View Full Version : Help: between matriculation, UTP, and JPA.... where should i go???
tankw
09-05-2009, 08:41 AM
between matriculation, UTP, and JPA.... where should i go??? to many ppl this might be a stupid question.... of course is jpa..... but this is hard for me to make a decision.... i applied chemical engineering for UTP (local), biotechnology for JPA (oversea), and also matriculation.... and with my luck i get it all.... i turned UTP off bc of the ten years bond or else i need to pay back.... if i wanna go to utp i would rather go for JPA..... I am a rural area student, my result is not very good 9A1 1B3, and i am non bumi (no offense)... so through out all my life i have never ever dream of getting JPA or UTP, wat is in my thought is that enter matriculation and get 4 for CGPA and get a local government university....thats all.... bc i know my ability and i know there are tons of ppl who are way lots better than me are applying JPA and din get it....... and i also do not have any information about JPA.... i dont know where i will to study for first year in malaysia, i have no senior who is getting JPA. i know if i go for JPA there will be fierce competition..... and i am kind of ppl who is hard to adapt to new environment.... and i dunno what exam i am going to take.... so the road for JPA is so blur for me.... However for matriculation, i know most of the thing..... bc my bro has been there before and i have lots of senior there.... and if i work hard and smart enough i think i can get 4 flat.... and with the result i still can get biotechnology or courses even better than that.... if i plan to go matriculation i will probably need to pack up my things tonight..... so senior or anyone pls give me some advises, comments or information..... Thanksssssssss
09-05-2009, 09:02 AM
Back to the main point, is the JPA offer your desired course? Do you wish to study overseas and learn new things? Do you think you have the courage to take up the challenge? You should know yourself better, right?
tankw
09-05-2009, 09:11 AM
ya it is the course that i desired.... i am eager to learn new things and go oversea.... but there will a great challenge waiting for me...
09-05-2009, 09:23 AM
Then, what is there to stop you? Lack of confidence? If you think you haven't made up your mind, you can register at matriculation first, and take some time to consider it seriously, since you should have more than one month before your pre-U starts.
boy91
09-05-2009, 09:23 AM
Then what about UTP? Do you get the sponsorship from Petronas? Is chemical engineering your desired course? No matter JPA or Petronas, there will be a bond, right?
jiacheng91
09-05-2009, 09:24 AM
life is never easy, anywhr u go thrs always challenges
but u must understand that with greater challenges comes greater reward. i have been to diff places n phases throughout my life and im proud to say that each of them is especially enjoyable n beneficial because anywhr u go, u always meet new awesome frens. n ultimately it is becoz of them that makes a journey that seems so tough so easy.
go jpa, dun think too much, it is mysteries in life that made life so meaningful, dun rob it away from urself.
tankw
09-05-2009, 09:45 AM
Then what about UTP? Do you get the sponsorship from Petronas? Is chemical engineering your desired course? No matter JPA or Petronas, there will be a bond, right?
ya i also get sponsorship but it is local one.... so it is more worth it if i go for jpa...
Then, what is there to stop you? Lack of confidence? If you think you haven't made up your mind, you can register at matriculation first, and take some time to consider it seriously, since you should have more than one month before your pre-U starts.
can i do that?? i mean register at matriculation first, and take some time to consider jpa seriously... bc i heard that if i go to matriculation then jpa will automatically pull back their offer
09-05-2009, 09:55 AM
can i do that?? i mean register at matriculation first, and take some time to consider jpa seriously... bc i heard that if i go to matriculation then jpa will automatically pull back their offerWhere did you get the news? I don't think they are going to do that...
mayasai
09-05-2009, 10:00 AM
really aa?
usually how long is it b4 the registeration 4 jpa scholar?
