View Full Version : Invite Politicians!

06-06-2004, 01:45 PM
Sometimes it seemed to me that our leaders are a little 'ignorant' of certain issues. Maybe we should invite pak lah here and join in our discussion! hehe! then they'll understand what we think and maybe take our suggestions or something.

It could also serve as a portal for communications between the leaders and the people! only, that just a little portion of the people are here la! hehe!

Just another 10cents worth thought though...

06-06-2004, 02:56 PM
Nazri, Hisham, Azalina is pretty sporting. Ong Tee Keat too.

Best is if we can a Q&A session, where ReCom members send question to ReCom taikor, and he/she relay them to interviewee.

Q&A = Grill and SCREWtinise.
The View Condo Pattaya (http://pattayaluxurycondos.com)

08-06-2004, 10:08 PM
hey, maybe we have some politicians already roaming ReCom ... who knows? cyberspace anonymity is full of suprises :)

09-06-2004, 04:40 AM
wait, don't forget the oppositions, human rights activists etc, if you're considering inviting Azalina, Nazri bla bla bla. this isn't a bad suggestion is it?

09-06-2004, 04:44 AM
I don?t think we are ready for it but we can give a try...

09-06-2004, 05:05 AM
i mean, if we only allow the BN leaders in this community, we're no better than RTM.

inviting leaders from different parties might be interesting. maybe we can see them debating each other. but things might get really nasty. i mean, really really nasty. i'm cool with it but i'm afraid that that might obstruct the goal of Recom or something.

making the govt aware of this community is quite risky. i dont wanna see nobody got ISAed (can ISA be a verb?). it just ain't right to detain somebody for speaking his/her mind, but that happens. i just dont think we're quite ready for that yet.

dinna_g
09-06-2004, 05:21 AM
It's actually a good idea if our voices are heard. As pointed out by luke, some may even took a look at it already. Since this is a community for students, I think it is best if we invite the Youth and Sports minister (Datuk Azalina) because it is more relevant to her department.

Having said that, I think that some people misuse recom to make "angry" arguments. No offense to anyone... But it is true though.

09-06-2004, 06:50 AM
what aboout inviting a celebrity?

if would be great if recom has a figurehead---

09-06-2004, 09:43 AM
of course it's a good idea to have our voice heard. but, i'm afraid that they only wanna hear what they want to hear.

i think making 'angry' arguements is still ok, as long as no BS involved. sometimes i guess it's ok to be angry. why pretend be happy when you're not? get real. i dont think that honestly expressing yourself is a misuse of this community. that's just my opinion.
i'm not saying this because i think you're pointing your fingers at me or something. i know i got angry once in a while, and i express it. i believe everyone does too. i just think that it's not that big of a deal.

09-06-2004, 01:52 PM
Few things we need to consider if doing so:

1) Which politicians to invite that will actually spare some time here listening?

2) Who to participate? Anyone can register to be a recom member and thus anyone can participate in the discussion. How to make sure the discussion is healthy? We definitely don't want some Ah Beng,etc coming in keep talking thrash like "XX sucks" or "XX stupid"or "give me the damn scholarship", do we?

3) Provided the 2 previous problems are solved, how to contact the politicians and persuade them to participate?

Maybe the thing we can do is make recom as a communication bridge. Bring in a few moderators. People can say whatever they want here and the moderators will filther out and deliver the message (maybe co-operate with other societies,etc) to politicians and maybe some discussion from there?

09-06-2004, 04:26 PM
Who to participate? Anyone can register to be a recom member and thus anyone can participate in the discussion. How to make sure the discussion is healthy? We definitely don't want some Ah Beng,etc coming in keep talking thrash like "XX sucks" or "XX stupid"or "give me the damn scholarship", do we?

Well if you ask me, its ok if someone wants to yell out loud "XX sucks" or "XX stupid" but they should give their reasons (logical ones only, please) for saying that XX is stupid or XX sucks.

09-06-2004, 04:36 PM
I don?t think they have time to be a regular members.
what if we try to attract teachers here as well?

09-06-2004, 11:31 PM
i think we already have moderators.

10-06-2004, 01:24 PM
I don't think we'll be ISAed... hehe! firstly, its damn difficult to track us down.. and we're not creating community havoc or anything? We just want to make a better world to live in right? hehe!

