View Full Version : What's the point of LAN tests??(lembaga akredasi negara)
04-06-2004, 03:31 PM
Those of you in private colleges should know about the LAN test. I think the test is very lame, and it does not really thought me anything. The history component is just a 'cetek' version of out SPM history. C'mon, we've been drilling over it for 5 years in secondary school, still have to take the same thing over again? Its a waste of time! They should seriously be thinking about the real goal of the test. As far as i am concerned, nothing has been acheived except wasting our time and money.
zillion
07-06-2004, 08:34 PM
I think LAN isn't a very bad subject afterall. I think it helps in helping us to know our country better esp in english :P
as an example, my sis had an internship with a US state trade and the first thing they ask her to write is about MALAYSIA. So it is lucky her knowledge and interest in History and Malaysia made her get through easily and they WERE Fascinated by MAlaysia.
I think you cannot just abandon this subject. Malaysian studies is important. And i bet you do not really know about everything in Malaysia.
I find my LAN Malaysian to be relaxing fun and interesting to learn about some history details i never learned before during secondary.
The most interesting thing is the political system in our country and how everything works and goes such as the current issue.
Maybe is because of the lecturer who is lack of creativity for better teaching method?
who knows what benefits will this subject bring in the future?
u might not know yet :)
however, i disagree how morale is taught. We should be doing really character building stuff instead of just merely reading and memorizing.
tunsrilanang
14-06-2004, 11:14 AM
i agree with you zillion
14-06-2004, 08:12 PM
im sure it does has it advantages in some way....
i did enjoyed my lan classes back in college....
the moral education isnt similar to wat we've learnt in f5, it's more on philosophy and stuffs....
malaysian studies....it's very similar to sejarah.... ^_^
warrior
14-06-2004, 08:27 PM
I'm not 100% agree with wht zillion say......
This is coz I really think that my LAN ( Moral education ) is wasting my time....Maybe thiis the lecturer's problem....I also dunno why...Every time when I attend LAN class.....I will feel blur even though I hav done preparation for this subject before I attend this class.........the lecturer always explains something tht is really not related with the topic that should be taught......All my classmates also hav the same feelings.......We assume tht study by ourself is far better than listen his explanation.....
Studying LAN subjects actually hav their benefits ......We should study it in order to broaden our horizon and improve the knowledge about our nation.........As wht u say zillion, mayb next time we need this knowledge during the interview.......right!!! :)
14-06-2004, 08:54 PM
I'm not 100% agree with wht zillion say......
This is coz I really think that my LAN ( Moral education ) is wasting my time....Maybe thiis the lecturer's problem....I also dunno why...Every time when I attend LAN class.....I will feel blur even though I hav done preparation for this subject before I attend this class.........the lecturer always explains something tht is really not related with the topic that should be taught......All my classmates also hav the same feelings.......We assume tht study by ourself is far better than listen his explanation.....
Studying LAN subjects actually hav their benefits ......We should study it in order to broaden our horizon and improve the knowledge about our nation.........As wht u say zillion, mayb next time we need this knowledge during the interview.......right!!! :)
maybe this is lecturer problem lor... npt about the subject...
i've experienced this before..i hated biology because my teacher is so boring and doenst know anything...she just read from the textbook.... i might as well read the book and dont come for the class rite? waste of time.....
LAN is beneficial, however i think it should be taught in a proper way rather than just read, read and read (especially for Moral Education).
For Moral studies, let us see what's the objectives of moral studies.....
They want everyone of us to be able to understand the basic concepts of value.
This is exactly same as the objectives of Pendidikan Moral that we learn in secondary school. After learning Moral studies for at least 12 years in primary and secondary school, i'm very sure that there are still plenty of people don't learn much from it.
Let us see a very simple example, teachers and seniority keep telling us SMOKING IS BAD FOR HEALTH. But we can still see youngsters smoking.
Another example, we've learn not to simply throw garbage everywhere. But we can still see people simply throw rubbish. To prove this, look at the surroundings around you, especially after certain celebration or festival.
If those people are truly acquire the moral values,these actions ought not to happen. I'm strongly against the way Moral studies is taught nowadays. In secondary school, to get good grades for Moral studies...the only thing to do is to memorise all the moral values. Many people didn't acquire much from memorising those values. The only aim for them is to get good grades for moral. I dare not say they didn't really learn anything from memorising, some might be able to learn something from memorising..but not all of the others.
