View Full Version : Matrics closed to non-bumis
04-06-2004, 02:23 PM
Guess what? Hishammuddin planned to close Matriculation to non-bumis in the near future because the bumis are not doing well in the matriculation.
On a related matter, he (Hishammuddin) said the achievements of bumiputra students in the matriculation programme had not been good enough since the programme started. He added, however, that the programme would not be opened to non-bumiputras in the near future because it was meant to give bumiputras a chance in science and accountancy.
This is absolutely ridiculous. In order to improve the bumis, they are hampering the progress of the non-bumis. And this non-bumis are supposed to resort to F6, and it is palpable to us that it is damn damn hard to get the course and uni of their first choice, although they get good results in STPM. Are there any bright futures for most Malaysian non-bumis in the coming years?
04-06-2004, 02:30 PM
Matrics are supposed to be easy. If they can't even make it there, why help them in the first place? Can't they even take a fight without someone backing them up? Its not fair to give them so many chances and hindered the others. Its not fair. If so, kill the system. They don't even appriciate it. :?
What's the point? Even if they do well, will they be able to survive the real world? i think not... They will just get more and more worse than they are now.
It seems that Hishammuddin only cares about the bumi's. How do we expect to create "racial integration" if we do this? This is so lame...
Randomphantom
04-06-2004, 02:37 PM
Will closing non-bumi admission to matriculation improve the achievements of bumiputra students in the programme?
Likely not - without competition from non-bumi they would slack and they would have standards lowered. unless...
Likely - the bar would be lowered to improve their achievements superficially. Then we would be seeing tons of straight As from matriculation while STPM gets progressively tougher over the years. Thus increasing the imbalance(standards wise and racial) between matriculation and STPM qualifications, bringing the standards of admission to universities to newer lows, further plunging our nation's higher education into a stagnating quagmire. Go Hishamuddin.
04-06-2004, 02:38 PM
Yeah, and they complain that we do not produce quality students... they complain we are not well integrated... Look who's the culprit here... Gadaikan the fate of non-bumis for the sake of the bumis...
04-06-2004, 03:02 PM
On a related matter, he (Hishammuddin) said the achievements of bumiputra students in the matriculation programme had not been good enough since the programme started. He added, however, that the programme would not be opened to non-bumiputras in the near future because it was meant to give bumiputras a chance in science and accountancy.
I'm not really convinced with this newspaper quote. Haven't been catching up with news lately. HOWEVER, it what it said is TRUE, then I'd say it is really unfair. The nons should not be marginalized just because they're nons. It's true that the Bumiputera have agreed to share the country with the nons therefore the Bumiputera deserve some privileges, as stated in the Perlembagaan. But let's not forget that Malaysia may not be as successful as she is today if it is not for the non-bumis' contributions too.
04-06-2004, 03:22 PM
I'm not really convinced with this newspaper quote. Haven't been catching up with news lately. HOWEVER, it what it said is TRUE, then I'd say it is really unfair. The nons should not be marginalized just because they're nons. It's true that the Bumiputera have agreed to share the country with the nons therefore the Bumiputera deserve some privileges, as stated in the Perlembagaan. But let's not forget that Malaysia may not be as successful as she is today if it is not for the non-bumis' contributions too.
Read The Star, 4th June 2004, Nation page 4, under headline Najib: Cabinet wanted.... blah blah.... the last few paragraphs.
springgal
04-06-2004, 04:04 PM
That is so totally and completely unfair....first they intro this kinda system to protect their kind.....then they only open 10 percent to us n wats more that 10 percent somemore for ppl in the rural areas n bla bla bla...now they r taking it back....i pity those who struggle so hard in form 6 la...one and a half years n they have equal share of uni places with f6 aso...actually..come to think of it....we donno how they choose aso.....already the way they grade them(matrics) is so lenient...internal test and all....they should realize that the more they protect them the more vulnerable they will become.
this is the way they want to promote racial intergration??i think they r making the situation worse. They say we r all one nation but they separate us to bumi n nons. Now add this kind of thing pulak. sigh. The nons are always deprived of an equal cahnce to compete in the society. Aren't "they" contradicting with themselves?
deekay
04-06-2004, 05:00 PM
The comments so far have been mentioning words like "unfair", "unbalanced", "hindering racial integration", "real world", "protect", "contradicting", etc.
I would like to add "transparency", "opportunity", and "merit".
And so far in this thread, no one has indicated support for this move.
