View Full Version : JPA for IPTA
angel_tnp29
14-05-2009, 03:17 PM
Anyone here accept JPA IPTA scholarship? Hav u receive ur offer letter? I got a called from JPA last sunday and they told me that I have to go to matriks first. I'm still waiting for offer letter now. The first batch of Matriks students are having their orientation week now. Hope that they wont put me with the second batch.
lowray
14-05-2009, 03:27 PM
what do u mean? as long as i know. there is no JPA IPTA scholarships yet so far.
This only applicable to those who have completed their matric and are now waiting for the entrance into respective local uni.
U havent go for matric yet?
angel_tnp29
14-05-2009, 03:37 PM
what do u mean? as long as i know. there is no JPA IPTA scholarships yet so far.
This only applicable to those who have completed their matric and are now waiting for the entrance into respective local uni.
U havent go for matric yet?
I got JPA scholarship, but to continue my study locally. I have to go to matriks first before they put me in Research Universities. This is what the officer told me when he called me last Sunday.
14-05-2009, 03:48 PM
I got JPA scholarship, but to continue my study locally. I have to go to matriks first before they put me in Research Universities. This is what the officer told me when he called me last Sunday.
Yes, it is true. You need to do you matrix as foundation. Your degree will only be at IPTA. Say, what course did you apply until you got Research Universities? A friend of mine who applied for actuarial also got Research Universities.
angel_tnp29
14-05-2009, 03:53 PM
Yes, it is true. You need to do you matrix as foundation. Your degree will only be at IPTA. Say, what course did you apply until you got Research Universities? A friend of mine who applied for actuarial also got Research Universities.
I applied for sains sosial...I didnt apply for matriks earlier on and plan to go to F6. Now I rejected F6 and accepted JPA offer to go to Matriks. I'm quite worry now bcoz as I know matriks students are now having their orientation. So ur fren is going to matriks or still waiting for letter from JPA?
lowray
14-05-2009, 03:54 PM
pardon me, i never heard of that scholarships before, is it under PIDN?
And how the application goes?
what is reseach uni?
haliban
14-05-2009, 03:54 PM
so...they DID tell you to go to matriks dulu kan?
so, why are you still at home?
ah...you dont apply matriks?
btw, this scholarship is for matrik/asasi or sampai tamat degree?
PIDN is only for local IPTA is it? they dont offer IPTS under PIDN?
14-05-2009, 03:59 PM
I applied for sains sosial...I didnt apply for matriks earlier on and plan to go to F6. Now I rejected F6 and accepted JPA offer to go to Matriks. I'm quite worry now bcoz as I know matriks students are now having their orientation. So ur fren is going to matriks or still waiting for letter from JPA?
He didn't receive any call yet by JPA. Possible all JPA scholar that is selected for matrix will be going on the second batch.
angel_tnp29
14-05-2009, 04:00 PM
what is reseach uni?
Not. I applied for PILN b4. And now they put me in IPTA. Research Universities ( universiti penyelidikan) consists of 4 U, that is UM,UKM,USM and UPM.
When I checked my results, this is wat i get..
Sukacita dimaklumkan bahawa saudari / saudari telah berjaya dipilih dan ditawarkan Biasiswa Persekutuan
untuk peringkat matrikulasi / asasi di bawah Kementerian Pelajaran / Kementerian Pengajian Tinggi di bawah
Program Ijazah Dalam Negara 2009 ke Universiti Penyelidikan (Reserach Universities).
Surat tawaran rasmi akan dihantar kepada saudara / saudari melalui pos setelah jabatan ini menerima
pengesahan penerimaan tawaran daripada saudara / saudari.
haliban
14-05-2009, 04:00 PM
nah...scholarship for IPTA and IPTS here is under PILN. ^^
we apply under PILN but got locally.^^
14-05-2009, 04:02 PM
what is reseach uni?
