View Full Version : Urgent Information ----> JPA scholars under German progra
10-06-2004, 07:58 AM
thanx for your email. please allow me to explain it in detail... do spread my words to those who need this piece of advice.
1, What I want to ask u is the final certificate that I get after I finish studying
for the JPA scholars we will be studying in fachhochschuler (FH) for about 4.5 years. After finishing the course we will get Diplom Ingeniur, which is equivilent to MASTER but some people recognise its level as between Degree and MASTER.
However,
the policy has just changed recently.
To unify the system and internationalise the certificate Dip Ing has been changed to Bachelor MASTER.
Besides, our government now wants the students to take bachelor MASTER course...
My batch is the last batch taking Diplom Ingineur. After my batch all malaysian students are taking the course of Bachelor MASTER.
here?s the duration.... this is base on FH Reutlingen?s system because currently reutlingen is the only FH offering Bachelor MASTER programme.
Dip Ing takes about 8 semester. which is about 4 years.
Bacholar ... takes 6 semester. but one has to obtain 2,5 points to be qualified to study MASTER course
MASTER course takes another 3 semester
the Germany point system is different from malaysian... you will learn it later.
the advantage of having a german certificate is that the experience is included because you will have to do 2 practical semesters.
2, when I further my studies in Germany next time, izit I have the chance to choosw which university I want to go in Germany???
Yes you do have the chance to choose the FH. But you would be studying in a state call Baden-W?rtemberg. If the number of students in your batch is too big then one portion of the student will be sent to other state under another program.. let?s just focus in Baden programm.
since there are quota from german side each FH in Baden state can only take certain amount of people. So there is competition. Before you come to Germany you will be asked to fill up a form.
you have to write your first choice and second choice of the COURSE you wish to study. Then you have to write the first choice and second choice of the FH you wish to study.
After reaching Germany, in the first month the result of your course and your FH will be announce.
If you cannot get the course or FH that you like you can change you course or FH in the second semester. Credit transfer is possible. However, changing course or FH can only be done ONCE
some of the FH in Baden where there are JPA scholars are Aalen, Albstadt, Heilbronn, Reutlingen, Esslingen, Ulm, Offenburg, Furtwangen, Konstanz, Mannheim, Karlsruhe. you can ?know more by going into this website
www.mgss.de
it?s the Malaysian student organisation in Germany.
4, Ohya....next time I study in "Fachhochschule" (FH) Or TECHNICAL UNIVERSITY (TU) in Germany...????
You will be studying in Fachhochschule. TU takes longer duration than FH and students from FH are more marketable due to thier practical experience.
I hope this helps you a lot. I you have further question please reply me.
You can also contact the malaysian embassy for latest update or news... it is advisible to do so because the policy is still very new and changes are expected.
this is the email to malaysian embassy in Germany. Please include your IC NUMBER in your correspondance otherwise it would not be entertained. since the embassator is a woman, please address her as PUAN
mwberlin.edu1@<hidden>
mwberlin.edu3@<hidden>
however, I have spoke to a german entrepreneur in an expo. He has factories in Penang and KL. He says to me that I hsould not worry about getting a job as German certificate is recognised in Malaysia.
Some of my graduate seniors are working for private companies.
this is the website of my FH www.fh-aalen.de
to look up for other FH?s website just substitute the word aalen with other place name... for eg mannheim...
www.fh-mannheim.de
--------------------
Hi....I'm also one of the JPA scholars this year....They offer me Engineering in Germany....What I want to ask u is the final certificate that I get after I finish studying(30 months in UiTM, 54 months in Germany) ..Izit I will get Bachelor??? Or juz Diplom Ing...?????This is the 1 thing I'm worry now!!!
Besides, when I further my studies in Germany next time, izit I have the chance to choosw which university I want to go in Germany???
Ohya....next time I study in "Fachhochschule" (FH) Or TECHNICAL UNIVERSITY (TU) in Germany...????
Hope u can reply to me soon as I want to make the decision now whether I want to accept this scholarship or not....
Thanks for your help....
warrior
---------------------------------
Do you Yahoo!?
