View Full Version : JPA Acceptance Ratio (Help out...we will discover the truth)
chankingguan
06-06-2004, 10:27 AM
I need all ur help here...plz plz...no more value judgements as in the "is jpa fair????" thread.
I'm collecting statistics now..and i need help from the whole recom...how many from ur skool got straight a1s and how many were accepted by jpa...i just wanna find out the ratio of acceptance...and i noe dat some ppl with mixed a1s and a2s deserve the scholarship as well...so add up the number of straiaght a1s and the mixed a's and then give the number accepted by jpa in this format (copy and paste to make ur life easier) :-
Name the skool (eg. St. Joseph's, Kuching)
A) Number of straight A1's students:-
B) Number of straight A's students:-
C) Total of All A's (A and A1) students:-
D) Number of straight A1's accepted:-
E) Number of straight A's accepted:-
F) Total of A's ( A and A1) students accepted:-
G) The ratio of A1's students accepted:- (D:A)
H) The ratio of A's ( A and A1) students accepted:- (F:C)
I) The number of bumis accepted in ur skool:-
(I) is to wipe out the racist sentiment, i will try to prove dat the racist thinking isn't true...so help out guys....hehehehhehe...from this we can see the actual jpa acceptance ratio (assuming all A students applied for JPA lah....hehehhehehe)
06-06-2004, 11:44 AM
dude, you won't get anywhere with that method.
how many people will give out their info when recom has almost 2000 members, even less people who are active, with even less people from class of your year?
I personally doubt you will have even 1% of the total people that took the exam and applied for JPA. Though size doesn't really matter in statistics, your result will be skrewed and biased statistically by the fact of unrandomness which leads to the question below.
Is it random considering they need an internet connection to give out the info?
if the survey is not random, then it is useless because the participants of the survey is pre-chosen by you and that will affect the result.
Secondly, as you see, recom is dominantly Chinese. This will push out the minorities weight. In fact, I would suspect a result that goes directly against your initial guts because sample is further pre-determined by recom.
More, most of recom members are students with good result. this itself would affect their answer (and giving good impression of things) despite they are trying their best to honestly answer the questions.
and the real punch, how many people actually knows the exact or even an approximate figure to your questions?
I personally can't even remember how many people are straight-As students from my school without calling the JPA. If I approximate, I would probably be disastrously inaccurate.
thus, why don't you call and ask JPA directly?
taking a survey like this is useless unfortunately, if you don't have the resource to conduct it.
editted for grammEr. not that I really proofread it.
david_david
06-06-2004, 12:19 PM
my school, smk abdul rahman talib ( yeah , malay school, 85-90%malays)
6 got straight a1s
i think 4 got jpa ( all straight a1s except 1 ,for 1119)
all of them non bumi
one with 9A1 didn't get in( non bumi)
one got petronas, uk, chem engineering. not sure wheter she got jpa also, she's bumi, 10 A1s.
even the head girl with all A1s except islamic studies did not get it.also A1 for 1119
from my point of view, bumi's are not really favoured....if not many will get from my school.
However , I think that _earth is right. Your method is flawed.
perhaps you might want to wait until those who got jpa report to their centres and you'll get a better picture....heheheheheheh
kevinkhoo1986
06-06-2004, 01:16 PM
who is going to know how many straight A1 in MRSM??
chankingguan
06-06-2004, 02:35 PM
thank you david_david for ur post...and earth for ur constructive advice....i'm not doing a survey to be published in the newspaper...i don need a lot of samples in my statistics...i don need a 99% accurate figure...just want a rough estimate..so we can see wats going on...the prob now is, its so shady this year...a lot has complained dat there are more straight a1s this year...and less gettin the scholarship...i just wanna see if we cud uncover wats wrong...not to make statistics to present to the parliament....hehhehehe
06-06-2004, 10:49 PM
I wonder... to those who has been rejected, how many A1s you guys get? I mean, i dun want to hear straight A1s. I want the figure... And those who has been accepted, please tell me how many A1s (or A2s, if you have) you obtained... I want to have a general idea about JPA's selection... perhaps JPA is selecting the students based on minimun of As this year, instead of getting 100% A1s. Just trying to speculate here.
lynnx01
06-06-2004, 11:25 PM
roughly la.. not entirely accurate.
St Columba
A) Number of straight A1's students:5 chinese (4 scored 10A1, 2 scored 9A1) - three 10A1s girls got A1 fr their 1119 too
B) Number of straight A's students:about some 10 or so?
