View Full Version : Help: Engineers Salary

Deepaman
20-05-2009, 08:25 PM
As per my survey over various job websites. I have come out with the following average salary statics

1. Engineer Salary -

Average Engineer salary - $81,000
Average Principal Engineer - $89,000
Average General Engineer - $83,000
Average Aerospace Engineer - $83,000
Average Electrical Engineer -$76,000
Average Supervisory General Engineer - $98,000
Average Mechanical Design Engineer - $71,000
Average Electrical Design Engineer - $78,000
2 Civil Engineer Salary -

Average Civil engineer salary - $83,000
Average City Engineer - $87,000
Average GE Controls Engineer Mark -$103,000
Average Rdt&e Systems Engineer - $55,000
Average Supervisor Civil Engineer - $98,000
Average Professional Civil Engineer - $94,000
Average Engineering Technician Civil - $56,000
Average Supervisory Civil Engineer - $95,000

3.Computer Engineer Salary -

computer engineer salary - $81,000
Computer Engineer - $85,000
National Sales Manager - $90,000
Technical Sales Engineer- $73,000
Network Systems Engineer -$64,000
Junior Software Engineer - $56,000
Software QA Engineer - $74,000
Lead Software Systems Engineer - $92,000
Principal Systems Engineer - $86,000

4.Software Engineer Salary -
software engineer salary - $84,000
Software QA Engineer - $74,000
Net Software Engineer - $78,000
Junior Software Engineer - $56,000
Senior Isse - $87,000
Principal Engineer -$89,000
Software Engineer - $81,000
Communication Systems Engineer - $68,000
Lead Software Systems Engineer - $92,000
Cmm Field Service Engineer - $31,000
Software Security Engineer - $63,000

5. Average Engineer Salary -
average salary -$49,000
Sales And Management -$108,000
Sports Account Executive - $87,000
Account Executive Recruiter - $72,000
Advertising Internet Sales Representative - $122,000

6.Engineering Salary Survey -

engineering salary survey - $67,000
Assistant Surveyor - $129,000
Civil Municipal Engineer - $73,000
Office Land Surveyor - $63,000
Senior Civil Engineer PE -$100,000
Engineering Technician Civil - $56,000
Senior Office Land Surveyor -$105,000
Civil Engineer Transportation - $69,000
Civil Engineer Design Engineer -$66,000

7. Engineering Starting Salaries -

engineering starting salaries - $47,000
Enterprise Solutions Architect - $117,000
Banking Customer Service -$28,000
Instructor Chemistry - $67,000
Analysis Associate - $22,000
Sales Representative Call Center -$28,000

8.Industrial Engineer Salary -

industrial engineer salary -$79,000
Technical Sales Engineer - $73,000
Regional Sales Engineer - $82,000
GE Controls Engineer Mark - $103,000
Operations Industrial Engineer -$70,000
Environmental Health Safety Engineer - $72,000

9.Structural Engineer Salary-
structural engineer salary - $83,000
Structural Steel Design Engineer - $61,000
Mechanical Structural Engineer - $84,000
Senior Civil Structural Engineer - $116,000
Analytical Engineer - $76,000
Structural Engineer Eit - $64,000
Structural Engineer Telecommunication - $68,000
Structural Engineer Professional Engineer -$98,000

10. Aeronautical Engineer Salary -

aeronautical engineer salary - $84,000
Customer Support Engineer SH - $77,000
Mechanical Engineer Associate - $53,000
Systems Engineer Principal - $77,000
Process Engineer Senior - $67,000
Mechanical Engineer Senior - $69,000
Flight Test Engineer -$82,000

11. Nuclear Engineer Salary -
nuclear engineer salary - $95,000
Project Engineer Energy - $103,000
Power Project Engineer - $98,000
Pipeline Integrity Engineer - $100,000
General Engineer Scientist GG - $75,000
Power Plant Electrical Engineer - $101,000
Licensing Engineer - $90,000
Nuclear Engineer - $91,000
Regulatory Affair - $81,000
General Engineer Physical Scientist -$93,000

12.Mechanical Engineer Average Salary -

mechanical engineer average salary - $80,000
Optical Engineer Led Engineering - $84,000

13. Average Civil Engineer Salaries -

Average Civil Engineer salaries - $94,000
Engineer General - $79,000
Flight Engineer - $54,000

14. Electronic Engineer Salary -
electronic engineer salary - $78,000
GE Controls Engineer Mark - $103,000
Electronic Packaging Engineer - $103,000
RF Electrical Design Engineer - $99,000
Optical Engineer Led Engineering -$84,000
Electrical Engineer Elevator Modernization - $94,000

15.Network Engineer Salary -
network engineer salary - $82,000
Senior Field Engineer - $83,000
Senior Isse - $87,000
Regional Sales Engineer - $82,000
Technical Sales Engineer - $73,000
Systems Integration Engineer - $89,000
Senior Network Engineer - $89,000
Senior Optical Network Engineer - $78,000
Multi Discipline Systems Engineer - $65,000

