View Full Version : Life in INTEC (Cemara & Akasia + Cendana)
Butters
26-06-2008, 01:32 AM
1)Is pillow being provided there? Or I need to bring one myself?
2)During Monday and Friday(Formal Wear Day), can I wear my leather shoes without
socks?Are they strict about this?
3)Can I wear my slippers outside the hostel, i.e when I want to go pasar malam/mamak stalls.Will the Pak Guard saman me?
1. Better bring yours
2. Can....
3. Yes you can wear them....
1)Can I claim the 200++registration fee and 100++medical check up fee back from JPA?
2)They'll give us two intec T-shirt,right?Are they long-sleeve?
27-06-2008, 12:17 AM
1) Cannot.
2) For girl's sure is long sleeve. For guys short sleeve. One is INTEC t-shirt, the other one is Cendana/Cemara-Akasia t-shirt.
vikraman
27-06-2008, 12:57 AM
If you miss lecture what will happen?
27-06-2008, 01:10 AM
If you miss lecture what will happen?
if u miss the lecture for 1 or 2 time, nth reli serious will happen. jz tat u hav to find ur way to follow wat u've miss frm the lecture. Bt if u absent quite often without a convincing reason, u'll nt be allowed to sit for ur test, intec will send a report to ur sponsors, then u'll got call up to c the authorities n so on.
Is it necessary to bring the X-Ray film?do they want to collect from us?
27-06-2008, 10:55 PM
No. I didn't bring my X-ray film and they didn't ask for it either. I suppose they only want your films if there are uh, problems with your health. It's stated somewhere in the JPA booklet, I remembered reading it somewhere.
But anyway, bring it along just in case they wanted it.
The X Ray is not needed. They are not going to ask from you. So don't bring it unless you want to carry a huge plastic bag containing two oversized scanning of your lungs. ^.^
Hello juniors! I'm sure you're all excited and curious to know about college, what it has and what you're in for. Since I can't help but to be such a nice person *coughscoughschokeschokes* I'll try my best to tell you about the very first week there - orientation!
(Disclaimer: the author does not hold any responsibility from any misunderstandings that may arise from the reading of this post, due to the author's rusty memory and inability to remember details)
Ok so you already know that you have to register on a Sunday. During then, they will give you your keys to the apartment and you will meet your roommates and all. Of course, you need your own bedsheets and pillowcasing. The mattress and pillows will be provided and also a locker to keep all your gold =P. (for the girls' hostel) Mydin & Giant are merely a few minutes walk away from the girls' hostel, so you can get whatever you need from there. After you settle down and all, you'll have to go for a talk at the the boys' hostel hall. There you'll meet the people who will take care of you along the length of your stay at the hostel (lecturers who take care of the welfare of the students). after that you may return to your hostel.. at night they will provide you with food, you collect it from the ceramah hall and then they have another talk at the boys' hostel hall (a bit rusty here). don't worry - food is provided the whole week during orientation. at 6 am the next morning, you all have to be prepared to go to college. the buses will come take you, but you first have to gather in front of your hostel block (the people in charge will further brief you).you'll have your brekkie, and you'll go into the great hall to be briefed, and this time you meet with the college people.. along the way, you'll have respective sponsors' briefing..and also after that you'll be split into groups for activities. the activities are meant for you to get to know the college better =) (you get personally guided tours!). the orientation also allows you to know your seniors better, they'll come to give talks in between activities.
I'll spare some details so you get to experience it yourselves! (ok my hand is tired and I risk getting carpal tunnel syndrome)! hope it helps!
Hello juniors! I'm sure you're all excited and curious to know about college, what it has and what you're in for. Since I can't help but to be such a nice person *coughscoughschokeschokes* I'll try my best to tell you about the very first week there - orientation!
