View Full Version : JPA: Cempaka International School
g1noah
31-05-2009, 11:53 PM
Hi all. Finally the JPA letters are out, n you guys received your letter from Poslaju delivery man feeling excited (and at the same time a little bit nervous), only to open the letter to find out that you are being sent to a college with a name you haven't heard of, that's Cempaka International School.
And that's why I am here, to sort of clarify any doubts you guys (or gals) have regarding the school (or college if u preferred). For the information, I'm currently doing my A-level at Cempaka ( actually we're in the middle of examinations now. ), bound to UK for Science, so I'm willing to help anyone with any questions regarding Cempaka.
:P:P:P
mehul91
01-06-2009, 01:44 PM
you are so lucky, that is a gud place...guess wat, i got taylors to do canada pre u.......arghhhhhhhhhhhh
pureint91
01-06-2009, 01:49 PM
Gud la, i gt usa, T_T
maestro_zouk
01-06-2009, 10:41 PM
i gt cempaka school...
anyone got/from there??
sonatinalai
01-06-2009, 10:51 PM
Hey! Ya I'm going to CEMPAKA INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL!! Feel so excited about it!!! Going to attend the orientation! Wohoo!
LOL....please cool down if you have similar thoughts. :D
BTW, i'm also one of the 2008 JPA students in Cempaka. You can identify me easily by my surname Lai. Let's see who's here... maestro_zouk... care to tell us more about you? For example country chosen, which state you are from...which subject you chose to study at Uni...Everything!!
Haha! Enjoy your holidays before you come for registration in early July!
maestro_zouk
01-06-2009, 10:54 PM
course:science(how much subject am i going to study there??can we choose??)
n
do we have to wear uniforms???
sonatinalai
01-06-2009, 11:18 PM
course:science(how much subject am i going to study there??can we choose??)
n
do we have to wear uniforms???
4 Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics
All 4 subjects have to be studied in 2 years, to full A-levels (AS and A2)
Basically AS is like the 1st halve of A-levels, and it is easier than A2. But it is no way as easy as your SPM!! Although the content is not very much compared to SPM (Ya, SPM!) in some subjects, but the ways questions are set are not as straightforward!
BTW, if you are mathematically inclined, you may want to try Further Maths. It will not be included in the package that JPA sponsors, so basically you have to self-study and pay the exam fees for Further Maths. But that is off topic here.
UNIFORM!! Since it is a SCHOOL, we have uniforms! We got uniforms for free, don't know about your batch... Generally you have to wear a shirt (with collar, not too informal), and a uniform pants. On wednesday you will wear full uniform which includes white shirt, uniform pants, tie and blazer. You have to wear black leather shoes too! Although some ppl choose to wear black school canvas shoes (including me)...
Hmm...there are a lot of stories to tell, but only if you are really interested. Haha! We have a few Perak friends in our batch, around 4-5 (out of 39)! So you are not alone! When you are coming for registration?
maestro_zouk
01-06-2009, 11:21 PM
owh..
my registration is on july...
so is it similar to form 6???
sure..i'm intrested in listening to ur stories....
sonatinalai
01-06-2009, 11:23 PM
CEMPAKA is a school comprising kindergarten all the way to A-levels. It is a private school, so students here are generally rich! Recently there have been some changes in the canteen, it used to be very bad until I chose to cook and bring to school for lunch. But it has improved now, so it's fine. You will also be doing IELTS apart from the 4 academic subjects. If you think you need to revise your materials before coming (there will be a streaming test soon after ur registration!! Scary~~) , just read your SPM reference books. They won't ask more than that... But be prepared to surprises!
maestro_zouk
01-06-2009, 11:27 PM
owh...how about the rooms???transportation??daily life(weekday&weekend)
n do u get jpa???
sonatinalai
01-06-2009, 11:31 PM
You will be doing A-levels in Cempaka (since you are going to UK!)
Ask ppl around in F6 and A-levels and you will know what is it like to compare F6 and A-levels. Generally, A-levels are considered (ya, considered, becoz i didn't attend F6!) easier than F6 because of the coverage of syllabus and examination structure. Syllabus wise, STPM got many extra things which are not included in A-levels. In A-levels, you are allowed to take the different papers (under one subject, eg. Chemistry, Physics, and Biology each has 5 papers) in 2 sittings, which we refer to AS and A2.
As i explained earlier, AS papers are foundation towards the A2 papers, so you will be doing AS papers at the end of 1 year (we are facing AS exams currently!), and A2 papers at the end of 2 years. You can always resit for papers in the next session if you are not satisfied with the grades you obtained. Every year there are two exam sessions, May/June and Oct/Nov, so you get 2 sets of past year papers every year. We all sit for exams in the May/June. So if you enrol in the A-levels this July, you will sit for AS in May/June 2010, and A2 in May/June 2011. I think that's all you need to know for now...
maestro_zouk
01-06-2009, 11:34 PM
okay...
what about life there??rooms??transportation??
n r u from jpa??
sonatinalai
01-06-2009, 11:39 PM
HAHA now it comes to accommodation! Well, better keeps it as secrets!
Yes i am 2008 JPA Biotechnology scholar. Currently our hostel is out-campus, so we have to take bus (provided by school) to travel to school and back.
Daily life? Weekdays are just normal school days. Classes start 8am to 3:30pm. Remember this is a school, so expect to have a packed schedule..(sometimes teachers find this tiresome too) Non-stop lessons, except for two 30-minutes breaks in between. On weekend you are allowed to go home (but since you are from Perak I don't think so), so those locals staying nearby may opt to take a rest at home. Otherwise you will be staying at hostel, do whatever u like. Co-curricular activities are right after school, from 3:30pm to 5pm. Most are sports, some other like Interact club, Entrepreneur Club, something like that. One feature of Cempaka is the Performing Arts. It does offer a range of performing arts classes to primary and secondary students (not A-levels). Once in a while you get to watch a concert mostly in conjunction with celebrations of festivals. Even in normal assemblies (held on every wed) you get to watch a mini performance. Oh ya the school song is a long one. Make sure you remember the lyrics! Don't worry, it is projected on screen every time it is sung... haha... i think i reveal too much information already... Awaiting you to discover the stories yourself lo!
maestro_zouk
01-06-2009, 11:42 PM
okay...
help me alot there...
lastly..how much will jpa give us???
g1noah
02-06-2009, 12:05 AM
Lol. Thx 4 the info from our beloved class monitor Lai.
Seriously, the info he provided is even more complete than the Cempaka's own website. Mind taking over the Cempaka website, Lai? Lol. :p
okay...
help me alot there...
lastly..how much will jpa give us???
JPA will give us a monthly allowances of RM 430, that'll be quite enough to cope with your expenses. So, no worries on that. (Though we don't really have the chance to spend our money, since the hostel is so darn far away from anything. Lol. ) :wink
Btw, do you know anyone else coming to Cempaka ?
maestro_zouk
02-06-2009, 12:06 AM
hello..
2 seniors..
so his a class monitor...
really the school website doesn't help much
g1noah
02-06-2009, 12:08 AM
hello..
2 seniors..
so his a class monitor...
really the school website doesn't help much
Lol. Hundred percent agree with you. Give me five. Lol.
Btw, can I know the exact date you guys coming for the registration ? Thx.
maestro_zouk
02-06-2009, 12:09 AM
no..
rite now i'm alone...
wat u mean by don't hav chance to spend money????
mine is 6/7/09
still a month to go
g1noah
02-06-2009, 12:14 AM
no..
rite now i'm alone...
wat u mean by don't hav chance to spend money????
mine is 6/7/09
still a month to go
Icic. That's in July. Guess you'll have to brush up all of your subjects before coming here. It's kinda horrible here. Lol. In the sense of there are many smart guys here, like our class monitor. ( He is the best scorer in AS level. )
What I mean by you don't have a chance to spend money is that, our hostel is located on a hill, to get to any shops or bus stops, we'll have to walk down a steep hill. (Imagine walking upwards.) So normally we won't go out too often, the most is like 3 or 4 times a week.
maestro_zouk
02-06-2009, 12:18 AM
ok..
how's the room????
g1noah
02-06-2009, 12:23 AM
ok..
how's the room????
The rooms are great. There are 3 rooms and 2 bathrooms in an unit, equipped with kitchen, refrigerator and washing machine. (If you wanna cook, you'll have to buy your own induction cooker. Because gas stove is not allowed due to safety reason. Btw, you can borrow Lai's microwave if you want to. Lol.)
1 of the room is for 3 people, and the other 2 rooms are for 2 people each, meaning it is actually quite comfortable. The room has a cupboard, a desk, and a ceiling fan plus light of course. There is also great view from the balcony of our hostel.
maestro_zouk
02-06-2009, 12:24 AM
sound fun there...
is it???
g1noah
02-06-2009, 12:30 AM
sound fun there...
is it???
I would say, not really. :P Because like I said, we are in the middle of an examination now. But, life here can be stressful or fun, depends on how you want it. But all of us that is currently studying here definitely wanna find some fun in between all the hard works.
Btw, we have a few regular computer gamers here, and we also play badminton or swimming in the hostel. In the school though, we have a lot more other sports options, with professional couch provided. (Expenses included in JPA sponsorship. ) :)
maestro_zouk
02-06-2009, 12:36 AM
it sounds fun enough for me...
swimming pool in hostel..that's big
+ the uniform...
g1noah
02-06-2009, 12:40 AM
it sounds fun enough for me...
swimming pool in hostel..that's big
+ the uniform...
Lol. True enough. You like the uniform ? It really doesn't really look nice. And plus you'll have to pay for it for this year's intake. It'll cost you quite a lot I think since any single things in Cempaka is very expensive.
maestro_zouk
02-06-2009, 12:43 AM
owh..i thought it will be free??
the show that 'Using an Apple MacBook (or any other notebook on the Mac OS), students are able to access both internet and intranet resources on the move through airport base stations scattered around the campus. Therefore, students will be able to surf the Internet and send and receive email from anywhere in your home, class room, canteen, library — not just from where phone jacks and ethernet ports happen to be!'means???
do we need an 'apple'???
g1noah
02-06-2009, 12:50 AM
owh..i thought it will be free??
the show that 'Using an Apple MacBook (or any other notebook on the Mac OS), students are able to access both internet and intranet resources on the move through airport base stations scattered around the campus. Therefore, students will be able to surf the Internet and send and receive email from anywhere in your home, class room, canteen, library ? not just from where phone jacks and ethernet ports happen to be!'means???
do we need an 'apple'???
The uniform is free for the 2008 intake, and according to what I've been told, it will not be free to 2009 intake.
As for the Mac thing, lol, we do not need to get a Macbook. There are a lot of the school rules that do not apply to us, the A-level student. (aka Yr 12) So no worries. And it is certainly a great thing to have wireless internet access, but the speed of the internet is so slow that you'd rather not using it. At the hostel, we'll have to pay ourselves to setup internet. (Currently, I'm using Streamyx.:) There are some other internet providers.)
maestro_zouk
02-06-2009, 12:51 AM
tq..
help me alot there...
g1noah
02-06-2009, 12:54 AM
it's ok. :) To help any coming juniors is the reason why I started this thread.
You better enjoy your last month before coming here. Haha. And do a little bit of revision first.
Good night to you.
tankw
02-06-2009, 11:45 AM
i get biotech for UK but i will go to Yayasan UEM collage ( a very weird place) to do my A level did anyone get the same place as me??????
sonatinalai
02-06-2009, 12:07 PM
Wow... tankw you must be really lucky to get KYUEM. Are you from Sekinchang? I bet JPA only send very top students to KYUEM (because it is regarded as one of the best colleges specialising in A-levels). No worry...you can browse the internet to look for KYUEM. There's an official website for the college. It is in Lembah Beringin, a quiet, serene environment, good for those who do not want too much distractions...
Icic. That's in July. Guess you'll have to brush up all of your subjects before coming here. It's kinda horrible here. Lol. In the sense of there are many smart guys here, like our class monitor. ( He is the best scorer in AS level. )
What I mean by you don't have a chance to spend money is that, our hostel is located on a hill, to get to any shops or bus stops, we'll have to walk down a steep hill. (Imagine walking upwards.) So normally we won't go out too often, the most is like 3 or 4 times a week.
Hey there are few others who are better (like Ho and Marphy), just that they are little bit careless in exams, but definitely work much more harder than me.
Going out 3/4 times a week?! That's more than enough for me... I think 2 times is ok already, since you won't waste your time and energy to walk all the way down and travel back by TAXI (horrible!! almost 10% of pocket money go to taxi)... Anyway, if you are a thrift person, need not to worry about groceries. There is a mini market right in front of hostel (opposite our hostel block), so if you need to buy breads, ice-creams, biscuits, drinks etc. you need not to travel all the way to the nearest shopping area (Alam Jaya, which is about 20-30 minutes walk away!)
