View Full Version : What subjects are/were u taking for STPM?
nameloo
15-05-2009, 01:02 PM
Hello guy, newbie in the house.
After a long dilemma n thorough thinking, I've decided to go on with my 1st choice of which going to Form 6 this year instead of matriculation.
Anyway, my ambition is to be a doctor, so I've decided to go to Biology class.
So, my subjects are :
1.Math T
2.Chemistry
3.Biology
4.Pengajian Am
n MUET
I'm still considering of taking 5th subject. However, i don't know whether it's really necessary for me to take the 5th subject or not. I'm planning to take Physics or Seni Visual... LOL
I know seni is totally off the science stream but maybe i could use it if i didn't able to get offer to do medicine. FYI , i do hv passion in arts.
And I'm considering Physics just in case I'm really sucks with Bio n to broaden my choice of choosing my course for degree.
What u think ? State what subjects are/were u taking for ur STPM n should i go with the 5th subject?
THX
Jonathan
15-05-2009, 03:26 PM
Hello and welcome to Recom. Nice to meet you. Btw, I am also a newbie LOL. I am taking Bio class too but I am only taking 4 subjects:
1. PA
2. Bio
3. Chem
4. Add Maths
I am not planning to take up my 5th subject. But, if u want to take up another subject, I would suggest Arts since u have passion for arts. If u are able to cope with stress, u can take up Physics instead and do 3 science subjects. Hope my suggestion can help u out.
holy_spring
15-05-2009, 03:34 PM
erm
here just to post out my opinions~~
same
i take bio class this year (spm leaver 2008)
last time i also have planned to take 5 subjects
but
after i think for a long long long time
i think that it is not necessary for me to do so
since there is so many course i can take if i was in bio class~
not only i can involved in medic
i also can involved in nutrion, psysiology, biotech...
so
i make up my mind
and i take bio class with 4 subjects and MUET
and
i felt that im so lucky that i din take 5 subjects
because today we have started our lessons
and my friends said
when their phy teacher teached in front
they all headache
they dont know what the teachers are saying
*maybe they didnt touch physic and maths for few months*
but then
i feel that im lucky too~
and im glad that i have did a good and correct decision
so
NO REGRET~!!
those just a piece of my mind~
take as reference bahs~!!
GOOD LUCK TO YOU YA~ ^^
nameloo
15-05-2009, 03:39 PM
Nice to meet ya too.
Guess i'm going to look after how hard is the Physics since i got A for my SPM for Physics, but I also got A for Arts....
Hurmmmm
but i know, SPM result should be the yardstick for STPM....
fran28
16-05-2009, 03:26 PM
pa
bio
maths T
chem
& of coz,muet
shiqinlee
16-05-2009, 08:24 PM
i take bio class..
pa,math T,chem,bio and pengajian perniagaan.
lovEunice
16-05-2009, 09:07 PM
well i'm being enrol in lower 6 for this year, and the subject that i took is
PA, math, physic,chem and of course MUET. regarding about the 5th subject,at first i do have a thought of taking bio as the 5th subject as i was thinking hving better chance to get more A's so that i got an higher opportunity to get scholarship next time plus i can drop bio anytime just before stpm if i ever found out bio isn't my cup of tea.but eventually i decide not to take the 5th subject as my teacher said that in the end the best four subject will only be counted.but of course that is because i have no interest in bio.it is another case if you are passionate towards seni visual.
and i have question : im a science stream student, let say next year when i graduate and taking up finance in degree, can anybody give me some advice that will i be able to cope up with it??
16-05-2009, 09:12 PM
After a long dilemma n thorough thinking, I've decided to go on with my 1st choice of which going to Form 6 this year instead of matriculation.
So, my subjects are :
1.Math T
2.Chemistry
3.Biology
4.Pengajian Am
n MUET
I'm still considering of taking 5th subject. However, i don't know whether it's really necessary for me to take the 5th subject or not. I'm planning to take Physics or Seni Visual... LOL
I know seni is totally off the science stream but maybe i could use it if i didn't able to get offer to do medicine. FYI , i do hv passion in arts.
And I'm considering Physics just in case I'm really sucks with Bio n to broaden my choice of choosing my course for degree.
What u think ? State what subjects are/were u taking for ur STPM n should i go with the 5th subject?
THX
Wow! You really set your mind to do 5 subjects? But first I think you need to ask yourself this questions...
1) First, does your school allow you in the first place?
In my school we are not allowed to take any extras and if you don't like the combo of subjects, they'll just ask u to ship out to another school...
2) Why do you want an extra subject?
Is it because you want an extra A....pls note that form 6 is NOT form 5 where having extra subs is a walk in the park... Form 6 is gruelling and there is so much to learn in a short time
3) What do you gain from a 5th subject?
If you have really decided on being a doctor, an extra subject is not really necessary and it will be take up your time and energy for a subject you won't pursue in the future. Without an extra subject, you have more time to focus on the four
4)Can you cope with the additional stress?
Remember even with 5 As its still not a guarantee to get the course you want...Your CCAs count too so you might want to devote some time into that rather than an additional subject.
I hope I don't sound like a wet blanket or that I'm discouraging you...just highlighting some facts that need to be taken into consideration before you decide. You can ask your seniors their opinion if an extra sub is good or not..
After answering all this ques and you still want to do an extra, go ahead and do your best... :)
p/s : this is just my two cents' worth and if you think it's utter rubbish that's perfectly fine
Eurytos
17-05-2009, 12:53 AM
Wow! You really set your mind to do 5 subjects? But first I think you need to ask yourself this questions...
In my school we are not allowed to take any extras and if you don't like the combo of subjects, they'll just ask u to ship out to another school...
Is it because you want an extra A....pls note that form 6 is NOT form 5 where having extra subs is a walk in the park... Form 6 is gruelling and there is so much to learn in a short time
If you have really decided on being a doctor, an extra subject is not really necessary and it will be take up your time and energy for a subject you won't pursue in the future. Without an extra subject, you have more time to focus on the four
Remember even with 5 As its still not a guarantee to get the course you want...Your CCAs count too so you might want to devote some time into that rather than an additional subject.
I hope I don't sound like a wet blanket or that I'm discouraging you...just highlighting some facts that need to be taken into consideration before you decide. You can ask your seniors their opinion if an extra sub is good or not..
After answering all this ques and you still want to do an extra, go ahead and do your best... :)
p/s : this is just my two cents' worth and if you think it's utter rubbish that's perfectly fine
I believe that if you want to take 5 subjects go ahead ! Don't let anyone stop you from taking the additional subject and perhaps additional glory in the future : )
Answering to the above questions in numerical order :
I agree this will be an obstacle for some students, but if you have really set your mind to take a 5th subject you should fight for your rights. Complaint to the PTA, write to the principal do what you can to achieve what you want. Me as an example, had to write an official letter to the school to appeal for a chance to take FM as a 5th subject.
