View Full Version : Discussion: Stpm 2010

Pages : 1 [2]

nameloo
02-03-2010, 06:08 PM
i'm doing bad... dying! approxx 8 more months to stpm, and so much to cover! gasp! X.X

ur not alone.
-.-'

frankose
02-03-2010, 07:48 PM
guys, I've read some articles which might be useful to you.
http://berryberryeasy.com/2009/12/stpm-general-tips-and-strategies-for-mathematics-chemistry-biology-and-general-paper/

http://berryberryeasy.com/2009/12/how-to-study/

Good luck in your studies

sky_blue15
03-03-2010, 08:29 PM
i would like to share some studying tips v u guyz tat my senior wrote...
he oso one of de recom member...i would like to thx him for sharing it..thx john ...

http://www.facebook.com/notifications.php#!/notes.php?id=1434997407

Gosh!

I have not been online like forever!
STPM is really a great challenge tho.
My school this year dismiss at 2.15 but we still have to stay back until 4 or 6 pm for extra classes and koku stuff.

Luckily for colloquium this year they only give us to do research for only a subject. *thank GOD!*

and my team choose MUET cuz it's the most relaxing subject of the bunch.... -_-*

my school this year dismiss at 2.30pm which is much earlier than last year..we only need to stayback on wednesday for koko...
we r excluded in doing again coloqium because we done it once in lower six..

sugan
04-03-2010, 06:03 PM
same here too, everyday school end at 2.30 but wednesday

my group is doing research on transtion metals
LIVE SEX (http://livesexwebshows.com/)

Annabelle88
04-03-2010, 06:15 PM
Nope.I am Stpmer 2009.In my year we did not do much research but my junior do quite a lot of research.It depends on ur teacer 1.So good luck to u .

MrsYes
17-03-2010, 03:43 PM
How to choose? A level or F6? :)

lowxuan
17-03-2010, 06:53 PM
Form6 if u plan to pursue ur study in LOCAL AND OVERSEAS...

A level...if u wan to study in ONLY OVERSEAS

markwongsk
17-03-2010, 08:41 PM
That's not true. You can use A-level results to apply to local unis too. See the unis websites for more details. However, A-levels are more costly as you have to complete them in a private pre-u college.

In general the strengths of STPM are: proximity to home, affordability, comprehensiveness

That of A-levels are: Recognition, extension of network, competitiveness

adele123
17-03-2010, 09:18 PM
That's not true. You can use A-level results to apply to local unis too.

You mean, local public uni as well?

kaiyi
17-03-2010, 09:37 PM
i know UM accepts A-level. but the priority always matrics > STPM > diploma
i have no idea where A-level stands

sugan
17-03-2010, 09:53 PM
i know UM accepts A-level. but the priority always matrics > STPM > diploma
i have no idea where A-level stands

i thought that the cgpa of stpm has more value than matrix :amazed
Squirt4uuuu live (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/squirt4uuuu)

markwongsk
17-03-2010, 10:42 PM
The value of STPM > matrix in local uni, but not during the application to local uni, if you understand what I mean

ImCB
18-03-2010, 09:59 AM
frankose is Don frank? ahas

MrsYes
18-03-2010, 11:33 AM
then how about SAM? Pls share yr experience. xD

markwongsk
18-03-2010, 02:09 PM
Refer to this link:

http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6775&page=1

mitsukolyn
19-03-2010, 08:02 PM
don't worry...everything wil be alright...u still have 8mnths...so start ur studies from now..it's still not too late to start now...do ur best...:)

sinthura
20-03-2010, 12:03 AM
hi....i am 2009 spm student.My result in spm is terrible.I am totally deppresed and frustrated with my result.So i think that the only choice that left is stpm.At the same time i bare in my mind that stpm is absolutely tough and not as the same standard as spm.So if the stpm is the only choice to continue my studies i have to accept it.Hope that i will be able to cope up with stpm syllabus and i will never ever let the history repeat again.scoring 4 flat is the only vision in my life.I will go against all the obstacles to score with flying colour in stpm.Hope that my dream will become reality.I promise to myself that i will walk the talk.tc....

tsar
20-03-2010, 01:11 AM
@<hidden>: You will be the first batch of the modular STPM I think.

markwongsk
20-03-2010, 03:14 AM

It's starting already? That's a pity... gone are the days of STPM =(

adele123
20-03-2010, 06:44 AM

Seriously? Speechless. Why are they doing this in the 1st place?

tsar
20-03-2010, 07:37 AM
I may be wrong, but yeah from what I gather it's starting next year.

It's a revamp of the whole STPM system. I do think it might be a refreshing change. Time will tell. If the STPM certificate is to be believed, MPM is still being advised by Cambridge anyway, so it can't change too much.

kaiyi
20-03-2010, 10:54 AM
has the new syllabus came out? wonder how it will be, easier or more difficult?

Hanqing
20-03-2010, 05:38 PM
I may be wrong, but yeah from what I gather it's starting next year.

It's a revamp of the whole STPM system. I do think it might be a refreshing change. Time will tell. If the STPM certificate is to be believed, MPM is still being advised by Cambridge anyway, so it can't change too much.

too good to be true...then those who are going form 6 this year will be white mouse again -.- including me as well sigh :wall

kaiyi
20-03-2010, 06:01 PM
yeah, the policies change easily...

tsar
21-03-2010, 01:13 AM
Update: I've been informed that it may only start next year, so yeah there's still a lot of ambiguity.

BarryAllen
23-03-2010, 02:06 PM
Hello there everyone.

I am a graduate of 2009, with my SPM results just recently released more or less a week ago. They were less then satisfactory, leaning more towards disappointing and embarrassing. BUT, as they say, the show must go on, and in this case, I need to further my studies. My only safe bet and solid option right now is STPM, and I'm here because I need information and words of advice on what steps should I take to register and enroll myself. I've already visited the Malaysian Examination Council website, and I've already read through the requirements needed for STPM. BUT, I want to hear it from you guys; the candidates of STPM itself, because you guys have been there, done that. So, help me out, please.

Can someone please list down the steps that need to be taken to register myself? This question refers to ALL factors; Who/What/Where/How

Thank you very much, I'll be more then pleased to get any help.

dkpit
23-03-2010, 08:35 PM
The new system starting next year(this year's form five)

kaiyi
23-03-2010, 09:17 PM
keep delaying, dun knew will they delay again next year...

mary04
23-03-2010, 09:58 PM
geezzz...... all those who are doing STPM this year... lets make it a point to study very very hard from now on kay!!.... achieve 4 flat!! yeah....thats d spirt!! IMPOSSIBLE is NOTHING.... *smiles*

adele123
23-03-2010, 10:07 PM
Can someone please list down the steps that need to be taken to register myself? This question refers to ALL factors; Who/What/Where/How

It's NOT something you need to apply. You will be considered for form 6 as long as you fulfill minimum requirement. Get the offer letter from your form 5 school, then bring it and register the on your form 6 first day. You secondary school can brief you on that.

dkpit
25-03-2010, 07:27 PM
i heard lower six this yr starts on 10th may.

zarionette
25-03-2010, 09:14 PM

Does the modular STPM thing refer to the exam-per-semester system similar to that of the colleges?

