View Full Version : Help: Changing Country and Courses
iamnajwa
06-05-2009, 02:27 PM
well...
i juz realize myself dat i did a major mistake during my application..
its like a blurry image dat time..
i was confused..
which one i really want...
either engineering or architecture...
finally, i juz did a quick decision by choosing engineering...
n now i regret...
i actually more to architecture...
after i've done some research bout both courses..
yea, i still dunno the result yet..
whether im the chosen one or not..
but still its kept playing in my mind...
sumone who knows dis..
pliz help me..:cry
Thread "JPA, Changing Country" merged
seehua
06-05-2009, 03:06 PM
well...
i was confused..
n now i regret...
sumone who knows dis..
Right now, just keep fingers crossed on securing the scholarship first. Then we can discuss about this .
No point fretting over something that not guaranteed yet.
06-05-2009, 06:17 PM
well...
i was confused..
n now i regret...
sumone who knows dis..
I had a friend who applied for engineering in jpa and during the interview he told them he changed his mind...n that he wants medicine even though he didnt go for the pendedahan thing...
Trekk
06-05-2009, 06:26 PM
Well, as long as you haven't missed any extra stuff (like that pendedahan thingy) for the course that you want to change to I don't see why the wouldn't allow you to.
06-05-2009, 06:33 PM
Well, as long as you haven't missed any extra stuff (like that pendedahan thingy) for the course that you want to change to I don't see why the wouldn't allow you to.
They might. Nowadays, foreign countries has quota on intake on students for certain countries and Malaysia is one of them. So, the number of scholarship offered depends on the course. Therefore, students will not have much problem going apply for university at overseas.
If you suddenly said that you want to change, it will ruin the system. Furthermore, the number of scholarship to france, japan, and germany engineering is an agreement between Malaysia and the other countries. So, they have to follow the agreement. What happen if someone who got Germany engineering wants to go to US or someone who applied for general engineering wants to go to Germany. This will cause havoc as the foreign countries expects the Malaysian Government to be man of their words. Sending less students than agreed can offend them and sending more students can show that Malaysian are not man of their words. Therefore, I believe changing course will have some problem unless you the local JPA scholarship. That won't be much of a problem.
wyeyip
06-05-2009, 11:43 PM
jus go for engineering.. do like civil?? its kidna related wert.. den u might be able to go for architechture in degree..
jus my 2 cents..
Trekk
07-05-2009, 08:40 AM
Oh I see.. thanks for the info Boyz Zoo.
subzero0c
07-05-2009, 11:13 AM
U can change!!!
My Kai Zhe go France doing the foundation 2 years thr and she change to become a chef when taking degree~~~
SapphireDragon
07-05-2009, 11:17 AM
U can change!!!
My Kai Zhe go France doing the foundation 2 years thr and she change to become a chef when taking degree~~~
He must have been amazed watching Ratatouille!!!
07-05-2009, 02:00 PM
Frankly, we as students only should appreciate everything given to us.
For the switch of courses, I think it's NO. As far as I know, for medicine, YES, as this's critical course, it's competitive. For other courses, perhaps it's NO. If and only if JPA allows you to do so, but then, the bad impression exists. Dont you ashamed of that? No offense here again. You can try risking to ask for that, about the consequences, I dont know.
Frankly, we as students only should appreciate everything given to us.
but this will decide our future, we cant simply appreciate wat is given to us..
yes, you are right. however, you miss out sth... we should appreciate what's best for us.. not appreciate everything including the irrelevant and unsuitable ones.
07-05-2009, 02:27 PM
Well, May be you all want the best only. However, do you ever thought that the children in Africa suffer from all sorts of distress, including disasters and starvation. They cant sleep well, eat well, even live well. They're dying of hunger. Poor pity for them...
Having is better than nothing right? Do appreciate before you're going to weep seriously about your loss. There shouldnt be "regret" in this world.
Well, May be you all want the best only. However, do you ever thought that the children in Africa suffer from all sorts of distress, including disasters and starvation. They cant sleep well, eat well, even live well. They're dying of hunger. Poor pity for them...
