View Full Version : Program Tajaan Tambahan 9A SPM 2008
inadilemma
04-06-2009, 02:51 PM
Hey guys,
i found this on the JPA esila website- Program Penajaan Tambahan Pelajar 9A SPM 2008. Good news!!!:))
To us who fail to secure any scholarship, don't lose hope!
I think this scholarship is for those who have obtained 9As and above in SPM 2008. I remember students of SPM 2007 who obtained 9As and above were rewarded this scholarship. To any seniors out there, do correct me if i am wrong.
it will open in mid-June.
but, i have a question in mind, is this scholarship for overseas or local tertiary education?
thanks in advanced!
04-06-2009, 03:09 PM
If this is still the same as last year, it should be for matriculation and Form 6 students. You can check back last year's thread for more info.
Cadence_hope
05-06-2009, 08:31 PM
Thank you very much for the info. But why don't you just post the links, instead of copying them all over here?
Here is one question from me in the thread 'appeal jpa 2009' that you can't answer because vseehua closed the thread.
Thank you very much for your suggestion. :laugh But do those foreign campuses and AIMST offer ANY course you like? For example, actuarial science seems not in their list of courses. Do correct me if I made any mistake..
superdupree
05-06-2009, 10:25 PM
Thank you very much for the info. But why don't you just post the links, instead of copying them all over here?
Here is one question from me in the thread 'appeal jpa 2009' that you can't answer because vseehua closed the thread.
Hey. Thanks for the suggestion. I didn't know how to quote all the posts i posted on all the threads. Not exactly a very internet savvy person. And crap, now my age and hometown is known by all @<hidden>@<hidden>
Well, to be honest, not ALL types of courses are availabe in all the unis. For example, actuarial science. I don't think any private uni in Malaysia offers that course. So I guess for all of you who failed in the appeal and is interested in doing actuary, you will have to either go thru form 6 or matrix. And then enter one of our local uni.
Cadence_hope
05-06-2009, 10:51 PM
Hey. Thanks for the suggestion. I didn't know how to quote all the posts i posted on all the threads. Not exactly a very internet savvy person. And crap, now my age and hometown is known by all @<hidden>@<hidden>
Well, to be honest, not ALL types of courses are availabe in all the unis. For example, actuarial science. I don't think any private uni in Malaysia offers that course. So I guess for all of you who failed in the appeal and is interested in doing actuary, you will have to either go thru form 6 or matrix. And then enter one of our local uni.
Well, you can just post the link and remove the whole text actually.. :oh And since you put your age and hometown in your profile everyone can see them isn't it?
One thing I must correct you is, there are more private universities providing actuarial science than the one of public universities. For example, AUP at Taylor's, INTI, Sunway and Nilai University College. Now I'm studying at inti majoring actuarial science though..
chele
06-06-2009, 04:01 PM
Hey Zwitterion. thanks alot for all the infos!! =D
However,earlier i sent an enquiry via email regarding this scholarship to both the Pengarah (tajudin.don) as well as the Tan Sri but they didnt reply me till now =(
should i just send my application through snail mail? whom shall i address the letter to?
Athersin
06-06-2009, 04:12 PM
do we need to send our pre u result to JPA ?
what is the difference of that tajaan and JPA PIDN?? i dun really get it ..@<hidden>@<hidden>
07-06-2009, 07:17 AM
Thread split out again. Sorry for my confusion...
sugarspice
07-06-2009, 09:02 AM
Haha, good that JPA is continuing this tajaan this year.
The official announcement is on JPA website, follow this link (http://esilav2.jpa.gov.my/). You will see that under 'Permohonan Atas Talian'.
Yes, it's true that this scholarship is opened for students who got 9As and above in SPM 2008. Most, if not all 9As+ scorers will get it.
Here are some details about this scholarship (as in what happened last year):
1. It will be opened in mid-June, as stated in the eSila website. It closes quite soon, so be quick.
2. You will need to apply online. "borang permohonan dalam talian yang dimuat turun, decetak dan dihantar melalui pos tidak akan diproses" And then you print out sth called Slip Permohonan Penajaan Tambahan SPM 2008.
Last year JPA did asked us to send in some documents (via pos laju of sorts), like a certified photocopy of SPM results and siblings's I/C (I wonder what's the use of sibling's I/C...lol) etc.
