View Full Version : Life in INTEC (Cemara & Akasia + Cendana)

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

08-06-2004, 12:10 AM
~* Walking along the path of life

Let?s discuss something about the life in Cemara + akasia...
it?s something worth sharing..
Do u have anything to ask about the food, transportation, politics etc in INTEC... ?

08-06-2004, 12:12 AM
enjoy!!!

08-06-2004, 12:59 AM
On questions about INTEC in particular,it wil be answered here.

Non Muslims will take theology and philosophy + ethics at INTEC, whereas Muslims will take Islamic Studies.

For roommate at Akasia, Cemara, typically it is assigned based on the order you check in at hostel. 3 people to a room and 2 rooms per apartment. So, say 1st to 3rd student that report in will stay same room, and 4th to 6th student will stay next room and all 6 in same apartment. Typically, those in same program will be housed together, although all of you guys will reach other rooms within 3 minutes.

Orientation at INTEC, there would be a number of talks/briefings. 6 meals a day. For those with special dietary needs (vegetarian etc), do inform your Orientation Committee (OC), and they can get for you. For some programs, like US Program, I believe that there would be placement exam, to decide which class you would be in... Guess it would be english (called verbal) and math, ala SAT.

For Muslims, there will be prayer areas allocated for you guys and for non-muslims, there will be non-muslim sessions. There might be games too over those orientation time.

08-06-2004, 01:37 AM
Err chenchow.. I think every semester they will make some alteration...
for example.. last time 6 people live in one appartment... they change the policy into 4 people in one room.. that?s why there was once pemusnahan perabot secara besar-besaran.

now they build one big palace... it?s not fully functioning yet but I am not sure whether it?s functioning now or not..

however for those who wish to have internet access I advice you guys to apply for cyber cafe membership... you can get discount for it. The games are nice there... just recently there?s a cyber cafe rerenovate into a big game pool...

for those who wish to hunt for chinese food, I suggest you to explore seksyen 25, 15, 16 and 13 (giant has food)

last time chenchow batch and my batch the ATU students were very active doing a lot of activities... I remember I help up in chinese new year night as a dancer... it?s very memorable. but after that it has become so quiet.. I hope you guys will revive the kind of spirit in cemara akasia...

that?s all for now... enjoy your life there.

08-06-2004, 01:41 AM
iQing, the 3 to a room, is supposed to be the current setting. Gotten the info from DFish, who is in Korean program, who just reported at INTEC last week.

08-06-2004, 01:47 AM
oh yeah... I think the water in cemara is not clean... it has some iron particles in it. I suggest u guys kongsi wang to buy a water filter..

or you can go to a water station near the dobi shop to get some fresh water...

however I advice you guys try not to part the cars along cemara akasia road..
there has been cases where the weather was so bad that big tree branches have crushed on cars...

08-06-2004, 01:54 AM
OK.. i would like to discuss about german course in this posting.
you guys will have to learn german language and A Level subjects at the same time...
I expect that there will be some changes in your course. Last year there was a drastic change in subjects and this year I heard my juniors will no longer be able to take Diplom... they have to take bachelor master programme....
Physics teacher : Sudad al-Harran is a good teacher and Mr cheung too... I think puan naslinda will teach u maths too...
however miss yap (maths teacher) is not a cooperative teacher as she teaches super fast without caring whether you understand or not so you have to study a lot on your own....
that?s all for now. I hope you enjoy the course...! good luck!

aquila
08-06-2004, 02:34 AM
Beginning my year (last year), an auntie from Sek 16 brings packaged Chinese food to the front of Akasia. Sometimes the food is good and sometimes it's bad. However, dinner for RM2.50. It's a steal, if you ask me.

I don't know if the tradition is continued till today. Is the auntie still making her rounds these days?

08-06-2004, 02:38 AM
And I think the old Section 25, those stalls, like in pasar, there is an economy rice stalls that is very cheap. It looks low class, and a bit oily, but nice food and much cheaper than the newer Section 25. A good meal is around RM2+.

08-06-2004, 04:10 AM
however miss yap (maths teacher) is not a cooperative teacher as she teaches super fast without caring whether you understand or not so you have to study a lot on your own....

she teaches just fine for me. You can always ask her questions. No one told you to sit quietly.

david_david
08-06-2004, 09:09 AM
For the French programme, we will be there for only three months, and then go to France for Pre-U.Is there any changes?.Anybody know how's the France programme in INTEC is like??

Any idea how many students were sent to France in the last few batches?

If our French is not good, will we be made to stay back after the first three months?

Are students to France taking Diplom, or is there a change like in the German course.

Are sunday's free?Got to go to church.what about transport?

How 's the hostel room's like?

how's the Library.

08-06-2004, 09:38 AM
I believe it has been so for some time. 3 months of French lessons, before going to France. The France program, I think it is quite good. There would be lecturers from France. I believe if it has not changed, it is 25 students per year.

Basically you will learn French from 8am to 430pm, with some lunch break in between. So, basically it is intensive French for 3 months.

You will still fly after 3 months. I still remember for my year, there are a few of 3rd intakers. They joined in august and at that time, it was like 3 more days of class left and they are supposed to go for BTN and then fly to France. They still survived!

I believe they are still taking Diplom, as far as my friends who are still there.

After 430pm and Saturday and Sunday is free.

It depends on where you want to go.

There is bus to KL (Park May, takes about an hour.)
There is also a KTM Kommuter station. The station is about 15-20 minutes walking distance. If you are lazy to walk, bus there is like 70 or 80 cents or cab is about RM3 for 4 persons.

From KTM Kommuter, guess you can go most places already. Subang Jaya is quite near. About 10 minutes on KTM Kommuter.

Hostel room, read above. 3 to a room, 2 rooms per apartment. Nothing luxurious, but livable. Tiled, has a kitchen, although nothing is there. So, you have to bring your own. Most just eat out. A toilet and place for you to hang clothes.

Library, pretty big too..about 30,000-40,000 books. I enjoyed taking random books there and read. There are some sofa with various newspapers and a TV there for you to read... Not sure any change from before.

naoj
08-06-2004, 10:08 AM
Oh fantastic..kudos to whoever..iQing i believe who set up this intec thread. Seems like so many of us got intec.

Questions from blur ol me:

Are we all expected to board at intec? What about those in the klang valley?
And one more..there is a dress code right? And my letter says i must get two baju kurungs..er why?
Is the ADP programme good? Why is it extra one year?

Thank you so so so so so much.

windy_city
08-06-2004, 11:21 AM
last time chenchow batch and my batch the ATU students were very active doing a lot of activities... I remember I help up in chinese new year night as a dancer... it?s very memorable. but after that it has become so quiet.. I hope you guys will revive the kind of spirit in cemara akasia...

that?s all for now... enjoy your life there.

I remember my year, after Chen Chow year, me, Shian ling, Yan Ming, TZ, and......others from different program organize the biggest Chinese New Year(chap goh meh) celebration in INTEC( I think it should be the biggest in UiTM hisroty).I don?t know how, miracle or sth, but we manage to get about Rm3000 of funding from INTEC using our ?exaggerate proposal?. We had dance, lion dance, Chinese orchestra ??

Do not know whether they still had that this year or not.
Anyway it was fun organizing it with all the people from different programs.(ATU people is the "freest" after the SAT exams, so we are the most active one too, hahaha)
Anyway, try to organize something there and have some fun, dun always think of going to KL only!

windy_city
08-06-2004, 11:24 AM
Orientation at INTEC, there would be a number of talks/briefings. 6 meals a day. For those with special dietary needs (vegetarian etc), do inform your Orientation Committee (OC), and they can get for you. For some programs, like US Program, I believe that there would be placement exam, to decide which class you would be in... Guess it would be english (called verbal) and math, ala SAT.

For Muslims, there will be prayer areas allocated for you guys and for non-muslims, there will be non-muslim sessions. There might be games too over those orientation time.

When I was the OC last year, they scraped the math test, it was just verbal. But dunno what will they do this year. Anyway, since the "thing" last year, i dun think they will have any non-muslim session organize by OC anymore!!

08-06-2004, 11:30 AM
May be you guys that are going to INTEC can indicate here and what program you will be in, so that others among you guys can contact one another to perhaps meet each other there!

Direction to INTEC. This is particularly useful to those from Northern Malaysia, going in using North South Highway. The easiest route would be to go in using North Klang Valley Expressway (NKEV) (the stretch that had the landslide, and just reopened a few days ago). You would take a left at the fork immediately after the Restaurant Jejantas.

From there it is about 30-45 minutes to INTEC. Exit at Shah Alam exit, which is just next to Shah Alam Stadium. From there, follow the sign in this particular order (If there is signs stating going to Section 17(INTEC) 18(Cemara,Akasia), follow the sign. Hostel is just about a few minutes to campus. By the way, where are you guys supposed to register? I believe at INTEC right? )(If there is no sign going to Sec 17,18, choose to follow sign board to Sec 19,20,15,16 ... Those that are neighbouring. You should find your ways. And another point is don't go into small roads. Use the main roads. The worst case is you reach a roundabout and you can keep on circling it.

While INTEC is part of UiTM, it is not in the UiTM main campus. So, don't follow the signboard into UiTM Main Campus (Sec 2). The signboard signaling UiTM most likely means the main campus. In fact, if you get to the roundabout with the word UiTM in the grass, you are pretty near to INTEC. Follow signboard to Sec 17,18 from there.

If really can't find, follow sign board to Pusat Bandar and INTEC is not too far from there. Other roads to enter Shah Alam including Federal Highway, Kesas etc. With hundreds of parents sending their children on that day, and the factories around in Shah Alam, there could be traffic jam on that day, but other than that, driving to Shah Alam is nice and easy.

Are we all expected to board at intec? What about those in the klang valley?
You are expected to board at INTEC, but they will not monitor whether you actually stay there. So, just get the hostel. You can put your stuff there and if you are living near and you want to go home everyday, feel free to do so. However, I believe that part of the learning process is to live with others and learn together. To those who are leaving home for the first time, it could teach you independence before going abroad.

And one more..there is a dress code right? And my letter says i must get two baju kurungs..er why?
For guys, long sleeve shirt and tie is required for monday. For girls, baju kurung is required on Monday and Friday. For girls, long sleeve and long pants/ long skirts/baju kurung etc are needed whenever you pass the guard house (strictly speaking entire place, but particularly when you go through the guard house).
Guys are expected to wear long pants whenever pass the guard house too.

However, little tricks from experience, for girls, many bring a thin sweater, just to wear whenever pass the guardhouse. So, you are covering your whole hand. For guys, it would depend on the guard. I have been wearing shorts almost all the time, and didn't really get into trouble.

Is the ADP programme good? Why is it extra one year?

I would say that the ADP program is very good, top notch program. Over the past few years, there have been consistently a great number of students from ADP Program entering top institutions in US. From what I can recall, the figure is over the past 4 batches:- MIT(>=6), Harvard(3), Stanford(>=6), UPenn(>=8), Cornell(12), etc etc.

This is a basic time line for the program for ATU program.
June to October: Preparation for SAT 1, taking course like Writing, Reading and Study Skills, Language Awareness (Grammar), Oral Communication, American Cultural Studies, Theology and Philosophy (non-Muslims), Islamic Studies(muslims), preparation for TOEFL.
(This list is based on what I think is being done currently, they modify it a little bit from year to year). During this period, you would select your universities and prepare for applications too. Each student would be allowed to apply 3-4 universities paid by JPA and you can apply for other universities if you wish on your own(but you can only go to those if these are ivy league or ivy league standard) (Exception is that all 3-4 universities that you applied that are paid by JPA, you get rejection, then any other acceptance, you could go)

SAT1 exam is mid Oct, TOEFL Oct/Nov, SAT2 exam is early Dec.

After that you would go through 2nd semester from Dec or Jan for 16 weeks on courses like Calculus, Computer Science (C++), Islamic Studies(Muslims) or Ethics(Non Muslims), Writing, Intro to Engineering (for engineering students and some other courses for other students),...