Because it rockz to be a national top scorer ! Not me lar.... ask choogirl, mark, tsar they all LOL ( but i still think it rockz!! ) On a more serious note, you want to take the extra subject because it helps with university applications, scholarship interviews and even future resumes. Having an extra subject gives you the chance to stand out from the rest of the field and mark yourself as a more than outstanding student : )
This is by far the easiest question to answer. Taking a 5th subject DOES NOT cripple your chances to get into local universities, it actually BOOSTS them. Your CGPA is calculated by taking the 3 best subjects plus Pengajian AM, so lets say you fail ur 5th subject you will still have an advantage. Oh yes and did i mention taking 5 subjects helps in overseas university applications ?
Yes you can. Show me a man that doesn't have stress, and I will give you a guy that has done nothing in life. Successful people are where they are because they have the ability to handle additional stress. If you don't give the chance to yourself for coping with extra stress, how can you know if you can't handle it ? If you can manage the additional stress, well done you are on the way to success. If you can't drop it, there still isn't much harm done !
Your CCA's are important too ! But there is no reason to give up on your CCA's just because you took 5 subjects... I hope this post can help to solve at least 1 student's woes on whether or not to take 5 subjects..
nameloo
17-05-2009, 07:58 AM
I believe that if you want to take 5 subjects go ahead ! Don't let anyone stop you from taking the additional subject and perhaps additional glory in the future : )
I agree this will be an obstacle for some students, but if you have really set your mind to take a 5th subject you should fight for your rights. Complaint to the PTA, write to the principal do what you can to achieve what you want. Me as an example, had to write an official letter to the school to appeal for a chance to take FM as a 5th subject.
Because it rockz to be a national top scorer ! Not me lar.... ask choogirl, mark, tsar they all LOL ( but i still think it rockz!! ) On a more serious note, you want to take the extra subject because it helps with university applications, scholarship interviews and even future resumes. Having an extra subject gives you the chance to stand out from the rest of the field and mark yourself as a more than outstanding student : )
This is by far the easiest question to answer. Taking a 5th subject DOES NOT cripple your chances to get into local universities, it actually BOOSTS them. Your CGPA is calculated by taking the 3 best subjects plus Pengajian AM, so lets say you fail ur 5th subject you will still have an advantage. Oh yes and did i mention taking 5 subjects helps in overseas university applications ?
Yes you can. Show me a man that doesn't have stress, and I will give you a guy that has done nothing in life. Successful people are where they are because they have the ability to handle additional stress. If you don't give the chance to yourself for coping with extra stress, how can you know if you can't handle it ? If you can manage the additional stress, well done you are on the way to success. If you can't drop it, there still isn't much harm done !
Your CCA's are important too ! But there is no reason to give up on your CCA's just because you took 5 subjects... I hope this post can help to solve at least 1 student's woes on whether or not to take 5 subjects..
Thx
Well if i'm asking my counselor, definitely he will stops me tho. He said no one in this school ever took 5 subjects n scored all A's.
GOD, school counselor is way lack of information for students.
Besides, my counselor is scaring me by saying negative things about STPM n said i hv very,very slim chance of doing a medicine thru STPM. He said i shouldn't reject my matriculation offer. He also said few more things negative about STPM when he compared it with matriculation...*sighh
Anyway, about the extra subject, i'll think more about it.
So, anyone else? What about ur subjects?
cllai
17-05-2009, 11:08 AM
halo newbie here.i am study lower six this year .just same with my friend,take 4 subject only.pa ,bio,chem,and maths t ,of course plus muet
ChristopherCWL
17-05-2009, 01:45 PM
So, my subjects are :
1.Math T
2.Chemistry
3.Biology
4.Pengajian Am
n MUET
THX
For your information, Physics and Biology timetable are set on the same time...so if you do want to take both, u will have to sacrifice either to learn Biology, or Physics your own...so think about it...
lawteoh
17-05-2009, 03:01 PM
For your information, Physics and Biology timetable are set on the same time...so if you do want to take both, u will have to sacrifice either to learn Biology, or Physics your own...so think about it...
Your info is totally wrong (concerning physics and biology timetable set on the same time).
I am sure Mark wong and choogirl would agree with me.. they took 5 subjects (physics, biology, PA, Maths T and Chem). so, basically, the timetable would not clash with each other. If not, they would not be able to take that exam.. But I agree with ur statement if u r talking about school examination.. However, for school examination, you could ask the physics teacher to let u take the exam later. that's what the top boy in my school did.
17-05-2009, 03:26 PM
I was in the bio class as well and I took the obligatory PA, Maths T, Bio, Chemistry and MUET. What i had considered taking for my fifth subject was Literature in English, but my school did not offer it and I could not find any tutor for it.
About whether or not you should go with an additional subject, first of all you need to be sure that you can cope with the pressure and extra work, especially if you have to take external classes for it. Form 6 is very much different from SPM time. It's all about work and the amount of effort you put into your studies. Interest is definitely an important point in choosing a subject. Although a fifth subject is able to boost your credentials, studying just for that extra A puts additional pressure on you, especially if you have no interest in the subject.
But of course, if you are willing to do anything to be successful in path you want to take, go ahead and do it. Work hard, play hard.
ChristopherCWL
17-05-2009, 03:32 PM
Your info is totally wrong (concerning physics and biology timetable set on the same time).
I am sure Mark wong and choogirl would agree with me.. they took 5 subjects (physics, biology, PA, Maths T and Chem). so, basically, the timetable would not clash with each other. If not, they would not be able to take that exam.. But I agree with ur statement if u r talking about school examination.. However, for school examination, you could ask the physics teacher to let u take the exam later. that's what the top boy in my school did.
oic...im sry buddy but in my school, the timetable is really the same...so i guess i have to give up my Bio and take physics only...that s too bad actually for me...
choogirl
17-05-2009, 03:55 PM
Haha. Well said Eurytos!! *claps claps* Btw, I took 5 subjects in STPM 2008 - Bio, Chem, Phy, Math and PA even though I have no interest to do any Bio-related field.
oic...im sry buddy but in my school, the timetable is really the same...so i guess i have to give up my Bio and take physics only...that s too bad actually for me...
If you are really serious about taking 5 subjects, you can take Phy tuition and then stay back to do Phy experiments in school. You can discuss with your school what to do about it because of course, they would want to produce a national top scorer as well. I do know that some schools ban people from taking 5 subjects though.
