View Full Version : UM Medicine 09/10 New Intake
peterchoo
22-06-2009, 07:36 AM
hey there!
rihui
22-06-2009, 10:03 AM
seems 'fun'. lol
why only the 6 school anthems? not all school anthems? ha ha ha
actually i don't really agree with the whole ragging/hazing thing. i know everyone should not be arrogant, thinking that getting into UM medicine=better than everybody else, but degrading oneself to make u 'look' humble(as it's what we'd be asked to do during orientation) isn't the real humble. i think the real humble is to be cognizant of the fact that there's always individuals better than you which being able to stand tall, remain dignified.
khor_jennie
22-06-2009, 09:29 PM
-edited-
i support!!bersatu teguh bercerai bodoh(roboh)...
rihui
22-06-2009, 10:42 PM
-edited-
ragging thing should be bumi seniors ragging bumi juniors, non bumi seniors ragging non bumi juniors....
yeah, let's form a group against the bully culture... haha ha
what do you mean by asl? age sex location? then i suppose i'm 19/M/Perak.
Green Fish
23-06-2009, 01:03 AM
Serius? Month not week??? I'm so dead... My my, we should really unite. Don't like all those bullying stuffs...
Green Fish
23-06-2009, 01:37 AM
green fish..ur asl plz..finally gt another mmbr here!!haha!!
gud gud..still gt lots of stories abt orientation mth...after the official haluansiswa,the 1st week orientation...den we start wif our study...
hwever,here comes our 5th year seniors,namely,super seniors...they r gonna orientate us for a week...den 4th year seniors for 2nd week n so on...haha!!
dont worry, enjoy tat...rmb,once in a life time...haha!!
Me? 19, female, a small town in negeri sembilan. Wow, that sounds scary... Ya, once in a life time. Haha...
Green Fish
23-06-2009, 02:03 AM
oh i see...no nid to b scared...do some 'homework' will do...ahakz...
'Remember, every1 is just acting and not everything they say is the true.'<< frm 1 of my senior...
the most they can do is scold oni...they wont whack u up n make u into ikan panggang hijau...hehe:nuts
oh ya...i'm practising hw to sing the songs n so on...haih....
nid to rush for medical checkup,bank,certify... ...bt fun!heha!
i jz reciv a sms frm my senior,ask us to bring along wif our color pencil..mayb chinese calligraphy 'mao bi' n the black ink will do...we nid to perform our talent u knw...haha!!!
n den u knw 555 mini size notebook? buy as many as possible..mayb 10 or more..bcos we nid to get signature frm seniors..if one of them tear the buk,we nid to get all the signatures again...:amuse
Haha... I'll definitely be the target since I'm too short!!! Still waiting for my offer letter. Medical checkup done. Couldn't do in gov hospital. Went to private clinic instead. Calligraphy? My oh my... I'm bad at that. Haha... Such fun...
Green Fish
23-06-2009, 02:14 AM
we penangites recived da letter ady...private clinics r faster compare to gov hosp..
no no..nt reli jz calligraphy...any thing will do..if u can play violin jz bring along wif ur violin..knw break dance den better,straight away perform it on da spot...
or mayb nid to do some tasks,such as essay writing,make a nice looking bookmark by using the color pencil... ... etc...
dont worry,there wont b any body contact,so they cant even touch u...
So fast... ya. Hmmm... Must think of what I do best... Hmmm...
arsenwagon123
23-06-2009, 03:01 AM
'Remember, every1 is just acting and not everything they say is the true.'<< frm 1 of my senior...
the most they can do is scold oni...they wont whack u up n make u into ikan panggang hijau...hehe:nuts
i jz reciv a sms frm my senior,ask us to bring along wif our color pencil..mayb chinese calligraphy 'mao bi' n the black ink will do...we nid to perform our talent u knw...haha!!!
n den u knw 555 mini size notebook? buy as many as possible..mayb 10 or more..bcos we nid to get signature frm seniors..if one of them tear the buk,we nid to get all the signatures again...:amuse
well, not every chinese knows how to speak mandarin..
i'll probably just say Im orang baba.. lol..