Teachers will be good... maybe they can give some opinions... and correct our grammars! hehe... especially mine...

Provided the 2 previous problems are solved, how to contact the politicians and persuade them to participate?

this is yet another flaw in our system. I think as a real democratic country, where the government is ruled by the people, we should create a portal to ease communication between our leaders and its people.

11-06-2004, 02:42 AM
Hmm... i think what we are currently doing is fine... i mean, discuss some issues, brainstorm, then make a press release sent to the peeps that we want them to listen.... maybe in time, when we are high profile enough, they will surely come and look at Recom themselves. no need to invite them. but the idea of being monitored by special branches surely will keep most of us quiet... dunno... a creepy feeling for me....

11-06-2004, 03:46 AM
I think inviting politician into a website is possible.

I remember seeing a videoclip on Dr Mahathir speaking for kedahonline.net

so it?s not a problem... we can try.

11-06-2004, 07:29 AM
Hmm... i think what we are currently doing is fine... i mean, discuss some issues, brainstorm, then make a press release sent to the peeps that we want them to listen.... maybe in time, when we are high profile enough, they will surely come and look at Recom themselves. no need to invite them. but the idea of being monitored by special branches surely will keep most of us quiet... dunno... a creepy feeling for me....

i agree!!

The_Observer
12-06-2004, 12:27 PM
LOL...politicians online? I am sure they he/she will have his political advisors, aides with them...they'll go into committee over any issues raised...its going to take some time before they would reply.

P.S : Yes, I'm back! The exams are finally over!

12-06-2004, 08:30 PM
i think the authorities really don't give a shit what you say online because it has zero effect in real life (unless you actually do something tangible). internet penetration in msia is still very very low. majority still relies on "mainstream" aka govt-licensed/owned media for daily news.

no one's gonna throw you into isa for making noise online. after all the internet is free of censorship under the msc bill(although that did not stop the authorities from strong-arming malaysiakini not too long ago).

so say what you like. apart from a small, almost negligible segment of the population, no one cares.

13-06-2004, 02:05 AM
what if they say that this is "portal penyebaran dakyah pembangkang", or "kumpulan anti kerajaan", or "pelajar berpolitik" or something like that. you'll never know, they can do something ridiculous. they might even say we're funded by george soros. yusuf can be arrested. aargh :p.
we're students, mostly sponsored by them (though it's the people's money). they'll get upset.

The_Observer
14-06-2004, 01:32 PM
I was avoiding trying to say that...
Hmmm....if I were to be more vociferous and the ISA wants to get me, can I cry for political asylum and seek to emigrate...?

SHuLy
15-06-2004, 07:11 AM
here is my little thought of this topic.

it will be a great thing to invite politicians into this forum..however, there are all sorts of information and discussions in here. i don't mean to offend any of you debating and lashing out those creative juices out there...there is substance in your thoughts, but if any of you want our thoughts to be heard by any bodies, we should concise the issue that we want to address and write in formally to them., either to the department (prime minister's department perhaps?! =P) or their websites.

since we are the ones who want to be heard, we should make sure we are heard and not the other way around where people should hear us. yes, democratically, they should hear us, but i am sure all of you know what will happen.....sometimes, we need to take the effort too i guess.so, lest we do something solid, we will never be heard.

i would like to bring up the website that Datuk Azalina has set up for young uns to voice up. perhaps she would realise our existence since she is 'new', energetic and would see that her portal is useful-at this early stage. well, as they say, stike when the iron is hot!

and now....anyone here interested in summarising all that have been debated and sending it in? :wink:

i'm not sure how 'developed' this site is: http://www.menteribeliasukan.net/modules.php?name=Forums

17-06-2004, 05:47 PM
I just went to see the site. I think it has great potential but it lacks participants... Great concept though...

qedx
18-06-2004, 09:27 AM
omg, i just imagined an IRC chat session with politicians haha... lets just say it did not go well.

/me slaps PM with a large trout

edit: oh yeah, whatever happened to the irc server? still running?

MASTER
25-12-2004, 11:20 PM
Perhaps its a good idea to invite GWB to ReCom.

just looks at his wonderful speech

http://www.muchosucko.com/video-thebestgeorgewbushspeechever.html

and here?s the benefit we can get from him

http://www.muchosucko.com/video-bushspoof.html

Accept him and fully give in to this wise man.
enjoy ! hehe