09-05-2009, 10:13 AM
really aa?
usually how long is it b4 the registeration 4 jpa scholar?Except for some courses (e.g. Russia medicine), most will register around mid-June to early July.
mayasai
09-05-2009, 10:20 AM
if that so ..
then how about medic course?any idea?
tankw
09-05-2009, 10:26 AM
Where did you get the news? I don't think they are going to do that...
i just heard the rumors.... i will call jpa to ask whether it is true or not....:P
09-05-2009, 10:32 AM
i just heard the rumors.... i will call jpa to ask whether it is true or not....:PI'm not sure why there are always some people keep making rumors... For example, the "get-matric-no-JPA" rumor is proved to be absolutely a rumor every year and yet students come up with the same question every year... I bet students next year are going to ask about this again...
if that so ..
then how about medic course?any idea?It depends on your country offered, hence the pre-U course and your preparatory college. If I'm not mistaken, all countries except Russia will start around June to July. Russia-bound students will have short few-month Russian language course thus they are going to register earlier, if the situation is still the same this year.
09-05-2009, 10:45 AM
can i do that?? i mean register at matriculation first, and take some time to consider jpa seriously... bc i heard that if i go to matriculation then jpa will automatically pull back their offer
Are you sure? I thought JPA scholarship is one of the government's sponship, so you can be exempted. For my opinion, I think you can get out from Matriculation after some while in order to accept JPA.
between matriculation, UTP, and JPA.... where should i go??? to many ppl this might be a stupid question.... of course is jpa..... but this is hard for me to make a decision.... i applied chemical engineering for UTP (local), biotechnology for JPA (oversea), and also matriculation.... and with my luck i get it all.... i turned UTP off bc of the ten years bond or else i need to pay back.... if i wanna go to utp i would rather go for JPA..... I am a rural area student, my result is not very good 9A1 1B3, and i am non bumi (no offense)... so through out all my life i have never ever dream of getting JPA or UTP, wat is in my thought is that enter matriculation and get 4 for CGPA and get a local government university....thats all.... bc i know my ability and i know there are tons of ppl who are way lots better than me are applying JPA and din get it....... and i also do not have any information about JPA.... i dont know where i will to study for first year in malaysia, i have no senior who is getting JPA. i know if i go for JPA there will be fierce competition..... and i am kind of ppl who is hard to adapt to new environment.... and i dunno what exam i am going to take.... so the road for JPA is so blur for me.... However for matriculation, i know most of the thing..... bc my bro has been there before and i have lots of senior there.... and if i work hard and smart enough i think i can get 4 flat.... and with the result i still can get biotechnology or courses even better than that.... if i plan to go matriculation i will probably need to pack up my things tonight..... so senior or anyone pls give me some advises, comments or information..... Thanksssssssss
OK, let's put aside Matriculation first. Since you got both offers from JPA and Petronas. I suggest you choose either of that. I get to know that if someone is offered both Petronas and JPA, the most probably the reason is the studies fees of both courses are almost same. Otherwise, they sure will offer you the more expensive one (a logical thought from a student too).
Ask yourself one question, which do you like or prefer more, Chemical Engineering or Biotechnolgy? Either one the scholarship is nice. Every scholarship will have its bond attached, including JPA and Petronas. JPA's bond is twice the period of your studies. For instance, 4 years degree=8 years bond served to the government.
For Matriculation, you have to pay the fees when you come to IPTA except you get JPA scholarship again or any other scholarships. Morover, you're not guaranteed to get your desired course except you get 4 flat. If finance is not your problem and you insist to go Matriculation, then I'm speechless. It's all about your future, not mine.
Frankly speaking, if I were you I will rather choose JPA, because it's study overseas. It tempts me more. :nuts However, decision in your own hand. This's just my personal opinion.
Hope that helps! :)
tankw
09-05-2009, 10:53 AM
by the way when will we get the offer letter??
09-05-2009, 11:00 AM
by the way when will we get the offer letter??
Not sure. I'm waiting too! :)) I think it will be arrive within these few weeks.
