View Full Version : What course should I choose to study
08-06-2004, 09:02 PM
I have seen many people who don?t know what to study after SPM or A Level....
we can discuss which course we want to study in the future...
if you have already chosen to study your course, please share with us why do you choose your course.
08-06-2004, 09:04 PM
I have chosen to study mechanical engineering.
it?s because ME is very marketable in malaysia... same as EE but EE is much more competative
besides, ME field is very wide and I can choose to do a lot of things.
08-06-2004, 09:23 PM
Hmm... i choose biochem because i am not interested in other field.... i mean, i am not interested in studying at all, but heck! i need to choose one field... so i choose biochem ler... maybe because my senior once told me that in biochem, we can learn to discover/create new drugs. That's why Biochem seems to be more interesting than the rest of the field to me... But till today, my mum was like, "What a waste lar you don't want to study medicine." Uhmm... i hope i can change my mom's mindset that being a doctor doesn't guarantee a bright future...
08-06-2004, 09:29 PM
Hmm... i choose biochem because i am not interested in other field.... i mean, i am not interested in studying at all, but heck! i need to choose one field... so i choose biochem ler... maybe because my senior once told me that in biochem, we can learn to discover/create new drugs. That's why Biochem seems to be more interesting than the rest of the field to me... But till today, my mum was like, "What a waste lar you don't want to study medicine." Uhmm... i hope i can change my mom's mindset that being a doctor doesn't guarantee a bright future...
are you sure that biochem is marketable in malaysia? have you done a survey?
marketability is more important than interest because if we study courses that are not marketable ?we might get frustrated when we can?t find a job after graduation.
gohweihan
08-06-2004, 11:56 PM
I've chosen to study Computer Enginnering because of my interest towards computers. Actually decided on this after SPM, and at that time, already aimed to do the degree in Singapore.
09-06-2004, 04:10 AM
i choose Chemical Engineering because i am interested on it and compare to other courses, i think Chemical engineering is the easiest one since we got study chemistry and physics which is a very basic stuff for chemical engineering during our high school time, unlike other courses which really got a lot new things to learn for.
i am interested in learning software, internet and computer thingy too actually, but i got no confident to take those courses related to computer. so ended up, now i am taking chemical engineering.
*now i am learning some computer thingy as my hobby when i got the urge to know about something. photoshop and C++ will be my target in this coming summer holidays, since i will learn C++ by next year as my third year in the university. :D
dinna_g
09-06-2004, 05:33 AM
I have chosen to study mechanical engineering.
it?s because ME is very marketable in malaysia... same as EE but EE is much more competative
besides, ME field is very wide and I can choose to do a lot of things.
An engineer once told me, "if you want to become an engineer and doesn't know which field specifically, ME is probably the best for you." He also pointed out that it is easy to transfer to other engineering field if you're a mechi. Whatever your choice is, I say good luck to you!
i choose Chemical Engineering because i am interested on it and compare to other courses, i think Chemical engineering is the easiest one since we got study chemistry and physics which is a very basic stuff for chemical engineering during our high school time, unlike other courses which really got a lot new things to learn for.
i am interested in learning software, internet and computer thingy too actually, but i got no confident to take those courses related to computer. so ended up, now i am taking chemical engineering.
janewai, that is not true! Chem E is actually the hardest engineering course. If you think you know the basic stuff of engineering through spm, you're wrong... there's a lot more to learn after spm. and honestly, most of my friends changed their major after the 1st of 2nd year of college because they realized that what they actually expected (after spm) is not the same as what they actually get. i'm not trying to discourage you, but i'm just saying that you actually need to learn more about chem e, rather then making your own assumptions. anyway, good luck to you too...
based on my own experience, we were never exposed to many fields. After one or two years of finishing my spm, then only I realized that there are so much more options available and spm is an extremely basic part of the entire career opportunities.
having said all that, i suggest that spm leavers to first, choose a general field i.e. engineering, science, accounting, econ, etc. then, learn about that specific field in more detail, then only choose your career path. don't make decisions because your mom said so or because your friends are all doing that. choose whatever you think you like the most because you'll be living with your career for the rest of your life...
09-06-2004, 05:51 AM
I would like to share a stupid joke with you about engineering with u... by the way, this stupid joke is original...