Additonal: Seems like they wont start it this year though.

fastreaderX
04-04-2010, 08:56 PM
when does form 6 class start?
form 6 2010/2011 will start on 10May

meihong
20-04-2010, 09:40 PM
anyone has any comments/opinions of STPM in TARC?? :(

I'm in dilemma whether to choose STPM or A-level T_T

efang
22-04-2010, 12:27 AM
owh..i m late for see this thread..
hi,everyone..i'm efang frm heng ee '09,penang..
this yr wanna b lower 6 student..mayd will change school n stream~frm sc to art..lately i was find some tuition centre..BUT that i know...some tuition centre only have the sub of sc..the sub of art is so hard to find:(
who frm penang can suggest me some tuition centre? PLS n THX:amuse ...I really need help:cry

szying
22-04-2010, 03:19 PM
is form 6 really hard to study?actually i want to study psychology ,so if i go to form 6 and choose bio class,i scare it 'll be difficult 4 me

kaiyi
22-04-2010, 08:45 PM
is form 6 really hard to study?actually i want to study psychology ,so if i go to form 6 and choose bio class,i scare it 'll be difficult 4 me

Do you intend to pursue your studies in local U? if yes you can consider to switch to art stream. the best psychology courses in malaysia is UMSabah, which has a psychology department. but they only accepts STPM art stream students...

szying
25-04-2010, 01:36 AM
if want to study psychology must go art stream???what subject should I take ???

mitsukolyn
29-04-2010, 11:22 PM

Don't worry..Form 6 is not tht difficult actually. But it's a matter of discipline and perseverance.Make sure you do your homeworks and revise everything your teacher taught you. But of course do spare time to enjoy and play. FORM 6 is not just about STUDYING. During my time, I still hang out with my friends and enjoy with them as long as I can. But, make sure you don't over limit your time for enjoy and entertainment. STPM is harder than SPM, i would say. But with disciplince and well time management, 4As can be in your hand easily. :)
Good luck.

AllenChew
30-04-2010, 01:34 AM
anyone has any comments/opinions of STPM in TARC?? :(

I'm in dilemma whether to choose STPM or A-level T_T

stpm in tarc seems like wasting ur money..jz to hv a luxurious college lifestyle..u may get indulged in those lifestyle and affect ur study..and i asked the counsellors thr..they said mos of the stpm student in tarc is the students that cnt manage to enter government school~~so..stpm in government sch is more advisable:)

Don't worry..Form 6 is not tht difficult actually. But it's a matter of discipline and perseverance.Make sure you do your homeworks and revise everything your teacher taught you. But of course do spare time to enjoy and play. FORM 6 is not just about STUDYING. During my time, I still hang out with my friends and enjoy with them as long as I can. But, make sure you don't over limit your time for enjoy and entertainment. STPM is harder than SPM, i would say. But with disciplince and well time management, 4As can be in your hand easily. :)
Good luck.

STPM,A-lvl and matric,which one will be the mos challenging and difficult?while which will be the relatively easiest?

30-04-2010, 01:38 AM
STPM,A-lvl and matric,which one will be the mos challenging and difficult?while which will be the relatively easiest?

From harder to easier when compared together:

STPM>A-level>matriculation

markwongsk
30-04-2010, 03:13 AM
From harder to easier when compared together:

STPM>A-level>matriculation

Not necessarily. It is true STPM is purportedly harder because of the limited resources and the excessive information found in some reference books which are recommended by most teachers. But it has a more relaxed marking scheme when compared to A-levels.

mitsukolyn
03-05-2010, 12:19 AM
stpm in tarc seems like wasting ur money..jz to hv a luxurious college lifestyle..u may get indulged in those lifestyle and affect ur study..and i asked the counsellors thr..they said mos of the stpm student in tarc is the students that cnt manage to enter government school~~so..stpm in government sch is more advisable:)

Haha..seems Battleboyz and Mark has answered your question (:

sugan
03-05-2010, 02:54 PM
hope too see the lower six next week :)

so, make your choice fast...
DEPAKOTE LAWYER (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/depakote/)

RHEA
03-05-2010, 05:30 PM
"STPM POSSIBLE WITH HARD N SMART WORK...":amuse

choonman
04-05-2010, 07:44 AM
Good day, everyone : ) Is it possible for one's ability to take 5 subjects? lol.. I have decided to take pengajian am, ekonomi, pengajian perniagaan, sejarah and the 5th might be geografi. Will it risky to take 5 subjects? Some senior in my school discourage us as they say suppose if one able to get 4A, but because of 1 more subject that he nid to care of so get worse result. I wish to hear other opinion from seniors and peers or anyone ^^ thanks

mitsukolyn
04-05-2010, 09:53 AM
Good day, everyone : ) Is it possible for one's ability to take 5 subjects? lol.. I have decided to take pengajian am, ekonomi, pengajian perniagaan, sejarah and the 5th might be geografi. Will it risky to take 5 subjects? Some senior in my school discourage us as they say suppose if one able to get 4A, but because of 1 more subject that he nid to care of so get worse result. I wish to hear other opinion from seniors and peers or anyone ^^ thanks

it depends on your own perseverance and hard work...arts stream is easier than the science stream.wadever path or choices u made, it all depends on ur discipline and time management. last time when im in form 6, many people has been telling us (the newbies of form 6 students ) that form 6 is difficult and many ppl who got 10As in spm also failed in certain subs. Even my teachers telling me if can dont go for Form 6. But, it's not the exact truth of it. The results are all in your hand. Don't listen to others saying that STPM is hard ,this and that. STPM is indeed not hard as you may think.

sengloon
04-05-2010, 11:26 AM
it depends on your own perseverance and hard work...arts stream is easier than the science stream.wadever path or choices u made, it all depends on ur discipline and time management. last time when im in form 6, many people has been telling us (the newbies of form 6 students ) that form 6 is difficult and many ppl who got 10As in spm also failed in certain subs. Even my teachers telling me if can dont go for Form 6. But, it's not the exact truth of it. The results are all in your hand. Don't listen to others saying that STPM is hard ,this and that. STPM is indeed not hard as you may think.
agree with you :) Stpm students need commitment and persistent in every assignment given and lesson they attended. Study hard, before you play hard. In fact we had our great moments of joy. Stpm is just a practice and preparation for you to adapt the real life of working environment as many heavy works and fun activities come along to you. Manage your time wisely. Even those who are taking 5 subjects have had a lot of fun in my school and they arise to become top scorers. :P

mitsukolyn
04-05-2010, 03:01 PM
YEAH...take johnivan as an example...For those who wanna take 5 subs, you can always seek Johnivan for advice..He will always be there to help:)

george1209
06-05-2010, 10:52 AM
emm..hi everyone.. i'm here to ask that 10May is the registration day of form 6 right ?
does it mean that form 6 start from 10 May or just register only ?.
in the offer letter stated wear school uniform ... what school uniform ? secondary one or form six one ?

any seniors here that went through this b4 please do help me answer it ..
any suggestion or comments will truly appreciate.

Jhui
06-05-2010, 10:59 AM
emm..hi everyone.. i'm here to ask that 10May is the registration day of form 6 right ?
in the offer letter stated wear school uniform ... what school uniform ? secondary one or form six one ?

my senior said wear secondary's uniform..

Are we want to choose either physics or biology in form 6?

06-05-2010, 11:14 AM

After registration, you will be having the orientation week and then only they start to teach. At least thats the "schedule" for my friends that are going to Form 6.

my senior said wear secondary's uniform..

Are we want to choose either physics or biology in form 6?

Yeah, you have to choose one according to the combination of subjects that your school offers.

Desperadonie
06-05-2010, 11:43 AM
For those who are still at plkn will miss the orientation week, right? Unfair or wat?

LaLaLaKenz
06-05-2010, 11:45 AM
For those who are still at plkn will miss the orientation week, right? Unfair or wat?

orientation week is boring , right ? that's what my seniors told me .. spending a week listening boring speeches and playing lame games .
What about other's school ?

06-05-2010, 12:04 PM

I thought they can quit PLKN with offer letter to form 6. Orientation week is very boring(my school) but it is still necessary for students to make themselves comfortable with the new studying environment unless you study form 5 at the same school. That said, I think 2-3 days is enough la. No need to wait for the whole week before class starts.

AnnieChan
06-05-2010, 12:56 PM
I thought they can quit PLKN with offer letter to form 6. Orientation week is very boring(my school) but it is still necessary for students to make themselves comfortable with the new studying environment unless you study form 5 at the same school. That said, I think 2-3 days is enough la. No need to wait for the whole week before class starts.

i dont think they are allowed to leave plkn for orientation week.. my friend is still stuck in NS even when she applied to leave to pursue form 6. they don't seem to be releasing those that are taking form 6 lol.