STPM student here, Medic UM..nice to meet u!
rihui
23-06-2009, 10:15 AM
well, not every chinese knows how to speak mandarin..
i'll probably just say Im orang baba.. lol..
if pretending to be unable to speak mandarin can help me avoid all the raggings, i'd probably pretend to be a banana. ha ahahahahah
STPM student here, Medic UM..nice to meet u!
hi there! nice to meet you too! =)
GreeN_aPPLe
23-06-2009, 10:50 AM
Woi, peter, u sure ah muz brin color pencil n 555notebook!? i dono chinese calligraphy oso!:cry Is tis for all UM juniors or medic students only? Dont scare me la!
for general doctor, UM hospital pay for new doctor is rm2000, work from 8am till 8pm non stop. alot of medical students cannot take it. But this is common if you want to be a doctor, doctor are meant to save life, not sit down n earn big money.
arsenwagon123
23-06-2009, 12:04 PM
i'd say that's for basic income . 2k is basic income.
come on man, if 2k for basic+ allowance, i think i better become accountant/teacher lah. no need study so hard and invest in thick medical books, plus get to start earning money faster.
i believe everyone who says saving ppl is their main motive is probably telling the truth.
however i dont deny the probablity that earning a stable and above average income can be their secondary motive is high.
btw do UM students who studied in chinese schools look down on "bananas"?
because my friend's a banana.. pity him..
been prejudiced by stupid short sighted and close minded people.
But this is common if you want to be a doctor, doctor are meant to save life, not sit down n earn big money.
Yes,that's right..Agree..^^
Honestly,i really have some friends that want to become doctor just because of fame and income...=.="
Anyway,I do congratulates those who get Medicine...not easy though...
All the best...and probably i can meet you guys there...Our faculty is just beside yours..=)
Chrisntine
24-06-2009, 12:41 AM
hey there everyone who gonna enter UM faculty of Medicine...
ekceli i dont ever hv an idea to start a new tread here as v'l b meeting each other 6 days l8r..:))
hwever, here comes some 'unexpected'... erm... emergency cases..ahakz...:amazed
coz of i jz knw tat it is quite 'enjoyable' during our 1st few weeks there...:nuts
gonna b prepared...do some homework...
(I) starting wif memorizing dis phrase>>
Good morning/afternoon/evening to the most honourable senior(for 2nd - 4th year senior)/super senior(for 5th year senior) lady ma?am(gurl)/gentleman sir(guy), I am the most humble freshie __________ from __________ High School.
(II) oh ya,there r 5 objectives for our orientation week..oppz...is month...
1. get to knw each other well among juniors. (not bad huh!)
2. be united among juniors. (berat sama dipikul,ringan sama dijinjing)
3. get to knw each other well between junior n senior. (nid their guide throughout our journey to the west)
4. be united between both juniors n seniors (protect ourselves frm the deans? who knws...)
5. understand prnciple of 'there's oways a mountain hs a higher peak than another one' (translated from chinese idiom '一山还有一山高?...)
(III) memorise 6 skul's anthem>>> jitsin high skul,keat hwa high skul,sam tet high skul,penang chinese gurl high skul,chungling high skul,n oso hua lian high skul.....
tats all for the 1st preparation(jz a beginning,the story nt finish yet) we all reli nid to fokuz on.. gud luck!:))
oh ya,b4 i forget abt tat,rmb,rmb tat oways b humble~(as i oredi kena,nid to write an essay on 'humble during orientation'...s0bs...:cry ekceli my seniors start orientating me right nw...torturing...fun huh? mayb... if u knw hw to enjoy the memorable time,once in a life time...wakakakaz (gonna b psycho)...:nuts shhh...dont let seniors knw abt wat i hv told u here...jz pretend to be...innocent? ignorant?? heha!!)