(Disclaimer: the author does not hold any responsibility from any misunderstandings that may arise from the reading of this post, due to the author's rusty memory and inability to remember details)
Ok so you already know that you have to register on a Sunday. During then, they will give you your keys to the apartment and you will meet your roommates and all. Of course, you need your own bedsheets and pillowcasing. The mattress and pillows will be provided and also a locker to keep all your gold =P. (for the girls' hostel) Mydin & Giant are merely a few minutes walk away from the girls' hostel, so you can get whatever you need from there. After you settle down and all, you'll have to go for a talk at the the boys' hostel hall. There you'll meet the people who will take care of you along the length of your stay at the hostel (lecturers who take care of the welfare of the students). after that you may return to your hostel.. at night they will provide you with food, you collect it from the ceramah hall and then they have another talk at the boys' hostel hall (a bit rusty here). don't worry - food is provided the whole week during orientation. at 6 am the next morning, you all have to be prepared to go to college. the buses will come take you, but you first have to gather in front of your hostel block (the people in charge will further brief you).you'll have your brekkie, and you'll go into the great hall to be briefed, and this time you meet with the college people.. along the way, you'll have respective sponsors' briefing..and also after that you'll be split into groups for activities. the activities are meant for you to get to know the college better =) (you get personally guided tours!). the orientation also allows you to know your seniors better, they'll come to give talks in between activities.
I'll spare some details so you get to experience it yourselves! (ok my hand is tired and I risk getting carpal tunnel syndrome)! hope it helps!
Thats weird. JPA called me. They told me that i have to register on Monday at Kolej Cemara/Akasia section 18.
Anyway, thanks a lot for sharing your experience! :))
05-06-2009, 01:46 AM
Thats weird. JPA called me. They told me that i have to register on Monday at Kolej Cemara/Akasia section 18.
Anyway, thanks a lot for sharing your experience! :))
Easy. Just go to section 18. If the guards tell you to go to section 17 to register, then you have your answer on where to register :P
HAHA! Well, actually i called JPA & INTEC (just to be sure ya know). But still, both of them gave me diff answers. JPA still say that i have to reg on monday while INTEC said i have to reg on sunday.
Dont INTEC & JPA have a good communication or something? Really troublesome.
But atleast im not planning to pack so many stuffs as i dun plan to stay there. Maybe for a night or two, so still have to pack a little. LOL.
05-06-2009, 02:17 AM
HAHA! Well, actually i called JPA & INTEC (just to be sure ya know). But still, both of them gave me diff answers. JPA still say that i have to reg on monday while INTEC said i have to reg on sunday.
But atleast im not planning to pack so many stuffs as i dun plan to stay there. Maybe for a night or two, so still have to pack a little. LOL.
swt. Who works on sundays anyway?
hmmmmm
05-06-2009, 10:35 AM
what is INTEC?
-International Education Centre.
the standard?
-This is why i started this very thread.
EDUCATE ME. thnx.
Soon-to-be-Intec-students, let's work our magic :D
start talking!
Use the search function. Don't open new thread when there's old thread that exist. ~Capablanca
music_freak28
05-06-2009, 12:30 PM
JPA still say that i have to reg on monday while INTEC said i have to reg on sunday.
I'd suggest that you follow what Intec said. More accurate. Last year's registration was also on Sunday. Plus, I am not sure if it's related, but my job as a student helper for the new batch starts on 28th june 2009. So your registration day should be a Sunday.
swt. Who works on sundays anyway?
We as student helpers do. Lol
ilyyy
05-06-2009, 12:46 PM
in my letter, it said ill be taking my ausmat for 2yrs in intec..
i tot ausmat is a 1 n 1/2 year course?
runninghorse
05-06-2009, 12:54 PM
in my letter, it said ill be taking my ausmat for 2yrs in intec..
i tot ausmat is a 1 n 1/2 year course?
Maybe you will know the truth when you reach here..
We also do not have a clue on why is this so.
For so long, all AUSMAT students here in INTEC will further thier study in Australia or New Zealand and the course is only 1.5 years.
ilyyy
05-06-2009, 12:59 PM
Maybe you will know the truth when you reach here..
We also do not have a clue on why is this so.
For so long, all AUSMAT students here in INTEC will further thier study in Australia or New Zealand and the course is only 1.5 years.
http://www.intec.uitm.edu.my/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=40&Itemid=153
even here, nottingham uni isnt in the list..
aaah...
05-06-2009, 01:10 PM
What you mean by not planning to stay there?