LaLaLaKenz
06-05-2010, 01:48 PM
i dont think they are allowed to leave plkn for orientation week.. my friend is still stuck in NS even when she applied to leave to pursue form 6. they don't seem to be releasing those that are taking form 6 lol.

I got a friend ( plkn at pagoh camp ) get to came out yesterday .. For form6 ..

AnnieChan
06-05-2010, 01:58 PM
huh.. really? then there must be an error for my friend lol.. she's not released yet..
( it sounds like they're coming out from jail or something the way we say it :p )

Sunny92
06-05-2010, 02:10 PM

I think form 6 will start and register on 10 may, and there will be a 1 week ( depend on school ) orientation for you. You should wear school uniform of form 6.
Correct me if I am wrong.

06-05-2010, 02:11 PM
huh.. really? then there must be an error for my friend lol.. she's not released yet..
( it sounds like they're coming out from jail or something the way we say it :p )

Some camp takes longer time to process the appeal with offer letter. So, if your friends appeal earlier, then she might able to get out sooner than others that appeal later. My friend also came out from PLKN but his friends are all still inside waiting for their "release" since he showed the letter earlier than his friends. :laugh My friends did describe the place as jail because they lived repeated life everyday inside(first batch). :lol

Desperadonie
06-05-2010, 02:11 PM

Yaya....it does sound and seem to be tat way coz juz a handful loved to be called for the programme.....the food they have there is really not nutritious enough for our growing age...hahha

sugan
10-05-2010, 05:18 PM
so , lower six-ers, how was your first day?

in, my school it seesm that the intake of form six is decreasing over tha past few years.
BarbiDollxx cam (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/BarbiDollxx)

Ice_cookie
10-05-2010, 10:07 PM
so , lower six-ers, how was your first day?

in, my school it seesm that the intake of form six is decreasing over tha past few years.

Hihi...I'm new here!! Today is my first day of form6 too! Well...not many student in my school too and yet almost half of them waiting to be transfer...They want to change school...If they succeeded, then my amount of student will reduce to half. Haha... anyone taking physics?!

Sunny92
10-05-2010, 10:32 PM
Hihi...I'm new here!! Today is my first day of form6 too! Well...not many student in my school too and yet almost half of them waiting to be transfer...They want to change school...If they succeeded, then my amount of student will reduce to half. Haha... anyone taking physics?!
My school also not many lower 6 student...some of them want to change school to other stream...some waiting for JPA scholarship...some just come to school study for a few month and waiting IPTS.....then the amount of student will be lesser and lesser...

gracemode
11-05-2010, 03:36 PM
Lessons will start tomorrow for my school.

Some of my friends had started attending tuition classes and they were actually doing math exercises during the orientation talk. :amazed

I can feel the pressure already. Ouch >.<

lowxuan
11-05-2010, 03:51 PM
Lessons will start tomorrow for my school.

Some of my friends had started attending tuition classes and they were actually doing math exercises during the orientation talk. :amazed

I can feel the pressure already. Ouch >.<

omg...so kiasu meh==

gracemode
11-05-2010, 06:07 PM
omg...so kiasu meh==

Haha I guess so :laugh

But seriously, many tuition classes had started their lessons.
And if we were about to join in later, they might have already taught a lot.

I wonder, is it the world turning too fast or is it me who is walking too slow? LOL :nuts

mitsukolyn
11-05-2010, 11:44 PM
To the current students who are taking STPM this year:
All the best in your STPM exams. It's just about 6mnths' time towards the exam. Do your best and strive for the exams.:)

To the current Lower Six students:
Life in Form 6 was the most enjoyable years throughout my secondary studies. Form 6 was not a bad option to go and it's really challenging (unless they changed to the modular system) Form Six rockzxx~~!! So, enjoy your studies in Form Six and good luck in your exams:)

sugarspice
12-05-2010, 08:13 AM
Haha I guess so :laugh

But seriously, many tuition classes had started their lessons.
And if we were about to join in later, they might have already taught a lot.

I wonder, is it the world turning too fast or is it me who is walking too slow? LOL :nuts

I think it's better to join early than later.

For form 6 you really have to either be faster than or keep up with the pace of your teacher, if not you will lag very very far behind. This was my experience though. I tried to slack for like a week? then the following week was like hell...too many things to cramp...

nittu
12-05-2010, 03:08 PM
My school also not many lower 6 student...some of them want to change school to other stream...some waiting for JPA scholarship...some just come to school study for a few month and waiting IPTS.....then the amount of student will be lesser and lesser...
Thats normal.. In the begining there will 30+ students in a class but by end of the year there will be only around 10 students in a class especially in science stream classes.. Thats what happen in my class last time.. Most of them get transfered and finally there was only 8 of us.. But less student in a class will benefit you a lot.. You can be close with your teachers and more comfortable in learning.. Teachers also will concentrate more on each of you.. So make use of that oppurtunity..:)

sugan
20-05-2010, 07:09 PM
Exam is getting near........

when will muet be out?
LIVE SEX (http://livesexwebshows.com/)

szying
24-05-2010, 10:20 PM
for stpm biology,do we need to memorise everything?and in the real exam the question will come out from reference books or general?do we need to search for other materials other than depending on reference books?

mitsukolyn
25-05-2010, 02:35 PM
for stpm biology,do we need to memorise everything?and in the real exam the question will come out from reference books or general?do we need to search for other materials other than depending on reference books?

sometimes in STPM, some of the quest can be out from the syllabus.therefore it is advisable if u can read up more(if u have the time). if no, then just the Longman book will be enough. :)

As for do you need to memorise everything or not, i would advise that DO NOT MEMORISE everything!! it's better to UNDERSTAND the things u've studied. Though there are some which requires memorisation.

Exam is getting near........

when will muet be out?

it's still early for the release of muet result. in my batch, (2009) our results released in sumwhere around July/Aug..Cant really remember...

nittu
26-05-2010, 02:50 PM
it's still early for the release of muet result. in my batch, (2009) our results released in sumwhere around July/Aug..Cant really remember...
If im not mistaken it was on 13 july last year..

Annabelle88
26-05-2010, 03:43 PM

Totally agree with mitsukolyn as if you do not UNDERSTAND what you are studying now, it is also quite hard for you to MEMORISE .:))Of course you do have to memorise smthing like the specific name of the specific species as in the exam they do not use common name but specific name.:))

Wahaha for me I did not searchfor extra material as my tutorial teacher gave me extra material which is more than enoough for us.I suggest if you want to search for other material then you can search some picture which can strengthen your memories.I can remember the PICTURE better than the WORDS.So maybe you can try it.:))

mitsukolyn
29-05-2010, 10:27 PM
yeah...photographic memories definitely helps a lot...pictures are more easily accepted by our human brains than words...if u need to remember/memorise certain facts, use diagrams...uhmm...take the roles of hormones in plants for example,just simply sketch a sunlight(phototropism),or an aging plant to represent sennescence, draw grapes to represent parthenocarpy(seedless fruits) and etc...

If im not mistaken it was on 13 july last year..

oh is it?? haha...i cant really remember the exact date...lol...

Sola
30-05-2010, 10:34 PM
Can i ask,what is the significant figure i should put for physics answer??
My teacher tells me to use 3 s.f. for ALL the question!
Is it true?Or we should depend on the value in the calculation???