Y DUN HAV UNION???hahaha
hihihi....im jenneifer saw~~19 penang.....peter i think u noe me la.....im using my sis acc~~...nice to meet u all here~~~hope go um can Meet u all...^^.add me in in facebook n msn ba..chick_ck90@<hidden>!!!!
GreeN_aPPLe
24-06-2009, 10:48 AM
come on man, if 2k for basic+ allowance, i think i better become accountant/teacher lah. no need study so hard and invest in thick medical books, plus get to start earning money faster.
i believe everyone who says saving ppl is their main motive is probably telling the truth.
however i dont deny the probablity that earning a stable and above average income can be their secondary motive is high.
Hey, i don look down on bananas! i'd probably pretend as banana 2 avoid d ragging!
LONG LIVE BANANAS!!!
Green Fish
24-06-2009, 12:45 PM
Well, it's the choice that I'd made. Nobody forced me to apply medic. So, I'm ready to make some sacrifices. Bananas are not that bad. My mum is one and nobody looks down on her. People shouldn't look down at them.
UM is still using the old traditional syllabus where students learn subject by subject seperately, eg biochem... pharmaco... patho... bla bla.... IMU (UKM and Uni Sabah) is adapting the newer integrated system, where students learn according to body systems, like cardio, respi, gastroinstinal bla bla... I wouldn't comment on whether which one is the better, since they both have their own pros and cons.
What I do know is that government unis are more generalized. According to my friend in UKM, lecturers don't give a damn about u... They come to lecture, talk a few headlines then leave... leaving students to fend for themselves, hence most students are lost and blur in studying. IMU is similar as they also want students to be self-dependent in learning, yet the lectures are much more concise and straight to the point. The bad thing is that students tend to be more confined to what the lecturers say, instead of widening their knowledge in a wider perspective. Again, there are still pros and cons in both systems.
arsenwagon123
24-06-2009, 03:31 PM
UM is still using the old traditional syllabus where students learn subject by subject seperately, eg biochem... pharmaco... patho... bla bla.... IMU (UKM and Uni Sabah) is adapting the newer integrated system, where students learn according to body systems, like cardio, respi, gastroinstinal bla bla... I wouldn't comment on whether which one is the better, since they both have their own pros and cons.
What I do know is that government unis are more generalized. According to my friend in UKM, lecturers don't give a damn about u... They come to lecture, talk a few headlines then leave... leaving students to fend for themselves, hence most students are lost and blur in studying. IMU is similar as they also want students to be self-dependent in learning, yet the lectures are much more concise and straight to the point. The bad thing is that students tend to be more confined to what the lecturers say, instead of widening their knowledge in a wider perspective. Again, there are still pros and cons in both systems.
that means UM still not using system-based learning ..
system based learning means studying cardio system, respi system etc.
one of the cons of traditional, is it's tougher (this is subjective of course) .. :amazed
now only i know UM still using this system (like cambridge and oxford)
does anyone know bout UKM?
cindy1111
24-06-2009, 07:57 PM
ragging thing should be bumi seniors ragging bumi juniors, non bumi seniors ragging non bumi juniors....
yeah, let's form a group against the bully culture... haha ha
what do you mean by asl? age sex location? then i suppose i'm 19/M/Perak.
U r first year student? welcome to um ...
Um orientation is really "famous". Hope you guy will having fun..Everything we did will have the pro and con. So if this is yr dream just go for it. Don worries too much. ...
All the best and enjoy yr days.
rihui
24-06-2009, 09:35 PM
to rihui n greenfish: i think our seniors r spying on us right nw..so u both cant escape frm speaking in mandarin ady!! ahakz...even if u r banana,mayb there will b banana seniors who r gonna 2 orientate u all...heha!
to chrisntine:yo bradha! hope to see u again! haha...erm..i think we all nid to learn frm u abt union skul anthem too...mayb v r requested 2 form a choir team..who knws...:nuts
ekceli it isnt ragging la...is some kind of...erm...training...train us to b tough enuf so tat v can b a better man...agree?
ha ha ha. i figured so. yeah, some seniors might've seen this thread. i better keep my mouth shut to avoid troubles. he he he.
