View Full Version : Est
lilynda
28-05-2009, 08:24 PM
EST is not compulsory this year but i'm still scared b'coz many people failed to get A1. Any tips on answering EST questions? thanx:)
pureint91
28-05-2009, 08:28 PM
Paper 2 is just common sense
U should pay more attention on paper 1. Try to score full mark for the 1st section of p1
28-05-2009, 08:28 PM
Here's one tip. Try to gain more "uncommon" knowledge (e.g. The Atanasoff–Berry Computer (ABC) was the world's first electronic digital computer), to me that can really help in gaining extra points in essay writing.
28-05-2009, 08:30 PM
Information transfer- don't do total lifting (means you must copy the whole sentence, make some changes or only take the vital points)
Essay - Main thing is use as many scientific terms come in your mind.
Objective - think carefully as the answers often seem to bring the same answer.
lilynda
28-05-2009, 08:39 PM
Here's one tip. Try to gain more "uncommon" knowledge (e.g. The Atanasoff?Berry Computer (ABC) was the world's first electronic digital computer), to me that can really help in gaining extra points in essay writing.
how i'm suppose to gain extra knowledge?? read newspaper or reference book??cause if i want to get gud results, i should put some scientific words other than perfect grammar.
SYWong
28-05-2009, 08:48 PM
yes, try to avoid copying directly from the text during information transfer, but never change its original meaning, or add in ur own opinion.
as for the essay part, read a lot, do research on hot topics, topics which are familiar to all of us. This can help u to gain as much scientific terms as possible.
never neglect the marks allocated for the MCQ. try to get as much questions correct as u can.
well, est might be difficult to get A1. it depends on luck oso sometimes, but do put in more effort and pray hard so tat u wont regret.
perhaps the "uncommon" knowledge can be the knowledge regarding a familiar topic, sth tat most ppl dunno about the familiar topic.
i don think topic tat doesnt relate to us will come out, coz we have no idea about it, sure SPM doesnt wan to fail all of us.
btw, another tips from my previous EST teacher. Try to focus on the SAME topics come out from the other science papers. this might help u. :)
28-05-2009, 08:53 PM
how i'm suppose to gain extra knowledge?? read newspaper or reference book??cause if i want to get gud results, i should put some scientific words other than perfect grammar.
That's true. But merely using bombastic words and no content is nearly useless as well. An EST essay is supposed to be "tepat dan padat". The extra information is meant to make your essay stand out. Unlike English, all the candidates have to answer the same question and because of this the marker will surely see repetitive answers. So adding not-so-common information will give the marker the "Hey... This is something new..." reaction.
You do learn Bio, Physics, Chemistry and History right? You can apply the knowledge you have gained in those subjects in your EST essay too. Don't just limit yourself to the EST textbook only.
cuppycake
28-05-2009, 09:04 PM
my est teacher said that for est the examiner doesnt pay that much attention on grammar but rather more on the content. grammar is important as it gives you mark as well but it doesnt need to be perfect. what matters is your content.
i suggest you read newspaper and find articles online. for est the scope is really wide. the text book is just a rough guideline of the topics that they're going to ask.
28-05-2009, 09:27 PM
EST would comes in handy when you know the format well.
All of the above points mentioned have been proved to be useful and i may just comment on the lesson deliverer-EST teachers!
A good and experienced teachers might be an added advantage to a student's excellent results.Teachers who teach EST usually are those who teach english, this is however not the right options. English teachers are trained well enough to be able to teach subjects related to world issues, literature, classical arts, history as most of the courses they touch on is more on social sciences.
In a nutshell, if science teachers play their parts together with english teachers , it may make the achievements of EST subjects levelling high! Another option would be Train those EST teachers to be fully competent in English as well as Sciences.
theOne
02-06-2009, 12:46 AM
EST would comes in handy when you know the format well.
All of the above points mentioned have been proved to be useful and i may just comment on the lesson deliverer-EST teachers!
A good and experienced teachers might be an added advantage to a student's excellent results.Teachers who teach EST usually are those who teach english, this is however not the right options. English teachers are trained well enough to be able to teach subjects related to world issues, literature, classical arts, history as most of the courses they touch on is more on social sciences.
In a nutshell, if science teachers play their parts together with english teachers , it may make the achievements of EST subjects levelling high! Another option would be Train those EST teachers to be fully competent in English as well as Sciences.