CCA and ECA certs are not needed.
But for last year, some of my friends did not even send ANYTHING to JPA but they still got it. So, I guess sending in the docs is just a formality. The most important thing is you need to apply online.
3. The offer letter of this scholarship will be sent in bulk (there will be many many scholars) to your school. So you don't have to sit at home and wait like PILN...lol. You will need to sign a contract & a surat penerimaam/penolakan.
If you already got other biasiswa/tajaan, like Biasiswa Persekutuan kecil, you can either choose this JPA or your biasiswa. You cannot hold both.
But if you're a matrix student, you will still either get your matrix allowance or this one.
4. The amount of scholarship is counted from May 2009 to Nov 2010 (18 months). It might change this year, I duno.
RM110 per month for Science students
RM90 per month for Arts students
So, total is
RM 110 x 18 = RM 1980 for Science students
RM 90 x 18 = RM1620 for Arts students
You will most probably be asked to open a bank Islam account. JPA will give you an account number by calling you (some of my friends did not receive any calls from JPA though), and with that account number you will need to go to Bank Islam and 'buka account'. If you did not receive any call, don't worry. Just head to the nearest Bank Islam and tell them you wanna buka account for this Tajaan JPA and they will tell you what to do. This will happen around late january next year.
The most you can take out from the bank is RM1962 (for Sc students), the rest will go to ATM card and other bank services.
5. This scholarship is actually called Biasiswa Persekutuan Program Penajaan Tambahan Tahun 2009 JPA (Tingkatan 6/Matrix)
And it will be continued if you get an offer from any IPTA or IPTS recognised by JPA upon graduating from form6/matrix and with a minimun of 4 Bs in STPM/ matrix. By that time you need to apply online again. But whether or not JPA is going to support your tuition fees I don't know.
In our year, recognised IPTS were Nottingham, Monash, Swinburne and Curtin. Some said MMU, UTP and UNITEN are also included. Not sure.
Oh yeah, this sponsorship only applies for undergraduate studies 'dalam negara'. That means even you're enrolled in Nottingham/Monash, you cannot transfer to UK/Aussie main campus. You have to finish your degree here.
6. Some syarat-syarat asas: (copied from the handbook last yr)
warganegara Msia
not exceeding 20 yrs old on 31 December 2009
at least an A2 in Bhs Melayu, Sejarah and P Islam/Moral and any 6 of the subjects below
physics, chemistry,biology,maths, additional maths, English 1119 (not GCE O), Accounts, Perdagangan, P Keusahawanan, Ekonomi Asas, EST, Geografi, IT, Bhs Arab Tinggi, Bhs Arab Kuminikasi, Tasawur Islam, P Seni
healthy, not having critical diseases
got offered a place to do form6/matrix
I guess that's about it. Goodluck. Feel free to ask questions here. =)
Athersin
07-06-2009, 09:19 AM
for matric students, it is counted like this:
Science and acc: RM 1250 (June 2008- April 2009) This is what apply to me last year.The amount given is exactly the same as matric allowances!
We have to choose either receiving this tajaan or matric allowance..either one.
ya, u can continue to apply after finish matric, going to 1st degree at IPTA.
but i wonder , how much the allowance given per month for undergradute one?
It will open around mid JUne?
luminodreamer89
07-06-2009, 09:22 AM
Thanks for the lengthy and informative post, sugarspice.
However, what I saw in the esila web was a phrase "Pengemaskinian maklumat akademik/peribadi", (bagi pelajar yang ditaja bawah program ini) below the programme name.
What am I thinking is, JPA does not really continue the scholarship, but just a link for 2007 scholars to update their particulars.
Correct me if wrong.
07-06-2009, 09:34 AM
However, what I saw in the esila web was a phrase "Pengemaskinian maklumat akademik/peribadi", (bagi pelajar yang ditaja bawah program ini) below the programme name.
What am I thinking is, JPA does not really continue the scholarship, but just a link for 2007 scholars to update their particulars.
Correct me if wrong.I guess you're right. I ust checked JPA website and it's written as:
Program Penajaan Tambahan Pelajar 9A Tahun 2008. ( Dibuka pertengahan Jun 2009), not SPM 2008.
Below there are:
Pengemaskinian maklumat akademik / peribadi
(bagi pelajar yang ditaja di bawah program ini sahaja)
This makes sense because matriculation students under this sponsor last year would know their university admission results by mid-June and they should update their details.