30-05-2010, 10:38 PM

3 significant figures should be fine, but not all answers need 3 significant figures. Some only need two, but if you want to be safe, 3 significant answers should be good enough! :) That's why your teacher told you that you should use 3 significant figures in all of your answers.

sugan
31-05-2010, 02:57 PM
well, the issue of sig figure, follow the least sig figure stated in the question or least significant figure + 1
Vaporizer Video Review (http://vaporizers.tv/)

sugan
07-06-2010, 10:18 PM
any good ideas , for upper 6 to spent this holiday?
Wiki vaporizer (http://vaporizerwiki.com)

markwongsk
07-06-2010, 10:36 PM
do some light reading on topics which you never get to learn in class =D Like quantum mechanics or maybe bioengineering etc

sengloon
08-06-2010, 10:29 AM
Here You are..You just have to follow the question's data for s.f..anyway for STPM the rules and regulations for significant figure in STPM is 2-4..NEVER write 1 s.f for your answer and NEVER exceed 4 s.f. Cheer..

tsar
08-06-2010, 02:56 PM
I was under this impression

For multiplication and division, follow the least significant figures
For addition and subtraction, follow the least number of decimals

ever
10-06-2010, 12:42 PM
sometimes in STPM, some of the quest can be out from the syllabus.therefore it is advisable if u can read up more(if u have the time). if no, then just the Longman book will be enough. :)

As for do you need to memorise everything or not, i would advise that DO NOT MEMORISE everything!! it's better to UNDERSTAND the things u've studied. Though there are some which requires memorisation.

True, though Bio does require more memory work as compared to other core Science subjects. I definitely did not memorize the entire Longman textbook, actually I did a quick glimpse of the two volumes before my STPM test. What I did was to gather the best notes(meaning that it was comprehensive and comprehensible to me) from various text such as tuition notes, teacher's notes, notes from other schools and A level references. It DOES require time at the beginning but it was much easier when I did my revision.

However, chem, especially organic chem, requires just the appropriate details to remember - which is really minimal - and you'll be ok =)

Morgan9202
19-06-2010, 03:41 AM
yea..i m taking both :Pso anyone here same v me?
my sch start teaching today~n my math tuition start as well~
others wil start in june~
lil_live,i m sch candidate~i do bio class n hav physics tuition outside~
u gonna think faster otherwise u wil drop behind d syllabus~
actually i don hav 100% confidence to take 5 subjects but i wil work 101% hard as it is my own decision~
my teacher said if really feel pressure n cant cope v it..i can drop one of them in upper six..
but i hope i can cope v it n handle it well~~

all d best to all STPM-er 2010!!:))

hi jellybeans~it's really a bit long..haha..
yea..i think most of us here same v u..
gt gd results in spm but end up in stpm..
so i believe tat it is our own choice n is d best for us..
don think abt other things anymore~
stay focus on ur studies n work vvv hard for our bright future~~:)

wow,it's gald to hear that u're giving 101% in order to success,actually i wish to take 5 subjects too but our teacher 'warn' me that i can't drop biology in upper six,so,finally i didn't take 5.it's kinda sad actually.anyway,let us aim 4.00!!oh ya,i'm new here,nice to meet u.

sugan
12-07-2010, 05:08 PM
Anyone considering to resit muet again?
Live Sex (http://livesexwebshows.com/)

ing
12-07-2010, 05:33 PM
Anyone considering to resit muet again?

well, i'm considering. I just manage to get band 3. How about you?

sugan
12-07-2010, 10:00 PM
no, i took muet twice before and more importantly, satisfied it the results.
Though, some of classmates are also considering to resit

I would like to know significant does MUET play in our local university application comparative to STPM result and Cocu marks?
Live Sex Webshows (http://livesexwebshows.com/)

nameloo
18-07-2010, 09:30 PM
I was under this impression

For multiplication and division, follow the least significant figures
For addition and subtraction, follow the least number of decimals

Off topic

To me, SF for chemistry is the worst!

I am so confused on how to use the right SF for the final results.

My teacher has explained that numerous times in class and yet i still could't get it....

dkpit
19-07-2010, 04:07 PM
Anyone have negeri 9 2009 PA 1 ans?

tsar
21-07-2010, 10:02 PM
Off topic

To me, SF for chemistry is the worst!

I am so confused on how to use the right SF for the final results.

My teacher has explained that numerous times in class and yet i still could't get it....

What I remember most was my statement above. For example:

3.03 x 4.1 = 12.423 = 12 (2 s.f.) since the least significant figures given in the question was 2 (i.e. 4.1)

20.124 + 5.03 = 25.154 = 25.15 (2 d.p.) since the least decimal places given in the question was 2 (i.e. 5.03)

This rule applies for values given in the questions.

"Where in doubt, put 3 s.f." was the next rule.

Ice_cookie
23-07-2010, 07:03 PM
Hey, me here studying Form6 too, lower 6 now. Mind I ask who's taking MUET this year?!
I hope to finish it up so that I wouldn't have to retake it next year, I can also lighten my burden. Hee.
Mind to share any ways or tips to score a higher band, such as techniques or method for the writing and speaking paper.
(Sorry if someone had asked this question, I am indolent to read back all the replies. ^_^'')

qlynn91
08-08-2010, 08:18 PM
Hello!
My name is Qiling
Stream: Science (Biology)
2009/2010

Can i know anyone here taking biology too?

ImCB
07-09-2010, 05:42 PM
study study n study=)
hahas.. sugan u upper6 this year?

sugan
07-09-2010, 10:02 PM
ImCB: yup, I'm taking Stpm THIS year. HOW are you now?

STpm Trial , is in 2 weeks time....
E-CIGARETTES (http://www.ecigarettes123.com/)

Aced
08-09-2010, 04:12 PM
ImCB: yup, I'm taking Stpm THIS year. HOW are you now?

STpm Trial , is in 2 weeks time....
how was ur trial... are u make the full preparation for STPM?

ImCB
09-09-2010, 08:34 AM
took it last year.. lols.. +u in ur trial=D
u will find trial actually harder than real stpm questions.. btw, mind sharing ur mid year exam questions?:)

sugan
09-09-2010, 03:40 PM
how was ur trial... are u make the full preparation for STPM?

i have not take my trial yet...

took it last year.. lols.. +u in ur trial=D
u will find trial actually harder than real stpm questions.. btw, mind sharing ur mid year exam questions?:)

sorry , i don't have a scanner..
MARIJUANA CARD (http://medicalmarijuanacard.info)

ImCB
12-09-2010, 12:45 AM
owh.. @<hidden>@<hidden>
nvm then, hahas.. good luck in ur trial=)

sugan
19-10-2010, 06:42 PM
just a question,

if i 'm doing electrolysis , and one of the product formed is gaseous.

the volume of gas evolved should be calculated using Molar stp or rtp ?
(if no specific condition is given)
Vapor genie review (http://vaporizer.org/reviews/vapor-genie)

xseela
21-10-2010, 10:30 AM
just a question,

if i 'm doing electrolysis , and one of the product formed is gaseous.

the volume of gas evolved should be calculated using Molar stp or rtp ?
(if no specific condition is given)

It should be rtp if you ask me....
You are doing in in room temp....

sugan
21-10-2010, 04:18 PM
yup, i'm for rtp, but my trial answer scheme....... used stp
GLASS PIPES (http://glassgallery.tumblr.com)

ing
21-10-2010, 11:18 PM
yup, i'm for rtp, but my trial answer scheme....... used stp

for me, i'll use stp (standard condition for temperature and pressure),it is the standard one.

For those who have experience as me, need some advice and opinion here. since all the thing still not at my fingertips, should i still study chapter by chapter or straight so question and study from answer at this moment?

sugan
29-10-2010, 02:24 PM
what is really optical path ?
Avandia settlements (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/avandia/)

cycycy
29-10-2010, 02:38 PM
The standard one we use for calculations is stp, but rtp is also an alternative, and should not be marked wrong.