In order to get student acquire the moral values, certain ways must be introduce to educate students nowadays. I feel that ACTIVITIES are required rather than just reading the text. We must apply what we learn in our true live throught these activities. What do you people think? http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules/Forums/images/smiles/icon_rolleyes.gif
14-06-2004, 11:49 PM
In fact, moral education nowadays require students to go out and practice the moral education and in fact, bring in real life case studies that you have done into papers that you are going to write.
From what I heard, say students go out to get involved in a gotong-royong, they would need to come in with the proof (photos, interview, writeups) that they are involved in the activities (to avoid cheating etc) and to write about it.
I would think that this is a good step ahead.
15-06-2004, 09:47 AM
In fact, moral education nowadays require students to go out and practice the moral education and in fact, bring in real life case studies that you have done into papers that you are going to write.
From what I heard, say students go out to get involved in a gotong-royong, they would need to come in with the proof (photos, interview, writeups) that they are involved in the activities (to avoid cheating etc) and to write about it.
I would think that this is a good step ahead.
yeah, i think they implemented this this year. heard that those spm students have to do assignments for moral education, and these carry some marks for spm. Is this true? I think this is a better way of studying moral education....rather than merely memorising the definitions.
hmm that's the correct way....but what about LAN-moral studies??
College students still have to study and memorise the notes and text to pass moral studies. I think it shouldn't be only a writting test, some other activities must also be taken into account for passing moral studies. A person who can score A for his or her moral studies but he or she didn't really practice what have been learnt.
15-06-2004, 01:40 PM
hmm that's the correct way....but what about LAN-moral studies??
College students still have to study and memorise the notes and text to pass moral studies. I think it shouldn't be only a writting test, some other activities must also be taken into account for passing moral studies. A person who can score A for his or her moral studies but he or she didn't really practice what have been learnt.
They do have projects as well for LAN, but it's not about practising it though (for Moral Education). But there are no activities such as gotong royong of cos, but i think that will take a lot of the students' time. College and Uni students already have plenty of assignments and projects to settle, this will only adding salt to wound.
since we dont really benefit from this LAN-moral studies, why we still have to go through and pass LAN-moral studies??? It's a waste of time rite? And i'm so sure, college students dont study the notes or text until the week before the test. The study just for the sake of passing~!There are some students still don't think rationally after go through LAN-moral studies.
15-06-2004, 06:51 PM
since we dont really benefit from this LAN-moral studies, why we still have to go through and pass LAN-moral studies??? It's a waste of time rite? And i'm so sure, college students dont study the notes or text until the week before the test. The study just for the sake of passing~!There are some students still don't think rationally after go through LAN-moral studies.
it really depends on how u look at it. you see, for those who study moral education merely to get a pass, then he/she probably wont gain much. if we study that for the sake of getting knowledge, it will be useful in future, when we enter unis or working...
and yeah..i understand that students dont think rationally even after going through the lan moral studies. but isnt this the same for other subjects as well? do u really remember and apply every single thing u learnt in school .... do u memorise all the facts u learn in standard 5 science subject? like wat albert einstein said, "i dont memorise facts, as they are easily available in books" Oh gosh, where did i read this from? Is this from ReCom? I'm so forgetful... :oops:
zillion
15-06-2004, 07:31 PM
warrior, i know what you mean. I didn't agree on how morale is taught too. I saw your notes and it is really confusing without explaination.
Though Msian Studies to me is fun, Morale is something you cannot teach merely from the text.
However, there is assignments to do community service right/?
I think that is good especially for those who HAVE NOT even been to an oldfolks home.
But ofcourse, everything about Malaysia is TEST!!!