Most university application deadline is about end of Nov or end of Dec. Major criteria in university application: recommendation letters(write about specific stuff about yourself), application essays(very important), interview(for top universities), co-curricular activities, SAT2, SAT1, SPM results, high school results, INTEC results, TOEFL(just to meet min requirement) etc. Basically they will evaluate your overall performance and decide. Remember that there is no appealing process. You would know the decision around March to first week of April, and there would be heart-breaking moments for many people. (You can read those ATU threads to see how anxious those people are.

(if you are staying far from Shah Alam, no harm approaching your teachers(or anyone that they really know pretty well about you, even tuition teachers, someone that you learn music from etc) for recommendation letters, you would need these in October, but especially if you are far, you won't be going back often. Get your certificates photocopied and certified too (again this is more essential for those outstation people). You would need 1 copy for each university you apply, so no harm getting 5-10 copies.

Anyway, don't worry too much... Most, if not all, of us enjoy our time in ATU program at INTEC. US universities will start in August/September, and application deadline is around Nov/Dec. So, basically the earliest you could go is August/Sep 2005.

08-06-2004, 11:38 AM
windy_city, guess I am 2 batches earlier than you.... I am ATU 5. The batch that comes in now, I think is ATU 12? (Those in ATU, is there Mara batch of ATU11?) if not ,then you guys are ATU 11. The batch that is going to fly to US is ATU 10.

windy_city
08-06-2004, 12:07 PM
windy_city, guess I am 2 batches earlier than you.... I am ATU 5. The batch that comes in now, I think is ATU 12? (Those in ATU, is there Mara batch of ATU11?) if not ,then you guys are ATU 11. The batch that is going to fly to US is ATU 10.

There was no MARA when i was the OC, mean there was no ATU11

08-06-2004, 12:38 PM
What I meant was is there a MARA scholar batch in Jan 2004. There was no MARA batch for Jan 2003, that's why JPA SPM 2002 batch is ATU 10, and not ATU 11.

naoj
08-06-2004, 02:38 PM
Thanks chen chow.Very informative.
We enrol on june 22.
I'm doing Econs. Anyone else? :)
Am excited.

lynnx01
08-06-2004, 04:14 PM
Hi people..

I am going to Intec for A Levels Medic. Been to Akasia.. erm. I don't know what to say actually. Kinda speechless. My current hostel has washing machine, water heater, aircon and tv. Too luxurious.. it will be a total tranformation for me then. But as long as there is water and electrity, I think I can survive. But the last time I went there, it was so hot! Windows no netting some more. Mosquitoes are free to feast on my fleshy flesh. Haha.

I hope I get good housemates. Those who have at least a teeny weeny bit of tolerance. If not, it would be a nightmare!

So anyone going Intec for A Levels Med?

lynnx01
08-06-2004, 04:18 PM
so so sorry. one question i left..

ermm kinda forgot the question.. oh dear.. short term memory loss.. aikss... hold on.. let me think..

oh yeah. my orientation is on june 22nd. will they assign me to my hostel right away? i am not planning to bring my luggage on that day.. advise me pls.

08-06-2004, 06:22 PM
What I meant was is there a MARA scholar batch in Jan 2004. There was no MARA batch for Jan 2003, that's why JPA SPM 2002 batch is ATU 10, and not ATU 11.

We don't have ppl from Mara in Jan, so i guess the oncoming batch will be the ATU11 batch.

Oh yeah, aquilla, i think the auntie Sue has stopped coming recently. i dunno why, but i think it's because of lesser students catering her food during this period.

chen chow, r u sure that we can wear shorts into UiTM? They even catch ppl with roundnecks. Hmm.... maybe those peeps aren't that lucky, i guess.

and to those juniors who will be coming to the poorly facilitated Cemara/akasia, just to forewarn (is there such word?) you... If you have a cat phobia, or cat allergy, or whatsoever about despising cats, then better be careful. UiTM and Cemara and Akasias are dominated by cats! Eeewww.... Yeap, they hopped on your dining table, trying to sniff at your chicken, they sit on library chairs (almost shouted when i almost sat on one that day), they are not afraid of human beings (due to human-immunization from the small children of the tukang cuci/sapu), and they are ubiquitous! If you have chance to kick one, just do it! LOL! no lar, that would be cruel, but i can't help feeling like kicking them...

08-06-2004, 06:25 PM
oh yeah, the HEP has cut down the number of helpers. Looks like they are only looking for gals helpers. Sigh! Can't bully the junior batch! :cry:

naoj
08-06-2004, 07:25 PM
So we should bring all our luggage and documents on the enrolment date?God, i feel stupid.

08-06-2004, 07:32 PM
Hi people..

I am going to Intec for A Levels Medic. Been to Akasia.. erm. I don't know what to say actually. Kinda speechless. My current hostel has washing machine, water heater, aircon and tv. Too luxurious.. it will be a total tranformation for me then. But as long as there is water and electrity, I think I can survive. But the last time I went there, it was so hot! Windows no netting some more. Mosquitoes are free to feast on my fleshy flesh. Haha.

I hope I get good housemates. Those who have at least a teeny weeny bit of tolerance. If not, it would be a nightmare!

So anyone going Intec for A Levels Med?

Haha... how do you think the ex-ASEAN scholars survive here? Hehehe... we were being provided with food, laundry, good public transports, and others... And imagine us to switching from a comfortable hostel to a poor one like cemara? Hehe... it's amazing to find ourselves getting used to it. You will slowly adjust yourself here like how we did. Btw, you'll sure miss the chinese food here. Well, welcome once again!

08-06-2004, 08:11 PM
If you think that it is warm, then bring a fan. I brought a fan there too. I can't remember whether there is mosquito netting, but I think if you live at higher floor, it is fine. I don't remember being disturbed by those mosquitoes. Elansargelmir, guess you guys are smart enough to find reasons to sneak out right, if you really want to? We even go out often to have supper at Sunway/Subang till like 1am, 2am, etc... and we haven't been locked out...hehehe

You guys will get the hostel assigned on the first day. So, bring your luggage and document etc there. I believe that once you finish registration at INTEC (Some will be done like 10am, some 11am etc), you will be going back to hostel to register for your room and put your stuff into your room. If you are living not far from Shah Alam, you can definitely go back on 26th (after the 5-day orientation) and you can move your stuff there in.

08-06-2004, 08:16 PM
chenchow... u r lucky.. many times I have to climb over the fence... luckily there are some people who are hardworking at cutting fences...

the best part of cemara life is playing street soccer.

08-06-2004, 08:18 PM
We play a lot of soccer there, especially near midnight time....hehehe

08-06-2004, 08:20 PM
~* Walking Along The Path of Life

Jin Hock?s batch was really active... we play soccer at night.. before that we devide our team by ping qh tat ah (police and thier... something like lalalililat tam pom)
jin hock was always the keeper... I start playing actively in my second year there...

08-06-2004, 09:15 PM
Elansargelmir, guess you guys are smart enough to find reasons to sneak out right, if you really want to? We even go out often to have supper at Sunway/Subang till like 1am, 2am, etc... and we haven't been locked out...hehehe

oh, u mean wearing shorts out of Cemara hoh? That one anyone also can walk out with that lar, except for a few times when the B-Gatal mak guard kept barking at us for wearing short pants...

yeah, i have a box fan with me... hmm... remember, if they ask u to register those electrical items, don't be stupid! Juz hide it lar... why want to waste money?

used to climb gate after 12 am... but recently the barb wired the gate liao... so can't get over it... for the fence, it has been fixed... lots of patches done on it... so can't get through it either...

going to sunway is a little problematic... got to take a bus to KTM, then from KTm take another bus... else, take a cab to Pyramid, but it will cost about 17 bux...
Midvalley is worst... got to wait for at least 45 minutes before the next bus arrive.... and the travelling town is like about 1-1.5 hour... Wah... really chuan lar.... that's why i say it's not a privillege to stay in INTEC even though having great friends around us...

08-06-2004, 09:21 PM
~* Walking Along The Path of Life

I remember last time there was a political body called OPPSU...
it demand for us a lot of things like bigger food stall and bus stop... now it?s no more there

there was an opinion poll (majong paper) made by INTEC officers to gather idea on how to improve the facilities but people (including me) just write funny things like pak guard tak cun, nak swimming pool all those stuff lah... so they have to tear it off...

sometimes early in the morning suddenly I hear someone screaming very load.. I woke up and found out that it was laungan azan for Subuh...

when there?s laungan azan... voices from many masjids come at the same time.. it takes some time for me to get use to it... sometimes laungan azan is helpful for me to indicate time... (dinner time)

08-06-2004, 09:28 PM
WE have snooker table now... dunno during ur time got or not.

08-06-2004, 09:30 PM
where?s the table? is it in the istana?
u must be lucky then....

08-06-2004, 09:42 PM
where?s the table? is it in the istana?
u must be lucky then....

istana? i think should be in the starbux kua...

hehe.... recently, there's this drug addict got caught in the Starbux... actually, the guards are quite useless... any tom and harry can masuk... tell you how they got caught (i heard it from my friend)...

One of the ALM seniors lost his (discman, i think) stuff... and last friday, he saw some guy was using it in starbux. So, he went down and complain to this pak guard... while the pak guard went out to confront the thief, he (very smart) called his ALM friends and they gathered at both starbux entrance (front and back). So, when the pak guard called that fella, he ran down, and met the ALM guys, who then bashed him nicely... sigh, should have been there ler...

KobeBryant
08-06-2004, 09:48 PM
boys can't wear roundneck t-shirt ?
are computers provided ? so we can log on to Recom...hehe

is there any recomer here that is going to help out during the orientation ?

hi , lynxx and naoj...
i will do actuarial science......
i think during the orientation , when ppl there ask our names , then we tell them our recom's nickname...haha
KobeBryant........haha

KobeBryant
08-06-2004, 09:54 PM
yeah...who else are going to INTEC ??
let's know each other 1st , ok ?
when we are there, we can shout "any recomers here ?! " haha

yo..my name is Quah He Wei...my surname is easy to remember , isn't it ?

lynnx01
08-06-2004, 10:10 PM
Hi.. kinda a frustration now, ppl.

Do you think I can go to Intec on 22nd June without any luggage? Cos I have so many things (including books, pail, lamps etc etc) and I plan to use KTM there straight in the morning.

Do you think I can go back and get my stuffs after orientation? No need for me to bring them all there first? I'll be one blur chick there. Heh.

Do you guys advise me to bring my laptop there? Don't feel like bringing cos no line. But if it is needed for assignment, then I need it. which reminds me... how bout my printer???!??! aiks

08-06-2004, 10:17 PM

Do you think I can go to Intec on 22nd June without any luggage? Cos I have so many things (including books, pail, lamps etc etc) and I plan to use KTM there straight in the morning.

Do you think I can go back and get my stuffs after orientation? No need for me to bring them all there first? I'll be one blur chick there. Heh.

Do you guys advise me to bring my laptop there? Don't feel like bringing cos no line. But if it is needed for assignment, then I need it. which reminds me... how bout my printer???!??! aiks

which course are you doing?
I think the most important thing it to bring some bags and occupy the bed that you like first...
I think it?s not a problem to bring in you luggage graudually but try to bring a light luggage to letak barang in the place you like..
I hope this helps...

I think there will be some breaking ice event on first few days... try to stay there to get yourself use to the surrounding.

KobeBryant
08-06-2004, 10:33 PM
what electrical appliances should we bring ?

08-06-2004, 10:35 PM
excuse my ignorance, but

1. What is INTEC? (couldn't find anything on google)
2. Is it open to public?
3. Is it open to non-bumi's?
4. Is it free?
5. Do they feed participants?
6. Girls there preety?

Shalom...

08-06-2004, 10:39 PM
it?s a place in UiTM Shah Alam where JPA scholars do thier local training before they go overseas.

