View Full Version : Discussion: Quantity Survey Course for jpa 2009

jacky512256
06-05-2009, 03:08 PM
I would like to know is there anyone who apply for quantity survey course for jpa scholarship 2009... Tis course is not as popular as i think coz few student tat i heard of applying tis course....

07-05-2009, 02:04 PM
I know dreamer1210 did only.

aune
07-05-2009, 02:14 PM
let us hope that the ones who apply non-critical courses such as q.surveying will be considered fairly.

jacky512256
07-05-2009, 11:13 PM
yea, i hope so... tomolo 3pm gonna noe the real result...juz pray and leave everything to GOD...

bLaCk_PeArL
09-05-2009, 12:07 PM
I applied for qs and I got the scholarship. LOL. yeah, I agree its not as popular course as others.

dreamer1210
10-05-2009, 12:59 AM
ya, i applied for QS in the jpa scholarship and thank god i got it. =) and i agree that QS is not really a popular course here.

I know dreamer1210 did only.
:offtopiccongrats for getting jpa too! :P

10-05-2009, 01:00 AM
ya, i applied for QS in the jpa scholarship and thank god i got it. =) and i agree that QS is not really a popular course here.

:offtopic Congrats you too! :))

bLaCk_PeArL
10-05-2009, 12:00 PM
I'm curious where they would sent me. Its either NZ, AUS or UK right? I wanna go to AUS but the other 2 countries wouldn't be so bad after all XD

SYWong
10-05-2009, 02:53 PM
Me too~ I gt the scholarship~ thanks God...^^:))

aune
10-05-2009, 03:05 PM
hey, i would like to know what exactly is the job of a quantity surveyor. tq

bLaCk_PeArL
11-05-2009, 09:37 AM
From wikipedia: (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quantity_surveyor) The role of the QS, in general terms, is to manage and control contracts and costs within construction projects.
I noticed that those who got the scholarship for qs are from sarawak XD Cool. ^^

SYWong
11-05-2009, 10:46 PM
black pearl...may i knw which town are you from?

bLaCk_PeArL
12-05-2009, 09:06 AM
I'm from Sarawak too. From Betong specifically, but I've been living in Kuching after SPM.

dreamer1210
12-05-2009, 09:41 AM
ya cool! female sarawakians like qs~ =D

bLaCk_PeArL
12-05-2009, 03:13 PM
ya cool! female sarawakians like qs~ =D

LOL!! :P Thats good to know. At least I know that I wont be the only female sarawakians taking this course. :))

SYWong
12-05-2009, 09:43 PM
Haha..who else are taking this course?

dreamer1210
15-05-2009, 06:39 PM
Woo~ only 3 of us sarawakians? haha

BTW, I'm confused with what countries can we go after completing our pre-u? Cause from here (http://esilav2.jpa.gov.my/esila_new/pdf/2009_PILN/syaratpiln2009.pdf) (No.21), it stated that the choices are Australia, NZ and UK but from here (http://esila.jpa.gov.my/pdf/StrukturPengajianProgram-ProgramPILN2008.pdf) (No.3 and No.4), only Australia offers Quantity Surveying.

So does it mean that we will only be sent to Australia?:huh

jenny3558
18-05-2009, 04:09 PM
I'm also female who gt the qs course under jpa.
But i'm not from sarawak.
Anyway,nice to knw all of you .
XD

dreamer1210
19-05-2009, 02:11 PM
I'm also female who gt the qs course under jpa.
But i'm not from sarawak.
Anyway,nice to knw all of you .
XD

Yeah, welcome~ :P

queendom
24-05-2009, 06:45 PM
If JPA's policy remains the same as last year, ur country will be Aussie! :)

dreamer1210
25-05-2009, 12:16 AM
If JPA's policy remains the same as last year, ur country will be Aussie! :)

So for those of us who are offered QS under JPA overseas scholarship, we will be sent to INTI University College?

queendom
26-05-2009, 06:46 PM
most likely will be Inti ba

dreamer1210
26-05-2009, 08:28 PM
most likely will be Inti ba

SYWong
26-05-2009, 09:30 PM
well, then all of us applying for QS will meet soon~~==!!!

dreamer1210
27-05-2009, 12:16 AM
well, then all of us applying for QS will meet soon~~==!!!

