisher offers the best MCQ books ? i saw abook titled 'physical chemistry', oxford fajar bakti(i think is blue in colour), rm 98.00 isit anygood for stpm?
Live Sex (http://livesexwebshows.com/)
lawteoh
05-05-2009, 12:21 PM
The only MCQ books available is from Longman.. Just buy it.. hmm.. but oxford fajar bakti should be okay geh.. i din use that reference book last time.. actually, any reference books would be okay.. if u want a lot of details, go for tan yin toon.. =)
sugan
05-05-2009, 12:25 PM
how about the bookthat i stated before in my post
Firegirl (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/firegirl)
choogirl
05-05-2009, 12:38 PM
Sugan, are you sure there's such a book? Maybe it's for pre-uni or A-level? I have not seen such a book before.
PS: Reminder to all, don't buy books for pre-u / a-levels. Buy those that says FOR STPM. Others aren't sufficient for STPM
sugan
05-05-2009, 01:16 PM
ok i, will go to mph and check back
Claudine cam (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/Claudine)
holy_spring
05-05-2009, 01:28 PM
Of course! I took all three. Maximum 5 subject. You can take it even if your school doesnt offer it (unless your school objects)[/quote]
hehe~
i also planned to take triple science~~
here are some of my question about triple science~
hope you can enlighten me here~
thanks first lo~~!
1. if i take triple science, i will study in my school for all subject or just like spm, we need to take another tutor for my extra subject~
2. how is your result a??~hehe~mind to share here?
3. how you study a?? haha~ i heard from other recomers said that is tought to take triple science since 4 subjects for us is much more than enough and burden~~
choogirl
05-05-2009, 07:58 PM
Of course! I took all three. Maximum 5 subject. You can take it even if your school doesnt offer it (unless your school objects)
hehe~
i also planned to take triple science~~
here are some of my question about triple science~
hope you can enlighten me here~
thanks first lo~~!
1. if i take triple science, i will study in my school for all subject or just like spm, we need to take another tutor for my extra subject~
2. how is your result a??~hehe~mind to share here?
3. how you study a?? haha~ i heard from other recomers said that is tought to take triple science since 4 subjects for us is much more than enough and burden~~
1. Depends whether you school offers anot. My school had a class for five subjects, so it was like spm. Since we have five subjects while others have four, we had to stay back, so that our pace with other classes will be the same. Our periods for EACH subject is also less. If your school doesn't offer, you can take it as an extra subject either as a public or private student. If your school is willing to help you, then you can stay back to do all the experiments. If not, you have to take a paper 4. A theory paper about experiments (like spm paper 3). Doing the experiments is much easier than doing the theory paper though.
2. I got 5A
3. Hmm.. Depends on individual. For me, being consistent and planning a schedule for studying is important. Remember, you also hafta juggle between studies and koko. For more info, I think you can refer to other thread because I remember there's one about this. Don't forget, it's not about studying hard. It's studying smart
sugan
05-05-2009, 08:16 PM
i saw a book at stpm section inpopular title "physical chemistryfor stpm" by kho, with THOMSON as publisher,. is it better and deeper than oxford fajar ?
Roll a joint (http://howtorollajoint.net/)
choogirl
05-05-2009, 09:01 PM
Nope. It isn't a good brand. If I'm not mistaken, that book is the one with nice smooth pages right? Another reason why it's not good coz you can't write quick notes on them using a pencil
SjPark
05-05-2009, 11:28 PM
smooth paper reflects light..ur eyes ll be uncomfortable reading it for long time...its not gud for ur eyes...anyway...tis is jz another factor bsides the content of the book..
holy_spring
06-05-2009, 12:01 AM
choogirl~
thanks for your enlightened~
er~
i really hope i can get the scholarship i applied~!
06-05-2009, 01:40 AM
which the best publisher for physics?
LilyH (http://www.girlcamfriend.com/cam/LilyH/)
Eurytos
06-05-2009, 07:45 AM
which the best publisher for physics?
We just discussed this topic a couple of pages ago, please take the time to finish the thread at least before posting here.
libraaa
06-05-2009, 09:50 AM
hi. i would like to know what are the compulsory subjects for a science student to take...
06-05-2009, 09:52 AM
hi. i would like to know what are the compulsory subjects for a science student to take...
Chemistry, Mathematics and you can choose either Physics or Biology.
