View Full Version : Malaysian Public Transport System
04-06-2004, 03:40 PM
Our busses, our taxis our LRT... are you really satisfied with the service? Well, i'm not. Our taxi drivers seemed to always out to con our money, where else do you hear people bargaining with taxi drivers? where else do the taxi drivers refuse to go where u want to go? Our busses are old, dirty, and polluting the environment. I wonder how they pass the emmision test, if there is one in the first place...
What do you think? What can we do?
SpRInG
04-06-2004, 09:28 PM
Yes, Zeroth.... i totally agree with you....
well well, one of the main problem is that it is very difficult actually for Malaysians to fully rely on the public transportation to get from one place to another place... for example, from Shah Alam to get to KLCC would require us to first take a bus to teh KTM station, and then from the KTM station, we need to change to LRT. And then, the LRT is managed by two different companies... the shift of companies actually brings a lot of problems... especially tourists... and those who are not familiar with west malaysia
yes.... and busses, theyare so old.... and there are still busses withotu air condition... it is really unacceptable.... i suspect it has to do with some sort of corruption that enables them to get the licence...
alright, another thing.. taxi... i think .... hopeless liao lah... even though there is strict rule saying that taxi drivers MUST use meters, but they NEVER used... so well, what's the use of the law if it's not imposed? well, this matter, i guess only the governmetn can do something it..
okay, and then one more thing for you ppl to ponder upon.... have you ever thought of why does KLIA need two different trolley systems while all of these are still under one roof? strange right?
tell u ppl more next time..
06-06-2004, 11:41 PM
I would hope that those with feedback on public transport, especially about those taxi driver that refused to use meter , to report it to:-
http://www.kpun.gov.my/borang/maklumbalas.php
07-06-2004, 12:49 AM
I would hope that those with feedback on public transport, especially about those taxi driver that refused to use meter , to report it to:-
http://www.kpun.gov.my/borang/maklumbalas.php
Yeah, as if that helps.
I've called the JPJ (i dono if that's the right department to call but since my uncle works there) twice to complain about taxi service in Malaysia.
I get a "We'll look into it".
Then I spoke to this "law abiding" taxi driver (well he used the meter) and he said it's no use since the most you get is a warning, if you actually get a warning.
I also spoke to a taxi driver in S'pore (I like the service there) and he said it's very strict there. You can get you license suspended just by offending a customer. No compromise. He said he has to just let the customer have their way so to secure his job.
It all boils down (as usual) to the implementation (penguatkuasaan, have been using that in almost every karangan). Sigh, Malaysia, when are you gonna learn to change?
07-06-2004, 02:40 AM
With all this negative feedback about taxi drivers, its easy to forget about the honest ones out there. I mean how often do you see letters or newspaper articles praising honest cabbies who return their customer's items or who are willing to stop for and help immobile passengers get into and out of taxis? These are simple, kind, and honest gestures, but are often drowned out by complaints of dishonesty and such. Guess the media does like to report more on the negative side of things huh? Either that, or there really is a huge gap between the number of good and bad cabbies out there. I would suggest that a way to reward these honest people be implemented to encourage more honesty among cabbies (and less cheating!).
07-06-2004, 07:07 AM
last time I talked to one taxi driver...he was talking about there being too many taxi drivers around....and at most he can only make about RM2000 a month...which is why there are ppl trying to 'cheat' but I think it's because of the market which is why ppl have to resort to this tactics....
so perhaps we should reduce the no of licenses, merge more companies, and then make sure driver's areas do not overlap that much...
...and about overcharging i think there are only a few places where they target ppl rite? e.g. in bus stations/outside KLCC (remembered paying RM10 just to go to Bintang Walk)/etc
...I guess it would be good to implement S'pore's system...except their Ez-Link cards...our Touch 'N' Go cards are way better except when you 'touch' it wrongly =)
I think M'sia tries to be too diplomatic at times, give in here, give in there...always have 2/3 companies working on one single project...but we have to focus on integration...hopefully someone will buy up all the bus companies and LRT services and integrate them all....would be better for all!
btw, how do those thing on the left work? the HP/MP/etc?