Yeah~ can't wait! :woo

synlynn
27-05-2009, 10:37 PM
hihi every1...
me too get QS under jpa..
i prefer UK :))..
anyway...did u guys receive the offer letter?
me havent...
hope us(the future qs) can meet soon!

ps:im not from sarawak...:(

dreamer1210
28-05-2009, 01:36 AM
hihi every1...
me havent...

hello~ yea, i also haven't receive the offer letter. hope it can arrive to our house safely and as soon as possible! :P

it's okay that you are not from sarawak. hehe cause as i know, jenny3558 is also from penang~:amuse

jenny3558
28-05-2009, 09:30 AM
hihi every1...
me havent...

I din receive the letter yet.
Anyway,we are from the same hometown.
Nice to meet u.
Which area r u stay?:laugh

hello~ yea, i also haven't receive the offer letter. hope it can arrive to our house safely and as soon as possible! :P

it's okay that you are not from sarawak. hehe cause as i know, jenny3558 is also from penang~:amuse

Yay,hope so.
Seem like those applied for qs are females.:))

SYWong
28-05-2009, 08:54 PM
yea~
even if u're not from sarawak~
we will still meet somewhere...==
i heard tat we will be sent to INTI there instead of INTeC..

synlynn
28-05-2009, 09:33 PM
I din receive the letter yet.
Anyway,we are from the same hometown.
Nice to meet u.
Which area r u stay?:laugh

Yay,hope so.
Seem like those applied for qs are females.:))
hi jenny...
im in air itam...how about u?
which skul r u from?

jenny3558
28-05-2009, 09:56 PM
hi jenny...
im in air itam...how about u?
which skul r u from?

I'm from uhs.
How about u?

yea~

Juz hoping that the offer letter will reach asap.
Anyways, we will meet soon.
XD

synlynn
28-05-2009, 09:57 PM
I'm from uhs.
How about u?

Juz hoping that the offer letter will reach asap.
Anyways, we will meet soon.
XD
pcghs..haha..
nice to meet u!
((shake hands))

jenny3558
28-05-2009, 11:04 PM
pcghs..haha..
nice to meet u!
((shake hands))

XD
nice to meet u too.
Maybe we met b4.
Erm...r ur sufname Teoh?

synlynn
29-05-2009, 04:38 PM
XD
nice to meet u too.
Maybe we met b4.
Erm...r ur sufname Teoh?
ya..mb same tuition or wat..^^
nope...im LIM

dreamer1210
29-05-2009, 08:43 PM
yea~

Yea, might be INTI. but INTI is quite good actually, i read through some previous posts, the seniors said maybe we can get hostel with air-con~! hohoho hope it's true~ :P

SYWong
29-05-2009, 08:59 PM
Yea, might be INTI. but INTI is quite good actually, i read through some previous posts, the seniors said maybe we can get hostel with air-con~! hohoho hope it's true~ :P

yea...but then, zzz cant find any roommates...T_T
none of my friends applied for QS...sigh ==

nice to meet all of u~ perhaps we should leave our msn here for further contact...LOL...zzzz

dreamer1210
29-05-2009, 09:04 PM
nice to meet all of u~ perhaps we should leave our msn here for further contact...LOL...zzzz

ya, sure~ good idea! :amuse

SYWong
29-05-2009, 09:23 PM
mine one is mail address removed~~

You can use pm to tell each other email addresses. Posting it here will lead to lots of spams in your mailbox
seehua

jenny3558
30-05-2009, 09:42 AM
yea...but then, zzz cant find any roommates...T_T
none of my friends applied for QS...sigh ==

I tot we don't have the right to choose our roomates.
It arrange by jpa?:)
Anyway,nice to meet u too.

queendom
30-05-2009, 10:39 AM
uhm nope my major will be Urban Planning.
Anyway UP and QS will be taking all the same subjects if u are taking SAM in Inti :)

I think u can if u tell them in advance. some of my friends did but im not sure how they did that tho..

synlynn
30-05-2009, 02:59 PM
i heard INTI hostel is good..there are water heaters!
haha...ya..and air-con too if u lucky..

I tot we don't have the right to choose our roomates.
It arrange by jpa?:)
Anyway,nice to meet u too.

i think its arranged by jpa..
anyway..our roomates are jpa scholars too??
or anyone else as long as she's the students there?
usually there will be how many roommate(s)? 2ppl per room??
or it depends?:)

queendom
30-05-2009, 05:00 PM
air-con yes, water heater yes. Facilities here are great!

for my case, everyone in my floor are JPA scholars.. Same programme, same class, same floor. :D

2 persons per room.

SYWong
30-05-2009, 09:58 PM

for my case, everyone in my floor are JPA scholars.. Same programme, same class, same floor. :D

2 persons per room.

