View Full Version : The Idea of The Brand

12-11-2003, 06:43 PM
Good day guys.....

I would like to suggest that we should create our brand here....
an identity for ourselves...
Maybe we should have a little reform...
have a nicer + creative logo.. (more human tech)
a good slogan ***
mascot if u like
and some unique feature only belong to ReCom
Do u guys have any ideas?

Besides that, I suggest that we should have some local intelects/leader as our consultant
Maybe a VIP can boosst our value of good will
as we need some useful leadership from the intelects and enthusiasm from the young talents

I guess we should include another objective of our society, which is looking for as much young talents/leader as possible

to achive this, I suggest affinities are made amongst other vitual organisation... this is healthy as more interaction is made within organisations and there's where we can promote our organisation.

That's all for now... what's ur view?
have fun..

"think, try and triumph"

Regards,

13-11-2003, 01:20 AM
Yeah, we are having a logo/banner competition among Recom members to design for our main top banner... Winner would be appointed the head of design, currently the post is held by biskutoreo and the design currently you have seen is done by him... Those of you who would like to help out in design, i know many of you are, kindly shout it out here, or show something, like what thirdshifter had done...

Yeah, bringing in youth leaders... It is our utmost hope to unearth talents and I would say that there are a lot of talents out there... everyone is something and those well-known talent who have served at various capacity, including shahabudden jalil, munir, dharman100,... they have all served at various capacities before and hopefully everyone one could help to bring in more of those talents...

Yeah, we have been working very closely with other affliates... We have contacted many organizations, including PROMUDA (young professional of Malaysia), Malaysian MENSA, etc.. We have contacted other virtual community like myscentral, krokusnet, phpnuke, innovane etc... bachok83 and masterofnone could fill in more on this... , but certainly if u guys find out any good connection that we could make, feel free to let us know...

Yeah, hope to unearth more talents, but more importantly build on the talents. Hope that more would share your experience, or opinion...No one would be offended if you share your opinion. Don't worry that others' will think that you are too stupid or what, Recom members are mature enough to support each other. We are here to help each other and we have a number of professionals who are constantly visiting Recom websites.

I have also contacted a doctor and he is someone who is doing business in biotech industry in Singapore. He would be active in Recom soon and would share his experience. He is a Malaysian MENSA member too. Besides that, kijal4, a Cornell alumni, who is working with Petronas at Twin Tower would be sharing his experience with us soon too.

13-11-2003, 10:52 AM
Ooo... chen chow. thanx for ur info. I'm glad to hear that... I hope I would be able to contribute by bringing in some of my talented friends as well...
Dharman? I know him. he's my senior, currently studying in Germany. If Possible I'm going to study with him... same uni.

"think, try and triumph"

13-11-2003, 11:00 AM
iQing, so are you still in INTEC Please invite your friends in INTEC to join, be it ALG, ATU, BTU, KP, AUSMAT. or whatever program it is..

13-11-2003, 11:42 AM
sorry chen chow.. I'm no more in INTEc and I'm going oversea soon....
I try my best...
I have added u in Msn messenger.. just to let u know :)

I guess besides other website, we should also cooperate with other institution such as school/college/uni and media as they play important roles in our society...

"think, try and triumph"

15-11-2003, 06:52 PM
well, we need slogan as well
becoz slogan has a motivating effect
as u can see, many brands come with slogan..

here's some of my suggestion of slogan for ReCom :

"Reborn! Reform! Revolve!"
"Connecting students"
"Live the passion"
"creating ideas"
"boost your mind"
"A brand new malaysian"
"our virtual home"

any more ideas????

"think, try and triumph"

16-11-2003, 12:00 AM
"Worldwide Malaysian Students Network" would be one of our main phrase. I would not say that is slogan, but would be how we identify ourselves.

Yeah, definitely we should cooperate with other colleges/universities/schools. You mean we should cooperate with their Malaysian Associations? On media, we should let ourselves build up for some time and then we could spread it to media, because we need to build up a very good first image.

16-11-2003, 06:14 AM
I think it should be 'International Malaysian Youth Network'
Coz we ahve more than just students and I think alot of us will be involved even after we graduate and cease to be students

16-11-2003, 08:15 PM
chen chow.. what u say is just a name.. NOT Slogan

slogan is a phase that's motivating...

ask for more
just do it

somethign like that..

not a long boring name.

"think, try and triumph"

22-11-2003, 05:13 PM
Anyone has any suggestion for the slogan and mascot? May be we can create a brandname for Recom. iQing reminded me of successful corporations, would have a good brandname and mascot/logo.

I remember a public lecture I heard yesterday from a VP from Welch Allyn, a medical company, and he talked about brandname. He talked about how a Nike hat could gain a leverage of extra $15, just because of its logo...

We have mascot for sea games, slogan for most agencies, corporations, so may be we can have a discussion on this here...

22-11-2003, 05:35 PM
well thanx chen chow...

before that I would like to list some popular slogans...
lowyat net has a nice mascot of a young dude with a red devil... what do u think of ReCom?? :P
another popular mascot is Adam King... for guiness.. i think not mascot.. but figurehead

Malaysia
- malaysia boleh !

Pepsi
- ask for more

nike
- just do it

samsung
- everyone's invited

nokia
- connecting people

survivor
- outwit, outlast, outplay

- think, try and triumph

Matrix
- what is the matrix?

NTV7
- your feel good channel

INTI (unofficial)
- I love INTI, INTI loves my money

ReCom
- ?????

slagans ... as above.. should be SHORT, POWERFUL and EASY TO REMEMBER

that's my suggestionlah......

18-06-2004, 07:34 PM
anyone interested of thinking one slogan for ReCom?

18-06-2004, 11:56 PM
How about a latin motto or slogan?

19-06-2004, 06:24 AM
latin has no malaysian element in it. i will veto this latin slogan... sorry USS...

and here's a request... if we're to pick a slogan, could we please not have something that's too cheesy? and nothing ultra-patriotic like 'malaysia boleh' - it's cliched and highly unpopular to many.

do we really need a mascot? sorry to shoot your idea down, (but thumbs up for the enthusiasm, iqing) - we're not selling anything, and branding is nothing more than an artificial inflation of a product's perceived quality.

so.. slogan is quite ok. mascot is overdoing it.