Generally life at hostel is rather free (means not many rules to abide with). We occupy a few units (3 rooms, 7 ppl per unit), and girls will stay in tower 7, boys in tower 8. Girls are not allowed to go to tower 8 after 10pm, which makes it inconvenient for meetings and discussions about activities. FOOD is a problem, since you can't practically walk everyday to Alam Jaya to have dinner, so most (i think ALL) Malays and some Chinese will cook their meals, while others will take catering (something like economical rice, so you would understand why locals will go home during weekends).Just an interesting note, there are currently 1 indian boy and 1 indian girl, and they really hope there are more indians coming! Haha...
sienz7
02-06-2009, 03:37 PM
There is a mini market right in front of hostel (opposite our hostel block), so if you need to buy breads, ice-creams, biscuits, drinks etc. you need not to travel all the way to the nearest shopping area (Alam Jaya, which is about 20-30 minutes walk away!)
n junk foods
sonatinalai
02-06-2009, 03:42 PM
sienz7 must be someone among us too...are you the infamous vivian tee?
maestro_zouk
02-06-2009, 08:25 PM
anyone 09 batch??
there are only senoirs here
g1noah
03-06-2009, 10:37 PM
Lol. Maestro, may be u're the only one coming to Cempaka. Haha.
maestro_zouk
03-06-2009, 10:47 PM
haha...
can we hav any other type of transportaion???
such as car,bikes???
g1noah
03-06-2009, 10:59 PM
haha...
can we hav any other type of transportaion???
such as car,bikes???
Nope. We are not provided with any other type of transportation. We'll have to buy them ourselves if we want to have car or bikes etc. That's why I say it is real hard for us to leave our hostel. Lol.
Haha. What do you do while waiting to come to Cempaka?
maestro_zouk
03-06-2009, 11:08 PM
well it is still a month away...
so cont. working(part time)+doing very minimal revision...haha
nothing much
g1noah
03-06-2009, 11:10 PM
Lol. Just chill yourself out. Enjoy your freedom while you still can. It'll be too late if you stuck up in here. Lol.
maestro_zouk
03-06-2009, 11:14 PM
thanz for ur advice....
wat about the races there???fairly distributed???
g1noah
03-06-2009, 11:19 PM
Ya, I would say the races here are distributed as the general distribution of races in Malaysia. It is quite fairly distributed, so no worries. I mean only the A level of Cempaka is like that. The other schools of Cempaka have very few bumis though, mainly some super rich Chinese, or some foreigners, arriving in the school by chauffeur driven luxury car.
maestro_zouk
03-06-2009, 11:21 PM
ok...
so r u staying with those sponsored by jpa(in the same house??) or 'campur2'
g1noah
03-06-2009, 11:28 PM
Almost all of us who are staying in the hostel here are JPA scholars, except 2 international secondary school students, 1 TM scholar and another one I'm not sure. There are around 60 of us in this hostel, which is a condominium.
maestro_zouk
03-06-2009, 11:32 PM
ok....
the hostel n the school,is it far???
sorry if i'm asking to many questions...
g1noah
03-06-2009, 11:43 PM
It's ok. Lol. I wanted to get to know more 2009 batch students, and of course getting to meet more friends, like you. :) So it's ok to ask me any questions.
The hostel and the school is like around 5-6 km apart if I'm not mistaken. It'll take around 10-15 minutes of bus ride to get to one another. It's actually quite far apart.
joonsYa
04-06-2009, 01:26 AM
heyya..:)
juz curious bout sumthing lol..
wanna know the percentage of boys n gals also chinese, indians n malays currently in cempaka int school..
thanks..:))
g1noah
04-06-2009, 08:41 AM
heyya..:)
juz curious bout sumthing lol..
wanna know the percentage of boys n gals also chinese, indians n malays currently in cempaka int school..
thanks..:))
Lol. Are you coming to Cempaka also? 2009 batch ?
Btw, in A-level, there are slightly more boys than girls. In boys, there are around 68% Malays, 30% Chinese and 2% Indian. In girls, there are around 75% Malays, 23% Chinese and 2% Indian. ( Lol. I just simply write some statistics to show the ratio of races and gender, so by no mean they are accurate numbers. ):)
sonatinalai
04-06-2009, 02:28 PM
Lol. Are you coming to Cempaka also? 2009 batch ?
Btw, in A-level, there are slightly more boys than girls. In boys, there are around 68% Malays, 30% Chinese and 2% Indian. In girls, there are around 75% Malays, 23% Chinese and 2% Indian. ( Lol. I just simply write some statistics to show the ratio of races and gender, so by no mean they are accurate numbers. ):)
Erm.... i think the figures could be adjusted to give a more proper account of 'our batch' (means the class of 2010, since we graduate in 2010).
Bumi:non-bumi = 1:1
Boy:girl= 6:4
Chinese:Indian=8.5:1 LOL
For hostel, u will randomly choose ur room. So basically the allocation of rooms and units are random. :D GOOD LUCK!
oh ya...maestro_zouk, just out of curiosity, are you a chinese/malay?
jellybeanmonster
04-06-2009, 02:36 PM
hi all,
I got cempaka international school too.. I wanna ask, do we have to wear formal wear everyday to school?are there any train station near the school? For jpa scholars, jpa will automatically pay for us right? Any one that got biotechnology here??
Vies90
04-06-2009, 02:50 PM
hi all,
I got cempaka international school too.. I wanna ask, do we have to wear formal wear everyday to school?are there any train station near the school? For jpa scholars, jpa will automatically pay for us right? Any one that got biotechnology here??
hi, welcome to cempaka!
where r u from?
actually we need to wear uniform everyday. and for detail i think u better look bad what have written by noah and sonatilalai.
JPA will automatic pay us, every 6 month and u will receive ur allowance most probably july.
ok....
the hostel n the school,is it far???
sorry if i'm asking to many questions...
hi, which part of perak r u from?
i am from perak too.
r u a chinese?
sonatinalai
04-06-2009, 02:56 PM
hi all,
First, I have to clarify about formal wear. In our school, you get to wear uniform pants/skirt, and a blazer with tie. Blazer and tie will only be required on wednesday, or any other day as informed otherwise. Other days you may choose to wear any descent blouse with collar, and the uniform skirt (for girls). Please prepare a pair of black shoes, preferrably leather.
The nearest train station is Bandar Tasik Selatan, which you can take KTM line or STAR LRT line. It takes about 20 mins to 30 mins to reach the school from train station. JPA pays only the school fees, hostel fees, and other miscellaneous fees included in your course, excluding uniform and other expenses. These 'other expenses' may refer to anything, like the 'merdeka T-shirt', a cempaka product, etc. We are not sure what JPA is paying and what are not. You have to buy your own meals, including breakfasts, lunches and dinners. Every month you have RM 430 allowance for you to settle food and pocket money. The allowance will be banked in to the CIMB account you created in around September. So please bring along some money as appropriate. No big sums required, just for daily use.
Feel free to ask any other question.
[P/S: yay! now we have 1 girl 1 boy]
Vies90
04-06-2009, 02:58 PM
Go sonatilalai!!! ya, better listen to lai.
g1noah
04-06-2009, 03:12 PM
Erm.... i think the figures could be adjusted to give a more proper account of 'our batch' (means the class of 2010, since we graduate in 2010).
Bumi:non-bumi = 1:1
Boy:girl= 6:4
Chinese:Indian=8.5:1 LOL
For hostel, u will randomly choose ur room. So basically the allocation of rooms and units are random. :D GOOD LUCK!
Just to clarify things up, by 2009 batch, I mean JPA 2009 batch. Lol. Thx 4 the maths anyway.
sonatinalai
04-06-2009, 03:13 PM
Lol. What does that suppoes to mean? Did I get the hidden message correctly ?
What do you think the hidden message I conveyed is? I don't think I'm making any of the descriptions 'misleading'?
jellybeanmonster
04-06-2009, 03:13 PM
thanks sonatinalai..the skirt is green in colour right? What do we have to bring to stay in hostel? Hangers? Kettle? Is the school rules tight? Oh ya,
our work are done in papers or books? What type of files are more suitable?
sonatinalai
04-06-2009, 03:14 PM
Looks like this thread is even more popular than our own 'A-levels forum'!! HA HA!
Do something Cing Chai!
Vies90
04-06-2009, 03:20 PM
hey, both of you dun fight here!
there is no any hiden meaning.
Go Noah! ya better listen to noah!
Is there any hidden meaning?
sonatinalai
04-06-2009, 03:25 PM
thanks sonatinalai..the skirt is green in colour right? What do we have to bring to stay in hostel? Hangers? Kettle? Is the school rules tight? Oh ya,
our work are done in papers or books? What type of files are more suitable?
My advice would be you just prepare the NECESSITIES when checking in the hostel. Things like hangers (ya please bring) kettle (optional, but i think useful) and etc. you can just seek advice from parents. What the hostel provides is only a wardrobe (with 5 compartments, and 1 lockable drawer), a bed mattress with bed sheet and pillow (so bring any extra bed equipments if you think you need to), a study table (it is not inside room, but you can move it if you want to) about 1.5m x 0.8m (quite big), and a chair. Bring toiletries, and any books/clothes you think as deem necessary. You would probably like to cook, but you need not to bring induction cooker. There may be seniors staying with you, so you may get to use their induction cooker. Please bring washing powder too. I believe the leaflet included in your letter should tell you what are the things you need to bring. One problem would be the lighting provided. I strongly feel that the lighting is NOT ENOUGH for a conducive study environment. So after you check in the hostel, think of investing in a study lamp/fluorescent lamp. Ya, that's it.
School rules are not very tight, relatively more liberal than a typical school (it is international school anyway), but just make sure you behave decently. So far nothing is beyond our limitation. (although you may think a more liberal college life is better, teachers will always tell you 'this is a school, not a college', so just listen to teachers and behave) We don't have workbooks. All exercises is copied from either textbook or some other sources. Just buy some foolscap (or testpad) paper will do. Files and other stationery: teachers will give advice later on, need not to worry.
Vies90
04-06-2009, 03:58 PM
dun worry, there is a minimark nearby, washing powder, hangers, bread, can foods are available there.
there is a club house right infront of our hostel. where u can swim, sauna, play tennis and chating, maybe. besides that before this there is a table tennis court here, but unfortunately, someone have move it. there is a game room nearby, and there is the common place where u can find us, hanging there and play badminton. there is a playground beside our hostel too. there is a hill nearby, 30 minutes of walking can reach, where u can actually do some jungle trekking.
A-Level Student Council is the organisation that dual with any stuff regarding a-level students. It is run by students themself. And u must join.
It is branches into
performing act ( responsible for perfomances during events)
sport ( sport teams training and planning for competitions)
multimedia ( built our own forum and photography )
community services ( visit to orpanage and etc..)
external project ( responsible for out-going activities )
WAIA ( student welfare) ( responsible to care bout students)
and it is lead by a president, assits by two vice precidents ( sonatilalai is one of them ).
before this we have run quite a few projects ( such as Swimming Gala Sales, jungle trekking and perfomances ) and was quite success and there are lots more project waiting for you!
Any way, this is just a brief bout this organisation. There is lots more.
unicorn sim
04-06-2009, 05:19 PM
:)look like u guys hv many HELPFUL seniors....answering u guys' doubts 1 by 1.......lol....anyway, curious what r mentioned in the leaflets given to u juniors tis yr???.....perhaps u guys r very excited nw .........thousands of SCHOOL rules for u guys too^^thou mentioned nt applied to u guys, bt u r EXPECTED to follow^^ HEY, seniors, dun mention our names 1st la...zzzz
sonatinalai
04-06-2009, 05:44 PM
Hey SIM! Surprise to see you here... Hey juniors, beware of this SIM, he is the wolf with a lamb skin. LOL... Please post something constructive and informative (like me, vies and noah). You can do better!
maestro_zouk
04-06-2009, 05:52 PM
malay here..
at last a 09' batch
jellybeanmonster,can u tell us more about u??
vies90,i'm from ipoh
sonatinalai
04-06-2009, 06:18 PM
Assalamualaikum zouk... Which field of science you are interested in?
unicorn sim
04-06-2009, 06:23 PM
Hey SIM! Surprise to see you here... Hey juniors, beware of this SIM, he is the wolf with a lamb skin. LOL... Please post something constructive and informative (like me, vies and noah). You can do better!
oi, dun smear my reputation... i can sue u for cyber bullying in school o.o lol....tell datin tis...zero tolerance o ^^
p/s: specially for pxrvxrt lai only^^
sonatinalai
04-06-2009, 06:25 PM
oi, dun smear my reputation... i can sue u for cyber bullying in school o.o
Please do not digress from the topic. Write something helpful. Thank you.
maestro_zouk
04-06-2009, 06:26 PM
waalaikkumsalam..
r u malay also??
what are the core subjects in a-levels?
sonatinalai
04-06-2009, 06:27 PM
waalaikkumsalam..
r u malay also??
Nope. Chinese.
But you will meet many Malays seniors in Cempaka. Around 20 of them.