INTEC = international education center

the pak guards are fierce and we are force to adhere to strict dress code... not to mention hanging our big name tags around our necks all the time.

08-06-2004, 10:44 PM
oh yeah, to the coming juniors....

WARNING: THIEFS ARE FREE TO GO IN AND OUT OF CEMARA AND AKASIA

There has been a lot of thief cases, be it in the hostel or outside the hostel... Thieves broke into units, ransack the whole place, steal things, and leave without a trace... There's no record of who has entered or left the hostel as the guards are busy chatting away and on the look of who didn't wear long pants and stuffs...

one day, my friend didn't go to school, so he slept in his room with his wallet and handphone beside him while he was sleeping... His roomates claimed that they have locked the door... At 9.30 am, his roomate called him, he answered the call, and went back to sleep. At 10.30 am, he woke up, and his handphone and wallet next to him were gone! Wow, we have a ghost thief...

got another friend who just came back from his hometown.. he was alone. He was walking in front of Impthiaz when a metallic kancil stopped him, and the driver asked him to borrow his handphone (the one with polyphonic type)... My friend blur blur one, so asked him to get out of the car. THe driver get out of his car, took the handphone from my friend, dialled a number, dashed into his car and drove off!

Last semester, my roomate got his palm top and stuffed it in his closet... (i didn't know about that, and that guy has a habit of leaving the door open after him)... So, one day, a thief came in and ransack the whole place... got his laptop, and one of my roomates forgotten to take his handphone to school with him, so that got stolen. My things also kena ransack, but luckily i locked my closet, so it's like not touched....

Then 2 weeks ago, my friend's laptop kena stolen... He locked his laptop, but then they used something to korek the lock... so the lock spoiled, his laptop gone... sigh... that guy's our Malaysia's computer genius who has a good rapport with Bill Gates... He's a second intake too... he was first intake... he applied for comp engineering in US, but JPA gave him medicine in India... then he appealed, got into comp science in US, but he appealed again until he got comp engineering...

ok, my advice to juniors:

1. Always lock your cupboard, and your doors when you go out... The thief is also good in climbing windows, even up to 5th floor...

2. Beware of just anybody, including the tukang sapus

3. the operation time for the thief is usually on Fridays (that's the days when most of the things go missing) mornings, when everyone's at school...

4. whatever you have, do not them show off... the thief has already targetted your things, and they are just waiting for the suitable time to grab it... If you have an expensive handphone or what, do not show it around unnecessarily...

5. Wherever you want to go, always ask your roomate or neighborto look after your things...

08-06-2004, 10:50 PM

When i first came here, 60% of my things were in Singapore, 20% of my things were in penang. So, basically i had my clothes and shoes, and some stationeries with me... Fortunately, during that period, ATU had holiday... SO i can go back to Singapore to retrieve all belongings...

08-06-2004, 10:54 PM
my RM 50 was stolen once... my malay roomates always leave the door open. I wonder how he took my rm50 without taking my wallet with him... hehe

my friend?s handphone was stollen too.

somehow at my time there?s always a guy selling either nasi lemak or hot dogs. he will bring these food directly to our room and sell them.. so try to be aware!

08-06-2004, 11:03 PM
Yeah, he comes to our rooms often too.

One day, we read a newspaper report saying that a thief was caught in Seksyen 18. Guess wat, he's a nasi lemak seller. and his MO is to be very good friends with his customers. He then finds out when his customers will be away for holidays and stuff, then he strikes.

From that day onwards, we never had nasi lemak direct to our doors again.

Wonder if it's him...

09-06-2004, 12:35 AM
I think about thief problem is to keep your things with you, especially essential stuff.

Lynnx01, you can go back and pick up your other stuff later, but get sufficient stuff till night of 26th, may be 27th, when you have time to go and get those stuff.

On electrical appliances, bring as minimum as you need, may be a fan, a water boiler if you want, but don't bring expensive stuff. Laptop is not really advised unless you really need it. Because it is tough to keep. Lock your apartments door and also your room doors.

basically you can go anywhere any day after orientation. Basically after 430pm for most days and weekends you are free. So, basically you can even go back Penang on any given weekend, if you are not tired. You may have some group discussions to do, so arrange your time early with your groupmates.

There are lots of cybercafes around the hostels. Guess that's why we use the internet.

KobeBryant
09-06-2004, 01:49 PM
There are lots of cybercafes around the hostels. Guess that's why we use the internet.

we can't use the computers in INTEC ?
so when u need to use computer , just go to cybercafes ?

KobeBryant
09-06-2004, 02:02 PM
yeah..1 more thing..is there any basketball court in INTEC ?

09-06-2004, 03:55 PM
basketball and tennis court ?... yup there are

09-06-2004, 04:59 PM
There are computers, but it is slow, especially in terms of internet. Most of us use it at cybercafe. Don't think it has changed much, since most of the students there now are still spending their time at cybercafe.

09-06-2004, 05:01 PM
the PC in library and IT Pool in INTEC is too slow even to download simple HTML page.

and there are many cool advance cyber cafe in front of Cemara.... and more and more cybercafe is immerging..
I spend a lot of time playing friendster in cyber cafe.

desperado
09-06-2004, 06:29 PM
hi. i m enrolling on 22/6 in Intec oso....doing econs.
calling out for female who's doing ADP. hopefully we can become roommates.

lynnx01
09-06-2004, 06:30 PM
I guess I better not bring my laptop. Even in My Place, I was very cautious about my things. I am reconsidering to bring radio too. However, water boiler should be okay, I guess.

How come they don't provide fridge there? Sigghhhh..

Are there washing machines provided?

Where do they dry their clothes eh?

Btw, when I was in Subang, there is a bus bringing us to DUMC for Sat night service. The bus picks up students from Shah Alam too. Anyone has any idea?

09-06-2004, 06:38 PM
Yup, wise move. Don't bring your laptop.

There are washing machines provided. But 3 for the whole of the guys hostel. Dono about the girls.

For the guys, there's a secret few people know, you can actually get a load of washing for only 60 sen! Instead of RM3. (hint 20 sen is bout the same size as RM1, but that's not the whole secret)

Guess it's not a secret now. Dunno if they changed the coin slots.

windy_city
09-06-2004, 06:49 PM

There are washing machines provided. But 3 for the whole of the guys hostel. Dono about the girls.

For the guys, there's a secret few people know, you can actually get a load of washing for only 60 sen! Instead of RM3. (hint 20 sen is bout the same size as RM1, but that's not the whole secret)

If you can make that work, you are lucky. They changed the coin slot already since last year!!

09-06-2004, 09:53 PM
There are wires for you to hang clothes too. However, I would suggest you get a layer of plastic, and when you dry, please make sure water is not dripping off your clothes. Sometimes, I can't help but see how inconsiderate people, when they never try to make the clothes they are drying to be relatively dry, and water keeps on dripping to the other people trying to dry at lower level.

09-06-2004, 09:54 PM

If you can make that work, you are lucky. They changed the coin slot already since last year!!

Ermm... that depends on probability and ur skill of slipping those coins into the coin slot. Most of my friends need to slot in about 6-10 times to get the machine to operate... Well, practice and luck helps a lot.

09-06-2004, 09:57 PM
There are wires for you to hang clothes too. However, I would suggest you get a layer of plastic, and when you dry, please make sure water is not dripping off your clothes. Sometimes, I can't help but see how inconsiderate people, when they never try to make the clothes they are drying to be relatively dry, and water keeps on dripping to the other people trying to dry at lower level.

ah... my roomate always hang his wet clothes near my almost dry clothes. and that makes it wet again. told him so many times and keep on being blur about his clothes...

lynnx01
10-06-2004, 06:47 AM
six people to one bathroom is a bit too much. some people are really inconsiderate and just take their sweet time (esp girls). i hope i won't encounter this prob.

10-06-2004, 07:07 AM

ah... my roomate always hang his wet clothes near my almost dry clothes. and that makes it wet again. told him so many times and keep on being blur about his clothes...

I do it in different way... when my roomate is not in, I hang my clothes in my room and on the fan full blast.. the clothes can dry quite fast.

I am quite lucky.. in my 2nd semester my room has only 2 people... and my roomate always go out... dating + yum cha.. sometimes he?s not in the room the whole night.. so it?s like one person living in one room.... this happens rary....

lynnx01
10-06-2004, 07:35 AM
Am I making the wrong decision to go for Intec? Is A Levels students' lives there miserable? I can easily finish up my year 12 (only 5 months remaining) and enter IMU.. but why am I choosing a two-year A Levels course? I am afraid the next two years of will only be more and more regrets...........

10-06-2004, 07:44 AM
I think the 2 years will be great learning experience. I enjoy the life over there a lot and I think quite a lot of people do. I would say it depends on how well you click with people around. If you are sociable, everything will be fine.

aquila
10-06-2004, 07:44 AM
I think you can negotiatiate with JPA to allow you to finish Year12 (where are you doing it BTW?) JPA will then sponsor you directly to your university after your pre-U studies. It's a better deal anyways, especially if your parents can afford pre-U or you already have a scholarship for that... that was what taylor A levels kids bound for the US did. They came to the US with us, alright, and on top of that they had A level credits, they could place out of many introductory classes.

You will also not have to go through INTEC... low cost flats with clearly lacking facilities... plus some folks in the admin who are uptight about everything... ;P

10-06-2004, 07:54 AM
I think this will be a different case, because for US, you have a wide array of choices of universities to apply, which means you can assure yourself of a place to study after your A Level.

However for medicine, the places are uncertain and personally, I would think that there would be some risk that would be present, if can't get into university for medicine (touchwood). Hence, going to INTEC would be a definitely route towards getting medical degree.

10-06-2004, 08:37 AM
Am I making the wrong decision to go for Intec? Is A Levels students' lives there miserable? I can easily finish up my year 12 (only 5 months remaining) and enter IMU.. but why am I choosing a two-year A Levels course? I am afraid the next two years of will only be more and more regrets...........

my advice?? DO NOT COME!! haha... sorry... but if you have only 5 months... u better continue with it....... cos there are sooo many ppl who finish their pre u studies outside INTEC before accepting the jpa scholarship for the degree courses... i think your seniors are going to IMU anyway... erm... but then again, maybe u should ask the ppl in AL Medicine...and you have to write letters to JPA also...

b_ronick
10-06-2004, 08:45 AM
Jus wanna say something not-very-important...hee!actually...life in INTEC is really not all that bad! i mean, yeah, initially every one of u might get frustrated over the strict dress codes and the not-so-nice facilities. But seriously, life in INTEC is really worth going through. I think, deep down in our hearts, even though we keep criticizing intec, we'll surely miss it dearly when we fly...the great times in intec. Once you've settled down in intec and is ready to accept the reality of the conditions...you'll survive..hehe! Be sure to have lotsa friends here..they're the ones who make intec a very special and meaningful place to live and study at...hehe! You won't have to worry bout the conditions here...they're bearable. :D For those who are participating in the ADFP/ATU prog, appreciate your one-year stay here. You'll be missing it faster than u can say "USA, here i come!" Welcome to all those anticipating to arrive at INTEC in june! We're also real excited to see u peeps... :wink:

i'll second that anytime...
some of us will be living in august and some in sept..
but i know i'll miss the place here..the peeps, the friends here and all..
for ATU students...the first sem may be real bz but it is part of being in this program...
enjoy your stay here...
the experience here is something i am sure that you will remember for a long time to come..a delightful experience!

naoj
10-06-2004, 09:13 AM
Is it true that folks with a-levels going to US are better off than those without? Cos i'm currently enrolled at a private college..doing a-levels (halfway thru exams i may add...lol) and i've been hearing conflicting "reports". Some people advise to continue my a-levels and then go to US next yr whereas others say un-enrol from a-levels,go to intec and do the ATU programme. I know either way i have to do the SATs.

What should i do? Or rather...any advice from both/either side of the arguments? If i have to un-enrol i have to do it asap.

Thank you..btw this place is really helpful. More so than other forums. I'm a new fan cum follower.