16. Automotive Engineer Salary -

automotive engineer salary - $78,000
Principal IC Design Engineer - $129,000
Brake Engineer - $81,000
Electrical Engineer Mep - $78,000
Distribution Center Engineer Automotive - $87,000
Electrical Engineer Mep Telecomm - $70,000
Software Engineer Defense Communication - $101,000

17. Systems Engineer Salary -

systems engineer salary - $83,000
Computer Engineer - $85,000
Substation Engineer - $85,000
Electronics Engineer - $81,000
Aerospace Engineer - $83,000
Electrical Engineer - $76,000
Senior Systems Engineer - $91,000
Controls Engineer - $73,000
Senior Electrical Engineer - $89,000
Electrical Design Engineer- $78,000

18.Electrical engineer Average Salary -

electrical engineer average salary - $81,000
Optical Engineer Led Engineering- $84,000
Electrical Engineer Firmware - $65,000
Facilities Electrical Engineer - $62,000

19. Audio Engineer Salary -

audio engineer salary - $81,000
Dsp Software Architect - $117,000
Software Middleware Engineer - $102,000
Embedded Linux Software Engineer - $84,000
Senior Simulation Engineer - $84,000
Audio Visual Support Engineer- $42,000
Audio Video Design Engineer - $64,000

20. Recording Engineer Salary -

recording engineer salary - $69,000
Field Service Engineer Den - $73,000
Field Service Engineer Sfo - $58,000
Field Service Engineer Dtw - $64,000
Field Service Engineer Lax - $67,000
Field Service Engineer Jfk - $52,000
Field Service Engineer Mci - $84,000
Senior Systems Engineer Administrator - $84,000

* This is a average Wage statics Which derived after a surveying various jobs website over the internet by me.

Engineers salary (http://www.guruengineers.com/myblog/engineer-average-salary-in-civil-computer-software-industrial-structural-engineering-catego ries.html)

kid
20-05-2009, 08:36 PM
for malaysia (monthly base) :

Sektor Awam :
Gaji Permulaan - RM 1591.70
ETP - RM 165.00
EKA - RM 170.00

Sektor Swasta :
Gaji Permulaan - RM 2500.00 - RM 8000.00

20-05-2009, 08:59 PM
for malaysia (monthly base) :

Sektor Awam :

Sektor Swasta :

depends on what kind of engineer u are.
as for chemical engineer for fresh grads,the salary could reach rm3000

kid
20-05-2009, 09:11 PM
arh, sorry., forget to mention, its for mechanical eng.
thanks nemo

lawteoh
22-05-2009, 09:22 PM
As per my survey over various job websites. I have come out with the following average salary statics

Engineers salary (http://www.guruengineers.com/myblog/engineer-average-salary-in-civil-computer-software-industrial-structural-engineering-catego ries.html)

err.. how abt bioengineers? just wondering..

23-05-2009, 02:53 AM
Why no salary for Chemical Engineering?

wiley
23-05-2009, 07:54 PM
how bout electrical engineer malaysia based
?

Ybing
26-05-2009, 01:33 AM
i need to know wat is the based salary for a chemical engineer after graduated with a degree?
thanks...

lowray
26-05-2009, 03:14 PM
Is engineerng degree so marketable?

What is the difference between engineering degree and pure science degree?

26-05-2009, 03:17 PM
i need to know wat is the based salary for a chemical engineer after graduated with a degree?
thanks...

depends on the company
my sister start out with RM3-3.5k

hrixenz
26-05-2009, 11:37 PM
depends on the company
my sister start out with RM3-3.5k

which company is it?

Ybing
27-05-2009, 01:04 AM
if i have to work under government?
wat salary i wil get?

Scrmath
28-05-2009, 01:35 PM
I also hav the same doubt with ybing..and to b more specific,wad i wan to ask is the base salary for a chem/mechan enginner who work for jpa bonds?

Ybing
30-05-2009, 12:45 AM
ya.. especially for a chemical engineering..
n i got heard that to work for jpa ,u wil have to work in the same condition for many years.. is it mean that ur salary wil be the same?

30-05-2009, 12:49 AM
hey peeps don't worry about salary so much... Just hope that you'll get a job that you enjoy doing. If you're into engineering for money's sake...you're in the wrong mindset....

Ybing
30-05-2009, 01:04 AM
salary is stil not the main pro
but if i have to work in the same condition for many years, don't u think that it is too boring?

30-05-2009, 01:06 AM
well, it depends on what is it....In any case, if you are unsatisfied, you can break the bond and find work somewhere else...

Scrmath
30-05-2009, 11:23 AM
salary is stil not the main pro
but if i have to work in the same condition for many years, don't u think that it is too boring?

fr wad i heard is,u would be distributed here and there..so tat means u no need to work the same thing forever..