Here in recom, so far only Chinses seniors.
maestro_zouk
04-06-2009, 06:30 PM
Which field of science you are interested in?
i'm into physic@<hidden>
what r u doing???ur course?
sonatinalai
04-06-2009, 06:35 PM
what are the core subjects in a-levels?
There's no 'core subjects' in A-levels, means no 'compulsory subjects' in A-levels. What you mean with core subjects? If you refer to a typical science student, it would be Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology/Physics, though most people will do 3 or 4 subjects. Other less common ones are Computer Science, Further Mathematics and Economics. Although Econs is not under 'pure science', it is a common 'contrasting subject' for a science student. For Art Stream student, I'm not sure. Cempaka only offers Science package.
In Cempaka we take Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology and Physics, all up to A2 level. Optional subjects offered: Further Maths and Economics, only upon request and if the students have the capabilities to do more; AND the candidates have strong reason/strong faith in doing the extra subject.
i'm into physic@<hidden>
what r u doing???ur course?
I'm Biotechnology scholar. FYI, half of the seniors are doing Biotech, while the other half into Pure Science.
adley
04-06-2009, 06:42 PM
Hi,,,,!
I've been reading this thread for two or three days,,
This thread is really helpful..:)) Thanx to sonatinalai, vies and noah!!
Maestro_zouk, I'm also a 09' batch.. see u on 6th July..
I am applying for science, under JPA..and I'm from Kuala Terengganu...
I've been staying in hostel for 5 years,, n this is going to be a new experience for me : a condominium..haha
So do we need to bring pail to wash clothes? water heater? How about the reference books,,or the teachers will tell us n we'll buy them later?
jellybeanmonster
04-06-2009, 06:54 PM
malay here..
at last a 09' batch
jellybeanmonster,can u tell us more about u??
vies90,i'm from ipoh
sure..I'm a girl, from klang.. I got biotech course, uk..any other info needed??just tell me..
Hurray!! I found a biotech senior!! :) need a lot guidance from you when I'm there.. :D anyway, we are not given a list of things to bring actually..they just briefly write what is in hostel,what to wear only..not a lot details..
Vies90
04-06-2009, 07:45 PM
dun worry all my junior
actually there is a common room here, and you will find water heater, Astro there. one thing is there common room is in another floor, so maybe it is inconvenient for you to use the facility in the common room.
pail, water heater and etc, if you feel is necessary for you, you can bring along.
but actually you can get these thing here, walking down the hill ( our hostel is on a hill ) to Alam Jaya, ( 30 minutes walking ) and there are market, clinic, restaraunt and minimarket there. You can get everything there.
But if u prefer shopping mall, u can go to Laisure Mall ( where ATM is available, we usually withdrawn money here), by public bus ( RM 1 only ), or by taxi. But usually we went there by bus, but go back by taxi ( unable to walk up the hii, tiring)
one more thing, bring along white shirts, for formal day, u must wear white shirt+ pants/skirt + blazer
jellybeanmonster, are u chinese?
jellybeanmonster
04-06-2009, 07:58 PM
Yes I am a Chinese, how about you? Taking biotech infuture??
Vies90
04-06-2009, 08:02 PM
i am taking biotech too, welcome to cempaka !
i am a chinese, all senior in recom are chinese guys excep one animal( you knoe who i mean , right? ).
Vegekoh10
04-06-2009, 08:46 PM
this is for ADLEY,
juz out of curiousity...wat course u wanna pursue in university?since 'science' is too wide and general...
and...i'm oso fr cempaka...:)) i'm taking science course too...haha...:)
sonatinalai
04-06-2009, 09:22 PM
Let's sum up the juniors now...
1. Maestro_zouk, Malay boy, Ipoh Perak, Science
2. Jellybeanmonster, Chinese girl, Klang Selangor, Biotechnology
3. Adley, (Malay) boy, Kuala Terengganu, Science
3 only!
FYI, Seniors who are on recom are:
1. sonatinalai, Chinese boy, Semenyih Selangot, Biotechnology
2. Vies90, Chinese boy, Sg. Gedong Perak, Biotechnology
3. unicorn sim, chinese boy, Sibu Sarawak, Science (mathematics)
4. g1noah, chinese boy, Seremban NS, Science (genetics)
5. adventurer54d1, chinese boy, Sg. Tiang Perak, Biotechnology
6. Vegekoh10, chinese boy, Sekinchan Selangor, Science (biochemistry)
7. sienz7, chinese boy, Puchong Selangor, Biotechnology
8. Neow, chinese boy, Sg. Petani, Science (chemistry)
9. aeizatism, malay boy, Petaling Jaya Selangor, Biotechnology
(terms in bracket) = not sure HAHA
Did I leave out anyone?
I wonder where are the 2 sekinchan top SPM scorers? Both of them are doing Biotechnology...
jellybeanmonster
04-06-2009, 09:50 PM
I think there are more but they don't serve recom..any other girls junior here??? So lonely leh!! Anyway, is rm430 enough for a month???
sonatinalai
04-06-2009, 10:37 PM
I think there are more but they don't serve recom..any other girls junior here??? So lonely leh!! Anyway, is rm430 enough for a month???
Don't worry... There are 5 Chinese girls in our batch, and I am pretty sure they are much friendlier than you think! So even if you are the only girl, you won't be alone!
RM 430 is enough given that you spend it thriftily... Means you don't often go out dining, and try to spend moderately at the canteen (Don't exceed RM5 per meal lo, it costs about that and less for a good meal). We don't really have any financial problems, except if you go out too often, and taxi will drain all your money. Don't worry, even if you got financial problem the WAIA (student welfare) will give you a helping hand.
Vegekoh10
04-06-2009, 10:40 PM
Lai, let me ans ur question...both of them got US...so wont come to cempaka...they will do their pre-u program in INTEC...
and im fr sekinchan,not sekinchang...
adley
05-06-2009, 12:08 AM
juz out of curiousity...wat course u wanna pursue in university?since 'science' is too wide and general...
and...i'm oso fr cempaka...:)) i'm taking science course too...haha...:)
I'll major in Geology...How about u, vegekoh10 n the others who r doing science?
sonatinalai
05-06-2009, 12:22 AM
Lai, let me ans ur question...both of them got US...so wont come to cempaka...they will do their pre-u program in INTEC...
and im fr sekinchan,not sekinchang...
I see....US huh? I got frens in INTEC studying Biotech too.
Anyway, sorry for the misspelling in 'sekinchan'. I've never taken notice of that haha...
adley
05-06-2009, 03:54 AM
You guys are so nice...:))
Thanx again:amuse
So, 8.00 am - 3.30 pm >> going to school, n what about the rest of the day? Sitting at hostel doing assignment n revision plus whatever we like??
And the co-curricular activities, is it compulsory for
the A-level student? I mean, they won't be selected
to the top university if they just pass the examination
with flying colours but with no co-curricular activities, will they?
For instance, SPM leaver MUST have a good result
with some co-curricular activities so that they will be
selected for the scholarship...
Vegekoh10
05-06-2009, 08:13 AM
I'll major in Geology...How about u, vegekoh10 n the others who r doing science?
i'll be doing biochemistry...here got one senior tat will be doing geology too...u r so lucky tat most probably he can help u...:laugh
sonatinalai
05-06-2009, 09:15 AM
So, 8.00 am - 3.30 pm >> going to school, n what about the rest of the day? Sitting at hostel doing assignment n revision plus whatever we like??
After school hours, you will have your free time to do anything you like. We assume you are matured enough to organise yourself in your free time, including doing revision, taking care of yourself etc. I suppose you don't need your parents to remind you to take your bath/meals right? haha...
Soon you will get to sign up to different sports CCA (co-curricular activities). You are encouraged to do so, but not compulsory. Yes, good results and a decent CCA record will be helpful, and in fact you must score well in order to maintain your scholarship status. To apply to top universities, having a varied CCA and achievements will definitely help you to stand out among the crowd, therefore increasing your chance of success (look, by no means there are guaranteed). So, please think about it, and don't just focus on study until you neglect all other aspects of a 'quality student'. Don't worry, the student council will still be a good place for you to exhibit your leadership quality if you don't find any other societies suitable. Need not to worry that much now, just revise as necessary for the coming selection test.
Cheers,
sonatinalai
sonatinalai, you have left me.
For all juniors, you will have to perform a performance to Datin on her birthday. This is the first performance you have to perform.
After you come to cempaka, you will not have 'stage phobia' anymore.:P
sonatinalai
05-06-2009, 09:47 AM
sonatinalai, you have left me.
For all juniors, you will have to perform a performance to Datin on her birthday. This is the first performance you have to perform.
After you come to cempaka, you will not have 'stage phobia' anymore.:P
sorry ya...i have added you into the list.
^^ I don't think we need to let them know too much details. They don't even know who is Datin anyway. Relax!
Vies90
05-06-2009, 09:52 AM
after school, u can do anything u like. u can sleep, or if u like sport, u can play badminton, PC game or swim in hostel. If u r hardworking enough, u can study!
For the co-curricular activities, it is included in our school fee and JPA had to pay for it. It is not compulsory and if u r not free u can skip. But since JPA had pay and there are professional coach teaching you, it is a waste if u din join.
from what i heard, co-curricular activities is important in the reference letter ( letter written by ur tutor and basically is all about your personality, characters, involvements in other activities beside study and it is very important. The university will base on this letter, and ur own personal statement and the result to choose student for their U ) :nuts
hmmmmm
05-06-2009, 10:25 AM
T.T i'll hav to do my A lvl at INTEC. sigh. was hoping for cempaka or taylors or sunway.
fine then.
so is INTEC good or bad? meh. juz wanna know. thnx.
oh yea i'm doin architecture. in UK :D
anglerfish_9
05-06-2009, 10:46 AM
after school, u can do anything u like. u can sleep, or if u like sport, u can play badminton, PC game or swim in hostel. If u r hardworking enough, u can study!
For the co-curricular activities, it is included in our school fee and JPA had to pay for it. It is not compulsory and if u r not free u can skip. But since JPA had pay and there are professional coach teaching you, it is a waste if u din join.
from what i heard, co-curricular activities is important in the reference letter ( letter written by ur tutor and basically is all about your personality, characters, involvements in other activities beside study and it is very important. The university will base on this letter, and ur own personal statement and the result to choose student for their U ) :nuts
From my very own experience of writing the personal statement, the sport activities are not so important since there are SO MUCH performances in Cempaka that u can crap those in ur personal statement. Just make sure you get a good result and ten u can go to whichever uni u 1 2... btw, the personal statement is more about yourself n it potrays how much interest you have in ur course.
Just some Q, exactly how many juniors will be coming? 10, 15... If like that so sad case la... there wll be 40 seniors to bully the small numbers of juniors... haih...
adley
05-06-2009, 05:33 PM
Still having questions..hehe
1. How about the reference books,,or the teachers
will tell us n we'll buy them later?
2. Is laptop a necessary for us in cmpaka int sch0ol..?
Would JPA provide us the money to buy a new one..?
I dont wanna use my own money to buy a new laptop....haha
aeizatism
05-06-2009, 05:52 PM
waa...
u all memang qualified to get award for
"senior CONTOH"...i'll consider to have that category for next year senior party!!HAHA...:P
Wow..i'm so happy n proud that somebody remember our a-level structure perfectly!!
congratz!!
to all juniors welcome to Cempaka...make sure after u all will be the active member at our OFFICIAL forum site.
see you on Orientation day!!
eh sonatinalai...we should start to think hw to bully them on that day?
:whoo
adley...
buku teks sume free..jgn risau!rasenye..
in the same week jugak all the text books will be distibuted!
LAptop...hi..xkan la JPA jugak nak sponsor...
tu duit Sendri la...
but no worry...it is not nessarily..more to personal use!
anglerfish_9
05-06-2009, 06:36 PM
Just heard the news that u all the juniors and the future juniors will not be staying in Venice Hill anymore. If you all already know this, then never mindla... but if u dunno about this, dun say that I say 1 le... I dun 1 2 get killed by Mrs Wong =p
Still having questions..hehe
1. How about the reference books,,or the teachers
will tell us n we'll buy them later?
2. Is laptop a necessary for us in cmpaka int sch0ol..?
Would JPA provide us the money to buy a new one..?
I dont wanna use my own money to buy a new laptop....haha
you shud be thankful dat JPA give u books for free... for my batch, every month only get rm350 n books all hv 2 buy ourselves... haih... laptop? ermmm depends on how important laptop is in ur life. For me I will DIE without my laptop but i know sum1 who can stil survive without any laptop... it all your own preference.... unless you are so unlucy dat the school decided to ask A-Level to join the VLE, then you have to get yourself a MACBOOK because Cempakan only use Macbook. So better pray for the best la...
The teachers, they are all very nice, hardworking and DEDICATED =p they are the most hardworking and dedicated teachers that I knew in my entire life...for ur batch of students, i guess that u all will be getting the same teachers as my batch, so the teachers are really good.