10-06-2004, 09:22 AM
I would say that either way would allow you to go to US.

Benefits of being at ATU Program at INTEC:-
a) Spend a year with those other JPA ATU scholars - which would be a wonderful experience
b) Advice for the university application, by experienced coordinators and seniors at ATU.
c) Preparations towards SAT1, SAT2.
d) Have a sample of year 12 US education, which is much more diverse, where you will take more different courses.

Benefits of continuing A Levels:-
a) You would get more advanced placement credits for most universities (It varies by universities, for instance Cornell you would get about 24 Cr with A Level and about 15 from ATU), pending you get all As in A Level, which should not be problem for you. However, some universities may take ATU up to about 30 credit hours, some universities just take a few credit hours.
b) You will have better preparations in those courses in A Level, since you are learning those courses for 2 years.

I would say that in terms of advanced placement, there is nothing to worry about. You have 4 years to spend in US and I am almost sure that you will spend your 4 years there and typically, with even just a little bit advanced placement, 4 years would be very relaxing. You can easily grad in 3 years from ATU program. However, I don't think you should rush. Take as diverse the courses as possible, since it is learning process and you can take a varied sampling, like what many former ATU people and I did, from courses in Business to Law to Debates to International Relations to Quality Control to Wine Tasting to Gold, Equestrian, Archery, Riflery, Ballroom Dancing etc.... Those are just some of those courses that I have taken, when I am majoring in electrical and computer engineering...

10-06-2004, 12:57 PM
you can take a varied sampling, like what many former ATU people and I did, from courses in Business to Law to Debates to International Relations to Quality Control to Wine Tasting to Gold, Equestrian, Archery, Riflery, Ballroom Dancing etc.... Those are just some of those courses that I have taken, when I am majoring in electrical and computer engineering...

one thing not good about studying in germany is...
I can?t really do what u guys r doing/learning...
I can?t even attend simple seminar..
the german language is too hard to understand. It?s too foreign to me.
I think there?s a standstill in my life where I wish to learn ?things yet I am limited...
have to learn many things online...

abc123
10-06-2004, 03:06 PM
Questions.. questions..

1. In the PANDUAN PENDAFTARAN paper that we get, it stated that we have to make a money order/ postal order/bank draf ( RM 165 for boys & RM 150 for girls) on the name of BENDAHARI UiTM. Should we make it? Or JPA will manage it for us?

2. It also stated that girls should have a DARK BLUE baju kurung (plain/berbunga/bercorak-1 colour only) Is it a MUST for girls to have a DARK BLUE baju kurung? What is it for?

3. Is there any LONG holidays (two weeks or more) for ADFP students after this? Because I want to learn driving & do driving test, cause I already had the Undang2 Memandu certificate & it will valid until April 2005. I don't think that I'll have time for it. Is it?

10-06-2004, 03:28 PM
You will have to wear the DARK BLUE baju kurung on mondays and fridays. Maybe that?s the unification of culture?

I am not sure about the other 2 questions....

10-06-2004, 04:46 PM
For the money order, you guys have to make it, but just wondering why is it so expensive. I don't remember it being so expensive. I believe it covers partly the cost of your orientation, where you will have 6 meals a day for 5 days, a set of UiTM clothes etc.

On dark blue Baju Kurung, this is a new one. Don't think they have such ruling. May be you can call up INTEC to have a check.

On ATU, I believe that you would have one month of holiday in December.

KobeBryant
10-06-2004, 06:45 PM
the clothes will be provoded by INTEC ? how about the tie ?

prav
10-06-2004, 07:33 PM
hola ppl!

seems like there's gonna be a fair few ReCom-ers in Intec this 22nd...looking forward to seeing you guys in person :) ....anyone doing AusMat for Accountancy NZ??

anyways, was wondering when the orientation ends? Also, can we stay off-campus during this period? What can we expect during the orientation as well? Pleaseeee.... :p

thanks a million y'all....cheers :)

tree007
10-06-2004, 09:58 PM
regarding dress code....

GUYS....

BEWARE OF THE~~~...

MAK GUARD!!!

10-06-2004, 10:52 PM
aiyor... dun scare them lar.... the mak guard is much lenient now lar....

at least now, we can wear shorts to AKASIA ler....

last time, we can't even step out of Cemara with shorts ler....

For Juniors' information: Cemara(guy's college) Akasia(gal's college)....

orientation will be from 22-26 AUgust....

can't really tell u abt the orientation... bcoz it will be organized by Hal Elwal Pelajar of UiTM....

try to bug b_ronick.... maybe she has some insightful news..... kekeke

10-06-2004, 11:11 PM
You need to get your own clothes. Baju kurung, or long sleeve shirt, tie... You will need to get your own. I believe for guys, they may give you UiTM tie, but guess you should get one for yourself. I think for guys, what they give is a UiTM T-shirt.

prav, orientation ends on 26th. I believe the orientation will start around 6am (from Subuh Prayer time for everyone, including non-Muslims) and it will go until around 10pm, 11pm. Main door of Cemara, Akasia will be locked at 11pm. Don't think you can go back during these few days, or else those Orientation Committee people will be in trouble.

I was secretary general for orientation a few years ago and there was one student who sneaked home and it was really tough job for me. I had to find him out, or else if anything happens, I have to be responsible. They take attendance a few times a day. And I had to call the student cellphone, luckily he told me he was going out with his parents, but he was out many hours extra. I called him and he had to go back hostel immediately.

So, please avoid sneaking out. After orientation, do whatever you want. Stay at home, it is up to you...Just put some of your things there, and no one cares whether you are there or not.

Orientation, mainly talks, some games, some bonding activities.... and 6 meals a day.... guess i will leave it to the current OCs to share..

Guess Mak Guard is ok lar...a few times, i just called her "Kak" instead of "mak cik" and she becomes more lenient..

kIdd0
10-06-2004, 11:20 PM
Hmmm... okay, seems like the new-intakers have like zero information on the reality of INTEC... okay, let me explain, INTEC has this thing called the "dresscode" which those of you who attend private colleges are unaware of... ermm, for girls, strictly long sleeve for all days all occasions... and yah, baju kurung is a must on mondays and fridays, then as for guys, short sleeves with collar... then guys on mondays is formal wear, which means long sleeve and tie... as to prav, the orientation should end by friday i think...(okay, not particularly sure)... can you stay off-campus?? ermm... according to regulation, you cannot, but some seniors do stay outside during their short span in INTEC... they seem to be getting away with it... but i strictly advice you not to because i think although the hostel is not the best place to stay, living there is like a "unique" experience to put it in way... u might not like during the initial weeks but eventually, you'll sorta be able to live with it i guess... furthermore, there lotsa friends around n NO PARENTS!! haha... What to expect during orientation?? ermm... sadly, boring talks... *yawn*... endless talks... but for ATU/ADFP students, there'll be a placement test which would determine your classes at the end of the orientation...
Dont worry too much, it's all gonna be fine..

11-06-2004, 01:48 AM
the clothes will be provoded by INTEC ? how about the tie ?

i think the purple gay t-shirt (yee, never wear it. gave mine to my roomate) and the UiTM tie cost about 20 and 10 respectively. forgotten liao. dun feel like wearing the tie also. prefer self-bought tie.

i think i paid the 165 bux in cash. dunno about the first intake peeps.

11-06-2004, 01:52 AM
Jus wanna say something not-very-important...hee!actually...life in INTEC is really not all that bad! i mean, yeah, initially every one of u might get frustrated over the strict dress codes and the not-so-nice facilities. But seriously, life in INTEC is really worth going through. I think, deep down in our hearts, even though we keep criticizing intec, we'll surely miss it dearly when we fly...the great times in intec. Once you've settled down in intec and is ready to accept the reality of the conditions...you'll survive..hehe! Be sure to have lotsa friends here..they're the ones who make intec a very special and meaningful place to live and study at...hehe! You won't have to worry bout the conditions here...they're bearable. :D For those who are participating in the ADFP/ATU prog, appreciate your one-year stay here. You'll be missing it faster than u can say "USA, here i come!" Welcome to all those anticipating to arrive at INTEC in june! We're also real excited to see u peeps... :wink:

munhua, if JPA placed all of us in Sunway college, good hostel, 3-5 minutes walkind distance from college, got swimming pool, nice buildings, and the same nice gang of ppl.

1. we'll sure have lots of fun
2. we'll still enjoy each other's company
3. we'll miss Sunway college after we left for US, and pity those who stay in INTEC, rite?

hehe... and on top of that, we won;t have to put up with those silly dress codes and lousy facilities.

11-06-2004, 02:47 AM
I guess INTEC has some of the best lecturers in Malaysia. During my time, those like Mr. Nama, Mrs. Ranee, Datin Minda, Cik Nor Zaini, Pn. Liza, Mr. Zamri, Pn. Hayati, Pn. Laila, Ustaz, Miss Geetha etc, all leave wonderful memories in us, of course, not forgetting Mr. Amran. Pn. Ruzela and Pn. Umiatun are wonderful too. and also the great clerk En. Suhaimi.

Guess right now, only a few of those left, but perhaps the quality should be still high up!

11-06-2004, 03:44 AM
talking about health I see many students like to jog around cemara... during my time jogging was favoured by many....

I am one of the frequent jogger there... some people prefer to jog around the small taman.

hmmm... my personal best record of jogging is... ah..
15 round around cemara... takes me more than 2 hours to complete... quite an achievement...

so guys.. u are encourages to jog around cemara but try not to jog on mondays...

KobeBryant
11-06-2004, 07:18 AM
what is the nearest bank in INTEC , coz i afraid that i need to withdraw money from ATM if RM350 is not enough

KobeBryant
11-06-2004, 07:21 AM
th long-sleeve shirts....any colours ??
can we wear round-neck T-shirts ? i dun have T-shirt with collar larrrr....have to buy

11-06-2004, 07:28 AM
Bumiputera Commerce bank is the nearest bank from the hostel. There is a BSN near the campus too. So, these two are the most convenient one.

long-sleeve, any color, but usually lighter color... Just like what you see those officers usually wear.

I guess round neck, you can wear on your free time. For class, with collar.

KobeBryant
11-06-2004, 07:32 AM
Bumiputera Commerce bank is the nearest bank from the hostel. There is a BSN near the campus too. So, these two are the most convenient one.

long-sleeve, any color, but usually lighter color... Just like what you see those officers usually wear.

I guess round neck, you can wear on your free time. For class, with collar.

thanks , chenchow

tree007
11-06-2004, 08:21 AM
WARNING FOR ORIENTATION:

If it' gonna be held in the dining hall like last year,
PLEASE, please sit near a fan or that fan with that vapour sprinkler thingy.. 'cos it's gonna be HOT HOT HOT.. n i'm tellin u, u gonna be soaked wet, espcially if u're wearin the formal wear (long sleeves)... really suffered there..

KobeBryant
11-06-2004, 10:33 AM
what should we wear on the orientation day , June 22 ?
round neck with a long pant , can ?

11-06-2004, 10:36 AM
I don't think you can wear round neck to campus.

Wear long sleeve shirt and tie, and slacks (not jeans) for your orientation.

11-06-2004, 10:37 AM
I guess INTEC has some of the best lecturers in Malaysia. During my time, those like Mr. Nama, Mrs. Ranee, Datin Minda, Cik Nor Zaini, Pn. Liza, Mr. Zamri, Pn. Hayati, Pn. Laila, Ustaz, Miss Geetha etc, all leave wonderful memories in us, of course, not forgetting Mr. Amran. Pn. Ruzela and Pn. Umiatun are wonderful too. and also the great clerk En. Suhaimi.

Guess right now, only a few of those left, but perhaps the quality should be still high up!

wait wait... Mr. Nama, Mrs. Ranee and Pn. Geetha still ok lar....

Datin Minda, Pn Hayati..... both of them dun really make into the best lecturer list leh... Besides declaring war with Pn Suzana Meor, i think Datin Minda is one of the pain in the ass teacher who doesn't like ppl's idea to contradict with hers. If we are under her class, she expects us to think the way she does.... and oh yeah! we have 3-5 pages of essay to write in an hour, while our other friends from other lecturers enjoy writing them in a week...