Having is better than nothing right? Do appreciate before you're going to weep seriously about your loss. There shouldnt be "regret" in this world.
dont pull d african into this, they had a miserable life bcoz they don have any choice., we have d choices, so choose, we know wat is best for us, dont juz accept wat is given to us juz bcoz the others think its d bez for us, as long as we can fight for our right, fight.., we have d chances, its nothing like d african:notrust they don have d power to choose, but we have, so use it wisely...
now back to d main topic, can we change d course??:wink
07-05-2009, 05:26 PM
Okay, it's good to be grateful with what's given, but again, here, the course will decide your future, it could be a lifetime one, or at least it will take years before you find a turning point, so it's understandable to change the course now so that she won't regret in the future, even though it's her fault in the first place for not doing some research on the course before making decision. I think this is not a sign of ungrateful, an ungrateful example would be someone whining for getting this country instead of that country...
Back to the topic, it's possible to change course, but normally JPA would not allow you to change from a course of lower cost to a higher cost one, so you should know which course would cost more, to estimate your chance of success. Of course, provided that you secure the scholarship first.
iamnajwa
07-05-2009, 05:36 PM
Right now, just keep fingers crossed on securing the scholarship first. Then we can discuss about this .
No point fretting over something that not guaranteed yet.
yup...u're rite..juz u noe..its been owez questioning in my mind..anyway, some says the result is tomorrow..but im not too sure..juz wait n see..n hope..n pray..
07-05-2009, 05:41 PM
yup...u're rite..juz u noe..its been owez questioning in my mind..anyway, some says the result is tomorrow..but im not too sure..juz wait n see..n hope..n pray..
it is tommorow najwa....
3pm......good luck!!!!
and if you got it,just simply call jpa for confirmation about changing course
iamnajwa
07-05-2009, 06:02 PM
it is tommorow najwa....
3pm......good luck!!!!
and if you got it,just simply call jpa for confirmation about changing course
r u sure??? waa...im getting nervous...well, its been more complicated as wut i thought before..anyway, thankx yaa..:)
jus go for engineering.. do like civil?? its kidna related wert.. den u might be able to go for architechture in degree..
jus my 2 cents..
yaa..i,ve been applied for that on utp..but dis jpa still is my 1st choice...so im hoping d best for dis..sumthing wut i really2 want..
07-05-2009, 06:11 PM
yaa..i,ve been applied for that on utp..but dis jpa still is my 1st choice...so im hoping d best for dis..sumthing wut i really2 want..
Right now..just pray hard .....that's all..Good luck!
iamnajwa
09-05-2009, 04:42 PM
uhhh...i got the jpa scholars in engineering course in new zealand...but unfortunately, my parents didnt allow me to...i try to persuade them but i failed..i noe they're not ready to let me go dat far..so sedih...but anyway, no need to think bout changing course or wuteva anymore..juz move on to utp...chaiyo' najwa!
sand3
15-05-2009, 05:18 PM
uhhh...i got the jpa scholars in engineering course in new zealand...but unfortunately, my parents didnt allow me to...i try to persuade them but i failed..i noe they're not ready to let me go dat far..so sedih...but anyway, no need to think bout changing course or wuteva anymore..juz move on to utp...chaiyo' najwa!
najwa, r u thai?
joyce91
15-05-2009, 10:10 PM
hw u noe u're in new zealand?
benzema
16-05-2009, 12:35 PM
U can change!!!
are u sure?
coz i'm facing the same problem as the owner of this thread.
architecture or engineering.. but i do get France engineering..
mehul91
01-06-2009, 02:06 PM
hey i got canada for my jpa. have to do icpu in taylors. can i apply and go to the ivy league or setara ivy in US if i get. will jpa allow it. this is because i think usa well suited for economics compared to other country
Giselle
01-06-2009, 02:43 PM
hey i got canada for my jpa. have to do icpu in taylors. can i apply and go to the ivy league or setara ivy in US if i get. cause i'm not fond of canada
What do you mean you're not fond of Canada? Just be grateful for what you get. There are thousands of other students who would kill to get a jpa scholarship to Canada. When you applied for your course, you should have known that there would a possibility that jpa would send you to Canada. Didn't you read the offer letter? In the offer letter it is stated that segala permintaan untuk menukar negara yang telah diterima tidak akan dilayan. JPA tarik balik your scholarship only then you know.
pureint91
01-06-2009, 02:45 PM
Ya, be satisfied wif wat u hv
starlover
01-06-2009, 02:47 PM
hey i got canada for my jpa. have to do icpu in taylors. can i apply and go to the ivy league or setara ivy in US if i get. cause i'm not fond of canada
what course did u get anyway?
yuan_renn
01-06-2009, 02:47 PM
Miracle_seed already clarified this. I don't think you can do so.