I was discussing with my INTI friends about which eng job is the most dangerous...
chemical eng... they can accidently poor liquid on themselves and melt off.. they smell poison...
mech eng.. limbs can kena saw off easily by machines...
electrical eng... paling senang kena electric shock
civil eng.... have to wear yellow safety hat everyday and stand under the sun to do calculation... anytime a brick may fall on thier heads
i think mechatronic is the most risky field.. u face the danger faced by Mech and Elec Eng people...
so which one do u want to study? hehe
09-06-2004, 06:29 AM
physics,chemistry and biology seem fun.
so do astrophysics,astrobiology.
09-06-2004, 12:40 PM
Chem E is actually the hardest engineering course. If you think you know the basic stuff of engineering through spm, you're wrong... there's a lot more to learn after spm.
hmm....guess it's pretty subjective....i think all engineering courses require you to work very hard since alot of it is practice...i would say all engineering courses are pretty hard, unless you're talented...but if you love matrices, calculus & complex nos, go for engineering courses...! I believe alot of the skills you learn are portable to other subjects! =)
mudzakkir
09-06-2004, 01:10 PM
which courses is the most hardest of all?
the one that no ordinary student can excel in?
09-06-2004, 02:08 PM
which courses is the most hardest of all?
the one that no ordinary student can excel in?
women studies?? :lol:
09-06-2004, 04:37 PM
it?s very hard when you study everything in foreign language.
imagine doing fluid machanics and meterial science in German or Korean?
david_david
09-06-2004, 07:20 PM
Is nanotechnology related to any engineering field?
09-06-2004, 07:25 PM
nanotech? I think it has something to do with material science.
For example, with nanotech we can build superlight material... and such field belongs to engineering.
maybe slowly we have to learn nanotech in our engineer courses... not sure it?s going to happen or not...
I advice you to go to some of the R & D expo...
you can check the PWTC website for such events...
you will learn some of the latest findings in malaysian industry.
09-06-2004, 08:49 PM
janewai, that is not true! Chem E is actually the hardest engineering course. If you think you know the basic stuff of engineering through spm, you're wrong... there's a lot more to learn after spm. and honestly, most of my friends changed their major after the 1st of 2nd year of college because they realized that what they actually expected (after spm) is not the same as what they actually get. i'm not trying to discourage you, but i'm just saying that you actually need to learn more about chem e, rather then making your own assumptions. anyway, good luck to you too...
Just to inform you that I am doing Chemical Engineering for the second year now in Seoul, Korea. Studying it all the way in Korean Language. I think I did mention that what we learnt in SPM is very basic stuff for Chemical Engineering, but not basic stuff for engineering. Stuff for Chemical Engineering and stuff for only engineering is totally different. :)
Oh yeah, hehe... try to imagine that if one was not a student from science stream and never study and learn about chemistry and physics before, do you think the person can study in Chemical Engineering or not? hehe... that's why I said we did learnt some basic stuff for Chemical Engineering from chemistry and physics during SPM.
hehe.. Of course there are a lot more to learn after SPM regardless what course we take... Or else why we need to further our study in universities and college ler? :D[/quote]
FlwUa
09-06-2004, 08:51 PM
Hey guys!
dinna_g indicated to choose whatever we think we like the most. But the problem now is I don't know what I like the most. When people around me ask about the things I'm interest in, I usually answer 'psychology' .... why? I don't know! This is the only thing which come to my mind, I really can't think of any other fields which I'm interested in. I'm now enroled in AUP program and have taken 'general psychology' as one of my courses for the first semester. I'm so 'lucky' that among all the lecturers I have, the lecturer for this course is the worst! She's late to class everytime and never be serious in lectures! I hardly cope with it. I don't know it's the lecturer's problem or I actually don't like psychology, the course I feel stress the most to study is general psychology!! So what do you guys think that what should I do?
09-06-2004, 08:53 PM
I understand the hardship of studying things in foreign language...
I face the same problem in Germany...
those germans expect me to know everything about machining
A Level knowledge is not even enought to understand things though in first semester... what to say about SPM?
hehe...
09-06-2004, 08:56 PM
Hey guys!
dinna_g indicated to choose whatever we think we like the most. But the problem now is I don't know what I like the most. When people around me ask about the things I'm interest in, I usually answer 'psychology' .... why? I don't know! This is the only thing which come to my mind, I really can't think of any other fields which I'm interested in. I'm now enroled in AUP program and have taken 'general psychology' as one of my courses for the first semester. I'm so 'lucky' that among all the lecturers I have, the lecturer for this course is the worst! She's late to class everytime and never be serious in lectures! I hardly cope with it. I don't know it's the lecturer's problem or I actually don't like psychology, the course I feel stress the most to study is general psychology!! So what do you guys think that what should I do?
hmm... why a lot of malaysians still don?t know what to study after graduate? I though we were frequently asked what is our ambition when we were young...
ohh.. not to commend about u just questioning the situation..
sometimes we face difficult teacher and we have to learn how to cope with it..