The rooms are great. There are 3 rooms and 2 bathrooms in an unit, equipped with kitchen, refrigerator and washing machine. (If you wanna cook, you'll have to buy your own induction cooker. Because gas stove is not allowed due to safety reason. Btw, you can borrow Lai's microwave if you want to. Lol.)
1 of the room is for 3 people, and the other 2 rooms are for 2 people each, meaning it is actually quite comfortable. The room has a cupboard, a desk, and a ceiling fan plus light of course. There is also great view from the balcony of our hostel.
So sad to inform you all that all of you will not be staying there anymore... time to pindah rumah again... good luck ^-^
aeizatism
05-06-2009, 07:10 PM
hy senior anglerfish...Komala tu exceptional!!innocent giler...
eh...from whom u heard this berita yang panas dan terhangat ni....?reall ha?
anglerfish_9
05-06-2009, 08:06 PM
hy senior anglerfish...Komala tu exceptional!!innocent giler...
eh...from whom u heard this berita yang panas dan terhangat ni....?reall ha?
Komala: I am not the only one without a laptop! For your KIND information I have a LAPTOP at home and I am not INNOCENT!!!!!!!!!! Dun cemarkan my nama baik at here...
anglerfish_9: the post above is written by Komala not me...
sonatinalai
05-06-2009, 08:50 PM
3 only!
Did I leave out anyone?
I wonder where are the 2 sekinchan top SPM scorers?Both of them are doing Biotechnology...
This is the updated list... FYI, anglerfish9 and komala are both grand senior.. LOL
Orientation...bully juniors? Good idea!
aeizatism
05-06-2009, 09:00 PM
heyy...sape la budak ni yang cemarkan name baik Komala...
purposely betull...
Pity her..!
aeizatism :Sorry!!btw, KOmala is our best student. very nice girl, hardworking, SOPAN SANTUN lagi BAIK HATI. Jangan tak tahu, She is the head of A-level Editorial Board tau. So sad u all junior do not have the chance to meet her.Rugi betol!!
sonatinalai...got one berita tergempar...
We have to move to Permata Height this end of month.
what do u think?
sonatinalai
05-06-2009, 09:20 PM
LOL....Anyway, I doubt the Permate Heights is for us or the juniors. Still need to walk long way to Alam jaya though, but it is nearer to school. So better in that sense... :D
anglerfish_9
05-06-2009, 09:32 PM
This is the updated list... FYI, anglerfish9 and komala are both grand senior.. LOL
Orientation...bully juniors? Good idea!
oh NOOOOO we are not that old to be grand seniorla... dun say until we are this old... we are just more experience than you all... wakakaka... 2 years of my life in Cempaka ^-^ Dun so badla bully juniors... like we all where got bully u all during your orientation (others than making you run)... so goodle we all
heyy...sape la budak ni yang cemarkan name baik Komala...
purposely betull...
Pity her..!
aeizatism :Sorry!!btw, KOmala is our best student. very nice girl, hardworking, SOPAN SANTUN lagi BAIK HATI. Jangan tak tahu, She is the head of A-level Editorial Board tau. So sad u all junior do not have the chance to meet her.Rugi betol!!
sonatinalai...got one berita tergempar...
We have to move to Permata Height this end of month.
what do u think?
i heard that only the new batch of juniors will be moving to Pernata Heights, u all will still stay in Venice Hill. That's what i heard from reliable source...
3 only!
Did I leave out anyone?
I wonder where are the 2 sekinchang top SPM scorers? Both of them are doing Biotechnology... They 'should be' getting UK lol!
1. sonatinalai - lai
2. Vies90 - ???
3. unicorn sim - sim card
4. g1noah- yee
5. adventurer54d1 - fu
6. Vegekoh10 - chai
7. sienz7-???
8. Neow - Neow
9. aeizatism - iz
Am i rite? just curious
aeizatism
05-06-2009, 09:47 PM
penthouse?...wowo...not a nice thing to hear..
dun wan...!nearer to school..so xtra class can extend to 7 is it?
aeizatism said: i'm not iz
anglerfish_9
05-06-2009, 09:51 PM
penthouse?...wowo...not a nice thing to hear..
dun wan...!nearer to school..so xtra class can extend to 7 is it?
aeizatism said: i'm not iz
teacher said that its 4 the juniors only not for you all... so don't worry. Btw, Komala say u very sinisla...she is totally speechless. And yes, I am positive that u r IZ
aeizatism
05-06-2009, 10:33 PM
teacher said that its 4 the juniors only not for you all... so don't worry. Btw, Komala say u very sinisla...she is totally speechless. And yes, I am positive that u r IZ
eh...that come from hati yang tulus Ikhlas...
herm, senior n junior live separately..not good la...haiya..i just plan to find one GF...terlepas la macam ni!!
unicorn sim
05-06-2009, 10:34 PM
Hmm... reli???im curious whether r we moving.....btw.. i hope a better place on the ground la...more convenient to buy things n get meals....
Btw....plz dun mention any name inside here la...for evey1's privacy, k??
anglerfish_9
06-06-2009, 12:09 AM
Hmm... reli???im curious whether r we moving.....btw.. i hope a better place on the ground la...more convenient to buy things n get meals....
Btw....plz dun mention any name inside here la...for evey1's privacy, k??
That's y i dun write ur name in ma... i dun even write down the full namela...
eh...that come from hati yang tulus Ikhlas...
herm, senior n junior live separately..not good la...haiya..i just plan to find one GF...terlepas la macam ni!!
GF still can meet in school ma...
jellybeanmonster
06-06-2009, 10:25 AM
wow..seems like i have a lot of seniors to ask questions!
my questions...
1. can we wear normal sports jacket to class?
2. are classes with air conditioner?
3. is the hostel FAR FAR away from school or city?
4. Any seniors from Klang or Subang area?
5. Is life in Cempaka very hectic?
6. More exposure on cocuricular sports please.. =) (for example which is more active, more interesting)
Thanks!
This is all i can think of for now.. =)
sonatinalai
06-06-2009, 02:54 PM
wow..seems like i have a lot of seniors to ask questions!
my questions...
1. can we wear normal sports jacket to class?
2. are classes with air conditioner?
3. is the hostel FAR FAR away from school or city?
4. Any seniors from Klang or Subang area?
5. Is life in Cempaka very hectic?
6. More exposure on cocuricular sports please.. =) (for example which is more active, more interesting)
Thanks!
This is all i can think of for now.. =)
Looks like you are a sporty person! Haha... want to be our head of Sports/Games in student council?
1. Sports jacket is not considered 'formal'. Bear in mind that THIS IS NOT A COLLEGE BUT A SCHOOL. I think you better consult teachers before doing so. As far as I know no one has been wearing that to normal classes, except when there are sports events.
2. Yes, all classes including all LABs are fully equipped with air-conditioners. You may wish to bring a sweater/pullover if you think you can't stand the cold.
3. Hostel...hmm not sure. Because there was some rumours that juniors will be staying in another apartment, not the one we are staying now. The new apartment will be much closer to school (i think you will have to walk to school if that is the case), but going to city (here i mean somewhere you can find a shopping mall with lots of shops, nearest = Cheras Leisure Mall) you will have to take bus, and there is bus stop just outside the apartment. So, it would be much convenient to travel to school and shopping than our current hostel.
4. There is no students in our batch from Klang (as far as I know). There is one from Kepong, one from Petaling Jaya though.
5. No I wouldn't say life at Cempaka is hectic. It all depends on how you would manage your time. First year of A-levels is honeymoon, according to our grand senior, partly because the school works are still manageable, and teachers will not pressure the students too hard. But it became busier towards the AS exams, which is in May/June. So, be prepared to hear phrases like 'You all must get Brilliance Award. Each and every one of you!' (Brilliance Award is the award to top scorers in each A level subject, usually 100% for Maths, unknown for others) Last year we had 2 Brilliance Award winners in Maths(2 grand seniors), quite unexpectedly, so one of the teachers is very eager in pushing us to get Brilliance award in Chemistry... LOL
6. Example of sports would be : Table Tennis, Badminton, Swimming, Volley Ball, Soccer, Basketball, etc. There are some uncommon sports, like Fencing, Equestrianism, Wall-climbing... but NOT offered here, or not offered to the A-levels. You will have a better overview when you arrive. Need not to worry.
There isn't any 'more active'/'more interesting' sports, because every sports will be having 1 training session per week, and it depends on individual whether they prefer this sports than the others. I hope I have answered your questions.
Juniors please do not worry too much about how and what will happen on the day of registration or the days after. It will come to you naturally, so what you can do is take your time to do whatever you wish. You would miss those days after you come to Cempaka, because you will embark on a different stage of life.
Cheers,
sonatinalai
aeizatism
06-06-2009, 03:32 PM
Looks like you are a sporty person! Haha... want to be our head of Sports/Games in student council?
1. Sports jacket is not considered 'formal'. Bear in mind that THIS IS NOT A COLLEGE BUT A SCHOOL.
Junior please do not worry too much about how and what will happen on the day of registration or the days after. It will come to you naturally, so what you can do is take your time to do whatever you wish. You would miss those days after you come to Cempaka, because you will embark on a different stage of life.
Cheers,
sonatinalai
yea, I'm agree with u sonatinalai. Junior dun worry too much.Everything will be fine.
All the comment/statement those senior given to u guy may not likely represent all the views of other students. It is really based on how you take it.
For sport jacket, I think it is not a problem for u to wear it during unformal day with Cempaka A-level's skirt yang dibangga-banggakan itu. Maybe as a sweater i guess. Because i think female students ni bias sikit in term of uniform since our grandsenior can wear casual T-shirt,etc to match wth the skirt. If compared wth boys,everydy colar shirt is a must!No other choice!Oh maybe u can go to facebook and have a look on how some of us dress to school.I'm sure somebody uploaded their pictures in Cempaka.
:)Yea, i'm from PJ.My house is opposite to Sunway Pyramid n of course v near to Subang Jaya. :offtopicSo Boleh la kita date...haha.(just joking)
g1noah
06-06-2009, 07:47 PM
Lol. It seems that all of us, seniors-soon-to-be, are following this thread closely. We are certainly excited that there will be juniors coming to join our big family. :)
(At last we don't have to do all the performances by ourselves.)
sienz7
06-06-2009, 08:01 PM
pass by...
unicorn sim
06-06-2009, 08:51 PM
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.......senior > excited than coming juniors
sonatinalai
06-06-2009, 09:25 PM
Just one suggestion...can change the title of this thread? lol... because it should be cempaka international SCHOOL rather than cempaka international COLLEGE.
aeizatism
06-06-2009, 09:47 PM
Just one suggestion...can change the title of this thread? lol... because it should be cempaka international SCHOOL rather than cempaka international COLLEGE.
Agree.i didnt notice it b4. where got cempaka internatonal college.nvr exist!
jellybeanmonster
06-06-2009, 10:39 PM
1. Sports jacket is not considered 'formal'. Bear in mind that THIS IS NOT A COLLEGE BUT A SCHOOL. I think you better consult teachers before doing so. As far as I know no one has been wearing that to normal classes, except when there are sports events.
2. Yes, all classes including all LABs are fully equipped with air-conditioners. You may wish to bring a sweater/pullover if you think you can't stand the cold.
3. Hostel...hmm not sure. Because there was some rumours that juniors will be staying in another apartment, not the one we are staying now. The new apartment will be much closer to school (i think you will have to walk to school if that is the case), but going to city (here i mean somewhere you can find a shopping mall with lots of shops, nearest = Cheras Leisure Mall) you will have to take bus, and there is bus stop just outside the apartment. So, it would be much convenient to travel to school and shopping than our current hostel.
4. There is no students in our batch from Klang (as far as I know). There is one from Kepong, one from Petaling Jaya though.
5. No I wouldn't say life at Cempaka is hectic. It all depends on how you would manage your time. First year of A-levels is honeymoon, according to our grand senior, partly because the school works are still manageable, and teachers will not pressure the students too hard. But it became busier towards the AS exams, which is in May/June. So, be prepared to hear phrases like 'You all must get Brilliance Award. Each and every one of you!' (Brilliance Award is the award to top scorers in each A level subject, usually 100% for Maths, unknown for others) Last year we had 2 Brilliance Award winners in Maths(2 grand seniors), quite unexpectedly, so one of the teachers is very eager in pushing us to get Brilliance award in Chemistry... LOL
6. Example of sports would be : Table Tennis, Badminton, Swimming, Volley Ball, Soccer, Basketball, etc. There are some uncommon sports, like Fencing, Equestrianism, Wall-climbing... but NOT offered here, or not offered to the A-levels. You will have a better overview when you arrive. Need not to worry.
There isn't any 'more active'/'more interesting' sports, because every sports will be having 1 training session per week, and it depends on individual whether they prefer this sports than the others. I hope I have answered your questions.
Juniors please do not worry too much about how and what will happen on the day of registration or the days after. It will come to you naturally, so what you can do is take your time to do whatever you wish. You would miss those days after you come to Cempaka, because you will embark on a different stage of life.