Really, nothing is impossible :)
17-05-2009, 04:15 PM
If you are really serious about taking 5 subjects, you can take Phy tuition and then stay back to do Phy experiments in school. You can discuss with your school what to do about it because of course, they would want to produce a national top scorer as well. I do know that some schools ban people from taking 5 subjects though.
I salute you guys who take extra 5th subject. My school will probably kick you out before anyone makes a request for 5 subs...and I think they are very serious about it.
It's great you guys have support from your school.
ChristopherCWL
17-05-2009, 04:48 PM
Haha. Well said Eurytos!! *claps claps* Btw, I took 5 subjects in STPM 2008 - Bio, Chem, Phy, Math and PA even though I have no interest to do any Bio-related field.
Well, i think i should ask and see...so far, i have already asked my school counsellor and he does not recommend me to get more than 4 subjects ... he said if i do want to add another one, he will suggest me to take PS but not Bio... i guess i really have to think carefully about this issue...
17-05-2009, 05:04 PM
Well, i think i should ask and see...so far, i have already asked my school counsellor and he does not recommend me to get more than 4 subjects ... he said if i do want to add another one, he will suggest me to take PS but not Bio... i guess i really have to think carefully about this issue...
At least your school will still allow you however reluctantly but that's good for you...
I think your cousellor dun recommend bio cuz of practicals (dissection, collection what not) involved which might clash with your physics one...
Still others have taken bio so it's still possible...
ChristopherCWL
17-05-2009, 05:30 PM
Got it buddy...i guess i really have to take this matter seriously....will most probably take 4 subjects i guess...
XterNalz
18-05-2009, 05:22 PM
Among Chemistry, Physics and Biology, which subject is the easiest to score/take ??
shiqinlee
19-05-2009, 12:59 AM
i'm from science stream and want to change to art streams. Subject that i would like to take is Pengajian Am,Math S,Pengajian Perniagaan and ekonomi. Anyone can suggest any subject for my fifth subject? for your info I would like to be an economist. Is it a wide prospect of career in this field? One more thing,any career suggestion if i'm taking pa,math s,pp and econs with the fifth subject?
ChristopherCWL
19-05-2009, 03:41 PM
Among Chemistry, Physics and Biology, which subject is the easiest to score/take ??
It is hard to say actually about which subject is the easiest....For me, Chemistry tends to be the toughest among the 3 pure Science...Chemistry requires one not only to memorize , but to understand as well...Unlike Biology who requires someone to memorize more than Understanding and vice versa for Physics....
19-05-2009, 03:49 PM
Well that would depend on the individual...if you really like the subject, it becomes slightly easier than the rest....
That's why you r encouraged to choose either bio or physics becausedifferent ppl like different things...no point going for bio/physics if you dislike it....(unless you love all three and planning to take 5 subs but that's a different story...)
nameloo
19-05-2009, 04:33 PM
Hrmmm
My teacher have told me sometime this week.
He said when u r studying Physics, u still have the chance to study medicine for your degree, but in Australia, but he's not sure about that in malaysia.
Do u think it's possible in Malaysia?
cllai
19-05-2009, 07:45 PM
it is absolutely cannot study medicine degree in malaysia with studying physics.my cousin take physics in stpm ,when he apply for medicine ,he cannot get it because do not take biology in stpm
fran28
19-05-2009, 07:47 PM
nid help!
why isit that we have 2 books of reference books for chem,bio and maths t?
i dont get it
is vol2 of chem= paper2 of chem?
pls clear my doubts
btw,i'm buying ace ahead by oxford for maths t(1&2), bio(1&2) and chem(1&2)
are the books good enuf?
for pa..i;m using ilmu bakti
Eurytos
19-05-2009, 07:53 PM
Hrmmm
My teacher have told me sometime this week.
He said when u r studying Physics, u still have the chance to study medicine for your degree, but in Australia, but he's not sure about that in malaysia.
Do u think it's possible in Malaysia?
Yes it is possible, u can apply for UPM by taking physics, maths and chemistry without biology for the the medical course there.
it is absolutely cannot study medicine degree in malaysia with studying physics.my cousin take physics in stpm ,when he apply for medicine ,he cannot get it because do not take biology in stpm
MEMENUHI SYARAT AM UNIVERSITI
DAN
SYARAT KHAS PROGRAM
Mendapat sekurang-kurangnya Gred B+ (NGMP 3.33) pada peringkat STPM dalam mata pelajaran berikut:
Chemistry; dan
dua (2) daripada mata pelajaran berikut:
Physics
Biology
Mathematics T / Further Mathematics T
dan
Mendapat sekurang-kurangnya Tahap 3 (Band 3) dalam MUET.
Quoted from the official website of the ministry of higher education
https://upu.mohe.gov.my/portal_bpkp/epanduan/syarat/papar_syarat.php?carian1=P&carian2=AS&carian3=SNF&carian4=00114
Please get your facts right before posting any information, it is extremely misleading to new forumers and also to students seeking HELPFUL information in this forum.
lolipop197
19-05-2009, 07:57 PM
is form 6 very difficult to get 3 B+ ???
need help here, pls...
is form 6 very difficult to get 3 B+???
helpless here...
celestial_sacred
19-05-2009, 08:30 PM
is form 6 very difficult to get 3 B+ ???
need help here, pls...
is form 6 very difficult to get 3 B+???
helpless here...
I don't think there'll be a definite answer. Some will say it's easy while some will say it's difficult. Just work hard and study consistently and you'll get even As. :)
choogirl
19-05-2009, 11:35 PM
Yes it is possible, u can apply for UPM by taking physics, maths and chemistry without biology for the the medical course there.
MEMENUHI SYARAT AM UNIVERSITI
DAN
SYARAT KHAS PROGRAM
Mendapat sekurang-kurangnya Gred B+ (NGMP 3.33) pada peringkat STPM dalam mata pelajaran berikut:
Chemistry; dan
dua (2) daripada mata pelajaran berikut:
Physics
Biology
Mathematics T / Further Mathematics T
dan
Mendapat sekurang-kurangnya Tahap 3 (Band 3) dalam MUET.
Quoted from the official website of the ministry of higher education
https://upu.mohe.gov.my/portal_bpkp/epanduan/syarat/papar_syarat.php?carian1=P&carian2=AS&carian3=SNF&carian4=00114
Please get your facts right before posting any information, it is extremely misleading to new forumers and also to students seeking HELPFUL information in this forum.
I would like to add that some australia universities also accept physics subjects combination for medic. I don't have the list with me but I think you can google to find out.
However, if you plan to do medicine, bio is really desirable
louisev7
20-05-2009, 06:37 PM
If I want to do pharmacy later, is it alright to take Bio, Chemistry, Math, PA?