I advice you to do a survey on the course that is marketable.. at least you wont study the wrong course where there is no demand in the market (meaning no one might want to employ you)
good luck!
09-06-2004, 08:59 PM
Is nanotechnology related to any engineering field?
NanoTechnology do related to a lot fields of engineering.
From what I learn from the subject "Introduction of NanoTechnology" which I took for this semester, nanotech got related to semiconductor, telecommunication, biotechnology, energy and environmental, ...... etc. :)
09-06-2004, 09:02 PM
I have seen nanotech display in one of the local R & D expo...
they actually made a block which weigth as light as a feather...
it has something to do with material science I think.
FlwUa
09-06-2004, 09:46 PM
Hey guys!
hmm... why a lot of malaysians still don?t know what to study after graduate? I though we were frequently asked what is our ambition when we were young...
ohh.. not to commend about u just questioning the situation..
sometimes we face difficult teacher and we have to learn how to cope with it..
I advice you to do a survey on the course that is marketable.. at least you wont study the wrong course where there is no demand in the market (meaning no one might want to employ you)
good luck!
Yeap, we were frequently asked about our ambitions while we were young. Yup, while we were YOUNG! What can we expect from young people?
Hmm... maybe you don't agree with me but I do think that young people are not mature enough to think about this. We tend to answer this question according to others' opinions like 'I want to become a doctor because mom says this is a good job', aren't we? But there are still so much criteria which we need to consider about like our ability to study this course, our financial supports, and so on....
Maybe we are less exposed to the importance of making decision early before leaving high school, but what we really can expect from young people? I really think that a form 5 leaver is still not mature enough to make any decision since that our education system tend to train us to become memorizing machines than critical thinkers...
Hmm... no offence k? Just want to let you all know what I think. ;)
I do do research online about psychology but what I get are mostly about the situations in US. Could you please tell me is there any way I can obtain more info about psychology in Malaysia? Thanks!
Yeah, it's important to do survey to know whether it's marketable or not in Malaysia, but I have no idea about the way to do so. Could you please help me, iQing? Thanks!
Cheerz!
09-06-2004, 09:54 PM
yeah.. I agree with what you have said about the ambition... your point is reasonable...
here?s what I do to survey local marketability.. u can use it as a guideline...
1, go to jobstreet.com or Jobs de... or similar website and search for your field... if u can?t find any that means it?s not marketable...
2, try to read throught the Job search section in the newspaper frequently... then you will get the general idea of how marketable your course is.
3, ask the working professionals...
if u want to know whether psychology is marketable or not then approach a psychologist who?s working in malaysia.. ask him/her about the marketability of your course in malaysia.
besides that I think you can try to approach organisations that deals with such kind of surveys or have statistical info about your course. I haven?t try this approach yet but it is a good method.
good luck!
09-06-2004, 10:28 PM
I have taken 2 courses on nanotechnology, one particularly on introduction to nanotechnology, where we look at the foundation of the building blocks of the field, do a bit studies on nanofabrication (lithography stuff), nanorobots, nanomedicine, nanoelectronics, nanomachines etc... Basically at the fundamental level, where we look at those stuffs.
Then on the 2nd course I take, it is on nanofabrication. You can take a look at what is covered in the class, including if you want, go ahead and read the lecture notes. It is pretty fun, seeing the fabrication process and in the lab, you actually use all those processes learned and build a real wafer, although it is more like 3 inches in diameter... rather than 12 inchese in industry.
http://courses.ece.cornell.edu/ece336/Handouts.html
I have no idea what i want to be in the future. I just find that econs is a pretty interesting subject to me so that's what i would like to pursue. But career-wise I'm clueless. Completely and absolutely.
10-06-2004, 09:30 AM
Guess that your opportunities to study in US will give you a great opportunity to widen the horizon and give you much better perspectives of your interest etc. Studying econs, does not mean that you are going to be economist. For instance, only 14% of engineering students from my university eventually becomes engineers after graduation and almost all, eventually move up to senior management.
Just that the opportunities and make full use of it. Try to explore on stuff that you are curious in and have a good sample in it. Try it out!
Yeah i know..thanks... =D
david_david
10-06-2004, 11:55 AM
what is the difference between M. Sc and M Eng ( both in engineering) ?
Is it just a different title?
