View Full Version : What my feeling in National service.............
shan123
03-06-2004, 01:52 PM
I just finished national service this recently.Im the first badge participant.Through this program,i get acquainted with many friends.Different states,different race.It is a good experince for me that can meet so many friends within 3 months.After ns,i always hang out with my ns friends.We have the special and precious moment together.We share our joy and sadness during this program.We have memories that others never had.Im so happy to get acquainted with all of them. :D
What i learnt in this program is really limited.
This national service program still have alot to improve.Our goverment need more preparations to conduct this knid of grand project.
Moozy
03-06-2004, 07:02 PM
Totally agree! The government is comtemplating on a smaller-scale NS. I think the idea of separating the F5 leavers from the school droppers is a good one. At least there'll be less disciplinary problem. See, education is very important. People of different education backgrounds have different mindsets or paradigms. So, it's only fair for both parties.
My friends who'd have the chance to be the 1st batch of NS trainees are all very glad of that. They have more friends, and most importantly, friends of different races, especially to vernacular students.
03-06-2004, 07:57 PM
Thanks for sharing. May be shan123, you could invite your friends that you have met over National Service to join ReCom~! Perhaps you could share also the activities that you have gone through, hte benefits, the limitations and perhaps suggestions on how to improve it. It will be an eye opener for all of us here.
How is your typical one day life in NS? How many activiites you guys had? How much opportunities are there for you guys to work together?
03-06-2004, 09:35 PM
Was the welfare of the trainees well taken care of? How about the security system there?
Hmm... Besides making friends, what are other benefits that you gained from NS?
retroque
03-06-2004, 11:11 PM
im suppose to be studying rite now....but lately has become addicted to recom...ah well...5 mins only..no problem2
i guess what u went through (pkn)is a rough idea,how a life in boarding school is.despite it's boringness....no time to watch movies...missing homes...no comfort of fluffy pillows..etc2...there is so much more than that.....which is friendship
u laugh,suffer together,survive together,.....it's really beautiful isnt it."susah senang sama2 ".
btw...what do u do everyday...attend ceramah?im more interested in the program.
shan123
04-06-2004, 10:24 AM
The ns program have 4 modul to go.
1.physical module 2.modul kenegaraan 3.Character Building 4.Community Service
Physical training is fun!We went for junggle trekking ,abseiling, flying fox, canoe, kawat, and many more activities.Sometimes we go for ceramah too.Ceramah abt first aid, pandu arah and so on.Class abt pandu arah teaches us how to use a compass.Quite fun!We done all of these in kem.
Later we go for campus to another module.Kenegaraan and Character Building were quite boring.We just learnt how a country is formed and what is the goverment doing now in modul kenegaraan.Character building also guides us to be a more sucess, polite, caring, brave teenager.
During the Community service we went to goverment departments, hospital, balai bomba and so on.They let us helped the patient.Let them felt the warm and care from teenagers.They also want us to know abt how goverment staff done their work.
04-06-2004, 02:11 PM
I attended this Kursus Kenegaraan organized by Biro Tatanegara recently and one guy from my group was an NS trainee. He claimed that the facilities in his camp were really poor and that he had more fun in the BTN camp than in the NS! He added that racial intergration didn't really happen as most kids flocked among their own people. And most of the LDKs (latihan dalam kumpulan) lulled him to sleep! Any NS trainees to comment on this??
05-06-2004, 03:06 AM
wait till he experience kem bina insan in ulu yam. 3 people crammed into a 2.0 X 2.0 m tent, without toilets that flush, with mosquitoes as big as the tip of your last finger... wah... can cry arr........
05-06-2004, 03:21 AM
My BTN is held in Ulu Kenas , Perak
the situation is better there where we were sleeping in the dome...
yeah... ulu yam is really bosan.. I was bitten by a big morph
by the way, I won?t want to say much here as we should focus on the main topic...
I hope that everyone who has been to national service have learn something from it and let it be a nice memory...
at least it?s better than the reality game survivoe
sim_min
05-06-2004, 07:14 AM
before proceed to our topic, can anyone of you tell me what BTN stands for?