And what should be the lowest band for MUET for me?
skyflyer1211
20-05-2009, 08:11 PM
Hi all
I from Malacca too and currently in Munsyi taking lower six there.
Well I take Pengajian Am, Biology, Chemistry, Math T and of course MUET too.
I also plan to take chinese if I get a chance to do so.
Lets be firm on our choice.
choogirl
20-05-2009, 08:30 PM
If I want to do pharmacy later, is it alright to take Bio, Chemistry, Math, PA?
And what should be the lowest band for MUET for me?
Yes, it's alright. Depends where you wanna study. For most places, band 5 is the minimum because pharmacy is a pretty competitive course.
-ELaiNE-
20-05-2009, 08:49 PM
Hm..after combing through this thread I can see that many of you are sticking to 4 subjects..well, I'm a firm supporter of 5..lolz..:D
I took triple science, PA n Maths T..nothing is too difficult in Form 6 regardless of the common perspective.. I admit that you need to sacrifice time if you take an extra subject. No pain, no gain..simple as that..somehow, I still managed to squeeze in lots of entertainment in my Form 6 life..haha..
If you plan to do medicine, I strongly encourage you to take 5 subjects. There are few hundred people with 4 As every year and limited places for medic in public uni. Don't forget the matriculation students' competition. If you can score 5 As(only 13 students last yr), no doubt you'll stand out. Universities will give you priority. Not only local unis, many overseas unis will be all out to grab you. Just for example, NUS S'pore..they have obvious preference for 5 subjects takers this year especially for critical courses such as Medicine, Pharmacy, etc.
And yes, some unis in Aus and US list Physics as compulsory for Medicine, not bio..Physics train our critical thinking and analytical skills..this is more important than your knowedge in biology.
My advice is..don't be afraid of the pressure. Go ahead and take the challenge. At least try it out for Lower 6. If you really can't cope(let's say)..then you can drop it end of this year. I wish you all the best in making a choice..;)
nameloo
21-05-2009, 03:38 AM
Hrmmmmm
Based from what u said, it's kinda make me more interested to Physics.
But it's just that i'm a bit traumatized (LOL) from my 'cacat' SPM result by taking more than necessary subject.:P
so, i'm thinking like this.
I'm attending my Bio class at school and Physics class by tuition. or shud i do it vice versa?
Which one is recommended?
choogirl
21-05-2009, 10:59 AM
Bio class in school and physics class by tuition. There are a few bio experiements like bugs catching that you have to do in group. You won't wanna catch all 25 different species of bugs yourself
If you are firm with your decision, please read up on other threads about STPM. The question you asked was mentioned somewhere else.
nameloo
21-05-2009, 06:47 PM
Bio class in school and physics class by tuition. There are a few bio experiements like bugs catching that you have to do in group. You won't wanna catch all 25 different species of bugs yourself
If you are firm with your decision, please read up on other threads about STPM. The question you asked was mentioned somewhere else.
ok
thx for the words.
choogirl
21-05-2009, 06:49 PM
LOL. I'm PLANNING to study in London School of Economics - actuarial science (planning because i have yet to secure a scholarship)
nameloo
21-05-2009, 06:58 PM
LOL. I'm PLANNING to study in London School of Economics - actuarial science (planning because i have yet to secure a scholarship)
LOL
thx again..
anyway, how to apply for UK universities from ur STPM??
Hrmmmmm
shoujo_sm
21-05-2009, 07:43 PM
My school is going to have the one session for Form 6 which is start from 7 something in the morning till 4 pm in the afternoon, I am just wondering if I can cope well if I take 5 subjects... haha... Anyway, we need to sit for the private paper if we take the extrs subs; physics? What it is about? Theory paper?
choogirl
21-05-2009, 11:58 PM
Nameloo: How come you edit so much?? Makes me look like I'm bragging about myself only =.="" Apply during Sept time in Upper Six. That one can come later on.
Shoujo_sm: Which school are you from? I thought only my school is the mean one that ask the students to stay until 4. The private paper is like SPM Paper 3. Don't take that paper. It's better to do the experiments in school. Try discuss with your teachers whether you can stay back to do them.
nameloo
22-05-2009, 03:19 AM
Nameloo: How come you edit so much?? Makes me look like I'm bragging about myself only =.="" Apply during Sept time in Upper Six. That one can come later on.
opppsss
sorry, my bad....:P
anyway, thx
bubblezlott3
25-05-2009, 10:16 PM
PA , Econs , Accounts and PP
ysw91
26-05-2009, 06:13 PM
Hi all
I from Malacca too and currently in Munsyi taking lower six there.
Well I take Pengajian Am, Biology, Chemistry, Math T and of course MUET too.
I also plan to take chinese if I get a chance to do so.
Lets be firm on our choice.
i m also study in munsyi
i take pengajian am, biology, chemistry, math t n MUET too
wat is ur name?
nameloo
26-05-2009, 07:27 PM
god!!
y so many classmates here.....LOL
sugan
26-05-2009, 07:54 PM
how to apply for australia and singapore with stpm?
lawteoh
26-05-2009, 08:42 PM
how to apply for australia and singapore with stpm?
When ur results are out, then apply lo.. The application is done online.. then, all u need to do is to follow the instructions given. That's all. U r only lower 6 this year, rite?
nameloo
27-05-2009, 07:26 PM
When ur results are out, then apply lo.. The application is done online.. then, all u need to do is to follow the instructions given. That's all. U r only lower 6 this year, rite?
when u applied, does a scholarship guaranteed?
lawteoh
27-05-2009, 07:32 PM
when u applied, does a scholarship guaranteed?
I just ask NTU today.. For tuition fee loan, can say its guaranteed if you got 'tick' that particular box when u apply.. =)
For study loan, if your family income per capita less than 1200 sing per month, then u r eligible for it.. also almost guaranteed. According to the booklet which I just receive today, the fees per year is only 780 sing for first sem and 770 sing for 2nd sem if you get tuition fee loan and ntu study loan.. so, kinda affordable rite? =)
However, scholarships like nanyang and asean undergraduate is NOT guaranteed. Basically, it depends on your result.. I guess this applies to NUS also cause most of the singaporean universities practice the same policy.
nkc6060
27-05-2009, 10:31 PM
me from chungling ...
taking mathT , physic , PA and chemistry
planning to take extra subject
dono further math or bio better
i heard tat if me take bio nid take paper 4 de and nt practical
is it paper 4 very hard ?
as i know further math is very tough ....
and i heard the rumour tat they say SPM get many A de ppl STPM time wont so success de ........
is it true ma ?
erinkoo
22-06-2009, 03:30 AM
wow. im still not used to hearing ppl thinking of taking 5 subjects.. i thought to myself, "why torture yourself like that?". if you already know where your interest lies, whether in bio or physics, i think it's better to stick to 4. handling 5 is not easy. one of my friends scored 12A's in SPM and i think she was still very bright and looked really hardworking to me in form 6 (we went to different form 6 school, plus im not that close to her. haha..), she took 5 subj : PA, Math T, Phys, Chem, Bio. I was really shocked to hear that she got a C for Physics. She got an A for Bio you know! So, I really think if she would have stuck to 4 subj, she would have excelled. Her boyfriend was, I would say smart for dropping Physics at the beginning of Upper 6 and got 4A's. Just an opinion..