Perhaps the ReCom Forum should take this to the Kementrian to do something about it.
04-06-2004, 05:10 PM
what are we supposed to have? another press release?
04-06-2004, 05:29 PM
from what I have been observing..
our government policy has caused such a phenomena:
Local Uni : a lot of bumiputra students
Private college : a lot of non-bumiputra students
we are separated racially...
some of my malay friends have a view about the fate of many non-bumi who are not selected for the scholarship or getting a place in local uni :
tak apa, non-bumis are rich (I really dislike such statement)
04-06-2004, 05:34 PM
Perhaps this long, expired and worn out fact is the only excuse for the special rights to thrive.
04-06-2004, 05:39 PM
Personaly, I think this issue is directly related to why a lot of bumiputra students cannot get jobs after they graduate...
04-06-2004, 08:14 PM
Not sure what goes wrong, but Sin Chew reported as this is not an issue of closing it, but whether the issue of it being 100% opened.
Datuk Hishammuddin was asked whether matrics should be 100% opened, but his reply was bumi is not yet ready, so 10% stays. Wonder how it get turned into matrics going to be closed for non-bumi.
http://www.sinchew.com.my/content.phtml?sec=1&artid=200406031531
gohweihan
05-06-2004, 02:27 AM
Matriculation shouldn't exist in the first place. It creates an unbalanced equation which nothing can fix.
05-06-2004, 02:42 AM
yeah, and it is really unfair to those who are taking STPM. First, they are taking the world's 3rd toughest exam, and compared to matriculation, they studied 2 years instead of one. Yet, the govt is equalizing matrics to STPM for uni entrance. STPM candidates should be given the priority for the course and university that they wish to study....
05-06-2004, 04:33 AM
i have two friends (non-bumi) who got their first choice in courses ....accountancy and medic.... and first choice in universities... usm and um.... they are VERY happy.... and grateful that they got into matriculation....hmm
deekay
05-06-2004, 07:44 AM
From the comments in this thread, the 10% quota for non-bumis seems to be continued. But I think the main question that should be asked is why this two-tiered system should continue.
There is nothing wrong with having more than one way of entering university but they have to be of similar standards. If the Matriculation takes one year versus STPM which takes two years, then logically speaking, the Matric must be a tougher course !
I mean, assuming
a) Matric and STPM content has the same measure of content for entry to Uni = C,
b) Time for Matric = T(m) and Time for STPM = T(s),
c) Level of difficulty of Matric = D(t) and level of difficulty of STPM = D(s),
then C = D(t).T(m) = D(s).T(s)
But if T(m) < T(s), then D(t) must be > D(s)
Wow, the Matric students must be really hardworking and smart. Maybe it is better for the bumi students to get rid of the Matric if it is so tough.
kevinkhoo1986
05-06-2004, 05:21 PM
I could not believed even Matriculation just open 10% places to the non-bumi. But the Non-bumi consist 37% of the top students in Matriculation. :lol:
gohweihan
05-06-2004, 07:57 PM
i have two friends (non-bumi) who got their first choice in courses ....accountancy and medic.... and first choice in universities... usm and um.... they are VERY happy.... and grateful that they got into matriculation....hmm
Just curious...are they from the same location in your profile?
SoooNegative
18-05-2010, 12:14 PM
I could not believed even Matriculation just open 10% places to the non-bumi. But the Non-bumi consist 37% of the top students in Matriculation. :lol:
10%? Im not feeling the 10%. I would put it at around less than 5% in my place, reasonable enough (as if!!!) since its Hisham's own state.
From the comments in this thread, the 10% quota for non-bumis seems to be continued. But I think the main question that should be asked is why this two-tiered system should continue.
There is nothing wrong with having more than one way of entering university but they have to be of similar standards. If the Matriculation takes one year versus STPM which takes two years, then logically speaking, the Matric must be a tougher course !
I mean, assuming
a) Matric and STPM content has the same measure of content for entry to Uni = C,
b) Time for Matric = T(m) and Time for STPM = T(s),
c) Level of difficulty of Matric = D(t) and level of difficulty of STPM = D(s),
then C = D(t).T(m) = D(s).T(s)
But if T(m) < T(s), then D(t) must be > D(s)
Wow, the Matric students must be really hardworking and smart. Maybe it is better for the bumi students to get rid of the Matric if it is so tough.
But as we know, matrics is a path for those who want to go local. Whereas STPM has to qualify the overseas standard. Study less get less?
Things are getting worst...