Subjects like MUET and Pengajian Am is compulsory for all form 6 student.
libraaa
06-05-2009, 09:56 AM
Chemistry, Mathematics and you can choose either Physics or Biology.
Subjects like MUET and Pengajian Am is compulsory for all form 6 student.
So the minimum number of subject to take is 5? I mean for science stream.
06-05-2009, 09:58 AM
in STPM, minimum subject to take that is included in your GCPA is 4 and maximum is 5. MUET is not considered to be in your GCPA as it will placed at the below of your STPM certificate stating what band did you get.
libraaa
06-05-2009, 10:04 AM
in STPM, minimum subject to take that is included in your GCPA is 4 and maximum is 5. MUET is not considered to be in your GCPA as it will placed at the below of your STPM certificate stating what band did you get.
I see, thanks!:)
btw i read the previous post and only to find out that there are THREE books of chemistry?!!my goshhh......
hmm really really hope i can get jpa hehe
choogirl
06-05-2009, 11:06 AM
Just to add what boyz_zoo have mentioned earlier, art stream also can take 5 subjects. five is the maximum, including PA but not Muet.
nicodemus
06-05-2009, 12:07 PM
[quote=nicodemus;232860]Hey YEE, i suggest you could just go with Science stream. No harm done changing to accounts stream.
Thanks for telling me that. But may I know why your friend choose to study in private instead of public uni after 2 years of hardwork in form 6?Is it because he/she cant get course he want(law) offered by the government?
Emm... Ya, he didn't get offer for law at any public universities. That's why he opt for private university. But, he's very happy there now I heard.. =D
eddielau
06-05-2009, 10:02 PM
sorry...i hv a question too...
r there many scholarships for stpm leavers?for local and oversea.
Is it hard to get the scholarships for stpm leaver?
i heard that many 4A candidates oso din get scholarship...
Is it true?or juz joke from my frenZ?
im really scared now...
I hv to do a decision between matrik and stpm...
anyone can tell me about the scholarships?
06-05-2009, 10:07 PM
im really scared now...
Well, most of the scholarship is for undergraduates. Thus, it is actually for both matrik and STPM students. However, some scholarship is more to form 6 especially the overseas wan but the overseas scholarship for form is very little.
Yes, many 4A didn't get cause there is many scholarship but the amount of candidate getting is lower. Furthermore, most of the scholarship requires you to already gain an entry to public or pivate university. So, if your family is not well to do, and went to STPM but didn't get entry to local u, you can qualify for that scholarship.
choogirl
06-05-2009, 10:24 PM
im really scared now...
If you are scared that 4A in stpm cannot get scholarship, you should even be more scared that matriks cannot get scholarship -.-
With matriks, you can only study locally even with a scholarship. You can't apply for overseas scholarship
06-05-2009, 10:26 PM
If you are scared that 4A in stpm cannot get scholarship, you should even be more scared that matriks cannot get scholarship -.-
With matriks, you can only study locally even with a scholarship. You can't apply for overseas scholarship
You still can apply but it is very low and your choice of country is very limited. Basically depends on where you want to do your degree, local or overseas?
choogirl
06-05-2009, 10:53 PM
which overseas uni accept matriks?
bubblezlott3
06-05-2009, 10:57 PM
well, for those who are interested in arts streams books especially econs, PP and accounting. Feel free to throw me any questions (PM easier la. I don't track most threads) Always willing to help (:
Johnivan
08-05-2009, 04:10 PM
I think my comments will be different from nicodemus...
If i were you, i would change to arts stream, and take sejarah. Firstly, if you want to score in art stream, it would be far much easier compared to studying in science stream. 2ndly, i think if you don't do well in science stream (which is undeniably far much harder than arts stream...), you will end up even worse. HOWEVER, if you studied arts, and all a sudden change your mind to do a science related subject, then you have nowhere to go. I hope you will plan well before you choose the correct stream, because you will regret if you are in the wrong track...
anbbly
11-05-2009, 08:41 PM
which overseas uni accept matriks?
there r some overseas uni do accept matriks~
but depend on wat course r u taking..
as i noe..university of adelaide is one them..
go n search for d uni tat u interest for their entry requirements..:nod
lordfoong
13-05-2009, 10:09 PM
tat bolded words, tat book cn oni be bought frm sunway college?