01-06-2009, 02:54 PM
Canada, is still an ideal country. Don't be dissatisfied about what's granted to you. Should think of others who are not even getting the scholarships.
I don't have resistance to any country, but I'm fond of certain countries. Though I will not be heading to my regard country, I'll try my best as well. Don't lament about it anyhow...
p/s: Refer to my signature please. :P
haohao
01-06-2009, 03:52 PM
Changing country is IMPOSSIBLE, unless u fail all the exams in your pre-u course, then u might get the chance to change.....
BUT, if you fail the exams in your pre-u course, here are the possibilities:
a) Going to a country even worse than Canada, but still doing the same course...(For example, if I get Ireland medic initially, and I failed, I will be sent to Russia......)
b) Study in local universities for the same course....
c) Say good-bye to your scholarship and ask your parents to PAY BACK to JPA, besides paying for your degree studies......
So, just take the scholarship and be grateful....If JPA allows you to change your country from CANADA to USA, I'm afraid all my friends doing medic in INDONESIA (and maybe other scholars from other countries) will start writing their letters too....So JPA will be flooded with letters from whole MALAYSIA and perhaps, from the whole WORLD.....
Nice huh........haha......
SapphireDragon
01-06-2009, 03:55 PM
You should be grateful you have been offered a JPA scholarship in the very 1st place! Do u know how mush hurt you have caused to us who are unsuccessful? Its like a rich kid who says "Pa, I don't want to it shark's fin, I want abalone!" in front of a poor kid who could only afford chicken rice! I bet you're thinking of not coming back to Malaysia too after finishing your studies, right? I'm so dissappointed....please think before you write anything
Scrmath
01-06-2009, 03:57 PM
Canada, is still an ideal country. Don't be dissatisfied about what's granted to you. Should think of others who are not even getting the scholarships.
I don't have resistance to any country, but I'm fond of certain countries. Though I will not be heading to my regard country, I'll try my best as well. Don't lament about it anyhow...
p/s: Refer to my signature please. :P
Wa ideal country:))
u make me feel v happy cuz i gt canada!jz so far v few fren...later must check my posts..:laugh
nicodemus
01-06-2009, 04:05 PM
mehul91, i'm sorry to say that but your actions is like the malay proverb 'berikan betis, hendakkan paha'...
JPA is very good enough to offer you a scholarship... This means that your family burden is considerably lightened but still you're not grateful at all... I'm very disappointed that someone here in Recom is saying such a thing when there are a lots of us here aren't scholars at all...
haohao
01-06-2009, 04:07 PM
Oh ya.....I forgot to share something....
If you really think that this SHARK FIN doesn't really suit your taste, please inform JPA that you wanna give up this SHARK FIN so that JPA can give this shark fin to other students who are still waiting for JPA to approve their appeal......
You know what???
A guy who is willing to die for a plate of chicken rice will be extremely delighted if he got your shark fin.....he will be thanking the person who chooses to give up the place although he doesn't know who the person is.....
I have a friend who got INDON Medic, but he chose to keep the scholarship although he had already decided not to accept the scholarship....Well, he has the right to do so, but in my opinion, he is extremely 欠打 (sorry for those who can't read chinese...I prefer to say this in chinese because I don't think there is a word in English that can explain these 2 words perfectly....Emm...it means...."Should be punched" if translated literally.....)
01-06-2009, 04:13 PM
Wa ideal country:))
u make me feel v happy cuz i gt canada!jz so far v few fren...later must check my posts..:laugh
What check your posts?
Really, at least it's better than US. (Lol... I know this statement will offend many of you, sorry...) This is from my viewpoint only.
canada is a nice place.. by the way, many people who appeal to change their countries ended up getting nothing.. so i suggest you better think over it...