07-06-2004, 07:38 AM
Kelvin, JPJ has no power over the implementation of meter charging etc. They can only book cabs or any vehicles that break traffic rules. Kementerian Pembangunan Usahawan dan Koperasi is the ministry in charge. I really hope that if any ReCom member that faces any problem with any cab etc, or if there is any cab that has given fantastic performance, submit the feedback to Ministry. In that way, we can see whether they follow up with the feedback submitted. Be specific in the feedback.
Guess those back in Malaysia saw a SMS and phone number to complaint for public transportation, who flouts traffic rules, like speeding. Has anyone tried it? How is the effectiveness?
I agree with weich, that it is not much about the policy, but enforcement. We tend to have a lot of rules, but the enforcement is not up to the mark.
Weich, this is 4 paragraphs I found from PriceWaterHouseCooper website.
http://www.pwcglobal.com/extweb/frmclp11.nsf/DocID/511A5AEE1C1587DB85256DEF0069BA71
Government Plans Better Public Transportation by 2005
The Government is restructuring Klang Valley's public transportation system with the aim of shortening the travel time within Kuala Lumpur (KL) and encouraging higher usage of public transport. At present only 16% of KL population commutes though the public transportation system.
The restructuring will involve 3 parties: the asset owner, i.e. Government owned Syarikat Prasarana Negara Bhd (SPNB); the master operator; and a single integrated regulator. The restructuring also involves increasing the number of feeder-buses and frequency of bus services and an upgrade of amenities between connecting stations. The restructuring exercise is expected to be completed in May 2005.
A joint venture between three parties has been established as the master operator, they are: Nadiacorp Holdings Bhd executive chairman Datuk Mohd Nadzmi Salleh; KLIG Bhd; and KUB Bhd. The master operator will pay a lease payment to SPNB for the use of the asset.
SPNB, which manages the light rail system PUTRA and STAR has recently acquired DRB-Hicom Bhd and Park May's public bus transportation operations for RM177 million ($46.6 million) and RM14 million ($3.7 million), respectively. (Source: The Star and News Straits Times)
>> Back to me. I think one of the reasons split up into a few companies were because those companies that were building it were not experience. So, splitting it would mean that in case any of the system fails, at least the other system would still be there. And also I believe the capital capability of those companies are not large enough to take all at one go. Moreover, giving all to one company would invite all those cronyism talks too.
Touch'n Go, has already been able to use easily in most public transportations. STAR LRT, Putra LRT, all tolls (from 1st of July), Cityliner and Putraliner public bus.
07-06-2004, 01:03 PM
a foreigner once complained to me about our cab drivers. She was like, "Why would he not want to take us where we want to go? and why do we hv to bargain with him about the price? i thought he has to use the meter. This is like the only country where i encounter such thing."
haha, i felt SO malu and didnt know what to answer. It really reflects badly on us. We say we are a developed country, but how come we can't even have the basics of things, like efficient public transport?
*sigh* we hv a long way to go. maybe they should look into brazil's public transport system. Damn cun man..
07-06-2004, 07:34 PM
Hmm... Must taxi companies charge passengers according to meters as well, or are they allowed to pose any charges that they want? There's this taxi company in front of Sunway Pyramid... They charged at an exorbitant price... Can we complain then?
08-06-2004, 02:22 PM
i thought EVERY taxi driver, regardless of which co he's from, is supposed to use the meter?
last friday, this one taxi driver, this uncle laa..even he complained to me (i seem to be sthing like a complain counter LOL ) that if Msia's more strict on the implementation of rules, there'll be no prob. I agree w him. Complaining doesnt actually solve much coz of our "tidak apa" attitude. Yeah..we can complain, but do they actually pay attention to the complaints? I shiver thinking bout this hihihih :evil:
08-06-2004, 03:06 PM
i have been using pubilc bus as transportation since standard 4 up until now. so i think i'm too qualified to comment about the quality of pubilc transportation.
i would say that the quality of pubilc buses is improving. from mini bus until air conditioned bus, it is obvious to perceive the effort by government. albeit the there r still lots of things that have to be improve, i think we will see changes in no time.
taxi driver. i admit that there r too many irresponsible taxi driver out there who grab every chance to take advantages on passengers. there r 3 groups of ppl who mostly targeted by taxi drivers- 'mat salleh' , small kids( even those who physically looked like 1), n inexperience passengers. experienced paengers would know whether the meter method or fix price is more valuable n cheaper.
