View Full Version : Discussion: JPA USA Engineering!

unknown
07-06-2009, 10:20 PM
I got USA Engineering under JPA scholarship. I hope everyone who got this scholarship come here and discuss about it. So that we can know more. Well, plz intro before asking any questions. i'll start first.

SPM results : 10A1
Course : 2 Years foundation ( UNITEN PutraJaya )
3 Years degree ( USA )
Registration date : 27 June 2009
Race : Chinese

We have to open an account for CIMB Bank right? But I heard that we also have to open account for Bank Islam and pay about RM200+ for registration or what. Is it true?

And, the 3 sets of Perjanjian, do we need to post to JPA? Or pass up when register at the college? Cause in letter they say bring during registration, but in the yellow book they say post to JPA. Anyone can answer me?

Oh ya, where we have to stay? JPA sponsor and find a place for us or what? cause they never state anything about our accommodation. =.=

Do we have to pay anything like registration fees during the registration day?

OH MAN~!! I've tons of questions in my head. -.-''' Plz help me everyone! I need to know everything. Kindly answer my question ok? Thx for helping!:)

njkian
08-06-2009, 02:47 PM
I got USA Engineering under JPA scholarship. I hope everyone who got this scholarship come here and discuss about it. So that we can know more. Well, plz intro before asking any questions. i'll start first.

SPM results : 10A1
Course : 2 Years foundation ( UNITEN PutraJaya )
3 Years degree ( USA )
Registration date : 27 June 2009
Race : Chinese

We have to open an account for CIMB Bank right? But I heard that we also have to open account for Bank Islam and pay about RM200+ for registration or what. Is it true?

And, the 3 sets of Perjanjian, do we need to post to JPA? Or pass up when register at the college? Cause in letter they say bring during registration, but in the yellow book they say post to JPA. Anyone can answer me?

Oh ya, where we have to stay? JPA sponsor and find a place for us or what? cause they never state anything about our accommodation. =.=

Do we have to pay anything like registration fees during the registration day?

OH MAN~!! I've tons of questions in my head. -.-''' Plz help me everyone! I need to know everything. Kindly answer my question ok? Thx for helping!:)

Open an account at cimb bank.
that bank islam is for intec students...not for us...who told u that ?
Bring the perjanjian on that day...
nvm everything jpa will help us to settle...especially accomodation...
the uniten paper states that we hv to pay RM50 for orientation.
Rmb to stamp ur perjanjian n letters at Stamp Duty Office(Lembaga Hasil Dalam Negeri) all together 5 things...

one last thing...can u pls discuss at jpa at uniten??
this thread n that thread is abt the same...
jpa us engineering is sent to uniten.

aune
08-06-2009, 09:01 PM
Open an account at cimb bank.
Bring the perjanjian on that day...

Are you sure?? aren't we supposed to post it to the jpa department through mail as stated in the yellow book?

njkian
08-06-2009, 09:35 PM
nvm...u can post it later...
they dun rush u...bring on that day is to ask where to post...lol
dun need to rush...

unknown
09-06-2009, 04:10 PM
dun need to rush...

oh man. so means what? bring to UNITEN or post to JPA? Swt!

09-06-2009, 04:16 PM
Are you sure?? aren't we supposed to post it to the jpa department through mail as stated in the yellow book?

dun need to rush...

oh man. so means what? bring to UNITEN or post to JPA? Swt!
Final answer: Give to them at registration date!!!! Don't post.

unknown
09-06-2009, 08:12 PM
Final answer: Give to them at registration date!!!! Don't post.

haha. are you sure? lolz. everyone has different answer.:cry

09-06-2009, 08:25 PM
haha. are you sure? lolz. everyone has different answer.:cry
this is the truth. I have called JPA about it. Even senior Miracle_Seed said that give during the registration day.

pureint91
09-06-2009, 08:25 PM
Unknown, mind giving ur msn add? I dropped by uniten yesterday n i had some talk with the officers that will in charge

10-06-2009, 01:26 AM
wow...jpa is now sending people to uniten for preparatory?never knew that...anyway,bring on the registration day.trust me...im a senior.

unknown
11-06-2009, 10:17 AM
wow...jpa is now sending people to uniten for preparatory?never knew that...anyway,bring on the registration day.trust me...im a senior.

yea. i guess this is the first year jpa scholars are sent to uniten. ok thx. but later on do we need to post to jpa?

11-06-2009, 03:17 PM
yea. i guess this is the first year jpa scholars are sent to uniten. ok thx. but later on do we need to post to jpa?

The answer before is very clear: No need!

Wow... Everyone here is going to study Engineering in UNITEN.
How about INTEC? Anyone? :amuse

unknown
11-06-2009, 08:23 PM
The answer before is very clear: No need!