This scholarship is under PILN. They offer 2000 places for overseas and 2000 places for local which is either IPTA or IPTS. Research Uni, I also don't know.
Well, I heard that they sponsor till degree. However, if you must do well in matrik/asasi, otherwise they will terminate the scholarship
That you have to ask JPA people. Call them.
angel_tnp29
14-05-2009, 04:04 PM
they asked me whether I gt any other offer or not. I told them i planned to go to f6 if I dun get JPA. I didnt apply for matriks b4 so they asked me to wait for my letter. "Kami akan selaraskan dengan pihak matrikulasi". This is wat the officer told me..I asked them that day, and they said they will only sponsor me if I get gud results in matriks, and get into Sains Sosial in research universities.
lowray
14-05-2009, 04:09 PM
this scholarships probably started 1st time this first..
i never heard of that b4hand, well, what is the requirements? and i wonder what is the purpose of setting up this scholarships, 2000 places are indeed lots more.
that mean 4000 scholarships(PILN and PIDN) up to grant for SPM 2008 candidates.Wow!
14-05-2009, 04:12 PM
i never heard of that b4hand, well, what is the requirements? and i wonder what is the purpose of setting up this scholarships, 2000 places are indeed lots more.
that mean 4000 scholarships(PILN and PIDN) up to grant for SPM 2008 candidates.Wow!
Correction: 4000 scholarships for PILN and 10000 PIDN
angel_tnp29
14-05-2009, 04:18 PM
yeah this is the first time. We applied for PILN and got scholarship to study locally. I didnt know abt this policy or program b4. I thought sth wrong wif the system when I saw my country status was MALAYSIA until I saw some of the recomers got local scholarships too. Some said maybe they want to improve IPTA quality and ranking.
nah...scholarship for IPTA and IPTS here is under PILN. ^^
we apply under PILN but got locally.^^
so u got local too?
lowray
14-05-2009, 04:22 PM
that is very good step forward, but unfortunately those excellent students still not very satisfy with what they own, they think that not getting JPA PILN means the gov is unfair and thus racism occurs and ultimately all the racial issues popping up here n there.
try to think , there are 6000 over straight As students every year, and somemore u want to expect the gov to feed all these students! it is time to discover and realise the potential , how well you deserve it of yourself!
haliban
14-05-2009, 04:35 PM
that is very good step forward, but unfortunately those excellent students still not very satisfy with what they own, they think that not getting JPA PILN means the gov is unfair and thus racism occurs and ultimately all the racial issues popping up here n there.
try to think , there are 6000 over straight As students every year, and somemore u want to expect the gov to feed all these students! it is time to discover and realise the potential , how well you deserve it of yourself!
aiyah...i think this topic have been discussed in other thread...about racism and so on...i've got nothing to say...:notrust
so u got local too?
yeah...but i do apply for matriks and asasi...^^and i will go to asasi.^^
angel_tnp29
14-05-2009, 05:08 PM
yeah...but i do apply for matriks and asasi...^^and i will go to asasi.^^
u mean UPU?
That day when the officer called me, I gt asked him whether I got Asasi or Matriks, and will they sponsor me until degree.
JPA: Adakah kamu mendapat tawaran lain selain JPA?
Me : Tidak. Saya merancang untuk menyambung pelajaran saya ke F6 sekiranya saya gagal mendapat biasiswa dari JPA.
JPA : So adakah kamu bersetuju menerima tawaran ini?
Me: Saya setuju...erm...adakah saya akan ditaja sehingga saya tamat ijazah?
JPA : Kamu akan pergi ke Matrikulasi terlebih dahulu. Sekiranya kamu mencapai gred yang telah ditetapkan dan mendapat tempat di bawah kursus yg kamu apply di research universities, anda akan kami taja sehingga anda tamat ijazah.Sekiranya keputusan anda di Matriks kurang memuaskan, ataupun kamu mendapat kursus lain selain sains sosial, anda tidak akan mendapat sebarang tajaan untuk program ijazah.