PsyMaths
22-06-2009, 06:52 PM
1.Math T
2.Chemistry
3.Physics
4.Pengajian Am
Consider to take 5th subject but bcuz of the extension of school period ...
nameloo
23-06-2009, 04:34 PM
Hrmmmm
I've added another subject, Physics....
I hope i'm not torturing myself cuz wat i c, I'm broadening my choice n opportunity if i can do good....
Sigh....
Y must everything need an 'if'?? -_-*
SMLASALLE
23-06-2009, 04:34 PM
well im taking
1 : Pengajian AM
2 : Pengajian Perniagaan
3 : Sejarah
4 : Bahasa Melayu
arts class. hell yeah !
sim91
27-06-2009, 05:53 PM
1.Pengajian Am
2.Pengajian Perniagaan
3.ekonomi
4.Math S
same wit SMLASALLE in art class
fran28
03-08-2009, 04:45 PM
can i do med or med-related field if i skip bio bt taking physics?
03-08-2009, 07:05 PM
can i do med or med-related field if i skip bio bt taking physics?
There're people who do med even they took phy during stpm and matrix.
kaiyi
09-08-2009, 06:30 PM
but most of the Uni in Msia only accept bio students in med.
im upper 6, n take 5 subjects
1. Pengajian Am
2. Maths T
3. Chemistry
4. Biology
5. Chinese
it's on your headmaster whether you can take 5th subject or not. i'm lucky my headmistress quite ok about it(juz need a letter from my chinese tuition teacher).
btw i think taking physics and bio together is horrible. Things u need 2 study are PILES!
anyway im quite enjoying taking 5th subject (though really not easy)
Caprio
09-08-2009, 09:38 PM
Some of the universities do accept Physics students for medcince, provided you obtained a really good result. As far as I know, USM does.
markwongsk
28-08-2009, 05:51 PM
STPM 2008 from SMK Bintulu :) (That's in Sarawak btw)
Subjects taken:
PA
Mathematics (T)
Chemistry
Biology
Physics
seahjiachen
05-11-2009, 11:12 PM
Anyone took Further maths? I'm in a dilemma between Bio / physics / further maths... ( currently in Bio class, attending physcis tuition ) Should i give Further maths a try and drop bio? Or juz learn Further maths for fun :D
zarionette
18-01-2010, 09:53 PM
Hrmmmm
I've added another subject, Physics....
I hope i'm not torturing myself cuz wat i c, I'm broadening my choice n opportunity if i can do good....
Sigh....
Y must everything need an 'if'?? -_-*
Hey, so how is it like to take all 3 chem, bio and physics so far? Am curious bout it. Btw, hope you're doing well in your studies now.
27-01-2010, 10:36 PM
hey there, I'm SPM'09 leaver and still waiting for the result now. I'm afraid if i can't get any scholarship upon the releasing of the actual result, I won't have sufficient cash in my wallet for the study of A-Level or other pre-u programs in private college and in the end i have to go study F6. I wanna study Actuarial Science in my future endeavour, so i wonder is that appropriate for me to take up Further Maths T, Maths T, Physics and Pengajian Am for my F6? Can I substitute Physics with art stream subject such as Akaun/Ekonomi as Physics is not related to actuarial science at all? Will the school allow the mixture of science and art subjects to be taken by the candidates? Is Further Maths T really hard? how can i know whether i can suit to it or not? But i think it's definitely a good exposure to advanced maths and give me vigorous thinking skill that i would desperately need it in actuarial field. I would really appreciate it if some experienced seniors can answer my questions. Thanks in advance. :)
Aelean
22-02-2010, 08:50 PM
Biology
Chemistry
Pengajian Am
Maths (T)
Literature in English
I was the first person from full Sci class to drop Physics in my school.
Got loads of thinly veiled crap from classmates and some teacher about how giving up makes you a coward.
In the end I took an additional subject while some of the critics dropped their subjects too.
I would have dropped Maths (T) and taken Sejarah if it were possible though.
Alexis Ma
05-03-2010, 10:22 AM
Aelean, you'll need to make sure that the subjects you take have some coherence. If you had dropped Maths, you wouldn't be able to take any science courses in the future, which makes biology and chemistry redundant.
deepkutty_92
07-03-2010, 09:04 PM
Juz wanna clarify my doubts... Is chemistry a compulsary subject for stpm science stream? Im a spm leaver and i would like to take up physics, pa, math t, computing, and tamil. If i take up chemi, it would b six subjects and its not allowed... n im really not interested in chemi... plz help clarify my doubt!!!
Thanks so much!!! ;)
sky_blue15
08-03-2010, 02:49 PM
chemistry is compulsary for science stream student in my school...
i'm from kluang high school (JOhor)
i'm taking
Pengajian Am (PA)
Chemistry
Mathematics T
Physics
RevolveR
16-03-2010, 06:02 PM
PA
eco
Business studies
accounting
math S
Im aiming for all subjects flat score!!! yes!!!I know i can do it!
markwongsk
16-03-2010, 08:51 PM
Chemistry is compulsory.
@<hidden>: Don't feel pressured from others! Enjoy studying and gaining knowledge! Of course, I disapprove of dropping Maths T... (actually you can't do that!) So you might as well enjoy learning something you hate! Just like our university's metaphor... Taking a course you hate is like getting raped: If you can't resist it, might as well enjoy it... >_< :oh
lowxuan
16-03-2010, 09:11 PM
Chem is compulsory in my school too =x
SMK Gajah Berang Melaka STPM 2009
PA, Math T, Phys, Chem
Biology
Chemistry
Pengajian Am
Maths (T)
Literature in English
I was the first person from full Sci class to drop Physics in my school.
Got loads of thinly veiled crap from classmates and some teacher about how giving up makes you a coward.
In the end I took an additional subject while some of the critics dropped their subjects too.
I would have dropped Maths (T) and taken Sejarah if it were possible though.
then u might as well as taken art stream== some art stream doesnt require to take math~_~my state does
nick123
10-05-2010, 03:45 PM
Hello.
I'm now officially in Lower 6, offered Science Stream.