U r first year student? welcome to um ...
Um orientation is really "famous". Hope you guy will having fun..Everything we did will have the pro and con. So if this is yr dream just go for it. Don worries too much. ...
All the best and enjoy yr days.
yeah, i'm entering UM this year.
hope the seniors not to be so cruel to us. ha ha
khor_jennie
24-06-2009, 11:48 PM
ha ha ha. i figured so. yeah, some seniors might've seen this thread. i better keep my mouth shut to avoid troubles. he he he.
yeah, i'm entering UM this year.
hope the seniors not to be so cruel to us. ha ha
sorry then, they will be very cruel.
rihui
24-06-2009, 11:55 PM
sorry then, they will be very cruel.
aiyo, now i'm sooooo not looking forward to orientation... :(
khor_jennie
24-06-2009, 11:58 PM
but it'll be a nice memory when u recall it then..don't be so worried about it, just take it easy!
Green Fish
25-06-2009, 01:22 AM
[QUOTE=peterchoo;273364]to rihui n greenfish: i think our seniors r spying on us right nw..so u both cant escape frm speaking in mandarin ady!! ahakz...even if u r banana,mayb there will b banana seniors who r gonna 2 orientate u all...heha!
QUOTE]
Haha... I knew I won't escape from speaking mandarin since my friends use mandarin to communicate with me. And I never did say that I'm going to pretend to be a banana, did I? :huh
Oh ya, just one question. I'm a little confused right now. I'm sure you all had flipped through the buku panduan pendaftaran pelajar baru which came with the offer letter. Do you guys noticed a Borang Kebenaran Mengambil Cap Jari Pelajar? I printed out one on um website http://kemasukan.um.edu.my/borang/maklumat_untuk_kad_matrik_um.pdf but when I checked the buku panduan, it's not there.
GreeN_aPPLe
25-06-2009, 10:28 AM
i bet cindy1111 and khor jennie are spies, now busy scheming their nefarious plots!!! Rite? PLS!!! Have mercy on us!
cindy1111
25-06-2009, 10:50 AM
i bet cindy1111 and khor jennie are spies, now busy scheming their nefarious plots!!! Rite? PLS!!! Have mercy on us!
Green apple:
Don be so worries ya... Sound like u are so scare. believe on me . I am sure you will have a memorable time in Um. When you recall back you will be so happy.. Btw which college are you staying? J
Just take it easy and all the best to you....
GreeN_aPPLe
25-06-2009, 10:54 AM
Green apple:
Don be so worries ya... Sound like u are so scare. believe on me . I am sure you will have a memorable time in Um. When you recall back you will be so happy.. Btw which college are you staying? J
Just take it easy and all the best to you....
college 6. Hows d facilities thr ya?
haha..yaya, its once in a lifetime experience!^^
cindy1111
25-06-2009, 10:58 AM
Don worry..Orientation is once in our life time only.So must appreciate it.
Remember to post yr feeling after your orientation ya. Hope to get some feedback from your guy...
Cheer...=.=
JamesyLee
25-06-2009, 04:20 PM
I also heard some of the cruelty things from my seniors...making me sleepless night
wah... so many new juniors..
see you guys in a weeks time.
Chrisntine
25-06-2009, 05:30 PM
jenifer saw here...im going kl tomolo lo~~~will meet u all sOOn!!hahahaGud luck
kimmie
25-06-2009, 05:32 PM
hey there everyone who gonna enter UM faculty of Medicine...
ekceli i dont ever hv an idea to start a new tread here as v'l b meeting each other 6 days l8r..:))
hwever, here comes some 'unexpected'... erm... emergency cases..ahakz...:amazed
coz of i jz knw tat it is quite 'enjoyable' during our 1st few weeks there...:nuts
gonna b prepared...do some homework...