Bunga
05-06-2009, 01:28 PM
FYI, if u're gng there as a JPA scholar, u DIWAJIBKAN to stay in the campus, x kisah where ever u r from. U have to register on sunday at intec cz u will be asigned to yr rooms and stuff and on monday they are starting the orientation already. So, they dun want students coming in on the orientation day.
er although you plan not to stay there, you should stay in the first week, the orientation week because you:
1) have to attend the activities planned out for you, which sometimes begin as early as 6am (gathering time before heading to the college)
2) will return quite late because of the day is usually packed
so unless you live in shah alam or your house is like.. less than a couple of minutes away, you should stay. After the week is up then you can decide what suits you best. But of course, whatever suits you - I'm just sharing the experience we got last year =)
and also, they usually require people to register on sunday cause like I mentioned earlier, the activities begin on sunday.
ahh, and for those who have read my previous posts - please bear in mind that this applies only to the girls' hostel. cause the boys' hostel is in an entirely different section altogether =)
kanashibari
05-06-2009, 02:04 PM
just to confirm, is it 4 people to one unit apartment? 2 person per room?
music_freak28
05-06-2009, 02:18 PM
just to confirm, is it 4 people to one unit apartment? 2 person per room?
Yep. That's right
do classes commence right after the orientation week?
of course it does =)
hmmmmm
05-06-2009, 06:45 PM
what is INTEC?
-International Education Centre.
the standard?
-This is why i started this very thread.
EDUCATE ME. thnx.
Soon-to-be-Intec-students, let's work our magic :D
start talking!
Use the search function. Don't open new thread when there's old thread that exist. ~Capablanca
deng =.= Capablanca. i'm not coming to cendana / akasia la. cendana. tat's why i start new thread. damn.
05-06-2009, 07:13 PM
deng =.= Capablanca. i'm not coming to cendana / akasia la. cendana. tat's why i start new thread. damn.
I guess I'll just edit the title of the thread to say Cemara & Akasia + Cendana. Satisfied?
lambogreeny
05-06-2009, 07:58 PM
Life in INTEC is quite cool.. haha
shout out 2 the KTJ students out there!!! :nuts
btw, im in Cemara. :)
holycreeper
06-06-2009, 05:11 PM
questions:
1.are batiks necessary for male students? My fren said it's better to have one.
2.How big are the rooms? If it's small, i shall limit my luggage.
3.Are laptops necessary?
4.Stated on the Panduan that there will be NO FOOD provided. I wonder if the canteen operates 24/7.
Qistinatalib
06-06-2009, 07:22 PM
has anyone heard about the intruder that broke into akasia bout 2 weeks ago? so scary...thank god i was having holidays at that time >.< that's the only grouse i have bout akasia - it's not safe. what with the new petronas built directly behind block 9, it's easier for intruders to scale up the fence! thats how the intruder got away btw...haiyo the guards really sleep on their jobs la. that wasnt the first time it happened last semester >.>
apart from that, those coming to akasia/cemara should consider themselves lucky bcoz its so convenient! mydin and giant so nearby. cheap laundry services. food is okay laaa, you'll get bored after some time. Thank god there're a variety of kedai makan here.
kanashibari
06-06-2009, 09:31 PM
i'm interested to know how much exactly is the laundry fee. hehe, too dependent at home, planning to send my clothings to laundry service if it's really cheap.
music_freak28
06-06-2009, 10:17 PM
questions:
3.Are laptops necessary?
4.Stated on the Panduan that there will be NO FOOD provided. I wonder if the canteen operates 24/7.
1. Batik rule are not really enforced anymore but it is better to have one just in case they decide to come up with the rule again
2. I am guessing that you'll be staying in Cendana. I think it is slightly bigger but there will be 6people in an apartment. So my advice: limit your luggage. You can share the electrical appliances like kettles, rice cookers with your housemates so you can get that later. Don't end up like one of the rooms in Akasia where there are 4 rice cookers for 4 people! :P
3. I think if you live far from the hostel and you can't go back home every weekend, it is wise to have one especially if you are in ADFP, AUSMAT and even ALM since nowadays we have to hand in a 2500 words report for Biology every fortnight. Plus, a laptop can keep you company during those boring weekends. Wireless service is not so good though, so be prepared to share a modem if you are a heavy online user.