Between Biology and Physics, I know my interest is more inclined to the former but after getting numerous feedbacks from teachers, they claimed that Biology paper is comparatively much difficult to score if compared to Physics. According to my school's statistics, it can be observed that the number of Biology candidates who score A is not convincing. This cumulatively caused some doubts in me. Hopefully seniors could elaborate further or prove that my conjecture is wrong.
At the same time, I wish to pick up a 5th subject seemingly I still show interest in certain non-Science related courses like Law, Accounting and Mass Communications and I feel that it MIGHT provide me with better CGPA considering I don't feel confident with my Maths T. I have Ekonomi and Pengajian Perniagaan in mind. Hopefully I could receive advices and feedbacks on this subject matter.
Many thanks.
LaLaLaKenz
10-05-2010, 03:47 PM
Science stream
subjects - Physics , Maths T , Chemistry , P.Am , Muet
kaiyi
10-05-2010, 03:55 PM
Hello.
I'm now officially in Lower 6, offered Science Stream.
Between Biology and Physics, I know my interest is more inclined to the former but after getting numerous feedbacks from teachers, they claimed that Biology paper is comparatively much difficult to score if compared to Physics. According to my school's statistics, it can be observed that the number of Biology candidates who score A is not convincing. This cumulatively caused some doubts in me. Hopefully seniors could elaborate further or prove that my conjecture is wrong.
At the same time, I wish to pick up a 5th subject seemingly I still show interest in certain non-Science related courses like Law, Accounting and Mass Communications and I feel that it MIGHT provide me with better CGPA considering I don't feel confident with my Maths T. I have Ekonomi and Pengajian Perniagaan in mind. Hopefully I could receive advices and feedbacks on this subject matter.
Many thanks.
Biology indeed has less students who score As. However, i think you should choose subjects with your interest. what is the course or field you wish to pursue in degree level?
Do not choose something just because it is 'easier'. Learning things that you are interested in are relatively easier than things you are not.
nick123
10-05-2010, 04:12 PM
Biology indeed has less students who score As. However, i think you should choose subjects with your interest. what is the course or field you wish to pursue in degree level?
Do not choose something just because it is 'easier'. Learning things that you are interested in are relatively easier than things you are not.
Regarding on the course or field that I wish to pursue, I have a thread here in recom which would answer that :
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=10751
As mentioned in the latter post in that thread, I have decided to go for Biology class in Science Stream where I find healthcare sciences acceptable despite my interest for Law and maybe Mass Coumminacations.
Now, I do have fair interest in PP considerably I find the theories rather interesting and heard feedbacks that it is of easy subject but hard to score as there are keywords and so on. On the other hand, I was advised to go for Econs because some claim that most non-science related courses require Economics as the subject prerequisite. Both I find interesting but I'm not really fancy of calculations so I hope I could receive advice and further elaborations on my current enquiry. TQ.
gracemode
10-05-2010, 04:13 PM
Art Stream:
PA, Ekonomi, Maths S, Perakaunan or Pengajian Perniagaan.
I want to study economics in the future. So, in between perakaunan and P.perniagaan, which should I choose? :huh
Can I say that perakaunan is more useful?
Sunny92
10-05-2010, 05:27 PM
which subject is easier to study ? physics or biology ?
I was interested in biology, but i always get a better result in physics than biology in SPM. Anyone can give me suggestion ??
10-05-2010, 06:52 PM
School: SMK Seri Serdang, Selangor
Stream: Science
Subjects taken: Maths T, Physics, Chemistry, PA.
Class: 6 Mulia
Hey everyone, once again I have my dilemma here. I would like to study Actuarial Science in future, and I'm now wondering about whether I should change to Art Stream, to take Economics and Accounting instead of Physics and Chemistry. However, those subjects are taught in BM. What are the advantages for me to take Physics and Chemistry, for these one and a half months, before I start my A-Levels in July? I'm just wondering, between Physics and Accounting, which one would be more beneficial to me?
I was interested in biology, but i always get a better result in physics than biology in SPM. Anyone can give me suggestion ??
Urm, better take something based on your own interest. However, if you think you can score better in Physics, just take it. Physics has wider pathway as compared to Biology by the way. For instance, Biology students can't get into Engineering courses, but Physics students can get into Medicine course. :) Be wise in choosing your subject.
nittu
10-05-2010, 06:55 PM
Same with me when i was in spm.. Im interested in bio and spend more time in that but my physics results always better than bio.. For form 6 bio its nearly same with form 5 bio.. Your basic in form 5 must be very good.. If your basic is good than you wont have problem in form 6.. Form 6 bio is more deeper and there are many things you need to memories.. Physics i think less memorisation but more into calculation and understanding.. But in form 6, both have 2 volume of books and there are more than 20 chapters you need to catch up.. So both also not easy.. Its better you choose what you are interested in and what you want to be in future..:)
CelineD
10-05-2010, 07:00 PM
Hello...just wanted to ask, if I plan to do law, is History, PA, Pengajian Perniagaan and Either Ekonomi/Prinsip akaun a good selection? and between Ekonomi and Prinsip Akaun which is more harder to understand? (BTW, I plan to drop BM and Maths if I could.) How hard is Maths S for an ex-Science stream student?
10-05-2010, 07:12 PM
Hello...just wanted to ask, if I plan to do law, is History, PA, Pengajian Perniagaan and Either Ekonomi/Prinsip akaun a good selection? and between Ekonomi and Prinsip Akaun which is more harder to understand? (BTW, I plan to drop BM and Maths if I could.) How hard is Maths S for an ex-Science stream student?
Well, Economics and Accounting are almost the same, and I heard that Economics are easier than Accounting, cause Accounting needs lots of practices too, just like Maths. I'm doubting you can drop Maths S, but I don't think Maths S is very hard though. Maths T and Maths S are the same for Paper 1, but both are different for Paper 2. Maths S would be very useful in any career and I don't think you should drop out Maths S. :) Think carefully before you drop any subject, think about their advantages to your future career. Be wise!
nittu
10-05-2010, 07:19 PM
I think that can be a good selection not sure.. But my friend who did law took BM instead of ekonomi last time.. Maths S is not hard as Maths T.. Paper 1 are the same topics but different in paper 2.. Paper 2 for maths S is easier than maths T.. So i think you wont be having problem taking maths S..
Sunny92
10-05-2010, 10:22 PM
physics paper and biology papaer, which one easier to score ??
senior here can tell me....
10-05-2010, 10:32 PM
physics paper and biology papaer, which one easier to score ??
senior here can tell me....