Saikit
01-06-2009, 04:20 PM
you attitude its not much to be mentioned now.. i'm actually quite sad and disappointed when i come across tis post and i found out that u wanna change country just because u want your favourite country??? do you know right here, NOW, there's are a lot of people, like ME who is studying in the tiny little place of FORM 6?
please do appreciate things before it vanish in vain.. opportunities don't offen appear in life, but when its appear, once must grab and use it very nicely in a right manner
technicolor
01-06-2009, 04:28 PM
I'm really dissapointed when I read that you want to change your country.
There are a lot of people out there who failed to get a spot in JPA that want your place in Canada. I firstly thought that you wanna change your country because you got Indonesia or India, but it's CANADA! Canada ain't bad though. You better be grateful or soon JPA will pull your scholarship back then you know.
he is extremely 欠打
http://www.coldplaying.com/forum/images/smilies1/uhoh.gif
Really, at least it's better than US..
:notrust Hey. I got US. :notrust
01-06-2009, 04:30 PM
Why do you have a problem with Canada?
Scrmath
01-06-2009, 04:32 PM
What check your posts?
Really, at least it's better than US. (Lol... I know this statement will offend many of you, sorry...) This is from my viewpoint only.
cuz i post sth in eng ciurse q and a,hoping make recom fren here~cuz so few gt canada for eng..all gt us..y better then us?but us gt a lot of prestigious uni rite..i wonder canada's how..anybody ans me..
01-06-2009, 04:35 PM
Why do you have a problem with Canada?A(H1N1) flu? :P
By the way, the moment I saw the title of the thread, I know the thread starter is going be bashed.... thoroughly.... Be grateful with what you have, if you don't like it, you can always reject it, it's not too late. Even if you want to ask for a change, do it privately, out of public sight, as logically thinking, this is going to cause an uproar especially among the rejects... Sometimes, please think twice before doing anything...
01-06-2009, 04:37 PM
:notrust Hey. I got US. :notrust
Relax dude, no offence, because I *might* accompany you to the same destination. :laugh
cuz i post sth in eng ciurse q and a,hoping make recom fren here~cuz so few gt canada for eng..all gt us..y better then us?but us gt a lot of prestigious uni rite..i wonder canada's how..anybody ans me..
Hmm... About the social background... Ahhh! Just forget and ignore what I said! Any country will do, no country is good, no country is bad, these are different from everyone's viewpoints only. We should be grateful, be optimistic! :)
Cadence_hope
01-06-2009, 04:47 PM
Oh ya.....I forgot to share something....
If you really think that this SHARK FIN doesn't really suit your taste, please inform JPA that you wanna give up this SHARK FIN so that JPA can give this shark fin to other students who are still waiting for JPA to approve their appeal......
You know what???
A guy who is willing to die for a plate of chicken rice will be extremely delighted if he got your shark fin.....he will be thanking the person who chooses to give up the place although he doesn't know who the person is.....
I'm agreed because I'm one of those people who are coveting your 'Shark Fin'. Hahaha.. That's a good example indeed.
Why not Canada? The tertiary institutions there are pretty high in quality and yet widely recognized throughout the world. Or you just don't like the country?
Actually I'm aiming for Waterloo Uni, Canada if I fail my jpa appeal. My course advisor said that's a world top ranked university for actuarial science. Though the requirement for admission is quite high..
01-06-2009, 04:49 PM
A(H1N1) flu? :P
<digression> Haha that's not limited to Canada isn't it? We got plenty of H1N1 down under too! In fact my hospital alone has a handful of them. :P My groupmate's brother got diagnosed too. </digression>
It's stated quite clearly in the contract that request to change destination country will not be entertained.
01-06-2009, 05:41 PM
<digression> Haha that's not limited to Canada isn't it? We got plenty of H1N1 down under too! In fact my hospital alone has a handful of them. :P My groupmate's brother got diagnosed too. </digression><digression>Hands on experience? That sounds like a good experience...</digression>
hrixenz
01-06-2009, 05:41 PM
just accept what jpa gave to you..its hard to get the jpa scholarship..what i can say is you dont have the empathy towards the unsuccessful jpa applicants.......
magtum
01-06-2009, 06:35 PM
From my view, Canada is not bad, quite good. Actually, every country has its own "good" and "bad". The most important is you must be accustomed to their culture and lifestyle.
