View Full Version : Discussion: JPA Social Science 2009
angel_tnp29
15-05-2009, 08:39 AM
Anyone here got scholarship from JPA for social science?
lowray
15-05-2009, 08:59 AM
I wonder what social science graduates do?Particulaly malaysia... anyway, this is part of my thoughts on that..Social sc is very popular overseas but not Malaysia..
u can see those students esp malay, they study soc sc in malay and end up being a teacher or professor. while overseas, like USA and Uk, they become the top notch professor and involve in a huge bunch of international reseach ,and thus if the medium of instruction for soc sc is implemented in english, i believe malaysia too can be as famous and getting the oppurtunity to involve in international research..i am afraid our country not being able to do that since the current syllabus in IPTA is fully in malay for arts subjects..
magtum
15-05-2009, 09:08 AM
I'm the one.
I change my course from medicine to social science during my interview. And they allowed me to do so by filling up the form.
Normally, which country we will be sent to?
angel_tnp29
15-05-2009, 04:05 PM
I wonder what social science graduates do?Particulaly malaysia... anyway, this is part of my thoughts on that..Social sc is very popular overseas but not Malaysia..
u can see those students esp malay, they study soc sc in malay and end up being a teacher or professor. while overseas, like USA and Uk, they become the top notch professor and involve in a huge bunch of international reseach ,and thus if the medium of instruction for soc sc is implemented in english, i believe malaysia too can be as famous and getting the oppurtunity to involve in international research..i am afraid our country not being able to do that since the current syllabus in IPTA is fully in malay for arts subjects..
omg...I'm going to IPTA for social science...I didnt get straight A1, so I didnt appeal for overseas program and just accept my fate for being placed in IPTA...
davidchak
20-05-2009, 03:01 AM
I'm the one.
I change my course from medicine to social science during my interview. And they allowed me to do so by filling up the form.
Normally, which country we will be sent to?
might be sent to Canada. I am one of those social science scholar sent to canada (batch 2007) :)
angel_tnp29
20-05-2009, 08:09 AM
might be sent to Canada. I am one of those social science scholar sent to canada (batch 2007) :)
Hmm..were you giving any chance to pick any course that u want as long as it is under social science? As I got IPTA, I'm thinking to go to UKM for Diplomasi..
magtum
20-05-2009, 08:45 AM
Hi davidchak!
I just want to ask before you go to canada, do you study in malaysia first? then which university in malaysia?:)
angel_tnp29
20-05-2009, 09:49 PM
Hi davidchak!
I just want to ask before you go to canada, do you study in malaysia first? then which university in malaysia?:)
so u got overC one? Congratz~ so which course that u want to do under social science?
davidchak
21-05-2009, 04:10 AM
lol, golden rule for social science & humanities : it is basically everything excluding science, engineering and medicine (music, masscomm, economics, psychology, sociology, poli sci...and MANY MORE)
I am studying Psychology. my pre U course is done in Taylors COllege (Intl canadian pre U)
magtum
21-05-2009, 09:07 AM
so u got overC one? Congratz~ so which course that u want to do under social science?
I think I will choose Psychology.
angel_tnp29
21-05-2009, 09:51 PM
I think I will choose Psychology.
Haha..this is wat i told them during my interview. But since I got IPTA, so I have browse through their list and found out diplomasi course^^
davidchak
22-05-2009, 12:33 AM
it doesnt matter...as long as it is in the right Bidang (namely social sci) u will be fine
magtum
27-05-2009, 08:44 PM
To: davidchak/anybody who know the answer
I know for social science, we need to learn all the basics for each field under social science for the first year. And on the second year we need to major in a specific field. My question is can we choose other fields except "sains politik/perhubungan antarabangsa"? such as psychology, sociology, etc...
Kindly answer my question.
Thank you!
Aeifa17
29-05-2009, 08:37 PM
hello..
I got jpa offer for social scn also, but now i`m in matrix to study first after a long holiday..
I`m waiting for the offer letter first..I want to ask about ICPU..is it hard as matrix oso?..uh...my parents didnt want to give permission to me to go for jpa..because they heard from other people..
students that learn social scn in oversea, when they come back to malaysia..they hardly find a job here..uhu..is that true?
magtum
31-05-2009, 04:25 PM
hello..