05-06-2004, 07:33 AM
BTN = Biro TataNegara
05-06-2004, 01:03 PM
Brainwashing The Nation
05-06-2004, 04:08 PM
Brainwashing The Nation
this quote might seem a bit sarcastic but personally I think top dog?s depiction of BTN is correct to a certain extend.
retroque
06-06-2004, 12:29 AM
wait till he experience kem bina insan in ulu yam. 3 people crammed into a 2.0 X 2.0 m tent, without toilets that flush, with mosquitoes as big as the tip of your last finger... wah... can cry arr........
That's the whole idea!!!to make us suffer n go through hardships(even if we hate it) so that we can be stronger,mentally and physically.
to me,i can still live with mosquitoes...bugs...tarzan kind of life.what i cant stand is those boooriing long hours of ceramah.yackity yack2...bla bla...zzZzzz
06-06-2004, 03:35 AM
That's the whole idea!!!to make us suffer n go through hardships(even if we hate it) so that we can be stronger,mentally and physically.
to me,i can still live with mosquitoes...bugs...tarzan kind of life.what i cant stand is those boooriing long hours of ceramah.yackity yack2...bla bla...zzZzzz
Hehe... what about making us shout at each other, punch the wall, slap another fellow? I think the ATUs can back me up with this point.
06-06-2004, 12:35 PM
Hehe... what about making us shout at each other, punch the wall, slap another fellow? I think the ATUs can back me up with this point.
you guys need more exposure to nature. mosquitoes?
I had to endure bears, mountain lions, frost in the sierra nevada without food for more than 24 hours!
but of course, i didnt have brainwashed facilitator to patronize me because i think being patronize is the worst thing. freedom is the best thing in the world, even with hunger.
Therefore, BTN, and possibly NS (because I dont have to serve), suck, in my humble not-so-humble opinion.
06-06-2004, 01:23 PM
i dont mind the mosquitos, bugs, getting dirty and not having enough food etc. in fact, i loooove thos things, and enjoy getting dirty...it's not everyday we get to do/see/exposed to such things..
but the most boring part bout BTN was the long ceramah...we had like 4 sessions, each 2 hours long..so in all, 8 hours...then the bla..bla..bla..of the facis...i pity those who dpt faci yg bosan!!
ps: back in mrsm taiping days, Ulu Kenas (a.k.a UK to us maresmartians) sgt famous. slalu menjadi pilihan, kem motivasi pre-trial spm.
06-06-2004, 02:53 PM
http://img70.photobucket.com/albums/v40/lone99/4andrew/kerana_dipaksa2.gif
Kerek! You MRSM Tpg girl??? Aisayman!!! I've heard... "stories" about that school. Lol.
Is it true there is a shortcut from MRSM up to a kickass waterfall kat bkt larut?
MastersPassion cam (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/MastersPassion)
06-06-2004, 10:43 PM
i think the biggest advantage in the ns program is to be able to make lot of friends
07-06-2004, 01:54 PM
haha..why are you SO surprised? mebbe coz i seem to outta-this-world like xfit with the mrsm taiping nye imej? hehe..
what kinda stories hv u heard bout me school? some recommmers are also fr mrsm tepeng.
there's a way to the killer waterfall in bt larut..but it's kinda dangerous. the guys should know. they use it as a jln to lari to town mlm mlm heheh...
*sigh* i miss that place. being in BTN reminded me of my school coz got waterfall and all...hmm..next week, probably going back there. yeah! :wink:
10-06-2004, 11:21 AM
Updates on the 8500 who ponteng NS:
http://www.khidmatnegara.gov.my/peserta/index11_senarai_tidak_mendaftar.html
(didn't know we have a state called Lain-Lain)
The story:
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/6/10/nation/8183732&sec=nation
And looks like we're going to have new kinds of NS emerging: http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/6/10/latest/17636Movetoma&sec=latest
Do you agree with segregation based on background?
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/6/10/nation/8178635&sec=nation
Great artwork misled_youth :) Did you draw it yourself?
31-08-2004, 01:27 AM
Just curious, is there any other ReCommers who went to NS? We've heard from shan123 and some others, how about those from the 2nd and 3rd batch? Was there any significant improvement?