WOW! tat would be great!!!!~
so which country are u being sent to? Australia right?

queendom
31-05-2009, 01:58 PM
yepp. aussie :))

dreamer1210
31-05-2009, 08:16 PM

2 persons per room.

That's really great! So do you mean that all JPA scholars will be arranged to blocks like Shakespeare and Beethoven which have air-con?

BTW, has anyone of you received the offer letter?

mine one is mail address removed~~

You can use pm to tell each other email addresses. Posting it here will lead to lots of spams in your mailbox
seehua

I've PM you my email address. Feel free to add me in msn~ :P

Maybe we should PM our email address to each other too :wink

SYWong
31-05-2009, 08:57 PM
That's really great! So do you mean that all JPA scholars will be arranged to blocks like Shakespeare and Beethoven which have air-con?

oh...lol...good idea...but i may not be able to do it..==
coz even my msn oso gt some problems..haha...
mayb u can help to invite them to add me as well==

synlynn
31-05-2009, 09:13 PM

2 persons per room.

thx for ur info..
whao...roomate=classmate...nice!

many of my frens had received the offer letter..
but i havent

queendom
31-05-2009, 11:50 PM

erm.. im at Aristotle. Scholars of my batch were all in A, S, E, P and R. all with air-cons.

SYWong
01-06-2009, 12:16 AM
btw....is qs hard to study? ==

dreamer1210
01-06-2009, 01:45 AM
btw....is qs hard to study? ==

emm, i doubt that too.. but i think at the mean time we will not touch about qs first, mainly on our SAM eh?

jenny3558
01-06-2009, 11:43 AM
Hey,I just received the letter.
I got Inti Nilai .
N the country offered was Aus.
How abt u all?:)
I think it will be the same .

SYWong
01-06-2009, 12:48 PM
emm, i doubt that too.. but i think at the mean time we will not touch about qs first, mainly on our SAM eh?

i think so...anyway...waiting for the letter.

I got Inti Nilai .

yea...i think it will all be the same..
btw, sarawak is having public holiday (Hari Gawai)
so we wont receive any letters for these two days..(1/6/09 & 2/6/09)
wakakakka..

synlynn
01-06-2009, 06:10 PM
I got Inti Nilai .

yaya....i gt the same offer wif u...
high 5 my future classmate!
haha..
anyway..which 5 subj should v tk for our SAM?

jenny3558
01-06-2009, 09:01 PM
haha..

5!!!:P
Yay,thats the q that i want to ask.
Erm...nt really knw abt it.

queendom
01-06-2009, 11:04 PM
:D congrats! That means I ll be meeting u all soon!

Anyway, ur subject combination will be eng, math, acc, econ and either spec math or chem, provided if jpa policy remains unchanged.

jenny3558
02-06-2009, 10:06 AM

Anyway, ur subject combination will be eng, math, acc, econ and either spec math or chem, provided if jpa policy remains unchanged.

Nice to meet you.
Thank you for all the advice n information u gave.
Then our subject combination will also be the same as the actuarial science.
Anyway,when u finish ur sam?

queendom
02-06-2009, 06:50 PM
Nice to meet you.
Thank you for all the advice n information u gave.
Then our subject combination will also be the same as the actuarial science.
Anyway,when u finish ur sam?

glad to meet u too :)
uhm. actuarial science major must take spec math. for us we can choose either spec math or chem.
i will be finishing my SAM end of this year. public exam will be in Nov.

jenny3558
02-06-2009, 07:30 PM
glad to meet u too :)
uhm. actuarial science major must take spec math. for us we can choose either spec math or chem.
i will be finishing my SAM end of this year. public exam will be in Nov.

I c.
By then spec math n chem,which 1 wi be tougher?
No idea what to choose on.:)

siewlin
02-06-2009, 08:14 PM
I c.

spec math, choose spec math.
pei me la jenny~~ XD

SYWong
02-06-2009, 10:13 PM
i've just received the offer letter this afternoon~
i oso gt inti nilai~

hOHo
02-06-2009, 10:45 PM
haha..
congratz on getting jpa scholarship!!!!would u mind to me to tell me ur spm results?thks!:wink

SYWong
03-06-2009, 12:14 PM
btw,,,it's stated tat there're rules and regulations for the INTI hostel on the reverse page of the form..
how come it's blank ==

queendom
03-06-2009, 12:35 PM
I c.

Im not sure with u all but me myself Im taking Chem, coz if I give up Chem my subject combination would have no science subject at all. I always want to do science so I decided to take up chem.