btw, chem gt 3 which is physical chem, organic chem n inorganic chem rite? hmm..hw come i saw 1 longman book which is oni written chemistry? it means physical chem? :confused:
choogirl
13-05-2009, 11:14 PM
tat bolded words, tat book cn oni be bought frm sunway college?
btw, chem gt 3 which is physical chem, organic chem n inorganic chem rite? hmm..hw come i saw 1 longman book which is oni written chemistry? it means physical chem? :confused:
Nope. Buy elsewhere is about 100+. Maybe you can try checking it out in your school's library first. That longman you saw might be the one that concludes for the whole chem thing (some books are like that). Don't buy that btw. It's not sufficient
lordfoong
15-05-2009, 12:31 AM
Nope. Buy elsewhere is about 100+. Maybe you can try checking it out in your school's library first. That longman you saw might be the one that concludes for the whole chem thing (some books are like that). Don't buy that btw. It's not sufficient
ic...then hw much is it if i buy it frm sunway?
erm guys, im aimin to enter NUS/NTU, wanted to pursue engineering thr. i'll nid maths T or further maths or both to enter thr?? its better to take maths T or further maths? n wats the diff btween maths T n Further maths? i heard further maths is much much tougher....>< tell me bout it plz...
lawteoh
15-05-2009, 01:24 PM
erm guys, im aimin to enter NUS/NTU, wanted to pursue engineering thr. i'll nid maths T or further maths or both to enter thr?? its better to take maths T or further maths? n wats the diff btween maths T n Further maths? i heard further maths is much much tougher....>< tell me bout it plz...
You will only need Maths T, but if u take Further Maths, it will be extra knowledge, which will help u more later. Well, I got a course in NTU with Maths T. So, I guess Further Maths is not really necessary. However, if you love challenges, go for Further Maths.
lordfoong
18-05-2009, 07:25 AM
those who got cgpa 4.0, could u tell me ur secrets/ways plz?
choogirl
18-05-2009, 02:20 PM
70 bucks or so. If you don't stay in KL area, then you can borrow the book from library as well.
You don't need further math to do engineering. I don't quite agree to take further math because resources are getting more limited. LOL. But I'll let the other recommers who took further math to have their say. I didnt take this subject
those who got cgpa 4.0, could u tell me ur secrets/ways plz?
There's another thread about this already. Look for your answers there.
lordfoong
20-05-2009, 04:24 PM
erm, choogirl or any1 could you plz tell me which subject is quite crucial to go for tuition?
i thk chem is quite crucial to go tuition rite? hw bout physics, math T and PA? well, im quite gud in physics when im in Form5, dunno if its the same thing happen in F6..:notrust dunno whether to go for physics tuition onot..
math T n PA...is it important to go tuition for them?
20-05-2009, 04:27 PM
Hmm I have a junior who did well in STPM even without tuition
fran28
20-05-2009, 05:41 PM
wow...thats great
btw,i'm buying ace ahead by oxford for maths t(1&2), bio(1&2) and chem(1&2)
are the books good enuf?
for pa..i;m using ilmu bakti
choogirl
20-05-2009, 06:10 PM
erm, choogirl or any1 could you plz tell me which subject is quite crucial to go for tuition?
i thk chem is quite crucial to go tuition rite? hw bout physics, math T and PA? well, im quite gud in physics when im in Form5, dunno if its the same thing happen in F6..:notrust dunno whether to go for physics tuition onot..
math T n PA...is it important to go tuition for them?
Tuition is not crucial. Only go for tuitions if you are weak in that particular subject or your school teacher isn't good enough. The travelling time + tuition time are simply not worth it if you are just going for the sake of tuition
lordfoong
20-05-2009, 11:58 PM
Tuition is not crucial. Only go for tuitions if you are weak in that particular subject or your school teacher isn't good enough. The travelling time + tuition time are simply not worth it if you are just going for the sake of tuition
i guess ill go tuition for my pa n chem...as my memory is nt gud...:cry
choogirl, mind to tell y did u use fundamental of physics since already havin oxford fajar?
mind to tell which books retailer to get it? any1?
im livin in penang...cnt go kl to get it..:(
btw, i jz bought oxford fajar for chem, its oni vol1&2, dun hav physical, organic & inorganic chem..so i wonder if its ok? safe to use? any1 bought it?
choogirl
21-05-2009, 11:02 AM
Because oxford fajar is very complicated if you first read it. I needed to read something that's easy to understand first before reading the more complicated one (fajar).