Pn Hayati... pn yum yum.... Errm.... i think the only thing she helped me is by destryoing my C++ program... Forgot to save my source code somemore... have to redo again...

11-06-2004, 10:39 AM

i wore it twice... luckily no one catch... that time i need to go to OSSP only... no class.... so heck, just charge in lar... Pak guards busy sembang.... good thing ler

abc123
11-06-2004, 01:16 PM
What the differences between ADFP & ATU? Or is it just the same? & what is PPP?

11-06-2004, 02:17 PM

I always break the dress code rules in INTEC... that?s great....

one tips I can give u is when u have nothing to do go to the pak guard and tell some jokes with him (provided he is not fierce)
after becoming friends with them everything will be easy... hehe

I was having a close relationship with the kantin pak cik

everytime I buy a meal I hutang him... sometime hutang him 3 days berturut2....
the trick is talking to him and tell jokes...
and do remember to pay him..
I never miss once of not paying back my hutang.. I even help him to remember how much I own...
I think he likes it because when There are many people buying food and I say Hutang... it makes thier life easier as taking money from customer takes some time..... hutang only saves his time...

haha... that?s all..
please send my regards to the kantin pak cik...
you can tell him I am the chinese guy who always order teh tarik yang sedap. thanx

lynnx01
11-06-2004, 02:40 PM
Cannot wear round-neck t-shirts? Aikss.. all I have are those simple t-shirts.

And oh yeah.. how bout the baju kurung? Must it be baju kurung? Can it be kebaya? or like.. other styles of baju kurung such as baju kedah?

one more thing.. i searched the whole town for the biru tua baju kurung.. finally found one, but it's not exactly kurung.. but looks like kurung. are they that strict til they don't let me wear? cos it seems like my hometown... very hard to find kurungs.. no size.. and can't wait for tailor.. i'm new in this hometown of mine (moved here), so don't really know good tailors.. moreover, running out of time already.

i think i have to waste some more money to revamp my wardrobe... feel llike i'm going to some super strict islamic country. sigghh.. i don't understand. the weather is super hot.. and they expect us to cover everything.. sigh...

yes.. everyone definitely prefers sunway, even though sometimes the girls there look like they are going for fashion parade everyday. hehee..

chillout
11-06-2004, 02:51 PM
it's always a difficult time to get used to something...

I remember all of us were cursing and swearing about the dress code and some of us still are..

but once you get used to it... it's not big deal..

the classrooms are cold... so long sleeves are ok... i have like the limited few which I wear over n over again.. so good thing... is I don't have to think of what to wear... i think round neck for girls are OK not boys... you can also wear like a short sleeve blouse inside and have a long sleeved jacket on the outside...

your shirt should haha.. cover your buttocks.. if not the MAK guard will give u some kind of warning ler...

btw.. baju kurung.. your kain cannot berbelah wan...

lynnx01
11-06-2004, 05:19 PM
hi chillout, what do u mean by berbelah for the kurung? is it the skirt or the upper part of the kurung?

11-06-2004, 05:46 PM
What the differences between ADFP & ATU? Or is it just the same? & what is PPP?

ADFP - American Degree Foundation Program

ATU - American Top Universities....

both are the same.... refering to the same batch of students..

PPP is Pusat Pendidikan Persediaan....

and NO ROUND NECKS t-shirt...

u'll get into trouble... u will be summoned.... but those summons are like.... nothing... just pieces of paper... and nobody really give a DAM.....

but give them some respect....

chillout
11-06-2004, 08:40 PM
round necks for girls cannot meH???

haven't i been wearing that to coll every day?
voon seng??

baju kurung... kain as in the skirt cannot berbelah.. means errmm.. cannot have a slit or some kind ler...

11-06-2004, 08:44 PM
In fact, I think the round collar is only for guys when going to class.... I play badminton mostly without even wearing my t-shirt... sorry to say that, but it is true... and a number of us did that...

I don't think they care what you want in hostel...

11-06-2004, 09:38 PM

voon seng??

baju kurung... kain as in the skirt cannot berbelah.. means errmm.. cannot have a slit or some kind ler...

aiyor... I'm answering Kobe Bryant lar....

GUYS CANNOT WEAR round neck t-shirt to CAMPUS.....

Girls have to wear long sleeves (yang longgar/ yang tidak menunjukkan bentuk badan)

chillout
11-06-2004, 09:45 PM
haha.. must be clear mer..

after the poor juniors salah faham tak baik ler

nanti mereka quote u pulak...

11-06-2004, 10:13 PM
haha.. must be clear mer..

after the poor juniors salah faham tak baik ler

nanti mereka quote u pulak...

LOL

11-06-2004, 11:32 PM
Hehe, Chill out is becoming more addictive to Recom like me here... Hehe... Welcome, welcome!

11-06-2004, 11:34 PM
Elansar, where have u been? I have not seen u for many hours..

12-06-2004, 01:09 AM
Elansar, where have u been? I have not seen u for many hours..

Relek ler... start to miss me liao arr? Hmm... actually, i use at noght, from 1 am to god knows when... then my sis uses in the afternoon, from about 11am to 1 am like that (got breaks in between lar)...

david_david
12-06-2004, 03:42 PM

voon seng??

Girls have to wear long sleeves (yang longgar/ yang tidak menunjukkan bentuk badan)

Are you Lai Voon Seng from AJC??

You're name's still on the Oldham Hall laundry list. And there's a Lai Looi Seng to, hahaha.

12-06-2004, 04:01 PM
Why would Voon Seng's name on Oldham's laundry? owe the laundry service some debts arr? haha, kidding... i mean, A4 papers can't afford to get wet, right?

chillout
12-06-2004, 04:49 PM
Hehe, Chill out is becoming more addictive to Recom like me here

*grin...

I would have been more active before if there were more interesting discussions... some are so dry N formal... hey I'm online to relax... to release tension... and come to recom... all I c are heavy stuff...STPM ler...career le... haiyo....

so you would only c me active in a few discussions only... =P

12-06-2004, 04:51 PM
The Social And Entertainment Corner is cool... but no one wants to revive it liao. Will try to do something about it soon! At the mean time, u can always do what i do... Drop in some craps in every serious discussions... Hehehe... Maybe the junk can turn out to be useful?

chillout
12-06-2004, 04:53 PM
well the amount of crap dropped in serious discussion would reflect on my mentality... haha.. dowan ler...

12-06-2004, 07:02 PM
chillout, initiate new topic for discussion!!! You are more than welcome to initiate any discussion on any topic!

13-06-2004, 02:48 AM
Which mamak restaurants r ur favourites? near cemara I like Darul Ehsan and the one in front of cemara.. forgot the name..

near intec I like the one with TV where WWE is always broadcasted...

13-06-2004, 02:57 AM
Which mamak restaurants r ur favourites? near cemara I like Darul Ehsan and the one in front of cemara.. forgot the name..

near intec I like the one with TV where WWE is always broadcasted...

Dahrul Ehsan??? eeee.... the roti canai there cannot eat one lar...

oh, u mean Ameer Ali? That one they like to cut throat.... dun go there often....

the ones that i frequent these days are keningau and cili merah.... or ayamas...

13-06-2004, 03:03 AM
night time there got a lot of burger stalls around and I explore with my bike...

like those burgers..

tree007
13-06-2004, 03:04 PM
AMEER ALI!!

AMEER ALI!!

AMEER ALI!!

:p

13-06-2004, 03:33 PM

voon seng??

Are you Lai Voon Seng from AJC??

You're name's still on the Oldham Hall laundry list. And there's a Lai Looi Seng to, hahaha.

yup.... that's me....
looi sing was my roommate....kekeke.... really had some fun time ... confusing others, saying that both of us are brothers.....

KobeBryant
13-06-2004, 04:45 PM
are u guys going to watch EURO 2004 at INTEC in the early morning ?

13-06-2004, 09:35 PM
kobebryant, you can watch...am sure there are people who will watch it.....

13-06-2004, 11:41 PM
now I know that chenchow is a football fan. which team do u sokong=?

tunsrilanang
14-06-2004, 11:06 AM
life in akasia....

amazing coz me and my roomies would masak together and dinner together in the room.

lynnx01
14-06-2004, 01:22 PM
life in akasia....

amazing coz me and my roomies would masak together and dinner together in the room.

can you do that? and oh yeah one more thing.. can we buy washing machine and move it into the hostel? is it possible?

naoj
14-06-2004, 03:22 PM
can you do that? and oh yeah one more thing.. can we buy washing machine and move it into the hostel? is it possible?[/quote]

uh WOW that's ambitious. hehehe

14-06-2004, 04:02 PM
my first semester in Cemara I awas using washing mashing in the house..

my friend got washing machine.. but not many of them do so...

14-06-2004, 04:21 PM
I guess if you can move it in, then why not? But get it registered, the registration is just one dollar and if anyone tries to steal it, they can identify with the registration sticker. however, if you stay on 5th floor, it would be quite an effort to move it in.

You can cook if you want, but you need to get everything needed to cook. There is only power outlet and sink.

14-06-2004, 04:31 PM
cemara life.. I was quite unlucky....

1st semester I was staying with 4 malay guys..
but at night many other malay guys sleep in my place.. many of them sleep on the floor...

and they play music load.

they smoke and lukis dinding (obscene)
they stole my things and slippers
they puncture my water botters with puncung rokok.
they drink Malta until bottols everywhere.

I suffered for one semester..

sometimes when they bother me too much I on some old ah pek chinese and they leave the room...
poor me...
just plain unlucky...

14-06-2004, 04:43 PM
Guess it would depend on your social skills to mingle with people. Try to know your housemates well. Most people are very nice people. Get to know them well, and try to give and take.

CyberJaya
14-06-2004, 04:45 PM
I'm really sad to hear you had such a bad time IQing. They couldnt have picked on a nicer guy and they should be ashamed of themselves. Some Malaysians(a minority) can act like English soccer fans from time to time. I hope that you pointed out their behaviour to appropriate sources. Its important that Malaysians improve their behaviour. I hope they will learn. You should really point out to the authorities how much you were upset.

14-06-2004, 04:46 PM
yeah they r nice people and I can socialise with them well...

but most of the time many strangers go in and come out of the room and just smoke and drink...
the strangers r the ones who stole my things and I never know who did it...

it?s hard to live in such situation....

14-06-2004, 04:53 PM
iQing, since you know them well, may be you can let them know.... Perhaps ask them to remind their friends etc. Do you talk to them privately about your problem?

I don't think you should look at this from the racial view point.

14-06-2004, 04:53 PM
I learn a lot from difficult roomates..

in fact i hv faced worse people in INTI college..

my roomate is a psycho who has failed SPM
bringin the big sub woofer and blast the music even when I am sleeping / studying where the sound can be heard from toilet at the end of the hostel.....
and he like to on the fan full blast until I got sick always.. he gets angry when I lower the speed of the fan..
etc etc etc... bla bla bla...

I ask him not to do so politely many times but he still do things as he likes...

that?s life...
choose to escape from it or learn to deal with it...

14-06-2004, 04:56 PM
iQing, since you know them well, may be you can let them know.... Perhaps ask them to remind their friends etc. Do you talk to them privately about your problem?

I don't think you should look at this from the racial view point.

it?s nothing racial. it?s thier personality....
just that coincidently they are malay (i hv nothing against that as I am close to the malays)
some people are just numb until they ?don?t care how much u tell them u r annoyed.... they lack some awareness (and civic mind?)

just the same as my chinese roomate in INTI...

CyberJaya
14-06-2004, 04:59 PM
Last semester i slept in the room of what i thought was a friend of mine. However, in the morning my phone had gone. I came to the conclusion that he nicked it. There was no other explanation. I went home, to my flat and i was so pissed off. i was quite angry that day as you could imagine. This wasnt at Intec it was in London

14-06-2004, 05:04 PM
cyberjaya, does that happens at Intec?