Me: So maksudnya saya akan pergi ke matrikulasi? Bukan asasi?
JPA: Ya. Kamu pergi ke matrikulasi dulu. Adakah kamu mendapat tawaran untuk ke matrikulasi sebelum ini?
Me: Tidak
JPA: Ok. Kami akan selaraskan dengan pihak matrikulasi. Surat tawaran akan dihantar secepat mungkin dan anda akan mendapat surat tawaran anda dalam minggu ini.
Early on I interpret that they wanted me to wait for their letter b4 I go to matriks, now got another possible msg, will it possible means that I'll go directly to matrikulasi? and waiting for my letter there??? I'm so blur now...haiz...if really they wanted me to go to register 4 matriks first on mon, then it is the most impossible thing for me to be done bcoz it took at least a day for me to arrive at labuan..and they called me near afternoon of sunday...
Hope there are sum1 who is still waiting for their letter like me...:(
14-05-2009, 05:34 PM
Asasi is for bumi while matrik is for non-bumi
haliban
14-05-2009, 05:36 PM
u mean UPU?
That day when the officer called me, I gt asked him whether I got Asasi or Matriks, and will they sponsor me until degree.
Early on I interpret that they wanted me to wait for their letter b4 I go to matriks, now got another possible msg, will it possible means that I'll go directly to matrikulasi? and waiting for my letter there??? I'm so blur now...haiz...if really they wanted me to go to register 4 matriks first on mon, then it is the most impossible thing for me to be done bcoz it took at least a day for me to arrive at labuan..and they called me near afternoon of sunday...
Hope there are sum1 who is still waiting for their letter like me...:(
yup...upu.
ah...so we have to get the same course for degree la baru, then they will continue the sponsor...oh...
well, if mengikut dialog tu,you must wait for the letter first la kan...because you dont know what matriks you will go...^^ dont worry. kan he already said JPA akan selaraskan? ^^ well, if you still risau, what about called them back? they called via your hp that day? or house phone?
angel_tnp29
14-05-2009, 06:41 PM
yup...upu.
ah...so we have to get the same course for degree la baru, then they will continue the sponsor...oh...
well, if mengikut dialog tu,you must wait for the letter first la kan...because you dont know what matriks you will go...^^ dont worry. kan he already said JPA akan selaraskan? ^^ well, if you still risau, what about called them back? they called via your hp that day? or house phone?
yup..this is wat i thought..thats y i said i'm waiting for offer letter. I dun know anything abt matriks..so it is impossible for me to prepare b4 their letter arrive..They called to my hp...nobody home to pick up the phone i guess, thats y they called to my hp...just now i did call to them, i tried 3 no, but nobody pick up the phone...mayb they r bz...or trying to avoid complaints??
14-05-2009, 06:44 PM
yup..this is wat i thought..thats y i said i'm waiting for offer letter. I dun know anything abt matriks..so it is impossible for me to prepare b4 their letter arrive..They called to my hp...nobody home to pick up the phone i guess, thats y they called to my hp...just now i did call to them, i tried 3 no, but nobody pick up the phone...mayb they r bz...or trying to avoid complaints??
Suggest you read this thread Question about the Living in Kolej Matrikulasi (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6584) so that you will know more about matrik. The offer letter for matrik won't tell me much. Mark my word on that.
angel_tnp29
14-05-2009, 06:53 PM
Suggest you read this thread Question about the Living in Kolej Matrikulasi (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6584) so that you will know more about matrik. The offer letter for matrik won't tell me much. Mark my word on that.