My advice is, in your calculations, state which one you used.

popuri513
31-10-2010, 10:42 AM
facing great prob with my PA paper2 essay part~~

ahhongcheong
05-11-2010, 11:21 AM
facing great prob with my PA paper2 essay part~~
me too, anyone has any idea to improve essay part?

dkpit
06-11-2010, 01:09 AM
popuri513 and ahhongcheong, it all depends what sort of prob you faced in the bhg a and b. if it's the kehendak soalan that you always misinterpret like those 2+2 you thought is 1+3 then you need to familiarise with exams Q. try to get trial papers and past year questions. If your prob is either language error or lack or ideas, my advise is that you read more. refer your spm bm books to check tatabahasa. Try to write clear and short sentences. Also, I'm not sure whether it is true or not but recently someone told me that ideas like R&D,teknologi, cant write in Bhg A, only in Bhg B.
P/S: Identifying your weakness is important so that you can take steps to overcome it. Goodluck.

Holyboy27
06-11-2010, 01:52 AM
popuri513 and ahhongcheong, it all depends what sort of prob you faced in the bhg a and b. if it's the kehendak soalan that you always misinterpret like those 2+2 you thought is 1+3 then you need to familiarise with exams Q. try to get trial papers and past year questions. If your prob is either language error or lack or ideas, my advise is that you read more. refer your spm bm books to check tatabahasa. Try to write clear and short sentences. Also, I'm not sure whether it is true or not but recently someone told me that ideas like R&D,teknologi, cant write in Bhg A, only in Bhg B.
P/S: Identifying your weakness is important so that you can take steps to overcome it. Goodluck.

As far as I remember, BHGN A is sastera and BHGN B is sains right?

If i go according to that, I remember being told that the type of ideas/points/isi for each Bahagian is different and cannot be used for the other Bahagian.

The usual points for bahagian sastera would be
-kempen/pendidikan (i was also told this two are the same thing as both of them do one thing, i.e memberi kesedaran, so take note, you cannot write this as 2 separate isi)
-media massa
-kerajaan, NGO
-masyarakat
-individu
-ekonomi

-peranan, sikap etc.

For the sains part, examples of usual points are for fictitious questions
-penyelidikan & pembangunan (langkah)
-guna kaedah alternatif - explain scientifically (langkah)
-menjejaskan kesihatan mental, fizikal (kesan)
-menjejaskan persekitaran (kesan)
-pembakaran terbuka (sebab)
-pembuangan sampah terlalu banyak (sebab)

--scientific explanation/practices

As for part B, you absolutely cannot use any points that is sastera-like and vice-versa.

For a BHGN B question that (let's say) asks for sebab hujan acid and langkah (2+2),
please don't use points like do kempen, change ppl's attitude, etc. You will get 1/15 marks.
Answers should look like
Sebab - 1.Ketinggian kandungan acid dlm air hujan - huraikan - as in why high conc of acid. fertilizers etc
- 2.pelepasan gas CO2, CO yang banyak dr kenderaan

Langkah - Menggunakan filter untuk kenderaan + hurai
- mempertingkat sistem pengairan
***don't ever say do kempen, use media massa, ask kerajaan to impose rule. you can write but it's absolutely wrong.

BHGN B mostly wants a scientific basis to your points. You don't have to be specific as this would be unfair for Arts students and many arts students are scared of this part. Don't be, just knowing current issues and some background knowledge should be enough.

As for sastera, don't use points like guna R&D to solve a problem.

In a some sorta nutshell, Bahagian Sastera is asking for opinions and perspectives - peranan, sikap/attitude.

Bahagian B is looking for evidence, proof.

Hence, the ideas for each section is not appropriate for the other.

In any case, READ and understand the questions to determine your answering scheme, 1+3, 2+2, 3+1, 4+0, 1+1+2, 2+1+1 etc.

Simple language is more than enough. No need peribahasa all that nonsense and don't put peribahasa. PA is looking for points.

what is really optical path ?
Optical path? Chemistry?

dkpit
07-11-2010, 12:34 AM
[quote=Holyboy27;34581
Optical path? Chemistry?[/quote]
No not chemistry, I think it's physics.

Anyone can enlighten me in drawing histograms?
When do we use frequency density and when to use bar height?
Any difference between the two?

sugan
07-11-2010, 12:38 AM
Optical path? Chemistry?

under physics
MuscleStud25 (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/MuscleStud25)

dkpit
07-11-2010, 12:40 AM
I still dont understand your question sugan. do u mean the optical path difference?

freakyz
07-11-2010, 12:53 AM
optical path = refractive index times by the distance travelled by the light.

The main usage is to find the optical path difference, whether there's any 'difference' when it's in other medium. We know that light which is an e.m wave always travels in the speed of light but the wavelength is different in the different medium right?

day_dreamer
07-11-2010, 06:33 PM
Good luck, guys ! DO all the pass year questions now and keep on asking each other questions.. It's an effective way when the exam is drawing near.

lordfoong
11-11-2010, 04:08 PM
hey guys, gt sum questions here:
-bout the math T paper2, the deductive geometry chapter, do we nid to explain each step in "show that../prove that..." questons?
-in the sets question, do we nid to explain like "de morgan law/commutative law..etc" for every step?
-issit ok the use mech. pencil to answer stpm papers instead of pen? dunno y, my handwritin looks messy with pen...- -

dkpit
11-11-2010, 09:55 PM
-bout the math T paper2, the deductive geometry chapter, do we nid to explain each step in "show that../prove that..." questons?
-in the sets question, do we nid to explain like "de morgan law/commutative law..etc" for every step?
-issit ok the use mech. pencil to answer stpm papers instead of pen? dunno y, my handwritin looks messy with pen...- -

For deductive geometry, yes you need to write at the side like x=y(corresponding angle).
About set, I'm not sure whether need or not.
better use pen bcos the booklet say use pen. not sure how they're marking our paper.

Holyboy27
13-11-2010, 08:47 PM

Deductive geometry, once u write a statement, write why u say so, as in which law or which step, or what says it's like that. Sometimes, certain things like x=y (given) bcos it's given in the question.

Use pen. use pencil = fail.

sugan
14-11-2010, 12:21 PM
do anyone have stpm 2009 papers and answers especially physics?
Live sex (http://livesexwebshows.com/)

dkpit
14-11-2010, 10:18 PM
when to use frequency density and when to use bar height when drawing histogram?
will it make any diff?

Holyboy27
15-11-2010, 01:34 AM
when to use frequency density and when to use bar height when drawing histogram?
will it make any diff?

Frequency density is used to draw histograms when the size of classes are different/not uniformed.

Like class 0-1, 2-5, 6-20

When you use frequency density, the area of the histogram represents the frequency for the class.

**correct me if there's any mistakes

dkpit
16-11-2010, 03:07 PM
Frequency density is used to draw histograms when the size of classes are different/not uniformed.

Like class 0-1, 2-5, 6-20

When you use frequency density, the area of the histogram represents the frequency for the class.

**correct me if there's any mistakes
But according to the federal book, the formula for
bar height =std width X freq of class
class width
so, dont u thk it is also used for diff size class.
I am so confused!:(

Holyboy27
18-11-2010, 02:01 AM
But according to the federal book, the formula for
bar height =std width X freq of class
class width
so, dont u thk it is also used for diff size class.
I am so confused!:(

I dun really get what you're saying..

normally for histogram u just draw frequency vs class size - for uniformed classes.

for not uniformed classes, you draw frequency density vs class size.

frequency density is used for classes which are not uniformed.

dkpit
18-11-2010, 06:02 PM
I mean, if bar height=(std width X freq)/ class width<formula given in the book> then shouldnt the normal class, say 5-9 and 10-14 be the std width of 5 and say 15-34 be the class width, which is 20. so, i thought that this too is for non-uniform classes.

Holyboy27
19-11-2010, 10:44 PM
I mean, if bar height=(std width X freq)/ class width<formula given in the book> then shouldnt the normal class, say 5-9 and 10-14 be the std width of 5 and say 15-34 be the class width, which is 20. so, i thought that this too is for non-uniform classes.

Yea, they have different class size = not uniform class width.