CyberJaya
14-06-2004, 05:07 PM
No it was in London.

14-06-2004, 05:07 PM
chenchow sometimes when we meet difficult people and we try our best to make things better...
but there are somethings in life that are not in our control like meeting difficult people..
and we can?t blame ourselves from being betrayed by friends right?
life just have to move on...

lynnx01
14-06-2004, 05:17 PM
hey so anyone going to intec doing a levels medic who plans to buy washing machine? easier that way right? hehe.. well.. i don't know. i don't want to get depressed over small matters. bleakkss.. hope I have a fruitful stay there.

naoj
14-06-2004, 05:35 PM
Heya these are my final lots of questions...mmkaythanks..to those who help answer them:

1. Abt the dress code (yes again!): are jeans allowed? and what kind of shoes? Are normal slip on girl-type shoes allowed..not really sandals but sort of like u know..fancy slippers(ok im bad at descriptions kekeke)

2. Is there anythign to boil water with there? Kettle? Or must bring arr..?

3. For application into US unis...i just realised to my horror..my gawd i need to translate all my co-curiculum certs right? Do i just translate on blank a-4 paper and go certify or is there another more formal (and presentable) way?

THANKS!

KobeBryant
14-06-2004, 08:59 PM
INTEC will change our room-mate every semester ?

14-06-2004, 09:36 PM
1. Abt the dress code (yes again!): are jeans allowed? and what kind of shoes? Are normal slip on girl-type shoes allowed..not really sandals but sort of like u know..fancy slippers(ok im bad at descriptions kekeke)
>> I believe jeans are allowed, except on monday for guys, and monday and friday for girls in class. In hostel, they don't care about it. Shoes, I believe for guys, monday, wear leather shoes. Other days, I mostly go with normal slippers to class...

2. Is there anythign to boil water with there? Kettle? Or must bring arr..?
>> You need to bring if you want. I drink the water cooler/filter water everyday, and I am just as fine as others... As lazy to often go down and fill the bottle, we buy a huge bottle of 5 liters, and then every time refill 5 liters of water whenever we are free.

3. For application into US unis...i just realised to my horror..my gawd i need to translate all my co-curiculum certs right? Do i just translate on blank a-4 paper and go certify or is there another more formal (and presentable) way?
>> yeah, translate all certs that you want to send. Personally, I don't advise you to send tons of cert. I didn't send any of my school-level certs for competitions in schools. Basically, cater to what you want. Limit to 20-30 pieces, don't send 100 pieces of certs to the universities. If this multiply by 2 pieces for 1 translated one, there would be 200 pieces. The universities will not have time for that. They receive about 20,000 applicants a year, and they only have like 5-10 officers to go through those pile a few times in 2.5 months.

INTEC will change our room-mate every semester ?
>> You decide who is your roommates every time. Go to register at the same time, and you will be roommates. They follow the sequence of students going for registration.

KobeBryant
15-06-2004, 07:37 AM
hope that my roommates will be all bananas...hehe

15-06-2004, 03:23 PM

wow.... i know u wanna improve ur English.... but dun be tooooo desperate ler....

and about certified copies of cert.....

Once again...

U ARE SUPPOSED TO CERTIFIED the PHOTOCOPIES of Original Certs....

Not the TRANSLATED ones....
REMEMBER!!!!!!!

KobeBryant
15-06-2004, 04:44 PM

wow.... i know u wanna improve ur English.... but dun be tooooo desperate ler....

and about certified copies of cert.....

Once again...

U ARE SUPPOSED TO CERTIFIED the PHOTOCOPIES of Original Certs....

Not the TRANSLATED ones....
REMEMBER!!!!!!!

the certs...i know..but thanks for reminding
about english....yeah , i am too desperate and keen to improve ...
even my parents also advise me to let nature takes it course........

15-06-2004, 06:50 PM
hei... i see a lot of questions from enthusiastic JPA scholars-to-be here.... just wanna remind you all that even though you should not rest on your laurels and must be prepared at all times, don't forget to SMELL THE ROSES...haha... the first few months in intec was very stressful for me because i forgot to do that.... so, like what our seniors have always told us,

"When you are in your secondary school, you may be the top student... and when you reach here you will feel so small because you are among the top scorers in the country.... Don't give up or feel inferior because every one has his own strong points... When you reach your university overseas, you will meet more talented and gifted people... just try to learn as much as you can from them and carve a niche for yourself.." ....

hehe.. thts what i learnt in ATU... not computer programs or calculus..... haha

15-06-2004, 11:10 PM
Agree with ic3b3rg . There is no ending in comparison. I can assure you that there will always be people who will be better than you in this planet of 6 billion people, unless you are the best in the world in a particular field.

Try to compare against yourself, instead with others. Work hard and the rest, does not really matter... Most, if not all, of those JPA scholars, especially for US program would be among the top students in their own school, if not the top.

abc123
16-06-2004, 10:41 AM
Please explain about the co-curriculum activities INTEC. Is it just like what we're doing during school days? Or even better? & do we still receive certificates for it? hehehe....

& about the co-curriculum certs? Do they accept the certs when we're in lower form (F1-F3)? Because, in most application they only accept certs during F4&F5. Hmmm... wondering...

david_david
16-06-2004, 03:40 PM
Where the nearest ATM?

Does JPA pay through any bank?BSN can?

16-06-2004, 05:19 PM
I would say that there isn't much co-curricular activities at INTEC. Most of the activities are organized by OPPSU and ATUSA. During my time, OPPSU was very active, and we organized more than 10-15 activities per year, like Siswa Masuk Kampung (where we stayed at a village to help out), Visit to Parliament etc etc. However, heard that OPPSU is no longer active...sigh...

On certs, I don't really recall getting cert. And in fact, when you organize stuff in US, there is no cert given. It is just not the culture.

16-06-2004, 05:34 PM
Where the nearest ATM?

Does JPA pay through any bank?BSN can?

Nearest ATM would be Bumiputra Bank of Commerce and Maybank in Sec 18 (near KFC and McDonalds). Then we have Affin Bank (never heard of it before? can't blame you then) in UiTM campus itself, and BSN in sec 17 opposite the campus.

oh yeah, it's advisable to get a BSN account coz JPA will cash in your allowance through the bank. So if you don't already have one, sooner or later u will have to open an account.

tree007
16-06-2004, 05:53 PM
co-curricular activities at INTEC ah? based on the definition of co-cu, it means.. stuffs that's outside of the skool curriculum rite? plenty lor... u can always play badminton (wat i do often) or ping pong or basketball at akasia... u can go skateboarding at the new park behind cemara, u can go jogging, u can go flex fingers (CC) at cybercafes, play street soccer, play snooker, or perhaps, join silat n other clubs (which i dunno) that's organized by UiTM... n regarding certs.... errr.. wat's with them?

but i must say this.. life at hostel quite fun lah.. as in.. got stuffs to do lah.. :P

ohya.. must share this with every1... though totally unrelated, but... yahoo mail 100 MB!!! woo hoo.. dunno y.. just seem tad hyper about it.. :P

16-06-2004, 06:05 PM
ohya.. must share this with every1... though totally unrelated, but... yahoo mail 100 MB!!! woo hoo.. dunno y.. just seem tad hyper about it..

do you get weird strips on your yahoo mail page? i got... it's damn irritating. But got to say i really like the 100MB thingy. My mailbox was like from 71% full to 5% full....

Oh yeah, for those who are over excited to come to Cemara... I think you guys don't have to really bring EVERYTHING here yet. Stay here for a few days first, see what you need, and bring them the next trip you go home or you can always get them from the Giant nearby. Hmm... Anyway, beware of CATS.

16-06-2004, 07:19 PM
Football at night + breaking windows + running away and hiding + getting an earful the the RA = good times :D

KobeBryant
16-06-2004, 07:21 PM
hi
do u all think that buying a bicycle to communte between INTEC and Cemara is advisable ?
besides saving the time of waiting for INTEC bus , u can exercise also

16-06-2004, 07:32 PM
hi
do u all think that buying a bicycle to communte between INTEC and Cemara is advisable ?
It's a good idea. I know that iQing did that.

I would worry about keeping your bike.. are you going to haul it into your room everyday or just lock it to something somewhere?

16-06-2004, 08:34 PM
hi
It's a good idea. I know that iQing did that.

I would worry about keeping your bike.. are you going to haul it into your room everyday or just lock it to something somewhere?

hey.. how did u know i own a bike at cemara??? u can find a laman and ikat at the ground floor at the laman.

however, talking about CCA Cemara is far far primitive compare to... private college like INTI.

16-06-2004, 09:26 PM
On CCA, you guys can only take some initiative and start it... We started OPPSU during our time, which is the Student Union for all students at OPP (old name of INTEC). It is cool and you have lots of allocations...

Get to know those HEP people and bring your idea to them!!!

lynnx01
17-06-2004, 04:38 AM
I wanna get a car and drive around... hmmphhh... but also no place to park right?

17-06-2004, 06:17 AM
For campus, you can park at the flat there. Free parking, but you need to go early.

For Sec 18, after 5pm, the car park is free. But Saturday and possibly Sunday, you may need to find somewhere to park as you need to pay for the car parking from 8am to 5pm. It is 50 cents per hour, but max 4 hours each time or something like that.

lynnx01
17-06-2004, 06:54 AM
okay.. i am changing my mind bout getting a car. too costly. too much responsibility. hehee.. a bicycle sounds cool.. section 17 and 18 not far apart eh?

lynnx01
17-06-2004, 06:58 AM
still looking for a levels med girls who wanna be my roommate. hehe..

17-06-2004, 07:55 AM
It is possible to be done, like iQing has done it and I know Puven, walks to school as exercise. I would say that it is about 5 minutes drive, perhaps 15 minutes of bicycle? iQing could provide better answer. However, sometimes, the traffic could be pretty heavy, so have to be careful when cycling.

david_david
17-06-2004, 08:31 AM
What's the mailing address for ppl to mail us??

If we are here fro 3 months only, do we still get book allowance, etc,etc.....

Mei_Mei
17-06-2004, 08:51 AM
can anyone tell me which is te easiest and fastest way to get to intec directly from KLIA airport??

17-06-2004, 10:26 AM
On mailing address, you can just use your room number, Kolej Cemara/Akasia, Section 18, Poscode , Shah Alam. However, I would not advise any important mail to be sent there, as the mails would be put there in bulk and you need to pick up. And sometimes some naughty people may just tear open others' mails etc... And sometimes your friends would keep it for you and then forget to give back to you.. If you have any urgent letter from home, send to the address above, but using Poslaju. Having a poslaju would mean they will stick a note on the notice board and you go to office and pick it up. This way it will be very safe.

For those with university applications, it would be sent to INTEC or your home, so don't worry.

Mei_Mei, the fastest way to get from KLIA to INTEC (Section 17). I think your registration place is Kolej Cemara/Akasia at Section 18 right?

Either way, take ERL from KLIA to KL Sentral (RM35 per way - 30 minutes, train 15 minutes frequency) and then from KL Sentral, take KTM Komuter to Shah Alam stop (about RM2.50 - 35 minutes , train 20 minutes frequency) and then there , take taxi to your destination (Kolej Cemara/Akasia Sec 18 would cost about RM3 (5 to 10 minutes), whereas INTEC Sec 17 would cost about RM5-6 (10 to 15 minutes).)

Mei_Mei
17-06-2004, 12:54 PM
NOp..my registeration place is at kolej cemara, seksyen 17. wat's the difference between seksyen 17 & 18? is kolej cemara for girls?

17-06-2004, 02:13 PM
Kolej Cemara is at Seksyen 18. Seksyen 17 is where the campus,INTEC is situated. Cemara is boy's hostel while Akasia is girl's hostel. Anyway,the office is at Cemara, so the registeration and orientation will be held there.