Physics paper I think. :)
CelineD
11-05-2010, 12:21 PM
Well, Economics and Accounting are almost the same, and I heard that Economics are easier than Accounting, cause Accounting needs lots of practices too, just like Maths. I'm doubting you can drop Maths S, but I don't think Maths S is very hard though. Maths T and Maths S are the same for Paper 1, but both are different for Paper 2. Maths S would be very useful in any career and I don't think you should drop out Maths S. :) Think carefully before you drop any subject, think about their advantages to your future career. Be wise!
I think that can be a good selection not sure.. But my friend who did law took BM instead of ekonomi last time.. Maths S is not hard as Maths T.. Paper 1 are the same topics but different in paper 2.. Paper 2 for maths S is easier than maths T.. So i think you wont be having problem taking maths S..
Thanks guys...guess that I should take maths S then. I was afraid of maths because my Add math marks averaged 50-something for a very long time. I had to work very hard to earn a A2 in my trial and then an A+ in SPM(that must have been a miracle. Thank God!)...part of the reason I wanted to change to Arts is because I don't want any more Add maths forced down my throat...or maybe I'm just being too negative about Maths?
One question: Any ex-SPM science student here who (taking f6)thought of switching to arts but later decided to stay in Science anyway? Why so? I'm really confused, My school is literally discouraging me from changing...I have 1 week and 4 days to make my decision so I'll be thinking it over=)
gracemode
11-05-2010, 03:59 PM
Thanks guys...guess that I should take maths S then. I was afraid of maths because my Add math marks averaged 50-something for a very long time. I had to work very hard to earn a A2 in my trial and then an A+ in SPM(that must have been a miracle. Thank God!)...part of the reason I wanted to change to Arts is because I don't want any more Add maths forced down my throat...or maybe I'm just being too negative about Maths?
One question: Any ex-SPM science student here who (taking f6)thought of switching to arts but later decided to stay in Science anyway? Why so? I'm really confused, My school is literally discouraging me from changing...I have 1 week and 4 days to make my decision so I'll be thinking it over=)
High5. I don't really like maths as well because I usually didn't score high marks at school exams, though I can get A+ too in SPM. I guess it's because of the easier questions in the real SPM paper.
But I'd also decided to take maths s (I'm switching to arts) because I really think that we should not run away from something we fear. It's a good thing though, as by doing sums, we can twist our brains and thus it won't rust :laugh
Maths S is more to statistics & probability I think. We still need to do sums just like in our add maths. Shouldn't be tough since you could also grab an A.
I like your question. Although my teachers didn't discourage us, but I also, wish to know why. Anyone can share with us?
george1209
11-05-2010, 04:19 PM
bio,chem,PA,Math T.
MUET.
that's it..
11-05-2010, 04:51 PM
High5. I don't really like maths as well because I usually didn't score high marks at school exams, though I can get A+ too in SPM. I guess it's because of the easier questions in the real SPM paper.
But I'd also decided to take maths s (I'm switching to arts) because I really think that we should not run away from something we fear. It's a good thing though, as by doing sums, we can twist our brains and thus it won't rust :laugh
Maths S is more to statistics & probability I think. We still need to do sums just like in our add maths. Shouldn't be tough since you could also grab an A.
I like your question. Although my teachers didn't discourage us, but I also, wish to know why. Anyone can share with us?
Well, simply because of you can change from Science stream to Art courses after your STPM, but you can't take up Science courses after you switched into Art stream in STPM. If you really like Art subjects, you can always take Art subjects in your undergraduate with Science stream in STPM. However, if you suddenly want to do medicine in your undergraduate but you have already switched into Art stream, sorry to say that your dream is impossible to be fulfilled.
Basically Science stream will provide you a better and broader pathways upon the completion of STPM, and Art stream would limit your choice of courses upon the completion of STPM. Plus, I believe that Art stream subjects are very easy to score, if you study hard and smart enough; And I think that you can always study Art subjects on your own after you have completed the STPM, since those subjects are not really hard, like Science subjects. However, you can't study Science subjects on your own since these subjects need the students to conduct experiments, right?
Be wise in making your decision! :)
gracemode
11-05-2010, 06:21 PM
Well, simply because of you can change from Science stream to Art courses after your STPM, but you can't take up Science courses after you switched into Art stream in STPM. If you really like Art subjects, you can always take Art subjects in your undergraduate with Science stream in STPM. However, if you suddenly want to do medicine in your undergraduate but you have already switched into Art stream, sorry to say that your dream is impossible to be fulfilled.
Basically Science stream will provide you a better and broader pathways upon the completion of STPM, and Art stream would limit your choice of courses upon the completion of STPM. Plus, I believe that Art stream subjects are very easy to score, if you study hard and smart enough; And I think that you can always study Art subjects on your own after you have completed the STPM, since those subjects are not really hard, like Science subjects. However, you can't study Science subjects on your own since these subjects need the students to conduct experiments, right?
Hmm right, that's very true.
But I really don't have enough passion in the science subjects, and most importantly, my ambition is more to the financial or monetary related careers. I wouldn't risk my STPM with something that I'm not confident of.
So, art stream then! :laugh
CelineD
11-05-2010, 07:17 PM
I'm glad that I'm given 2 weeks to decide now=)
Good reasoning you have there. I'll say it fits many who got into f6 because they've got the results, but are not really sure what they want to do in life, and going to Science if you've got the brains is absolutely the solution with the most flexibility! :amuse
However, like Grace I too had wanted to choose arts because of interest. Grace wanted to do a business-y degree...and I want to do law(which is under Arts).
Personally in my case it wasn't so much of not knowing what to do (And if you ask: why didn't you straight away go for something more specific in law studies like a-levels/foundation/diploma if I know what I want to major in), but that my dad and I both agreed that I'm not mature enough to handle the freedom of college/uni life yet, so we think that f6 will buy time to mature me. (hopefully):) And, no more maths T!:(
So, Arts it still is...:))
What I betul-betul geram is when (I heard from other's experience)some of those teachers and school admins who, when I state my case, would keep harping on the glory of the science students(no offence) and saying that I'll be doing something that's too easy for me. Easy? I have very little background on PP, Econs etc., and the only exposure I ever received is KHB Perdagangan at PMR...won't be easy... Everyone is entitled to their own decision lah...let me decide ok...(I hope that this dosen't happen)
11-05-2010, 08:30 PM
Hmm right, that's very true.
But I really don't have enough passion in the science subjects, and most importantly, my ambition is more to the financial or monetary related careers. I wouldn't risk my STPM with something that I'm not confident of.
So, art stream then! :laugh
Okay then! I believe that you have set your mind! Good luck Gracey!!! :amuse
I'm glad that I'm given 2 weeks to decide now=)
Good reasoning you have there. I'll say it fits many who got into f6 because they've got the results, but are not really sure what they want to do in life, and going to Science if you've got the brains is absolutely the solution with the most flexibility! :amuse
However, like Grace I too had wanted to choose arts because of interest. Grace wanted to do a business-y degree...and I want to do law(which is under Arts).