(I) starting wif memorizing dis phrase>>
Good morning/afternoon/evening to the most honourable senior(for 2nd - 4th year senior)/super senior(for 5th year senior) lady ma?am(gurl)/gentleman sir(guy), I am the most humble freshie __________ from __________ High School.
(II) oh ya,there r 5 objectives for our orientation week..oppz...is month...
1. get to knw each other well among juniors. (not bad huh!)
2. be united among juniors. (berat sama dipikul,ringan sama dijinjing)
3. get to knw each other well between junior n senior. (nid their guide throughout our journey to the west)
4. be united between both juniors n seniors (protect ourselves frm the deans? who knws...)
5. understand prnciple of 'there's oways a mountain hs a higher peak than another one' (translated from chinese idiom '一山还有一山高?...)
(III) memorise 6 skul's anthem>>> jitsin high skul,keat hwa high skul,sam tet high skul,penang chinese gurl high skul,chungling high skul,n oso hua lian high skul.....
tats all for the 1st preparation(jz a beginning,the story nt finish yet) we all reli nid to fokuz on.. gud luck!:))
oh ya,b4 i forget abt tat,rmb,rmb tat oways b humble~(as i oredi kena,nid to write an essay on 'humble during orientation'...s0bs...:cry ekceli my seniors start orientating me right nw...torturing...fun huh? mayb... if u knw hw to enjoy the memorable time,once in a life time...wakakakaz (gonna b psycho)...:nuts shhh...dont let seniors knw abt wat i hv told u here...jz pretend to be...innocent? ignorant?? heha!!)
if u all so smart can study medic,use your brain to diagnose disease in future.really embarrassing chinese.even 5th year also not superman,y they need to treat juniors like this?bcause they scared juniors wont respect them?u all have to earn respect,dont demanding it.if juniors arragont then no need to help them,is simple as that.
SamLee
25-06-2009, 05:33 PM
Hi everyone here! nice to meet u huh? i guess we'll be meeting each other very soon. Anyway, the orientation things are so much of your concern? Scared of being bullied until need to form an "Anti-bully" team huh? i'm really looking forward on it how is it going to form... err... don't misunderstand, i have no other meaning, just keen and interested on that. Haha! Don't worry la! And forget about "look-down-upon-bananas" issue. It's not happening here. but the issue of "seniors-spying'.... hehe.... U know la! haha!
Oh yeah! there is another thing worth to be mentioned....
someone's absolutely correct about it.... Seniors are indeed very cruel... hehe...
kaikai
25-06-2009, 05:34 PM
Hi guys! Nice to meet u all! As I heard from the seniors of my school...There is something called ROYAL FLUSH...i.e. they will stuff ur head inside toilet bowl and flush! OMG!!
SamLee
25-06-2009, 05:39 PM
Hi Kimmie, if u don't understand the whole meaning of this and when u are not in part of it, it is indeed very hard for others to really appreciate the values of it. Of course it is not the ragging things as you all wrongly interpret... and i really hope u didn't give any acrimonious remarks on this issue when u can't get the whole picture of it. i mean no offence... Cheers!
jasonbehr
25-06-2009, 06:11 PM
Welcome to Med in UM :) Too late now that the juniors are all registered? But anyways...
Seriously guys, there's nothing to be scared of regarding the orientation, or what the 'outsiders' deemed as ragging. What your grandfather or father or uncle told you, should they graduated from UM are non-existent nowadays. First week of orientation by the university is boring. But faculty orientation would be more fun! :D
Downside, you sleep in lectures (which prolly doesn't matter, you'll catch up soon enough). You got shouted at (by less than half of the seniors). You need to do bookmarks (if you think that's what you're best at). You might need to perform whatever acts that you know of.