Mei_Mei
17-06-2004, 05:46 PM
How bout if i take a taxi from KLIA and directly to intec? Is it cheaper?? How much does it cost?

17-06-2004, 06:21 PM
Hmmm... 5 more days to go for the juniors to check in. Hehe... I guess CCs will be flooded liao. Damn! LOL!

KobeBryant
17-06-2004, 08:46 PM
if we meet seniors at INTEC , then we just ask " do u play recom".....hey , i am kobebryant..LOL

17-06-2004, 10:42 PM
Taxi from KLIA directly to Shah Alam would be about RM100 I believe. If you want to take taxi directly from KLIA, take the legal one that is available from the counter. No point taking the touts, as there have been many crimes/cheats involved in the touts.

You can call in advance to ask for the exact price and book:-
Airport Limo Sdn Bhd - Limo & Taxi Service
Tel: 03 9223 8080, 03 9223 8949 (Booking Centre)
Tel: 03 87873675 (KLIA Counter)

observer912
18-06-2004, 06:39 AM
intec? it is easy to survive. just avoid a b*t*h named minda. simple as that.

18-06-2004, 06:54 AM
observer912, please avoid casting accusation on anyone. ReCom is a friendly network for its members to discuss constructively.

widagdo
18-06-2004, 11:21 AM
i believe that a taxi cost only 50 from klia to shah alam. of course, ask the price before you book it.

h_s_y
18-06-2004, 05:53 PM
i believe that a taxi cost only 50 from klia to shah alam. of course, ask the price before you book it.

yea.. that's right .. if u take a limo(4 pll) to shah alam, the price should be RM50+ ..Less than RM60.. when i got here. .i told the lady at the counter "De Palma Inn, Sek 19".. I didn't know that not only Shah Alam is using "Sek." the lady printed "Petaling Jaya" on the ticket and i ended up paying "RM77.10" . .about RM20+ extra.. and the taxi driver ended having some squabbles with the stuffs.. for the tolls and all that. ..so just an advice to those who are coming to INTEC, don't forget to tell them "Shah Alam"

18-06-2004, 07:19 PM

I hate to agree on this. Chen chow, u can't blame him for venting out his anger... I have my bad days with her too... Grrr..... Just feel like spitting at her at times.

18-06-2004, 07:21 PM

I hate to agree on this. Chen chow, u can't blame him for venting out his anger... I have my bad days with her too... Grrr..... Just feel like spitting at her at times.

who?s minda? student or admin or mak guard?

18-06-2004, 07:37 PM
an ATU lecturer whom we "loved" dearly

18-06-2004, 07:45 PM
i think not many lecturers in INTEC r good at motivating,....

18-06-2004, 11:37 PM
lecturers are humans lar...... of course there will be clashes in terms of methods of teaching and learning.... so try to tolerate them lor.... hmm... dun resort to violence le..... hehe... not tht i am very good lar... still remember in first sem, ALL LECTURERS except mrs ranee were prejudiced against us the "A CLASS PPL" ....but everything is fine now....

just hoping tht when we leave for US there will not be any bad blood between us and the lecturers...

KobeBryant
19-06-2004, 11:42 AM
how many classes are there for ATU students ? it is grouped like A class , B class . C class ?

we need to bring our lock to make sure that our things in wardrobe is safe ? ( wardrobe is provided ? )

scientific calculator is needed ?
the CASIO scientific calculator we used during form4 & 5 is fine ?

19-06-2004, 11:58 AM
Ah... Datin minda... do you know about the research paper thingy? when i first propose her my research topic, she said ok, fine, go ahead... then after i had gathered all my infos and drafted my outline, she suddenly said it's too old topic. but she asked me to go on with it. then when i had everything finalized, i gave her my second last draft, and she said ok, fine, and asked me to hand in my last draft. so i reused my second last draft as my final draft, and then when i got back my research file two days ago, i saw she commented a lot, like my citing is not good, and worst is, she wrote there: "TOPIC IS BORING"

:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

lonewolfhan
19-06-2004, 11:59 AM
KobeBryant:

Yea... ATU classes will be divded into A, B, C... class. all of us will have to take a Placement Test during Orientation (SAT format).. and are divided into classes according to ur Score in the test...
one class will have approximately 20++ students..

YEah.. the Scientific Calculator is fine.. instead... if u r using a more "high-tech" model.. maybe u will be allowed to use during SAT...

lonewolfhan
19-06-2004, 12:02 PM
KObeBryant:

oopss..forgot to answer one question..

yeah...wardrobe is provided... but be prepared to repair the wardrobe if u need to.. u will have to prepare ur own lock !!! for me.. i was not so lucky.. i have to make holes on the wardrobe myself to put in the lock...

KobeBryant
19-06-2004, 04:48 PM
thanks , lonewolfhan

yeah, the placement test will cover what topics ? objective questions ?

we still need to buy a new scientific calculator ? if so , i'd let my bro to use the calculator i used in the SPM

19-06-2004, 06:28 PM
The placement test will be ala-SAT, i.e. verbal and math questions like SAT 1 I believe. So, you need a good grounding in vocabulary and comprehension.

19-06-2004, 06:29 PM
Normal scientific calculator will be sufficient.

Don't think you are allowed to bring calculator for SAT test? can't remember clearly already.

lonewolfhan
19-06-2004, 09:07 PM
KobeBryant:

The scientific calculator u used in form 5 is sufficient ade... dun think u need newer calculator for SAT... the math questions are more to the logical thinking side... so.. calculator is juz to help u to get the answer faster... u wont use any function in the scientific calculator..

SAT test... u r only allowed to use Calculator when u r doing the Math Questions.. during Verbal Section.. calculator are to be kept under the table...

SAT format... Hmm... Verbal : Build up ur Vocabulary...
i) analogy
ii) long long long extremely long passage

Math: dun be careless... u shud be fine !

yeah... all objectives... 5 choices A B C D E !

19-06-2004, 10:47 PM
Remember to bring a good lock as break-ins are frequent here. Nearly everyone here his fair share of experience with thieves. You won't believe it, but they go for everything, from old handphones to coins to shaver and to SAT 2 notes(Till this day, I'm still wondering why they took the notes, old newspaper?.)

19-06-2004, 10:54 PM
Chiunlin, it must be your desperate friends that do so...shavers, SAT2 notes....

19-06-2004, 11:32 PM
KobeBryant:

The scientific calculator u used in form 5 is sufficient ade... dun think u need newer calculator for SAT... the math questions are more to the logical thinking side... so.. calculator is juz to help u to get the answer faster... u wont use any function in the scientific calculator..

SAT test... u r only allowed to use Calculator when u r doing the Math Questions.. during Verbal Section.. calculator are to be kept under the table...

SAT format... Hmm... Verbal : Build up ur Vocabulary...
i) analogy
ii) long long long extremely long passage

Math: dun be careless... u shud be fine !

yeah... all objectives... 5 choices A B C D E !

one more thing.... very important abt SAT that u must know....

IF U DUN HAVE ANY IDEA about the question, DUN GUESS.... there's negative mark...

IF U CAN CANCEL ANY ANSWER, then, ONLY MAKE A GUESS.... THE PROBABILITY OF YOU GETTING WRONG QUESTION is LOWER...

if u dunno what i meant, uh.... just dun guess... coz it really hurts...

for calculator... if u have a graphical calculator, u can bring it to... it is allowed in the SAT... if u dun have one, u dun have to buy it... it is helpful, but just one 1 / 2 question, and it is just like 1 minute faster than those who dun have the graphical calculator...

but it is a long term investment, u can still use it in ur SAT2, CALculus I, CALculus II...

U will need it in Uni...

but it is around rm400.... so, ur choice....

19-06-2004, 11:52 PM
In fact, calculator is not allowed/needed in university courses generally... That's include Calculus, Physics etc...

Most of the questions are without number to calculate...Testing your understanding and generally all are variables, i.e., they are just judging your understanding, rather than plucking the number, graphing it using calculator etc...

gatecrasher
20-06-2004, 08:47 PM
You won't believe it, but they go for everything, from old handphones to coins to shaver and to SAT 2 notes(Till this day, I'm still wondering why they took the notes, old newspaper?.)
Sometimes they steal the cheapest things, like a very ordinary bar of facial soap, and take a bite out of your fruit while they're at it. Sometimes they try to be nice and barter trade instead of stealing, eg exchange ur muffin for meehoon

warrior
20-06-2004, 09:10 PM
As u guy said:
"ATU classes will be divded into A, B, C... class. all of us will have to take a Placement Test during Orientation (SAT format) "....

So, when is the Orientation Day? Is it same day with the registration day on 22/6/2004?

chillout
20-06-2004, 09:24 PM
our placement test is after the orientation...

b4 u begin classes lor.. you'll have it...

dun worry so much.. it is just to gauge ur level...

21-06-2004, 09:28 AM
It would be most likely 24th or 25th I guess, since your orientation runs through 26th.

21-06-2004, 02:49 PM
For SAT, nothing can be greater than getting 1600 except getting below 400...

21-06-2004, 04:25 PM
what do u guys think of the food selling in front of the library?

(let?s move away from ATU talk and focus on INTEC in general)

AikWin
22-06-2004, 06:06 AM
The food there is nice..but the line..man is it darn long. Still, it's cheaper than the canteen near the AUSMAT block in my time. It's where u can order all the "goreng" food and stuff. BUT..EVEN BETTER! Go sek 16 or 25 for chap fan..just a car or bas mini away..woo hoo! Is the auntie still catering for chinese food in college during the evenings? man do i miss her food..

launa
22-06-2004, 06:35 AM
yahoo! today is new cemara akasia intec intake!

let us celebrate!

i do hope that the new students can cope well with the cemara akasia. i wander where they live. is it the new renovated hostel with internet facility and all new things?

22-06-2004, 02:06 PM
The food there is nice..but the line..man is it darn long. Still, it's cheaper than the canteen near the AUSMAT block in my time. It's where u can order all the "goreng" food and stuff. BUT..EVEN BETTER! Go sek 16 or 25 for chap fan..just a car or bas mini away..woo hoo! Is the auntie still catering for chinese food in college during the evenings? man do i miss her food..

if u find the queue long I have a tip.
I always take the food I want and say Hutang so I pay later when the queue is less.
However u have to know how to make friends with the pak cik.
good luck to all new intake and enjoy your new life...

warrior
22-06-2004, 04:33 PM
haha......!!!
ya....INTEC is really a great place...!!!(not included the students' hostel)I think most of the juniors will like it..!!

Besides, the seniors over there like Jenny, Kumitaa, Fang Fui..are also very friendly and helpful too...... I like them very much....Hehe.....Hope to see u again...!!!

22-06-2004, 06:16 PM
The food there is nice..but the line..man is it darn long. Still, it's cheaper than the canteen near the AUSMAT block in my time. It's where u can order all the "goreng" food and stuff

Ehem.... cheap? i think it's a slaughter house ler... The food there is mre expensive than the air con cafe... And i think these days the shop gulung tikar liao... maybe they will be back when business blooms again.

gatecrasher
22-06-2004, 07:33 PM
Go sek 16 or 25 for chap fan..just a car or bas mini away..woo hoo! Is the auntie still catering for chinese food in college during the evenings? man do i miss her food..
You are referring to the sek16 food court right? There are also two Chinese coffeeshops there, beside Four Seasons cakehouse. The one right next door to FS sells really good fried rice and all that. A bit more expensive but worth every extra cent.
Yeah Auntie Sue is still doing business at the hostel. But she comes absurdly early nowadays, usually about 5.30pm :?
And she brings very little so you must be quick.

warrior
23-06-2004, 08:03 AM
haha..... :lol: :lol:
yaya.....is fang yun.....hehe....sorry....

23-06-2004, 10:30 AM
Haha... we found Chiun Lin's clone... LOL!!! but that guy's skinnier than Chiun Lin...