31-08-2004, 08:38 AM
It would be great those who have been to National Service to come over here in this thread and share what you have experienced in National Service. That would be a very good 1st hand impression on that issue.
SpRInG
03-09-2004, 05:49 AM
like i said before, wherever that post is, national service is nth else but a waste of the people's money..... nah..... boo to the minister who suggested this
03-09-2004, 05:59 AM
like i said before, wherever that post is, national service is nth else but a waste of the people's money..... nah..... boo to the minister who suggested this
i 2nd that!
03-09-2004, 07:34 AM
There are many who disagree with that. Well, I'm not saying that I fully support this camp. In fact, judging from our present state and the haste in which this program is implemented, we can't really say that it is a failure.
By the way, does anyone here has statistics regarding the cost spent on this program?
03-09-2004, 08:51 AM
While many people choose to think and assume that National Service is a failure, I am sure that those of you who have been reading news/articles/forums online have found out that National Service has opened and significantly improved the life of many Malaysians.
For many Malaysians, they have learned the skills of staying independent. Many have made many friends across the boundary of races and states. Many have also gotten the opportunities to experience many kinds of activities that they haven't been able to enjoy.
While NS is not perfect, or rather far from it, the intention is noble. On the cost for the program, the first year, the cost is much higher at RM600 million, because of the need to build the facilities for the National Service and the training of the trainers of National Service. I think that the cost of food per student per day is about RM10-15.
Perhaps what we could do more productively would be to suggest measures and ways to make NS better. What kind of activities should be included? How to improve it?
04-09-2004, 09:22 AM
urgh. I think we need to advertise a bit. Really nobody else went to NS ah? Jin eh boh? Or is there too many secret things in the training, cannot share??
jacyn
12-09-2004, 02:40 AM
oh... i was selected for ns.. is ns really that bad? oh.. don't scare me. :(
27-11-2004, 09:29 AM
I read from NST that NS Department is in serious needs of trainers, especially non-bumiputera trainers.
Interested non-Bumiputeras can contact Yusoff at 03-26873511 or at his office general line at 03-26873510.
http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Saturday/National/20041127075014/Article/indexb_html
caramel_nut
27-11-2004, 09:37 AM
I have been selected too for ns, first batch, commencing 13 dec. My camp is Semenyih in Selangor, heard it is a totally new camp. Maybe i can share my experience after I come out from camp. =)
27-11-2004, 10:02 AM
jacyn, caramel_nut, Congratulations for getting selected for National Service. Please make full use of those 3 months of learning experience. It would serve you a whole world of good.
Take the opportunities to explore those new experiences, make a lot of new friends, learn and enjoy~!
27-11-2004, 10:04 AM
good luck! and watch out for pervs.
16-02-2005, 12:57 AM
For those who have any viewpoint on National Service and unity, this is a golden opportunity.
The select committee on unity and national service will be organizing hearings throughout Malaysia to get feedback on NS and unity.
The first hearing is scheduled to be held in Kuala Lumpur on April 29 and 30, followed by Kota Kinabalu (June 9), Kuching (June 10), Penang (July 28 and 29), Kota Baru (Aug 8) and Johor Baru (Sept 1 and 2).
For more information, go to:-
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/2/15/nation/10162190&sec=nation
03-04-2005, 11:41 AM
Would like to share this article on National Service that I got from Star Education.
The Star (http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/4/3/education/10566018&sec=education)
The Star (http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/3/20/education/10429730&sec=education)
03-04-2005, 11:54 AM
Would like to share this article on National Service that I got from Star Education.
The Star (http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/4/3/education/10566018&sec=education)[/url]
The Star (http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/3/20/education/10429730&sec=education)
i hope pinky is not really her name....
Anduril
03-04-2005, 01:39 PM
I think our government should not shatter those selected NS trainees into a few batches and conduct them in different periods of the year. If I were to be chosen (which I didn't), I would certainly hope that I was in the first batch because by the time the second or third batch finishes their stint the school has already commenced.
There are a few friends of mine who managed to get into the first batch, but there are those who didn't. Many of them (the second/third ones) wanted to switch to the first batch. However, only one of them succeeded after much persuasion. Even then, I think, it takes countless phone calls to pester the whoever-receiving-the-calls.