4. Food allowance is provided by JPA so food is not provided by Intec. We have three cafes in Intec: ALM Cafe, AUSMAT cafe and ADFP cafe, they operate mostly for lunch. Not sure for dinner though. But definitely not 24/7. In Cendana, sorry to inform you but there is only one mamak stall. But there is a bus that can bring you straight to Cemara/Akasia where there are a greater variety of food there.
RestlessMind
07-06-2009, 08:07 AM
Life in INTEC is quite cool.. haha
shout out 2 the KTJ students out there!!! :nuts
btw, im in Cemara. :)
i`m missing my joyful life in intec :P
u guys r more lucky than me, got mydin, ole2, Secret recipe some more! haha
during my time, only got giant :amuse
still got makcik selling nasi lemak in front of akasia? wow i miss the sambal soo much haha
07-06-2009, 08:18 AM
has anyone heard about the intruder that broke into akasia bout 2 weeks ago? so scary...thank god i was having holidays at that time >.< that's the only grouse i have bout akasia - it's not safe. what with the new petronas built directly behind block 9, it's easier for intruders to scale up the fence! thats how the intruder got away btw...haiyo the guards really sleep on their jobs la. that wasnt the first time it happened last semester >.>
apart from that, those coming to akasia/cemara should consider themselves lucky bcoz its so convenient! mydin and giant so nearby. cheap laundry services. food is okay laaa, you'll get bored after some time. Thank god there're a variety of kedai makan here.Break ins happen all the time... sigh...
i'm interested to know how much exactly is the laundry fee. hehe, too dependent at home, planning to send my clothings to laundry service if it's really cheap.it was RM5 for quite a big load during my time. Not sure if the price has been raised this time round
still got makcik selling nasi lemak in front of akasia? wow i miss the sambal soo much hahaI miss the sambal of the nasi lemak stall outside of INTEC :P
RestlessMind
07-06-2009, 08:28 AM
Break ins happen all the time... sigh...
it was RM5 for quite a big load during my time. Not sure if the price has been raised this time round
I miss the sambal of the nasi lemak stall outside of INTEC :P
got meh? u mean the stalls near the bus station at 17? if u mean that stalls, yes i went there quite often to buy my bfast.. (i used to go to intec very early cz ddnt want to be pushed n smacked down whn trying to get into the bus) haha
btw, u were in intec in whch year?
07-06-2009, 08:34 AM
got meh? u mean the stalls near the bus station at 17? if u mean that stalls, yes i went there quite often to buy my bfast.. (i used to go to intec very early cz ddnt want to be pushed n smacked down whn trying to get into the bus) haha
btw, u were in intec in whch year?
Yea those... I usually visit the stall that serves the smaller ikan bilis.
I have mastered the art of getting onto the first bus after I get to the place where the buses come. So no need for me to come to the stop that early everyday hehehe...
I was in INTEC from 2003 until the end of 2005
(yes, i am the dinosaur here)
lambogreeny
07-06-2009, 12:38 PM
Yea those... I usually visit the stall that serves the smaller ikan bilis.
I have mastered the art of getting onto the first bus after I get to the place where the buses come. So no need for me to come to the stop that early everyday hehehe...
I was in INTEC from 2003 until the end of 2005
(yes, i am the dinosaur here)
waa...senior..senior...
still got makcik selling nasi lemak in front of akasia? wow i miss the sambal soo much haha
yea...now gt everything except cinema(!!)... :cry haha
RestlessMind
07-06-2009, 12:43 PM
waa...senior..senior...
yea...now gt everything except cinema(!!)... :cry haha
go to gsc klang parade lor :)) hahahahahaa.. no la just joking.. i never went to tht damn scary place:laugh
holycreeper
07-06-2009, 06:01 PM
are these things allowed to be brought to Cendana?
1. rice cooker (since we cant cook in cendana)
2. biscuits, crackers and JUNK FOOD ( i need these to live)
3. 3 in 1 Milo, Coffee, teabags (I think can la)
4. maggie mee (supper & emergencies esp during special occasions)
Are we advised to bring these electrical items??
1. Rice cooker (if allowed)
2. Fan (are the rooms air-conditioned?)
3. Iron + board (to dress smartly)
07-06-2009, 06:32 PM
are these things allowed to be brought to Cendana?