On the bright side, you really got to know most of the seniors. That whenever you approach them and ask about studies, they're more than willing to help. And, you get the fun out of it. It's fun really. Might feel intimidated as you go through the weeks of orientation (or is it going to be just a week now? I have no idea), but it's just pretty much just A LITTLE bit of early exposure to what sort of lecturers or clinicians who would be teaching you throughout your 5 years of medical school. And if you're looking further ahead, you've got consultants treating you like slave.
So, why fret about orientation when it's just the begining of your journey? There's more to come. You're in University Malaya for heaven's sake. How many people out there are dying to enter the school? I'm sure you know yourselves.
Just one thing, participate. Don't freak out. Don't chicken out. Make friends with your batchmates. Talk to the seniors. It's not like they'll bite you or anything. The most they can do is to scold you in the dining hall in front of other batchmates. But fret not, the others prolly got the same too. So just hang in there. Enjoy the first month of medical school while you still can. It's gonna be FUNN!!!!! :D
Here's a tip.
1. That super long greeting whatsoever, it doesn't apply that way. You don't greet a senior with the names of the 5th year, 4th year, 3rd year or 2nd year whatsoever DURING the orientation. That comes when err... I forgot when.
2. There's no need to memorize the songs of those whatever schools if you're NOT from those schools. But if you're from Penang, you might want to know about the songs. But if you're from Pahang or Sabah or Sarawak, why the hell would you know about them right? If anything, they'd ask you to sing your state anthem instead.
3. Yes, do learn a trick or two. Magic tricks. Singing. Instruments (bring if you're a violenist or a guitarist). Show off to the seniors.
4. Be humble. Smile and greet the seniors and your batchmates. Even after the orientation.
Before you know it, you guys are colleagues in certain hospitals somewhere in the country or the world. So why hate? Just have fun!
And having said that, it's the first step of the hell of a life. Maybe with some fun while you're still in the first half of medical school. But after that, *devilish smile*
So... Enjoy your studies!
Am always here if any of you intend to ask anything.
Last few things.
1. DON'T BUY ANY TEXTBOOKS YET.
2. DON'T BE TOO OVERLY KIASU. And I really mean it.
3. Just go out and socialise.
4. Anything about the syllabus, exams, practicals and all those, you have one year to bug your seniors when you're their friend.
All the best!
kimmie
25-06-2009, 06:15 PM
Hi Kimmie, if u don't understand the whole meaning of this and when u are not in part of it, it is indeed very hard for others to really appreciate the values of it. Of course it is not the ragging things as you all wrongly interpret... and i really hope u didn't give any acrimonious remarks on this issue when u can't get the whole picture of it. i mean no offence... Cheers!
i'm glad i'm not in part of this and i've over it.the whole meaning of this so called non ragging things is for juniors to get to know seniors so that in the future they can become good friends?if seniors really good and willing to help juniors,they wont involve in this.is for sure that we have to respect seniors but can let them respect seniors from their true heart?and skip all these non-formal orientation thingy?i didnt mean to offend anyone.if i offended anyone,i'm sorry.
sikhsat
25-06-2009, 06:31 PM
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.... i love the time of the year we the juniors come into medicine UM. so proud!Well to whoever has posted this article..its very clear that u heard the orientation style in UM, and from what i get its mainly the chinese orientation style. So i guess you gearing up and telling all ur future batchmates especially the to buck up. haha...the best part of this lousy ass orientation that we have in UM is there is no physical abuse like royal flush and all..Seriously..all that happens is you get RACIALLY ORIENTATED SO THAT U CAN BECOME A RACIST BIGOT WHICH WILL LEARN HOW TO MAKE UP EXCUSES ON WHY IS IT GOOD TO BE UNITED ACCORDING TO YOUR COLOUR..THE CRAP THAT SENIORS WILL SAY THAT THE REST OF THE OTHER COLOURS WILL NoT HELP YOU..WE HAVE TO BE UNITED..IF U PULL OUT u GET SABOTAGED...HAHAHA....UM IS RACIST..SORRY...TO BE MORE SPECIFIC THE MEDICAL FACULTY...JUST TOO BAD ONLY GOT 50 MEDIC STUDENTS IN SIX THIS COMING ORIENTATION..DONO HOW ITS GOING TO BE...BE PREPARED FOR A FULL BRAIN-WASHING TIME WITH A BUNCH OF LIES....Enjoy MINGGU HALUANSISWA..THE ONLY TIME WHERE YOU WILL BE REALLY UNITED....SAD!!!