C) Total of All A's (A and A1) students:below 20, definitely
D) Number of straight A1's accepted:only 2 got it
E) Number of straight A's accepted:2 (one bumi, one chinese..but this chinese one i think he has B, and he got korean engineering)
F) Total of A's ( A and A1) students accepted:4
G) The ratio of A1's students accepted:- (2:5)
so far.. only 1 bumi i know who are accepted. hmmm.. i suspect another malay girl should be getting it too, she has a mixture of a1 and a2. the similarities between the only 2 10A1s girls getting JPA is.. (cracking my head to think).. they have parents working as civil servants.
zillion
07-06-2004, 02:25 AM
my school.......
around 10+ straight A1s
around 40+ straight As
total around 40+
1 straight A1 accepted
None i know with straight As accepted
total accepted 1
ratio 1:10
ratio 1:40
none
solace
07-06-2004, 04:07 AM
chan, st joe saya boleh cuba tolong, tho i oni noe the figures vaguely..
Name of skool ialah St. Joseph's, Kuching (where some kimaks come from)
A) Number of straight A1's students:- 12
B) Number of straight A's students:- 16 (not too sure)
C) Total of All A's (A and A1) students:- er..28 (i think i can do math)
D) Number of straight A1's accepted:- 4
E) Number of straight A's accepted:- 1
F) Total of A's ( A and A1) students accepted:- round up to 5
G) The ratio of A1's students accepted:- (D:A) 1:3
H) The ratio of A's ( A and A1) students accepted:- (F:C) 5:28
I) The number of bumis accepted in ur skool:- 2
ini dia..more enlightened st joe dudes please make ammends to my mistakes
the similarities between the only 2 10A1s girls getting JPA is.. (cracking my head to think).. they have parents working as civil servants.
haha..cracking ur head? er...as far as i noe..er...dats veli farnie comin from u :p
oinkoink
08-06-2004, 03:36 PM
Name the skool SMK Green Road
A) Number of straight A1's students:10
B) Number of straight A's students:36
C) Total of All A's (A and A1) students:46
D) Number of straight A1's accepted:4
E) Number of straight A's accepted:1
F) Total of A's ( A and A1) students accepted:5
G) The ratio of A1's students accepted:- 46:10
H) The ratio of A's ( A and A1) students accepted:- 5:46
I) The number of bumis accepted in ur skool: 1
sping
09-06-2004, 12:57 AM
I wonder... to those who has been rejected, how many A1s you guys get? I mean, i dun want to hear straight A1s. I want the figure... And those who has been accepted, please tell me how many A1s (or A2s, if you have) you obtained... I want to have a general idea about JPA's selection... perhaps JPA is selecting the students based on minimun of As this year, instead of getting 100% A1s. Just trying to speculate here.
i got 10 A1s n was rejected...i have a friend who got 10 A1s and 1 A2 also got rejected
dinna_g
09-06-2004, 05:43 AM
first of all, i agree on __earth. second of all, i think based on the number of straigh A1s/As students, JPA's decision is not just based on how many As you get in your spm. have you ever think back on your activities and how well you did in your interview?
i'm not trying to defend JPA, my brother was a victim as well. however, i think there's more to your spm results. JPA might even reduce the number of students they want to send overseas. Think of it as JPA scholarship is highly competetive and straight As do not guarantee your place on the board. I don't think it's fair to say that JPA is unfair and JPA is giving priorities to the bumis or whatever speculations you have. They are professionals and we have to respect their decisions.
09-06-2004, 05:50 AM
True, very true.
Rather than sending a lot of students and pay each of them little, send fewer students and pay each of them more.
:roll:
Sylvia
09-06-2004, 03:28 PM
Mostly chinese in my school
SMK Chung Hua Miri
A) Number of straight A1's students:-8 (10A1's)
B) Number of straight A's students:- 27(mostly 9A1's one A2)
C) Total of All A's (A and A1) students:- 35
D) Number of straight A1's accepted:- 5
E) Number of straight A's accepted:- 2
F) Total of A's ( A and A1) students accepted:- 7
G) The ratio of A1's students accepted:- (D:A) 5:8
H) The ratio of A's ( A and A1) students accepted:- (F:C) 1:5
I) The number of bumis accepted in ur skool:- 1(he is actually half bumi and half chinese, he even took chinese as one of the subjebts and he got 10 A1's)
Riang
16-06-2004, 11:36 AM
I believe at Yayasan Saad (private college, mixed races) of the 80 students, 27% had above 10A1s and more than 80 % had 8A1s (add another A for English). There were 100% A1s in the core sciences and maths subjects.
Almost everyone had an offer of some kind and many did not choose to aply fo JPA because of the (a) 10yr. bond and (b) because for excellent grades, JPA offer cannot be converted to a free scholarship, compared to some others. :P
The_Observer
17-06-2004, 12:20 AM
WTH? All the schools indicated so far all from Sarawak one...LOL
Damn...I would have liked to provide mine (SMK Bandar Bintulu, yes...that small town) but I left secondary school 4 years ago :/
19-06-2004, 06:30 PM
There were 30000 applicants last year. 300 was picked out for interview, 1000 get jpa. ( i think)
19-06-2004, 06:33 PM
13000 applicants, 3896 went for interview and 1300 get scholarships for first intake.