But this is really up to ur own preference. If u are confident enough to do Spec math it would be very interesting to u. But to ME spec math is tough :D

dreamer1210
03-06-2009, 06:50 PM
I'd received my offer letter too this noon. Doing SAM at INTI Nilai and need to register on the 1 July 2009, 8.30am. Same to all of u right?

For sarawakians, when do u all book the flight ticket? 30 June?

Emm, i thought QS did not have to do acc and econ. :cry no physics?

jenny3558
03-06-2009, 07:55 PM
Im not sure with u all but me myself Im taking Chem, coz if I give up Chem my subject combination would have no science subject at all. I always want to do science so I decided to take up chem.

But this is really up to ur own preference. If u are confident enough to do Spec math it would be very interesting to u. But to ME spec math is tough :D

I c.
Thx for ur info.
But seem like the chem subject is nt relate to the qs course in future.
Meanwhile,I hope to do science.
Dilemma...
will consider abt it.

dreamer1210
03-06-2009, 09:45 PM
Just for reference, below is a link to the sample questions of spec math. IMO, they are quite similar to add math and physics.
http://www.vcaa.vic.edu.au/vce/studies/mathematics/specialist/pastexams/2006/2006specmath.pdf

I'm thinking of choosing spec math instead of chem too. Cause i don't wanna memorize all those chemical names. XP

synlynn
03-06-2009, 11:02 PM
I c.
Thx for ur info.
But seem like the chem subject is nt relate to the qs course in future.
Meanwhile,I hope to do science.
Dilemma...
will consider abt it.

jenny....pick spe math la!! haha:))

dreamer1210
04-06-2009, 12:19 AM
emm, just discover that majority there are females from penang and sarawak taking qs. haha

queendom
04-06-2009, 11:01 AM
Guess I ll just paste here what I've posted in the other thread.

Actually this depends on how u look at it. If u are good in math of coz spec math would seem more appealing to u chem would be more on understanding and memorizing instead of doing lots and lots of practices.

In fact, Inti initially set chem as our compulsory subject. But some of us argued that chem is not related to our future major so they asked for a change to spec math. But at the end most of us stick to the original subject mix. Thats why majority took chem.

I was also quite undecided initially. But at the end I felt Im more into science kind of thing so I took up chem, which means now im still doing experiment, getting in contact with scientific terms...which I loved during my sec school studies.

and btw.. I can show statistics.. haha

24 scholars in my class: 7 Town Planning, 17 QS. (All the JPA scholars of these two majors of 2008)
7 TP: 1 Guy, 6 Girls
17 QS: 6 Guys, 11 Girls
Of all 24 scholars: 1 Spec math, 23 Chem
and oh yah.. 5 out of 24 of my mates are from Sarawak! :)) u all have seniors dy

This is just for reference. :)

If u are taking spec math, u will be in the same class with actuarial science scholars(for only spec math class). Other subjects u will be with ur coursemates.

dreamer1210
05-06-2009, 12:08 AM
Guess I ll just paste here what I've posted in the other thread.

Actually this depends on how u look at it. If u are good in math of coz spec math would seem more appealing to u chem would be more on understanding and memorizing instead of doing lots and lots of practices.

In fact, Inti initially set chem as our compulsory subject. But some of us argued that chem is not related to our future major so they asked for a change to spec math. But at the end most of us stick to the original subject mix. Thats why majority took chem.

I was also quite undecided initially. But at the end I felt Im more into science kind of thing so I took up chem, which means now im still doing experiment, getting in contact with scientific terms...which I loved during my sec school studies.

and btw.. I can show statistics.. haha

24 scholars in my class: 7 Town Planning, 17 QS. (All the JPA scholars of these two majors of 2008)
7 TP: 1 Guy, 6 Girls
17 QS: 6 Guys, 11 Girls
Of all 24 scholars: 1 Spec math, 23 Chem
and oh yah.. 5 out of 24 of my mates are from Sarawak! :)) u all have seniors dy

This is just for reference. :)

If u are taking spec math, u will be in the same class with actuarial science scholars(for only spec math class). Other subjects u will be with ur coursemates.

Queendom, thanks for all the info.:) i think u are the only inti senior here that we can "throw" all the questions about inti to u.:P

*Offtopic* Wanna ask some questions about living in inti. Do there have kettle, pillow, blanklet, bed sheet in the hostel room? is there a wardrobe and how is its size? thz again first!

queendom
05-06-2009, 10:18 PM
Queendom, thanks for all the info.:) i think u are the only inti senior here that we can "throw" all the questions about inti to u.:P

*Offtopic* Wanna ask some questions about living in inti. Do there have kettle, pillow, blanklet, bed sheet in the hostel room? is there a wardrobe and how is its size? thz again first!