huat aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa....from cl high school rite???
25-06-2009, 06:44 PM
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.... i love the time of the year we the juniors come into medicine UM. so proud!Well to whoever has posted this article..its very clear that u heard the orientation style in UM, and from what i get its mainly the chinese orientation style. So i guess you gearing up and telling all ur future batchmates especially the to buck up. haha...the best part of this lousy ass orientation that we have in UM is there is no physical abuse like royal flush and all..Seriously..all that happens is you get RACIALLY ORIENTATED SO THAT U CAN BECOME A RACIST BIGOT WHICH WILL LEARN HOW TO MAKE UP EXCUSES ON WHY IS IT GOOD TO BE UNITED ACCORDING TO YOUR COLOUR..THE CRAP THAT SENIORS WILL SAY THAT THE REST OF THE OTHER COLOURS WILL NoT HELP YOU..WE HAVE TO BE UNITED..IF U PULL OUT u GET SABOTAGED...HAHAHA....UM IS RACIST..SORRY...TO BE MORE SPECIFIC THE MEDICAL FACULTY...JUST TOO BAD ONLY GOT 50 MEDIC STUDENTS IN SIX THIS COMING ORIENTATION..DONO HOW ITS GOING TO BE...BE PREPARED FOR A FULL BRAIN-WASHING TIME WITH A BUNCH OF LIES....Enjoy MINGGU HALUANSISWA..THE ONLY TIME WHERE YOU WILL BE REALLY UNITED....SAD!!!
Moderator Note: Hi sikhsat, welcome to ReCom. Just a reminder here that typing words in BLOCK LETTERS is considered shouting on the Internet, and is not encouraged in this forum.
senior mico...sorry if i hv done anything wrong here...bt i reli like my skul...5 years memorable time there...nw going to um...dunno whether 5 years in um same like 5 years in clhs...:cry
watever....enjoy ur orientation la!!!!huat ar.....
oh noooooooo... i jz realise tat y u oways say 'huat arr..'...
oh god...u must b my chungling senior!! my goodness......
y u always said abt chung ling......is it only chung ling seniors tat u have to know in university later???
no no...is all seniors...no matter where they come frm...
jz like wat senior youngyew said..since we are all on the same boat...evryone shud b together...
keep ur words!!!!oklah....enjoy ur medical life ar!!!
rihui
25-06-2009, 07:22 PM
wah... so many new juniors..
see you guys in a weeks time.
you're one of the less scary sounding seniors! ha ha. can't wait to be in UM.
Welcome to Med in UM :) Too late now that the juniors are all registered? But anyways...
Seriously guys, there's nothing to be scared of regarding the orientation, or what the 'outsiders' deemed as ragging. What your grandfather or father or uncle told you, should they graduated from UM are non-existent nowadays. First week of orientation by the university is boring. But faculty orientation would be more fun! :D
Downside, you sleep in lectures (which prolly doesn't matter, you'll catch up soon enough). You got shouted at (by less than half of the seniors). You need to do bookmarks (if you think that's what you're best at). You might need to perform whatever acts that you know of.
On the bright side, you really got to know most of the seniors. That whenever you approach them and ask about studies, they're more than willing to help. And, you get the fun out of it. It's fun really. Might feel intimidated as you go through the weeks of orientation (or is it going to be just a week now? I have no idea), but it's just pretty much just A LITTLE bit of early exposure to what sort of lecturers or clinicians who would be teaching you throughout your 5 years of medical school. And if you're looking further ahead, you've got consultants treating you like slave.