Glassylicious
09-05-2009, 03:36 PM
I'd provide a step-by-step question analysis so you can identify your interests but it appears that the other Recommers have already done that. So now I'll say something else.
Come on, are you saying you're hesitant about JPA because you're afraid of challenges? It's not as if matric will be a piece of cake either! And just because you don't know what's in store for you if you take the JPA route doesn't mean it will necessarily be a difficult route either. For all you know you might end up adjusting really well. You're also worried about competition but there probably will be other scholars who are at the same level as you are.
My advice is: Shed that mentality of being afraid of challenges and adapting to them. You're probably going to face the same situation at many other points in your life too, so what better time to start learning than now?
Go for JPA man!!! It will do a better job in training you to face the reality of life. You will learn how to adapt to changing environment and meet new people. Make new friends and it will build up your interpersonal skills. You will learn how to be independent in foreign soil. Just go for it, studying overseas is a golden opportunity for you. Take it....
kancilpintar
09-05-2009, 03:46 PM
cmon man..
step up to the chllenge..lyfe is a challenge ryte??
choose the one dat u think suits u well..
im sure dat one day in the future when u ave succed n u think back at these day..
u'll smile n would satisfy wif wat path dat u ave chosen..
gambatee!!:P
tankw
09-05-2009, 05:56 PM
thanksssss.... for all advises..... ya i finally make up my mind.... JPA.... i take the challenge ..... i will go for JPA.....
09-05-2009, 06:21 PM
Go for JPA man! You need the experience. Furthermore, it is a full scholarship, thus you parents don't have to spend so much.
Jeryliza
09-05-2009, 10:46 PM
thanksssss.... for all advises..... ya i finally make up my mind.... JPA.... i take the challenge ..... i will go for JPA.....
Good. I definitely think that u should accept the JPA offer. When I got the offer last year, I also hesitated like you. Until now, I still feel a bit awed by how fabulous my fellow scholars are. But, it's ok. You can learn, and you'll gain a lot by challenging yourself and improving yourself to become a much better person. It's partly because I accepted this scholarship that I now have a higher drive to succeed..because being around these overachievers really pushes you to be better. (I was kinda a slacker back in school) Have faith in yourself and believe!
So, hope u don't throw this opportunity away. All the best!
HiddenEyes
13-05-2009, 12:12 PM
Go for JPA. You're nervous about the uncertainties. That's normal. But not many have the chance and opportunity to go overseas. You'll lucky because you got different offers. From what I heard, a lot of people, some with straight A, are denied JPA, because they got matrix or something. You are given the chance, so seize it.You feel insecure or incompetent, but that might be temporary. You are still learning and if everything goes well, you would be able to adapt and learn a myriad of different things and explore different perspectives.
You get the details about the enrolment from JPA soon. JPA send their students to various preparatory colleges around Malaysia. It depends on your major and the country you go. For exp, Taylors, INTI, INTEC and etc
Cerav
13-05-2009, 12:18 PM
What happens... When u get both JPA and Petronas overseas... Den how... i'm in dat dillema...
HiddenEyes
13-05-2009, 01:21 PM
What the field of major being offered? Years of bond ? JPA is 6. Medic is longer. Check out the term and conditions.
Cerav
13-05-2009, 01:31 PM
What the field of major being offered? Years of bond ? JPA is 6. Medic is longer. Check out the term and conditions.
Both are totally different and i wanted both as either backups however fate twisted everything and gave me both, JPA = Korean Engineering, Petronas = Singaporean Economics.
Terms and Conditions are another dillemma bcuz, korean engineering have to register this sunday and yur surat tawaran will be there/ meanwhile petronas one will come when..., since i'm from the east they say friday or saturday for west malaysia maybe today or tomolo...
So actually i cannot compare...
p/s pls dun say follow yur heart cuz i have interest in both...*i have receive a lot of comments like that...
HiddenEyes
13-05-2009, 06:06 PM
Korean engineering is degree or diploma ?