Friends. Fun. Try the all-new Yahoo! Messenger
10-06-2004, 12:59 PM
do u think we can make this thread a sticky thread ?until everyone enter INTEC?
I think it?s needed for some students here....
warrior
10-06-2004, 08:47 PM
I will study A Level and German Language be4 I further my studies in germany right!
One thing I want to know is about the A Level...Izit the A Level is taugh in English Language in UiTM??? the text book also in German Language???And next time when we further our studies in Germany, izit 100% for us to use German Language in all the subjects we study???
warrior
11-06-2004, 12:09 AM
yup.. u will do your A Level, German course and practical training before going to germany.
A Level is London paper. All subjects excepr german is in English.
u will also learn tamadun manusia or something like that in malay.
in Germany everything is in germany. We talk, write and read in German.
11-06-2004, 03:39 AM
warrior... can u share with us what?s ur decision? thanx...
linda
11-06-2004, 04:39 PM
Well, I haven't studied in Germany before but I have gain alot of information from my German colleagues about the education system in Germany. IQing, as far as I am aware of, the JPA offer the Engineering programme in Germany to attend Fachhochschule (FH). This is NOT EQUIVALENT to the traditional University or rather TECHNICAL UNIVERSITY (TU) in German. The main reason why the German government introduce the FH is mainly due to the lack of technical experts during the 1970s-1980s. This is coz, in order to get an engineering degree (Diplom Ing.) the normal TU, you will need to study about 6-7 years! So, the govern introduce FH in which you will study only 4 years to get a certificate usually called "Diplom Ing. (FH"). In FH, students spend most of their time doing practical works rather than studying thoretical subjects. So, no doubt that students graduated from FH will be "technical expert" in the area they studied and easily join the industry. OK, now you look at the GOOD side of FH....
The DANGEROUS thing about FH is that, you are bond to the area you learn in FH!! So, normally, you will work in that area (or rather in the same company!) in your whole life!! THis is coz, you know nothing else other than the practical stuffs you study in FH (since you seldom study any books!!!). This problem is will not occur if you start with a good company and you loves the job and plan to stay there for the rest of your life! That's fine...you will have certain about of salary increase...But, for students who just being offered the JPA Scholarship..at 18 years old, how they know whether they will love the job or not? At the worst case is, this certificate is NOT BEING RECOGNIZED in US or UK universities as a universities degree!! So, you won't able to do a MAster degree straight away. And you now, start to see the amount of times you will waste if you plan to do other areas later...
And of course I can see why the govern encourage this course. As I said, students graduted from FH can easily adopt to the industrials as they have so much of practical works in the school. This is coz, our country is lacking of "technical experts" nowadays. Put it in other words, we are same conditions as Germany in 1970s-1980s!!!
OK, this is just some advice and information I obtained from few or my German colleagues.
Hope it helps!
Linda
11-06-2004, 10:48 PM
Thanx linda for sharing.
Dip Ing is still marketable in Malaysia.
Don?t worry about the danger of studying in FH because there are some of the successful entrepreuner graduated from FH.
We learn things in many many years compare to other country so I don?t think we are less flexible compare to other countries. You can view the website of my FH to see the subjects you will learn in my FH
www.fh-aalen.de
Dip. Ing is still marketable in Malaysia as I have told u that my seniors graduated from FH work in private companies. I know one of my seniors is working in a Japanese company.
linda has asked me earlier about the website where we can view the ranking of FH in Germany.
I am sorry that I don?t know about such wesite. u can ask the people in www.mgss.de
the ranking is not that accurate.
The education quality is actually standardise so there is no best or worst FH.
however, Esslingen is well known to be the FH that provides best education but the standard is very high.
I hope this helps. thanx a lot for sharing your information with us.
warrior
12-06-2004, 12:23 PM
hi...
I still not make my final decision yet.....I had sent the appeal letter to change country.....Until now, I still prefer to USA.....As I said, I wish to study E&E Engineering.....However, the tradition course in Germany is ME.....Besides I have to study Germany language, I also have to spend more time( about 3 years) to get Diplom Ing..........So, this is the main problem tht I'm facing now......