I got jpa offer for social scn also, but now i`m in matrix to study first after a long holiday..
I`m waiting for the offer letter first..I want to ask about ICPU..is it hard as matrix oso?..uh...my parents didnt want to give permission to me to go for jpa..because they heard from other people..
students that learn social scn in oversea, when they come back to malaysia..they hardly find a job here..uhu..is that true?
well~ I heard so. But it's actually depend on what field you major in. Just like if you major in psychology, then you can be a psychologist.
Haiz... It seems very few people choose social science... Any people who choose social science already recieve their jpa letter?
angel_tnp29
01-06-2009, 04:37 AM
Now I'm in matriks and I'm waiting for my letter from JPA too. Cant wait to get my allowance. Very hard to survive without their allowance. I'm taking social science. Its not that not many people applied for social science. But many those who applied not recommer.
Freak
02-06-2009, 02:24 PM
Hi,, I received the JPA letter yesterday,, I'll be doing AUSMAT in KBU Int College, reg is on 2nd July,, and I applied for social science too,, and hoping to read English Lit!!
Have anyone else gotten their letters?
magtum
02-06-2009, 03:37 PM
Hi,, I received the JPA letter yesterday,, I'll be doing AUSMAT in KBU Int College, reg is on 2nd July,, and I applied for social science too,, and hoping to read English Lit!!
Have anyone else gotten their letters?
Congrats to you because you already recieved the letter.:)
May I know where are you from? (What I mean is which state)^^
Freak
02-06-2009, 03:44 PM
I am from Kelantan. Did you apply for Social Sc too?
magtum
02-06-2009, 07:48 PM
I am from Kelantan. Did you apply for Social Sc too?
Yup, I applied for social science too.
I just recieved my letter this afternoon.
Pre-u In Taylor University (ICPU-1 Year) and degree in Canada.
Freak
02-06-2009, 10:29 PM
do you know anyone who gets to do their degree in the UK? in social science
angel_tnp29
03-06-2009, 08:14 AM
I got USA one. After I appealed...
magtum
03-06-2009, 08:52 AM
Anybody who get social science in Canada? and also ICPU in Taylor University?
03-06-2009, 03:28 PM
I got USA one. After I appealed...
:huh Didn't you get IPTA already? And isn't that you are now studying in matrix?
So, which college will you be heading to?
Anyway, congrats! Lucky then! :))
angel_tnp29
04-06-2009, 01:00 PM
:huh Didn't you get IPTA already? And isn't that you are now studying in matrix?
So, which college will you be heading to?
Anyway, congrats! Lucky then! :))
Thanks^^
My parents encouraged me to appeal so I did it through SUPP. Then I got the overseas one. Now still in matriks and life here really not as good as what I imagine and really hard to cope with my study here as perakaunan use BM>.<
04-06-2009, 03:20 PM
Thanks^^
My parents encouraged me to appeal so I did it through SUPP. Then I got the overseas one. Now still in matriks and life here really not as good as what I imagine and really hard to cope with my study here as perakaunan use BM>.<
Oh I see...
So you haven't receive your letter is it?
Still don't know which country and college?
shakirah
04-06-2009, 07:21 PM
whoa congrats 2 all of u!!
eeleng
05-06-2009, 03:27 PM
Yup, I applied for social science too.
I just recieved my letter this afternoon.
Pre-u In Taylor University (ICPU-1 Year) and degree in Canada.
Same here ;D ICPU in Taylors, off to Canada after 1 year.
Yes, no doubt that Social Science may not be as popular as medicine here, but it is definitely in demand in overseas, therefore the Government is actually introducing it for the M'sian students. Should be interesting, and definitely it doesn't sound as clique as medicine or accountancy or etc etc.
angel_tnp29
05-06-2009, 05:07 PM
Oh I see...
So you haven't receive your letter is it?
Still don't know which country and college?
yup...still no news from them...even call....But I already know that I'm going to US and doing my ADT at Taylor Subang Jaya...
davidchak
05-06-2009, 07:22 PM
To: davidchak/anybody who know the answer
I know for social science, we need to learn all the basics for each field under social science for the first year.