Ok. Thanks. I asked some of my frens who now in matriks and i gt a lot of info from them.
lowray
14-05-2009, 07:21 PM
hmm..maybe this scholarships is a little bit different from what the previous students have gone thru.
previously, there is JPA tajaan tambahan for matric students, then they hv to apply all over again for their first degree...but now, they make it different by having it to apply only once..and that cover the sponsorships until the completion of degree level.
this would a little bit risky as u have to achieve the target and struggle hard to make sure u r able to secure the courses that Jpa going to sponsor u...
for the case of angel tnp29, u hv to apply soc sc for ur degree level, and i am sure it is far easy to get this course as the requirement is only a CGPA of 2.00..unlike medicine that require 4.00 of CGPA!
15-05-2009, 12:04 AM
angel_tnp29, your case is slightly different for others who got both Matrix and this IPTA scholarship. Since those who got Matrix in earlier time, so what they need to do is just register at respective Matrix college on monday (11/5). JPA officer informed them to do so on Sunday. About your case who didn't get Matrix before, you have to call JPA to clarify your confusion. Since you called them already and given the answer, you just need to wait the letter. That's all.
angel_tnp29
15-05-2009, 12:33 AM
angel_tnp29, your case is slightly different for others who got both Matrix and this IPTA scholarship. Since those who got Matrix in earlier time, so what they need to do is just register at respective Matrix college on monday (11/5). JPA officer informed them to do so on Sunday. About your case who didn't get Matrix before, you have to call JPA to clarify your confusion. Since you called them already and given the answer, you just need to wait the letter. That's all.
Haha..yeah u r rite...I hav confirmed with those who were asked to register at matriks first whether they got offer from matriks b4..thanks again..Now I'm just wondering wat course I will be given in matriks since I'm taking social science under JPA..
lowray
15-05-2009, 09:06 AM
Haha..yeah u r rite...I hav confirmed with those who were asked to register at matriks first whether they got offer from matriks b4..thanks again..Now I'm just wondering wat course I will be given in matriks since I'm taking social science under JPA..
u won't be forced to study any streams at matric..i believe JPA do allow you to choose from the 3: bio, phy or acc...for your case, if u r to take soc sc, better opt for acc as it is arts subjects. U learn econ, bussiness, acc and maths..that econ and bussiness may help u later in building ur foundation..art is just like a tea, u hv to add sugar to make it taste sweet, the same goes for ur art languages. being able to do well in art, u hv to fluorish ur language 1st, since u r to study at IPTa, then malay is the language that u shud brush up and try to hone it .
fookent
15-05-2009, 03:41 PM
I have a question here...i get the scholarship for IPTA...and the jpa officer cal me 2 register at the Matri first..and I'm now in matri...but jus now i see the jpa website...it said those who get ipta can go register at asasi at 23 mei or 28 jun....can i noe what happen now?
angel_tnp29
15-05-2009, 04:00 PM
ya~i did see the announcement... perhaps for those who didnt apply or get matriks like me will go for asasi...
15-05-2009, 06:04 PM
ya~i did see the announcement... perhaps for those who didnt apply or get matriks like me will go for asasi...
You can't go for asasi as it for Bumi only. Most asasi course is conducted in UiTM which is Bumi university. Therefore, you will be going to matrik.
CabalUchiha
15-05-2009, 06:30 PM
Well, according to previous years, PIDN is suppose to be out in June, any1 applied PIDN n got it ?
angel_tnp29
15-05-2009, 10:05 PM
You can't go for asasi as it for Bumi only. Most asasi course is conducted in UiTM which is Bumi university. Therefore, you will be going to matrik.
Ya~I just got a call from JPA today. He said I'll go to matriks with those who succeed to appeal for Matriks. There are only 3 cases where we go to matriks under JPA arrangement, not because we apply for it before... no wonder no one know abt this b4...
fookent
16-05-2009, 09:07 AM
Can I know about the minimun qualification for me to secure a place at IPTA for the jpa scholaship? Wil i need 2 apply for the course what I finished the matri?
haliban
17-05-2009, 08:14 AM
Well, according to previous years, PIDN is suppose to be out in June, any1 applied PIDN n got it ?
JPA for IPTA is declare as PIDN eventhough the interview actually under PILN.^^
The real PIDN can be applied in June this year. ^^
enlighttouch
23-05-2009, 11:09 AM
hello i got jpa scholarship to further my studies in matikulasi/asasi until university research.I had applied for matrik before but i didnt get it .Then i appealed for it but also failed to get matrik.I now very worry because jpa didnt call me to go for matrik since my friends that suceed in appeal are ready to go to matrik.JPA wont give me asasi rght?since i am non -bumiputera.I cant call jpa.If i really need to go matrik first but not being informed , what should i do ?i scared there is no more places for me after this.hope someone can help me
when will the letter arrived?do anybody that got jpa ipta scholarship got the jpa offer letter?
23-05-2009, 11:21 AM
hello i got jpa scholarship to further my studies in matikulasi/asasi until university research.I had applied for matrik before but i didnt get it .Then i appealed for it but also failed to get matrik.I now very worry because jpa didnt call me to go for matrik since my friends that suceed in appeal are ready to go to matrik.JPA wont give me asasi rght?since i am non -bumiputera.I cant call jpa.If i really need to go matrik first but not being informed , what should i do ?i scared there is no more places for me after this.hope someone can help me
when will the letter arrived?do anybody that got jpa ipta scholarship got the jpa offer letter?
A friend of mine who applied for actuarial Science is also waiting like you as he got matrik/asasi. He didn't apply nor appeal for matrix. Like angel_tnp, I suggest you wait for the phone call or the letter from them or better call them. You can't get into asasi as you are not a bumi. Relax, I believe JPA is a man of their words and will a place for you into matrik if not somewhere else to do your foundation.
SapphireDragon
23-05-2009, 11:59 AM
Guys, according to my somewhat detailed analysis, don't you think its not that worth it to accept the JPA IPTA offer? For example medic, you study for 6 years, work for 2 years housemanship and have to be bonded to the government (which is not necessarily a bad thing to others, but not me) for 10 years just for I guess around RM40,000 they spend on you in IPTA. Is it really worth it? Then, if you want to further your studies in masters, you probably need financial assistance from JPA and after you finish your masters, the number of years bonded is added to the years bonded for your degree which hasn;t finished at the 1st place! of course, there are pros such as a guaranteed place in uni to study medic after matrik and for the financially tight families, but overall...its not a seven heaven deal...at least to me.
23-05-2009, 01:50 PM
Guys, according to my somewhat detailed analysis, don't you think its not that worth it to accept the JPA IPTA offer? For example medic, you study for 6 years, work for 2 years housemanship and have to be bonded to the government (which is not necessarily a bad thing to others, but not me) for 10 years just for I guess around RM40,000 they spend on you in IPTA. Is it really worth it? Then, if you want to further your studies in masters, you probably need financial assistance from JPA and after you finish your masters, the number of years bonded is added to the years bonded for your degree which hasn;t finished at the 1st place! of course, there are pros such as a guaranteed place in uni to study medic after matrik and for the financially tight families, but overall...its not a seven heaven deal...at least to me.
Don't say it's worthless, you're now disheartening others who got that. Should be grateful what you get now, refer to my signature please. :P
Well, I know the main problem many students don't want to serve back to country is all about the bond. Why do you all so scared about the bond? It won't let you die of it right? In fact, the bond ensures you will get a career surely, safer than hanging in the middle, sitting back and doing nothing. As you all know, due to the economics recession, the number of unemployment more than the number of employment. Nowadays if you still have a job to do, should be grateful already...
enlighttouch
24-05-2009, 08:59 PM
Anyone who got jpa to further studies to matrikulasi/asasi until university research for pharmacy course?You get the letter already?Do JPA call you to go matrik?did you apply for matrik?What do you think JPA will let me study first before enter IPTA since i am a non-bumiputera and JPA didnt call me to go to matrik?i apply for matrik but didnt get it then i also failed to get when i appealed for it.Will JPA let me study foundation in somewhereselse or study a level before enter u?