10-06-2004, 12:49 PM
Guess that your opportunities to study in US will give you a great opportunity to widen the horizon and give you much better perspectives of your interest etc. Studying econs, does not mean that you are going to be economist. For instance, only 14% of engineering students from my university eventually becomes engineers after graduation and almost all, eventually move up to senior management.
Just that the opportunities and make full use of it. Try to explore on stuff that you are curious in and have a good sample in it. Try it out!
thanx for tellingme that. At first I am frustrated when my mum don?t let me study business, which is something I like very much..
I have to study engineering, which I don?t exactly know what does an engineer do except earning enough money for myself. I even think that engineering has something to do with foreman... so it was though for me to learn engineering...
I am quite happy to know that Eng students can end up in management field... thanx chenchow.
10-06-2004, 01:53 PM
thanx for tellingme that. At first I am frustrated when my mum don?t let me study business, which is something I like very much..
I have to study engineering, which I don?t exactly know what does an engineer do except earning enough money for myself. I even think that engineering has something to do with foreman... so it was though for me to learn engineering...
I am quite happy to know that Eng students can end up in management field... thanx chenchow.
hmm...engineers do not earn that much money actually...like my tutor said if you want money you have to work with money!
anyway, if you wanna earn alotta money you either have to be very good at what you are doing or you are very good at getting someone who's very good to do it for you!
10-06-2004, 01:56 PM
hi ppl...
anyone heard of or is studyin bioengineering now?
it's seems interesting...something to do with tissue engineering and bla bla bla..i dont know..
let the experts explain here..hehe
10-06-2004, 01:57 PM
I think I will go for investment to attain financial freedom.
david_david
11-06-2004, 07:04 AM
hey i'm being ignored .
what's the difference btw M Sc and M Eng ( in engineering)
or maybe btw B Sc and B Eng( engineering)
help i'm very blur
11-06-2004, 07:12 AM
david_david, sorry for did not realizing your post, as there were too many posts, and I am unable to keep up to every thread. If this happens in the future, just repost like you do now. Thank you.
Basically, it is defined by the university I believe.
For instance, my university, Cornell University, grants M. Eng for Master which is course-based. It is one year program, where students will eventually going out to work in the industry. Whereas, M. Eng is research-based, where these students will be eventually moving into PhD. On average, students spend about 1.5-2 years for this program.
However, from what I observe, Stanford has completely opposite. Its course based 1 year program in M.Sc. and its MEng master which is about 2 years are research-based.
Guess it works the same way for undergrad.
This is from what I understand. Hope that others who know better could reply.
11-06-2004, 11:40 AM
hi ppl...
anyone heard of or is studyin bioengineering now?
it's seems interesting...something to do with tissue engineering and bla bla bla..i dont know..
let the experts explain here..hehe
i thought bio engineering is about making medical equipments? Hmm... maybe it's tissue and DNA engineering.... shrug
Ps. Pandaboy, your avatar's darn cute... feel like pinching it... can't tahan lar!
11-06-2004, 01:05 PM
hey i'm being ignored .
help i'm very blur
I think different universities have different names for their courses...with the US universities almost completely different from the ones in UK i think.....but in UK MEng means a 4 year course in Engineering...whereas an MSc means a 1 year full-time/2-year part-time course in a specialised field, which has a pre-requisite of another degree...
e.g. I'm doing a 4-year MEng Aeronautical Engineering Degree....and for MSc in my dept's like: 'MSc in Composite Materials' and 'MSc in Advanced Computational Methods'
BSc and BEng as you can see from the notations behind are Science and Engineering respectively. E.g. if I take Physics, my degree's BSc Physics, and say Aeronautical Engineering, it's BEng Aeronautical Engineering
In the UK, a BSc/BEng degree takes 3 years, and an MEng course takes 4-years....
Once again, wish to point out that I'm commenting on the UK system, not too sure about US/Australian system, need some one else more qualified to answer that...
Cheers and hope that helps =)
11-06-2004, 09:01 PM
hey i'm being ignored .
help i'm very blur
you need to understand what's the difference between engineers and scientists, then only you have the idea of the difference between those two.
engineers usually associated with fixing something when it breaks, whereas, scientist usually sit in the lab and doing research.
honestly, like chenchow said, it depends on where do you study too.
at USC, comp. sc is in engineering school. So, somehow, comp sc ppl at USC needs to know lots of engineering stuff (in fact, I think, it's almost doesn;t make any difference at all if you take comp. sc or comp eng at USC). Thus, there are 2 courses offered at USC to combine those two: 1) computer science 2) computer science and computer engineering. The difference is , those who take option 2, have to take extra 5-6 EE (elec. eng. ) classes.
it depends on where you study. But there are ppl who study physics all their life and suddenly become an engineer.. or the other way around.