Hopefully my appeal letter will be giving consideration.....Actually I appeal to USA also for our government's benefits.... As u know, EURO dollar now is more expensive than US dollar.....If JPA send me to USA, it's not only saving our goverment a lot of money, apart from that, I can also graduate early, in order to serve to my country early......Thus, I hope they will consider this point......
Anyway, I juz wait and see how about the appeal going on 1st.....
warrior
12-06-2004, 01:40 PM
hi...
I still not make my final decision yet.....I had sent the appeal letter to change country.....Until now, I still prefer to USA.....As I said, I wish to study E&E Engineering.....However, the tradition course in Germany is ME.....Besides I have to study Germany language, I also have to spend more time( about 3 years) to get Diplom Ing..........So, this is the main problem tht I'm facing now......
Hopefully my appeal letter will be giving consideration.....Actually I appeal to USA also for our government's benefits.... As u know, EURO dollar now is more expensive than US dollar.....If JPA send me to USA, it's not only saving our goverment a lot of money, apart from that, I can also graduate early, in order to serve to my country early......Thus, I hope they will consider this point......
Anyway, I juz wait and see how about the appeal going on 1st.....
warrior
I wish u good luck !!!
it?s true that I was like you before.. applying to get USA but failed to do so... that?s why I ended up in Germany...
I disagree about your view in Saving money.
although we receive a lot of money from JPA but we are not burdening the government much because in germany education is FREE-.
the government is paying us our rental and life needs..
whereelse if u study in UK or US the government have to pay a lot of money...
that?s the myth and thruth...
Cirnelle
12-06-2004, 02:31 PM
IQing is right. The fees to study in USA is way expensive than what JPA is paying for Germany. The Program in Germany is also partially paid for by the State of Baden W?rttemberg government. Such as the preparation course and Vorkurs in Germany.
Therefore, more money will be given to the students rather than given to the Uni for fees as in the case of USA. And that's a good thing.
However, it's still your call. Frankly, your point of JPA saving money isn't gonna hold water in my opinion. Good luck in appealing.
If you have more questions, simply post here or visit http://www.allesdeutschland.tk and subscribe to claim your guide on Surviving in Germany. Hope that will give you a view on what to expect.
12-06-2004, 02:35 PM
IQing is right. The fees to study in USA is way expensive than what JPA is paying for Germany. The Program in Germany is also partially paid for by the State of Baden W?rttemberg government. Such as the preparation course and Vorkurs in Germany.
Therefore, more money will be given to the students rather than given to the Uni for fees as in the case of USA. And that's a good thing.
However, it's still your call. Frankly, your point of JPA saving money isn't gonna hold water in my opinion. Good luck in appealing.
If you have more questions, simply post here or visit http://www.allesdeutschland.tk and subscribe to claim your guide on Surviving in Germany. Hope that will give you a view on what to expect.
ikhlan... lol
if u wanna to know some of the students in Germany do visit www.mgss.de
12-06-2004, 02:36 PM
other than cyberjaya is anyone still interested in my west-europe adventure? the detail is in another thread...
linda
12-06-2004, 04:36 PM
Hi IQing, just curious, how long have you been in Germany?
12-06-2004, 04:38 PM
half a year.
13-06-2004, 03:46 AM
More like 5 months... :roll:
warrior
13-06-2004, 10:07 AM
so, during this short period in Germany, how about ur life there?? Enjoy? Or struggle very hard so " survive " in ur studies ?
From wht I know about Germany education, it's only free for Germany citizens...Izit right?
13-06-2004, 11:01 AM
so, during this short period in Germany, how about ur life there?? Enjoy? Or struggle very hard so " survive " in ur studies ?
From wht I know about Germany education, it's only free for Germany citizens...Izit right?
hhmmmmm................