1. rice cooker (since we cant cook in cendana)
2. biscuits, crackers and JUNK FOOD ( i need these to live)
3. 3 in 1 Milo, Coffee, teabags (I think can la)
4. maggie mee (supper & emergencies esp during special occasions)
Are we advised to bring these electrical items??
1. Rice cooker (if allowed)
2. Fan (are the rooms air-conditioned?)
3. Iron + board (to dress smartly)
Cendana should be treated the same as cemara and akasia. Thus you can bring along the food stuffs that you have mentioned.
2. The rooms aren't air conditioned. So bring along your own fan. But coordinate with your friends so you don't end up with 6 fans in the apartment...
3. yes you can
JonChua
07-06-2009, 07:42 PM
Cendana should be treated the same as cemara and akasia. Thus you can bring along the food stuffs that you have mentioned.
2. The rooms aren't air conditioned. So bring along your own fan. But coordinate with your friends so you don't end up with 6 fans in the apartment...
3. yes you can
Lol sounds like Obama "Yes we can!!"
hai..do anyone gt jpa scholarship n major in biotech n will go intec college?
hello! i will be doing A levels in INTEC for med. anybody here knows how long are the classes averaged per day? what time does it end? hehe thanks ya...
I'd suggest that you follow what Intec said. More accurate. Last year's registration was also on Sunday. Plus, I am not sure if it's related, but my job as a student helper for the new batch starts on 28th june 2009. So your registration day should be a Sunday.
We as student helpers do. Lol
halo....may i ask a ques since u r student helper?
i wanna ask can we stay in hostel on 27/6?
i m a sarawakian n i ll reach shah alam on 27 june wif some of my frens...
we r wondering whether we can stay in hostel overnite for tat nite o not..if tis works, then we nid not to book hotel.:P
can someone plz ans us?
for student helpers.....
may i knw when we reached klia, is thr any transportation services frm INTEC to fetch us frm klia to intec???
or we nid settle our own way to intec?
thanks for lending a hand
JonChua
08-06-2009, 05:33 AM
hello! i will be doing A levels in INTEC for med. anybody here knows how long are the classes averaged per day? what time does it end? hehe thanks ya...
Hey there!! Welcome to ALM (A-level medicine)!! Which uni are u headed to? Well, u can expect about 2 long days until 4 or so and the rest will be until about 1 except fri which is until 12. But it largely depends on who ur class rep is, if he/she is like me (sleepy, dun wan to stay in class, wan 2 go back quickly XD) he/she would actively try to minimize the time u have to stay in class by negotiating with ur lecturers. If ur class rep is content to stay in class with ridiculous waiting times between classes, then, it all depends on how u look at it (sei lo or YAY!!).
Ergo, ur choice of class rep determines the amt of time u stay in class :)
may i knw when we reached klia, is thr any transportation services frm INTEC to fetch us frm klia to intec???
Nope, there isnt. U have to settle urself.
But there is a bus that can bring you straight to Cemara/Akasia where there are a greater variety of food there.
Eh Larry, where got direct bus straight to section 18 AKA Heaven (coz there's decent grub and chicks!!) for Cendanians? For cendanians, u can take the shuttle bus to INTEC and then to sek 18. OR, u could take the T602 (or was it T603? I forgot XD one of them goes round the main campus) which is like the only public bus that stops at cendana to section 2. Then take the T529 to sek 18.
i'm interested to know how much exactly is the laundry fee. hehe, too dependent at home, planning to send my clothings to laundry service if it's really cheap.
Where are u going? Cendana or Akasia/Cemara? In Cendana my 1 week full load (this was during the heatwave so sweating like a stuck pig, wearing 2 t-shirts a day and about 2-3 pairs of shorts a week plus briefs, handkerchiefs and a pair of trousers) was about 10-15. In Cendana INTEC students get a 10% discount at the dhobi. Dunno about Akasia/Cemara tho. Only moving there next sem.
questions:
3.Are laptops necessary?
1. Yeah, just bring one to decorate ur cupboard. Its not necessary but just bring it IN CASE u have to wear it (HATE batik, so hard to wash, colour coming out all the time...)