(e.g Dennis Richie (http://www.engin.umd.umich.edu/CIS/course.des/cis400/c/c.html) )
11-06-2004, 09:28 PM
it is said that business administration is much related n useful for engineer. is that true?? is there any other business studies that also related to engineer??
23-06-2004, 04:12 PM
Im now study at melaka mmu.Many seniors that i know over here told me that bio instrumentation is a hard course to study.Im afraid that i cant get flying colours result o pass my exam and im so tension and confused about my course lar.They also tell me that my course is too new so in future hard to find a job.But last time i read information about my course when i want to get job is easier because this course is a bit like bio-tech and i can do jobs in lab o factory that produce bio equiment ,right??Am i have the right information?Can anyone just tell me because im so confused and im scare i cant make it to my beta level or degree.Please give me some lights because im now lost in dark......
~~Thx 4 any 1 tat can help me!!~~
Post moved from a locked thread due to similar topic. Anyone can help shan123 here?
23-06-2004, 11:40 PM
shan123, I think there is great future for you, if you learn the stuff well, while remember to learn communicate, leadership and teamwork well. This will determine your make or break.
You can work in many diverse fields with any degree. It is on how good you are...
Randomphantom
24-06-2004, 06:20 PM
Business related to engineering? I guess any engineer going for management level requires a bit or business knowledge. Engineers have technical knowledge about their products, so they can do product sales and marketing too. Accounting, company law, etc all are useful to know, but not necessary for an engineer. Some engineers go for MBAs too.
It is always better to study what you are interested in - you'll be even more motivated to excel. People with passion in their profession do so much better then those doing out of 'i want teh money!!', 'parents told me', or 'don't know, go with the flow'. Find out what fields you are interested in, NOT interested in, check the job prospects, ask people in this field, ask students studying this field, read on the subject. I see many people doing jobs that are far different then what they do at their bachelors. Plus, when you work you apply only a small amount of knowledge learnt in undergrad.
Bio instrumentation? Maybe its a new course and you have reservations- just push aside your worries cos there SHOULD be excellent prospects in the biotech field if not more in the near future. Focus on doing well in your course and being top of the crop, and don't let other people comments let you lose concentration. But if you cannot stand studying it at all or keep on failing, then its time to think about switching. Only you know what you want.
xiaogui
29-03-2009, 03:41 PM
Hi,i'm a form5 student of science,but my father wants me to become a automobile maintenance man.Actually i am no much intrested in this and I thought automobile service not any relations in science subject.But my father told me automobil service will be potential in the futher market.If i want to be a automobile maintenance man,i need to take what branch department after my spm?I should take Electronic technology or Mechanical engineering?These two have any not to be dissimilar onot?
wiley
29-03-2009, 04:11 PM
as far as i knw, electronics engineering is nothing to do with automobile or any regarding to vehicle. electronics eng is about circuit, resistor , diode and so on. if u want to pursue automobile, i think u hav to take course sumthing like automotive engineering . it's under mechanial faculty if i m not mistaken. "Any1 please corret me if i m wrong"
theunknown
29-03-2009, 10:47 PM
it's five years already since the last post.
would love to hear the current recomers of what courses would they love to pursue
29-03-2009, 11:43 PM
if there is a course on tattooing,i'd love to go for it...hehe
im currently studying engineering,mainly because i like to work with machines and paint.my true ambition is actually to be an undersea welder.
TheArtOfMedicine
30-03-2009, 06:59 AM
Hmm..interesting.
theunknown
30-03-2009, 11:55 AM
if there is a course on tattooing,i'd love to go for it...hehe
im currently studying engineering,mainly because i like to work with machines and paint.my true ambition is actually to be an undersea welder.
wow.....interesting ambitions
maestro_zouk
30-03-2009, 02:54 PM
hello...
could anyone tell me their opinion about science course...
what majors are in market rite now???
plus anyone with exp. studying science in uk or us please inform me...
maestro_zouk
30-03-2009, 03:13 PM
hello..
could anyone tell me ur opinions on science course..
what majors are currently in market..
plus anyone with exp. studying in us or uk please inform me..
30-03-2009, 03:57 PM
Merged two similar threads into one.
hmmcsnick
30-03-2009, 04:18 PM
Did agriculture science good and hv bright potential in Malaysia it seem seldom ppl choose this path did it got benefit or not