Cirnelle
13-06-2004, 12:43 PM
i hate to say this. it is very demoralising. but yes, we are really struggling to survive.or at least, i am. :cry:
imagine paying double so much effort in studies because of the language barrier.
imagine the difficulties trying to fit into a german cycle of friends, because of the language barrier, again.sigh. ( they speak slangs and accents, and what we learned in malaysia is nothing more than just allowing us to order a cup of coffee. it is very different from spoken german.)
imagine germans as one of the "coldest" people in the world. they do not open up very fast to strangers. so it is kinda harsh on foreigners like us to feel warm or at least,welcome. they are helpful alrite, but this is when u approach them first. they will never make the first step.
imagine half a year of cold weather. i hate this. :?
imagine all shops closed on sundays.
imagine the only entertainment here after 6 is goin to pubs and drink,drink,drink.
imagine no english movies here! :x
imagine a nation with no humour! yucks!
imagine studying something u r not passionate about in this situation... :cry:
but there are a lot of brighter side. the best part of it is, german is the heart of europe and is surrounded by nine EU coutries! and as all knows, germans are high tech freaks. so if u r really into tech stuff, germany is heaven.
but for the mean time, i am still trying to appreciate this chance given to me. some things u dun fall in love with it at first sight, but i am sure i will find a reason for me to love germany eventually. :roll:
13-06-2004, 12:53 PM
please dun be discouraged.
this is very subjective.
I have experienced very different life from cirnell...
socialwise it?s very fine for me...
I joke with the germans and they even come to my room for extra coaching. they are very polite and clean people.
so it?s subjective.
warrior, it?s hard in the beginning.
free edu is not for germans only
13-06-2004, 01:30 PM
It depends on which city/town you are studying.
Small towns are more friendly as the FH has less students.
In my case, I don't even know the names of half the class.
Big cities, you tend to be more anonymous.
So it's up to you which type of life you want.
IQing is right, it's all subjective.
But Cirnelle has a point too.
So it all depends on where you are, IMHO.
sTrEAk-jOn
14-06-2004, 02:17 PM
Hello everyone,
I'm from Sarawak, and have been offered the JPA scholarship to Germany for Engineering. I have a few questions to ask:
1) How long is the Pre-U here in Malaysia? From the posts some say it is 30 months. Mine is 18 months in KBU. So is there any difference with mine?
2) Which towns are you from? From above I can see that life has a big difference from town to town. So pls advise on the this...?
3) I have a choice of education either Singapore or JPA Germany. Which would you think is better?
Thanks in advance!
Jonathan Lee
Kuching, Sarawak
warrior
14-06-2004, 03:39 PM
Hi....I'm also one of the JPA scholar...But I get 30 months in UiTM...So r luckier than me...
Em.....Jonathan, one thing I wan to ask u is in ur JPA offer letter, wht type of certificate u will gain after u finish studying in Germany?? Do the letter mention?? In my case, the letter says will " Peringkat Ijazah Pertama".....But, after I read from the German Program catalog, I know the final cert. tht I gain is Diplom Ing. (FH)..........So, u must be careful about this.....
sTrEAk-jOn
14-06-2004, 04:09 PM
So Warrior, are you accepting the scholarship? I will check on my documents later. But I know that the letter said "Peringkat Ijazah Pertama" too. Not sure about the Diploma Ing(FH) thingy tho.
Problem is I'm in ASEAN now, dun know which to choose. Advice is welcome....
14-06-2004, 04:37 PM
sTrEAk-jOn, I would say that the quality of German universities would be much higher than NUS and NTU. Even the Singaporeans have started to send their students to Germany. However, the initial period when you first get to Germany will be difficult, however, I have seen many here who have gone to various countries to do exchange, taking course in other languages after learning for 4 semesters.
So, what you would get would be more in depth. I don't think anyone here could tell about the KDU program, because no one else did that before. For UiTM one, you will have 24 months of preparations for A Level, and then you will spend the remaining months at Malaysian-German Institute learning and working with Germans.
In a way to cope the language, speak more to the German lecturers that you have. They are usually very nice people.
sTrEAk-jOn, I would say that if you are looking at going abroad, then JPA would be a better choice. If your aim is to go to NUS/NTU, then staying at ASEAN will be a better choice.
14-06-2004, 04:43 PM
chenxhow is right...
tension... the material science here is difficult.. the lecture expect I know all those gizmo stuffs...
people here already have good practical skills... in compare tu me..
however it?s just the beginning..
