View Full Version : Discussion: JPA applicants for Science course

slayer
08-05-2009, 12:01 AM
I realised that not many people nowadays wanna major in Science.
But I have chosen to major in Science (hopefully Chemistry) because I have a great deal of interest in all the 3 sciences...

Can any senior that also applied for Science course under JPA in previous years enlighten us on whether we will get the Science course we want as we applied under SCIENCE only--> no specification.

A big thanks in advance!!:))

Thread JPA Science course in AUP merged.
seehua

libraaa
08-05-2009, 03:26 PM
i applied for science too. and during my interview, i told the interviewer i wish to major in chemistry... my ambition is to be a chemist. :)
The interviewer told me that i need to do foundation in science for 18 months first then go for degree and in my case would be degree in chemistry... one and a half hour more to know the result.. :S

jyin
11-05-2009, 12:31 AM
i have been chosen 4 science coarse too...
on the mean time of waiting for the offer letter,i am confusing of what am i going 2 study next....

jyin
19-05-2009, 11:05 PM
any of the seniors is studying science coarse under psd scholar?

sienz7
21-05-2009, 10:11 PM
Can any senior that also applied for Science course under JPA in previous years enlighten us on whether we will get the Science course we want as we applied under SCIENCE only--> no specification.

A big thanks in advance!!:))[/quote]

after complete ur preparation course in malaysia, u r free to choose any degree programme (but must with the title of bachelor of science) in university.

lowray
21-05-2009, 11:25 PM
science is very broad indeed...studying science overseas is a great advantage as u got a lots of chance to major in big and prominent reseach.
The oppurtunities are fabulous.if u were dedicated and inquisitive enuf, u can involve in invention of products and machinery stuffs.
More or less , doing reseach overseas can change one's outlook and perspectives!

jyin
21-05-2009, 11:38 PM
thanks for the info o...^^

gman
22-05-2009, 12:32 PM
most of my friends that received the jpa scholarship to do science last year were sent to INTI as they are bound for the USA. if i am not mistaken, choosing a major from biology, chemistry, and physics should not be a problem at all. usually, jpa may have a certain list of fields that you may pursue that you would have to follow.

technicolor
23-05-2009, 04:07 AM
I want to do Geology...

g1noah
24-05-2009, 05:49 PM
I'm a JPA scholar of year 2008, studyin for Science course, bound to go to UK next year. So, anyone that has any question about anything regarding Science course provided by PSD, feel free to ask me. :)

To add to the info, anyone that has applied under Science course, bound for UK, you can apply for any science courses that has Bsc in its degree title, but not a sandwich course, not a double major course, not a course related to medicine, biotech or any other courses mentioned in other PSD applications. And it must be a 3 yrs course.

But sadly though, we are not allowed to apply for Cambridge and Oxford, as their science courses have a degree title of BA. :(

technicolor
24-05-2009, 07:08 PM
I'd like to study Geology in Australia. Is that possible?

g1noah
25-05-2009, 11:47 AM
I'd like to study Geology in Australia. Is that possible?

I'm not really sure about that. Because first of all, you have to check whether JPA sends people to Australia for Science course or not (In my year, they send only to UK or USA.) If they do send ppl to Australia, you'll have to check with JPA to see what's their rules and regulations for JPA scholars bound to go to Australia. (In my case, we are free to choose any Bsc course as mentioned above.)

I hope that helps you. :)

technicolor
25-05-2009, 03:16 PM
Oh thankies.

But in the list, it's written there that JPA is gonna send the Science scholars to USA, UK, Australia & NZ...

g1noah
25-05-2009, 04:22 PM
Oh thankies.

But in the list, it's written there that JPA is gonna send the Science scholars to USA, UK, Australia & NZ...

If that is the case, I would say that you have a quarter chance of going to Australia, since we are not allowed to choose any country we want.

jyin
26-05-2009, 11:03 PM
halo...
senior,where are u currently studying?
and is it necessary that we have to study all the 3 subjects of science?

g1noah
27-05-2009, 09:30 AM
halo...
senior,where are u currently studying?
and is it necessary that we have to study all the 3 subjects of science?

I'm studying for A-levels, in a college u probably wont heard of unless u r from KL. Lol. I'm studyin in Cempaka International School in Cheras.

And, I dun know about ppl bound to go to other countries, but for UK, yes. We have to take 4 subjects in A-levels, (Compulsary, in case u wonder.:P) tat's chemistry, physics, maths n biology, regardless of which degree u will take in ur university.

jyin
27-05-2009, 11:28 PM
wow...all the 3 sciences...challenging enough...

g1noah
28-05-2009, 07:12 AM
It is not that challenging as you think it might be. No worries. A-level's syllabus aren't as difficult as STPM's, only the examination papers need a little bit more thinking. Feel free to ask me if u have any problems on your studies later. (I doubt that u'll have problems since u're a JPA scholar. :) )

jyin
30-05-2009, 12:40 AM
thanks!
don't blame me if i would bothering u in future...
hehe...i've left studies for half a year...rusting....

technicolor
30-05-2009, 01:04 AM
So, does that mean all the science scholars are going to study the same syllabus for preparation level?

g1noah
30-05-2009, 09:15 AM
thanks!
don't blame me if i would bothering u in future...
hehe...i've left studies for half a year...rusting....

haha, it's ok. I'm glad to help anyone. But just as an advice, I would say that you should do some revision now before going to your pre-u course, because last year i'm in the same situation as you now, super rusty, lol. Then it took me 3 months just to catch up. That's a hard time, because there are so many smart people around you, you'll just keep pushing yourself. :cry

And in case, u're bound to UK, and u're coming to my college, u'll have to sit for a streaming exam a few days after u register urself at my school. So, be prepare!!

So, does that mean all the science scholars are going to study the same syllabus for preparation level?

Nope, I do not think so. Those going to Australia will be taking SAM if i'm not mistaken. Uk, A-level, USA, SAT. But how about New Zealand? I'm not sure about that. I would say it would be either SAM or A-level.

jyin
31-05-2009, 11:30 PM
o...thanks senior...
i just received my letter...i am going to study at INTI,Seremban...bond 2 USA...

g1noah
31-05-2009, 11:42 PM
o...thanks senior...
i just received my letter...i am going to study at INTI,Seremban...bond 2 USA...

icic, Inti is a good place. haha. Btw, Inti is in Nilai, not Seremban. Guess we cant meet each other then. Lol. All the best to u.

technicolor
01-06-2009, 11:18 AM
Me also is going to study at INTI. :D

Also bond to USA.

g1noah
01-06-2009, 11:36 AM
Me also is going to study at INTI. :D

Also bond to USA.

Lol. All the best to you too. Inti is a great place to study. Hope you'll enjoy it.

(Sigh, where's all those JPA scholars going to UK? :cry )
( May be the government wanna save some money by reducing the amount of scholars being sent to UK. :wink )

lionhearttwb
01-06-2009, 06:17 PM
As the title, i have just receive the offer letter frm jpa for science.
and it is stated that i will have to register at INTI nilai at 1st july.
Does anyone same with me?

And i m quite confuse that do i have to send back the application form from inti to INTI or i just hand in to them during registration because it isnt stated there. all i got from INTI(come along with the letter) is 3 catalog, one application form(1 sheet of paper only) and one form for accomodation for jpa holder.

Frm my friend, i found out that they who got other course and other college will have to send the application form to coresponding college, and also about the fees. in my letter it isnt stated any about these.

gman
01-06-2009, 06:22 PM
i think you can fill in the form and bring it during registration. if you wish to really clarify your doubts, you can call the Centre for American Education in INTI and ask them. i am sure they are willing to help.

Cadence_hope
01-06-2009, 06:39 PM
And i m quite confuse that do i have to send back the application form from inti to INTI or i just hand in to them during registration because it isnt stated there. all i got from INTI(come along with the letter) is 3 catalog, one application form(1 sheet of paper only) and one form for accomodation for jpa holder.

During my application to inti (SJ campus), they let us choose whether send it through post or hand it directly to the office. Though I'm not jpa scholar, I guess they won't differ much in the application process. What I need to submit that time is the cheque of course, 2 passport-sized photographs and a photocopy of my IC.

lionhearttwb
01-06-2009, 06:40 PM
well~~thx for that
i thk i will be calling them if my email enquiry doest get a respond soon
thx much...

but i wonder was some of the document are lost...

During my application to inti (SJ campus), they let us choose whether send it through post or hand it directly to the office. Though I'm not jpa scholar, I guess they won't differ much in the application process.

erm...ok...
thanx for that

===========================================

1 more thing is that when i check on INTI's website,
The AUP only has intake in september,
so, does it mean i will only start sch on september?

Cadence_hope
01-06-2009, 06:48 PM
1 more thing is that when i check on INTI's website,
The AUP only has intake in september,
so, does it mean i will only start sch on september?

For normal AUP course, the intakes are Jan, May and Sept. But maybe yours will be different. Didn't they state it in the letter? I saw on jpa website that those PILN scholars will start their study from 23Jun to July(forgot the date). It's better to ask the jpa officer to clarify it.

maestro_zouk
01-06-2009, 10:28 PM
hi
i got science in cempaka school..
anyone got/from there???

jyin
01-06-2009, 11:25 PM
icic, Inti is a good place. haha. Btw, Inti is in Nilai, not Seremban. Guess we cant meet each other then. Lol. All the best to u.

mm...aiks...cant meet u up...anyway,really nice 2 know u...thanks o~

opisthonecta
02-06-2009, 10:29 AM
Welcome to Cempaka International School, Maestro!

Meanwhile, Maestro, are you applying for science??? Thanks.

g1noah
02-06-2009, 11:09 AM
Welcome to Cempaka International School, Maestro!

Meanwhile, Maestro, are you applying for science??? Thanks.

Lol. You're from Cempaka also? Do I know you ? :wink

sonatinalai
02-06-2009, 12:30 PM
Yea...ophistonecta is Marphy!
The name resembles 'octopus' to me...haha!

g1noah
02-06-2009, 02:04 PM
Marphy ??!!! Naughty boy. Lol....

adventurer54d1
02-06-2009, 06:25 PM
maestro_zouk (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=11659), be prepared for 2 yrs 'enjoyable' life in international SCHOOL!!!!^^

maestro_zouk
02-06-2009, 08:22 PM
why is there only seniors here??
no one get there for this year???

Neow
03-06-2009, 06:51 PM
Welcome to Cempaka. I am g1noah's room mate. Haha.
By the way, what course you want to major in?

technicolor
03-06-2009, 07:50 PM
Why everyone is going to Cempaka. T.T

No one got INTI ah?

sienz7
03-06-2009, 11:59 PM
it seems like the senior to junior ratio is 6:1(cempaka)
lol

white
04-06-2009, 01:21 AM
hi...any senior studying MONASH uni sunway campus in science course? or those who are going to enter..
i got jpa local scho.anyone going with me??haha

sonatinalai
04-06-2009, 01:58 PM
Why everyone is going to Cempaka. T.T

No one got INTI ah?

As far as I know, only one (maestro_zouk) is coming to CEMPAKA! Why huh? So few juniors we can just omit the orientation...

technicolor
09-06-2009, 04:51 PM
As far as I know, only one (maestro_zouk) is coming to CEMPAKA! Why huh? So few juniors we can just omit the orientation...
:laugh

How about the syllabus & subjects for Science in INTI-UC? Does anyone know?

gman
10-06-2009, 04:53 PM
i believe that students under the science major in INTI UC will take a variety of subjects including all three science subjects, calculus, some social sciences, humanities and other requirements of the general education system of the USA.

technicolor
10-06-2009, 08:37 PM
i believe that students under the science major in INTI UC will take a variety of subjects including all three science subjects, calculus, some social sciences, humanities and other requirements of the general education system of the USA.
Do we have to get ourselves prepared first before we're heading for registration?