Sorry but to say, I guess it's a disappointment for SPM 2008 students.
Athersin
07-06-2009, 09:38 AM
No dissapointement to them la, not forget that they get JPA Local sponsorship-IPTA and IPTS..this is far more better than us..direct sposorships till the end of degree.no reapplication involve.
07-06-2009, 09:43 AM
No dissapointement to them la, not forget that they get JPA Local sponsorship-IPTA and IPTS..this is far more better than us..direct sposorships till the end of degree.no reapplication involve.Yeah... Perhaps... I think they just replaced this programme with the IPTA/IPTS programme this year...
sugarspice
08-06-2009, 06:09 AM
for matric students, it is counted like this:
Science and acc: RM 1250 (June 2008- April 2009) This is what apply to me last year.The amount given is exactly the same as matric allowances!
We have to choose either receiving this tajaan or matric allowance..either one.
ya, u can continue to apply after finish matric, going to 1st degree at IPTA.
but i wonder , how much the allowance given per month for undergradute one?
It will open around mid JUne?
chey...I thought you guys can take both...chey..
allowance should be around RM200-250 bah, or less, see what this year's freshers get lo
yes, mid june, it's stated in the website- so late, last year mid june was the closing date lol....
Correct me if wrong.
Yea, I was wondering about the Pengemaskinian maklumat akademik/peribadi thingy also....lol, my bad. =(
RedDevilz
08-06-2009, 01:28 PM
Correct me if wrong.
that's what i tot too... =( well, that sucks 4 us who din get PILN.... However, they say that PIDN will b open 4 application end of June... Juz wondering if PIDN is the same as last year's program tajaan tambahan 9A?
njkian
08-06-2009, 01:42 PM
my fren got a call from jpa...
he got piln ipta n currently studying in matriculation college.
jpa told him that he cannot further his studies to 4 public universities
which are UM,UKM,USM,UPM.
any others got this type of call ?
4 top universities in m'sia u cannot go...wat is the point of getting the scholarship...
luminodreamer89
08-06-2009, 01:51 PM
@<hidden>: PIDN is not at all similar to the Tajaan Tambahan, as far as I m concerned.
It is catered for those who have completed Matrikulasi, Form 6 or equivalent
to apply when they have obtained a place in local public Universiti.
@<hidden>: Got PILN IPTA but can't enter UM, UKM, USM OR UPM? I am not so sure about that. Very very weird.
njkian
08-06-2009, 02:00 PM
i think they hv to give up the scholarship n get into top universities
n then apply again maybe PIDN
sugarspice
08-06-2009, 04:23 PM
OMG! under PILN also got matrix+IPTA package?! I thought IPTS only? OMG! ....somemore top unis cannot go, why is this?
true, extremely weird. We duno what's goig on with JPA.
milniq
08-06-2009, 07:29 PM
my fren got a call from jpa...
he got piln ipta n currently studying in matriculation college.
jpa told him that he cannot further his studies to 4 public universities
which are UM,UKM,USM,UPM.
any others got this type of call ?
4 top universities in m'sia u cannot go...wat is the point of getting the scholarship...
erm..are u sure it is piln(program ijazah luar negara) or pidn(program ijazah dalam negara)? As far as i concern piln is the scholarship for overseas study...while pidn is for local's IPTA or thise selected IPTS...
Correct me if i am wrong...
Anyway, no point getting jpa if the choice of ipta is limited by them...
08-06-2009, 07:32 PM
erm..are u sure it is piln(program ijazah luar negara) or pidn(program ijazah dalam negara)? As far as i concern piln is the scholarship for overseas study...while pidn is for local's IPTA or thise selected IPTS...
Correct me if i am wrong...
Anyway, no point getting jpa if the choice of ipta is limited by them...
relax. what to do. For those from not well to do family have to accept what they get."beggars can't be choosers"
RedDevilz
09-06-2009, 03:52 PM
i juz called jpa and found out that tajaan tambahan untuk pelajar 9A will not be offered this year... :( haih... it's not fair that only last year's student got it... :cry
10-06-2009, 03:52 AM
Since JPA is not offering this scholarship this year for SPM 2008 students, this thread no longer serves any purpose. Thread locked