I see all my malay seniors look relax and I don?t know why am I feeling so tense.. it seems they feel the same also...
I spend my time from 2001 till 2003 before I fly to germany on 10 Jan 2004....
the practical course and A Level course... it seems the policy is not yet stabil and it changes from time to time...
sTrEAk-jOn
14-06-2004, 05:12 PM
Thanks for the advice, I will consider it well. chenchow, when u say standards are higher, does it mean the Universities in Germany? I have done some research and from what my uncle's German friends say, the FH is ranked lower (standard-wise) than the University (TU I think) in Germany, and staying in Singapore might be better. What can be said of the standards of the FH?
warrior
14-06-2004, 06:06 PM
yup,jonathan....ur uncle's German friends is right!!!
ok.....one thing u should know now is between Diplom Ing and Diplom Ing. (FH)....These are the 2 different certicate.....If u want to gain Diplom Ing. , u need to study 7 years in Germany(includes A Level, total 9 years)....This is a very good certificate.....It can be said that it's equivalent with Master Degree....
However, Diplom Ing(FH) is different with that....For this cert. , we juz need to study 4.5 years in Germany. This is coz it's more concern about practical works.......So, after u finish studying, u r very expert in the field that u participate in......Yet....this is not as valuable as Diplom Ing.......This is the thing u must consider....
I'm waiting for the appeal result.....See when is the result released.......
Mei_Mei
16-06-2004, 07:00 PM
Are the courses e.g. engineering is tought fully in german language? How bout in english??
16-06-2004, 08:30 PM
yup,jonathan....ur uncle's German friends is right!!!
ok.....one thing u should know now is between Diplom Ing and Diplom Ing. (FH)....These are the 2 different certicate.....If u want to gain Diplom Ing. , u need to study 7 years in Germany(includes A Level, total 9 years)....This is a very good certificate.....It can be said that it's equivalent with Master Degree....
However, Diplom Ing(FH) is different with that....For this cert. , we juz need to study 4.5 years in Germany. This is coz it's more concern about practical works.......So, after u finish studying, u r very expert in the field that u participate in......Yet....this is not as valuable as Diplom Ing.......This is the thing u must consider....
I'm waiting for the appeal result.....See when is the result released.......
I disagree with this.
first of all edu in germany si standardised]
and TU is not better than FH.
FH takes shorter i=time to graduate but we have experince while the TU people study a lot of theory only.
just ask any german firm whether they prefer to take FH graduate or TU. what is the use of ranking when the marketability is not compatible with FH?
17-06-2004, 02:01 AM
Are the courses e.g. engineering is tought fully in german language? How bout in english??
99% of courses in FH are in FULL German.
A bigger percentage of courses are offered in University are English. Such as International business and management.
Masters in University are mostly if not all in English. (carry the name International Masters)
However, be warned though that not all professors in Germany speak good German.
Imagine, "I have yesterday to the market gone."
I'm not kidding.
P.S. For those who just received scholarship, there are FHs where they offer Bachelors instead of Diplom (this year FH Reutlingen is starting). You take 2 semesters less (or is it 1? not sure) and only have 1 practical semester in the industry.
You might lose out in having an extra practical semester to gain experience but you will graduate earlier.
By the year 2010, all FHs and Unis in Germany will only offer Bachelors and Diplom will be abolished. It is being implemented gradually as in the case of FH Reutlingen. FH Ulm is already planning to offer only Bachelors in some courses for the next intake.
So make a wise choice.
Mei_Mei
17-06-2004, 06:42 AM
I have accepted the jpa scholarship to do the german programme, n will register at intec on 22nd jun. i have learnt that the diploma ingenurs( something like that) is equivalent to master, is it true? i intend to pursue civil engineering in the future. Are we allowed to choose the type of enginnering we like after finishing the a level german programme??
Actually i wish to do engineering in uk. i wish to appeal to jpa to change the country.. is it too late to appeal now? By the way, which country will be the best to learn civil enginnering, UK or German?? N one more question, are those graduated from germany.. i mean for engineering .. are then considered as professional engineer??