Try checking out your school library or any library first? If really cannot, then you can settle for Longman too. Last alternative.
I mentioned that earlier in this thread. Don't buy that book. It's not sufficient.
anbbly
21-05-2009, 08:26 PM
Because oxford fajar is very complicated if you first read it. I needed to read something that's easy to understand first before reading the more complicated one (fajar).
Try checking out your school library or any library first? If really cannot, then you can settle for Longman too. Last alternative.
I mentioned that earlier in this thread. Don't buy that book. It's not sufficient.
our library is temporary closed now..(exam weeks)so i cant gt fundamental of physics..i m currently borrowing some books fr my senior..federal study aid(physics vol 1 & 2)..r d books ok?
but tis year our teacher is using tat books for teaching..TYT is one of d writter rite?y is it nt sufficient?it is nt a combined book,it has vol.1 n 2..including all subtopics in physical,organic n inorganic chemistry..i had bought tat book too..as i cant find d seperate one on d market now..:(
lordfoong
21-05-2009, 08:42 PM
hmm...y would i nid to go check out the library since im goin to use it all the time througout my f6? u mean borrow frm the library?? *confuse*
huh? tat book nt sufficient? i thought ur post earlier u recommend oxford fajar?
choogirl
21-05-2009, 11:51 PM
our library is temporary closed now..(exam weeks)so i cant gt fundamental of physics..i m currently borrowing some books fr my senior..federal study aid(physics vol 1 & 2)..r d books ok?
but tis year our teacher is using tat books for teaching..TYT is one of d writter rite?y is it nt sufficient?it is nt a combined book,it has vol.1 n 2..including all subtopics in physical,organic n inorganic chemistry..i had bought tat book too..as i cant find d seperate one on d market now..:(
I have never used Federal study aid before. So I'm not sure. Yeap, but it's recommended to use the separate books titled Physical and Organic. Hmm.. Maybe they are re-publishing the books? I have no idea why it's not on the market. Perhaps the last resort is to buy them from your seniors
hmm...y would i nid to go check out the library since im goin to use it all the time througout my f6? u mean borrow frm the library?? *confuse*
huh? tat book nt sufficient? i thought ur post earlier u recommend oxford fajar?
Yeap, I mean borrow the book from the library if you can't find the book anywhere else.
There's two kinds of oxford fajar books. First one separates Chem into Physical, Organic and Inorganic (Inorganic is quite likely not in the market anymore. Use Longman for this one). Second one combines all three into a book but anbbly said that they have splited the combined book into vol 1 and 2.
lordfoong
22-05-2009, 01:08 AM
I have never used Federal study aid before. So
Yeap, I mean borrow the book from the library if you can't find the book anywhere else.
There's two kinds of oxford fajar books. First one separates Chem into Physical, Organic and Inorganic (Inorganic is quite likely not in the market anymore. Use Longman for this one). Second one combines all three into a book but anbbly said that they have splited the combined book into vol 1 and 2.
oh ok!
so which 1 is recommended? separated or combined? or they r of the same content? i got the combined 1 in vol1&2..
btw, thx choogirl!
fran28
23-05-2009, 10:42 AM
like lordfoong,am gonna buy chem,bio(both oxford fajar)
the chem book i'm buying will be in vol1 &2 which means they are not separated into phy,organic or inorganic but rather a combination
so do they still provide the same info?
choogirl
23-05-2009, 09:56 PM
I'm not sure what's the combined one looks like but the one during my year was not insufficient. It was also not recommended to buy that. I bought the separate one.
I strongly stress that, my year was like that. I'm not sure if Oxford Fajar has republished the books/reorganise notes or all that/abolish the separate ones and combine them.
holy_spring
24-05-2009, 12:28 PM
but my teacher (bio)
recomended us the oxfard fajar one~
she call us dont buy longman~
because it din follow the MPM one~
is it true??
fran28
24-05-2009, 05:01 PM
i dont think there is a separated ones this year..cant find any
but i made a comparison between longman(separated phy,org and inorg)which the syllabus about 5 years ago and oxford fajar vol1 & 2...i think they're pretty much the same
btw,do u notice that the book by longman are more attractive in glossy paper and colorful images than the oxford fajar ones?