gundamseedw
01-06-2009, 06:42 PM
H1N1 flu ? the most infected country is US i think @<hidden>@<hidden>
dream0000
01-06-2009, 07:01 PM
hey guy, i really dont understand y u open this thread for us to scold u...
actually if u wanna lose ur scholarship, then u can try to ask jpa to change for u...:P
mehul91
01-06-2009, 08:00 PM
ok fine, thank you ppl.......haizzzzzzzzzzzzz
Zulhelmi
01-06-2009, 08:15 PM
LOL
I went for the interview, but didnt get it. I was frustrated enough that I didnt hit the Submit button for the appeal. I didnt even attend the exam for MEXT Scholarship bound for Japan because I have 0.00000001% chance getting it (and it wasn't the course that I really want). So yeah, you pretty much hurt my feelings.
I'm settling down now so no more scholarships for me.
xkiwi
01-06-2009, 08:17 PM
LOL
I went for the interview, but didnt get it. I was frustrated enough that I didnt hit the Submit button for the appeal. I didnt even attend the exam for MEXT Scholarship bound for Japan because I have 0.00000001% chance getting it (and it wasn't not the course that I really want). So yeah, you pretty much hurt my feelings.
I'm settling down now so no more scholarships for me.
Cheer up! Who knows there are more opportunities in store for you in the future? :))
01-06-2009, 08:26 PM
Thread about changing courses merged. Title also edited
hobartlim
01-06-2009, 08:54 PM
ok fine, thank you ppl.......haizzzzzzzzzzzzz
hey, i know of an alternative route that might solve ur problem, might it'd be a whole lot riskier. JPA has this special programme where they sponsor those who got into the top unis in the world (eg. the 8 ivy-leagues, ivy-league standard unis in US, and top unis in UK and aus). The thing is I'm not too sure whether they are continuing it this year or not.
From what I've heard, all they require is an offer letter from the unis in their list. Then I think they'll immediately offer u a scholarship (without any interviews from what I've heard). It's a possible route, but u'll have to give up on jpa and apply to US on ur own. It's a tough road, and a very risky one, but if u're keen on going to US, then this is one route.
01-06-2009, 09:06 PM
JPA had been pretty accommodative about placements. Just write to them/make a call to ask about whether you are allowed to change your country/course or not.
XterNalz
01-06-2009, 11:30 PM
JPA had been pretty accommodative about placements. Just write to them/make a call to ask about whether you are allowed to change your country/course or not.
Is this true? I have got some health conditions and they are going to send me to Curtin,Sarawak (I'm from Peninsular). I do not wish to go there to avoid any inconvenience. Is there any possibility that they will change for me?
01-06-2009, 11:40 PM
H1N1 flu ? the most infected country is US i think @<hidden>@<hidden>
Hey, don't dishearten or frighten others... =.=
01-06-2009, 11:43 PM
Hey, don't dishearten or frighten others... =.=
don't worry, this disease will end way before one goes to overseas.
if it is Spanish flu, then only one should say ran for lives.
Is this true? I have got some health conditions and they are going to send me to Curtin,Sarawak (I'm from Peninsular). I do not wish to go there to avoid any inconvenience. Is there any possibility that they will change for me?
lol miri curtin is ok, im from miri, got lots of clinic here, miri city, columbia asia if u got $$$$ lar.....lol:P.....and bla bla bla...u r better than me, they send me to UTP tronoh, a small pekan...:cry:cry
mehul91
02-06-2009, 09:12 AM
guys the reason i want to go US is because its the best place to study economics, the same reason u wud go to japan to study robotics and india/usa for computer science..so there is reason.....its not for fun i just want to change......
hobartlim
02-06-2009, 09:15 AM
guys the reason i want to go US is because its the best place to study economics, the same reason u wud go to japan to study robotics and india/usa for computer science..so there is reason.....its not for fun i just want to change......
i did a reply to ur question. There is an alternative route.
02-06-2009, 09:26 AM
Is this true? I have got some health conditions and they are going to send me to Curtin,Sarawak (I'm from Peninsular). I do not wish to go there to avoid any inconvenience. Is there any possibility that they will change for me?What kind of health condition then, if I may know? If your health condition can prevent you from even flying to Sarawak, i doubt you can even fly overseas later on.