17-06-2004, 06:50 AM
mei_mei, JPA does not send engineering students to UK, or even if they have, there are very very few. JPA sends engineers to US, Germany, France, Japan, Korea..not sure including Australia and NZ or not.
I believe that to qualify for Professional Engineers, you need to sit for the PE exam. And I believe you have a choice of what major within engineering to take.
17-06-2004, 10:30 AM
Cik Saraya Arbi, the Education Attache at the Malaysian Embassy in Germany, explicitly confirmed that Diplom Ing (FH) is recognised as Professional Degree by JPA.
It is not equivalent to Masters however it is regarded higher than a normal Bachelors or even with honours as to get the Diplom u need to do 2 practical semester (equivalent to 1 year) and 6 mths (or 1 year depending on how hardworking you are) to write your thesis (Diplomarbeit).
The Diplomarbeit is practical dat means it will be done in collaboration with a company or research centre with practical applications.
linda
17-06-2004, 05:43 PM
I disagree with this.
first of all edu in germany si standardised]
and TU is not better than FH.
FH takes shorter i=time to graduate but we have experince while the TU people study a lot of theory only.
just ask any german firm whether they prefer to take FH graduate or TU. what is the use of ranking when the marketability is not compatible with FH?
iQing, I agree with you when you say that "TU is not better than FH". But, as I already explained in my previous post, is highly depends on which career paths that you wish to go in the future. For those who want to be an engineer and work in the an industrials, that's fine. I would recommend FH as it is much shorter period and you have much practical works as compare to TU. But for those who which to go much further than that like in research, profesorships, a engineering project manager, CTO etc. in world leading companies outside Germany, this is not what you want I quess as certificate from FH is still not well recognized around the world. Somehow, probably you are right when you said it is well accepted in Germany (or even probably Malaysia). Somehow, in other countries like US, UK, Japan, etc. it is still not well accepted. So, it is quite tough to apply for jobs in those countries if it is not well known.
The reason why German firms prefer to take graduates from FH rather than TU is not coz graduates from TU is not good enough. The main reason is coz the can pay at least 20-30% lower salary for the same engineer graduate from FH. And normally, your boss will be someone graduate from TU...:-)
linda
17-06-2004, 05:49 PM
I have accepted the jpa scholarship to do the german programme, n will register at intec on 22nd jun. i have learnt that the diploma ingenurs( something like that) is equivalent to master, is it true? i intend to pursue civil engineering in the future. Are we allowed to choose the type of enginnering we like after finishing the a level german programme??
Actually i wish to do engineering in uk. i wish to appeal to jpa to change the country.. is it too late to appeal now? By the way, which country will be the best to learn civil enginnering, UK or German?? N one more question, are those graduated from germany.. i mean for engineering .. are then considered as professional engineer??
You can only be a "professional engineer" after you have several years of working experiences independent on which countries you graduated from. And again this is depends on which country you stay and work. Somehow, I am not sure about Malaysia...
warrior
20-06-2004, 08:15 AM
oooic.....I agree with linda.....This is the main reason why I dun wan to study in Germany....Quite risky......
How about ur opinion, iQing???
launa
20-06-2004, 03:17 PM
um.........i am totally lost in this forum after i read so much about ALG. i think i should read slowly. now i have a big headache.........gg
by the way, jpa do sent student to australia to study engineering, but i m not so sure about NZ. i am from alg 7 and would like to study chemical engineering in german. can anyone advise me on that?
can anyone tell me whether the new alg intake will only need its scholar to do 1.5 years in local then can fly to germany after 1.5 years? my friends also say that there is no more intake for intec alg bacause they are all studying in KBU this year. can anyone confirm this?
thank for reading. ^-^
20-06-2004, 03:35 PM
oooic.....I agree with linda.....This is the main reason why I dun wan to study in Germany....Quite risky......
How about ur opinion, iQing???
?
actually I was as worried and confused like u do when I first got the scholarship. the only thing I worry now is the duration of the course. However u can ask the opinion of some engineers about this German course. I am not worry of not getting a Job in Malaysia because for sure malaysia needs engineer and the market is there.
it?s ironic to believe some countries don?t recognise FH certificate.