Not really. Social science is a HUGE discipline. Its impossible to know all of them (even just basics). But yes, usually, people would go for the 3 major branches of soc sci, namely sociology, anthropology and psychology and to learn their basics. But its entirely optional. I have a friend doing soc science and she is doing tons of world religion course in university simply because its her interest (yes, religion study is within the scope of social science as well) and as for me, I am doing lots of computer science course right now (simply because its my interests). So...its really up to you.
....And on the second year we need to major in a specific field. My question is can we choose other fields except "sains politik/perhubungan antarabangsa"? such as psychology, sociology, etc...
Yeap. Anything is possible. If you read carefully, it says sains politik/perhubungan antarabangsa DAN LAIN LAIN. Everything else is under "dan lain lain" and that includes socio, anthro, and psychology as well.
hello..
That is entirely wrong. Do you think economics graduate cannot find job?
That is the problem of Malaysian mentality. Anything not medicine/science/engineering/computerscience will means cannot find job.
I have seen people graduating from arts history and English literature and they are all doing fine now. You see what you think.
A degree in social science, unlike other degree, does not necessary prepare you the exact knowledge for any specific job (in fact, that shld be the case for ALL other degree, i have seen a CHem graduate working as a bank manager now, explain that!). A university degree prepares you the soft skill mainly. Its not like a vocational diploma where they stressed more on hands on practice, you are taught to be critical and analytical in your university studies.
Unless, of course, thats if you go to a higher level study (master and above), THEN, you will use MORE of your knowledge in working fields.
leodarius
06-06-2009, 03:05 PM
I got social science and will be doing AUSMAT at KBU before hopefully going to Aus. The thing im not sure about is will JPA release you from your bond if they cannot find a job for you after graduation? some of my friends said so and i wanna noe whether it's really true.
Aeifa17
10-06-2009, 09:47 PM
i am just know about my offer two days ago..I oso will do ausmat in KBU..but im not sure yet because i heard ausmat is the hardest foundation study among all foundation..hm..Life in matrix is hectic enough for me now..I dont know if I can handle ausmat later if I go for it..
davidchak
10-06-2009, 10:50 PM
not really lah..The hardest foundation study is International Baccalaurette lol :P
magtum
15-06-2009, 07:24 AM
Same here ;D ICPU in Taylors, off to Canada after 1 year.
Yes, no doubt that Social Science may not be as popular as medicine here, but it is definitely in demand in overseas, therefore the Government is actually introducing it for the M'sian students. Should be interesting, and definitely it doesn't sound as clique as medicine or accountancy or etc etc.
HI eeleng! Since we are going to do the same course in same place and university. Err... May I know more about you?
I'm Magtum Aen. 18 years old, male, from Sibu, Sarawak.
Moderator's Note: Just another reminder that exposing your email here is a gold mine for the numerous spam bots out there. ~ Capablanca
fab814
15-06-2009, 06:45 PM
I got social science and will be doing AUSMAT at KBU before hopefully going to Aus. The thing im not sure about is will JPA release you from your bond if they cannot find a job for you after graduation? some of my friends said so and i wanna noe whether it's really true.
oh hello..im currently doing social sc in KBU..
JPA will somehow managed to post u anywhere within their departments after u graduated..maybe like 6 years..but that all depends on the state of our economy. u see like when m'sia is having this economic downturn back then on 1999,jpa did not even sent anyone to study overseas. so about the employment,u need not to worry about it for now.. what u have to bear in mind is to pass ausmat first le..:amuse
i am just know about my offer two days ago..I oso will do ausmat in KBU..but im not sure yet because i heard ausmat is the hardest foundation study among all foundation..hm..Life in matrix is hectic enough for me now..I dont know if I can handle ausmat later if I go for it..
hello..why would u pass up the opportunity to go for ausmat?
i mean,its hard yes,of course..but once u've got the hang of it(ausmat),
u'l be fine..:))
helpera
31-07-2009, 09:39 AM
hi im doing soc science to uk
31-07-2009, 10:10 PM
congrats to you then.
psychology is not a marketable degree in malaysia but u can always have another option of doing ur career overseas.
I am doing psychology at Uni of birmingham now and majority of my coursemates are very well versed in english and that makes me a bit lag behind.
social science is very wide and u can consider performing arts if u really love it.
Nice to hear that and i guess u can always go to Uni of birmingham for ur degree as the arts and humanities courses are quite famous.
trust me, enriching experience is waiting you.:P
02-08-2009, 01:45 PM
An undergraduate degree in social science is useless... so as any other undergraduate degrees in any other fields. Basically, any undergraduate degrees are useless, aside from being a paper to meet the bare minimum requirement of an employee...
angel_tnp29
03-08-2009, 11:48 PM
An undergraduate degree in social science is useless... so as any other undergraduate degrees in any other fields. Basically, any undergraduate degrees are useless, aside from being a paper to meet the bare minimum requirement of an employee...
haha..but it is undeniable vital for us to have that useless paper in order to show that we learn something..and the paper that 'fly' over the sea seems to be more worthy than the paper that u can get without flying..
truecolours
31-08-2009, 10:05 PM
Hmm... Do you guys think that taking up Psychology as a major is a wise decision if you want to work in Malaysia?
sugan
31-08-2009, 11:14 PM
we choose our life.
ZOLOFT SETTLEMENTS (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/zoloft/)
sNaiL0810
07-01-2010, 05:08 AM
Hmm... Do you guys think that taking up Psychology as a major is a wise decision if you want to work in Malaysia?
I am now taking psychology as my major in Canada under JPA. And to tell you the truth, I am loving it
ianclarei
12-01-2010, 08:39 PM
Hey guys, I wanna study english literature. How can I do so?
angel_tnp29
18-01-2010, 02:12 AM
Hey guys, I wanna study english literature. How can I do so?
are u intend to apply JPA scholarship?
davidchak
18-01-2010, 02:34 AM
If I am not mistaken, JPA allows that as English Literature belongs to the category of Humanities
ianclarei
20-01-2010, 05:00 PM
Yeah I checked that. I'm just curious though whether anyone applied for english lit using jpa.
gelato
25-03-2010, 11:14 PM
i applied for social science-psychology under JPA PILN...
i just wanna know are the chances of getting JPA scholarship for this field of study high??
i would appreciate an answer from those who did apply for social science/psychology...:)
gryffindor_92
27-03-2010, 11:31 AM
may i ask those who already went for jpa interview last year under social sc course. wht kind of question do they ask?
and as for myself, i'm a sc stream stdt. do i hv equal chances with those who are art students?
and what do u guys study actually? do we need to know a lot abt social sc in order to pass the interview?
i do hope for reply. please, and thanks a lot! =)
adele123
27-03-2010, 01:05 PM
My batch was 3 years ago, and I have a friend who was in science stream was offer the social science scholarship by JPA.
Can't help with rest of the questions
28-03-2010, 10:23 AM
may i ask those who already went for jpa interview last year under social sc course. wht kind of question do they ask?
and as for myself, i'm a sc stream stdt. do i hv equal chances with those who are art students?
and what do u guys study actually? do we need to know a lot abt social sc in order to pass the interview?
i do hope for reply. please, and thanks a lot! =)
yes, u hv equal chance with the art students.
in interview, most of the questions are the same for all JPA applicants, except tat they might ask some simple question about social science. so be prepared.
rukia0827
02-06-2010, 03:21 PM
alas!! I finally found a post regarding JPA social science...
so good to know that I'm not alone...
and...I'm also thinking of taking psychology later on~
AnniceAng
03-06-2010, 03:46 PM
I want to ask....is there any JPA PIDN scholars studying psychology in IPTS now???
truecolours
07-09-2010, 10:08 AM
Yea, I'm with AnniceAng. I'm pretty interested in Psychology. Are there any current JPA scholarship holders studying Psychology? Which pre-u college are most of you guys given?
07-09-2010, 12:10 PM
Yea, I'm with AnniceAng. I'm pretty interested in Psychology. Are there any current JPA scholarship holders studying Psychology? Which pre-u college are most of you guys given?
I'm from Taylor's, and I knew two of my friends who'd be pursuing Psychology in the US studying ADP here.