5-9 = class size = 5
10-14 = class size = 5
15-34 = class size = 20

they are not uniformed.

ling910520
20-11-2010, 12:25 AM
about pengajian bahagian E,

when talk about pola perubahan , we write jumlah keseluruhan , pola yang meningkat secara konsisten, pola yang menurun secara konsisten ,dan pola tidak stabil

when talk about pola aliran , besides of the pola perubahan , we need to include bandingan, which is tertinggi dalam tahun , dan terendah dalam tahun daripada jumlah keseluruhan pada tahun itu.

lastly is the bandingan question , things have to put in is jumlah keseluruhan , bandingan antara tahun dan bandingan dalam tahun .

i hope i am right about them and is there anyform of the question regard to the jadual?please tell me if anyone knows , thanks

dkpit
22-11-2010, 05:39 PM
about pengajian bahagian E,

when talk about pola perubahan , we write jumlah keseluruhan , pola yang meningkat secara konsisten, pola yang menurun secara konsisten ,dan pola tidak stabil

when talk about pola aliran , besides of the pola perubahan , we need to include bandingan, which is tertinggi dalam tahun , dan terendah dalam tahun daripada jumlah keseluruhan pada tahun itu.

lastly is the bandingan question , things have to put in is jumlah keseluruhan , bandingan antara tahun dan bandingan dalam tahun .

i hope i am right about them and is there anyform of the question regard to the jadual?please tell me if anyone knows , thanks

I thk there's one on hubungkait the one that got 2 jadual one.

goodluck everyone:)

Holyboy27
10-12-2010, 01:23 AM
Anyone has answers for the past papers?

i feel like im in a pile of deep shyt rite now. i just had maths paper1 this morning and after the exam i thought i did QUITE okay. but i just found out(frm my friends by comparing answers) i had many mistakes due to careless. ....:cry

heart broken. anyways. tuesday, physics and math paper 2. *stress*

What is done, is done. Don't make the same mistakes in the next papers. Score for Paper 2, most students lingkup in paper 2.

ccooldude
10-12-2010, 08:56 PM
I did a stupid thing by checking my Pengajian Am paper 1 answers. If the answers i compared with are correct, i gt 43/60. And I'm wondering if i still have a chance to get a solid A. Roughly, how many marks would I have to score for paper 2? I know noone really knows but an estimate? Please calm my soul ~

P.S Is it true that the minimum mark to get an A for Pengajian Am is lower compared to science subjects? Just heard of it somewhere. :(

ImCB
11-12-2010, 03:05 AM
One cannot change Yesterday, but only make the most of Today and look with hope towards Tomorrow=)

wpwtmt
29-12-2010, 11:22 PM
For the heights of bars for classes which are not uniform, both methods are accepted, i.e. f/c X c (standard) or frequency density.

sugan
30-12-2010, 11:23 PM
to wpwtmt<

equal class width: frequncy*
unequal class width : frequency density*

* y axis
Live sex webshows (http://livesexwebshows.com/)

wpwtmt
30-12-2010, 11:58 PM
Not necessarily that only frequency density, i.e. f/c, is accepted for the vertical axis. f/c X c (standard) is also acceptable in the marking scheme, where c (standard) is the most common size class.

The advantage of using f/c X c (standard) is that it does not involve numbers with many decimal places and thus can be drawn easily. The disadvantage of using frequency density is that it can produce numbers with many decimal places and thus, difficult to be drawn.

markwongsk
31-12-2010, 11:33 AM
Now that STPM's over, what's everyone's plan? :)

That would keep this thread hopefully alive till results :))

sugan
31-12-2010, 12:26 PM
Reading books of interest .that i did not have time to read during form 6
VAPORIZER-INFO.COM (http://johan-luis.tumblr.com/)

Hoi-Ya-Ee-Ya
05-01-2011, 12:26 AM
haha.. again the same dilemma like the one i had after finished spm in 2008.

i have seriously no idea what to do now, no part time job except working at my dad's shop.. im thinking what else can i do to enhance my overall skills and well being? any suggestions?

btw, does anyone have the answers for physics/chemistry/biology paper 1 answers? :)

kaiyi
10-01-2011, 05:12 PM
You are the first batch that needs to wait for 9 months...as the september intake starts this year. Plenty time to get rust, lol.

sugan
17-01-2011, 12:15 AM
nope, we will be in by July. It was written in STAR news
Marijuana Dispensaries Copons (http://www.dispensaries.org/)

ling910520
17-01-2011, 05:12 PM
nope, we will be in by July. It was written in STAR news

can you post the links pls

sugan
17-01-2011, 05:51 PM
http://thestar.com.my/education/story.asp?file=/2011/1/16/education/7793531&sec=education
have a look
Classaction settlements (http://classactionsettlements.org/)

EconomicTutorial
19-01-2011, 02:46 PM
To all Upper 6 ekonomi students, you can get PRA-U Makroekonomi eBook (70 Pages) as a try with ONLY price RM9.99 (Promotion until 25 Jan). You needn't study textbook anymore when you have purchased this eBook. Consists all chapter with graph and formula as details according to the STPM standard.

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150115478606388&set=a.319329531387.182726.292798596387

sugan
22-01-2011, 01:13 AM
Have any sat for this test before,

http://www.eaa.unsw.edu.au/etc/icas/malaysia

I sat this paper for extra curricular purposes.(english 2010, maths2009)
Is this body's assessment well recognized?
Roll blunts (http://howtorollablunt.net/)

Li Shan Shung
06-02-2011, 03:28 PM
Dear all 2010 STPM-ers,

Here's a useful website to search for scholarships. Most of the deadline is in March. I know you guys are probably taking a break after STPM but do look up these scholarships for your tertiary studies. The link can be found here. (http://malaysia-scholarship.net/) Can't hurt to start looking and securing some in the meatime. =)

Good luck in your STPM results.

BTW, those who are interested in applying to study in National University of Singapore (NUS), please post any queries in this thread. (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=11975)

wpwtmt
11-02-2011, 12:55 PM
When will the STPM 2010 results be announced? Rumours in Facebook (from KL) said 17 February 2011 and this blog http://www.bumigemilang.com/?p=6475 said 21 February 2011. Last year's STPM result (2009) was announced on 25 February 2010. At this moment, there is still no official announcement.

Cactus
12-02-2011, 01:55 AM
From what I heard, the papers are all marked within a month's time. What has taken them the extra time? Statistical analysis? Report writing?

wpwtmt
16-02-2011, 03:32 PM
Confirmed that STPM 2010 results will be announced on 21.02.2011 (next Monday)

http://www.tv3.com.my/beritatv3/berita_terkini/Keputusan_STPM_Diumum_21_Februari.html

Miss_wonderful91
16-02-2011, 03:57 PM
Confirmed that STPM 2010 results will be announced on 21.03.2010 (next Monday)

http://www.tv3.com.my/beritatv3/berita_terkini/Keputusan_STPM_Diumum_21_Februari.html

i believe next monday is 21/2 not 21/3.:))

Cactus
16-02-2011, 07:21 PM
Confirmed that STPM 2010 results will be announced on 21.02.2011 (next Monday)

OMG I cannot collect my results on the 21st!!

Chelsea
16-02-2011, 09:05 PM
can you share where did you get the info bout that the stpm result is out on the 21st of feb. i am a spm leaver actually. i just want to estimate when the spm result is out. thanks

sorry didnt see the link above. thanks anyways. and Good Luck to fellow Recom-ers. Feel free to share your results later.

Cactus
19-02-2011, 10:37 PM
2 days to go....

sugan
20-02-2011, 03:04 PM
less than 24 hours to go...

good luck guys .hope to hear good news
The Legend Condominium Cosy Beach (http://pattayaluxurycondos.com)

CelineD
20-02-2011, 06:40 PM
Dear STPM 2009/10 batch seniors...

Just dropped by to wish you guys all the best for the results release tomorrow :)

Now we're doing the questions you guys did in STPM last year...as practice questions~

Sincerely, a junior~

Hoi-Ya-Ee-Ya
20-02-2011, 08:33 PM
Dear STPM 2009/10 batch seniors...