Wow... Everyone here is going to study Engineering in UNITEN.
How about INTEC? Anyone? :amuse

yea. if im not mistaken, only US engineering scholar will be send to UNITEN. other engineering students will be in INTEC.

pureint91
11-06-2009, 08:26 PM
Nope, keiko gt usa eng n she gt intec

11-06-2009, 08:33 PM
anyone going to inti for engineering us?hmmm...

YourHeadLah
12-06-2009, 09:47 AM
intec usa engineering here =)

12-06-2009, 03:30 PM

:offtopic Alright, we shall meet there, since you're Sarawakian as well, though you are a guy... :cry

CabalUchiha
12-06-2009, 04:44 PM
i got engineering usa at intec

chikugunya
12-06-2009, 10:18 PM
says gudbye to all jpa bound student us tats will fly 2morrow(the 41 PAVE stdent)....
hope u all will do the best n wait for us there....hehe...:p

13-06-2009, 10:35 AM
To all of you who have gotten JPA Scholarships to study in US, Congratulations!

However, would like to remind everyone that it is mid June already. So, really hope that everyone would start preparing, if the dream of studying at top notch US universities is there. There is not much time to waste, and would really hope that everyone not to wait till you go to preparatory program before starting work. You need to start working hard from now!

We have put up about 30+ resources here (http://usapps2009.blogspot.com), and if you know of other resources, do let us know.

About 25 of us, who have gotten in, studied or graduated from a bunch of top US universities (Berkeley, Brandeis, Brown, Carnegie Mellon, Colby, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Duke, Harvard, Johns Hopkins, MIT, Mount Holyoke, Princeton, Sloan, Stanford, Swarthmore, UPenn, Wellesley) will be facilitating a workshop for 3 days - 1st Aug, 2nd Aug, 15th Aug. So, if those universities are your dream universities, do start preparing now!

13-06-2009, 11:33 AM
Well, thanks for chenchow's information! :)

I wish to prepare earlier as well, but I'm still fuzzy about what should I prepare now.

Must we gain admission to Ivy League Universities(Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale) only? I don't have much confidence...

And we just can apply one university at the same time only is it? I think it's kind of risky...

13-06-2009, 11:39 AM
Well, thanks for chenchow's information! :)

I wish to prepare earlier as well, but I'm still fuzzy about what should I prepare now.

Must we gain admission to Ivy League Universities(Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale) only? I don't have much confidence...

And we just can apply one university at the same time only is it? I think it's kind of risky...

Would suggest you to read through those articles in here (http://usapps2009.blogspot.com). Some of those would give you pretty good starting point.

On admission, you need to get into any of those 15 or so universities that JPA approves. If you get into those universities, then you can go to US in August 2010, or else, it would be August 2011.

The list of universities ,include the 8 Ivy League unis that you list above, as well as MIT, Stanford, Caltech, Berkeley, Johns Hopkins, Chicago, Northwestern, Carnegie Mellon, Washington etc.

You do need to apply for at least 4 (in fact, I would recommend apply for at least 8 of the universities, to be safe).

Good Luck!

13-06-2009, 11:57 AM
Would suggest you to read through those articles in here (http://usapps2009.blogspot.com). Some of those would give you pretty good starting point.

On admission, you need to get into any of those 15 or so universities that JPA approves. If you get into those universities, then you can go to US in August 2010, or else, it would be August 2011.

The list of universities ,include the 8 Ivy League unis that you list above, as well as MIT, Stanford, Caltech, Berkeley, Johns Hopkins, Chicago, Northwestern, Carnegie Mellon, Washington etc.

You do need to apply for at least 4 (in fact, I would recommend apply for at least 8 of the universities, to be safe).

Good Luck!

Alright! Will take your advice. Thanks! :wink

I'll practise it, better study smart and study hard right now onwards, as actions speak louder than words. :amuse

:study

13-06-2009, 12:52 PM
I have posted at here (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=8819) some tips towards US Applications, so that it can be consolidated into one single thread. Do post your questions on applications there! Good Luck!

unknown
14-06-2009, 01:25 PM

oh. i hope i can go intec too. at least i hv a fren there:cry

says gudbye to all jpa bound student us tats will fly 2morrow(the 41 PAVE stdent)....
hope u all will do the best n wait for us there....hehe...:p

oh. is it tomorrow? so good. i still have to spend 2 years in UNITEN:cry

ara
24-05-2010, 09:44 AM
so anyone from 2010 managed to get it????....hmmmm....makes me wonder coz...last year a lot of US engineering...this year nt much!!...haiz...

terencegreen
12-06-2010, 03:12 PM
Halow!!i got US Engineering in INTEC!!finally saw this thread..lol..so is it true that everyone would be doing ADFP although it stated ACTP in the web??

12-06-2010, 03:22 PM
www.usapps2010.wordpress.com might be helpful.