10-06-2009, 08:40 PM
Do we have to get ourselves prepared first before we're heading for registration?
no need one. just brush up all the science subjects.

technicolor
10-06-2009, 08:47 PM
My brain rusts already. =.=

ZIXIN
16-06-2009, 04:04 PM
hi...any senior studying MONASH uni sunway campus in science course? or those who are going to enter..
yea..any senior taking jpa for science course at MONASH?..
white..,i get ipts for science course too...
btw,when are they going to send the letter? cnt wait.

white
18-06-2009, 12:15 AM
yea..any senior taking jpa for science course at MONASH?..
white..,i get ipts for science course too...
btw,when are they going to send the letter? cnt wait.

hey!! cool~~ finally get sb taking science!! im still continueing form six while waiting for the letter to come.zixin,possibly we will be roommate o~since there's so lil ppl get jpa science in monash..hmm..

technicolor
18-06-2009, 12:22 AM
So jealous you got a friend, White

:notrust

jyin
18-06-2009, 12:27 AM
My brain rusts already. =.=

me too...aiks...

technicolor
18-06-2009, 12:36 AM
I came through a Tutor newspaper just now and I can't even solve an easy Add Math question T.T

white
18-06-2009, 11:28 PM
So jealous you got a friend, White

:notrust

haha....dont be jealous ma....i can be your friend too de...
hey,technicolor,you going to do science course in INTI-UC ha? where is it located?
maybe we can exchange our study tips nxt time...:wink

technicolor
18-06-2009, 11:41 PM
haha....dont be jealous ma....i can be your friend too de...
hey,technicolor,you going to do science course in INTI-UC ha? where is it located?
maybe we can exchange our study tips nxt time...:wink
INTI-UC Nilai Negeri Sembilan :)

Why not? :wink

jyin
21-06-2009, 09:14 PM
excuse me..i have a question over here..
do we have to print the "jpa enrollment form" out?

technicolor
21-06-2009, 09:22 PM
excuse me..i have a question over here..
do we have to print the "jpa enrollment form" out?
Where did u get that form anyway? :huh

jyin
23-06-2009, 10:39 PM
here (http://www.intimal.edu.my/intinew/Events/JPA.pdf)--
http://www.intimal.edu.my/intinew/Events/JPA.pd (http://www.intimal.edu.my/intinew/Events/JPA.pdf)
nilai-uc d..
erm,i guess i've misunderstood..haha...4get it...

slayer
01-07-2009, 02:19 PM

hi ya!!
i m joining u...
r u wearing white on tt day? haha...

white
02-07-2009, 12:01 AM
hi ya!!
i m joining u...
r u wearing white on tt day? haha...

haha...u bet i wear white huh....:P
okie...see ya on friday then!!! :nod

rene5894
12-03-2010, 08:03 PM
i would like to ask what course is the science-biology from the choices in the application form?? if i want to take up the the biomedical science...should i choose the 'science-biology'..??

g1noah
12-03-2010, 10:20 PM
i would like to ask what course is the science-biology from the choices in the application form?? if i want to take up the the biomedical science...should i choose the 'science-biology'..??

Hi, I'm a JPA scholar of year 2007. As for my year, they still do not separate science subject into separate fields yet. But do take note on one thing, (that will not change I presume.) is that THOSE WHO TOOK SCIENCE SUBJECT AS THE CHOICE CANNOT TAKE ANY MEDICAL RELATED COURSES.

14-03-2010, 02:20 AM
Hey, I'm SPM'09 leaver and currently applying for various scholarships now, including JPA of course. Actually, i intended to study Actuarial Science at the very beginning, since i was still in Form 4 to be precise, but unfortunately this year Actuarial Science has been removed from the list of courses offered by JPA, and that's really heart-breaking news for me. Apparently, i have to choose other course, and if possible, actuarial-related course, such as economics or science(maths), cause i hope to switch into actuarial field upon graduation in future. In this case, i know that every year a very few places'd be offered by JPA to scholars to study Science, and of course, the competition'd be way tougher as compared to Economics.

I was from Science stream and scored 6A+, 4A in SPM'09. It's normal if science stream students choose science-related careers, such as medic, engineering, law, science, etc etc. But for a science student to switch from science stream into art stream, there are quite a few except for those who took principle of account as an additional subject last year, like me. So, Economics'd have less competition as compared to Science to me, provided if i do well in the interview. So, if i'm choosing Science for my intention to study Maths, what is the chance for me on getting the scholarship for Science? Just to clarify more, since Science is a very wide field, when'd the JPA send their list for us to choose which course we want to major in? Is maths included in the list? I'd really appreciate it if someone can clarify my questions and thanks in advance. :)

g1noah
14-03-2010, 04:16 PM
Hey, I'm SPM'09 leaver and currently applying for various scholarships now, including JPA of course. Actually, i intended to study Actuarial Science at the very beginning, since i was still in Form 4 to be precise, but unfortunately this year Actuarial Science has been removed from the list of courses offered by JPA, and that's really heart-breaking news for me. Apparently, i have to choose other course, and if possible, actuarial-related course, such as economics or science(maths), cause i hope to switch into actuarial field upon graduation in future. In this case, i know that every year a very few places'd be offered by JPA to scholars to study Science, and of course, the competition'd be way tougher as compared to Economics.

I was from Science stream and scored 6A+, 4A in SPM'09. It's normal if science stream students choose science-related careers, such as medic, engineering, law, science, etc etc. But for a science student to switch from science stream into art stream, there are quite a few except for those who took principle of account as an additional subject last year, like me. So, Economics'd have less competition as compared to Science to me, provided if i do well in the interview. So, if i'm choosing Science for my intention to study Maths, what is the chance for me on getting the scholarship for Science? Just to clarify more, since Science is a very wide field, when'd the JPA send their list for us to choose which course we want to major in? Is maths included in the list? I'd really appreciate it if someone can clarify my questions and thanks in advance. :)

Erm, actually JPA won't ask you which subject is your major when you applied for the scholarship under Science category. So choosing Maths as your major should not affect your application in any way. (Since they don't know about it.)

As for the list to choose your major, there is none for my year. We are free to choose any Science related fields, with a few exceptions of course, so you can decide your major subject only when you are applying for university. (At least this is how it works for the UK education system, I don't know about US system though.) Btw, just to make you feel more relieve, there are about 3-4 of the JPA scholars within my institution who are applying for Maths or related courses. (And they have received the offer from university.) Hope this helps. :)

14-03-2010, 04:29 PM
Erm, actually JPA won't ask you which subject is your major when you applied for the scholarship under Science category. So choosing Maths as your major should not affect your application in any way. (Since they don't know about it.)

As for the list to choose your major, there is none for my year. We are free to choose any Science related fields, with a few exceptions of course, so you can decide your major subject only when you are applying for university. (At least this is how it works for the UK education system, I don't know about US system though.) Btw, just to make you feel more relieve, there are about 3-4 of the JPA scholars within my institution who are applying for Maths or related courses. (And they have received the offer from university.) Hope this helps. :)

So, mind for me to ask, what would JPA ask about Science in the interview? Can i converse about Maths in the interview? For example, can i say that i wish to study Maths under Science course and what Maths topics i have studied during this long holiday?? Thanks for relieving me and giving me advices. :)

g1noah
14-03-2010, 04:37 PM
So, mind for me to ask, what would JPA ask about Science in the interview? Can i converse about Maths in the interview? For example, can i say that i wish to study Maths under Science course and what Maths topics i have studied during this long holiday?? Thanks for relieving me and giving me advices. :)

Actually, I forgot about one thing, JPA officers might ask you about what courses you want to take as a major and might ask you to elaborate on it. However, in my year, it is done inofficially, meaning they take it as part of the interview and not that you must stick to your choice later on. So you can definitely talk about your passion for Maths. In my opinion, telling them your passion is much more important, and your efforts to study more topics on Maths should be an evidence for your passion. Do take note that the interviewing officers usually do not have in depth knowledge into the field you are applying, so you might as well save some time on telling them some technical terms, and instead tell them what they understand (or wish to listen. :P)

14-03-2010, 04:53 PM
Actually, I forgot about one thing, JPA officers might ask you about what courses you want to take as a major and might ask you to elaborate on it. However, in my year, it is done inofficially, meaning they take it as part of the interview and not that you must stick to your choice later on. So you can definitely talk about your passion for Maths. In my opinion, telling them your passion is much more important, and your efforts to study more topics on Maths should be an evidence for your passion. Do take note that the interviewing officers usually do not have in depth knowledge into the field you are applying, so you might as well save some time on telling them some technical terms, and instead tell them what they understand (or wish to listen. :P)

Oh thanks for telling me all these. I think that'd be great if i converse about what i have studied myself during this long holiday. Hope to amaze them with the maths topics that i have studied though. :) Erm, one more question, what is my chance of getting this course for this scholarship with my result, 6A+(Maths, Add Maths, Physics, Account, History and Moral) and 4A(Chemistry, Biology, BM and BI), provided that i do well in the interview??? Most of your friends who got Science course for JPA have a good result in SPM, right? Mind for me to ask, how was your result back then? Sorry for asking too much, i'm just over worrying. :)

14-03-2010, 04:59 PM
Take a deep breath. Go and apply.
The rest are mere details.

p/s: The question is kinda redundant, no offense. If I said you have a high chance, that would not be truthful. If I said you had a low chance, it would not be truthful either. So...don't think too much about it.

g1noah
14-03-2010, 05:07 PM
Oh thanks for telling me all these. I think that'd be great if i converse about what i have studied myself during this long holiday. Hope to amaze them with the maths topics that i have studied though. :) Erm, one more question, what is my chance of getting this course for this scholarship with my result, 6A+(Maths, Add Maths, Physics, Account, History and Moral) and 4A(Chemistry, Biology, BM and BI), provided that i do well in the interview??? Most of your friends who got Science course for JPA have a good result in SPM, right? Mind for me to ask, how was your result back then? Sorry for asking too much, i'm just over worrying. :)

Erm, back then we still do not have A+ system, so I think we can't really compare this. Like what nickvl said, you just need to be chill, be yourself on that day, then everything should turn out fine.

As for our results, most of us get straight A, but I don't know whether it is A1 or A2, ranging from 9As to 16As. Don't worry about the results though, I had 11 A1 and 1 B3, and still I get the scholarship. All the best to you!! :))

14-03-2010, 05:09 PM
Okay, i think i'll apply for Science course. :) Thanks a lot.

billiejean
15-03-2010, 06:03 PM
hey everyone.. i was wondering if it's better to take veterinary science or science(and then major in marine science).. does JPA allow this? and what are the chances of applying veterinary science for JPA? please comment.. i desperately need help on this...:(

15-03-2010, 08:36 PM
hey everyone.. i was wondering if it's better to take veterinary science or science(and then major in marine science).. does JPA allow this? and what are the chances of applying veterinary science for JPA? please comment.. i desperately need help on this...:(
yes, JPA allows such thing. Veterinary science, rarely people applied for this kind of scholarship, but the allocation for this scholarship is quite small because of that. so, we might nvr knw whether you can get the scholarship or not.

it is up to you to choose.

Harfan
17-03-2010, 07:15 PM
hey recommers...

just wanna ask something about this science course. Say...can I do forensic science under this course?? Can someone list some of the major that we can take as this course is very wide...thanks.

Melissachua
17-03-2010, 07:44 PM
I'm pursuing Bachelor of Science in University of Sydney, majoring in Immunology and Pharmacology. :)

hanaminaito
17-03-2010, 07:59 PM
I'm pursuing Bachelor of Science in University of Sydney, majoring in Immunology and Pharmacology. :)

So you're under jpa?

Melissachua
17-03-2010, 08:06 PM
So you're under jpa?

Yes, I am. Under Ivy League scheme tho

smy
17-03-2010, 09:47 PM
my fren is applying for science too.she wants to do physics and maths.gt 7A+ and 3As in spm.

18-03-2010, 01:09 AM
my fren is applying for science too.she wants to do physics and maths.gt 7A+ and 3As in spm.

Wow, so many competitors this year. Can anyone take double degree in Science course??? :)

Yeay, i just applied for Science course in JPA scholarship application. Well, i just found out that Science course is actually very wide, and i noticed something actually. Actuarial Science may be under Science course as well in certain universities. Is that true that JPA won't care about what major we are in as long as it is Bachelor of Science??? If so, i can apply for Bachelor of Science(Actuarial Science) when i do my Pre-U later on right? Well, even in Cass Business School, City University London, the name of degree for Actuarial Science is Bsc. Science(Actuarial Science). Hope some seniors can enlighten me on this statements. Thanks in advance and i really appreciate it. :)

holmes9216
18-03-2010, 07:21 AM
hi!its gr8 2 know lots had taking sc course .i also take it n apply under jpa.but,some said jpa didnt send female stdnt 2 US.am i right?could i still can study social sc when pursue study 2 college tat nt bound 2 US prep college(i mean INTI)?act,i've strong interest in physics,astromy,geolog,social sc.i got a+(bm,chemstry,add math,math), a(physics,bi).realizing quite hard 2 achieve d requirmnt,does it kill my dream?

technicolor
18-03-2010, 04:32 PM
Hey Science applicants! I'm Rudy, now doing Applied Science (or just plain Science as you guys said), at INTI-UC Nilai under JPA. All I can say is, Science course give you total freedom to decide what do you want to do as long as it's science-related and is not related to other categories of application eg Social Science, Actuarial Science, Biomedicals etc

Feel free to ask me any questions regarding the course, interviews etc You may also ask about the country, yeah I got US

Drop by my blog or just send me a private message, okay!? :amuse

That sounds pretty good. I can say that because even some of JPA scholars here had a number of B's. But don't be too sure about it :)

but,some said jpa didnt send female stdnt 2 US.am i right?
Nope, you're wrong! :P But I don't know if they change the gender quota or whatsoever this year. I wonder why would they stop sending female students anyway, it doesn't make sense :P

could i still can study social sc when pursue study 2 college tat nt bound 2 US prep college(i mean INTI)?act,i've strong interest in physics,astromy,geolog,social sc.i got a+(bm,chemstry,add math,math), a(physics,bi).realizing quite hard 2 achieve d requirmnt,does it kill my dream?
You can't choose Social Science as your major if you selected Science category. If you have a tendency to major in Social Science, you should've applied for Social Science earlier, not Science. Anyway, in INTI-UC, we have to take a few humanities related subjects to fulfill university requirements and credits transferability.

Hey your result is good lah, congrats. :amuse

hey recommers...

just wanna ask something about this science course. Say...can I do forensic science under this course?? Can someone list some of the major that we can take as this course is very wide...thanks.

Yes, you may. Just so you know, I have many friends here want to major in forensics. You can choose any Science related major, as long as it doesn't clash with other category of application.

Examples:

You can't do Bioscience Engineering because it's under Engineering.
You can't do Biomedical Science because it's under Medicine.
You can't do Sports Science or Psychology because it's under Social Science.
You can't do Computing Mathematics because it's under Computer Science.
You can't do Veterinary Science, Agriculture, Optometry because all this course already have their own application category.

As simple as that. :)

Still, you have hundreds of majors to be chosen, I name some of them - Biology, Geology, Geophysics, Forensic Science, Astrophysics, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Environmental Science, Genetics, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics etc

18-03-2010, 04:43 PM
Examples:

You can't do Veterinary Science, Agriculture, Optometry because all this course already have their own application category.

Still, you have hundreds of majors to be chosen, I name some of them - Biology, Geology, Geophysics, Forensic Science, Astrophysics, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Environmental Science, Genetics, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics etc

Actuarial Science??? :amuse

technicolor
18-03-2010, 05:04 PM
Actuarial Science??? :amuse
. . . . . . . . . :notrust

I think you can. But I think lah, not so sure. :P Because if you really love Actuarial Science what else could you apply, other than Science itself, right?

18-03-2010, 05:15 PM
. . . . . . . . . :notrust

I think you can. But I think lah, not so sure. :P Because if you really love Actuarial Science what else could you apply, other than Science itself, right?

Haha... :laugh Yeah, i can't apply anything else except Science itself. Oh, maybe Economics. I have considered Economics before but later on i decided that I should take Science and major in Maths as Maths has the closest relation to Actuarial Science. So, as i have seen a lot of degree for actuarial science are actually BSc. in Actuarial Science in some universities, i think my hopes are still there. Not harm trying for it, right? If JPA don't allow it, the most i can do is just major in Maths la. But, I think JPA won't be so cruel, hopefully. :)

technicolor
18-03-2010, 05:28 PM
Yeah. I'll ask JPA advisor in INTI's Center of American Education tomorrow. :)

18-03-2010, 05:37 PM
Yeah. I'll ask JPA advisor in INTI's Center of American Education tomorrow. :)

Yeay, thanks a lot Rudy!!! :amuse

hanaminaito
18-03-2010, 06:50 PM
Examples:

neuroscience???

technicolor
18-03-2010, 07:00 PM
neuroscience???
Yes, you can do neuroscience. :)

This is the tricky part, based on what I got to know from JPA advisor here, you can do neuroscience but you can't do biomedical science, though neuroscience also is a part of medicine majors. Strange, isn't it?

You choose your major, if it's obviously accepted, there you go. If it's arguable, everything is up back to JPA.

Anyway, as far as I know, you can do neuroscience. :)

hanaminaito
19-03-2010, 04:03 PM
Yes, you can do neuroscience. :)

This is the tricky part, based on what I got to know from JPA advisor here, you can do neuroscience but you can't do biomedical science, though neuroscience also is a part of medicine majors. Strange, isn't it?

You choose your major, if it's obviously accepted, there you go. If it's arguable, everything is up back to JPA.

Anyway, as far as I know, you can do neuroscience. :)

if i choose neuropharmacology, is it still acceptable?

technicolor
19-03-2010, 06:35 PM
if i choose neuropharmacology, is it still acceptable?
I think yes, because both neuroscience and pharmacology are acceptable, as long as you're able to find universities that offer the major and the most importantly, the major does really exist! :P

As I wrote before, everything is up back to JPA.

hanaminaito
19-03-2010, 11:05 PM
I think yes, because both neuroscience and pharmacology are acceptable, as long as you're able to find universities that offer the major and the most importantly, the major does really exist! :P

As I wrote before, everything is up back to JPA.

Thanks a lot!

holmes9216
20-03-2010, 11:05 AM
You can't choose Social Science as your major if you selected Science category. If you have a tendency to major in Social Science, you should've applied for Social Science earlier, not Science. Anyway, in INTI-UC, we have to take a few humanities related subjects to fulfill university requirements and credits transferability.

thanks a lots.wat r d humanities related subjects?wat r others prep college except INTI?after finish at INTI,which universty would be pursued specifically(in uk n us)?would u share about d interview?my apologise bcz too mny questns!

starlover
20-03-2010, 03:02 PM
thanks a lots.wat r d humanities related subjects?wat r others prep college except INTI?after finish at INTI,which universty would be pursued specifically(in uk n us)?would u share about d interview?my apologise bcz too mny questns!

JPA also sent their scholars (Science) here in KYUEM for those who're going to UK :amuse

I don't know about this year though

20-03-2010, 03:15 PM
JPA also sent their scholars (Science) here in KYUEM for those who're going to UK :amuse

I don't know about this year though

Starlover!!!!!!!! Really ar??? But as i know, JPA seldom send their Science scholars to UK as the exchange rates for Pound Sterling is way higher than US Dollar. Hope that i can get UK though. I prefers UK more than US, but it's okay for me to study in US. :)

holmes9216
20-03-2010, 03:50 PM
me too,nisholasng925!

20-03-2010, 03:58 PM
me too,nisholasng925!

So if we are being called to the interview, what'd you answer if the panel ask you "which country'd you like to go and why?" ??? If me, i'd answer UK but for now i still can't find answer for why i'm choosing UK. :( How about you?

20-03-2010, 05:31 PM
So if we are being called to the interview, what'd you answer if the panel ask you "which country'd you like to go and why?" ??? If me, i'd answer UK but for now i still can't find answer for why i'm choosing UK. :( How about you?

You just have to tell the reason you choose UK in the first place. :)

technicolor
20-03-2010, 07:07 PM
If you got US, you have to do American Degree Transfer which basically consists of 5 semesters (2 years period) before you fly to the US. And you have to take a number of humanity related subjects (Philosophy, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, World Religions etc), social science related (Sociology, American Politics, Psychology etc) and one liberal art subject (either Art Appreciation or Music Appreciation) to fulfill the requirement. Anyway, American-based subjects such as United States History and American Politics are the most highly recommended though. I've taken American Politics and World Religion, they are really interesting. At the same time, you still have to study science subjects (Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Calculus) and also, you MUST pass two matapelajaran wajib-s (Malaysian Studies and Moral/Islamic Studies). The number of Science subjects you have to take depends on your major. For example, if you're going to major in Physics, you're required to take 2 Physics subjects and only 1 Biology. For Biology major, you don't have to take 2 Physics subjects and so on. Top colleges usually require more subjects to be completed.

I hope that is clear enough for you to get the first thought on US bond Science majors. :)

I don't know about other colleges other than INTI and KYUEM.

And about the interview, here (http://reignofrudz.blogspot.com/2009/04/code-is-jpa-scholarship-interview-part.html) it is, I hope you can understand bahasa rojak. :P

Starlover!!!!!!!! Really ar??? But as i know, JPA seldom send their Science scholars to UK as the exchange rates for Pound Sterling is way higher than US Dollar. Hope that i can get UK though. I prefers UK more than US, but it's okay for me to study in US. :)
Bear in mind that science majors in some top UK universities such as Oxford and Cambridge are listed under BA not BS. In US, you have various choices. I'm not influencing you or what, but it was just for additional information. :P

In my interview, I said US because I wanna go to one of the Ivies. But my SAT was too low and I couldn't go to Ivies :notrust

You just have to tell the reason you choose UK in the first place. :)
Indeed. :)

20-03-2010, 09:05 PM
If you got US, you have to do American Degree Transfer which basically consists of 5 semesters (2 years period) before you fly to the US. And you have to take a number of humanity related subjects (Philosophy, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, World Religions etc), social science related (Sociology, American Politics, Psychology etc) and one liberal art subject (either Art Appreciation or Music Appreciation) to fulfill the requirement. Anyway, American-based subjects such as United States History and American Politics are the most highly recommended though. I've taken American Politics and World Religion, they are really interesting. At the same time, you still have to study science subjects (Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Calculus) and also, you MUST pass two matapelajaran wajib-s (Malaysian Studies and Moral/Islamic Studies). The number of Science subjects you have to take depends on your major. For example, if you're going to major in Physics, you're required to take 2 Physics subjects and only 1 Biology. For Biology major, you don't have to take 2 Physics subjects and so on. Top colleges usually require more subjects to be completed.

I hope that is clear enough for you to get the first thought on US bond Science majors. :)

I don't know about other colleges other than INTI and KYUEM.

And about the interview, here (http://reignofrudz.blogspot.com/2009/04/code-is-jpa-scholarship-interview-part.html) it is, I hope you can understand bahasa rojak. :P

Wow, so many subjects to take just to fulfill the requirement. How many subjects in total are needed to fulfill the minimum requirement? Thanks for clarifying the US bond Science major. :)

Bear in mind that science majors in some top UK universities such as Oxford and Cambridge are listed under BA not BS. In US, you have various choices. I'm not influencing you or what, but it was just for additional information. :P

Thanks for clearing my doubts. :)

In my interview, I said US because I wanna go to one of the Ivies. But my SAT was too low and I couldn't go to Ivies :notrust)

Oh, how if i say i choose UK because i aims to enter Russell Group in UK since i was small, for example LSE??? Yeah i doubt with myself about SAT too, especially their too-advanced English.

starlover
20-03-2010, 09:46 PM

Yeah, a number of my friends here are taking Science, JPA-sponsored :amuse

Only Science and Biotechnology students.

Haa, you better find good reasons for that, or at least one solid reason. I've been asked that in my JPA interview last year :sweat "Why UK?"

technicolor
20-03-2010, 10:55 PM
Wow, so many subjects to take just to fulfill the requirement. How many subjects in total are needed to fulfill the minimum requirement? Thanks for clarifying the US bond Science major. :)

It's not as much as you thought. All electives (humanities, social science & liberal arts) are mainly 3 credit-hour subjects while all Science are 4 credit-hour subjects. The minimum credit hours per semester is 11-12 (for long semester - 4 months) and 4 (for short semester - 2 months). Every batch has 5 semesters, 4 long ones and 1 short. Basically you only have to fulfill the minimum transferable credit hours (usually around 40-50 credits, I'll correct this later if it's wrong).

My first semester combo was:
BIO121 - Principles of Biology I (4 cr)
POL121 - American Government & Politics (3 cr)
ENL101 - English Composition I (3 cr)
MAT131 - Calculus & Analytic Geometry I (4 cr)

Second semester:
CHM151 - General Chemistry I (4 cr)
REL200 - World Religions (3 cr)
MAT132 - Calculus & Analytic Geometry II (4 cr)
MPW2133 - Malaysian Studies (0 cr)

Third semester (short sem):
CHM152 - General Chemistry II (4 cr)
MPW2143 - Islamic Studies (0 cr)

So, 14 + 11 + 4 = 29 cr. I only have to cover 15-25 more for another two semesters. :) You can choose whatever available subjects for every semester as long as the timetable doesn't clash.

Oh, how if i say i choose UK because i aims to enter Russell Group in UK since i was small, for example LSE??? Yeah i doubt with myself about SAT too, especially their too-advanced English.
You can try, but make sure you have enough knowledge about that. I'm not sure about Russel group thingy, I only can assist you in ADTP programme. :)

21-03-2010, 12:16 AM
Yeah, a number of my friends here are taking Science, JPA-sponsored :amuse

Only Science and Biotechnology students.

Oh, that means i stands a chance to being sponsored to UK. Thanks anyways! :)

Haa, you better find good reasons for that, or at least one solid reason. I've been asked that in my JPA interview last year :sweat "Why UK?"

Yeah, i'm still wondering now. Anyone have a good answers there, mind to share? :)

It's not as much as you thought. All electives (humanities, social science & liberal arts) are mainly 3 credit-hour subjects while all Science are 4 credit-hour subjects. The minimum credit hours per semester is 11-12 (for long semester - 4 months) and 4 (for short semester - 2 months). Every batch has 5 semesters, 4 long ones and 1 short. Basically you only have to fulfill the minimum transferable credit hours (usually around 40-50 credits, I'll correct this later if it's wrong).

My first semester combo was:
BIO121 - Principles of Biology I (4 cr)
POL121 - American Government & Politics (3 cr)
ENL101 - English Composition I (3 cr)
MAT131 - Calculus & Analytic Geometry I (4 cr)

Second semester:
CHM151 - General Chemistry I (4 cr)
REL200 - World Religions (3 cr)
MAT132 - Calculus & Analytic Geometry II (4 cr)
MPW2133 - Malaysian Studies (0 cr)

Third semester (short sem):
CHM152 - General Chemistry II (4 cr)
MPW2143 - Islamic Studies (0 cr)

So, 14 + 11 + 4 = 29 cr. I only have to cover 15-25 more for another two semesters. :) You can choose whatever available subjects for every semester as long as the timetable doesn't clash.

Wow, that's nice. That means, i can also take most of the science and humanities courses that related to actuarial science such as Calculus, Economics, etc etc right? Anyways, American politics, American History and World Religions seems interesting though. I might wanna try them out in future. :)

You can try, but make sure you have enough knowledge about that. I'm not sure about Russel group thingy, I only can assist you in ADTP programme. :)

Enough knowledge about Russell Group? That means, group members of it and their history? And also reasons why i wanna enter Russell Group? Thanks for clearing my doubts though. :)

slayer
21-03-2010, 12:18 AM
As of my year (SPM 2008) JPA put most of the Science and Biotechnology applicants in Monash University Sunway Campus. I am not trying to diminish your hope of getting a place in overseas universities but due to financial constrain (or so they claimed) they are putting more applicants or Science, Biotechnology and Medic students in local private universities.

technicolor
21-03-2010, 12:23 AM
Wow, that's nice. That means, i can also take most of the science and humanities courses that related to actuarial science such as Calculus, Economics, etc etc right? Anyways, American politics, American History and World Religions seems interesting though. I might wanna try them out in future. :)
True enough. :)

Enough knowledge about Russell Group? That means, group members of it and their history? And also reasons why i wanna enter Russell Group? Thanks for clearing my doubts though. :)

I meant just brush up your knowledge about it lah, so that they'll know your enthusiasm with it. :)

As of my year (SPM 2008) JPA put most of the Science and Biotechnology applicants in Monash University Sunway Campus. I am not trying to diminish your hope of getting a place in overseas universities but due to financial constrain (or so they claimed) they are putting more applicants or Science, Biotechnology and Medic students in local private universities.

I don't think so because in INTI-UC alone the number of PILN Science scholars (SPM 2008 leavers) are about 45. That's only for US bond, we haven't counted the scholars for UK, New Zealand and Australia bond in other colleges yet.

But perhaps that could be true as well, because this year JPA only offers two countries - UK and US - instead of 4 for the last year's one.

21-03-2010, 12:23 AM
True enough. :)

Thanks for clarifying me!!! :)

I meant just brush up your knowledge about it lah, so that they'll know your enthusiasm with it. :)

Oh okay, thanks a lot!!! :)

slayer
22-03-2010, 11:54 AM
I don't think so because in INTI-UC alone the number of PILN Science scholars (SPM 2008 leavers) are about 45. That's only for US bond, we haven't counted the scholars for UK, New Zealand and Australia bond in other colleges yet.

But perhaps that could be true as well, because this year JPA only offers two countries - UK and US - instead of 4 for the last year's one.

Is it? But they are almost 200 of us here bound for Monash University Sunway Campus. (Science, Biotech, and Medic course)

holmes9216
28-03-2010, 03:11 PM
act,thanks a lot 4 d infrmtn.my sis(civil engneerng lectrer) said,uk is d best choice bcoz we apply lots of uk systems here-e.g measuremnt.people there r more respctful than us...-others say.i still dunno my firm answ as compettn might b toughr...:(

29-03-2010, 10:09 PM
I have got selected for the interview. Mine is being scheduled on 9th April at 8am, in Putrajaya. Anyone with me??? :)

jasjasmine
30-03-2010, 01:13 AM
I got chosen for the interview for Science too, but mine is on the 8th.

Where does this lead to though? Bachelor of Science? What will we be studying in the referred college?

I'm actually interested in doing Medicine or anything related to it, but I didn't choose Perubatan because I got B+ for Biology, so my chances in getting the scholarship is probably very low.

Anyone care to re-explain the pathway? (:

holmes9216
30-03-2010, 10:52 AM
mine on 6 apr,ketereh.i would share d exp n hopefully it goes smoothly...anyone got earlier than me?

g1noah
30-03-2010, 12:59 PM

Where does this lead to though? Bachelor of Science? What will we be studying in the referred college?

I'm actually interested in doing Medicine or anything related to it, but I didn't choose Perubatan because I got B+ for Biology, so my chances in getting the scholarship is probably very low.

As I have mentioned before, if you applied under Science, you are not able to do any subjects in direct relation to medicine. You are able to apply any other science courses though, so long as it does not overlap with other fields sponsored by JPA.

We will be studying preparatory courses depending on which country you are being sent to. For UK, we'll study A-levels. I don't know much about other countries though.

Hope this helps. Feel free to ask me if you need any help. Cheers. :)

jasjasmine
30-03-2010, 03:04 PM
As I have mentioned before, if you applied under Science, you are not able to do any subjects in direct relation to medicine. You are able to apply any other science courses though, so long as it does not overlap with other fields sponsored by JPA.

We will be studying preparatory courses depending on which country you are being sent to. For UK, we'll study A-levels. I don't know much about other countries though.

Thanks. Is it allowed to mention the fact that I might be more interested in medicine during the interview? :/

By the way, I chose Penajaan Dalam Negara. I'm not interested in going overseas :P What difference does it make? But, like you said, if we're sent to study A-levels, won't it be the same if I discontinued the scholarship after I've completed it and continue with medicine? Just curious :nod

smy
30-03-2010, 04:43 PM

Why dont u consider taking science as a first degree first and after that u can always opt for graduare-entry medical programme(4 yrs) which are available in unis like ANU,unis of melbourne and sydney and some ivyleagues.

30-03-2010, 05:48 PM

Hey g1noah, just wanna ask you regarding the majors i can take in Science course, you have just stated that JPA allows Science scholar to take any major as long as it does not overlap with other fields offered by JPA. Now, Actuarial Science is no longer being offered by JPA and is that means, that i can talk about majoring in Actuarial Science in the interview??? Hope you can reply me soon enough as my interview'd be on next Friday. :)

g1noah
30-03-2010, 07:33 PM
Thanks. Is it allowed to mention the fact that I might be more interested in medicine during the interview? :/

By the way, I chose Penajaan Dalam Negara. I'm not interested in going overseas :P What difference does it make? But, like you said, if we're sent to study A-levels, won't it be the same if I discontinued the scholarship after I've completed it and continue with medicine? Just curious :nod

Hmm, my advice is mentioning about the fact that you are more interested in medicine won't do you any good during the interview. (Or may be it won't do you harm also. Not so sure about this.)

The difference is huge actually. Some qualities I saw in local fresh undergraduates are quite depressing. May be this phenomenon is present in every country, I don't know. But still, the education system is very much different. From what I heard from a lot of people, local education system does not teach us how to think, it only shoves tons and tons of knowledge down our throats, whether we truly understand them or not is not the concern of our education system. This is just one example.

It would be very unwise to discontinued JPA scholarship after you finished a pre-u course, as you will have to pay additional court fees or so, as mentioned in the contracts. Not to mention other miscellaneous fees. So it would be whole lot more expensive compared to you just pay for yourself in the first place.

Anyway, wish you good luck with your interview. :)

Hey g1noah, just wanna ask you regarding the majors i can take in Science course, you have just stated that JPA allows Science scholar to take any major as long as it does not overlap with other fields offered by JPA. Now, Actuarial Science is no longer being offered by JPA and is that means, that i can talk about majoring in Actuarial Science in the interview??? Hope you can reply me soon enough as my interview'd be on next Friday. :)

I can't say for sure though. (Since I am not working for the JPA. :P) However, according to what the JPA officers tell us, so long as it doesn't overlap, you can take it. And if actuarial science is not being offered as a separate course option, my guess would be it should falls under science.

Erm, does JPA offer economics or business related courses this year? If there are, I am afraid that JPA might consider actuarial science under business field. Actuarial science should be something in between science and business, so may be you should check this out with the JPA officers during your interview. (Interview tips : Asking such questions may help you stand out. :)))

All the best to you. :)

30-03-2010, 10:22 PM
I can't say for sure though. (Since I am not working for the JPA. :P) However, according to what the JPA officers tell us, so long as it doesn't overlap, you can take it. And if actuarial science is not being offered as a separate course option, my guess would be it should falls under science.

Erm, does JPA offer economics or business related courses this year? If there are, I am afraid that JPA might consider actuarial science under business field. Actuarial science should be something in between science and business, so may be you should check this out with the JPA officers during your interview. (Interview tips : Asking such questions may help you stand out. :)))

All the best to you. :)

Well, JPA do offer Business Administration and Economics but i can say that the places allocated for it are extremely limited, and i believes JPA allocates more places to Science scholars. In fact, lots of universities named Actuarial Science as Bachelor in Science (Actuarial Science), including LSE and City University London (one of the pioneer and prestigious universities that offer Actuarial Science in UK). So, it's just up to JPA to consider whether to put this course under Science or not. Yes, i think it's good idea to point out this question during the interview, for they may think longer on me. If i'm not allowed to take Actuarial Science as my major, i will just major in Mathematics and Statistics, which i can still switch into actuarial field later on, perhaps taking actuarial exams during my degree.

During the interview??? I thought those interviewers are professionals in each candidate's fields, not JPA officers. So, that means i should ask about it before the interview to the JPA officers outside, or during the interview? :) Thanks a lot!!!

g1noah
30-03-2010, 11:42 PM
Well, JPA do offer Business Administration and Economics but i can say that the places allocated for it are extremely limited, and i believes JPA allocates more places to Science scholars. In fact, lots of universities named Actuarial Science as Bachelor in Science (Actuarial Science), including LSE and City University London (one of the pioneer and prestigious universities that offer Actuarial Science in UK). So, it's just up to JPA to consider whether to put this course under Science or not. Yes, i think it's good idea to point out this question during the interview, for they may think longer on me. If i'm not allowed to take Actuarial Science as my major, i will just major in Mathematics and Statistics, which i can still switch into actuarial field later on, perhaps taking actuarial exams during my degree.

During the interview??? I thought those interviewers are professionals in each candidate's fields, not JPA officers. So, that means i should ask about it before the interview to the JPA officers outside, or during the interview? :) Thanks a lot!!!

Erm, actually those interviewers are not experts in respective fields. They are just ordinary JPA officers. At least that was the case for my year. So if the interview system stays the same, then I suggest you asking during the interview. Because at the end of the interview, the interviewer will ask you all whether you have any questions to ask. You might as well grab the chance.

Your plan sounds good. I guess you don't have to worry much then. Cheers. :)

31-03-2010, 12:15 AM
Erm, actually those interviewers are not experts in respective fields. They are just ordinary JPA officers. At least that was the case for my year. So if the interview system stays the same, then I suggest you asking during the interview. Because at the end of the interview, the interviewer will ask you all whether you have any questions to ask. You might as well grab the chance.

Your plan sounds good. I guess you don't have to worry much then. Cheers. :)

I have read it somewhere about those interviewers in each room'd be the professionals in the fields the interviewees applied for, this year, or maybe the system stays the same. Sure i will grab my chance if they ask me whether i have any questions or not. How if they ask me about what'd i major in during the interview? Should i say about Actuarial Science, or just a mere Maths & Statistics? :) Thanks again!!! :)

g1noah
31-03-2010, 01:16 AM
I have read it somewhere about those interviewers in each room'd be the professionals in the fields the interviewees applied for, this year, or maybe the system stays the same. Sure i will grab my chance if they ask me whether i have any questions or not. How if they ask me about what'd i major in during the interview? Should i say about Actuarial Science, or just a mere Maths & Statistics? :) Thanks again!!! :)

Erm, actually I think what you are majoring doesn't matter much to the interview. They are judging you based on your qualities and not what you are majoring in. For my year, they didn't even ask me what I'll be majoring in. My suggestion would be you tell them you wanna major in Actuarial Science. And ask about whether they allow or not. (Just to draw more attention to yourself.) Even if they really do not allow, you can still always follow your plan you mentioned previously. So need not worry about that. :)

Actually, I doubt that there will be professionals, especially for Science. Just think of how many professionals they need to find for Science option alone. Not to mention that this will be costly too.

31-03-2010, 01:35 AM
Erm, actually I think what you are majoring doesn't matter much to the interview. They are judging you based on your qualities and not what you are majoring in. For my year, they didn't even ask me what I'll be majoring in. My suggestion would be you tell them you wanna major in Actuarial Science. And ask about whether they allow or not. (Just to draw more attention to yourself.) Even if they really do not allow, you can still always follow your plan you mentioned previously. So need not worry about that. :)

Actually, I doubt that there will be professionals, especially for Science. Just think of how many professionals they need to find for Science option alone. Not to mention that this will be costly too.

Oh really? Then i should be fine on saying my intention to major in Actuarial Science as they don't really evaluate it, but it's able to draw more attention from them by asking them this question. Yeah, and Science course is really really wide. Hmm, in that case, i think the interviewers should be JPA officers, or maybe professionals for other courses my group members applying for. Thanks anyways, you did help me a lot!!! :)

vishalshan
31-03-2010, 02:53 AM
why are msians so obsessed with act sc.lol..the graduates dont do as well as graduates in econs,law,medicine in north america.in australia many are in fact jobless

31-03-2010, 02:57 AM
why are msians so obsessed with act sc.lol..the graduates dont do as well as graduates in econs,law,medicine in north america.in australia many are in fact jobless

They don't do as well as graduates from econ, law, medic, etc because they have not yet passed all the professional exams. There's almost impossible for a qualified actuary to be jobless. In fact, the unemployment rate in Malaysia for qualified actuary is zilch. When there is risk, there is opportunity. :)

DCYL
31-03-2010, 10:29 AM
hey~ i'm interested in studying medicine locally and tried to apply for JPA scholarship for local programmes and chose science (taking it for granted that science includes med. coz the other choice is sastera). i am shortlised for the interview in kepala batas...should i go?

btw does jpa funds medicine studies locally anyway? it seems that they only support students to go overseas for medicine....:notrust

g1noah
31-03-2010, 10:48 AM
hey~ i'm interested in studying medicine locally and tried to apply for JPA scholarship for local programmes and chose science (taking it for granted that science includes med. coz the other choice is sastera). i am shortlised for the interview in kepala batas...should i go?

btw does jpa funds medicine studies locally anyway? it seems that they only support students to go overseas for medicine....:notrust

Hmm, I don't quite know about the differences between PILN and PIDN. So I can't really give you advices on this.

However, I think you should definitely go for the interview. Like someone mentioned in a post somewhere, you can always apply for medical related graduate studies after you have obtain your degree in biological sciences. Unless of course, you are certain that you can obtain excellent results in the notoriously tough STPM to secure a place in local university, or you have a strong financial background to send you to a private uni or oversea uni. So there is no harm giving it a try. :)

p/s : The interview is not that tough anyway. Need not worry about that. :)

phoebec
31-03-2010, 10:48 AM
@<hidden> My interview's the same place, time and date as yours. (:

For the discussion, will the topic revolve around science and tech in malaysia or will it be more general like "reading habits in malaysia" etc?

g1noah
31-03-2010, 10:52 AM
@<hidden> My interview's the same place, time and date as yours. (:

For the discussion, will the topic revolve around science and tech in malaysia or will it be more general like "reading habits in malaysia" etc?

This should be considered a digression of topic, but I hope mods won't notice it. :P

For the discussion, it is more likely to revolve around general topics, like those you get in SPM BM karangan, and the topic can be quite unexpected. It is very unlikely for you to get a highly specific topic since you will be interviewed in a group, with a mix of people applying for different courses. At least, this is the case for my year. :)

DCYL
31-03-2010, 11:06 AM
Hmm, I don't quite know about the differences between PILN and PIDN. So I can't really give you advices on this.

However, I think you should definitely go for the interview. Like someone mentioned in a post somewhere, you can always apply for medical related graduate studies after you have obtain your degree in biological sciences. Unless of course, you are certain that you can obtain excellent results in the notoriously tough STPM to secure a place in local university, or you have a strong financial background to send you to a private uni or oversea uni. So there is no harm giving it a try. :)

p/s : The interview is not that tough anyway. Need not worry about that. :)

thnks for the advice! btw, i heard if u go matriks you can still apply for jpa after you get ur results...is that true?

g1noah
31-03-2010, 12:50 PM
thnks for the advice! btw, i heard if u go matriks you can still apply for jpa after you get ur results...is that true?

Erm, I haven't heard about that before. May be someone can enlighten us on this?

However, I did hear about something similar. The application for scholarship from JPA after you obtaining pre-u qualifications would be different from the scholarship application you applied for now.

According to what I know, you'll have to enrol in a prestigious university oversea before applying for scholarship from JPA after you finish your pre-u. But then again, it all depends on JPA whether they will sponsor you or not. I do not know about local university though. Hope this helps. :)

31-03-2010, 02:10 PM
thnks for the advice! btw, i heard if u go matriks you can still apply for jpa after you get ur results...is that true?If you manage to enroll into medicine in any IPTA in Malaysia, you can apply for JPA PIDN, and the success rate is 100%, or rather, during your first month, it would be like "Who wants JPA scholarship?" You don't even have to submit application but rather wait for the forms and contracts to come to you. This applies to dentistry and pharmacy as well. Of course, the bond is same with PILN.

Caprix_J
01-04-2010, 12:14 AM
I'll be going for interview on 6th april .... so nicholas maybe i can share my experience with you coz my date is earlier than urs.... I wish to major in food science .... but i'm worrying for the chance i'll be getting it .... should we actually mention which course we're going to major in .... coz we're told to tell which course we're choosing and why we choose that course during our self intro right?

01-04-2010, 12:32 AM
I'll be going for interview on 6th april .... so nicholas maybe i can share my experience with you coz my date is earlier than urs.... I wish to major in food science .... but i'm worrying for the chance i'll be getting it .... should we actually mention which course we're going to major in .... coz we're told to tell which course we're choosing and why we choose that course during our self intro right?

Yeah, its a very common questions like "Which major do you wanna pick?", "Why do you want to study this?", "Which country do you wanna choose?", "Why do you wanna choose this country?", etc. Wow, sure. That'd be really great if you can share your experiences here. I'd really appreciate it, and don't worry too much about the interview. Just try to brush up your BM & BI speaking skills from now onwards, improves your ways of giving rational ideas, and read some news from various source. All the best for your interview!!! :)

Caprix_J
01-04-2010, 12:50 AM
ok ... so now i've made up my mind for food science .... all the best to you too ....I'm sure we can do it ....

01-04-2010, 12:59 AM
ok ... so now i've made up my mind for food science .... all the best to you too ....I'm sure we can do it ....

yeah, that's great. All the best to you too!!! :)

g1noah
01-04-2010, 08:04 AM

In case you are still worrying, there are about 2-3 JPA scholars in my school, who had chosen food science as their major. We are going to leave for UK this coming September.

Anyway, all the best to you.. :)

qinng
03-04-2010, 12:40 AM
halo, i m new here.so sad :(that i discovered this forum this late.haha:)
i have applied for Science too and am going for interview on next thursday.

i intend to take Chiropractic(which is a new couse in IMU & Malaysia). sorry for asking so much...
1) it's called Bachelor of Science-Chiropractic in IMU.there are 3 unis in australia offering this course :
RMIT-Bachelor of Applied Science (Complementary Medicine - Chiropractic)
Macquarie University -Bachelor of Chiropractic Science
Murdoch University -double-degree of Bachelor of Science (Chiropractic Science) / Bachelor of Chiropractic.
all these have the Bs titles,
so is this course under science with that Bs title?

2) do you think that it's safer for me to say that i want to do more common courses e.g. Chem, Bio?(in case the interviewers ask which major i wish to do)as Chiropractic is not a common major in our country. so that i have a higher chance to secure this scholarship.and then i apply for this course- Chiropractic after completing pre-U.

3) i so wish to do this course in Australia.is it possible for me to appeal if i got the JPA scholarship? there are colleges in the US & UK offering this course though.

hope to get replies soon & so thank you for everyone's comments.^^

03-04-2010, 12:57 AM

i intend to take Chiropractic(which is a new couse in IMU & Malaysia). sorry for asking so much...
1) it's called Bachelor of Science-Chiropractic in IMU.there are 3 unis in australia offering this course :
Murdoch University -double-degree of Bachelor of Science (Chiropractic Science) / Bachelor of Chiropractic.

2) do you think that it's safer for me to say that i want to do more common courses e.g. Chem, Bio?(in case the interviewers ask which major i wish to do)as Chiropractic is not a common major in our country. so that i have a higher chance to secure this scholarship.and then i apply for this course- Chiropractic after completing pre-U.

3) i so wish to do this course in Australia.is it possible for me to appeal if i got the JPA scholarship? there are colleges in the US & UK offering this course though.

1) Everything under Science course (Bachelor of Science) can be studied by Science scholars, as long as they don't overlap with other courses offered by JPA.

2) Ask seniors here. Sorry i have no idea about it. :)

3) There are colleges in US & UK offering this course, so why don't you go and study there? Why must Australia? Anything special?

Newspaper
03-04-2010, 01:13 AM
1.What is the meaning of Sains?What courses i will study if i got the scholarship?
2.Is there any places for the interview at Melaka because i choose Seremban for this JPA dalam negeri
3.How many years i should work for the gov if i got this scholarship?

SOS Pls tell me........

qinng
03-04-2010, 01:24 AM
1) Everything under Science course (Bachelor of Science) can be studied by Science scholars, as long as they don't overlap with other courses offered by JPA.

2) Ask seniors here. Sorry i have no idea about it. :)

3) There are colleges in US & UK offering this course, so why don't you go and study there? Why must Australia? Anything special?

i just have a special liking to go to australia.XD besides, in IMU, there's only one credit transfer option which is to RMIT. so i guess this uni is better....but this is just my opinion ...
anyway, i would be happy as long as i get this scholarship...haha. US & UK will do then although i still really feel like to study in australia.

thx a lot for your info!!!

03-04-2010, 01:28 AM
i just have a special liking to go to australia.XD besides, in IMU, there's only one credit transfer option which is to RMIT. so i guess this uni is better....but this is just my opinion ...
anyway, i would be happy as long as i get this scholarship...haha. US & UK will do then although i still really feel like to study in australia.

thx a lot for your info!!!

You're most welcome, and good luck to you in your interview!!! :)

qinng
03-04-2010, 01:30 AM
You're most welcome, and good luck to you in your interview!!! :)

haha.same too you...all The best^^:))

Newspaper
03-04-2010, 01:45 AM
Hi,i also apply for the JPA sains can u tell me what we will study if we got this scholarship please...

technicolor
03-04-2010, 02:01 AM
Hi,i also apply for the JPA sains can u tell me what we will study if we got this scholarship please...
It depends on the country that you'll get. If you got UK you will most likely study A-Levels, and if you got USA you will do American Degree Transfer Program. About ADTP, you may check the previous pages for detailed descriptions. :amuse

03-04-2010, 02:14 AM
It depends on the country that you'll get. If you got UK you will most likely study A-Levels, and if you got USA you will do American Degree Transfer Program. About ADTP, you may check the previous pages for detailed descriptions. :amuse

These should be her questions, hope seniors can help her. :)

1) What is the meaning of Sains?What courses i will study if i got the scholarship?
2) Is there any places for the interview at Melaka because i choose Seremban for this JPA dalam negeri
3) How many years i should work for the gov if i got this scholarship?

g1noah
03-04-2010, 12:41 PM

1) According to what our JPA officers told us, any Bsc courses can be taken with a few conditions, such as non-overlapping with our JPA course options, no sandwich course, cannot extend the length of course, and no double major with the 2nd major in another field. And there is one more thing to be noted, JPA strictly does not allow us to take any courses that can give us the option to change to medicine course in the later years, even if you do not intend to change course. You better check with the universities before hand.

2) Actually, what you chose to major is not that important really, the most important things, are your passion and your aspiration. Try to show the JPA officers that you have these, and you will definitely have a better chance of being offered the scholarship.

3)Hmm, I do not quite know about this. But this is inadvisable,you have secured the scholarship but they didn't send you to Australia. I doubt that they would allow this, but I do not know for sure. The priority now is to secure the scholarship though. All the best to you. :)

1.What is the meaning of Sains?What courses i will study if i got the scholarship?
2.Is there any places for the interview at Melaka because i choose Seremban for this JPA dalam negeri
3.How many years i should work for the gov if i got this scholarship?

SOS Pls tell me........

1. Although I should suggest you reading a few of the previous pages, then you would know the answer to this one. But I'll repeat it in short here. You can practically choose any course with Bsc titles. (with a few exceptions mentioned above.)

2. Sorry, can't help you with this one.

3. For my year, typical bond length is 6 years.

03-04-2010, 12:59 PM
1) According to what our JPA officers told us, any Bsc courses can be taken with a few conditions, such as non-overlapping with our JPA course options, no sandwich course, cannot extend the length of course, and no double major with the 2nd major in another field. And there is one more thing to be noted, JPA strictly does not allow us to take any courses that can give us the option to change to medicine course in the later years, even if you do not intend to change course. You better check with the universities before hand.

2) Actually, what you chose to major is not that important really, the most important things, are your passion and your aspiration. Try to show the JPA officers that you have these, and you will definitely have a better chance of being offered the scholarship.

3)Hmm, I do not quite know about this. But this is inadvisable,you have secured the scholarship but they didn't send you to Australia. I doubt that they would allow this, but I do not know for sure. The priority now is to secure the scholarship though. All the best to you. :)

Is that means, we can still take double major, as long as the second major doesn't overlap with other courses offered by JPA? And how long is the lengh of course? 3 years? How if we get invited to do Honour Degree? Thanks a lot! :)

qinng
03-04-2010, 01:43 PM
Originally Posted by g1noah http://www.recom.org/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?p=301649#post301649)

thank you so much g1noah. this means i can apply for this couse later on right( given that i secure this scholarship.)? thank you again!!

03-04-2010, 02:10 PM
thank you so much g1noah. this means i can apply for this couse later on right( given that i secure this scholarship.)? thank you again!!

Yes, you can apply for this course later on, so the first thing you need to do now is prepare for your interview and secure the scholarship first. :)

JunWei
03-04-2010, 02:31 PM
Hmm... just want to add some informations to you guys that JPA actually fund student to do Science courses locally in private university, as in my case, i was offered to do Science in Monash University Sunway campus(eventough i applied for PILN lol). We are the 1st batch to be send here so there might be a probability that JPA will continue to fund student to pursue their degree programs locally in private university... LOL

qinng
03-04-2010, 02:56 PM
thanks for you reply,Nicholasng925:)

Hmm... just want to add some informations to you guys that JPA actually fund student to do Science courses locally in private university, as in my case, i was offered to do Science in Monash University Sunway campus(eventough i applied for PILN lol). We are the 1st batch to be send here so there might be a probability that JPA will continue to fund student to pursue their degree programs locally in private university... LOL

may i know please if you are taking a specific science subject e.g. bio,chem. or general science?thx

g1noah
03-04-2010, 03:57 PM
Is that means, we can still take double major, as long as the second major doesn't overlap with other courses offered by JPA? And how long is the lengh of course? 3 years? How if we get invited to do Honour Degree? Thanks a lot! :)

For UK bound students, we can take double major with both major in science fields. The length of the course must be 3 years. Anyway, it is standard for all typical Bsc degree in UK. For UK system, most of the degree are in Bsc (Hons), meaning it is a Honour degree by default. However, depending on your results, you might get First Class Honour, Upper Second or Lower Second. :)

Originally Posted by g1noah http://www.recom.org/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?p=301649#post301649)

Yes. We only choose our major after we got enrolled into a pre-u institution. You will still have plenty of time to do your research on the course and universities. This applies for UK bound students, I do not know about scholars bound to other countries though. :)

May I know what are you majoring in actually? Or you are just studying Pre-U course in Monash ? Thanks. :)

03-04-2010, 04:25 PM
For UK bound students, we can take double major with both major in science fields. The length of the course must be 3 years. Anyway, it is standard for all typical Bsc degree in UK. For UK system, most of the degree are in Bsc (Hons), meaning it is a Honour degree by default. However, depending on your results, you might get First Class Honour, Upper Second or Lower Second. :)

That means, major in Mathematics and Statistics should be fine right? Oh, and the bond for UK Science scholars should be six years, regardless of which Honour degree you get, right? Thanks in advance. :)

JunWei
03-04-2010, 05:57 PM
may i know please if you are taking a specific science subject e.g. bio,chem. or general science?thx

May I know what are you majoring in actually? Or you are just studying Pre-U course in Monash ? Thanks. :)

I'm currently studying Pre-U course in Monash. The subjects is actually based on you own choice... depending on which course you intend to pursue and match the subjects with your course requirement but most courses will require Mathematics and Chemistry.

phoebec
03-04-2010, 08:25 PM

2) Actually, what you chose to major is not that important really, the most important things, are your passion and your aspiration. Try to show the JPA officers that you have these, and you will definitely have a better chance of being offered the scholarship..

My passion and aspiration is to become a mathematics lecturer. But there is a course of Sains whereby graduates from M'sia Public Uni will be able to teach in Kolej MARA etc. I'd like to go overseas or a twinning programme if possible (if JPA doesn't sponsor me) and I don't want to teach in the colleges that i'm able to after graduating (there's only a few colleges to choose).