2.Quite ok la, but its better to have as little stuff as possible. Last sem ppl said i pindah rumah coz got too much stuff :-P Its easier to shift out and move in at the end and beginning of the sem with less stuff. If ur from Sabah/Sarawak then feel free to spam ur stuff coz there's storage provided.
3. Ur a guy, rite? So if ur a gamer (normally guys, girls even more welcome) then dengan segala hormatnya dipersilakan to bring ur laptop to keep ur sanity intact by DotA, CS, FIFA, SIMS 3 (ITS OUT!!!), Bioshock, Dawn of War 2 (Best RTS ever!!), or Pokemon and Harvest Moon (hehe Jonathan Wong isnt here, rite? Muahahaha...). Alternatively, for both sexes, a laptop is very useful for assignments, entertainment (illegally downloaded movies, pirated vcd...) and internet.
Btw, only use the internet in INTEC for academic purposes. Dun bother using Chinese software like PPStream, Thunder, Tudou, etc. for entertainment purposes. Last feb PPStream worked but now it doesnt. Apparently sum pok gai imbecile blocked it. The blardy web blocker in INTEC is called WEBSENSE. Better free and unblocked internet connection can be obtained in McDonalds sek 2, KFC sek 18 and Pak Li sek 18. P1 WIMAX is in sek 18 but not in sek 6 btw.
runninghorse
08-06-2009, 11:07 AM
we r wondering whether we can stay in hostel overnite for tat nite o not..if tis works, then we nid not to book hotel.:P
can someone plz ans us
Yes. You can stay in hostel in advance. Try to call the administration staffs there and they will assist you.
chihuahua
08-06-2009, 12:12 PM
what about housemates??
they choose for us or we choose ourselves??
and how did they choose??
same courses, same house or what?
runninghorse
08-06-2009, 01:19 PM
what about housemates??
they choose for us or we choose ourselves??
and how did they choose??
same courses, same house or what?
They choose and it is random. Usually ppl from the same preU programme will be staying together.
kanashibari
08-06-2009, 02:14 PM
hmm, those headed to ireland will take maths or physics?
There are many ways to get around Websense at INTEC. Torrenters need not despair. And Google Cache can be your best friend. And etc.
Just so you know. :)
reply to jonchua.(dont know how to quote =D)
btw i hope i get a class rep like you. haha cause too many breaks is boring and waste of time... and isnt two years a levels like kinda too long? but well most of intakes are in sept...
soooo usually, when is the next holiday? im excited about the next holiday. hehehe....
Hey there!! Welcome to ALM (A-level medicine)!! Which uni are u headed to? Well, u can expect about 2 long days until 4 or so and the rest will be until about 1 except fri which is until 12. But it largely depends on who ur class rep is, if he/she is like me (sleepy, dun wan to stay in class, wan 2 go back quickly XD) he/she would actively try to minimize the time u have to stay in class by negotiating with ur lecturers. If ur class rep is content to stay in class with ridiculous waiting times between classes, then, it all depends on how u look at it (sei lo or YAY!!).
Ergo, ur choice of class rep determines the amt of time u stay in class :)
Nope, there isnt. U have to settle urself.
Eh Larry, where got direct bus straight to section 18 AKA Heaven (coz there's decent grub and chicks!!) for Cendanians? For cendanians, u can take the shuttle bus to INTEC and then to sek 18. OR, u could take the T602 (or was it T603? I forgot XD one of them goes round the main campus) which is like the only public bus that stops at cendana to section 2. Then take the T529 to sek 18.
Where are u going? Cendana or Akasia/Cemara? In Cendana my 1 week full load (this was during the heatwave so sweating like a stuck pig, wearing 2 t-shirts a day and about 2-3 pairs of shorts a week plus briefs, handkerchiefs and a pair of trousers) was about 10-15. In Cendana INTEC students get a 10% discount at the dhobi. Dunno about Akasia/Cemara tho. Only moving there next sem.
1. Yeah, just bring one to decorate ur cupboard. Its not necessary but just bring it IN CASE u have to wear it (HATE batik, so hard to wash, colour coming out all the time...)