Cheers,
sonatinalai
haha.. i ain't a sporty person,. the sports jacket i mean is our sweater.. i was asking either we only can wear formal school blazer or those black coats..
Now seniors are staying in which apartment? Venice Hill or Permata Heights? Permata Heights in SO near to the school!
sienz7
06-06-2009, 10:44 PM
Now seniors are staying in which apartment? Venice Hill or Permata Heights? Permata Heights in SO near to the school!
venice hill , pass by again...
adley
07-06-2009, 12:56 AM
Another question...hehe
Generally life at hostel is rather free (means not many rules to abide with). We occupy a few units (3 rooms, 7 ppl per unit), and girls will stay in tower 7, boys in tower 8. Girls are not allowed to go to tower 8 after 10pm, which makes it inconvenient for meetings and discussions about activities
1. Who drawn up all the rules in the hostel??
Cempaka's administrator or JPA?
jellybeanmonster
07-06-2009, 12:04 PM
do seniors drive to school? :) just curious.. Hehe.. I am nervous to go school lah!! :D
g1noah
07-06-2009, 12:10 PM
Agree.i didnt notice it b4. where got cempaka internatonal college.nvr exist!
Lol. Though I agree with you guys, but I wrote COLLEGE at the first place is because if my memory doesn't fail me, it is what it is written in the JPA offer letter. And what's more, I don't wanna offend any authority. I wanna keep my ass clean. Lol. :P
Btw, even I feel like changing it, I can't do so. Only a moderator can do that. :)
Sry guys. Hehe.
do seniors drive to school? :) just curious.. Hehe.. I am nervous to go school lah!! :D
Our seniors do drive to school, but not us. Hehe. :) Since we are not that rich. Only one of us own a motorcycle btw. Haha. You don't have to feel nervous. All of us will be there to help u guys n gals. :P
Another question...hehe
1. Who drawn up all the rules in the hostel??
Cempaka's administrator or JPA?
The rules in hostel are drawn up by the Cempaka school and the company that manages our hostel. They are from different companies. JPA doesn't intervene in any of our school issues, unless we encounter any problems and report to them. Hope that answer your question. :)
sonatinalai
07-06-2009, 01:43 PM
For the seniors: 3 more AS papers to go! Yee Ha! Get Brilliance Award for Chemistry! (Shout out from Mrs Wong)
jellybeanmonster
07-06-2009, 06:54 PM
Lol. Though I agree with you guys, but I wrote COLLEGE at the first place is because if my memory doesn't fail me, it is what it is written in the JPA offer letter. And what's more, I don't wanna offend any authority. I wanna keep my ass clean. Lol. :P
Btw, even I feel like changing it, I can't do so. Only a moderator can do that. :)
Sry guys. Hehe.
Our seniors do drive to school, but not us. Hehe. :) Since we are not that rich. Only one of us own a motorcycle btw. Haha. You don't have to feel nervous. All of us will be there to help u guys n gals. :P
The rules in hostel are drawn up by the Cempaka school and the company that manages our hostel. They are from different companies. JPA doesn't intervene in any of our school issues, unless we encounter any problems and report to them. Hope that answer your question. :)
Sonatinalai! thanks a lot for the info, do the hostel have air cond? my things to bring list kept getting more and more! =)
sonatinalai
07-06-2009, 07:09 PM
There is a tendency for you all to bring lots of things which may not be that necessary as you thought. We have been through that last year, and I myself really brought lots of things which are not really necessary... Haha! Jellybeanmonster, since you are from Klang, which is not too far from the school, so I would suggest you to bring a few clothes, books, and personal items FIRST, before deciding to bring any other things in the following weekend when you go back home. Alternatively, you can have your parents around for the first day, and go shopping for anything urgent after school. But I think that is not an issue since the hostel owner will take care of you. If you have any doubts, do contact with the school or the hostel owner for further details. You never know what you need unless you have stayed in the hostel for a couple of days. Since you all are staying in a different hostel than us, I wouldn't know whether there is air-conditioning. But here in Venice Hill we do not have that luxury. (there are actually air-conds left by the previous owner, but the wire has been cut off haha) Again, just be care-free and stay well for the time being.
Cheers,
Sonatinalai
P/S: Gosh! I've been addicted to this thread already...
sienz7
07-06-2009, 08:50 PM
lalalalalala
jellybeanmonster
08-06-2009, 08:48 AM
aye aye... Understood!! LOL.. Do anyone here have pictures of the daily uniform?? Let's create a blog for cempaka...
sienz7
08-06-2009, 12:03 PM
aye aye... Understood!! LOL.. Do anyone here have pictures of the daily uniform?? Let's create a blog for cempaka...
btw do u like to eat bak kut teh?
jellybeanmonster
08-06-2009, 12:36 PM
our uniform is like the watermelon, btw do u like to eat bak kut teh?
hahaha.. watermelon!!! LOL.. i will be watermelon too..soon.....
bak kut teh? haha.. ok ok lah.. next time bring you all come down klang for bkt lah...
sienz7
08-06-2009, 10:46 PM
lol hahaha
sienz ar fdg;gl;flg;ergl;elrgkbmdskvosk
very boring a!
sienz...............
maestro_zouk
09-06-2009, 10:47 PM
why is it so quiet in here???
question for the juniors..
did anyone call dr barry????
aeizatism
10-06-2009, 01:00 PM
bcoz..
we dont dare to comment anymore!
:nod
lexsoon
10-06-2009, 05:11 PM
hi i also got jpa biotech... going 2 intec tis 28th of june for ADFP.... i need any infos from senior especially about d books, histel, all d yuran..... we only hv 2 pay 210 through bank islam? need 2 pay anything else? senior i NEED ur HELP!!
sienz7
10-06-2009, 06:53 PM
bcoz..
we dont dare to comment anymore!
:nod
lol:):):):):):):):)
sonatinalai
10-06-2009, 07:59 PM
hi i also got jpa biotech... going 2 intec tis 28th of june for ADFP.... i need any infos from senior especially about d books, histel, all d yuran..... we only hv 2 pay 210 through bank islam? need 2 pay anything else? senior i NEED ur HELP!!
lexsoon, I think you are at the wrong place. All of us here are UK-bound scholars, so we are not very sure about the details in Intec. There's a thread for US-bound scholars under the JPA section also. Try to post there and READ through some posts before you seek other advices.
Cheers,
sonatinalai
P/S: I apologise for writing some unthoughtful comments on my previous posts. I've removed those parts, and as a reminder to other users, please do not post negative personal opinions here. You have been warned.
jellybeanmonster
11-06-2009, 12:16 PM
I did contact dr barry to confirm the scholarship as told in the letter..he sounds friendly!6th July is coming...
adley
12-06-2009, 12:41 AM
I did contact dr barry to confirm the scholarship as told in the letter..he sounds friendly!6th July is coming...
What did u tell him? ur name?
jellybeanmonster
14-06-2009, 07:19 PM
What did u tell him? ur name?
I told him who I was.......any prob???
syirazi
15-06-2009, 07:34 PM
hi,i got jpa scholarship,science,uk..
anybody actually girl got same with me??:cry:nuts
i got uk,science..anybody same with me especially girl?
jellybeanmonster
15-06-2009, 09:02 PM
hi,i got jpa scholarship,science,uk..
anybody actually girl got same with me??:cry:nuts
i got uk,science..anybody same with me especially girl?
hey syirazi, are you coming to cempaka on 6th also? well i am taking biotech, but.. it's ok.. i think at A levels it's still the same... no worries...
syirazi
16-06-2009, 04:47 PM
yeah,i'm coming this 6th july...
sonatinalai
16-06-2009, 05:13 PM
Hola!
Long time no see... Seems that this forum is quite dead...
But anyway, hope to see the juniors really soon. Welcome Syirazi!
Well mind to tell us more about you? Eg. Where you are from? What discipline of science you want to do in uni?
syirazi
17-06-2009, 03:18 PM
i'm from penang..quite far!!!!hu2..can i choose mathematic??or may be physics or chemistry..but i don't think i want to take bio..
oh,i forgot..i'm a malay..can u tell me about uniform for a muslim?
jellybeanmonster
17-06-2009, 04:39 PM
yeah,i'm coming this 6th july...
hi hi.. meeting you soon.. =) prepare everything d?
sonatinalai,the forum so dead, seniors very busy? No female seniors here eh?
formal blouse and black pants and canvas shoe for girls ok ar? and if wear with school uniform skirt, can wear any blouse right?
sienz7
17-06-2009, 05:21 PM
sonatinalai is a girl seriously:cry
jellybeanmonster
17-06-2009, 07:32 PM
sonatinalai is a girl? but the icon is a boy???huh?
adley
17-06-2009, 08:36 PM
WTH??!haha:roflmao..seriously?
Btw, where do you guys keep your laptop during the school time? In the hostel? Is it safe?
And, I've been thinking of buying a new tennis racket,,but it seems that lots of items need to be brought.. Is there any tennis racket provided for the sports session..?
jellybeanmonster
17-06-2009, 08:42 PM
adley,so fast prepare for sports? :) teach me tennis yeh... Anyway, do we need to bring kettle to boil water or it is provided in the apartment? Are we gonna be in permata heights? And..adley, you are from which state?
maestro_zouk
17-06-2009, 11:21 PM
very quite huh??
seniors..
examinations over???
adley
18-06-2009, 01:24 AM
Anyway, do we need to bring kettle to boil water or it is provided in the apartment? Are we gonna be in permata heights?
They(seniors) told us that we'll be staying in permata heights which is so close to the school as in the map(the cempaka's brochure). Seniors are staying in venice hill, and they dont know about the permata.. But in venice, there is a common room where they can use the kettle or iron provided..
adley,so fast prepare for sports? :) teach me tennis yeh... And..adley, you are from which state?
haha...we learned tennis during PJK session for a year in my previous college..I'd love to improve...I can play tennis, but not 4 the tournament and not even teaching others..haha Btw i'm from kuala trgganu..
syirazi
18-06-2009, 01:32 PM
sonitalai is a girl???????
anglerfish_9
18-06-2009, 04:35 PM
WTH??!haha:roflmao..seriously?
Btw, where do you guys keep your laptop during the school time? In the hostel? Is it safe?
And, I've been thinking of buying a new tennis racket,,but it seems that lots of items need to be brought.. Is there any tennis racket provided for the sports session..?
Tennis racket is not provided, so you may want to bring it yourself or even buy it in KL. Laptop? If you don't mind paying rm100(deposit) and lock for rm40 for a locker, that's where you can keep your laptop and maybe your books and notes. Me, personally rarely bring my laptop to school as there's not enough time for laptop; the timetable is very pack here. So I keep my laptop in the hostel and go online in my room. To make sure that it is safe, me and my roommate change the lock, or should I say door knob (haha, a lil extreme) of our room and lock the door when we go out. Only both of us have the keys, so it is definitely safe. I am not sure about Permata though.
adley,so fast prepare for sports? :) teach me tennis yeh... Anyway, do we need to bring kettle to boil water or it is provided in the apartment? Are we gonna be in permata heights? And..adley, you are from which state?
In venice hill, there's fridge, drinking water machine and washing machine (in each level). I am kind of lucky because I get the better unit (My unit even has a dining table and tv initially) I don't really know about Permata Height but I assume that all of those will be provided maybe in the common room just like in my very previous hostel before the grandseniors moved to Venice Hill. One word of advice- it ca get really warm around march to june/ july, so if you are not living in Venice Hill and if there's no air- cond in your room, get a stand fan!!! When I am in my old hostel, my stand fan is the one that saved my life. Please bear in mind that the hot and warm season is during your A-Level exam, so of course you don't want to study in an uncomfortable environment ^-^
jellybeanmonster
18-06-2009, 05:12 PM
hey adley, yeah, permata heights is just downhill of Cempaka, i went there to see the location.. tennis, my school don't have that sport, my friends all go for private trainer.
About locker, i think we will pay on registration day, as stated in the letter.. =)
syirazi and adley, did every preparation d?
syirazi
18-06-2009, 06:27 PM
not yet..what must i bring there??huhu..i have a friend taking biotech,maybe same with you,jellybeanmonster..
jellybeanmonster
18-06-2009, 07:24 PM
not yet..what must i bring there??huhu..i have a friend taking biotech,maybe same with you,jellybeanmonster..
really? In Cempaka? tell her come forum la.. leh kawan ckit sebelum pergi.. well.. i think i'll share my things to bring list, so can check what each other left out lah..
Things to Bring.
- Electric Kettle
- Pail + Hangers
- Soap for Clothes, Dishes
- Toiletries
- Plastic Bags
- Toilet + Packet tissue paper
- Medicines
- Utensils (Fork, spoon, mug, bowl, plate)
- Torch Light + Batteries
- Hairdryer =)
- 3-point pin
- Phone Charger
- ALARM CLOCK
- Hostel wear clothes
- Towel
- Formal Blouse/Shirt
- Formal Pants
- Sandals
- Sport Shoe
- Black School Shoe (Canvas/Leather)
- Stationaries
- File + Foolscap papers
- Registration Documents
anything i missed out just tell me, if you feel the things listed some are not essential to you, cancel it from your list, it seems everything is TOO essential to me, i dunno which to cut off..
adley
18-06-2009, 07:56 PM
hospital in klang tell us to do blood and urine test outside, and bring report to the hospital, for gov doc to write..
the hospital here said that we are not allowed to take the urine test outside.. Maybe I should call JPA..