Hey, don't dishearten or frighten others... =.=The chance that you will get it in the US is as much as the chance that you will contract it here in Malaysia. But, the amount of patients that had recovered is much much higher than the amount of deaths.
don't worry, this disease will end way before one goes to overseas.
if it is Spanish flu, then only one should say ran for lives.The swine flu nowadays had more similarities to spanish flu then you may think. The reason why it isn't as threatening now is that the medical world had much better understanding on the workings of flu then during the 1910s.
mehul91
02-06-2009, 10:34 AM
hey, i know of an alternative route that might solve ur problem, might it'd be a whole lot riskier. JPA has this special programme where they sponsor those who got into the top unis in the world (eg. the 8 ivy-leagues, ivy-league standard unis in US, and top unis in UK and aus). The thing is I'm not too sure whether they are continuing it this year or not.
From what I've heard, all they require is an offer letter from the unis in their list. Then I think they'll immediately offer u a scholarship (without any interviews from what I've heard). It's a possible route, but u'll have to give up on jpa and apply to US on ur own. It's a tough road, and a very risky one, but if u're keen on going to US, then this is one route.
Well i might consider that...but the cost of doing SAT 1, SAT 2, TOEFL and the application fee come way above RM2000....but its not a bad idea. n yeah if i get into that uni, i dun think i need jpa because there are need blind....n yeah just to clear things to other.......i'm grateful i got the scholarship.......
XterNalz
02-06-2009, 01:35 PM
What kind of health condition then, if I may know? If your health condition can prevent you from even flying to Sarawak, i doubt you can even fly overseas later on.
I have got an incurable skin disease (in terms of Western medicine) which requires consistent traditional chinese medication and acupuncture from a practitioner (which i'm seeing now). I have got a medical report from General Hospital too. Does that count ? I want to make an appeal to change to Peninsular Malaysia (not overseas).
02-06-2009, 01:45 PM
I have got a incurable skin disease (in terms of Western medicine) which requires consistent traditional chinese medication and acupuncture from a practitioner (which i'm seeing now). I have got a medical report from General Hospital too. Does that count ? I want to make an appeal to change to Peninsular Malaysia (not overseas).
You got overseas scholarship right?
He meant if you can't even go to East Malaysia for your Pre-U course, how could you endure yourself when someday you are required to go overseas study degree?
FYI, the distance between West Malaysia and East Malaysia is much more shorter than that between your place and the country you will be heading to.
XterNalz
02-06-2009, 01:47 PM
You got overseas scholarship right?
He meant if you can't even go to East Malaysia for your Pre-U course, how could you endure yourself when someday you are required to go overseas study degree?
FYI, the distance between West Malaysia and East Malaysia is much more shorter than that between your place and the country you will be heading to.
No, they offered me IPTS and they are sending me to Curtin,Sarawak. I wish to get a university located in Peninsular Malaysia.
02-06-2009, 01:51 PM
No, they offered me IPTS and they are sending me to Curtin,Sarawak. I wish to get a university located in Peninsular Malaysia.
Oppss! Sorry for the misunderstanding. Haha... :P
Maybe you can try to call JPA and tell them about your health condition directly. This is the best and fastest way to solve your problem.
02-06-2009, 03:24 PM
If you don't mind telling, what is the skin condition that you have and why do you have to go to that practitioner regularly? For the acupuncture? How often do you have to do it?
Jiawern
02-06-2009, 03:48 PM
I get the JPA Medicine in India,but I wish to change my course to pharmacy... I did so not because I don't like the India,is because I encounter some incidents that make me unable to afford the stress of a doctor.Can I change my course in such case???:huh
i believe it is possible to change one's country or major, but the chances are pretty slim. you can try giving it a shot, though. my friend told me that he heard someone actually managed to do it. all the best.
XterNalz
02-06-2009, 05:09 PM
If you don't mind telling, what is the skin condition that you have and why do you have to go to that practitioner regularly? For the acupuncture? How often do you have to do it?
It is known as Psoriasis. I need to get subsequent consultations from the practitioner and he will prescribe medicine according to my condition. He also does acupuncture for me. I have to return to him every weekend.
Freak
03-06-2009, 12:00 AM
i believe it is possible to change one's country or major, but the chances are pretty slim. you can try giving it a shot, though. my friend told me that he heard someone actually managed to do it. all the best.