Just dropped by to wish you guys all the best for the results release tomorrow :)

Now we're doing the questions you guys did in STPM last year...as practice questions~

Sincerely, a junior~

good luck to you too! ;)

kinon
20-02-2011, 10:34 PM
I as well wishing for all stpm 2010 takers for their great achievement :-) know no matter what everything will ok!

weixiang
20-02-2011, 11:20 PM
Good luck! And may you get your university of choice too.

Grennwong
21-02-2011, 04:33 PM
Hi to all 2010 STPM-er. I believed we all knew our results now. So, no matter how it ended up, let's us start to talk abt our uni application. :P Do share ur result too if u don't mind~

weixiang
21-02-2011, 11:44 PM
Hi to all 2010 STPM-er. I believed we all knew our results now. So, no matter how it ended up, let's us start to talk abt our uni application. :P Do share ur result too if u don't mind~

perhaps you should start by sharing yours first. haha.

Grennwong
23-02-2011, 01:32 PM
perhaps you should start by sharing yours first. haha.

My result:
Pengajian Am : 4.00
Mathematics T: 3.67
Chemistry : 3.33
Biology : 3.67

czhong
23-02-2011, 03:42 PM
PA- 3.67
Chem- 3.67
Physics- 3.67
Math- 3.67

So it's a 3.67... == wat u guys applying arh??

Hoi-Ya-Ee-Ya
23-02-2011, 08:05 PM
Almost the same with Greenwong.. haha!

PA - 4.00
Maths - 3.67
Chemistry - 3.67
Physics - 3.33

Damn physics paper 1 got B, paper 2 A- and paper 3 A, in the end B+.. @<hidden>@<hidden>

EuPhoBoy
23-02-2011, 10:28 PM
overall i got 3.08.

I got a question to ask y'all. Can i go and change some details for my application for USM after i 'SETUJU'? Would it affect my application?

Hope all of us got the university and the course of our choice. =)

sch_hong91
23-02-2011, 11:57 PM
overall 4.0,CCA 8.69...i want to do medicine,any suggestion of scholarships ya?
I had read from news that HKU is very good and now already 1st in QS ranking in ASIA,any clue how to enter HKU MBBS><?

edge_seraph
24-02-2011, 12:28 AM
Hey there. Congratulations on your stellar results and CCA. The application for HKU has closed, unfortunately. But you can still submit a late application to the university albeit it's a tad expensive. Also, your chances of getting the course you want is substantially lower, if I'm not mistaken, due to limited places and the competitive nature of the course.

sugan
25-02-2011, 09:04 AM
hi , my results: 4.00
PA : A
Maths T :A
Physics :A
Chemistry:A
co curricular marks: 8.71

so, what's next? what courses are you looking for? where are you all planning to study?

I m looking at engineering, pure science and finance(maybe ).
LIVE SEX WEBSHOWS (http://livesexwebshows.com/)

KenT13
25-02-2011, 05:42 PM
Why is there co curricular marks? Explain to me about it a bit,. .thx anyone

CelineD
25-02-2011, 08:19 PM
overall 4.0,CCA 8.69...

hi , my results: 4.00
PA : A
Maths T :A
Physics :A
Chemistry:A
co curricular marks: 8.71

dudes, congrats 4 getting 4 flats AND excellent koku marks :D *salute* congrats to the other seniors as well, hope you guys get your course of choice...

Why is there co curricular marks? Explain to me about it a bit,. .thx anyone

There's a 10 percent quota for koku for entrance into local public universities for STPM students. I think overseas unis look at it too (not sure though, seniors please correct me yeah). To get into good unis and those pretty competitive courses, your marks need to be quite good (according to my teacher at least a 7.0/10 or above) to enter. The marks are form 6 (lower plus upper) marks combined with the form 1 to form 5 marks (from your secondary school koku certificate) for an average.

That helped? :)

KenT13
25-02-2011, 09:49 PM
Holy ! My coco marks from form one to five is beyond words. If I did well in form six's coco and combine it with the five years , I think I'll get maximum of 5.0

sugan
25-02-2011, 10:32 PM
the cocu marks calculated is used in our local public university admission.

I think overseas uni look at cocu [I]activities[I] than the marks
Vapourisers (http://vaporshop.com/)

Cactus
25-02-2011, 11:24 PM
Holy ! My coco marks from form one to five is beyond words. If I did well in form six's coco and combine it with the five years , I think I'll get maximum of 5.0

Do not despair.

I don't know what's the "system" in your school, but the basic formula for your coco marks is:

[previous year(s) mark (cumulative) + current year mark]/2

So, suppose you got 0 mark for form 1 to form 5; suppose you were just average for lower 6 (say 6 marks).

So at the end of your lower six, your coco marks would be:

(0 + 6)/2 = 3

If you worked hard for upper six (say you got 8 marks), then at the end of your upper six your marks would get to:

(3 + 8)/2 = 5.5

Which is not bad la I think.

Note: My school counted BOTH lower and upper sixs' marks.

sch_hong91
27-02-2011, 01:11 AM
the cocu marks calculated is used in our local public university admission.

I think overseas uni look at cocu [I]activities[I] than the marks

ya,agree with you...
overseas do not use the same system which established in malaysia,which your CGPA a/4.0 x90% + b/10% koku = w/100%
They more emphasis on the kind and level of activities you joined...
Sugan,nice to meet ya, i'm glad that you're not going to do medicine,haha,overally you get 98.71% which is higher 0.02% from mine (98.69%),am i right in calculating the overall mark?

weixiang
27-02-2011, 05:53 PM
overall i got 3.08.

I got a question to ask y'all. Can i go and change some details for my application for USM after i 'SETUJU'? Would it affect my application?

Hope all of us got the university and the course of our choice. =)

Last year, after the STPM result is announced, they will open the application for Fasa 2. You can change your details at that time. Check usm website consistently so that you would not miss any announcement.

(Keep in mind that you have to sit for munsyi test for usm.)

sugan
04-03-2011, 07:44 PM
ya,agree with you...
overseas do not use the same system which established in malaysia,which your CGPA a/4.0 x90% + b/10% koku = w/100%
They more emphasis on the kind and level of activities you joined...
Sugan,nice to meet ya, i'm glad that you're not going to do medicine,haha,overally you get 98.71% which is higher 0.02% from mine (98.69%),am i right in calculating the overall mark?

haha, are u planning to medicine? did u take bio? 5 or 4 subject taker?

i 'm not sure the method employed in calculating the marks for localuniversities.

another method is using out of 4.00
me: 3.95
sch_hong91: 3.95
haha, 0.02% , i got that deviation too.
LadyHotLove live (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/LadyHotLove)

Michael_Light
05-03-2011, 03:44 PM
I wonder any senior here took further maths for stpm? Or any of your friend took this? Cause I need a booklist for what books i need for this subject. Anyone good any ideas? Thanks~~:))

Xtraordinary
05-03-2011, 08:12 PM
1. Gaulter, B. & Gaulter, M., Further Pure Mathematics, Oxford, 2001 covering most core courses.

2. Bostock, L., Chandler, S., & Rourke, C., Further Pure Mathematics, Stanley Thornes, 1982 (Reprinted 2002).

I used these 2 books personally. Maybe u can refer to d booklist as suggested by MPM.

insane91
05-03-2011, 11:45 PM
may i know what is the real criteria upu look at to offer an admission? let say the result is 4 flat and the the co-c mark is close to 10, does these guarantee our first choice?

Chelsea
06-03-2011, 12:07 AM
allow me to ask. when you apply for universities in the uk especially the top 20, some of the courses require you to achieve A* in some subjects and some courses will require further math. so i was just wondering as a stpm leaver, how do you fulfil this academic requirement? besides that how do you secure a conditional offer? do you use your trials when you apply through ucas? thanks for the help

Cactus
06-03-2011, 01:18 AM
allow me to ask. when you apply for universities in the uk especially the top 20, some of the courses require you to achieve A* in some subjects and some courses will require further math. so i was just wondering as a stpm leaver, how do you fulfil this academic requirement? besides that how do you secure a conditional offer? do you use your trials when you apply through ucas? thanks for the help

This is a random reply.