WantChair
09-06-2004, 02:09 AM
Hey... we can't let several rotten apples spoil the basket, can we? I daresay that the number of "good" taxi drivers in our country greatly outnumber the number of "rotten" ones.. i also daresay that if i were to randomly ask people who complain about taxi service if they ever had a personal experience where taxi drivers soured their day, the answer would be no... chances are, they heard about these... incidents from other people, who in turn heard the stories from other people.............. note that i do acknowledge the existence of these errant drivers, i'm just asking you to be fair towards the majority who are a good example of our country's fine services and hospitality...
after all...taxi drivers do have to go for special training in hospitality and proper ethics before they are given the public service licence, the acquirement of such a licence itself signifies that the taxi driver is qualified to give services to the public.. just like our driver's licence signifies our fitness for the road (don't even start on "lesen kopi-o")
however, i do admit that the bus services can still be vastly improved... to go to my house, i have to wait for Intrakota bus number 124, which comes once every half-an hour or so... not too bad, rite? wrong...i have to wait for Intrakota bus number 124, with a piece of paper stuck on the windscreen, which says: Jalan Sri Permaisuri... and tat is where the problem starts... on a good day, i onli have to wait 45 minutes for the bus should i miss the earlier bus...
then there is the traffic jam, which is not the fault of the bus, of course, but the bus should make it more comfortable for the passengers inside who have to endure the jam, and who are packed like "ketupat" in the bus... i once took a ride on a bus which emitted hot air from the air conditioning..*phew!! hot and humid, just like a pressure cooker...
Thankfully, there is the LRT service to save me from the discomfort of taking a bus ride.. i'm a frequent LRT commuter and i must say that it is a fast, convienent, and comfortable way to move about in the city..
and no, i'm not speaking relatively
09-06-2004, 03:35 AM
ElansarGelmir, definitely you can submit the complaint at http://www.kpun.gov.my/borang/maklumbalas.php .
Please do that, but I think they require the date, time, the number plate of the cab/bus, so as they can target the right person. However, if the entire company is cheating, why not, just report it. Do let us know whether you receive any feedback from the ministry. We can evaluate how fast the ministry responses etc too.
wantchair, do submit the feedback of the intrakota bus to the link above too. It allows for complaints towards the public bus, express bus and cabs. You need to put which date, which bus etc. Fill up and let us know whether you get feedback from ministry and how long they take to respond to you.
Thank you. Lets together submit feedback to the ministry on the public transportation each time we find a poor or good cab driver, bus driver etc.
09-06-2004, 07:30 PM
Once when I was working, I had to take the taxi almost every day. I made it a habit to just get into the taxi first and just tell where I wanna go (that's how it should work right?)
From my 10 days of riding the taxi, only thrice did the driver just switch on the meter and drive off. The other 7 times (yes I did count) asked me to either pay RM10 or get off because traffic jam.
The route is IOI mall to Kelana Jaya via LDP.
Too bad I didn't know about the complaint form before (back in 2001) as I even made a note of the number plate.
09-06-2004, 08:03 PM
Perth has arguably one of the best transport system on the planet. It's cheap, efficient, and bus drivers actually SMILE.
If I'm to get PR here, I would certainly be driving a lot less seeing how convinient it is.
I would seriously recommend KL/Selangor authorities to study how Perth manages to create such a managable well supported system.
09-06-2004, 11:32 PM
I think the old topic here http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=50&sid=20680d03dbb59c67b50cb0a4b6368536 has not been closed nor locked and futher disccusion could be added there or at least be read first. Many good points and ideas had been presented and i would higly recommend the continuation of this discussion would be from what the previous thread had left us.
10-06-2004, 03:54 AM
To avoid duplication of discussion topic, this thread has been locked.
We strongly encourage you to contrinue to the previous discussion. You may want to read all the previous comments on Transportation System of Malaysia. Thank you.
http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=50&sid=20680d03dbb59c67b50cb0a4b6368536