24-05-2009, 09:03 PM
Anyone who got jpa to further studies to matrikulasi/asasi until university research for pharmacy course?You get the letter already?Do JPA call you to go matrik?did you apply for matrik?What do you think JPA will let me study first before enter IPTA since i am a non-bumiputera and JPA didnt call me to go to matrik?i apply for matrik but didnt get it then i also failed to get when i appealed for it.Will JPA let me study foundation in somewhereselse or study a level before enter u?
i guess u have to go for form 6 since JPA will continue to sponsor you during your undergraduates level.
angel_tnp29
24-05-2009, 09:44 PM
As for me, the main purpose that I applied for scholarship because I really need a financial support. So that why I did accept the offer. You have no choice when you really need money to support your study no matter in IPTA or Overseas. Sometime there will be something happen out of your plan. But well, if you have money and can support yourself financially when you reject the offer, then sure it wont be a big problem^^
Hi:-) I got Research Universities for Social Science. I'm going to Labuan this Wed to register at Kolej Matrikulasi. I didn't even apply for Matrikulasi before. But under the arrangement of JPA, now I got the offer to go to Matriks. You will take Matriks first then u have to apply for research universities. The path for non-Bumi to get into IPTA either through STPM or Matriks. You can get into IPTA with A-Levels and Asasi in IPTA is only available for bumi. Are you sure there is no one call u?? I think you can try this no >>0388853398 and try to speak to En Nizam.
enlighttouch
24-05-2009, 10:52 PM
Thank for your info.i have tried to call jpa before but always failed to contact jpa.thanks for the number.I will try it early in the morining tommorow.when is jpa call you ?i didnt received any call.Maybe i am not at home when they call me.Now i am really worrying .I afraid they missed out me and maybe i will ended up in form six but form six now start studying already.Matrik also n i think i dont have much time and cant cope with it if not going to matrik this week.Do you have friends that apply for pharmacy course and in the condition same like me?good luck and all the best for your study in labuan
angel_tnp29
25-05-2009, 10:22 PM
Thank for your info.i have tried to call jpa before but always failed to contact jpa.thanks for the number.I will try it early in the morining tommorow.when is jpa call you ?i didnt received any call.Maybe i am not at home when they call me.Now i am really worrying .I afraid they missed out me and maybe i will ended up in form six but form six now start studying already.Matrik also n i think i dont have much time and cant cope with it if not going to matrik this week.Do you have friends that apply for pharmacy course and in the condition same like me?good luck and all the best for your study in labuan
Thanks & sorry for late reply from me. I got my first call on 10th May. The officer told me briefly where I am going and what should I do. Then the second call was after I emailed them because I'm worry about my status. Encik Nizam called me the next day after I sent the email. He told me there are only 3 cases like me. I couldn't remember the other 2 names. It sound like Poh and Law as for their last name. After this I won't be able to online as there is no wifi in labuan matriks:-(
--And don't forget to tell me the results afterward..Good luck to you too:-D
fookent
01-06-2009, 02:34 PM
can i know when those who get the JPA for IPTA will receive their letter? Coz many ppl from the PILN one aredi get their letter, I'm anxious about it.....
01-06-2009, 04:35 PM
can i know when those who get the JPA for IPTA will receive their letter? Coz many ppl from the PILN one aredi get their letter, I'm anxious about it.....
A friend of mine who also got IPTA is also waiting for his letter. Anyway, so far those who have went to matrik/asasi are the ones who got the call from JPA to do so, not by letter.
angel_tnp29
03-06-2009, 08:23 AM
Yup...for those who got IPTA for JPA one have to go to matriks first...JPA instructed me to go to Matriks first without any letter...They just called me to do so and said wait for the IPTA letter in matriks. Now I'm in Matriks and still waiting for their letter to arrive.