So, is it ok for me to mention that I want to be a mathematics lecturer during the interview? I do intend to work as a mathematician for a few years and obtain a masters degree after my undergraduate studies though. Suggestions are most welcome. thanks in advance (:

g1noah
03-04-2010, 10:37 PM
That means, major in Mathematics and Statistics should be fine right? Oh, and the bond for UK Science scholars should be six years, regardless of which Honour degree you get, right? Thanks in advance. :)

Yes, majoring in Maths and Stats is perfectly alright. As for the bond length, it applies for every Science scholars bound to UK, and if I'm not mistaken, it applies to all JPA scholars, except for some critical courses such as medic. :)

I'm currently studying Pre-U course in Monash. The subjects is actually based on you own choice... depending on which course you intend to pursue and match the subjects with your course requirement but most courses will require Mathematics and Chemistry.

Can I know what pre-u are you studying for? And which universities can you apply to?

My passion and aspiration is to become a mathematics lecturer. But there is a course of Sains whereby graduates from M'sia Public Uni will be able to teach in Kolej MARA etc. I'd like to go overseas or a twinning programme if possible (if JPA doesn't sponsor me) and I don't want to teach in the colleges that i'm able to after graduating (there's only a few colleges to choose).

So, is it ok for me to mention that I want to be a mathematics lecturer during the interview? I do intend to work as a mathematician for a few years and obtain a masters degree after my undergraduate studies though. Suggestions are most welcome. thanks in advance (:

It's perfectly alright that you mention what you want to be later on in your life. That is a good example of your aspiration. Just tell them what you think and your plan. Remember, PASSION. :)

JunWei
04-04-2010, 12:42 AM
Can I know what pre-u are you studying for? And which universities can you apply to?

erm... it's called Monash University Foundation Year... The only University I can choose is Monash University lol... yea as reminder, switching University is not allowed (unless you made an appeal) if your university is stated in your offer letter... for most PIDN offers, universities are stated (unless your offer is to local universities, then you will get your offer sending you for matriculation course most probably and you get to choose your local universities later - UM, USM etc)

DCYL
04-04-2010, 03:00 PM
Why dont u consider taking science as a first degree first and after that u can always opt for graduare-entry medical programme(4 yrs) which are available in unis like ANU,unis of melbourne and sydney and some ivyleagues.

science as 1st degree will take about more than 1 year rite? lol...i can't wait that long...:|

If you manage to enroll into medicine in any IPTA in Malaysia, you can apply for JPA PIDN, and the success rate is 100%, or rather, during your first month, it would be like "Who wants JPA scholarship?" You don't even have to submit application but rather wait for the forms and contracts to come to you. This applies to dentistry and pharmacy as well. Of course, the bond is same with PILN.

oh ic...so i must get a place in the uni 1st after my matriks?:oh

what i have learnt so far:

- students who wants to study medicine should not apply PIDN in the 1st place coz they only offer bidang sains or sastera (nth to do with medicine) :notrust

so....now i've decided to go for the interview (I applied PIDN-science)...should i mention to them i'm interested in medicine? would they allow me to change course?

TQ [in advance :))]

04-04-2010, 03:04 PM
Yes, you need to secure a place in IPTA before you are eligible. On the other hand, post-SPM PIDN (I believe that's what they name it) is scholarship awarded last year to applicants who didn't manage to secure PILN scholarship, but were sponsored to IPTA/IPTS. This was first introduced last year so I'm not sure if this is continued this year.

smy
04-04-2010, 06:09 PM
science as 1st degree will take about more than 1 year rite? lol...i can't wait that long...:|

what i have learnt so far:

- students who wants to study medicine should not apply PIDN in the 1st place coz they only offer bidang sains or sastera (nth to do with medicine) :notrust

so....now i've decided to go for the interview (I applied PIDN-science)...should i mention to them i'm interested in medicine? would they allow me to change course?

TQ [in advance :))]
err im not very sure abt dis as medic applicants r required to go for the program kerjaya first.but u can try to ask during the interview.

DCYL
04-04-2010, 11:34 PM
what should i say if the interviewers ask me what are my interests or which science course i wanna major in? should i say medicine and explain that i took it for granted during the application that bidang sains covers med.??

really undecided wat to say :huh:oh but one thing is sure - im going to that interview! its just that im scared they will ask me: why i choose science and bla...bla..bla..=S HELP!

Chichiro
04-04-2010, 11:45 PM
Hi, IT / computer science still under science right? ( for local ) :D

05-04-2010, 09:52 AM
Hi, IT / computer science still under science right? ( for local ) :D

Yes, there're still word "science" right?

AbangBesar
05-04-2010, 11:51 AM
Yes, there're still word "science" right?

political science?

of course not dear. :amuse

frankchong
05-04-2010, 12:24 PM
I think we miss the point by looking at a BS or BSc, BAppSc etc, rather we should look at the intent of the program.
However, if you are really into science, by all means apply to Harvard, Cambridge and Oxford, they have some of the best science schools in the world, some would give you full student aid based on need. Once you get accepted into these top science schools doing science, talking to JPA would be a lot easier.

regards,
Frank

Chichiro
05-04-2010, 02:08 PM
political science?

of course not dear. :amuse

huh ? sory i dont understand...:(

AbangBesar
05-04-2010, 02:34 PM
huh ? sory i dont understand...:(

social science, political science and computer science was not in science category

05-04-2010, 03:43 PM
social science, political science and computer science was not in science category

I thought we are talking about science for local programme, not overseas. If not, what should they choose for those science courses if they don't choose science?

Chichiro
05-04-2010, 10:42 PM

since they have mmu in the list so i thought there is IT for the local programme....should i specify that to them during the interview ?

sunzymars
05-04-2010, 10:49 PM
Hi all, i got a bit confused regarding the science course, basically does it including healthscience like some audiologist or pyhsiotherapy or phsyco perhaps???pls help!

qinng
06-04-2010, 08:05 AM
Hi all, i got a bit confused regarding the science course, basically does it including healthscience like some audiologist or pyhsiotherapy or phsyco perhaps???pls help!

according to the previous posts. the subject is a SCIENCE as long as it has the title of 'Bachelor in Science'(BSc)... i m quite confused too.:P
not sure if psychology is under science, maybe it is social science...

holmes9216
06-04-2010, 03:41 PM
intvw jpa(sc course)...questn asked in bm n bi.introduce in bm.1st questn totally in bi-opinion about building constructn in msia,buildng collapse,foreign labour,supervision in constructn,how 2 attract local 2 be labour rathr than unemployed....anothr 1 is totally in bm.kenaikn harga mnyk,sumber tenaga altrnatif,tenaga nukleur.that all.wishing gud luck 2 all of us

shmm5145
06-04-2010, 05:43 PM
intvw jpa(sc course)...questn asked in bm n bi.introduce in bm.1st questn totally in bi-opinion about building constructn in msia,buildng collapse,foreign labour,supervision in constructn,how 2 attract local 2 be labour rathr than unemployed....anothr 1 is totally in bm.kenaikn harga mnyk,sumber tenaga altrnatif,tenaga nukleur.that all.wishing gud luck 2 all of us

u sure?....cz i'm really clueless on are the possible questions

Chichiro
06-04-2010, 10:58 PM
u sure?....cz i'm really clueless on are the possible questions

for my case today , it seems like all the applicants were mixed up without the same courses , so prepare for some general questions....my discussion has two questions , one in malay and one in english 1. [ If you were send abroad , what will you do to hold the good name of Malaysia ] ( i need to answer it although i'm not applying overseas) 2.[ Mulai tahun ini , kerajaan telah mengurangkan sehingga sepuluh subjek dalam peperiksaan SPM , adakah anda bersetuju ? ]

so good luck ^^

zarionette
06-04-2010, 11:03 PM
for my case today , it seems like all the applicants were mixed up without the same courses , so prepare for some general questions....my discussion has two questions , one in malay and one in english 1. [ If you were send abroad , what will you do to hold the good name of Malaysia ] ( i need to answer it although i'm not applying overseas) 2.[ Mulai tahun ini , kerajaan telah mengurangkan sehingga sepuluh subjek dalam peperiksaan SPM , adakah anda bersetuju ? ]

so good luck ^^

Why do you say so? Was there the option for us applying science to do it locally or overseas?

06-04-2010, 11:24 PM
Why do you say so? Was there the option for us applying science to do it locally or overseas?

Yes, there was an option there for you to choose whether overseas or local. For overseas, it's normal, but for local, there were only science and literature. :)

zarionette
06-04-2010, 11:29 PM
Yes, there was an option there for you to choose whether overseas or local. For overseas, it's normal, but for local, there were only science and literature. :)

OMG! I'm confused now. I thought the overseas programme for science comes under mara? I selected SCIENCE only in the field of option. I have a huge feeling that i've chosen the local 1. Which 1 did you choose ah, nick?

06-04-2010, 11:36 PM
OMG! I'm confused now. I thought the overseas programme for science comes under mara? I selected SCIENCE only in the field of option. I have a huge feeling that i've chosen the local 1. Which 1 did you choose ah, nick?

I have chose the overseas program. I thought you can check it in your interview letter, whether it is local or overseas. Try to check it out. :)

zarionette
06-04-2010, 11:43 PM
I have chose the overseas program. I thought you can check it in your interview letter, whether it is local or overseas. Try to check it out. :)

It isn't stated. Just plain SAINS under bidang. Oh well, it's too late for me to do anything now. My interview's tmr and i'm still in front of the com now. Will try to ask the officer in charge tmr.

Chichiro
07-04-2010, 01:03 AM
It's isn't stated. Just plain SAINS under bidang. Oh well, it's too late for me to do anything now. My interview's tmr and i'm still in front of the com now. Will try to ask the officer in charge tmr.

look again to your surat panggilan temuduga , there should have , look at the penaja option there which is above the bidang , for mine which i applied for local , the penaja is JPA [PERMOHONAN UNTUK UNIVERSITI
PENYELIDIKAN DALAM NEGARA] and during the interview , they dint ask me whether applying for local or overseas.....:P

07-04-2010, 01:33 AM
It's isn't stated. Just plain SAINS under bidang. Oh well, it's too late for me to do anything now. My interview's tmr and i'm still in front of the com now. Will try to ask the officer in charge tmr.

Well, good luck to you then. I'm sure the JPA officers are more than willing to help you up on this. :)

zarionette
07-04-2010, 09:27 AM
look again to your surat panggilan temuduga , there should have , look at the penaja option there which is above the bidang , for mine which i applied for local , the penaja is JPA [PERMOHONAN UNTUK UNIVERSITI
PENYELIDIKAN DALAM NEGARA] and during the interview , they dint ask me whether applying for local or overseas.....:P

Oh, mine's PILN then. Thanks a lot.

Well, good luck to you then. I'm sure the JPA officers are more than willing to help you up on this. :)

Haha yea. Thanks yea.

07-04-2010, 02:15 PM
Oh, mine's PILN then. Thanks a lot.

Haha yea. Thanks yea.

Yeah, yours are PILN. So don't worry about that now, your interview'd be in the evening? Good luck!!! :)

good luck to you..i've done finally..:))

Thanks for your interview experience sharing. Does the questions asked by the interviewers considered as general? Do they ask anything about which major you wanna take? And why? Those questions about which major you wanna take and the reasons were in BM right? During introduction? Can i say it in English, as i don't really know how i should translate the reasons into BM. >.<

Chichiro
07-04-2010, 06:24 PM
Does the questions asked by the interviewers considered as general? Do they ask anything about which major you wanna take? And why? Those questions about which major you wanna take and the reasons were in BM right? During introduction? Can i say it in English, as i don't really know how i should translate the reasons into BM. >.<

I think it does depend on the interviewer , most introduction is in bm , but mine they dint specify it , so most of us did it in bi , and mostly they will ask what course you wanna take and why ? then convince them why should they give you the scholarship ? just answer them with the language they use to ask you as they may change their language for different candidates , lol , good luck :laugh

And i have a question here , how long is the bond for local science ?