So I keep my laptop in the hostel and go online in my room.
Maybe I wont bring laptop on the registration day, maybe during the next holiday. I think I could die without internet:P Are you using streamyx?? RM77/RM99 per month? who pay for it?? How?? Streamyx combo? Wi-max?hehe...just curious..
me and my roommate change the lock, or should I say door knob (haha, a lil extreme) of our room and lock the door when we go out. Only both of us have the keys, so it is definitely safe.
What about the other housemates. Do they have to wait for you guys to open the door?
me and my roommate change the lock, or should I say door knob (haha, a lil extreme)
How did you do that??:laugh
One word of advice- it ca get really warm around march to june/ july, so if you are not living in Venice Hill and if there's no air- cond in your room, get a stand fan!!!
I dont think we will bring a stand fan or a table lamp on the registration day.. We'll consider about that later,,
When I am in my old hostel, my stand fan is the one that saved my life.
which old hostel?
In your opinion, which one is better, venice hill or the permata heights?? maybe at the first sight..
sienz7
18-06-2009, 08:02 PM
very quite huh??
seniors..
examinations over???
over already, v are going to a trip to pulau pangkor tomorrow. btw, i m unsure about the gender of sonatinalai though:cry:cry:cry:cry
the hospital here said that we are not allowed to take the urine test outside.. Maybe I should call JPA..
Maybe I wont bring laptop on the registration day, maybe during the next holiday. I think I could die without internet:P Are you using streamyx?? RM77/RM99 per month? who pay for it?? How?? Streamyx combo? Wi-max?hehe...just curious..
What about the other housemates. Do they have to wait for you guys to open the door?
How did you do that??:laugh
I dont think we will bring a stand fan or a table lamp on the registration day.. We'll consider about that later,,
which old hostel?
In your opinion, which one is better, venice hill or the permata heights?? maybe at the first sight..
no need to worry about laptop, i always let my laptop running when i m in school but of course with the front gate locked( VENICE HILL ONLY)
maestro_zouk
18-06-2009, 11:11 PM
how about friday??
is school from 8.00-3.00??
we hav friday prayers...
n adley, r u from mrsm??
adley
18-06-2009, 11:16 PM
how about friday??
is school from 8.00-3.00??
we hav friday prayers...
n adley, r u from mrsm??
whoaa, a very good guess.....what about u? and jellybeanmonster n syirazi??
maestro_zouk
18-06-2009, 11:20 PM
same here...
which one r u???
adley
18-06-2009, 11:26 PM
langkawi..u?
jellybeanmonster
18-06-2009, 11:42 PM
whoaa, a very good guess.....what about u? and jellybeanmonster n syirazi??
i am from Sekolah Menengah (P) Methodist Klang.. not boarding..
syirazi
19-06-2009, 07:37 AM
i'm from KISAS,klang..jellybeanmonster,,what is your actual name..i never see SM Methodist Klang before..where is it??huhu2..
do we need to bring iron??
jellybeanmonster
19-06-2009, 03:49 PM
i'm from KISAS,klang..jellybeanmonster,,what is your actual name..i never see SM Methodist Klang before..where is it??huhu2..
do we need to bring iron??
you are from klang too? lain kali leh duduk public transport back together.. you can call me teng, full name registration baru bg tau la.. =) My school is near balai polis Klang, not very near, but quite la.. dekat dewan hamzah sana..
iron? hmm.. u bring i pinjam lah can? i use 3 boxes d, no more space.. =)
syirazi
19-06-2009, 05:29 PM
sek kt Klang..rumah kt penang maa...dkt jmbtn kew??:nuts
adley MRSM langkawi??top MRSM right??I have a friend there...
jellybeanmonster
19-06-2009, 11:39 PM
sek kt Klang..rumah kt penang maa...dkt jmbtn kew??:nuts
adley MRSM langkawi??top MRSM right??I have a friend there...
orang penang ekk.. haha.. ok ok.. so you won't be back to Penang often lah?
banyaknya benda nak bawak....
jellybeanmonster
21-06-2009, 10:57 AM
anyways, to ask the senior, does anyone come and clean up the hostel's living room and kitchen? I asked this because one of my friends hostel have this thing..
and, normally to school, sling bags or backpacks are better?
any seniors have blog? =)
will we be staying the same aprtment from registration day till the end?
sonatinalai
21-06-2009, 11:46 PM
The Seniors have just come back from a Pangkor expedition. JUST reached hostel at 9:45 p.m. A wonderful experience. Haha!
To jelly,
There is just too much uncertainty in this world. So we can't really assure you what is going to happen. Anyway it is just a couple of weeks to go.
You can bring any bag to school as you wish (of course must be decent). It really depends on your style, whether you like to bring many books, or just the necessary things. You might find some subject teachers demanding students to bring more things than the other subjects. Not a problem to worry, just bring your secondary school bag will do. Your query tells me that you are a fashion victim. LOL!
adley
22-06-2009, 01:48 AM
The Seniors have just come back from a Pangkor expedition. JUST reached hostel at 9:45 p.m. A wonderful experience. Haha!
How's your trip? Was it fun?:) Btw, I've post some question on page 16..
jellybeanmonster
22-06-2009, 04:41 PM
sonTinalai, I actually asked because I cannot make my decision on which to bring..difficult to make selctions.. :)
sonatinalai
22-06-2009, 10:28 PM
There seems to be some confusion about my gender. Maybe you all can find out during orientation...
Btw, your list of things-to-bring seems to be quite complete. I think you might consider to bring some dry rations (eg. biscuits) so that you can eat them between meals. Also, train yourself to be a bread-lover if you want to save some money. (Formal pants: we don't really need that for girls; you can match any decent blouse with uniform skirt)
Other than that, I think you will be finely adjusted to hostel life. Nothing special, just away from family.
maestro_zouk
22-06-2009, 11:05 PM
so this year uniform will be free???
jellybeanmonster
22-06-2009, 11:05 PM
There seems to be some confusion about my gender. Maybe you all can find out during orientation...
Btw, your list of things-to-bring seems to be quite complete. I think you might consider to bring some dry rations (eg. biscuits) so that you can eat them between meals. Also, train yourself to be a bread-lover if you want to save some money. (Formal pants: we don't really need that for girls; you can match any decent blouse with uniform skirt)
Other than that, I think you will be finely adjusted to hostel life. Nothing special, just away from family.
owh, formal pants is for the first week because we will not get the uniform so soon right? er.. yupp...biscuits will be brought, but.. never write in my list.. =)
anyway, heard of H1N1 case in Cempaka, still schooling?
sonatinalai
23-06-2009, 07:40 PM
Oh ya... I overlooked on that matter. Should be first few weeks because last time we got the uniform only about 2 weeks later they took the measurements.
Yes, Cempaka is under the threat of H1N1 flu. Now the whole school is closed down for one week, but the A-levels are having holidays this week, so not affected. The flu patient is a Form 4 girl, and she did attend school on 17 Jun and 18 Jun (we were at school also!)... Hopefully everything turns normal as soon as possible, or else we won't be able to get AS results in August!
Update: First local infection (friend of that girl) occurred on Tuesday, school is closed down for 1 week until 29 June. Everyone take care!
jellybeanmonster
23-06-2009, 08:59 PM
Oh ya... I overlooked on that matter. Should be first few weeks because last time we got the uniform only about 2 weeks later they took the measurements.
Yes, Cempaka is under the threat of H1N1 flu. Now the whole school is closed down for one week, but the A-levels are having holidays this week, so not affected. The flu patient is a Form 5 boy, and he did attend school on 17 Jun and 18 Jun (we were at school also!)... Hopefully everything turns normal as soon as possible, or else we won't be able to get AS results in August!
err..do seniors knows when there will be a break for us? Cu I heard dr barry said after 3 weeks we register, there is a school break, is it true?
CIS is now famous for people around me, at first all was asking about where and what school is it, but now..news reported..
sonatinalai
23-06-2009, 09:51 PM
A-levels break will start from 3rd to 23rd August (3 weeks). Wah....before school start already think of breaks... really 'advance in planning' huh...
adley
24-06-2009, 02:25 AM
I think I could die without internet:P
Are you guys using streamyx?? RM77/RM99 per month?
who pay for it?? How?? Streamyx combo? Wi-max?hehe...just curious..
And in your opinion, which one is better, venice hill or the permata heights?? maybe at the first sight..
Btw H1n1 is freaking me out...:|
fizah
24-06-2009, 11:35 AM
Heloo :)
I got JPA scholarship to do A lvl at cempaka
ohh..I'm a girl from penang
*tata*:wink
jellybeanmonster
24-06-2009, 12:46 PM
sonatinalai, haha..I have to plan as I need my siblings to arrange their time to come fetch me as now I still don't know about the public transport there..yahoo..my bro's graduation is during my holiday.. :)
Anyway, syirazi..I think you have a friend from Penang too.. :)
Adley, now everyone knows our future school..free ads..
syirazi
24-06-2009, 11:02 PM
hi,fizah..what course are you taking?? thank u jellybean...finally i found someone..
adley,you from ipoh or terengganu??:wink
fizah
24-06-2009, 11:05 PM
haloo syirazi..im taking science!
jellybeanmonster
24-06-2009, 11:55 PM
y no other girls taking biotech???????
Anyway, for holidays, do we have to shift everything back or can leave our stuff there? If we have to shift back, imma gonna be insane packing again!!
fizah
25-06-2009, 12:04 AM
Anyway, for holidays, do we have to shift everything back or can leave our stuff there? If we have to shift back, imma gonna be insane packing again!![/quote]
Me too!
adley
25-06-2009, 01:11 AM
Anyway, for holidays, do we have to shift everything back or can leave our stuff there? If we have to shift back, imma gonna be insane packing again!!
Of course not,, there is no such rule.. Life at hostel is so great, soon u'll learn to do everything on your own,,
but we'll be staying in a condominium, there'll be a slightly different..
adley,you from ipoh or terengganu??:wink
ipoh? no, i'm from trgnu..
Btw guys, how's your revision?,, addmath, bio, chmistry, physics..? oh, I hate doin' revision at home,,,
jellybeanmonster
25-06-2009, 01:44 PM
phew..because my bro's sem break at UM, sometimes he have to clear the room..
Anyway, revision...I just read through to refresh memory only..
Am I the only one that is not from a boarding school??
sonatinalai
25-06-2009, 11:26 PM
Relax, you do not need to remove all your belongings during term breaks. You can practically leave anything you like in the hostel for the whole course (erm check with hostel owner anyway), at least that applies to us.
Some university hostels make the students to move out their belongings during term breaks because they might want to rent the hostels to outsiders. Well, that is what I heard from someone.
Again, don't be too stressed out for the streaming. Since there is just so few of you, I think the possibility of dividing you all into two classes is small. Haha! Well, it's better to be together!
Relax, you do not need to remove all your belongings during term breaks. You can practically leave anything you like in the hostel for the whole course (erm check with hostel owner anyway), at least that applies to us.
Some university hostels make the students to move out their belongings during term breaks because they might want to rent the hostels to outsiders. Well, that is what I heard from someone.
Again, don't be too stressed out for the streaming. Since there is just so few of you, I think the possibility of dividing you all into two classes is small. Haha! Well, it's better to be together!
And...welcome Fizah! Hope you enjoy your last week of holidays. Expecting you all on 6th July, but who knows whether the H1N1 flu will affect that.
jellybeanmonster
25-06-2009, 11:40 PM
hmm..thanks for the reply sonatinalai.. Why this forum so dead d??no more new members??news kept showing the interior of cempaka..
About a week plus to go....
maestro_zouk
28-06-2009, 11:12 PM
very quiet in here...
seniors,can u guys make a simple list of stuff available at hostel...
such as iron(maybe)??fridge??
jellybeanmonster
28-06-2009, 11:16 PM
maestro.. i think seniors also can't give us confirmation cuz we most prob won't be staying same apartment as them...
seniors, why so quiet???
maestro_zouk
28-06-2009, 11:20 PM
owh...
what about ur apartment??
those two apartment won't be much different rite???
just to make such wat to bring....
jellybeanmonster
28-06-2009, 11:38 PM
owh...
what about ur apartment??
those two apartment won't be much different rite???
just to make such wat to bring....
cuz as written in the form, they have common area with fridge, water dispenser and another one i forgot.. i only bring kettle..
our aprtment maybe slighty different i think.. interior diff..maybe lah..
sienz7
28-06-2009, 11:43 PM
seniors, why so quiet???
seniors,why so quiet???
syirazi
28-06-2009, 11:44 PM
uhuuuu..........
uhuuuuuuu..
sienz7
28-06-2009, 11:44 PM
ulalalala.......
syirazi
28-06-2009, 11:47 PM
do u make revision??/i'm so lazy...
sienz7
28-06-2009, 11:49 PM
do u make revision??/i'm so lazy...
nope, i do not do revision, because AS exam is over
lol
syirazi
29-06-2009, 12:14 AM
very quiet in here...
seniors,can u guys make a simple list of stuff available at hostel...
such as iron(maybe)??fridge??
mrsm mna...u bring iron,i pinjam(ayat jelybean monster)
adley
29-06-2009, 08:45 AM
sienz7 , how about the internet? What did u guys use? wi-max? celcom? streamyx?
jellybeanmonster
29-06-2009, 10:08 AM
hahaha..practically you all are just making noises right? LOL..
study? alahai.. enjine still needs some pushing.. read on and off only..