Germany is well known for its machines and they don?t recognise ME is Germany. I think it?s conspiracy or something. isn?t it?
besides, success of life is not based entirely in good education... the first thing is to get a cert. in our hands.
it?s possible to take chemical engineering in Germany as some of my coursemates are doing so.
Vallhalla
21-06-2004, 01:30 AM
Well, I haven't studied in Germany before but I have gain alot of information from my German colleagues about the education system in Germany. IQing, as far as I am aware of, the JPA offer the Engineering programme in Germany to attend Fachhochschule (FH). This is NOT EQUIVALENT to the traditional University or rather TECHNICAL UNIVERSITY (TU) in German. The main reason why the German government introduce the FH is mainly due to the lack of technical experts during the 1970s-1980s. This is coz, in order to get an engineering degree (Diplom Ing.) the normal TU, you will need to study about 6-7 years! So, the govern introduce FH in which you will study only 4 years to get a certificate usually called "Diplom Ing. (FH"). In FH, students spend most of their time doing practical works rather than studying thoretical subjects. So, no doubt that students graduated from FH will be "technical expert" in the area they studied and easily join the industry. OK, now you look at the GOOD side of FH....
The DANGEROUS thing about FH is that, you are bond to the area you learn in FH!! So, normally, you will work in that area (or rather in the same company!) in your whole life!! THis is coz, you know nothing else other than the practical stuffs you study in FH (since you seldom study any books!!!). This problem is will not occur if you start with a good company and you loves the job and plan to stay there for the rest of your life! That's fine...you will have certain about of salary increase...But, for students who just being offered the JPA Scholarship..at 18 years old, how they know whether they will love the job or not? At the worst case is, this certificate is NOT BEING RECOGNIZED in US or UK universities as a universities degree!! So, you won't able to do a MAster degree straight away. And you now, start to see the amount of times you will waste if you plan to do other areas later...
And of course I can see why the govern encourage this course. As I said, students graduted from FH can easily adopt to the industrials as they have so much of practical works in the school. This is coz, our country is lacking of "technical experts" nowadays. Put it in other words, we are same conditions as Germany in 1970s-1980s!!!
OK, this is just some advice and information I obtained from few or my German colleagues.
Hope it helps!
Linda
Hi Linda, i don't agree with you when u say people who are studying in an FH seldom study any books...i'm not telling u this because i heard from someone.. or a uncle of my friend told me so.. it's from my own experience.. and from seeing with my own eyes how much my friend studying mechanical engineering(or any other course) here have to read/learn for their courses.. of course, students in FHs do much more practical stuffs... but how can u do the practical parts if you don't know the theory behind it??
People from Uni will say Uni are better than FHs.. and vice versa.. There is no point in debating about it.. Both have advantages and disadvantages....
21-06-2004, 09:09 AM
In fact, I think those who graduate in engineering from Germany, as well as other countries, like France, Korea, Japan, would be in high demand, due to their ability to know another language and another culture.
All these countries have huge investments in Malaysia and if they are going to employ people to work there, would they want to employ local who don't speak German for instance and never been to Germany or those of you who have lived a few years in Germany, graduated from the universities that Germans go as well? You would be in better positions compared to them hiring Germans working in Malaysia, because those Germans do not understand local culture, whereas you do understand Malaysia and German culture. The same logic would work for other countries too.
So, I guess you guys will be in high demand.
launa
21-06-2004, 12:07 PM
yar! when you finish studying in foreign country and come back working, i think you are in good advantages, because you know the homeland better than foreigners.
ok, back to my problem. is it chemical engineering is good in german? many people don't know so much about it and who can tell me how a chemical engineering course look like?
warrior
21-06-2004, 02:31 PM
oic.....
ei...launa...so tomorrow u will go for the registration in UiTM right? If yes, then see whether we can meet or not....hehe.....I will go too....See u there....!!!
21-06-2004, 04:36 PM
Hope it helps!