07-04-2010, 08:52 PM
I think it does depend on the interviewer , most introduction is in bm , but mine they dint specify it , so most of us did it in bi , and mostly they will ask what course you wanna take and why ? then convince them why should they give you the scholarship ? just answer them with the language they use to ask you as they may change their language for different candidates , lol , good luck :laugh

And i have a question here , how long is the bond for local science ?

Oh, thanks a lot. I saw quite a number of friends did the intro in BM, and those questions are just so familiar, that i have try my best to answer them now, even though i still think that i'm not convincing enough on the answers. By the way, bond for local science is 6 years as well. :) Correct me if i'm wrong.

smy
07-04-2010, 11:35 PM
I'm a JPA scholar of year 2008, studyin for Science course, bound to go to UK next year. So, anyone that has any question about anything regarding Science course provided by PSD, feel free to ask me. :)

To add to the info, anyone that has applied under Science course, bound for UK, you can apply for any science courses that has Bsc in its degree title, but not a sandwich course, not a double major course, not a course related to medicine, biotech or any other courses mentioned in other PSD applications. And it must be a 3 yrs course.

But sadly though, we are not allowed to apply for Cambridge and Oxford, as their science courses have a degree title of BA. :(
wat abt biomedical science?

jasjasmine
07-04-2010, 11:49 PM
Is Biochemistry & molecular biology considered a Sains major too? Or is it related to medicine?

And what about Pharmacology? If they were to ask what my majors were to be, and if they clash with Medicine, will they correct me or something? Interview tomorrow! Freaking out right now :/

08-04-2010, 12:14 AM
Is Biochemistry & molecular biology considered a Sains major too? Or is it related to medicine?

And what about Pharmacology? If they were to ask what my majors were to be, and if they clash with Medicine, will they correct me or something? Interview tomorrow! Freaking out right now :/

Pharmacology is fine, but for the biochemistry and molecular biology, i'm not really sure though. Make sure you do adequate research on it because from what i know, the interviewers tend to ask you a lot in your preferred major. :)

g1noah
08-04-2010, 02:27 AM
wat abt biomedical science?

For those of us who chose Science option, we are not allowed to apply to biomedical science. I'm not sure whether there is a separate option in the JPA scholarship application.

Biochem & molecular biology are not considered related to medicine. Both of them are classified as under science by JPA. In fact, I've applied to study genetics, which is sort of of the same branch of biological science as molecular biology.

I do not know about pharmacology. But if they clash with medicine, for sure they will correct you, and will not penalise you I presume. So need not worry. All the best. :)

08-04-2010, 02:44 AM
My interview would be on this coming Friday. I really do hope that i can major in Actuarial Science, because from what my friends told me, the interviewers would ask lots of things regarding the major we want to choose, and some of my friends who wanna major in Maths even being asked about "What do you study in Calculas?", "What can you do with Calculas?", etc. If we don't really know deeply about our chosen course, we will certainly can't give them satisfying answers.

So, if i said i wanna major in Maths & Statistics, i afraid that i might not have adequate information as compared to Actuarial Science. Really hope that everyone who'd be going to have their interview tomorrow, or at very least, on this Friday, please make adequate researches on the chosen major. Wish all of the candidates tonnes of lucks, and wish me luck too!!! :)

For those of us who chose Science option, we are not allowed to apply to biomedical science. I'm not sure whether there is a separate option in the JPA scholarship application.

Biochem & molecular biology are not considered related to medicine. Both of them are classified as under science by JPA. In fact, I've applied to study genetics, which is sort of of the same branch of biological science as molecular biology.

I do not know about pharmacology. But if they clash with medicine, for sure they will correct you, and will not penalise you I presume. So need not worry. All the best. :)

Oh, one more question i wish to ask, do the interviewers know details on every major that can be chosen by Science applicants? I wonder how would they know about Actuarial Science, and how would they ask me questions on this major, if they are not specialize on that. Hope some seniors can clarify this. Thanks in advance. :)

smy
08-04-2010, 10:29 AM
but how come my fren is doing biomed sn under tajaan tambahan jpa?in dat case i think biomed sn is under bachelor of sn.

Chichiro
08-04-2010, 12:36 PM
actually what's the difference between Bsc and BA ?

08-04-2010, 12:49 PM

BSc is Bachelor of Science, BA is Bachelor of Art. :)

g1noah
08-04-2010, 11:03 PM
My interview would be on this coming Friday. I really do hope that i can major in Actuarial Science, because from what my friends told me, the interviewers would ask lots of things regarding the major we want to choose, and some of my friends who wanna major in Maths even being asked about "What do you study in Calculas?", "What can you do with Calculas?", etc. If we don't really know deeply about our chosen course, we will certainly can't give them satisfying answers.

So, if i said i wanna major in Maths & Statistics, i afraid that i might not have adequate information as compared to Actuarial Science. Really hope that everyone who'd be going to have their interview tomorrow, or at very least, on this Friday, please make adequate researches on the chosen major. Wish all of the candidates tonnes of lucks, and wish me luck too!!! :)

Oh, one more question i wish to ask, do the interviewers know details on every major that can be chosen by Science applicants? I wonder how would they know about Actuarial Science, and how would they ask me questions on this major, if they are not specialize on that. Hope some seniors can clarify this. Thanks in advance. :)

I think may be JPA had tighten the selection process somehow. In my year, they really wont ask specific questions on the course we would like to major in. If my memory doesnt fail me, they just asked some general questions, like why do you want to major in such and such.

but how come my fren is doing biomed sn under tajaan tambahan jpa?in dat case i think biomed sn is under bachelor of sn.

May be they are bound to different countries. I'm not sure about that. But what I said is what my JPA officer told us. :)

It's just a difference in the name. For classification purpose I suppose. :) However, do look for courses that have Honours Year, or the option to do it. As what JPA officer told us, those degree without (Hons) would give you a much lower ranking position in public sector, compared to the same degree with (Hons).

holmes9216
11-04-2010, 04:29 PM
could I know who's taking physics 4 major or intending to take it?act,im interestd 2 pursue in physics field after foundation.

Chichiro
15-04-2010, 10:09 PM
BIT and BMM , which one better ?

Newspaper
18-04-2010, 09:53 AM
Excuse me, anyone know when is the date for PLDN JPA out?

18-04-2010, 12:05 PM
Excuse me, anyone know when is the date for PLDN JPA out?

12 May 2010, at least that was what the interviewers told us.

smileguy
18-04-2010, 04:45 PM
I need an URGENT advise.

I am a PIDN scholar doing Petroluem Chemistry. So far so good I am an average performer.As such I am considering chnaging courses. I wld like to know can I change course and if I do will my scholarship be terminated ? Will JPA consider change of courses and what wld happen to the scholarship.pls help,thanx:amazed

smy
18-04-2010, 06:44 PM
I need an URGENT advise.

I am a PIDN scholar doing Petroluem Chemistry. So far so good I am an average performer.As such I am considering chnaging courses. I wld like to know can I change course and if I do will my scholarship be terminated ? Will JPA consider change of courses and what wld happen to the scholarship.pls help,thanx:amazed
So far,there have been students who
managed to change from medicine to pharmacy after completing their A-levels and jpa is more than happy to allow them to change in order to save costs.thus,u might have the opportunity to change to other course if it would cost jpa lesss money.

Chichiro
18-04-2010, 09:11 PM
hi smileguy , can you please tell me more about PIDN ? can a spm leaver apply for it ? do PIDN offers foundation in private universities like MMU ? And how many years of bond if im taking IT course ? Thanks :D

smileguy
19-04-2010, 06:09 AM
hi smileguy , can you please tell me more about PIDN ? can a spm leaver apply for it ? do PIDN offers foundation in private universities like MMU ? And how many years of bond if im taking IT course ? Thanks :D
No,from what I know foundation does not come in, its only for those who have got a place in IPTA n IPTS and pursuing a diploma or degree course:))

Chichiro
19-04-2010, 03:22 PM
No,from what I know foundation does not come in, its only for those who have got a place in IPTA n IPTS and pursuing a diploma or degree course:))

Uh oh , so what about the bond , how many years ? and is it possible to change local to overseas IF i get the scholarship ? Thanks :laugh

holmes9216
19-05-2010, 11:40 AM
why sc course not consider as critical course ???im not interested to be doctor n engineer.that why i choose to sc course n wanna be lecturer

bush
20-05-2010, 04:01 PM
could I know who's taking physics 4 major or intending to take it?act,im interestd 2 pursue in physics field after foundation.

Do you know what physics entails?

holmes9216
20-05-2010, 06:34 PM
no.hopefully u r mind to sharing

20-05-2010, 07:35 PM

No? If you don't know what is the course about, then why do you want to study it? You would be regretting if you ended up don't like and enjoy the subject. Never be spoon fed by others. By this age, you should learn how to do researches on your own, try to find adequate information on what you are going to take in future. Nobody would help you if you don't help yourself.

holmes9216
20-05-2010, 10:00 PM
ya,that absolutely true. i myself conduct researches about this course. but i found not lots of studnts do apply it. hopefully bush would give new idea.

thx in advance.

bush
21-05-2010, 02:09 PM

Get used to programming and learn to love it. If you don't like programming, don't do physics. Physics these days are all about programming at least when it comes to the labs. If you like C, C++, Java and Fortran, yeah maybe physics is choice if you also enjoy physics itself.

Chichiro
30-05-2010, 07:56 PM
I have a question here , I want to take software engineering in the future , but i dont think that i really like Physics , so am i choosing the wrong path ( software engineering ) ? Do i need to take physics or chemistry during Software engineering or Computer science courses ? Thanks :)

tyromecha
27-06-2012, 08:10 AM
Hi,i am new here.i really want to ask whether does science course and pure science course are both different field?at first,i got science course,then,after a while,jpa changed it into pure science(bio/chem/phy).i really want to be a botanist.is it a correct pathway to become a botanist ?thanks in advance,seniors..B-)

g1noah
29-06-2012, 04:59 PM
Hi,i am new here.i really want to ask whether does science course and pure science course are both different field?at first,i got science course,then,after a while,jpa changed it into pure science(bio/chem/phy).i really want to be a botanist.is it a correct pathway to become a botanist ?thanks in advance,seniors..B-)

If my memory didn't fail me, I remembered JPA officials briefed us (who chose pure science) on what subjects that we can choose. They said we can choose any science subject that has BSc (Bachelor of Science) and Honours (Hons) in the final degree title. (exceptions apply for special universities such as University of Cambridge.)

I did a quick search on UCAS portal (which is a portal for UK undergraduate applicants), it seems that botany falls under plant science, which in turn belongs to biology department. So I would say you are on the right track. :)

(Don't worry if you are not going to study in UK. I bet the same rules apply on most countries. All the best to you.)

tyromecha
30-06-2012, 07:48 PM
whoaaaaa..thanks a lot...=)

raj_472002
10-03-2013, 12:23 PM
Is any one doing or have done Bachelor of Science majoring Pharmacology or Neuroscience under JPA scholarship? Did JPA offer jobs to these scholars after the end of these studies?