Personally in my case it wasn't so much of not knowing what to do (And if you ask: why didn't you straight away go for something more specific in law studies like a-levels/foundation/diploma if I know what I want to major in), but that my dad and I both agreed that I'm not mature enough to handle the freedom of college/uni life yet, so we think that f6 will buy time to mature me. (hopefully):) And, no more maths T!:(
So, Arts it still is...:))
What I betul-betul geram is when (I heard from other's experience)some of those teachers and school admins who, when I state my case, would keep harping on the glory of the science students(no offence) and saying that I'll be doing something that's too easy for me. Easy? I have very little background on PP, Econs etc., and the only exposure I ever received is KHB Perdagangan at PMR...won't be easy... Everyone is entitled to their own decision lah...let me decide ok...(I hope that this dosen't happen)
Well for Maths T, you can actually take Maths S instead. Maths T is pure maths, while Maths S is statistical maths which concentrates more on business and finance. The paper 1 for both papers are actually the same but different at paper 2, which means the first few chapters in Maths T and Maths S syllabus are actually the same; Only the last few chapters are different.
For the statement about school teachers keep on harping about science students' glory, I would like to say that it's very normal, cause Science subjects indeed harder than Art subjects. Well, last year the school that I'm currently in(SMK Seri Serdang) produced two 4 flat students, each from Science and Art stream, and my class teacher praised both of them just now in the class! Anyhow, be wise with your decision and if you really determined to pursue Art field in your future endeavor, then just take up Art stream. Good luck in your future endeavor! :)
walrein_lim88
11-05-2010, 09:46 PM
i was a STPM art stream student. (also switch from science to arts)
And i took these subjects: ekonomi, pengajian perniagaan, perakaunan, maths S
Ekonomi: (encourage to take)
I think is the easiest paper to score as the theory in economics is quite logic and easily to understand. Furthermore, the calculation in both papers( mikro and makro) are also easy. As long as u did enuf revision and pay ur attention to your teacher, u dont find it difficult and yet it is quite easy to understand.
Pengajian perniagaan. (encourage to take if u wanna be businessman or have strong memorising skills)
A paper that u nid to memorise a lot (A weakest subject for me as well ><)
U will learn about the management, marketing ,human resource, decision making as well... full of theory and facts.. what u nid to do for this paper is strong and good memorising skills ><....
Perakaunan(encourage to take if u wanna be an accountant)
If u want to be accountant, den u take this paper. Otherwise, this paper will kill u a lot as no reference book in this market. IF u wanna take, go tuition for this subjects. Also, nid practise a lot.
Perakaunan has 2 papers: Financial accounting (Debit credit, preparing financial statements)
Management and costing accounting(prepare budget, control cost.....)
Mathematics S (encourage if ur add maths is good)
( i think is simple as my maths foundation are strong )
Paper 1 share the same topic with maths T
whereas paper 2 is more related to statistics part:
the topic are easy : which included linear programming, network planning, data description, probability, probability distribution, correlation and regression, time series and index number.
Maths S paper 2 easy as these 3 chapters are always long questions (always >10 marks each) : linear programming, network planning and time series which are very easy (but tedious, lots of calculation) .The steps are the same. What u nid to do is do more practise whereas Maths T 2 is more to science-related topics such as vectors, trigonometry and so-on.
(But if u REALY WEAK in maths, den dont take as paper 1 will kill u )
Tats my experience..dont shoot me ><
CelineD
14-05-2010, 03:07 PM
i was a STPM art stream student. (also switch from science to arts)
And i took these subjects: ekonomi, pengajian perniagaan, perakaunan, maths S
Mathematics S (encourage if ur add maths is good)
( i think is simple as my maths foundation are strong )
(But if u REALY WEAK in maths, den dont take as paper 1 will kill u )
Thank you so much (again)!:amuse
I do have a question: You say take Maths S is your add maths is good...but what about those who came from arts in SPM? They never take add maths before wo...sounds scary...
Quoting a previous post of mine:
Will paper 1 kill me with this history?
Anyway I'll take up the challenge...(not so)final choice of subjects(which I think are relevant to the degree in law that I plan to pursue): PA, PP, Sejarah, and Maths S. Shall I take up Econs as well? Don't know if can cope with 5 subjects...
walrein_lim88
15-05-2010, 12:15 PM
Thank you so much (again)!:amuse
I do have a question: You say take Maths S is your add maths is good...but what about those who came from arts in SPM? They never take add maths before wo...sounds scary...
Quoting a previous post of mine:
Will paper 1 kill me with this history?
Anyway I'll take up the challenge...(not so)final choice of subjects(which I think are relevant to the degree in law that I plan to pursue): PA, PP, Sejarah, and Maths S. Shall I take up Econs as well? Don't know if can cope with 5 subjects...
Yes...those from arts who never take add maths really weak in this paper,
Ome of my friends who was from art stream and never take add maths was only able to get single digit in paper 1(total marks =100)...:cry:cry
Even those who have add maths basic, they did not do well in paper 1 also (about 30-40 / 100 )
So u must think it properly..
i dunno, but econs really an easy paper and also, very interesting and fun^^...btw u wanna become lawyer (since u take sejarah)?
15-05-2010, 12:52 PM
Yes...those from arts who never take add maths really weak in this paper,
Ome of my friends who was from art stream and never take add maths was only able to get single digit in paper 1(total marks =100)...:cry:cry
Even those who have add maths basic, they did not do well in paper 1 also (about 30-40 / 100 )
So u must think it properly..
i dunno, but econs really an easy paper and also, very interesting and fun^^...btw u wanna become lawyer (since u take sejarah)?
Well, for any mathematics subject, regardless of what the level it is, be it the Maths T, Maths S or Further Maths T, the only thing that we need is keep practicing until you familiarize with the formulae, application and problem solving. The word "hard" here means that you have to spend longer time on the subject, just to master the topics. The very famous quote that I personally won't forget for my whole life is, Practice makes perfect! :)
gracemode
15-05-2010, 01:59 PM
Well, for any mathematics subject, regardless of what the level it is, be it the Maths T, Maths S or Further Maths T, the only thing that we need is keep practicing until you familiarize with the formulae, application and problem solving. The word "hard" here means that you have to spend longer time on the subject, just to master the topics. The very famous quote that I personally won't forget for my whole life is, Practice makes perfect! :)
:nod Practice makes perfect.
Since it's already Sijil Tinggi Persekolahan Malaysia,
we should have expected that every subject will be at high level.
Hard or not, it's up to you. Be confident~ :))
vBulletin® v3.7.6, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.