I know to conduct NS at one go is a heavy task as we have just into the second years of this programme. But, really, most of the NS trainees would not want the idea that while they are being bitten by mosquitoes and fox-flying around, the other half of their counterpart is pursuing their tertiary level.
deaf-knee
04-04-2005, 12:51 AM
again, I repeat: CHEH STUPID NS.
this is after 3 weeks of having cicadas infest your every waking minute and having jurulatihs scream at you for every single insignificant mistake.
CHEH STUPID NS.
and I have two more months of it.
Anduril
04-04-2005, 12:46 PM
LOL.. :lol: deaf-knee, at least you still have the chance to sneak out and surf the internet!
gonjeng
04-04-2005, 02:26 PM
LOL.. :lol: deaf-knee, at least you still have the chance to sneak out and surf the internet!
true... true... but then again, thats typical for such training, be it NS or BTN. thats part of training your mentality, to withstand such pressure etc. esp after you have started working and have a bithcy boss hehehe...
byzhanii_bogn
18-04-2005, 10:39 AM
ditto to deaf-knee
CHECH STUPID NS
my dorm was flooded with water flowing out from the septc tank last month and we had to meredah air tahi to get back to our bed. EEEEEEEEEEEWWWW!!!!!
CHEH STUPID NS!
18-04-2005, 01:03 PM
The Star (http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/4/3/education/10566018&sec=education)
This Xmas, I will give chenchow a spade.
No, not so he can't plan marijuana, as much as he _might_ like to, but for him to dig his head out of the ground.
How To Use Extreme Q Vaporizer (http://vaporizerinfo.com/)
Gabriel
18-04-2005, 01:43 PM
and I have two more months of it.
hah...you are still inside,at least i'm out already,enjoy the life there...you will miss it very much....i guess :lol:
Gabriel
18-04-2005, 01:48 PM
the article is indeed very touching,as a NS participant,i truly agree with the writer.yup,....i miss my friends a lot,especially after parting to our own new and strange uni lives,the moments inside the camp was still memorable.... :lol: :D
deaf-knee
18-04-2005, 02:33 PM
EH! I didn't sneak out la. that time holiday mar.
Now also holiday mar. JPA interview ohoh.
Anyway no more stupid NS lah.
I like NS very much now.
:D :D :D
caramel_nut
18-04-2005, 02:58 PM
My camp was even worse lah...
No water for 3 months leh! No potable water, couldn't bath and wash clothes and dining tray. Come to think of it, it's a miracle I managed to survive the 3 months.
err....is this thread's title gramatically correct? i don't think it read correctly. can anyone please correct it?
gohweihan
18-04-2005, 04:53 PM
but one thing dat really got my nerves was that some of the trainers told us(non bumis) to convert into islam.i was like hey,we have freedom to choose our religion,arent v?i felt like complaining to da hq.but then i thought, i dont want exaggerate dis matter.i hope dis thing wont happened again for the rest of batches.
i think i am only to capable to share my 3-months experience till here
You should. Although consitutionally right, you should at the very least make a fuss out of it. It's because we non-bumiputeras always see things like freedom of choice as some small issue, we always brush it aside. With that, these idiots can preach however they want.
Gabriel
18-04-2005, 05:07 PM
My camp was even worse lah...
No water for 3 months leh! No potable water, couldn't bath and wash clothes and dining tray. Come to think of it, it's a miracle I managed to survive the 3 months.
wanlau,how can you survive?you mean you din bath for three months?that's ....dunno how to say.... :?
18-04-2005, 06:25 PM
I think its not so bad but they should make it for younger people between spm and stpm or something.
timbergurl
25-04-2005, 12:12 AM
oink oink, are you ka yan? Caramel, what camp are you from? I'm from Cancun Park and yes, I survived 3 months with a serious water crisis...imagine my bath wasn't guaranteed everyday, kinda frightening right? In addition, Kelantan was so hot at that time and we sweat so much...it's really a torture but we learnt alot during our time in the camp. I've met so many cool friends and if I'm given a 2nd chance, I'll still go for it...