Think this will continue for a few century until everybody BOIKOT?? :P
darkhorse_86
27-06-2004, 08:07 PM
ok ok about the gotong royong thing, I read a public feedback article in the star about a few weeks or months ago about the moral project for SPM. Apparently they had to have 'proof' that they did community and due to time constraint as we know SPM student take min 9 max 16 !! :roll: subjects they is not much time for students to prepare and the writer said that they just had to pose sweeping with a broom!! how 'hardworking' is that? Does that really prove that the student mengamalkan nilai gotong royong? ( gosh I still remember my spm stuff...) i don't think so
darkhorse_86
27-06-2004, 08:16 PM
anyways getting back to the topic about LAN, I think that students take LAN too lightly because you just need to get above 40 to pass and you no need to sit for it again., and that can be achieved through attendance project work etc.... and not neccesarily sitting for the test!! That's why most coll students careless about LAN. I don't know about coll here, but in my coll the LAN classes are from 4-6 p.m, plus when you add in a boring but strict lecturer, what do you expect the students to do. Most of the students would just talk talk, listen to music, play games on handphones etc.. while the lecturer is busy shooing everybody....
On the bright side, I think the presentations that we are required to do really helps a lot. I got to improve my confidence speaking in front of class ...although barely anyone listens. You will also learn a lot about the topic you're researching in
However, I can say that the curriculum in LAN is a bit tedious., esp in malaysian studies. In my mal studies tests they even ask for actual dates for events a) 1991 b) 1992 etc....which i just shooted for moral studies however i think the syllabus is too boring but the questions that come out in the test ( 2 essays questions and 4 situation problems) are really innovative and stimulate the mind to think. I think the test format of moral studies shouldn't change, and but mal i think they should revise
hmm...so there's no big deal in LAN right? i've seen people walk out of the exam hall about 5 mins it started because they already know they got 40 and they pass already, but that's over for me lol. considering i got A for both mal and moral studies,....amazing huh. for a perosn that didn't study at all :)
27-06-2004, 08:40 PM
Moral studies, be it in form five or college level, is pretty useless. I can safely say that i'm not any better person than i was after all the moral stuff. The thing is...everybody has a line they will not cross, u only can make them choose a line they will not cross.
For some people, the line is further away, some is closer...remember..in life..good or bad is relative, in short, the concept of good or bad changes with time and everything depends on conflict of interests.
Forcing people to remember facts are not the way. i feel that pointing out the logic with lessons from history are the way. You can show why something is 'wrong' and something is 'good' better..and it makes sense. There is no way to test moral. Testing it would only make effective hypocrites. :D
darkhorse_86
27-06-2004, 08:44 PM
i know but the group discussions and brainstorming during moral studies really helps a lot, plus the questions during the tests is not the typical ( Berikan 3 nilai yang diamalkan oleh Mr.X) etc...hahaha
27-06-2004, 08:53 PM
i know but the group discussions and brainstorming during moral studies really helps a lot, plus the questions during the tests is not the typical ( Berikan 3 nilai yang diamalkan oleh Mr.X) etc...hahaha
'group discussions and brainstorming' can be found in any other subjects. I have learned a lot from the discussions in my sociology and psychology classes in my undergrad. Anyways, my point is..learning moral and getting A does not make anyone a better person. no offense meant :)
Randomphantom
27-06-2004, 10:31 PM
Moral studies (form 5) is pretty much like studying law don't you think? This is wrong, that is right according to act/statute. Lucky for me I had a good moral teacher who marks the spm moral exams. Taught us how to tackle questions, what nilai to expect, how are the model answers etc.
I can say that studying moral... has made me a more idealistic person. Everything is black and white in moral, far removed from nitty gritty reality. Oh, so I when I graduate and go to society I can expect everyone to follow all the nilai murni and go around nitpicking on real life person Mr.X who not "mengamalkan nilai kerjasama" or "menepati masa" or "kerajinan" etc. Judging people based on oft-vague values like this doesn't work much for me in the real world. On the other hand, introducing social dilemmas and ethics cases helps a bit, cos it encourages us to ponder through situations before quickly taking sides.
28-06-2004, 07:31 AM
LAN is important for those who wish to work in public sector
Apheus
18-08-2009, 07:37 PM
is this thread still working? hello? 5 years already...
however, the moral education is still a matter students are talking about until today. I find a majority of ppl here disagree with moral:
1. moral education is not about memorizing, its more to application; you can't force ppl to memorize moral values
2. moral education makes effective hypocrites
3. majority of form 5 students only study moral a week b4 the exam
y'know, I think the gotong-royong and all that social work is good but you know what will be better? making it not a part of moral. I realise its so easy to fake all the projects... ppl are copying each other reports and putting their names on it. There should be something called "social service for the community". Get rid of that moral subject! it's a waste of time for a large majority of form 5s!