I'm totally agree with the above statement. I was actually weak in my BI but my EST teacher said that she can get me an A1 if I do as she said. She also said that if you have a strong based in your pure science then do not fear with the essay part as they will give you according to what u studied in your physics, chemis and biology. There maybe sometimes you need to know some extra pointer. So from experience my advise to enybody who is taking est please read a lot from newspapers, science magazine, ur science reference book and alos the internet (wikipedia helps a lot).
What I did back when I was taking est was do a lot of exercise. It wont hurt when you get A1 for est.
For more on est stuffs I can share with u trough my blog http://nurazri.com and please wait till 3rd of jun because I need time to upload it.
Scrmath
02-06-2009, 12:54 AM
For est,there r 2 things u must rmr"
1.No total lifting.It gives u 0 mark..do partial lifting while keeping yr grammar correctly.Capital alphabets for the first alphabet is important too..if the above information given got "full stop",u must put that too..
2.For essay part,u must be strong in subjects like bio and chemistry..mostly bio..then dpend on the question..if it is nutrients,then v easy..my yr in 08 is like this..and one more,no grammar mistake esp if u encounter with a good eglish examiner..
bluebelle
14-06-2009, 03:59 PM
Well, try not to focus too much on what other people say, that it's hard to get A1, and stuffs like that...during exams, just be careful and answer accordingly. For example, information transfer, keep an eye for the ":" sign, and you'll have to use capital letter for the first alphabet in your sentence. If the question's an unfinished sentence, for example, "Aids in (blank)", then you'll have to use small letter as if you're in the middle of a sentence.
I would suggest that you read the weekly pullout section - Fit4Life (The Star)
My est teacher strongly recommended her students to read it consistently because the articles contain scientific terms and a variety of writing styles.
15-06-2009, 03:33 PM
I would suggest that you read the weekly pullout section - Fit4Life (The Star)
My est teacher strongly recommended her students to read it consistently because the articles contain scientific terms and a variety of writing styles.
I thought the articles in this pullout are more suitable for medical students?:ohLOL.
Anyway, it is still recommended for reading as it may enhance your medical knowledge and health conscious.
Besides that, i do think that reading lots of scientific journal like 'the New Scientist', reader digest, and 'just english' may help one's to master the scientific terms as well.
Read and learn to score in EST.=)
CCY_to_the_top
15-06-2009, 03:53 PM
some of them make this stupid mistake..for the essay, write as much additional points as possible..some keep it short and simple, and that's the worst mistake that they made in EST..
rightthru
05-08-2009, 09:08 PM
hahaha
est, the so called "bogey" subject in spm
everyone seems to think est stands for "easy simple test" but it isnt!!!
take it from a post-spm est A2 person like yours truly, you dont wanna underestimate est!!!
under the new 10 subjects system, it is very advisable to scape est, because yes, it is a "bogey" subject and people who excel in spm often find themselves getting A2 in est
milniq
06-08-2009, 01:28 AM
do lots and lots of essays...and remember that est's essay is totally different with those english essay...go straight to the point instead of beating around the bush...do the information transfer part carefully, normally many people will make silly mistake there...while for the objective try to score as much as possible...hope that this will help ya...
love_seeker
07-08-2009, 02:30 AM
est is extra sleeping time for most of us. haha
we are aware of the difficulty of scoring A1 for est, but what can we really do to score better grades?
it all comes down to the essay, and luck too
lilynda
07-08-2009, 02:35 PM
ya, depends on luck...and the blessings from god
07-08-2009, 06:54 PM
ya, depends on luck...and the blessings from god
And your brain too... In EST, knowledge is power...
Don't underestimate EST. It can be easy but hard to score A1. Basically they emphasise more on facts rather than good command in english( although english is important as well, I don't mean they don't see ur english). And as wat the others have pointed out, NO LIFTING PLEASE. LIFTING = COMMIT SUICIDE = 0.
And try 2 score full mark or aim for above 26 for paper 1. The questions are tricky sometimes, choose the most APPROPRIATE answer. Read twice before answering. Basically read on hot topics for essay such as genetics all that la...The questions cannot be very hard , but ELABORATE AS FAR AS POSSIBLE. This is how I got my A1. However, this subject I consider as one of the most stupid subjects in the world la...No use at all... -.-
Are there any students from other state who take EST for trial?
Wanna exchange...
I am from Kedah..
those interested,pls email me:kohwenthong@<hidden>
tq
vBulletin® v3.7.6, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.