2.Quite ok la, but its better to have as little stuff as possible. Last sem ppl said i pindah rumah coz got too much stuff :-P Its easier to shift out and move in at the end and beginning of the sem with less stuff. If ur from Sabah/Sarawak then feel free to spam ur stuff coz there's storage provided.
3. Ur a guy, rite? So if ur a gamer (normally guys, girls even more welcome) then dengan segala hormatnya dipersilakan to bring ur laptop to keep ur sanity intact by DotA, CS, FIFA, SIMS 3 (ITS OUT!!!), Bioshock, Dawn of War 2 (Best RTS ever!!), or Pokemon and Harvest Moon (hehe Jonathan Wong isnt here, rite? Muahahaha...). Alternatively, for both sexes, a laptop is very useful for assignments, entertainment (illegally downloaded movies, pirated vcd...) and internet.
Btw, only use the internet in INTEC for academic purposes. Dun bother using Chinese software like PPStream, Thunder, Tudou, etc. for entertainment purposes. Last feb PPStream worked but now it doesnt. Apparently sum pok gai imbecile blocked it. The blardy web blocker in INTEC is called WEBSENSE. Better free and unblocked internet connection can be obtained in McDonalds sek 2, KFC sek 18 and Pak Li sek 18. P1 WIMAX is in sek 18 but not in sek 6 btw.
oh i found out how to quote. paisehh...hehe...
lindafeehily
08-06-2009, 10:24 PM
hi everyone..just curious..
is the amount of elaun given by jpa is enough for us?
i think we spend approximately rm10 a day..rm10x30 = rm300
how bout other pendings like bus fees and books??? any opinion??
the elaun jpa bagi rm430 a month lolz
Yes. You can stay in hostel in advance. Try to call the administration staffs there and they will assist you.
i ve called twice to intec stuffs to ask abt it.....:(
in morning i called n the stuff told me, YES, U MAY..
in afternoon, i called again to ask abt wat time.......
the another stuff told me, NOPE, U CAN'T MOVE INTO HOSTEL SO FAST B4 UR REGISTRATION DAY....U VE TO SETTLE UR REGISTRATION THING 1ST ON 28/6..........
:cry tat's y i really blur nw.......
can someone tell me???
music_freak28
09-06-2009, 01:40 AM
can someone plz ans us?
for student helpers.....
I doubt you can stay one day earlier because they need to register you as a new student. But you can try reconfirming... most likely it's a no-no. My friends from Sarawak last time use to stay at hotels first. :)
Hehe. Transport from klia: Self settle.
It is enough but if you stay far away (out of Klang Valley) there is almost nothing to save. The first month will be heavy because you'll have to pay for books. But we get a lot of holidays..so plus minus should be able to get by:)
*Smacks head*. Larry is not the only music freak in Intec. :P Hey, I thought there is one bus at night that travels from Cendana-Akasia. I took that once after a meeting in Cendana. Oh well, maybe they don't offer that service anymore.
hmm, those headed to ireland will take maths or physics?
Physics. No choice at all.
haha cause too many breaks is boring and waste of time... and isnt two years a levels like kinda too long?
soooo usually, when is the next holiday? im excited about the next holiday. hehehe....
Yerp 2 years is long. Especially if you have started in other private colleges before this. But make the most out of your time.
Next holidays should be end of August.
I doubt you can stay one day earlier because they need to register you as a new student. But you can try reconfirming... most likely it's a no-no. My friends from Sarawak last time use to stay at hotels first. :)
Hehe. Transport from klia: Self settle.
It is enough but if you stay far away (out of Klang Valley) there is almost nothing to save. The first month will be heavy because you'll have to pay for books. But we get a lot of holidays..so plus minus should be able to get by:)
*Smacks head*. Larry is not the only music freak in Intec. :P Hey, I thought there is one bus at night that travels from Cendana-Akasia. I took that once after a meeting in Cendana. Oh well, maybe they don't offer that service anymore.
Physics. No choice at all.
Yerp 2 years is long. Especially if you have started in other private colleges before this. But make the most out of your time.
Next holidays should be end of August.
oh means pmc ireland bound students will be doing chem bio and phy? or chem bio phy maths?
yep i did AS in Disted penang for four subs and wasted my darn money. End of august sounds so long. by the way, if classes ends before 2pm, then what most ppl will do there? SSTUDY and STUDY? AS revision of f5...no need kua..hehe ,just curious. thanks!