No problem. :)

Uhm. They do provide pillow, blanket and bed sheet. U can bring ur own bed sheet if u want. If u get to live in Block A, the wardrobe is quite small. But its still sufficient for me la :) Kettle no, can bring ur own if u want. Anyway hot water would be provided so no worries.

I like Inti! Its fun to be here. :D

dreamer1210
06-06-2009, 12:59 AM
No problem. :)

Uhm. They do provide pillow, blanket and bed sheet. U can bring ur own bed sheet if u want. If u get to live in Block A, the wardrobe is quite small. But its still sufficient for me la :) Kettle no, can bring ur own if u want. Anyway hot water would be provided so no worries.

I like Inti! Its fun to be here. :D

Wow, they really provide all these for us. it's so great!:)) can't wait to get in there~ wooohoo:laugh

SYWong
07-06-2009, 09:31 PM
i've some questions..mind to share how u guys fill up the forms?

LAMPIRAN B
Universiti / Negara:

Borang Pengakuan Kedudukan Kewangan Penjamin
Nama Universiti:

Borang Maklumat Penjamin
INSTITUSI: UNIVERSITI DI AUSTRALIA (is tis correct?)

Borang Biodata Pelajar
NAMA KOLEJ/ INSTITUSI:
NEGARA/PROGRAM:

Application for Accommodation
Room No:
Tel. No: (our home number?)

Application for Admission
IV PROGRAMME APPLIED AND INTAKE
as for this part, we just fill in tat our programme title is SAM and the intake is June/July right?

do we have to write any remarks?

07-06-2009, 09:37 PM
i've some questions..mind to share how u guys fill up the forms?

LAMPIRAN B
Universiti / Negara:

Nama Universiti:

Borang Maklumat Penjamin
INSTITUSI: UNIVERSITI DI AUSTRALIA (is tis correct?)

Borang Biodata Pelajar
NAMA KOLEJ/ INSTITUSI:
NEGARA/PROGRAM:

Application for Accommodation
Room No:
Tel. No: (our home number?)

LAMPIRAN B
Universiti / Negara: College where you are doing your foundation (i.e MFI) / Universtiti in Country (state the country assigned to you by JPA)

Nama Universiti: college where you are doing your foundation (i.e MFI)

Borang Maklumat Penjamin
INSTITUSI: college where you are doing your foundation (i.e MFI)

Borang Biodata Pelajar
NAMA KOLEJ/ INSTITUSI: college where you are doing your foundation (i.e MFI)
NEGARA/PROGRAM: Country (state the country assigned to you by JPA)/ name of the course

awah91
17-06-2009, 04:55 PM
am i the only malay girl doing qs with u people? im from negeri sembilan :)
so, who wants to be my roomie? :amuse

btw, queendom, did you went for a trip to a construction site last week? to the new putrajaya mosque to be exact.

queendom
17-06-2009, 05:34 PM
My friend went, I din.

SYWong
18-06-2009, 08:51 PM
queendom...may i knw when will d next holiday for INTI Nilai?

awah91
21-06-2009, 10:24 PM
next holiday is on august 17. i think. can't remember.

bLaCk_PeArL
22-06-2009, 02:17 AM
am i the only malay girl doing qs with u people? im from negeri sembilan :)
so, who wants to be my roomie? :amuse

btw, queendom, did you went for a trip to a construction site last week? to the new putrajaya mosque to be exact.

Actually, you're not the only one. I'm a malay too. XD

Do we have to wear formal clothes during registration?

awah91
22-06-2009, 08:40 PM
Actually, you're not the only one. I'm a malay too. XD

Do we have to wear formal clothes during registration?

wohooo. i thought u're chinese because of the picture. we should msn or ym :)

the dress code is smart casual. you can wear formal if you want.

SYWong
22-06-2009, 08:43 PM
next holiday is on august 17. i think. can't remember.

woohoooooo..so fast..LOLz

bLaCk_PeArL
22-06-2009, 11:45 PM
wohooo. i thought u're chinese because of the picture. we should msn or ym :)

the dress code is smart casual. you can wear formal if you want.

Oh, thankies! I think I'll go with smart casual. :P

Lol. It's okay, most people I met would think I'm Chinese at first. Hahaha