25-04-2005, 12:16 AM
See some people enjoy it. Probably the best experience they've ever had in their life. I wish i could take out three months to do it. You must meet loads of friends. And all the activities during the day must be interesting.
timbergurl
25-04-2005, 07:07 PM
Yeah, some of the activities were really interesting like fox flying and abseiling...but there are some which were really boring too. I remembered sleeping through most of my kelas kenegaraan :lol:
It's tough, but it really made us stronger physically and mentally. At the end of the day, it's the friends that made everything bearable. I was only homesick for around one week, when I came back for holidays during Chinese New Year and Raya Haji, I was actually waiting to go back to the camp...I didn't really want to leave the place because I was so happy there. After I came back, I didn't get a job or anything like that, so I was bored, staying in the camp was actually much more enjoyable. The most important thing I've learnt was how to deal with different kind of people, at least we'll be prepared and we'll know what to expect when we come out to work one day...
khynn
05-05-2005, 08:33 PM
ei...my friends told me that in the NS camp..there's ghost :twisted: ...is it true??...aiks....scare lah.... :? 8O
im not choosen as a trainee...but...can anybody tell me are those ghost stories true? :?: :twisted: :evil:
06-05-2005, 02:56 AM
but one thing dat really got my nerves was that some of the trainers told us(non bumis) to convert into islam.i was like hey,we have freedom to choose our religion,arent v?i felt like complaining to da hq.but then i thought, i dont want exaggerate dis matter.i hope dis thing wont happened again for the rest of batches.
I believe that this are some isolated cases that are happening, and I really hope that you should report those trainers to the authority. When you have more than 1000 trainers, there are bound to be some black sheep and I really hope that these black sheep could be evaluated of their performance, and if they are really doing so, they should be stripped of their performance.
On the facility aspect problems, I really hope that those ReComers could highlight to the media the situation of some of those training camps. Those problems should be highlighted and hopefully rectified.
Nevertheless, I am happy to hear from ReComers regarding the friendship made during NS and the tough training could help building up the mental and physical strength of fellow Malaysians.
vince
28-02-2006, 03:39 PM
HELLO~~can i re-activate this forum??hehe :twisted:
well,i'll be going for NS for 3 months starting march 19 2006
so..can other share your experience?on what should i do..what i need to bring..or..whatever la.cause i hope ill have fun there.
ill be going to terengganu..its far from selangor la..if i get sick(touch wood)what should i do?can anyone show some guidance?
thanks!
NS is stupid. :x My camp is haunted as well. =/ I've been there for more than 2 weeks now. It's purely stupid except for a very very tiny part of it. That will be the 'kelas kerohanian' every Thursday and Friday night. Even when I am a christian, I can still attend the buddhist class if I want to or I can sleep in my dorm. I choose the former one. That is the only one good thing about NS. Modul Pembinaan Karakter is total bullshit. PT is so boring that I slept while running. :lol: Marching is stupid as well. Commander doesn't know how to give command and so forth..... If you haven't got chosen for NS, pray hard that you dont get it. There's no such thing as race integration in there. People still stick to their own groups. Even the people in the canteen also play 'pilih kasih'. I wont elaborate more.
Conclusion, NS is stupid. Government should be more selective instead of pure random or else, make it compulsory to everyone. There are too much weakness and yet you dont learn much things inside the program.
02-04-2006, 02:40 PM
hahaha... what a subjective observation...
enjoy complaining non stop :P
joe_keng
07-11-2006, 06:47 PM
I just finished national service this recently.Im the first badge participant.Through this program,i get acquainted with many friends.Different states,different race.It is a good experince for me that can meet so many friends within 3 months.After ns,i always hang out with my ns friends.We have the special and precious moment together.We share our joy and sadness during this program.We have memories that others never had.Im so happy to get acquainted with all of them. :D
What i learnt in this program is really limited.
This national service program still have alot to improve.Our goverment need more preparations to conduct this knid of grand project.
I agree with shan123. I also went for the National Service this year. You can see my previous post on NS also. It's quite a memorable experience. Meeting many new and different people. But as what shan123 said, it can still be improved. Such as the quality of food and also other facilities. :)