Han1219
09-06-2009, 11:13 AM
I think rm430 is enough. You don't have to worry for the bus fees, bus will be provided f.o.c! for the books, you can get it in a photocopy centre or wat we so-called "double A", if u want the original books, u definitely have to pay more, of course. (Depends your lecterurs whether they allow you to use the photocopied books or not) Or maybe you can get secondhand books from senior...:P
runninghorse
09-06-2009, 11:47 AM
In short, it is more than enough. Provided that you dont go shopping every week and lead an extravagant life there. Bus service is free for students and you dont need to buy books everyday. So it's ok.
i ve called twice to intec stuffs to ask abt it.....:(
in morning i called n the stuff told me, YES, U MAY..
in afternoon, i called again to ask abt wat time.......
the another stuff told me, NOPE, U CAN'T MOVE INTO HOSTEL SO FAST B4 UR REGISTRATION DAY....U VE TO SETTLE UR REGISTRATION THING 1ST ON 28/6..........
:cry tat's y i really blur nw.......
can someone tell me???
You try to explain to the staffs there that you are from East Malaysia and perhaps lie to them that the hotels in Shah Alam is fully booked. Haha...
It should be no problem. I have a friend who stayed there in advance before registration last year.
kanashibari
09-06-2009, 12:07 PM
so any seniors here who want to sell their books???
for ALM, ireland.
skatemusicianer
09-06-2009, 12:38 PM
Hi kanashibari..nice to meet an ireland bound junior. : ) hmmmmm u can buy my Biology cambridge..i don't use it much. i prefer the longman as and a2 books. by the way, there's a photostate shop selling photostated reference books which will save you a ton of cash..haha! : )
but the college will tell u to buy original of course.
Looking forward to meeting u.
Casperloo
09-06-2009, 12:58 PM
Hi kanashibari..nice to meet an ireland bound junior. : ) hmmmmm u can buy my Biology cambridge..i don't use it much. i prefer the longman as and a2 books. by the way, there's a photostate shop selling photostated reference books which will save you a ton of cash..haha! : )
ur longman biology is campbell or??
music_freak28
09-06-2009, 01:17 PM
oh means pmc ireland bound students will be doing chem bio and phy? or chem bio phy maths?
yep i did AS in Disted penang for four subs and wasted my darn money. End of august sounds so long. by the way, if classes ends before 2pm, then what most ppl will do there? SSTUDY and STUDY? AS revision of f5...no need kua..hehe ,just curious. thanks!
Chem, Bio and Physics only. 3 subjects only. Haha way lesser than private colleges right? Colleges like HELP and Taylors have five AS and four A2s. But no harm to take Maths as an extra if you want. Plus, you have a greater advantage as one generally require lesser assistance from teachers for Maths compared to Physics. That is if you have solid Maths background.
I wouldn't say that you wasted your money on private colleges. At least you can chill during the first semester since everything will seem rather slow for you. Lots of time to participate in other stuffs and explore your other hidden talents :wink
Haha after 2pm? Study, finish up homework, read newspapers and books, listen to music, sports like jogging, football and basketball. 1st semester is very free. You can still get 8 hours of sleep while keeping up with your work.
kanashibari
09-06-2009, 01:32 PM
hi! since u r ireland bound senior, mind having a look at the ireland medicine thread and reply some questions i have there???
cambridge biology? i thought those in intec will take edexcel instead of cambridge? huh, and just one book for sale eh? i was thinking to get the whole set of books that are necessary for us to use in classes. i would prefer the original books better that's why i'm starting my hunt for second hand ori books now cos i do know that new ones could be very very expensive.
one last thing. do the lecturers often give out their own notes or do they use specific books? and what are the books that they usually use? brand, author, and publication please. wanna check them out in local bookstores.
prawnie
09-06-2009, 06:15 PM
We're using Biology textbook from Cambridge board? Is it the black+green coloured one?
09-06-2009, 06:42 PM
Since this thread serves redundant purpose with Cemara/Akasia FAQ (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5193), it will be closed. All further discussions should take place there