I hav a que to ask..if during the jpa bond then i study master of education in enginnering at my own cost,then i bcome a lecturer instead of engineer to pay for jpa bond,is it ok?cuz i think that if i teach enginnering that would be the ideal job,although i heard that lecturer hav to do many other things else..but i think that if i luv to tch wad i love,then i would tolerate with other work..plus,boys would b more concentrated on not only interrest,but salary as well..lecturer hav high salary too,rite?

sb pls giv me suggestion..any tips would b appreciated..abt jobs on lecturer,diff between lecturer and enginner all tat..or give me the link abt threads related things i asked jus now..thx!

08-06-2009, 01:38 PM
Lecturers do make more money, but they have higher qualifications as well. Currently, in Malaysia, a lecturer in Local U earn about RM 70000-80000, pre tax. Sadly, life is an equal sum game. what you get, you pay for it in another way. In Malaysia, you may be in your early 30s before you can finish your graduate degree, so people will be making real money about 3-5 years before you are.

Teaching and real engineering is different. In teaching, you make up problems to solve, but in real engineering, you have true problems with constraints. A teacher with no real engineering experience is just like a virgin talking about having sex. Engineering is an applied field, you need to have some experience, even as a lecturer. Hope that helps.

law_yew_wooi
08-06-2009, 01:54 PM
Do you mean the starting salary for a lecturer to teach engineering is rm70k to 80k???? Wow, that's a lot! Is it easy to get a job as a lecturer with such a high pay? It seems like being a lecturer has higher salary than an ordinary engineer. Haha, which kind of engineering lecturer are you referring to? Civil? Chemical? E&E? Mechanical?

Scrmath
08-06-2009, 03:28 PM
Do you mean the starting salary for a lecturer to teach engineering is rm70k to 80k???? Wow, that's a lot! Is it easy to get a job as a lecturer with such a high pay? It seems like being a lecturer has higher salary than an ordinary engineer. Haha, which kind of engineering lecturer are you referring to? Civil? Chemical? E&E? Mechanical?

Evidently,it is not 70k..mayb 70k per year..and i heard that 7k is for phd holder..of course lecturer's base salary is higher than engineer..but that lecturer must be at least master holder..

08-06-2009, 03:31 PM
Yes digimushu is definitely quoting the yearly salary, not monthly.

gnc88
08-06-2009, 03:40 PM
As mentioned by someone in an earlier post, if $ is really of much of a concern, then you're in the wrong field. Now it is good enough to start off with a Rm3k starting salary. Most companies like Intel (Rm2.8K) and HP (Rm2.5k) are not even giving you close to Rm3k. Motorola is only giving you Rm2.8k+ if you get 1st class. Otherwise, 'jangan harap'.

How i know? Coz I, myself, has previously worked with one of these MNCs.

Being a lecturer definitely can earn more. 70k/80k is definitely yearly. No such monthly pay for lecturer. Even a Associate Prof or etc only around Rm7k~Rm20k depending on background.

Engineering is a field that you need to have the passion. Love your work.
Otherwise, i would very much suggest doing what I'm doing - pursue a higher degree and change field/job. At least your engineering field provides you a good base to start off with.

09-06-2009, 12:31 AM
Hrmmm

Yes, I am refering to yearly salary. As gnc88 mentioned, if money is what you are in engineering for, then you are in the wrong field. Most of us do what we do because we enjoy it, not because of the prospect that there is any money in it.

I'm not bragging, but to put it into perspective, by the time I graduated with my graduate degree, I had 22 publications, had been an instructor for 2 years in the US, and have work experience, and was offered only a junior lecturer position in a local uni. The worst thing is a start up package as an assistant prof. position that was offered to me by a tier-2 uni in the US had more perks than what our best local university is offering. Eventually I picked an industrial position because of my own interests, not because of the pay (also, i want my weekends. Working in academia means u spend your weekends and holidays on research proposals). I don't expect the academic climate to change anytime soon back home. There are many facets of academic life that you wont know until you do graduate school, but if academia is on your mind, I would advise you to pursue graduate school right after your Bachelors.

I am merely relating my own personal experiences. Do what gets you up in the morning.

aea91
09-06-2009, 12:42 AM
depending on what field of engineering :

Civil Engineering (http://www.payscale.com/research/US/Job=Civil_Engineer/Salary):

Electrical Engineering (http://www.payscale.com/research/US/Job=Electrical_Engineer/Salary)

Jules_Verne
09-06-2009, 01:37 AM
Lol, I'm gonna start off with RM3.5K cause I'm a petroleum engineer :) a lot of ppl are into mainstream engineering that they left us out. :) Higher demand lor...

Scrmath
10-06-2009, 03:19 PM
lets say now i study overseas for engineering under a scholarship,then after that,i pursue chemucal engineering in masters..then can i become lecturer or tutor in local u or private u like utp,uniten,taylors etc?

How is the job like?and the salary?for both local u and those private u..any tips would b appreciated/thx!

or,do here got a thread discussing about the work on lecturer?please give me the link too..thx..