EXACTLY ONE WEEK FROM TODAY! :amuse
mrsm mna...u bring iron,i pinjam(ayat jelybean monster)
eh eh, copyright fees ok... LOL..
i think standing fan/ table lamp/iron/ kettle/ microwave and internet connection, after shifting in only can make decisions. Who knows if any roommate have an extra appliance at home, so... patience la...
is the whole first week our orientation?
adley
29-06-2009, 01:02 PM
Cempaka called me just now and they want to know
how many people will come with you on the
registration day. She said she's not sure about the
kettle or iron,, n we'll be staying in permata height..
Another thing is, not to worry about H1N1:oh
Wani Razali from kisas?
is the whole first week our orientation?
Normally it is.
jellybeanmonster
29-06-2009, 03:59 PM
Permata Heights, good news is, it is just a downhill walk from our school main gate, bad news is, i dunno the nearest shop lots located where YET.
She called me too...this morning.. LOL.. i didn't dare to ask where we are staying, so..thanks for asking.. =) :nod
she told to bring foods for the first week..
syirazi
29-06-2009, 04:16 PM
Cempaka called me just now and they want to know
how many people will come with you on the
registration day. She said she's not sure about the
kettle or iron,, n we'll be staying in permata height..
Another thing is, not to worry about H1N1:oh
Wani Razali from kisas?
Normally it is.
yup ,kisas..da rmai wani kn...sek mna lg??
sienz7
29-06-2009, 04:23 PM
sienz7 , how about the internet? What did u guys use? wi-max? celcom? streamyx?
we are using streamyx, normally sharing with other house mates using router
syirazi
29-06-2009, 04:25 PM
Permata Heights, good news is, it is just a downhill walk from our school main gate, bad news is, i dunno the nearest shop lots located where YET.
She called me too...this morning.. LOL.. i didn't dare to ask where we are staying, so..thanks for asking.. =) :nod
she told to bring foods for the first week..
Jellybean,is it the call from cempaka/jpa important?i did not answer the call....
jellybeanmonster
29-06-2009, 07:47 PM
says YES it is important because she needs to know how many people will b coming with you, your email and also home address cuz there is something she wants to send. i think you better call her back tomorrow morning. =)
syirazi
29-06-2009, 10:48 PM
says YES it is important because she needs to know how many people will b coming with you, your email and also home address cuz there is something she wants to send. i think you better call her back tomorrow morning. =)
ok...thanx..do u bring ur laptop??
jellybeanmonster
29-06-2009, 11:37 PM
er.. nope.. because i think it's better to go see where can we keep and the security there first.. i bringing my iPhone, i still can surf the net.. xD
adley
02-07-2009, 07:24 AM
what should we wear on the registration day?
jellybeanmonster
02-07-2009, 03:04 PM
what should we wear on the registration day?
CLOTHES. =)
you can wear baju melayu if you want too.. hahaha.. ok ok.. joking..
i think long sleeve shirt and black pants will be ok for guys.. Dressing code for registration day is the same as for school days as said in the paper..
anyway, anyone receive letter from Cempaka? the lady did mention she wanna send something but i nvr receive..
before i forget, remember to bring used cloth and also plastic bags, you won't want your room to be dirty..... xD
sonatinalai
02-07-2009, 11:23 PM
iPhone 3GS (the new one!) will be released very soon in Malaysia. Jelly, your iPhone is the 3G version? Looks like you are quite rich then.
Erm... ya just wear formal during the registration day, but not too expensive clothes :D
We'll have some activities planned for you, so you will expect to have some walking around. Enjoy your last weekend before school!
Good news: you will be supplied 2 sets of white shirts and one full set of school uniform (blazer, tie, 2 pants/skirts) Free of Charge! I just know it by today.. saves a lot of $$!
So see you REALLY SOON!
jellybeanmonster
03-07-2009, 01:55 PM
nope.. not iPhone 3G. iPhone 2G, by bro passed it to me, second hand iPhone. =)
er.. Orientation starts on Monday itself? we will shift in first right? My sis need to go back to work after that, that's why am asking.. =D
Yipee got uniform for FREE! :)
maestro_zouk
03-07-2009, 10:51 PM
anyone receive the letter from cempaka??
jellybeanmonster
03-07-2009, 11:28 PM
anyone receive the letter from cempaka??
nope.. been waiting for Mr Postman every single day, no letter. she did say she wanted to send something right?
anyway, why not juniors all exchange msn? easier to ask each other quest right?
adley
05-07-2009, 12:09 AM
I'm going to stay in Kajang.. See ya!!
syirazi
05-07-2009, 01:21 AM
i,m going to start my journey tomorrow morning........see ya!!
long journey.......
jellybeanmonster
05-07-2009, 09:09 PM
big jam at Cheras! better spare time for traffic congestion! Yipeee!! LET'S ROCK CEMPAKA!
sonatinalai
05-07-2009, 09:35 PM
Have a good night sleep... Make sure you think of something interesting about yourself in your introduction! XD
Have fun!
indiebp
21-08-2009, 11:26 PM
Hiii :)
Well the thing is Im going to kuala lumpur this 24th and im going to cempaka international school... i don?t know to much about it.. but from what i?ve read it seems to be a boarding school? and here in Ecuador im supposed to be on 4th course (2 years before graduation) sooo in which year would i be going im 15 years old... and what?s that of A-levels and Non-levels.. i guess that they put in different places the ones who have super high grades and the ones who have normal grades... well im totally lost heree :) Thankks
sonatinalai
23-08-2009, 05:47 PM
Hiii :)
Well the thing is Im going to kuala lumpur this 24th and im going to cempaka international school... i don?t know to much about it.. but from what i?ve read it seems to be a boarding school? and here in Ecuador im supposed to be on 4th course (2 years before graduation) sooo in which year would i be going im 15 years old... and what?s that of A-levels and Non-levels.. i guess that they put in different places the ones who have super high grades and the ones who have normal grades... well im totally lost heree :) Thankks
Hello friend from Ecuador!
First of all welcome to Cempaka. You'll find lots of things to learn here.
From what you have said, I suppose you will be entering Year 9/10.
The education structure is 6 years primary and 5 years secondary, leading to the IGCSE examination from Cambridge International Examination. You can google "CIE IGCSE' for more information. If you enter Year 9, you'll have to study 3 years before taking your IGCSE. We offer many subjects from arts and science here...and streaming does happen here, which is they put you in different class according to your academic performance. So do well in any entrance test!
For A-levels, it is a post-secondary examination for Year 12 students, which is a continuum of the IGCSE exam. You can study 1.5 year to 2 years before taking the A-levels. It is an important qualification for you to get in universities worldwide. We'll be awaiting your arrival then! Good luck and enjoy your trip in Malaysia.
maestro_zouk
23-05-2010, 02:19 AM
You have awaited for this moment for a long time and you carefully open up the envelop,on an A4 paper written there Cempaka International School
"Where is this ?Cempaka?"
If that is on your mind,then hopefully this thread will help u alot...
btw,i am one of the student here and i will try to help as much as i could for the coming batch....
so,any enquiry plis tell...
paiseh...
this is old one....
what the hell,still welcome to cempaka....
OMG! i've finally found this thread! :D
p/s-is this thread still "alive" for discussions?
jellybeanmonster
29-05-2010, 09:12 PM
Hi ytm,
Yes this thread is still alive, but won't be too active. Students in Cempaka are having their AS and A2 examinations now.
You will be coming?:)
adley
29-05-2010, 11:01 PM
Ftw....I hate this feeling...excited n nervous when reading through all the Q & A in this thread....but that was last year...n now i'm laughing...lol
I still can recall how it was before coming here,, opened this thread every 5 minutes waiting for anwers from the seniors...haha...now i'm enjoying watching ( I should say reading ) your exciteness getting into this awesome place...hehe
Welcome juniors!!! (err,, only ytm? find others n ask them to join..!)
Btw, abu jellybean n kotak maestro, u guys are so fast..haha
very quite huh??
seniors..
examinations over???
spelling error over there..haha:nuts
Hi ytm,
Yes this thread is still alive, but won't be too active. Students in Cempaka are having their AS and A2 examinations now.
You will be coming?:)
yea, i'll be going to cempaka this july! i'm so soo excited! :)
currently there are no questions from me yet because i find this thread sufficiently informative thus far for us newbies. :)) but i'm sure i'll be chock-full of questions once the offer letter arrives...sorry seniors! :amuse
Just curious though, from what i've observed from the other threads, the placing of students in cempaka by jpa is uncommon, or is it?
sukimatoto
30-05-2010, 01:24 PM
*Hand up*
Count me in ! xD
jellybeanmonster
30-05-2010, 06:52 PM
No problem, after 10 June, you can question us and will try our best to assist you.
Well, my first reaction when i received the letter for CEMPAKA, i also got a shock and think it's uncommon, well, there are JPA students here, my batch, seniors, grand-seniors, so, it is a lil uncommon only.. but not a new place for JPA to send students.
Do be excited because this place is something new and very interesting.. :P
sukimatoto
15-06-2010, 04:25 PM
May I know who else got this place? Please reply to this thread 'cause from what my dad told me, this year's batch will be very small, around 9-12 ppl only. Atm, I only knw ytm. Thank God fr that. I thought I'll be all alone there :P
Sherlin
18-06-2010, 07:10 PM
Fellow Cempakan-to-be here......since I'll be there in two weeks time, may I ask our seniors some questions?
Firstly, about the dress code. Are we supposed to wear formal outfits when we are not wearing the uniform? Or can we wear anything, as long as it does not violate the rules, and is not a T-shirt?
Btw, I'm kinda confused about the JPA's instructions. According to the letters, they want us to mail them our documents, such as the 'borang maklumat penjamin', 'biodata pelajar' and such. On the other hand, they want us to bring those documents to Cempaka as well on the registration day. Since we have one copy of each, (except for the medical checkup thing), how are we supposed to mail it and keep it at the same time?
(I hope my question isn't confusing...)
Btw, I heard that they will provide us with accommodation. But when will we move into our rooms?
fizah
19-06-2010, 11:37 AM
Welcome juniors!!!!
adley
21-06-2010, 02:28 AM
Firstly, about the dress code. Are we supposed to wear formal outfits when we are not wearing the uniform? Or can we wear anything, as long as it does not violate the rules, and is not a T-shirt?
Hi Sherlin,,!
It's only compulsory to wear school pants(boys) n skirts(girls) with black shoes except for Wednesday where we have wear blazer n white shirt. Cool rite? :huh I think you should read every single post in this thread from the beginning as I can say it's a complete q & a session between us and seniors last year :)
Btw, I'm kinda confused about the JPA's instructions. According to the letters, they want us to mail them our documents, such as the 'borang maklumat penjamin', 'biodata pelajar' and such. On the other hand, they want us to bring those documents to Cempaka as well on the registration day. Since we have one copy of each, (except for the medical checkup thing), how are we supposed to mail it and keep it at the same time?
JElly bean, did we email to them? I think, no, we ignored the instruction....haha..as told by grand seniors..
Btw, I heard that they will provide us with accommodation. But when will we move into our rooms?