Linda
Hi Linda, i don't agree with you when u say people who are studying in an FH seldom study any books...i'm not telling u this because i heard from someone.. or a uncle of my friend told me so.. it's from my own experience.. and from seeing with my own eyes how much my friend studying mechanical engineering(or any other course) here have to read/learn for their courses.. of course, students in FHs do much more practical stuffs... but how can u do the practical parts if you don't know the theory behind it??
People from Uni will say Uni are better than FHs.. and vice versa.. There is no point in debating about it.. Both have advantages and disadvantages....
yo... ape khabar?
this guy is my senior of many years studying in Reutlingen...
I think I have to agree with my senior...
there are too many rumours regarding FH education in Germany...
the education is very tought here.. and I am not confident of passing all subjects in my first semester... :(
linda
21-06-2004, 04:51 PM
Well, maybe I should say people in FH seldom study book as compared to people in TU. This is just "in relative", I dont mean that people in FH dont read book at all....
I do agree with you when u said that both FH and TU have their advantages and disadvantages. I did mention that as well in my first post. And as I said, this is depend on what is ur expectation after ur graduation, especially if u would like to stay in Germany (or even Malaysia) in the industrials, I think u will have more advanatges.
Vallhalla
21-06-2004, 08:58 PM
Well, maybe I should say people in FH seldom study book as compared to people in TU. This is just "in relative", I dont mean that people in FH dont read book at all....
I do agree with you when u said that both FH and TU have their advantages and disadvantages. I did mention that as well in my first post. And as I said, this is depend on what is ur expectation after ur graduation, especially if u would like to stay in Germany (or even Malaysia) in the industrials, I think u will have more advanatges.
You should not say people in FH seldom study book as compared to people in TU as well... hehehe..let us say everyone study books,and stop at that. Well,anywhere is the same..It doesn't matter where you study, whether its in US, UK, France, Japan, Germany, or any other place, if you are hardworking, then you'll be ok.. if you are lazy and skip classes alot, then you'll fail. , most of the time,that will always be the case.That is my opinion.
linda
21-06-2004, 09:32 PM
You should not say people in FH seldom study book as compared to people in TU as well... hehehe..let us say everyone study books,and stop at that. Well,anywhere is the same..It doesn't matter where you study, whether its in US, UK, France, Japan, Germany, or any other place, if you are hardworking, then you'll be ok.. if you are lazy and skip classes alot, then you'll fail. , most of the time,that will always be the case.That is my opinion.
Well, if u compare the amount of times u need to spend in TU (6/7 years, I am not sure!) and in FH (4 years), so, generally, people in TU will still need to study more books than people in FH somehow..:-)
Actually, in engineering, I don't think only hardworking is sufficient. Ur interests, understanding, vision are very impt too! So, basically, a person spend alot of times studying doesnt mean that he can do better than a person styuding 3-4 hours per day if the latter person understands and enjoying what he is studying more than the former one. And of course, u cant justify the 2nd person to be lazy... :D
21-06-2004, 10:04 PM
[quote=Vallhalla]
Actually, in engineering, I don't think only hardworking is sufficient. Ur interests, understanding, vision are very impt too! So, basically, a person spend alot of times studying doesnt mean that he can do better than a person styuding 3-4 hours per day if the latter person understands and enjoying what he is studying more than the former one. And of course, u cant justify the 2nd person to be lazy... :D
i agree with u on this..
it?s stressful if u study what u dun really like....
launa
22-06-2004, 06:55 AM
warrior, i am alg 7 batch. that means i am your senior. i hope that u can find me at cemara. my room is 14/216. by the way, which one is your room? maybe i can visit u if i have time.
22-06-2004, 02:07 PM
wah.. gempak liao ah...
enjoy ur life there..
and experience one of the hardiest language in the world.. haha
warrior
23-06-2004, 08:07 AM
okok.....launa......I will find u when I back, ok.....my room is 15/309.......
15-06-2005, 03:31 AM
bump.
next time do a search.
abcde
15-06-2005, 06:28 AM
eh chup
again
whats the req. for us to continue mit master prog?is it still 2,5 ?? ? ? :roll: