View Full Version : Do you think JPA is fair????

chankingguan
04-06-2004, 04:03 PM
Do you think that jpa has actually selected the final candidates (meticulously) or they picked the numbers out of lucky draw boxes...give ur opinion...are they fair....do they actually noe ur capability,ur sacrifices or is the selection just based on luck and racial or political quota???????

I do not support any races or political party...heheheh

04-06-2004, 04:06 PM
I think that's enough for us to discuss about this in the first thread. I think this thread should be locked here.

chankingguan
04-06-2004, 04:09 PM
the first post is strictly for scholarships...this is to discuss jpa's selection....it's not the same,my fren...hehehehhe

andycold
04-06-2004, 04:11 PM
Hey hey hey...relax!!! Don't start a fight here k?

04-06-2004, 04:19 PM
Hey guys, chilled out. No point ranting while doing nothing... It's just a way to vent out your anger, but gives no benefits (except for the de-irking part)... Appeal first, and focus on other immediate concerns... Do something that will distract your thoughts from the dissatisfaction... That will be healthier.

chankingguan
04-06-2004, 04:22 PM
this post is created so dat jpa can be more transparent in their selection process..... not to vent anger....hehheheh

04-06-2004, 04:25 PM
~rite [cynical tone]....

as if JPA officers will be here reading the threads....

solace
04-06-2004, 04:27 PM
ditto!

andycold
04-06-2004, 04:28 PM
lol, u ppl...make me wana lol!!! hahaha

If JPA officers don't see this webpage, INVITE them lar...CHANKINGGUAN... ;)

chankingguan
04-06-2004, 04:29 PM
i just hope the public can realise it and dat jpa can do sumthin about it, be more transparent....dats all... i don wan to go against jpa...just want some public opinion.

04-06-2004, 04:37 PM

u kids are farnee... you think they have so much time arr? Let me tell you about their daily routine... I once tried calling them in the morning at 8 am. Hmm... office belum buka. nvm. at 8.30, i tried ringing, the tel operator was there liao, but the officer hasn't arrived. at 9 am, called again, officer pergi makan sarapan. 9.30am, called again, officer meeting, call back at 10 am. 10 am, called again, masih meeting. 10.30 am, called again, officer tak ada dalam office. tak tau pergi ke mana. 11.30 am called again, maaf, lunch hour. call back at 2.30. 2.30pm called, maaf, officer belum balik lagi. 3 pm called, officer takde. 4 pm, maaf dik, kami dah nak tutup pejabat. Tolong call esok, boleh?

they are soo..... busy..... sigh... u think they still have time to listen ppl caci them meh?

andycold
04-06-2004, 04:44 PM

u kids are farnee... you think they have so much time arr? Let me tell you about their daily routine... I once tried calling them in the morning at 8 am. Hmm... office belum buka. nvm. at 8.30, i tried ringing, the tel operator was there liao, but the officer hasn't arrived. at 9 am, called again, officer pergi makan sarapan. 9.30am, called again, officer meeting, call back at 10 am. 10 am, called again, masih meeting. 10.30 am, called again, officer tak ada dalam office. tak tau pergi ke mana. 11.30 am called again, maaf, lunch hour. call back at 2.30. 2.30pm called, maaf, officer belum balik lagi. 3 pm called, officer takde. 4 pm, maaf dik, kami dah nak tutup pejabat. Tolong call esok, boleh?

they are soo..... busy..... sigh... u think they still have time to listen ppl caci them meh?

What a nice story there ElansarGelmir...2 bad they're dat bz. Well, IF, only IF(not wanting it to happen) this get 's hot enough, then someone would surely listen and take action. I'm not trying to go offensive or wad u know? I'm not against JPA, just not with it! That's all...and I don't want any serious business 2do with them! Let's just hear what others have to say...

chankingguan
04-06-2004, 04:47 PM

What a nice story there ElansarGelmir...2 bad they're dat bz. Well, IF, only IF(not wanting it to happen) this get 's hot enough, then someone would surely listen and take action. I'm not trying to go offensive or wad u know? I'm not against JPA, just not with it! That's all...and I don't want any serious business 2do with them! Let's just hear what others have to say...

dat's rite...we just want to be heard and a bit of "sarcasm" from you is not going to help us elansargelmir....sorry but i appreciate ur story...i find it entertaining....hehhehehe

solace
04-06-2004, 04:47 PM
polen!!!!!

chankingguan
04-06-2004, 04:48 PM
wats polen...i noe...i'm just asking...hhehehehehhe

chankingguan
04-06-2004, 04:50 PM
i just want to hear everyone's opinion.... please help by voting...ehheheh

04-06-2004, 04:58 PM
wat's polen?

anyway, if you guys really wanted to be heard, i guess local medias will be the best medium to voice out your thoughts. Hehe.... You're not the first batch here to undergo this dissatisfaction. There are many of us who got rejected too ( i was one of them, but i got into the second intake)... so, write some letters, make noise in the local press. if you bising here a lot also not many ppl can help you, coz there are JPA scholars here as well, and we can't really create problems with those who are handling our universities bills...

Ps. I support your effort, but complaining here in the forum won't do much.

Tina
04-06-2004, 05:00 PM
I do agree it is unfair. So many of my friends who scored straight 1s were not picked. And from my statistics, the ratio of successful candidates to unsuccessful candidates is not 1 in 3 ( as they claimed) but more like 1 in 10. So much for meritocracy.

04-06-2004, 05:11 PM
hey... grow up.....

HELLO!!!!!

u can't see a class of students and/ or among ur fren to get the whole story....

one example.... they say the gender ratio of men to women is 51:49 in Malaysia.... but according to my family member... it is like 80:20..... wahahaha....

andycold
04-06-2004, 05:12 PM
Yea, so much for that!!

04-06-2004, 05:13 PM
wat's polen?

anyway, if you guys really wanted to be heard, i guess local medias will be the best medium to voice out your thoughts. Hehe.... You're not the first batch here to undergo this dissatisfaction. There are many of us who got rejected too ( i was one of them, but i got into the second intake)... so, write some letters, make noise in the local press. if you bising here a lot also not many ppl can help you, coz there are JPA scholars here as well, and we can't really create problems with those who are handling our universities bills...

I am one of the second intakes too.. despite being a full scorer... we have to accept that scoring a lot doesn?t help much to get the scolarship.
I am currently studying Mech Engineering in Germany.
JPA gives me 967 euro per month to spend... it?s around 4000 - 5000 RM per month...
it?s difficult to get in but after getting in it?s great
i think there?s one disadvantage for the JPA scholars.... we all graduate old...
I am not sure if u agree with me but that?s what I think...

04-06-2004, 05:16 PM
whoa, JPA just give the ATU about USD150 a month (lodging and meals provided). Definitely not enough.

hehe.... yeah, iQing, i learnt that taking lots of subjects doesn't really help, unless we can secure the A1s. Sigh... JPA has funny ways to select their students.

04-06-2004, 05:17 PM
Well, just ONE word for those who was not offered the scholarship.

APPEAL

04-06-2004, 05:22 PM
I think the ability to speak is one of the critiria how JPA officers picks thier students... some top scorer?s don?t talk much during the interview so they ask things like what?s your favourite food and what is rukun negara bla bla bla.... I don?t understand why they ask such questions... maybe they don?t want the session to end too fast..

and after the long interview session.... many people still can?t get a place...

I heard if you are interviewed in certain area, the chances of getting a place is higher... do you think so?
I have seen so many JPA scholars from Sungai Petani...

04-06-2004, 05:25 PM
wat's polen?

I am one of the second intakes too.. despite being a full scorer... we have to accept that scoring a lot doesn?t help much to get the scolarship.
JPA gives me 967 euro per month to spend... it?s around 4000 - 5000 RM per month...
i think there?s one disadvantage for the JPA scholars.... we all graduate old...

iQing, if I am not wrong, you should be same batch with me... spm2000 right? emmm... same with Kenny too.. right?
waaa... RM4000~5000... we only get around RM 1400 per month here in Seoul, Korea. I am wondering is there any scholar from France?

04-06-2004, 05:26 PM
Hmm... when i went in for interview, the interviewers' main concern was my A2. Straight away ask me to check if that's really an A2. Then i know my chances of getting through dropped by 50% liao (how i know? seniors warned me)...

04-06-2004, 05:32 PM
wat's polen?

iQing, if I am not wrong, you should be same batch with me... spm2000 right? emmm... same with Kenny too.. right?
waaa... RM4000~5000... we only get around RM 1400 per month here in Seoul, Korea. I am wondering is there any scholar from France?

oh... are you with kong ming and ah beng? how r they now? I really miss them... Korean students of my batch are really active, different from my coursemate.. hehe

yeah, standly is studying in france... he?s getting about 600 ? per month...

german programm scholars got the highest amount of allowance because the higher education is free in Germany.. we travel a lot here...

Tina
04-06-2004, 05:36 PM
hey... grow up.....

HELLO!!!!!

u can't see a class of students and/ or among ur fren to get the whole story....

one example.... they say the gender ratio of men to women is 51:49 in Malaysia.... but according to my family member... it is like 80:20..... wahahaha....

I guess i do have to agree with you on that. But i am just a little unsettled about the "coincidence" of so many non-bumis top scorers who failed to secure the scholarship. P/S: the reference to non-bumis is only because the statistics compiled did not include the bumis, not to disciminate nor insult.

04-06-2004, 05:43 PM
? think if JPA really choose thier candidates completely base on result and not by skin, there would be very very very few bumiputra studying as JPA scholar...

deaf-knee
04-06-2004, 05:50 PM
yes and imho that'll be perfectly fair.

we all go to the same schools. we all go through primary 1 to 6, form 1 to 5 then SPM. we all have the same number of hours in a day. we're all malaysians.

...I believe that we were born with the same brains. so if you work hard you get what you want.

and they seem to think that just because some of them are bumis, they deserve to get special rights.

04-06-2004, 05:56 PM
oh... are you with kong ming and ah beng? how r they now? I really miss them... Korean students of my batch are really active, different from my coursemate.. hehe

german programm scholars got the highest amount of allowance because the higher education is free in Germany.. we travel a lot here...

oh... yeah... you never contact with them already? hehe...
since you guys so rich, got time come to korea to pay us a visit la... hehe
we still got around 2 years more here... can be considered as OLD when we graduate. :oops:
about standly... emm... he got join Recom or not? hehe... I got heard something about him before... hehe.... none of us here don't know standly.... lol

Hmm... when i went in for interview, the interviewers' main concern was my A2. Straight away ask me to check if that's really an A2. Then i know my chances of getting through dropped by 50% liao (how i know? seniors warned me)...

My interviewers did the same to me too. Frankly to say that my english speaking is really sucks, and my english was A2 and C5 for the 1119. At first the interviewers were questioning me in Malay Language, then got ask me something in english. When it turned into english, I really can't answer well, and just stucked with "ah... emmm... "something like this. Before I get out from the room, my interviewers said " I am wondering how you get A2 for your english" .... then I felt that the chance for me to get this scholarship was getting lower and I just said "Sorry Sir, I really can't answer this question....."
Fortunately, I get the scholarship in the first intake! Unexpectedly, I met back one of my interviewer in UiTM during the orientation. He was the head of the JPA Dasar Pandang Timur officer that time. He was pointing me and said to me in front of all my coursemates that " Hey, you are here too? I thought that you won't be able get this scholarship. I am sure you forget about me, I am one of your interviewer."

04-06-2004, 05:57 PM
not to say that I am totally disagree with the special rights..
there?s a limit to special rights... not until other races become unhappy with the status quo..
when the special rights stuff touches sensitive issue like education (extremely sensitive to the chinese people)
and things are not getting better...
people will feel frustrated and unhappy

i heard some smart non bumi can?t get to local uni or scholarship ... they were offered scholarships by oversea countries and braindrain occur

04-06-2004, 06:02 PM

oh... yeah... you never contact with them already? hehe...
since you guys so rich, got time come to korea to pay us a visit la... hehe
we still got around 2 years more here... can be considered as OLD when we graduate. :oops:
about standly... emm... he got join Recom or not? hehe... I got heard something about him before... hehe.... none of us here don't know standly.... lol

My interviewers did the same to me too. Frankly to say that my english speaking is really sucks, and my english was A2 and C5 for the 1119. At first the interviewers were questioning me in Malay Language, then got ask me something in english. When it turned into english, I really can't answer well, and just stucked with "ah... emmm... "something like this. Before I get out from the room, my interviewers said " I am wondering how you get A2 for your english" .... then I felt that the chance for me to get this scholarship was getting lower and I just said "Sorry Sir, I really can't answer this question....."
Fortunately, I get the scholarship in the first intake! Unexpectedly, I met back one of my interviewer in UiTM during the orientation. He was the head of the JPA Dasar Pandang Timur officer that time. He was pointing me and said to me in front of all my coursemates that " Hey, you are here too? I thought that you won't be able get this scholarship. I am sure you forget about me, I am one of your interviewer."

standly always lepak with ah beng one... we even do meditation togather... yeah... I still chat with ah beng nowadays.... sweet memory.. must write it down in the SIG the path of life...

I feel that JPA interviewers are funny...
from my experience.. instead of answering thier questions, I become too talkative and asked them a lot of questions... they said as an athlete if I cannot get JPA I still have chance to get scholarship from sport councer
one of them said they I definately have a chance to get scholarship to US but I have failed... maybe the competition is too great...
I wonder why they ask funny questions to other people..... like what is nasi goreng? talk about yourself etc.....

04-06-2004, 06:31 PM
Think that what they asked is not that important, what they observe is how are you going to answer thier questions, your communication skills with others....
Don't forget that those qualified for interview are those given the chance to get the scholarship, results can be put away already.
Just like what those Orientation Commitees told us in UiTM last time (ChenChow was one of them too), "we are all the same, all start from 0, regardless how excellent your results is". I think that's the same too when it comes to interview. :)

04-06-2004, 08:02 PM
First, is this really a racial issue?

I am not saying that this isn't fair or anything, but i think it is pretty fair. There are a number of ReCom members, non-bumi, with some A2s or B3s get JPA this year. The difference, interview and co-curricular activities. Perhaps, in co-curricular activities, there isn't much difference, but for interview, how you carry yourself, no matter how don't care the interviewer is. Their job is to observe. If you are impressive, you think people can choose to ignore you during the interview?

Tina
04-06-2004, 08:30 PM
After talking with a number of my friends today, i think JPA really screwed up big time this year. Forget about these racial privilege crap. I find it hard to believe that a student who scored 14a1s and 1a2 failed to obtain a scholarship for medicine. Plus, believe it or not, a Malay, with 14a1s and 1a2 also failed. So, it is rather clear that race is not an issue. For me, there are only 2 possibilities as an explanation.

1) JPA didn't take SPM results as the determinant.
2) They screwed up and it was just a random selection.

how else can u explain 2 15As student not getting selected, but others did? It doesn't make sense to me.

chankingguan
04-06-2004, 08:54 PM
dats wat i was trying to point out. Are they just picking names randomly???????? It saves time and effort to pick out names randomly doesn't it??????????...heheheheh

chankingguan
04-06-2004, 08:58 PM
one more thing, shud the interview be all that important??? There must be a better way to grade applicants than that....45 mins...10 persons fighting for the chance to speak...one interviewer. There shud be a better way...think bout it...an iq test...or a simple general knowledge paper...an essay...there are many other ways to test the applicants...is interview all that effective ????????,,,heheheheh

04-06-2004, 10:02 PM
http://www.jpa.gov.my/info/Semakan%20PILN%202003.doc

05-06-2004, 12:05 AM
One major thing...what score you get and not just A1.

Getting A1...70 is an A1, 80 is A1, 99 is A1..where you stand?

I believe JPA takes this into consideration too for critical subjects, especially like medicine.

Tina
05-06-2004, 12:20 AM
70, 80 , 90 whatever it is, we'll never find out. For sure, logically, one would expect a 15A student as a top scorer. Or else, who would dare attempt 15 subjects?

05-06-2004, 12:23 AM
Without the grade inflation, such things will not have happened.
I think it's really unfair for the really good students.

kevinkhoo1986
05-06-2004, 12:27 AM

I am gonna agree with you. Personally i frequently phoned to JPA and mostly nobody answer me. Even though someone answered the phone, they would give a lot of excuses such as "maaf, encik yusri sedang sembahyang","maaf encik, mereka tengah makan","maaf tuan, tak tau dia tu pergi mana" and so on...

kevinkhoo1986
05-06-2004, 12:30 AM
After talking with a number of my friends today, i think JPA really screwed up big time this year. Forget about these racial privilege crap. I find it hard to believe that a student who scored 14a1s and 1a2 failed to obtain a scholarship for medicine. Plus, believe it or not, a Malay, with 14a1s and 1a2 also failed. So, it is rather clear that race is not an issue. For me, there are only 2 possibilities as an explanation.

1) JPA didn't take SPM results as the determinant.
2) They screwed up and it was just a random selection.

how else can u explain 2 15As student not getting selected, but others did? It doesn't make sense to me.

I think i knew who is that 15AS Malay student that you mentioned. Personally i saw this student before, he lived in klang and always represented his school for numerous activity. He is the top students in Selangor. Could hardly found a malay student that could achieve such an outstanding result.

05-06-2004, 12:45 AM
There?s another issue related to this issue. It seems every year more and more people are getting many As... I suspect that the exam is getting more lenient..

maybe that?s why there are many straight A scorers.

if there are so many smart students, other criteria besides exam result are needed to pick JPa sponsored students.

maybe that?s why it seems unfair that students with good result cannot get in...

personally I think good result is not the only criterion.

BenLo
05-06-2004, 12:52 AM
lol i think the interview is a farce.

for my session, there were about 10 of us, expected to chit-chat about "pollution". and viewing it objectively, the chairman and i spoke up the most on pollution, esp in comparison to others and imho gave some rather good points on it (kinda gp essayish, for those of you in singapore, you know what i mean).

darn it, both of us still didn't get it. maybe the interviewer was sleeping with his eyes open 8O

anyway, regarding the bumi/non-bumi thing, fact of life lah....we've been exposed to it since time immemorial. it manifests itself in everything, even the way test papers are set. blah... but it only matters to us now that our scholarship results are at stake.

i think there's nothing wrong with giving the needy a helping hand. god knows that many of the rural folk need a boost. but with the ascension of a new PM, surely its time we saw a little more independence from them and some policy modifications, esp. since mahathir went to his retirement regretting their attitude? its about time they woke up and started asking themselves: is there anything i can do for my country besides enjoy the good stuff? can i make it on my own w/o the help of the government? should i stop effing around in school and start working harder so that i can prove that i am worthy of the benefits i receive?

pls note that this is not a bigoted, racist post. i know for a fact that there are many out there who are brilliant, talented, charismatic hardworking and savvy (congrats to herman, farid and rah on results!) lol they put me to shame. i din even get straight a1's. i know too about the chinese who litter the system and despoil our names. but from observation, its a pity that there aren't more like them, to justify all that has been done in their names.

05-06-2004, 01:22 AM
And one thing on interview, the interviewers interview many groups, so your performance is not only relative to the performance of your group mates only.

And Jiin Joo shared this earlier in interview thread before. Speaking the most, doesn't mean that you are the best performer. Often, the officer is observing the students' attitude. Whether you are observant is seeing whether other students get a chance to speak. Whether your points are solid. Whether you care about current issues? How is your eye contact? How do you react to others points? Do you listen at others point?

Jiin Joo attended an interview. Corrected me if I am wrong. It was group interview. Many students were fighting to answer as much as they can. They just want to have their voice heard. Jiin Joo sat there, listened and analyzed what was spoken. He spoke once at the end (much less compared to others). He had a good summary of the discussion, a good analysis of the discussion, he showcased his listening skills, observation skills, and he managed to do well although he spoke very little. He was the only one in the group that got the scholarship.

windy_city
05-06-2004, 01:36 AM
Define fairness!!

How you know that you are the best among those interviewed??
Straight A1 is an impressive result, but there is more to that if you want to outperform others, especially in getting this scholarship. I do not want to go over the race and quota stuff.
Just think about how you performed that day during the interview, did you perform well?? Did you just talk talk talk, and preventing others from expressing their idea?

One of essential quality you should have in a discussion is to respect other?s opinions and encourage others to express their ideas and opinion. It is not your solo show in showing how good you can talk compared to other. There is a lot more to group discussion than you think. Talking all the time in a group discussion does not mean that you are performing well!!!!
I am not saying that those who did not get the scholarship are lousy group players or they performed badly in interview. Just want your guys to think in another perspective, and have a more critical and open-minded view of the situation.

Again, who am I to say this, I am just a students like you guys too. Just my 2 cents, ignore this msg if you guy disagree with it.

05-06-2004, 01:40 AM
I find that in certain state or area the chances of getting scholarship is higher...

for my case (my interview place is in UM)
the interviewer said I DEFINITELY will get a place but I didn?t get it...
and there are a lot of scholars from SP (KL population is much greater right?)

now it?s not just about result, race and interview... there are many criteria...

05-06-2004, 01:53 AM
I find that in certain state or area the chances of getting scholarship is higher...

hey you stole the words right out of my mouth!

for SPM '99 (the first year JPA resumed giving out s'hips en masse, and opening it to a relatively substantial number of nons to boot), it was Melaka (as far as the nons)! i am from Melaka but i went to the interview in Ipoh hehe. coincidentally (or not), i was rejected the first time (and in fact, the second time too).

wonder which state it is this year.

so take it with a pinch of salt lah. as iQing said, a lot of factors go into JPA's decisions. i know you guys who felt you deserved it but were unsuccessful are terribly disappointed, and i empathize, but there is No Guarantee in life.

what you can do now is appeal. that was what i did. a word of advice: be as humble as you can be when you appeal. don't make demands. and remember, nothing in life is guaranteed.

good luck.

oh yeah, congrats to the lucky lottery winners!:)

05-06-2004, 02:04 AM

hey you stole the words right out of my mouth!

sorry about it top dog... It was just a coincident.. I said that before as well...

well... scholarship is just our privilage, not our rights... it can be remove anytime without notice..

gohweihan
05-06-2004, 02:15 AM
i heard some smart non bumi can?t get to local uni or scholarship ... they were offered scholarships by oversea countries and braindrain occur

Actually, it's not only when these smart non-bumiputeras are denied places in local universities and are snapped up by foreign countries that brain drain occur.

There are also some non-bumiputeras, who although qualify for their first choice of course and university, decide to pack their bags and leave the country (either on scholarship or not). The reason - some of these people are just sick of the system in Malaysia. It is not that the foreign country is better - it's because the Malaysian education system is bad enough.

To say that JPA practices fairness in selection of candidates is nonsense. When people in this forum says that a person's chance is higher when his or her parents are civil servants (although this has not been proven), it casts a doubt that the selection criteria is indeed fair to all. Besides, having certain courses reserved for Bumiputeras only is already proof of quotas in place.

05-06-2004, 02:22 AM
? think if JPA really choose thier candidates completely base on result and not by skin, there would be very very very few bumiputra studying as JPA scholar...

do you think there's something wrong with this statement?

05-06-2004, 02:24 AM

do you think there's something wrong with this statement?

that?s not a statement.
that?s my opinion
opinion is free from wrong and right and everyone can have thier own opinion

05-06-2004, 02:44 AM
owh okay.

my opinion is this:

people create myth.they glanced around.they see the losers.and they gazed at these losers' skin tones.

and voila,they make their mind.

but what about the winners?those with 4.0?

and those bumis albeit not having grades in SPM managed to gett 3.5 when a non-bumi with straight 10 A1's got 2.8.any race's reasoning involved in their CGPA's determination?

i respect your opinion.fully i mean.

but imagine a bumi student coming to recom and reading this myth of yours.how dumb and callow he/she might feel?

and how betrayed he/she might feel?

why opened your eyes widely to losers when they are winners too.

05-06-2004, 02:46 AM
there are brilliant bumiputra students... most of them are already sponsored by MARA. these are students who excel in academics and leadership activities.. I really admire their drive for success. Maybe it is the learning environment fostered in the MRSM schools.. trust me... they are BRILLIANT.. i cannot even compare myself to them

05-06-2004, 02:57 AM
owh okay.

my opinion is this:

people create myth.they glanced around.they see the losers.and they gazed at these losers' skin tones.

and those bumis albeit not having grades in SPM managed to gett 3.5 when a non-bumi with straight 10 A1's got 2.8.any race's reasoning involved in their CGPA's determination?

but imagine a bumi student coming to recom and reading this myth of yours.how dumb and callow he/she might feel?

The brilliant bumis have been sent abroad since Form 3 or so... That's why there are too few bumiputra who excel in SPM or STPM. Coz they are the leftovers. I think this has been quoted by one of the big shots. Forgotten where i got the source from.

05-06-2004, 02:59 AM
owh okay.

my opinion is this:

I understand what you mean...
I have many malay friends (I am close to them) and they discuss things like this with me too...
some of them told me that they really feel rendah diri compare to other races as they cannot do well in exam...

I feel helpless for both sides...

I think what we are facing in malaysia is that each race has thier own frustration, not just non-bumi...

but we have to understand that those non-bumi who scored well were not given scholarship... somehow these students have thier own frustration as well....

so it?s really a problem for everyone... and this problem has been going on for some time..

thanx for your opinion and sharing...

05-06-2004, 03:02 AM
The brilliant bumis have been sent abroad since Form 3 or so...
i don't know how you got this notion, but i dare say that it is untrue.

05-06-2004, 03:14 AM

Uhmm... someone just quoted it recently... that's why i still remember it. Else, i would have forgotten it liao...

05-06-2004, 03:26 AM
Hey hey hey... through what i read for the latest posts here, found out that most of the Recomers really like to compare themselves with others, about races, results... everything also want to compare.... then when you fail to get something, keep complaining this and that, blaming around, this unfair that unfair la... bla bla bla

Try to don't compare so much with others, just do your best for yourself! Then everything will be fair for you!

But this is what we called as human-being!
Can't help with it! :roll:

05-06-2004, 03:38 AM
To be frank, i was kind of indifferent when i found out that i was rejected for the first intake... Maybe because that time i was a little in love with my school, my friends, my CCAs, and my commitments in Singapore... Heck, i even felt nothing (sorry guys, just telling the truth) when i made it to the second batch... Maybe now i feel contented a bit after seeing my friends in my old JCs mugging hard for A levels now. And i know that they are much cleverer than me... they deserve the scholarship more than i do...

05-06-2004, 02:18 PM

Uhmm... someone just quoted it recently... that's why i still remember it. Else, i would have forgotten it liao...
so the high-flying bumis in mrsm and other sbp's are "leftovers"? there's a bunch of super genius malays gracing the hallways of eton and other elite foreign institutions, and all the others are rejects? i don't need a big shot's quote to be able to see that there's no truth to this notion.

show me the quote and i will be more inclined to believe you.

05-06-2004, 08:50 PM
well, all i can say is i understand how u all who got rejected by jpa feel...i mean, maybe not literally know k, but ppl 'feel' for ppl...

it's not time to whine n complain n put the blame on things don u think? everything happens for a reason.

if u think u r really hot shot n its real injustice tad u haf been rejected n all u do now is complain, ntg's really gonna change. like someone said, when a door closes, another opens...but if u r constantly complaining n writhing over the 'injustice' then u might be too blind to see the other door opening...

i really donno how jpa picks its scholars, esp since it varies from year to year. wad worked for my year may not be the case for this year. ur seniors might haf told u tad getting straight A1s will gurantee ur scholarship but look at how many ppl who got straght A1s. i know, injustice is somewhere intrinsically weaved into the selection process...i actually know ppl who got not so good results but yet got the scholarship (n of coz, the color comes in)...n i do noe so many others more worthy of the scholarship like my fellow ASEAN scholars...but we haf to come to realize tad this IS the situation here in msia...we cannot escape from it...

wad can i say? i'm lucky enuf to get the jpa scholarship coz when it was my year, everyone who got straight A1s get it...even my schoolmates who only got 9A1s got full UK scholarship from jpa... see the pic? tis year is a lot a lot diff...

my advice? PERSEVERE!

Randomphantom
05-06-2004, 10:36 PM
You get rejected. You get all down and go around venting your frustration. You whine and rant about the selection system. You compare your results to those who got in. You start to question the system.

Its a process. Don't worry, you'll get through it anyway...hopefully being a better person. And as someone said, a door closes and a door opens. Consider your options now and go from there.

naoj
05-06-2004, 11:19 PM
Are there any recomers who DID get jpa this year? Are they keeping very quiet or what? because um..isn't it a bit horrible for those who got it to be told they according to some recomers "got selected randomly" or got it cos "their parents are civil servants" or worse got it cos they "come from sungai petani?" hmmm.

05-06-2004, 11:25 PM
There are at least 10 or more ReComers that get, but to be frank, many choose to keep quiet and I have promised not to disclose themselves, mainly due to the fear that their friends may get sad and also they are concerned about those that did not get it. They were thinking it is not nice for them to celebrate it here, and also many were sad because their best friends did not get it.

I know personally among ReComers that told me at least 3 get medicine, 1 biotech, 1 architecture, 1 economics, 1 actuarial, 3 engineering... those that told me and i could recall straight off, but i think there are more that are keeping quiet, because among those that told me, many told me to not disclose their identity and i promise i won't.

And I know from most that i talked to, even those that got rejected, they have friends in their schools that get it. For instance at Anderson JC, there are about 7-8. In Sungai Petani, there are at least 9 that i know off, in Sitiawan at least 4 etc....

naoj
05-06-2004, 11:33 PM
-shrug-
that's not my point. my point is yes i understand that it does suck not to get the scholarship..but there's no need to be spiteful about it. not everyone got it merely cos they're 'from sungai petani'..dammit. while the system may be flawed, it's not anyone's right to, for lack of another word , to "bang" those who were successful.

05-06-2004, 11:38 PM
Agree with naoj. From what I know, those scholarship holders in SP is just about 1% of the total in the whole country. So, it is just alright. I haven't found any area that I talked to a student, that they didn't know anyone around that area that get JPA.

naoj
06-06-2004, 12:20 AM
Agree with naoj. From what I know, those scholarship holders in SP is just about 1% of the total in the whole country. So, it is just alright. I haven't found any area that I talked to a student, that they didn't know anyone around that area that get JPA.

glad u agree.

06-06-2004, 12:25 AM

so the high-flying bumis in mrsm and other sbp's are "leftovers"? there's a bunch of super genius malays gracing the hallways of eton and other elite foreign institutions, and all the others are rejects? i don't need a big shot's quote to be able to see that there's no truth to this notion.

show me the quote and i will be more inclined to believe you.

I dun think i will go and dig the newspaper jut to get this quote out. it's up to you to buy it. The situation was like this... Some one queried why among all the STPM candidates, there's only one bumi who get 4.00 CGPA. The answer was what was quoted.

06-06-2004, 12:27 AM
Lookie here...looks like the extermely stiff competition for JPA scholarships has created a gap between us all. But I believe those who got their scholarships should really just celebrate it quietly and not yell it out loud in recom. The disappointment of not getting a scholarship is much, much bigger that the joy of getting one, believe me. Allowing celebrations here will be like rubbing salt onto the wounds of those who failed to get it, since the selection is down to 'luck', race and 'economic background' as most people say. Maybe the JPA should consider either having more places or abandoning the scholarships all together eh?

Try to don't compare so much with others, just do your best for yourself! Then everything will be fair for you!

Do your best and everything will be fair? I don't think the top SPM scorers who failed to get JPA scholarships would agree with you. I'm sure some of them studied just as hard to get similar results only to be rejected by the JPA. Fair? Bah...JPA scholars are prolly getting a one way ticket to a foreign degree while those who are not so fortunate will be forced to do their STPMs, which like eveyone knows, is like hell on earth. I may not know how hard the stuff that JPA scholars learn are, but something tells me its gotta be easier than F6. Oh, and they do get to go overseas after that as an added bonus, compared to us POOR STPM people who will be in a local uni which everyone knows, is way, way, below par the foreign ones that JPA scholars will be in. Now how's that for fairness??

Look at it this way...when top scorers (esp those who deserve it) fail to get scholarships, the best they could do is appeal and COMPLAIN. I for one, would listen to their complaints no matter how outrageous they may be. These people are upset and tend to say rather outrageous things, so give them some slack...they have a right to complain and if you don't like it, don't tell them they're talking nonsense right in their faces. Wait for things to cool down and then talk some sense into them. Like I said, the disappointment of not getting a scholarship is much, much bigger than the joy of getting one.

Sorry, but I can't help defending the people who complain. Perhaps one needs first hand experience to know how disappointing it is to see all your hard work end up in nothing (and I mean REALLY hard work).

Tina
06-06-2004, 12:28 AM
i'm just perplexed. Doing the math here, it just doesn't tally. JPA offered 1300 scholarships right? And there were 1100 straight 1s this year. So, assuming that JPA practices meritocracy, all the 1100 students SHOULD get it, with a surplus of 200 more scholarships. Then, why are there so many 1s student who didn't get the scholarship? The question, i believe in many of our minds now is, where did the scholarships go and how many actually got it? There are many straight 1s student who did not get it and that remains the painful fact we have to accept.

From what i heard from a friend who attended the interview at UPM Serdang, they asked the interviewer how important the interview was. And the JPA officials mentioned that 70% will be based on academic achievements, 10% co-curricular, 10% family background and another 10% is the interview.

As i said, this doesn't make sense. Can anyone care to give me some resolve here?

06-06-2004, 12:31 AM
Some one queried why among all the STPM candidates, there's only one bumi who get 4.00 CGPA. The answer was what was quoted.

Okay, I'm not supporting anyone here, but don't you guys think this is the reason why there is only one bumi who got 4.00 CGPA?

The smart ones would have been offered scholarships (JPA, MARA, etc). Those that come after them would have been absorbed into matriculation. So the ones that are left in F6 are the not so bright ones. Plain and simple.

TCC20
06-06-2004, 12:39 AM
I find it hard to believe that a student who scored 14a1s and 1a2 failed to obtain a scholarship for medicine.

erm...actually i heard jpa petronas bnm n other scholarship bodies are currently coordinating in offering scholarships...so mebbe this student was actually offered a scholarship from another body?mebbe thats y she didn get jpa..as far as i know...none of the ppl i know that managed to secure a scholarship from other bodies such as bnm n petronas got jpa this year...correct me if i'm wrong..

naoj
06-06-2004, 12:43 AM
I find it hard to believe that a student who scored 14a1s and 1a2 failed to obtain a scholarship for medicine.

erm...actually i heard jpa petronas bnm n other scholarship bodies are currently coordinating in offering scholarships...so mebbe this student was actually offered a scholarship from another body?mebbe thats y she didn get jpa..as far as i know...none of the ppl i know that managed to secure a scholarship from other bodies such as bnm n petronas got jpa this year...correct me if i'm wrong..

You're right.
However on a different tack, i still find it deplorable that everyone is being so spiteful about it all. I can't get over the sungai petani quote,im sorry. and im from kl, for your info. imagine those from sp. mmkaythanks.

06-06-2004, 01:32 AM
i'm just perplexed. Doing the math here, it just doesn't tally. JPA offered 1300 scholarships right? And there were 1100 straight 1s this year. So, assuming that JPA practices meritocracy, all the 1100 students SHOULD get it, with a surplus of 200 more scholarships. Then, why are there so many 1s student who didn't get the scholarship? The question, i believe in many of our minds now is, where did the scholarships go and how many actually got it? There are many straight 1s student who did not get it and that remains the painful fact we have to accept.

Mainly this is because the scores that each student gets. Getting 75, 75, 75, 75 etc..is straigth A1... 95,95,95,95,65(A2) for instance gives an A2.. This is because JPA scholarships factor into this score, instead of mere straight A1s. And also co-curricular activities, interview etc. There are many without straight A1s get in, and this does not mean that they are less deserving cases.

I agree that failure to get the scholarship is a very painful piece of news, especially for those who have pinned high hopes in it. However, your best way now is to appeal, isn't it? It is tough emotionally, but guess that is the most rational thing to do until you submit your appeal.

Tina
06-06-2004, 01:43 AM

Mainly this is because the scores that each student gets. Getting 75, 75, 75, 75 etc..is straigth A1... 95,95,95,95,65(A2) for instance gives an A2.. This is because JPA scholarships factor into this score, instead of mere straight A1s. And also co-curricular activities, interview etc. There are many without straight A1s get in, and this does not mean that they are less deserving cases.

I agree that failure to get the scholarship is a very painful piece of news, especially for those who have pinned high hopes in it. However, your best way now is to appeal, isn't it? It is tough emotionally, but guess that is the most rational thing to do until you submit your appeal.

How about the fact that the interviewer emphasized 70% on academic acheivements? I'm not one of the straight 1s ppl btw..

06-06-2004, 01:50 AM
But I believe those who got their scholarships should really just celebrate it quietly and not yell it out loud in recom. The disappointment of not getting a scholarship is much, much bigger that the joy of getting one, believe me. Allowing celebrations here will be like rubbing salt onto the wounds of those who failed to get it, since the selection is down to 'luck', race and 'economic background' as most people say.

Please don't forget that ReCom is a free-speech community for all ReComers, this is not the place only for those who didn't get the scholarship to keep complaining here. Don't mention to me that if those who get scholarship celebrate it here will just like rubbing salt onto the wounds to those who failed. Do you guys even think for the feeling of those who get the scholarship after seeing all the complaining posts here? I had been get through this 3 years back when I successful got this scholarship. Not feeling shame to tell you guys that my previous secondary school is not a famous school, which called Sekolah Menengah Dato' Shahbandar Hussain, yet located in a small town, which called Raub. This unfamous school SPM 2000 top student was me with only 4A1s ( Maths, Add Maths, Chemistry, Biology), 2A2s ( BM and English, C5 for 1119), 1B3 (Physics), 1B4 ( Mandarin), 2C5 (History and Moral). With this kind of not-really good results, I applied engineering course for Korea, France and Germany. After went through the interview, I successed to get the scholarship while there were some of the top students from other schools who obtained 9A1s for all subjects except C5 for English can't even get to be called for interview.

During the period I was in UiTM, my family heard plenty of "kutuk" behind about how I got the scholarship ( for my batch I was the only one who get this scholarship from my hometown ), some even created rumours about my father did corrupt JPA officer! What the heck!! Who ever get to know my father who is just an ordinary lorry driver in my hometown?!?! Guess you guys can't even understand how was my feel. What could I do? Ignore! That's the only thing my family and I did.

Anyway, can't deny that it was just my Luck to get the scholarship in the year 2001.

Do your best and everything will be fair? I don't think the top SPM scorers who failed to get JPA scholarships would agree with you. I'm sure some of them studied just as hard to get similar results only to be rejected by the JPA. Fair?Bah...JPA scholars are prolly getting a one way ticket to a foreign degree while those who are not so fortunate will be forced to do their STPMs, which like eveyone knows, is like hell on earth. I may not know how hard the stuff that JPA scholars learn are, but something tells me its gotta be easier than F6. Oh, and they do get to go overseas after that as an added bonus, compared to us POOR STPM people who will be in a local uni which everyone knows, is way, way, below par the foreign ones that JPA scholars will be in. Now how's that for fairness??

Think you guys still can't even get what I meant in my previous posts in this thread and the scholarship thread out there. Flying color results doesn't mean everything. Again! Excellent results doesn't gruarantee you to get the scholarship. I still very strongly believe that JPA does consider other aspects in the scholar-selection. Seriously, if I didn't get the scholarship to study abroad, I would be the same with you. I won't be going to appeal also. I just will satisfiy with what I did as long as I did my best for myself before.

?Bah...JPA scholars are prolly getting a one way ticket to a foreign degree while those who are not so fortunate will be forced to do their STPMs, which like eveyone knows, is like hell on earth. I may not know how hard the stuff that JPA scholars learn are, but something tells me its gotta be easier than F6.

Excuse me? Did you ever study 24/7 at the college library for the whole exam week? bleh~!!!!! [/b]

06-06-2004, 02:06 AM
How about the fact that the interviewer emphasized 70% on academic acheivements? I'm not one of the straight 1s ppl btw..

True 70% academic, and it does not mean that getting straight A1 is 70 points, getting 1A2 is a few points less. It is most likely counted based on the actual score you get for those papers. I don't know the exact formula, but this has been the cases for the past few years (except that for 3 batches, those with straight A1s are guaranteed scholarship, i.e. SPM 00, SPM01, SPM02, but they still follow this formula to determine the courses given.)

And don't look down on those 30%. While it is very low percent, even 5% or 10% of weightage, could make a difference, because it is competitive to the point , of say 94.35 you get it and 94.30 you don't get it. Every single 0.01 counts.

06-06-2004, 02:32 AM
Don't mention to me that if those who get scholarship celebrate it here will just like rubbing salt onto the wounds to those who failed. Do you guys even think for the feeling of those who get the scholarship after seeing all the complaining posts here?

Fine! Go ahead and celebrate. If those successful applicants are sensible enough, they'd know well enough not to. Mind you, not everyone is as lucky as you. And being lucky does not exactly give you a ticket to celebrate your luck in front of unlucky people. Have some sympathy for the unfortunate. Don't they have a right to complain if they don't get the scholarship when they deserve it? And how would that hurt the feelings of successful applicants? Just because they are advised not to celebrate means that their feelings will be hurt? Put yourself in the shoes of the unlucky ones for once and you will get what I mean.

Flying color results doesn't mean everything. Again! Excellent results doesn't gruarantee you to get the scholarship. I still very strongly believe that JPA does consider other aspects in the scholar-selection. Seriously, if I didn't get the scholarship to study abroad, I would be the same with you. I won't be going to appeal also. I just will satisfiy with what I did as long as I did my best for myself before.

Only 30% for non academic stuff. Doesn't that tell you something? And among the rejects, I am sure there are those who excel in every corner but are rejected for unknown reasons. To tell them that their hard work amounts to nothing when other less qualified or similarly qualified people go off with the scholarships is a HUGE kick in the @<hidden>$$. Perhaps you haven't had a taste of the hell that awaits people in F6. Go ahead, accuse me of propagating negative stuff, bla bla bla. But believe me, my friends and I who did not get the scholarship are now struggling in this mudpit. And quite frankly, I believe no qualified student should be neglected and condemned here.

Excuse me? Did you ever study 24/7 at the college library for the whole exam week? bleh~!!!!! [/b]

This was something I really did not expect to see coming from a JPA scholar. I'm sorry, but I have never tried studying 24/7 in a college library because I HAVE NEVER BEEN TO COLLEGE BEFORE. I did not have the money to go to college and the govt did not give me a scholarship to study in a college. But trust me, I have studied 24/7 outside a college library or any other library for that matter.

deaf-knee
06-06-2004, 02:37 AM
Flying color results doesn't mean everything. Again! Excellent results doesn't gruarantee you to get the scholarship. I still very strongly believe that JPA does consider other aspects in the scholar-selection.

Erm without 'flying colour results' I don't think you should be considered a scholar.

Yeah other aspects for example. ECAs. English Language skills. Leadership skills. bla bla bla.

However without the 'flying colour results' I think the 'other aspects' are pretty...irrelevant.

06-06-2004, 02:43 AM
I think there is no point we should debate on what messages should be posted here. ReComers are matured enough to post their messages.

I guess generally we are all concerned in trying to help those that were unfortunate not to get the scholarship, to help them getting JPA Scholarship. The process would be through appeal and help support them emotionally.

We can send messages to them, to give them some emotional support, urging them to appeal. I know that all these would not help much, but I believe many of us here could try/ and I am sure many have tried to help. So, if you care about those students, lets try to help them. Provide some encouragement to them. Help them read through their appeal letter. Help generate idea on how to make the appeal letter sounds more convincing.

I know that among many that get the scholarship, many do care about their friends, including their friends here in ReCom that are unfortunate not to get the scholarship. So, lets help them as much as we can do in our personal capacity. I have tried my best to send message and talk to many of those and I hope others would do like wise.

ReCom is a community where we support one another, right?

06-06-2004, 02:48 AM
people here please don?t fight.
I know there are some disagreement and frustration here.
Personally I don?t agree with some of the opinion here as well..
but please don?t attact each other..

this forum give us a chance to see different opinion and different thinking where we can learn for each other...

we don?t need to fight when other people voice something that we don?t like to hear..
we need to respect each other.
besides, we do not need to fight with each other over one issue...

06-06-2004, 02:52 AM
Perhaps too many people are putting high hopes in getting the scholarship this year, which results in inevitable disappointment. I believe that everyone emphatizes those who have been rejected, but they need to learn to face failure as well... And for those who got the scholarship, my heartiest congratulations for you guys. You all have every reason to be happy. However, please do not overcelebrate it here. And if can, use your success to guide those who are going to appeal. That's part of Recom's objective. To learn and contribute.

06-06-2004, 03:06 AM
The unsuccesful people should go on with life, I agree. But at the moment, I believe many of them are upset. Let them complain. As members of Recom, we should try our best to listen to their arguments and complaints no matter how outrageous they may be. Its the best we could do. Only when they've cooled down enough then we can perhaps give them some encouragement and words of wisdom. Canning their complaints just isn't right if you ask me. People need to voice their frustrations and anger, even if its here in Recom. And as usual, I believe chenchow has the best point when he said that most members are matured enough to post their messages. C'mon people, support the unsuccessful applicants, at least by listening to what they have to say...share their pain.

06-06-2004, 04:44 AM
to those who think JPA is a big time racialist player,pls read this:

all MRSM langkawi straight A1's didn't get JPA.and the school has had 19 straight A1's.and mind me,all of them are bumis.

so pls pls gimme a break.

i know your ire,but it's darn stupid if e'time you fall down,you used other race as your scapegoat.

windy_city
06-06-2004, 05:19 AM
1. F***, I did not get the scholarship; I am a full A1 students, what the hell happened. This is not fair; it must be the government, the JPA or the whatever screw up again. Let me think again, ya, it should be the other race with special right that cause all this problem. Why I get better result and still did not get the scholarship. Those with less A who get it must have corrupted the JPA officers????those who get it must be bumi, those who get is unfair??????????.. WTF is wrong in this world, is there fairness in this world anymore!!!!!!

2. You guy should not be complaining in this thread, WTF you guy think you are. Getting A1 is not everything, you guys not bored with complaining all the time. FULL A1 is not everything, how many time I tell you guy!!! Dun appeal, if I were you, I will move on with my life, but I get the scholarship so it is a different story all together for me. But for you, move on man!!! And for those who get the scholarship, let share with us, we want to know the happy news.

3. Those who did not get the scholarships should have a right to vent out their frustration. We should listen and give advises. You guys who get the scholarship do not understand how we feel, you guys get an overseas education not like us who will be struggling like hell in form 6. For those who get the scholarship, shut the F up and celebrate elsewhere.

From what I read, those are 3 main issues in this thread.

First, for those who do not get the scholarship, please calm down, there is no need to blame everything on what you did not get. Yeah you are unlucky, but there is no need to blame that on others, on special rights, on??.. Get something better to do (it is ok to complain and vent out your anger, but please dun blame it on others), be sensible like what Chen Chow said. Get productive and write those lovely letters and appeal. But to consider that you should have a right in getting the scholarship because you get full A1, think again. There are tones of full A1 students out there; you are not the only star who gets that.
Let me give an example, last year I advise a junior who get 15A (including a few A2) who get Russia medic to appeal to his choice, UK. He feel devastated after not getting UK medic with that result and wanted to go back to form 6 instead. I told him, 15A, impressive, I would not have done it (would not even try to get that too), but there is more to a person that that, there is no need to be devastated, there is hope when you try. He accepted my advice and appeal. I told him that 15A should not be the main point in his appeal (yes I helped him edited it), and with humble, polite and persistent pestering, he got what he wanted, UK medic. (I did not make this up to tell a story)(I even advised a few juniors who get Korean last year to appeal to get to US, but they are satisfied with what they get so they did not do it).
Be angry, be frustrated, but be rational and dun blame everybody (everything) with what you did not get. Ty to get it (I this case appeal) and show others that you deserve it. If in the end, you still do not get it, move on, and prove JPA wrong when they choose others instead of you.

Second, for those who keep complaining that others are complaining and they should just shut the F up and get on with life. Why dun you just move on, and leave this thread alone. This is a free country, if you dun like to see people complain, then just go to other threads, dun read it. It will not harm you at all. People are angry, are frustrated so let them be. I agree with you that they should channel their anger to something more useful, but this is their choice, if they want to complain 24/7, it is their right. Why you so frustrated when you see others vent out their anger?? If you dun wan to see it, just close your browser. And for people who advise those who did not get the scholarships to stop appeal and move on, please save that advice for yourself. Sometime that is not a choice for some students who want to go overseas but are poor, are not capable of an expensive education.

Third. Overseas education is not a bed of roses too. Sometime, some of us, (I do not mean all, there are some lazy people here too) do sleep in the lab, workshop and library to get our work done. It is not easy compare to form 6. Why you guys think that those who get it should not celebrate it here, because they will hurt your feeling? If that little thing can hurt you feeling, I think there will be more spiteful things waiting for you down the road. Imagine what you feel when you get the scholarship and other people tell you to keep that to yourself. If you did not get it, APPEAL, and try to be happy for those friend who get it (at least do not feel bitter that they get it, but you do not.)

OMG, WTF am I doing, I still have finals???
Sorry for the long post, read it, learn from it or discard it!!!!

For those who get the scholarship, congrat and do share with us. I think all Recomers are sensible enough.

06-06-2004, 05:26 AM
Please calm down and stop attacking each other...
and please avoid using rude words...
it will offend a lot of people and spoil the atmosphere
it?s no use to fight back with agression when someone accusing us..
that will only make things worse...

there are many people here and we can?t avoid the conflict of feelings and opinion...

why don?t we just calm don?t and be polite? it won?t help if we scream at each other.

please respect the forum...

aquila
06-06-2004, 05:36 AM
LOL, phantom. That's a bit of rage there. But won't MRSM kids be supported by MARA? That's what my bro has been told.

Anyways, I say everything in life has its purpose. (Wahseh, I sound like a philosopher). I for eg, didn't get ASEAN scholarship back in F3 because I screwed the interview. (I told them I was BOTH longsighted and shortsighted. Yes, I was a confused kid.) Looking back now, I'm glad I got rejected. Why? Coz otherwise I wouldn't be where I am now. Even here in the US, it's not like I get everything I apply for. You just have to learn to get on with life and keep trying. Putting the blame on everyone else besides yourself will not help. Find alternatives and take action.

As ChenChow said, the best thing to do now is to write the best appeal letter and hope for the best. If you still don't get the scholarship, move on with life. You really want to go overseas? Well, guess what? you can! After you finish your degree in a local U, apply to do your PhD overseas. And especially for the US, if you do your PhD, you will receive grants and get a salary for being a teaching assistant. So, you can pretty much support yourself through university. Best thing is you won't be bonded to anyone.

Not getting a JPA scholarship is not the end of the road. If you're persistent enough, you WILL get anything you dream for. I know many of us want to go overseas because there's so much hype about going overseas (glamour, better future - not really true though, etc) There is more than one way to achieve what you want. So I say look for other alternatives. Why not?

Saying the JPA scholars have it easy in Pre-U (UiTM I think you're referring to) and it being unfair for those slackers to go overseas while overdiligent form 6ers have to stay in a local university makes you sound like a loser. (I'm sorry but this is what it is.) We totally sympathize with you. I mean if you're on par with us, why do we have better luck? However, do we really have it any easier? I think most JPA scholars are overachieving students anyways. I'm sure they won't want to graduate with anything less than an honors degree. Most of us are working really hard. Those who aren't are just born smart. You have to accept that coz it's a fact. Those who are not so smart and slack off will get warning letters and get suspended. (I do admit JPA's CGPA requirements are not very strict though.)

You should always be prepared with an alternative because if you put all your eggs in one basket, you will be disappointed. Having said that, I do agree that it's best for successful applicants to be discreet and not flaunt off their good fortune. They just got lucky, that's all. Doesn't automatically mean they'll be more successful later in life. Don't you hate condescending people? I'm sure that will be what unsuccessful applicants feel if JPA folks keep harping on yadayadayada...

06-06-2004, 06:00 AM
aquila wrote:

LOL, phantom. That's a bit of rage there. But won't MRSM kids be supported by MARA? That's what my bro has been told.

nope..i wasn't angry.just bored.i'm here for 3 months already and here i am keep listening to the old dull thing again and again.

i did use those students' ID (or in malaysia IC) and check them both at mara and jpa's sites...(i found their ID on their website with their SPM's result next to it..so not stalking just proving ppl are wrong)

so i tried mara..most not inside the pengkalan data...so i tried jpa thinking these students didn't apply MARA:

then i came across this at JPA's site:

maaf anda tidak berjaya.with the student's name and ID correctly spelt.

so it shows they didn't get both JPA and MARA.

so ppl,if you still wanna play racial sentiment..go ahead check at petronas,BNM and also at ESSo,renong and you name it.

i am not a non-bumi myself..but when i didn't get the scholarship nor my choice for local uni..i didn't throw my tantrum at other race..or else said: urghh,even the education system is set to benefit certain race..

pls dude,with that attitude you wanna be a doc,wanna have scalpels on your hand,and there you are saving ppl's life?

06-06-2004, 06:07 AM
Uhmm... looks like we are noisier here than those who just got their JPA scholarship result. Hehehe... i think the peeps are out there drafting their appeal letters and trying to find contacts now. Keep it up, dudes. Btw, last year, about 8 from my school got JPA. This year, none of them. Got to aid them in the appealing thingy.

06-06-2004, 06:13 AM
Btw, i think it is time for us to warn the oncoming batch about the JPA's selection thingy. We have to advice them that not all straight A1s students will be guaranteed the scholarship. Advice them to obtain outstanding achievements (try to be national, if possible lar) and polish up their interview skill. They will never know when they need one of them....

06-06-2004, 06:32 AM
so i tried mara..most not inside the pengkalan data...so i tried jpa thinking these students didn't apply MARA:

Uhmm.... MARA students were here since January, using their trial result. So i think if you check the ID now, it would be like an old dated kind of info.

i am not a non-bumi myself..but when i didn't get the scholarship nor my choice for local uni..i didn't throw my tantrum at other race..or else said: urghh,even the education system is set to benefit certain race..

Uhmmm.... Isn't your statement here a little bit weird? You guys have your quota... And since when the education system benefits other races besides the <*you name it*>? I sympathize you for not getting your scholarship or local uni, but what's the percentage of bumis experiencing this kind of situation? I mean, to be frank, you're the first bumi that i heard for being rejected your scholarship despite your excellent result... But there are lots of non-bumis experiencing the same kind of thing, and were even being rejected for 2nd and 3rd intake (my friend got 10A1 and 1 A2)... Maybe you're pissed off because we kept blaming on the quota system and stuff. But i am sure u are not that blind yourself. Take a look at how many bumi scholars and non-bumi scholars. The figure speaks for itself. And many of the results of the bumis are far below 9As... And the non-bumis who got straight As can't even get the scholarship. So can you still assert that there is no racial sentiment here?

06-06-2004, 07:30 AM
dude!!LOL.

wrongly typed:

i am not a bumi myself...wahahaha..see what happened when you wronly type something becoz your mind only think about dinner.

06-06-2004, 07:39 AM
dude!!LOL.

wrongly typed:

i am not a bumi myself...wahahaha..see what happened when you wronly type something becoz your mind only think about dinner.

Uhmm.... aren't you an indian muslim?

06-06-2004, 07:49 AM
frankly even,

in my preparatory college,there were equal number of bumis and non-bumis.

130 JPA students were there.80 to USA.50 to UK.55 US bound turned up.22 UK bound turned up.and equal number of non-bumis and bumis didn't turn up.the reasons: unknown.

the problem you see,not on race alone.though it may sound that way.

the bumis when they didnt get what they wanted;eg having 9 and 10 A1's in SPM and yet didn't get petronas scholarships..they didn't blame on other race,did they?they wrote letters to petronas and utusan and that's how i got to know that.

but what if you are a non-bumi..amid your 91a's and 10a1's..what will be the 1st thing in your mind if you didn't get the scholarship.

i know the madness.but reading 10 ppl debunking other race like that race is born to be dumber than they are really irked me.it shows race to some extend is used as the tantrum-absorbing machine.

regardless how far and how truth this myth will be,ppl close their eyes when other non-bumis managed to get the scholarship amid not having the greatest results.janawei's post may speak for this.

personally,JPA is one of the greatest scholarship board in da world.how many unis will give you place just becoz you are a JPA's scholar?it is such a great pride to introduce myself as a winner of my goverment's scholarships to total strangers.

and hearing ppl making it sounds like a lottery winner really an insult.

what about those with 4.0 and endless co-co activities and research activities who was denied a place to MIT.can they accused that going to MIT means like winning a lottery too.doesnt it an insult to those who have worked hard for it?

race might be important.but i prove to you that the top student from MRSM langkawi didn't get JPA's scholarship.you wanna prove,google and find her ID and typed that.and pls,find that gal in INTEC before you accused her being there.

so when the truth hurts,you gonna find reasons to kill it.but when your reasons hurt regardless of how truth it may be,it's ok,urgh?

06-06-2004, 07:51 AM

1st and foremost,does being INDIAN and then MUSLIM make you a bumi?

or does being a Muslim and then an INDIAN make you one?

my race is for me to cherish or hate.nope is my final answer.

06-06-2004, 08:06 AM

1st and foremost,does being INDIAN and then MUSLIM make you a bumi?

or does being a Muslim and then an INDIAN make you one?

my race is for me to cherish or hate.nope is my final answer.

Hmm... sorry... thought that you were kind of mixed... sorry again...

the bumis when they dont get what they wanted;eg having 9 and 10 A1's in SPM and yet didn't get petronas scholarships..they didn't blame on other race,did they?they wrote letters to petronas and utusan and that's how i got to know that.