I suppose if you're applying using STPM, the universities would not require you to achieve A* as part of the conditions of your offer (since that would be technically impossible).

I don't know about further maths, but we do have further maths for STPM, so maybe you should take the subject? Not sure. Just guessing.

You get a conditional offer erm...by submitting your application to the respective universities before the actual STPM results are released, based on the predicted grades provided by your teachers. The forecast can be made even before the state trial exam. [I did not use my trials when I apply through UCAS, in fact, there's not even space for you or teachers to put in your trial results in your UCAS form, although some universities which have their separate application forms may require you to submit your school results (e.g. Cambridge).] [So, if you satisfy the conditions, the offer will be changed to an unconditional one.]

All the best to you!

Recomers, please correct me if anything I wrote is wrong.

*Sorry for bad English.

weixiang
06-03-2011, 10:21 AM
may i know what is the real criteria upu look at to offer an admission? let say the result is 4 flat and the the co-c mark is close to 10, does these guarantee our first choice?

I wouldn't use the word 'guaranteed' as there are many cases of top students cant secure their first choice. It all depends on whether you're choosing a critical course or a top IPTA.

Btw, being a matriculation students will definitely boost your chance. Many students in critical courses in our 5 research universities are from matriculation.

Xtraordinary
06-03-2011, 10:28 AM
This is a random reply.

I suppose if you're applying using STPM, the universities would not require you to achieve A* as part of the conditions of your offer (since that would be technically impossible).

I don't know about further maths, but we do have further maths for STPM, so maybe you should take the subject? Not sure. Just guessing.

You get a conditional offer erm...by submitting your application to the respective universities before the actual STPM results are released, based on the predicted grades provided by your teachers. The forecast can be made even before the state trial exam. [I did not use my trials when I apply through UCAS, in fact, there's not even space for you or teachers to put in your trial results in your UCAS form, although some universities which have their separate application forms may require you to submit your school results (e.g. Cambridge).] [So, if you satisfy the conditions, the offer will be changed to an unconditional one.]

All the best to you!

Recomers, please correct me if anything I wrote is wrong.

*Sorry for bad English.

Do submit ur real result via mail to the respective admin ppl of uni. Then only they will make their final decision. Not so sure regarding the A* matter, coz i applied UCAS 1 yr ago, and there was no A* requirement by then. =)

sugan
15-03-2011, 11:10 AM
there only a few weeks left before UPU & USM dateline. So , hope you guys got it done
BARBY_LATINA CAM (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/barby_latina)

edge_seraph
15-03-2011, 03:42 PM
Oh my, this thread doesn't seem to be as active as the previous batches. The only active poster I see here is sugan. Where's the rest of 2010's STPM-ers?

Anyways, congratulations to you, sugan. Which universities have you applied to so far?

And to the rest, why don't y'all share something about yourself? Your aspirations, plans for the future, universities you yearned to go to?

Let's keep this thread busy. :))

sugan
15-03-2011, 05:21 PM
Oh my, this thread doesn't seem to be as active as the previous batches. The only active poster I see here is sugan. Where's the rest of 2010's STPM-ers?

Anyways, congratulations to you, sugan. Which universities have you applied to so far?

And to the rest, why don't y'all share something about yourself? Your aspirations, plans for the future, universities you yearned to go to?

Let's keep this thread busy. :))

Thanks, I have applied, USM and UM .( NUS and NTU Haven't completed)

Is there any other universities(overseas) still open for application?:wink
TreneSexy live (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/TreneSexy)

edge_seraph
15-03-2011, 05:29 PM
Hmm...For UK, UCAS has closed on 15 January, correct me if I'm wrong. How 'bout Hong Kong University? Their application has closed around December last year but I don't see the harm trying for the late application, even though it's a bit expensive and you will not be given the same consideration as those who applied before the closing date.

Other than that, you can try European universities (France, German, Switzerland, etc), though I'm not sure about the closing date and the application process.

Chelsea
15-03-2011, 08:53 PM
i thought the deadline for international students is 30 June for us,international students. anyways, can someone explain on how do you apply for a conditional offer. does that mean we apply with our trials result?

edge_seraph
15-03-2011, 11:36 PM
Pardon for the mistake 'cause I applied before 15 January. Application through UCAS is really straightforward, you just need to fill in the particulars according to the guideline provided. And no, you don't apply with your trial result but you need to provide them with your predicted grades. Those grades can be based on your trial result but if you want to aim higher, by all means go ahead. However, bear in mind that UK universities give out conditional offers based on the predicted grades you've given to them (maybe higher or lower, depending on the universities you applied to), so you need to be confident that you are able to obtain those grades in the real STPM examination.

sugan
15-03-2011, 11:52 PM
i thought the deadline for international students is 30 June for us,international students. anyways, can someone explain on how do you apply for a conditional offer. does that mean we apply with our trials result?

Are you talking about UCAS , Uk addmission?
Roll a joint (http://howtorollajoint.net/)

Chelsea
16-03-2011, 01:08 PM
Are you talk about UCAS , Uk addmission?

yeah. if you are applying to uk, you apply through ucas right? same as upu for malaysian public universities.

Gemini
16-03-2011, 09:53 PM

I've received my STPM result. I plan to apply UK universities.May I know how can we pay the app fee via credit card?I haven't done that b4.Anyone has experience doing that?I remember that the app fee's 21 pounds.

edge_seraph
16-03-2011, 10:10 PM
I've received my STPM result. I plan to apply UK universities.May I know how can we pay the app fee via credit card?I haven't done that b4.Anyone has experience doing that?I remember that the app fee's 21 pounds.

Of course you can. I've done it, so far there's no problem. You just need to follow the instructions, that's all.

Gemini
16-03-2011, 10:38 PM
Of course you can. I've done it, so far there's no problem. You just need to follow the instructions, that's all.

Which uni u've applied?U apply thru agents or on ur own?

edge_seraph
16-03-2011, 11:04 PM
Which uni u've applied?U apply thru agents or on ur own?

I applied on my own. :) The universities I applied to are University of Southampton, University of Sheffield, University of Manchester, University College London and University of Warwick.

Gemini
16-03-2011, 11:18 PM
I applied on my own. :) The universities I applied to are University of Southampton, University of Sheffield, University of Manchester, University College London and University of Warwick.

I planned to apply for University College Of London,School Of Pharmacy.Erm...can i have ur msn add so that if I've any ques pertaining to the app,I can ask u on9

sugan
17-03-2011, 01:04 AM
I planned to apply for University College Of London,School Of Pharmacy.Erm...can i have ur msn add so that if I've any ques pertaining to the app,I can ask u on9

if u were to apply now , it will be for september 2012 intake?
Volcano Vaporizers (http://volcanovaporizer.net/)

Mini
17-03-2011, 01:39 AM
SUGAN,can u share yr secret in order to score 4 flat in stpm especially chemistry and math T?

edge_seraph
17-03-2011, 09:22 AM
if u were to apply now , it will be for september 2012 intake?

No, it will be for this year's intake. I've checked the UCAS website and the deadline for international application is on 30th June. So, if you still wish to apply to UK universities, I'd suggest you better do so right now. Good luck.

mechwilson
14-07-2011, 01:44 PM
Can I know who are going to HKUST

Any one going to HKUST.

After receiving STPM results, I have applied to many universities( Singapore, HK and australia). So feel free to ask me about the path after form six. I have also gone through the Singapore Government Scholarship interview, NTU interview, and HKUST interview, didnt attend NUS interview due to Phy workshop.

sugan
01-09-2011, 02:57 AM
hey, where are you guys, now?

what are you doing?studying, working, lepaking?