23-06-2004, 10:38 AM
hello there...first time post msg here..........yeah.the juniors just came in yesterday, and their orientation's till monday.......way longer than ours(last year its 3 days only).........
but nevertheless let us all wish them all a big welcome and all the best during their stay in INTEC..... :D

23-06-2004, 11:02 AM
vseehua, welcome to Recom... Err... your nick sounds like Teck Hua, but from what you post, you sound like a first intake...

launa
23-06-2004, 11:50 AM
welcome see hua! see hua is also my best friend. the minggu mesra siswa is so long, almost 1 week! hope they enjoy the long week!

23-06-2004, 11:51 AM
welcome see hua! see hua is also my best friend. the minggu mesra siswa is so long, almost 1 week! hope they enjoy the long week!

err... who are you guys?

launa
24-06-2004, 10:37 AM
err... who are you guys?

we are alg 7 guys. and who are you elansar gelmir?

24-06-2004, 10:39 AM
Guten Tag und herzlich Willkommen...
haha... my juniors...

24-06-2004, 11:07 AM
guten tag... hehe... i'm from ATU 10. ALG 7 as in SPM 2002 batch ppl? Cool... See Hua... the short guy, quite botak?

24-06-2004, 11:08 AM
well, it's good to haf more intec ppl in this forums beside the usual ATUs...

looking at the juniors, i can't believe that we actually looked smtg like them when we first came one year ago (for us ATU10 ppl)...
the blur, confused, disgusted, blank, bored faces...

launa
24-06-2004, 11:42 AM
Danke! juniors are anxious. for us once juniors before, i am also like that. how come the orientation day so long? or it is usually that long, just our batch are so short?

hehe.............

24-06-2004, 11:44 AM
I thought this year is kind of short....

For SPM99 and 00 batch,

6am to 11+pm for 5 days.

Heard that this year, they only need to meet at 7:30am...

launa
24-06-2004, 11:46 AM
ALG 7 as in SPM 2002 batch ppl? Cool... See Hua... the short guy, quite botak?

ya, we are spm 2002 batch people same as you atu 10. by the way, See Hua is known for wearing headset whenever he goes anywhere. he like music very much that he always open his music every hour every minute and every second unless he is sleeping. haha.

launa
24-06-2004, 11:54 AM
I thought this year is kind of short....

For SPM99 and 00 batch,

6am to 11+pm for 5 days.

Heard that this year, they only need to meet at 7:30am...

walao! 6am to 11pm for 5 days? luckily i only need to do that for 3 days only. i don't know why my minggu siswa is so short, only last for 3 days.

what would you prefer? 6am to 11pm minggu siswa for 3 days or 7.30am to 10.30pm(i am not sure about this) for 5 days?

all the new intake stay at which block? 15 and 18? do anyone lives at block 17? the newly renovated block?

24-06-2004, 12:05 PM
i thought they are staying in block 15 and 17? the 18 is already occupied by the Korean and Japan program, rite?

naoj
24-06-2004, 03:13 PM
korean prog people are really happening..hahaha...:):)

24-06-2004, 05:42 PM
I heard that Russia and France program students occupy the newly-renovated block.

Just curious, what's different between the renovated block and the other blocks.

24-06-2004, 07:01 PM
They are new, and they have black tinted windows.

25-06-2004, 11:27 AM
hmmm... one of u vote that life in INTEC is like heaven...
can u tell us why?
have u studied in private college before (just curious) ?

launa
25-06-2004, 02:24 PM
block 17 only have tinted window? no internet access?

please don't confuse with the block 16, 17 and 18. block 17 is oppsite block 15.

25-06-2004, 03:24 PM
internet excess? there was no such luxury at my time.....

25-06-2004, 06:07 PM
yeah......the newly renovated block 17's occupied by the french and russia program students..........hey,i think the seniors deserve to be there..........just finished my AS levels today....its rock'in time........and btw...i'm not quite botak.....haha

lynnx01
26-06-2004, 11:44 AM
it's rather horrible...

i hate the dress code for girls. sheessshh.. it's so hot and i can't wear shorts! they think this is nz huh? it's so HOTT!!!!!! don't we have the freedom of wearing anything? not as if i wanna wear too revealing or what. just shorts and usual tshirt also cannot. sien..

26-06-2004, 11:55 AM
oh... relax relax... later or sooner you will get used it... :lol:
later or sooner you will notise that you will become fairer and fairer... kekeke... :P

26-06-2004, 12:57 PM
oh... relax relax... later or sooner you will get used it... :lol:
later or sooner you will notise that you will become fairer and fairer... kekeke... :P

positive thinking is good...

always look on the bright side of life...

try to think that way : where u can just wear wat u are told to wear

and

dun have to think, dun have to worry and dun have to sit in front of ur warddrobe, staring at millions of apparels, trying to choose a matching pair.....

it saves time....

naoj
26-06-2004, 01:43 PM
it's rather horrible...

i hate the dress code for girls. sheessshh.. it's so hot and i can't wear shorts! they think this is nz huh? it's so HOTT!!!!!! don't we have the freedom of wearing anything? not as if i wanna wear too revealing or what. just shorts and usual tshirt also cannot. sien..

Wow girl...relax. Yeah it is hot but i'm starting to get used to it. aren't you? Besides once orientation is over im sure it'll be fine, it's just that hall is made to retain hot air i think. Outside it's not too bad what.

Did u get a lecture on the perils of wearing shorts? Kaakakka...or was it just the ATU studetns who got it? it was DAMN funny. I had to try not to look like i was gonna burst into hyterical giggles..i sounded like i was choking to death.

Anyways, chill... :) Just thought u'd cheer u up. We're all sama-sama :D

26-06-2004, 01:53 PM
Block 17 has internet access? wow!

Juz do what the other girls are doing... wear a long sleeve jacket and drap it over your t shirt whenever u pass the guard. then when u are about 10 meters away from them, haha... dun have to wear the long sleeve thingy liao... (except for class)

26-06-2004, 05:37 PM
Do like what ElansarGelmir says, just have a thin jacket over your t-shirt or whatsoever, and then just take it off once you are out of the main gate... and put it on , when walk into campus...After that, no one cares... In lecture, it is air-conditioned and I think it is pretty cold, so having long sleeve is no harm. Sometimes, I still find it cold with long sleeve and tie.

26-06-2004, 05:48 PM
Do like what ElansarGelmir says, just have a thin jacket over your t-shirt or whatsoever, and then just take it off once you are out of the main gate... and put it on , when walk into campus...After that, no one cares... In lecture, it is air-conditioned and I think it is pretty cold, so having long sleeve is no harm. Sometimes, I still find it cold with long sleeve and tie.

haha.. from what I see ur body is lasak mah.... can tahan cold..
u r not skinny mah...

26-06-2004, 06:41 PM

haha.. from what I see ur body is lasak mah.... can tahan cold..
u r not skinny mah...

LOL!!!!!!!!
sometimes i am wondering that how many of ReComers see chenchow in person before.... :D just curious
for sure those was in PPP at the year 2001 know chenchow :D

26-06-2004, 07:09 PM
lasak, don't dare to say, but with pneumonia with me, I better be more careful of my health... It is digressing...

So, how is other newcomers at Intec? How is everything going on?

26-06-2004, 07:15 PM
but sometimes the air con in our lecture room break down, then it'll be really hot inside the class.......and sometimes the electrical supply cannot handle the load, so we'll take our lecture with the lights out.........

26-06-2004, 07:29 PM
i dun think that?s a problem at all.. it?s normal too..
nothing to complain because we should be greatful to have a place to study... INTEC is better than many places liao... haha

just my opinion... maybe we r spoilt?

26-06-2004, 07:36 PM
A forewarn, many classrooms in the states don't even have fan... It is so warm over here..

launa
27-06-2004, 08:38 AM
my classroom is very very cold and maybe the coldest( not in intec, i don't think so). my german lecture always like to stay as long as possible in my classroom, just because my clossroom have the coolest and coldest air-con.(hhuummmm.................really cold now)

my german lecture always camplains that the intec maintenance servicer (nice name) don't want to change the rosak air-con, but the one which is still functioning and the new air-con are not cold also. he is very frustated. (don't tell intec ya?)(later intec and the lecturer will kill me)

but sometimes the air con in our lecture room break down, then it'll be really hot inside the class.......and sometimes the electrical supply cannot handle the load, so we'll take our lecture with the lights out.........

kesian..............sob sob

anyway, i am very happy and satisficed with my classroom although i am half dead due to over-coldness.

gatecrasher
27-06-2004, 10:10 AM
Did u get a lecture on the perils of wearing shorts? Kaakakka...or was it just the ATU studetns who got it? it was DAMN funny. I had to try not to look like i was gonna burst into hyterical giggles..i sounded like i was choking to death.
Please enlighten us! I'm all ears - we didn't get this last year.

27-06-2004, 03:07 PM
Welcome to INTEC ALG juniors!

Good to hear that the hostels are improving (albeit very slowly), what with the Internet access and everything.

Hope to see you guys when I get back this summer on august 20.

I'll be the guy who still can't string a sentence of German.

27-06-2004, 05:23 PM
Last sem, my class got shower of air con water... haha... the whole place was flooded, so got to switch class... we complained to the ppl there, but after 2 weeks only they repair the thingy... Malaysia Boleh! INTEC Boleh!

27-06-2004, 05:31 PM
yeah.......the office here's very quick in reacting to complaints.........file it today and it'll almost certainly get fixed today or at most tomorrow

27-06-2004, 05:49 PM
yeah.......the office here's very quick in reacting to complaints.........file it today and it'll almost certainly get fixed today or at most tomorrow

Are you sure it's that QUICK??? Hmmm..... i dunno, i filed lots of complains, and usually i have to go for a second round complain before they get the things done...

27-06-2004, 06:08 PM
Well, things change, Elansar, things change...

And for the better. I'm glad. :)

I really missed the late nite "finding a hole to crawl out to watch champions league at nearest mamak" experience.

We used to have this network where we spread around where the fresh hole will be cut tonite to facilitate our escape.

The hole will only be cut after darkness falls on the day of the game itself, so it's very "fresh", to avoid it being sealed off.

27-06-2004, 06:16 PM
Now the guards are being strict again about wearing long pants when go out... Grrr...............

28-06-2004, 06:20 PM
yalo.......and they said its because of the rampant burglary in the hostel.....although i cannot see the connection....coz the burglary's mostly done by the foreign workers..........

launa
29-06-2004, 08:13 AM
Good to hear that the hostels are improving (albeit very slowly), what with the Internet access and everything.

Hope to see you guys when I get back this summer on august 20.

I'll be the guy who still can't string a sentence of German.

i am waiting for you to come intec to meet us! do you really mean that you can't speak well german?

Now the guards are being strict again about wearing long pants when go out... Grrr...............

the guard make sure us wering long pants whenever go n or go out of cemara. for me, it is a bit inconvience and uncomfortable. long pant under hot sun? i can't stand it!

sometime, the guard also need us to show the matrix card whenever entering cemara.

Grrrrr..................eeeeeeee........................

smartalex
29-06-2004, 06:40 PM
Well I guess they want us to have a good image.
You should know that the people around are quite conservative.
They even specify the types of swimming attire in the main campus swimming pool and the public pool in shah Alam

29-06-2004, 11:14 PM
i am waiting for you to come intec to meet us! do you really mean that you can't speak well german?

Well, you judge for yourself when I come back then :wink:

Really miss the time in Cemara where we go Cybercafe almost every nite during our A-Levels finals.

Here so lonely...only books to accompany me.

launa
30-06-2004, 08:12 AM
launa wrote:

Well, you judge for yourself when I come back then

Really miss the time in Cemara where we go Cybercafe almost every nite during our A-Levels finals.

Here so lonely...only books to accompany me.

um, not bad. go to cybercafe almost every night? i don't go out at night, but i do go to cybercafe at noon to avoid crowed place and choose good pc to use and gaming! this happen especially when it is as level time. almost every day spend 2 to 3 hour at cybercafe! my money just gone like that. rm1.50 per hour is cheap for me. but still can't tahan when play long hour..............