Last year, they guided us to Permata Height right after registration. If I'm not mistaken, you guys will be staying at 12th, 3rd or 9th floor. Better pray for 12 floor..heh
So, tell us more about yourself...we are really excited to meet our new friends:))
May I know who else got this place? Please reply to this thread 'cause from what my dad told me, this year's batch will be very small, around 9-12 ppl only. Atm, I only knw ytm. Thank God fr that. I thought I'll be all alone there :P
Where did your dad get those info? Btw, we are expecting 30 - 40 new friends. So they will be three classes of A-Level as in previous years:)
sukimatoto
21-06-2010, 05:32 PM
Where did your dad get those info? Btw, we are expecting 30 - 40 new friends. So they will be three classes of A-Level as in previous years:)
Well, Dr Barry told him so. Wtv. 5th July. 2weeks to go! :nod
oh i have questions! haha:))
on the registration day, we are supposed to put on formal wear, right? i wonder...how's formal formal? black pants+ collared shirt? oh btw..i'm a girl :)
i seriously need a clear depiction of how we should appear throughout the first week especially on the registration day. help, seniors?
and when do we get our uniform? on the registration day itself?
also, i was informed that we have to wear black leather/canvas shoes...this may sound silly..but are socks/stockings necessary?
next...we really have to get macbooks?!?! :amazed
next...is it true that we'll have to sit for some kind of (entrance) test for class streaming purposes? my brain's rusty after half a year of not touching books....i dunno if i will be able to manage...haha
there's no wifi connection in where we stay?
last question....any things the seniors i.e jelleybean/maestro/adley would personally advise us to bring for the first week?
on an unrelated note, 9 more days to go!! :P
aeizatism
27-06-2010, 12:30 AM
eh u guys(btch juy 2009)...waah,excited nampak nak jadi senior.hahahah!!bagus2...
but kesian u all,9-12 peoples onli.haih, oh JPA ,better x payah hantar la!!
wey,ytm,your seniors r nw having expedition to GUNUNG TONGs,Kelantan,so thats why they cant reply yor qs. at the moment till sunday.
so let me assist u,first on registration day tu..pakai la ape2 yg formal.baju kurung will be the easiest one.
mesti pakai kasut tau.no sandal!!!stokings??hahah..nak pakai,pakai la.bukannya Barry tu akan rotan u all kalau tak pakai.selamba jer!!!bt,pakai stoking kan cantekk sikit...
macbooks?oh no need.vaio is better!!!i think that apply 4 secondary stdnts only.so far,for A-level macbooks is not compulsory.no use pun.
since u guys are small in numbers,i dun think so there will be a test for streaming.but no worries,through out the course memang byk tests n exam n quizzes.u will enjoy it!!!:P
KIV for wifi connection qs.coz i do not really know bout this.the girl units,they've been provided w cempaka free wifi.tapi boys xde pulak.wait for adley(:huh) reply ye..
jus be prepared mentally n physically.since kedai jauh,bawaklah makanan sikit.macam MAGGI ke.if x cukup makanan,pau je your seniors.dorang byk stocks!!!:))
(eh add i dkt FB,aeizatism_daonly1@<hidden>)
thanks a lot, aeizatism! that was really helpful :)
so it's alright to get any laptops of our own preference? vaio etc..?
and no tests? woohoo!!:P
on the registration day, can i opt to wear something like office wear instead of baju kurung?
PS- i initially thought that aeizatism is a girl...hahaha
Sherlin
28-06-2010, 05:03 PM
on the registration day, can i opt to wear something like office wear instead of baju kurung?
I'm not sure if I'm right, but I think you can wear that...or in other words, wear what you wore to the JPA interview, which is probably sth formal.
macbooks?oh no need.vaio is better!!!i think that apply 4 secondary stdnts only.so far,for A-level macbooks is not compulsory.no use pun.
Anyway, I called up the office this morn, and they said that we have to get ourselves macbooks. I plan to get myself a laptop anyway before going off to Cempaka. So, seniors, do you have any advice on this matter?
Sorry for our endless stream of questions, but thank you for clearing our doubts!
Anyway, I called up the office this morn, and they said that we have to get ourselves macbooks. I plan to get myself a laptop anyway before going off to Cempaka. So, seniors, do you have any advice on this matter?
we really have to get ourselves macbooks? :amazed will we be using it for lessons etc?
sukimatoto
28-06-2010, 08:37 PM
Seriously ? :o:o:o
Sherlin
29-06-2010, 02:51 PM
That's what the office told me, but since the seniors said that it's not necessary, I guess it isn't. The older posts also said so, that this macbook thing applies for sec students, rather than us A levels students.
PHEW! lol. :))
anyway, have you guys filled in the cempaka registration form? i have a lil prob with the the section regarding the subjects and grades. They've only allocated for 9 subjects and i took 10. so where do i fill the extra one? just write beneath that section..the little space available?
and btw, what level are we applying for?
and one more unrelated thing, about the maklumat tambahan pelajar under the borang pengakuan kedudukan kewangan penjamin from that syarat syarat tawaran biasiswa booklet, what should we put under the nama universiti and nama kursus?
any ideas?
jellybeanmonster
29-06-2010, 04:01 PM
Hi all juniors,
Thanks for posting so many questions on this forum, but actually the dress codes and things to bring list is actually posted up in the earlier pages of the forum, do take a look at it. If i am not mistaken i listed them up to be crosschecked by our seniors.
For ytm and sherlin, since both of you are chinese, you can choose to wear formal shirt and black pants, something like what you wore for the jpa interview and also something like what people wear to work normally. You will be shifting over directly after orientation to stay near our place, same floor, different house, don't worry, if you missed out anything, we can loan them to you as well..
As for macbook, it is your wish whether you want to get them or not, the website is more applicable for those international students. For first few weeks, you don't really need a laptop, most of us did not bring ours during the first few weeks as well.. Internet connections you would have to be patient and wait if you will be getting one, or else, bring your broadbands if you have them.. if not, just wait it's alright...
Less than one more week we will be meeting all of you, we are all excited to meet our juniors..
p.s : Seniors, what to do for orientation for our juniors ah? Let's plan let's plan..
Ngeh ngeh ngeh....
=)
thanks jellybean for clarifying!:))
we juniors are fortunate to have such generous seniors. wheee! :P
can't wait to see you guys for real on monday. :)
anyway, pleaseeee don't "torture" us during the orientation..we'll do anything you say...hehehe :))
Sherlin
01-07-2010, 10:02 PM
PHEW! lol. :))
anyway, have you guys filled in the cempaka registration form? i have a lil prob with the the section regarding the subjects and grades. They've only allocated for 9 subjects and i took 10. so where do i fill the extra one? just write beneath that section..the little space available?
I just wrote 9 subjects, and left the rest out. I guess it doesn't make much difference.
and one more unrelated thing, about the maklumat tambahan pelajar under the borang pengakuan kedudukan kewangan penjamin from that syarat syarat tawaran biasiswa booklet, what should we put under the nama universiti and nama kursus?
I put 'Science' as my course. As for the university--maybe it's Cempaka? I'm not sure. I left it blank anyway.
What should we do with the Surat Penerimaan/Penolakan Biasiswa Persekutuan JPA?
And what about the Elaun dan Kemudahan? (pg. 4, yellow booklet, no.5)
Do we have to send the particulars of our bank account to PPL-JPA/JPM/KBM?
airjacobs
12-07-2010, 10:31 AM
You're a one lucky person. It's difficult to go there. My friend who has once been there but unfortunately did not make to go there. I am amazed with its education philosophy that flows from the belief that the child’s development is nurtured through the mind, body and soul.
Sherlin
13-05-2011, 09:48 PM
Heard that the JPA results are out today. So, if any of you who happens to be reading this is to be sent to 'Cempaka International School' to study A-Levels, please 'reveal' your identity...just kidding. Anyway we would love to hear from our future juniors (if we have any), and feel free to ask us any questions about Cempaka--whether it's about the subjects, the teachers,or even the accommodation (which, I can assure you, is really comfortable).
ryabenz
16-05-2011, 11:31 PM
Heard that the JPA results are out today. So, if any of you who happens to be reading this is to be sent to 'Cempaka International School' to study A-Levels, please 'reveal' your identity...just kidding. Anyway we would love to hear from our future juniors (if we have any), and feel free to ask us any questions about Cempaka--whether it's about the subjects, the teachers,or even the accommodation (which, I can assure you, is really comfortable).
hey hi :) i actually got the jpa offer 2 do pure science at UK..n the a-level will b at cempaka..im kinda eager 2 join all of u there..but, yet, im nt sure hw many of them r undr jpa this year..since the num of students sponsored by jpa usually fluctuates rite..n yaar, do let me knw stuffs as so to prepare myself :)) n dnt mind if i ask stuffs rite?? n literally, i did gt alot of info frm the posts posted b4 :) thnks alot 2 u guyz *the seniors* :wink
Sherlin
16-05-2011, 11:54 PM
Hi!! Glad to meet you. Just now in the evening I got to know another future junior who is a guy...we do not know the exact numbers yet. But we heard that it will be less than what we have now! (and there's only 10 of us)
Nice to meet you...we have been waiting for days just for any signs of our future juniors...of course you can just ask us anything. We will b glad to help.
So, what's your name? And where are you from? Do tell us more abt yourself!
ohmagee juniors! we've juniors!! WHEEE~~
ryabenz
17-05-2011, 08:29 PM
10 of them nly?? u mean the jpa scholars?? so, overall, hw many of them r in ur batch, i mean private n also students undr scholarships???
anywy, im priya frm segamat, johor :) haha, bout me?? nthing much act..juz an ordinary girl..haha, but nvrmind, will b meeting u guys there..so, v can knw each othr better :)
btw, bout the macbook, it is nt compulsory rite?? n hw bout the internet connection at cempaka n also at the hostel?? is there free wifi available?? i read bout the seniors registering 4 streamyx, is it so??
hey priya, nice to get to know you :)
Exactly, there's only ten of us-nine under jpa and one private student. If u include your soon-to-be grandseniors, it'll sum up to 28 :)
The macbook's not compulsory for a-levels.
And yeap, there's internet connection at cempaka (very fast, too)
As for the hostel...hmm not really. The school does provide free wifi for us but due to some inexplicable reasons, it's not working really well at where we stay. No worries, though. We do have a very convenient "alternative" provided by a very kind unknown. And it's FOC ;)
If you've been reading through the older posts, the seniors registered for streamyx only because wifi was not available then (or it was just plain slow). It's different now, so no worries! :)
Soph27
18-05-2011, 08:31 PM
hei....i found this thread and literally spent the whole day reading it from page 1 to 25. so.... u guessed it right. i'm ur junior-to-be :))
i have a whole bunce of questions right now.hehe
uniform
how's the attire for muslim girls? is it just white tudung? should the tudung be worn inside the shirt or outside? what about the shirt? plain? tucked in?
just wondering because i don't hav any plain white tudung and shirt now.hehe
subjects
i applied for pure sc-physics and in the offer letter they just wrote "sains tulen (fizik/kimia/biologi)". i thought i would be taking subjects like physics,maths n further maths but having read this thread, would i take the same subjects as mentioned in previous posts? i so don't want to take biology any more >.<
hope one of the seniors would be kind anough to reply to this :)
sukimatoto
18-05-2011, 08:50 PM
@<hidden> are u a malay girl? if soo ...
sherlin + ytm! Wah, finally. 1 MALAYSIA. Haha :D
Well, there's no need to have plain white tudung or shirt. Oh wait. You have to have at least one white tudung cause we all have to wear school uniform on wednesdays, ONLY. other school days, you can just wear any top but the school will provide you with brown khaki skirts. AND YOU GONNA HAVE TO WEAR IT EVERYDAY. baju putih sekolah pon dorang akan bagi. so, no worries. :)
for subjects. URGHHHHHHH it's compulsory to take Physics, BIOLOGY, Chemistry and Maths. I mean, for our batch lah. Im not sure for the coming junior batch. Just have to wait and see ;)
Hi priya! :B
Sherlin
18-05-2011, 09:53 PM
Physics? Oooh....That's my field of interest too! Unfortunately, you still have to take Bio, but worry not--our Bio teacher, Ms Stephanie, is very great and dedicated. I used to hate Bio to the core, and messed up my Bio during SPM, but now I love Bio (although I love Physics better~).
But if you want to consider Further Maths, you can talk to the head of A-lvls, Dr. Barry. I'm currently taking Further Maths too...
Yay so now we already know 3 juniors! You, Priya, and Weng Ming. (1 Malaysia!) Great! Hope to meet more future juniors in the days to come...And now the 4th of July seems like a hopelessly distant date!
Do tell us more about yourself. We would love to know more about you!
(Do forgive me for sounding so hyper, but we have been very excited about the prospect of meeting our new juniors):))
Soph27
18-05-2011, 10:21 PM
yup.malay :D
what about socks? black only?
so no need to tuck-in lah?wohooo. so any top will do :P
i actually hav this guy who's a classmate of mine who would be going here too but he's still torn between jpa n petronas. unlike him, i made my mind :))
meaning here, whatever it is the subjects that we take during A-levels, it won't affect our choice for degree?
sukimatoto
18-05-2011, 10:47 PM
Sherlin is a creepy soon-to-be senior. Ignore her :D
Yerp, black socks. Black shoes. It's a school. What to do :P
No lah. Tuck-in when we have to wear blazers just to look neat.
A guy? Malay or what? Walao So now 4?! Ah But I thought the registration day for petronas is tmrw, isnt it? Ask him to come lah! Aiyoo :P
Hmm No. It won't. Because we need to take at least 3 subj in A-level if im not mistaken. So like, you wanna do major in physics?
Sherlin
18-05-2011, 10:52 PM
I'm not a creepy senior...ignore Sukimatoto's remark! =p If u know me personally u would think tht im a quiet sort of person...(pls help me affirm this Sukimatoto):wink
Tell ur friend to come! Srsly...the more the merrier~