I think this case is quite rare... By the way, since the education system is like emphasizing more on the malay, won't that be ridiculous if they go bashing other races for causing this problem?

race might be important.but i prove to you that the top student from MRSM langkawi didn't get JPA's scholarship.you wanna prove,google and find her ID and typed that.and pls,find that gal in INTEC before you accused her being there.

Again, this case is like one in a hundred...

what is your point here bringing up these examples? That the bumis are the victims of the quota system as well? Will you be happy if you see 400-500 (note, there are about 600-800 bumi scholars) students who did only averagely in their SPM with mediocre CCA records got the scholarship while there are hundreds of ppl out there with straight As, yes, straight As and good CCA records didn't manage to get the scholarship? To deny that Malaysia's policies have nothing to do with race is totally absurd, unless you are blind, or blinded by the govt...

It's palpable, and an understatement that Malaysia's govt is still being racist... However, let's not discuss this further... The main objective of this thread is to encourage and help those who failed in their application to appeal to JPA... I hope you can help them too, Phantom.

chankingguan
06-06-2004, 10:12 AM
I can see dat this thread is getting a little way off to the direction we are supposed to be headed...i didnt create this thread so u can show ur racist sentiments...it's for all to realise dat the gov has to practise more transparency in their bureaucratic system...if you reli think the jpa is unfair just vote and say y u think so...don't accuse each other's race...it's not fun to critisize other's race or have ur own race critisized..once again i uge all to vote and state ur reason whether jpa is fair or not...no more of this racial and political "cowdung" <(u noe wat i mean)...hehhehee

aquila
06-06-2004, 11:01 AM

personally,JPA is one of the greatest scholarship board in da world.how many unis will give you place just becoz you are a JPA's scholar?it is such a great pride to introduce myself as a winner of my goverment's scholarships to total strangers.

Whoa! Hold on just a minute. It seems to me that you are contradicting yourself. You said you didn't get a scholarship then you said you did. Which is which?

Also, as far as the government is concerned, as long as you're a Muslim, you're treated like a Bumi.

Lastly, I'm not so sure about your stats. Outstanding Bumis did not get scholarships? Wow! Their family must have started a ruckus, wouldn't they? The local UMNOs will argue that the govt doesn't appreciate smart bumis, etc. Perhaps their families are very very rich? I don't think you really know what you're talking about. Perhaps you should try emailing those people and see if they haven't gotten some excellent offer.

Also, I know you should be proud as a scholar but saying that US unis accept Msian students just because they are scholars is really misleading. They accept "scholars" because the Msian govt is paying the fees at special international student rate. Guaranteed investment for those universities, so why not? Also, honestly, Malaysian so called scholars are sometimes only on par with average students in the US, so I don't really think Americans are impressed with our "stellar SPM results."

Some straight As students are really mediocre compared to other non straight As ppl I know. Perhaps that's because they come from a rural area, etc. They're definitely not smarter. Govt agencies usually have policies to help people from rural areas and make their families move up the socio-economic ladder. Perhaps that's why Janewai got her scholarship. Sound political policy, if you ask me.

The reason why so many non-Bumi students are complaining is because they have been so marginalized all their life. And then they see a bit of hope with JPA, especially since previous years, JPA has had a straight A-sure scholarship policy. And then they're disappointed again. I mean we can't really blame them, can we? It's true that not everyone can get everything. Places are limited, etc. But the truth is that the non-Bumi community has always seen itself as second class citizens, so when something like this happens, they tend to blame it on the racial policies.

I think this is a hard issue to deal with. On one hand, you have to stick to the policy of not letting a community be left behind (Bumi community). On the other hand, you don't want to frustrate promising young non-Bumis. I think the best solution would be to screen applicants according to their socio-economic status. I mean, for real, in my batch, you have scholars (Bumis and non bumis alike) whose parents are Presidents/VP/owner of some big MNCs. They probably earn RM1 million a year or more. They are the ones who can most definitely afford to send their children overseas. What is more frustrating is the fact that many of them intend to break the bond since in the past to break bond, they only had to pay RM100,000 (Policies have since changed).

I say these people take away the hopes and dreams of other middle class and poor people who cannot afford to go overseas on their own. Therefore, there needs to be some serious changes. Economic factors should be taken into account. The J form should be scrutinized. Parents' income should be screened by the computer. Why aid the rich when they are capable of helping themselves?

06-06-2004, 12:02 PM
I can see dat this thread is getting a little way off to the direction we are supposed to be headed...i didnt create this thread so u can show ur racist sentiments...it's for all to realise dat the gov has to practise more transparency in their bureaucratic system...if you reli think the jpa is unfair just vote and say y u think so...don't accuse each other's race...it's not fun to critisize other's race or have ur own race critisized..once again i uge all to vote and state ur reason whether jpa is fair or not...no more of this racial and political "cowdung" <(u noe wat i mean)...hehhehee

how do you expect people to not state racist statement when the poll itself is racist?
Look at the second option and consider what it implies.

I understand that there is probably a bumiputra quota and thus, your style of word structure but it is hard to avoid racial statement with things like this.

chankingguan
06-06-2004, 02:27 PM
sorry...if u ppl misuderstood me...i asked u to vote ( the option was just a statement...i said lucky draw OR racial quota...it's up to u to intepret...) and to give ur opinion on whether JPA is fair or not...not to critisize each other's race...just vote and say...it's not fair or it's fair...no need for racial sentiment based reasons....hehehehhe

06-06-2004, 02:35 PM
KingGuan, may be if you wish, you can change the voting to
No. Please comment.

this is just my personal opinion.

chankingguan
06-06-2004, 02:39 PM
oh..ok, chenchow and nice chatting wit u...hehehehe

solace
06-06-2004, 03:22 PM
my deepest condolences goes out to those deserving candidates who were rejected unruefully by jpa. it just doesnt make sense considering individuals with amazing ECA achievements and straight a1s being doused with the notion of having to slog the next 2 years of their life in form 6.

i for one was unable to secure jpa, albeit with decent ECAs and academic backgrounds to boot. but i have to say im very fortunate to have the chance to take solace in the other things in life.

anyways, i just want to wish those dejected and deserving individuals all the luck in the world, if they happen to consider the appeal option. miracles are bound to happen, and that pebble in the shoe mite instead be a transition to something much, much better. all the best, and take things easy. sit down with a clear mind, and get working to produce a damn good appeal letter. u'll have a fighting chance in striking the ultimate goal.

with a sincere heart, good luck.

chankingguan
06-06-2004, 03:36 PM
well well well...isnt it my own gang member solace...ehheheheh...well wat dis guy says is true...one tot for u ppl to consider...education is most important but it is not everythin...my cuz who just finished pri. 3 has a better career than an uncle who has a degree...i'm not saying education is not important...just don kill urself becoz u don get JPA...it's way far from over..u have every future in the world...u can win a nobel prize...u can be as rich as bill gates...JPA doesn't gurantee much but ur self-confidence can gurantee u anythin...hehehheeh...think bout it...hehehehe

Tina
06-06-2004, 09:08 PM
[quote="

anyways, i just want to wish those dejected and deserving individuals all the luck in the world, if they happen to consider the appeal option. miracles are bound to happen, and that pebble in the shoe mite instead be a transition to something much, much better. all the best, and take things easy. sit down with a clear mind, and get working to produce a damn good appeal letter. u'll have a fighting chance in striking the ultimate goal.

with a sincere heart, good luck.[/quote]

Thank you..

06-06-2004, 10:30 PM
if u feel sad until u wanna cry, do cry!
if u feel unfair until u wanna complain, do complain!
if u feel unsatisfy until u wanna appeal, do appeal!
complete all these in 3 days n get back into reality!!!

06-06-2004, 11:00 PM
well well well...isnt it my own gang member solace...ehheheheh...well wat dis guy says is true...one tot for u ppl to consider...education is most important but it is not everythin...my cuz who just finished pri. 3 has a better career than an uncle who has a degree...i'm not saying education is not important...just don kill urself becoz u don get JPA...it's way far from over..u have every future in the world...u can win a nobel prize...u can be as rich as bill gates...JPA doesn't gurantee much but ur self-confidence can gurantee u anythin...hehehheeh...think bout it...hehehehe

Yeah, not getting JPA doesn't mean it's the end of the world. It doesn't mean there's no more hope for you... Just take it as you are destined to be somewhere, be it better or worse... Like Solace, it's something like a blessing in disguise to him.

solace
07-06-2004, 03:50 AM
Tina wrote:

Thank you..[/code]

always there with a helping hand :D

ElansarGelmir wrote:

Like Solace, it's something like a blessing in disguise to him.

er..i cant reli testify to that..but nonetheless, i hope the dejected ones can get over it in real time :)

07-06-2004, 04:05 AM
is getting straight A make u deserve the scholarship? isn't the interview is as important? i think the interview is more important than your result.

gohweihan
07-06-2004, 05:48 AM
is getting straight A make u deserve the scholarship? isn't the interview is as important? i think the interview is more important than your result.

It should be that the interview plays part, but sad to say during my time, everyone with straight 1As are virtually confirmed of their scholarship. Not to say that exam results are not important, but the fact is, the JPA does sponsor a bunch of people who knows nothing more in life but to read their textbooks.

Riang
18-06-2004, 11:43 AM
i'm just perplexed. Doing the math here, it just doesn't tally. JPA offered 1300 scholarships right? And there were 1100 straight 1s this year. So, assuming that JPA practices meritocracy, all the 1100 students SHOULD get it, with a surplus of 200 more scholarships. Then, why are there so many 1s student who didn't get the scholarship?

Weren't there actually more than 3,000 top graders who attended the interviews?

I think many of the straight A1's did not have anything other than academic grades to support their application to study overseas. So the scholarships get offered to the next best grades and so on.There were many who could not perform at all like my neighbour who had 11A1's but says she froze in the interview - she's now doing SAM on her own. There were also some cases highlighted in the press of several very top scorers who did not fill in application details properly. Also remember previous applicants are also still applying as long as they meet the criteria.

19-06-2004, 12:12 AM
I think only SPM 2003 applicants can apply and not those earlier.

sping
21-06-2004, 08:13 PM

i don't think the interviews were given much importance because i've seen people who didnt get straight a1s and can't really speak English correctly get the scholarship, while others who got the same, if not better results and can speak well and performed well in the interviews were rejected.

also, i think jpa doesnt really take into account the real scores of important subjects because i know someone who slacked all the way up till a few months before spm, did not do well in the trials, and is failing almost every subject now ( he is doing a levels now),but he miraculously got 9a1 and 1a2 in SPM and was granted the scholarship.

I personally think that what jpa wants is sports representation.

22-06-2004, 07:39 AM
I think it is not that right, to just assume that others would not do well in SPM, because they do not do well in Trial and A Level. As the system goes, what matters is SPM. And how hard someone studies does not directly correlate with your results. For instance, a guy here, who plays computer game whole day and skips most, if not all, of the classes, yet, he is almost always top the class.

Those who dominate the scholarships will be penalized, this is because you have failed to show that you care about other students around. The interview is not just to see how good you can speak, but a lot on your attitude, your listening skills, analyzing skills etc.

Sports is part of the co-curricular activities point and if someone is a state/national athlete, they would get quite a lot of advantage compared to others, because they are getting significantly higher co-curricular activities points,.

Interview and specific points for each subject count. Anyone can choose not believe this. It is up to you.

michael2
22-06-2004, 12:47 PM
Well, I am a JPA applicant (No. Siri Borang: 07883) who was rejected but I respect their decision as I feel that they have a certain criteria that they stick closely to but the criteria just didn't suit to my qualification.

I applied for medicine and I got 11 1As in my SPM excluding 1A in 1119. I am the first boy in my school (a premier school) for every semester since Form Four with an average ranging from 88% to 93%. I am a PTS student which was supposed to be the cream of the country as stated by the press and the minister when the examination was first introduced. I am also a state athlete and had won many state and national level competitions including the National Science Quiz. I was the vice-president, treasurer, school sub editor, house sports captain and have a strong co-curriculum record. Besides that, I was involved in many social enrichment activities like charity drive, newsletter, motivation camp and Kem Askar 2 Melayu.

Despite feeling dissapointed, I never blame or criticize JPA and never resort to complain through any politician party or the press. I only appeal through En. Azman, the officer in JPA and highlight my reasons. What I can do now is only to hope and pray for the best.

Do you guys think I did the right thing? :?: :?: :?:

22-06-2004, 06:39 PM
I think they are giving out the scholarships to those whose parents are civil servants first... Today during the checking in of the juniors, and as i was selling some drinks for ATUSA, i overheard a group of parents saying, "Hey, you're a teacher? I'm also a teacher. I teach mandarin, and my wife teaches English." "Oh, my husband and i teach Chemistry." Then another couple came in, "Oh, you all are teachers also arr? I'm teaching Science..." Then from another group of parents, i heard, "Haha, it's a small world arr... I met your husband in <forgotten the name, something to do with education> workshop."

Carlos
22-06-2004, 08:15 PM
mayb it's for certain cases
coz i got a fren who oso get straight A1 while her mum is oso a teacher in gov sch...but he din get the scholarship too
his parents quite disappoint wf the outcome
while another fren who oso got straight A1 oso din get the scholarship although his parent is the headmaster...
hope they will get the scholarship after appealing
while im oso waitin for the reply too coz i oso din get it..... :wink:

deaf-knee
22-06-2004, 08:28 PM
hey michael2.

good luck in appealing.

I really hope you get it.

imho u really deserve it.

Jangan Putus Asa.

windy_city
22-06-2004, 11:23 PM
Well, I am a JPA applicant (No. Siri Borang: 07883) who was rejected but I respect their decision as I feel that they have a certain criteria that they stick closely to but the criteria just didn't suit to my qualification.

I applied for medicine and I got 11 1As in my SPM excluding 1A in 1119. I am the first boy in my school (a premier school) for every semester since Form Four with an average ranging from 88% to 93%. I am a PTS student which was supposed to be the cream of the country as stated by the press and the minister when the examination was first introduced. I am also a state athlete and had won many state and national level competitions including the National Science Quiz. I was the vice-president, treasurer, school sub editor, house sports captain and have a strong co-curriculum record. Besides that, I was involved in many social enrichment activities like charity drive, newsletter, motivation camp and Kem Askar 2 Melayu.

Despite feeling dissapointed, I never blame or criticize JPA and never resort to complain through any politician party or the press. I only appeal through En. Azman, the officer in JPA and highlight my reasons. What I can do now is only to hope and pray for the best.

Do you guys think I did the right thing? :?: :?: :?:

There is no such thing as the RIGHT thing. Since you already try to appeal, I wish you all the best. But with your talent plus hard work, you would find success even without the scholarship. Good luck!!

22-06-2004, 11:46 PM
Agree with windy_city that there is no right or wrong thing. Good Luck in your appeal.

Parents' being government servant does help add a bit bonus points too.

To those who are appealing for JPA and IPTA, Prime Minister has specifically instructed his political secretary, Rizal Merican to meet with those who are appealing and their parents at Finance Ministry on 24th June (which is about 30 hours from now).

I don't have information on what time etc, but may be those of you who know could share.

http://www.sinchew.com.my/content.phtml?sec=1&artid=200406221535

23-06-2004, 10:44 AM
I mean, besides parents, i believe they must have other qualifications too, rite to secure their scholarship... You can't just depend on your parent's job with your SPM result to get the scholarship... perhaps every little thing counts... JPA always changes its requirements for selection. Hard to depict.

naoj
23-06-2004, 08:04 PM
There isn't any way of knowing exactly what jpa is looking for and there's no point cracking your heads questioning, asking and berating. Just appeal and hope for the best.

FYI, i do not fit ANY of the criteria that anyone says helps, or even ensures one get the scholarship.

1. My parents are not civil servants.
2. I am from a home with a middle class income.
3. I am not bumi.
4. I am not a science student.
5. I applied for UK (to those who say that they didnt get cos they applied wrong country. JPA just changed my country for me, i wasn't rejected outright.)
6. My sports column was blank cos i wasnt a sports person altho i was decently active in all other activities.
7. I did not dominate my interview at all.
8. I am not from a rural area.

So to all of you out there appealing, there's hope yet...because we DO NOT know what jpa is looking for...so the ignorance is hope. BEST OF LUCK!

wild_card_my
03-07-2004, 06:39 PM
There isn't any way of knowing exactly what jpa is looking for and there's no point cracking your heads questioning, asking and berating. Just appeal and hope for the best.

FYI, i do not fit ANY of the criteria that anyone says helps, or even ensures one get the scholarship.

1. My parents are not civil servants.
2. I am from a home with a middle class income.
3. I am not bumi.
4. I am not a science student.
5. I applied for UK (to those who say that they didnt get cos they applied wrong country. JPA just changed my country for me, i wasn't rejected outright.)
6. My sports column was blank cos i wasnt a sports person altho i was decently active in all other activities.
7. I did not dominate my interview at all.
8. I am not from a rural area.

So to all of you out there appealing, there's hope yet...because we DO NOT know what jpa is looking for...so the ignorance is hope. BEST OF LUCK!

I know someone who is almost exactly opposite of you, and your situation.

1) He's a civil servant's son. His dad is quite a hi-ranked officer.
2) he's a Bumi
3) He's a science student, minus bio
4) He applied for US (consider that UK is more popular destination to further your studies)
5) He was part of the KYS rugby team, went to thailand with the Orchestra team.

And he didn't get JPA. Well, like what naoj said, you just don't know what they are doing. Simply said they are so so not transparent.

Anyway, what's the point that we're doing this naoj?

15-06-2005, 03:31 AM
bump

abcde
15-06-2005, 06:02 AM
kalau u bijak pandai skali pun,
but personality u bosan n xmeyakinkan
sape nak u (but usually yg pandai2 ni not so boringla, great ppl indeed)
same to fresh grads too.. 4.0, best student of the year etc. . . .
but if u still tergagap2 sape nak kasik u kerja . ..
guess JPA already do the best to send out their duta-duta kecils to promote our country outside there... :wink:

cheers

lyt87
18-06-2005, 10:25 PM
Most of my friends get scholarship to Indonesia, where are those who get UK or Australia go to? I wonder

Government said that there is no quota for JPA, but refuse to said the amount of bumis and non bumis who get the scholarship.
We have the right to know, right?

bush
18-06-2005, 11:18 PM
My physics teacher once told me that during his time (the 50s),students were sorted into tiers.....the best will be sent to do medicine, the second best will be sent to do law, then to do engineering, and so on..................

Irresistible
18-06-2005, 11:21 PM
Most of my friends get scholarship to Indonesia, where are those who get UK or Australia go to? I wonder

Government said that there is no quota for JPA, but refuse to said the amount of bumis and non bumis who get the scholarship.
We have the right to know, right?

No quota in Msia?? 8O :x 8O & U believe? Considering most recomers voted "not fair" under this topic.
Since they are the largest population, more places are given to them (eg. Petronas, JPA, MARA,Bank Negara). I think tht only Asean scholarship play fair.

MothBall
18-06-2005, 11:24 PM
Fair? Unfair? It's a totally subjective matter.
U get scholarship? Fair.
Dun get? Unfair.

Nuff said.

gohweihan
19-06-2005, 04:49 AM
Fair? Unfair? It's a totally subjective matter.
U get scholarship? Fair.
Dun get? Unfair.

Nuff said.

Not enough transparency to really analyze this issue. What we have is vague at best, like what you said.