Really? I applied for social science and I want to get a degree in English Lit,,, I was really hoping for UK, because I think England is really the past and modern hub of lit,, but, JPA offers me to go to Australia,,
did this person really get to change the country before starting his study or after finishing his pre-u course? I am okay with the situation now, because in the offer letter it is stated very clearly that you cannot change the country or course,, but if there's any chance for me to go to UK I'll fight my hardest,,
03-06-2009, 05:49 AM
It is known as Psoriasis. I need to get subsequent consultations from the practitioner and he will prescribe medicine according to my condition. He also does acupuncture for me. I have to return to him every weekend.
While psoriasis may not be fully cured in Western medicine, it's very well controlled and many people are in full remission with some medication. Have you been to a good dermatologist?
It's not that I don't trust Chinese medicine (I do up to an extent); but it would be a bit wasteful if you let the need to visit the same practitioner restrict your mobility and your career. Feel free to write to me if you want to know more about the treatments from the aspect of Western medicine, I will answer it to the best of my ability.
03-06-2009, 06:03 AM
While psoriasis may not be fully cured in Western medicine, it's very well controlled and many people are in full remission with some medication. Have you been to a good dermatologist?
It's not that I don't trust Chinese medicine (I do up to an extent); but it would be a bit wasteful if you let the need to visit the same practitioner restrict your mobility and your career. Feel free to write to me if you want to know more about the treatments from the aspect of Western medicine, I will answer it to the best of my ability.
Well, it seems that his practitioner is also controlling the disease. If not he would have been cured by now
XterNalz
03-06-2009, 10:35 AM
Carcinogenic coal tar ointment/shampoo? Steroids? Immunosupressant drugs? Phototherapy? Talk about western medicine for Psoriasis, I think I know more than anyone else. Those things only treat the symptoms but not the root cause. They could bring unnecessary side effects as well. The General Hospital's dermatologist even told me to use cancer medicine if the condition turned worse. :notrust Restrict my mobility and career? It has nothing to do with the practitioner, it is the Psoriasis that is restricting everything of my life. :wink
Well, it seems that his practitioner is also controlling the disease. If not he would have been cured by now
I couldn't comprehend your statement. Please have some understanding about Psoriasis.
03-06-2009, 06:09 PM
Carcinogenic coal tar ointment/shampoo? Steroids? Immunosupressant drugs? Phototherapy? Talk about western medicine for Psoriasis, I think I know more than anyone else. Those things only treat the symptoms but not the root cause. They could bring unnecessary side effects as well. The General Hospital's dermatologist even told me to use cancer medicine if the condition turned worse. :notrust Restrict my mobility and career? It has nothing to do with the practitioner, it is the Psoriasis that is restricting everything of my life. :wink
I couldn't comprehend your statement. Please have some understanding about Psoriasis.
It sounds like you have gone through a lot of anguish with different ineffective treatments. I am sorry about that.
I was just trying to offer some help because it sounded like you were tied to this particular chinese sinsei for the treatment, and it makes you not able to leave home for more than one week at a time. Is his treatment not available at other chinese sinsei?
If the Chinese medicine is working for you and you are happy with having to visit him every week for the rest of your life, then who am I to suggest you to do other things. What is it apart from acupuncture that you are getting by the way if you don't mind sharing? Lotion or herbal medicine?
p/s: Coal tar is not carcinogenic in the concentration used in the psoriasis treatment preparation. Cancer medicine for the purpose of psoriasis are mostly still under study; I think maybe they are referring to biologics instead like infliximab, adalibumab, eternacept etc. Have you come across those? Some patients who are suitable for those agents get miraculous result, the biologics are almost like a magic bullet for them.
03-06-2009, 07:12 PM
ok back to topic...i got a friend who got Caltech who was under actuarial science major but wanted to change to engineering...he's a damn genius and got 2nd place in olympiad or something when representing malaysia...but,he couldnt change his major despite of his great achievements..he got Caltech for goodness sake...who else got Caltech this year?none!maybe none ever got in...and jpa kept saying about the brain drain issue...
btw,he dropped jpa and went and apply for singapore scholarship to go to Caltech.what a waste of human capital for malaysia.and who's fault?jpa...