So, why fret about orientation when it's just the begining of your journey? There's more to come. You're in University Malaya for heaven's sake. How many people out there are dying to enter the school? I'm sure you know yourselves.
Just one thing, participate. Don't freak out. Don't chicken out. Make friends with your batchmates. Talk to the seniors. It's not like they'll bite you or anything. The most they can do is to scold you in the dining hall in front of other batchmates. But fret not, the others prolly got the same too. So just hang in there. Enjoy the first month of medical school while you still can. It's gonna be FUNN!!!!! :D
Here's a tip.
1. That super long greeting whatsoever, it doesn't apply that way. You don't greet a senior with the names of the 5th year, 4th year, 3rd year or 2nd year whatsoever DURING the orientation. That comes when err... I forgot when.
2. There's no need to memorize the songs of those whatever schools if you're NOT from those schools. But if you're from Penang, you might want to know about the songs. But if you're from Pahang or Sabah or Sarawak, why the hell would you know about them right? If anything, they'd ask you to sing your state anthem instead.
3. Yes, do learn a trick or two. Magic tricks. Singing. Instruments (bring if you're a violenist or a guitarist). Show off to the seniors.
4. Be humble. Smile and greet the seniors and your batchmates. Even after the orientation.
Before you know it, you guys are colleagues in certain hospitals somewhere in the country or the world. So why hate? Just have fun!
And having said that, it's the first step of the hell of a life. Maybe with some fun while you're still in the first half of medical school. But after that, *devilish smile*
So... Enjoy your studies!
Am always here if any of you intend to ask anything.
Last few things.
1. DON'T BUY ANY TEXTBOOKS YET.
2. DON'T BE TOO OVERLY KIASU. And I really mean it.
3. Just go out and socialise.
4. Anything about the syllabus, exams, practicals and all those, you have one year to bug your seniors when you're their friend.
All the best!
no, we're not yet in UM. registering on 28 June. :)
thx for the LOONNNGG and informative post. ha ha
if what you said is the real picture of UM Medic orientation (no physical abuse or whatsoever), then i think most juniors wouldn't be as apprehensive as i was when i first read peterchoo's post. ha ha
smile! :)
prodigy90
25-06-2009, 07:35 PM
are the rules stated by jasonbehr apply to pharmacy students as well? XD
ummedic
25-06-2009, 09:02 PM
The orientation of UM Medic will not involve any physical abuse. And it is not a must to memorise all the 6 schools anthems, or bring chinese caligraphy. It depends on your talent, whether to bring a violin, guitar, harmonica etc etc. Some info provided by peterchoo are misleading (like the memorising school anthem stuffs). Just treat the orientation as a whole new experience. Not all the seniors are maglinant. Be good to them and they'll treat you equally.
rihui
25-06-2009, 09:30 PM
The orientation of UM Medic will not involve any physical abuse. And it is not a must to memorise all the 6 schools anthems, or bring chinese caligraphy. It depends on your talent, whether to bring a violin, guitar, harmonica etc etc. Some info provided by peterchoo are misleading (like the memorising school anthem stuffs). Just treat the orientation as a whole new experience. Not all the seniors are maglinant. Be good to them and they'll treat you equally.
that's comforting. :) *relieve*
texas
25-06-2009, 09:30 PM
don't simply assume or think you know before you experiences anything.
you think you know how doctor live in the hospital? you had no idea, that's what orientation is all about. if you guy telling something untrue about us, is you guy problem.
if you all really don't want to fire up the senior, mind your words.
being a doctor isn't just treating patient. every job had his painful experience to go through. orientation just prepare you for it.
not sure whether you guy really understand.
but after saw what you guy, really making us to dissapoint with you.
ummedic
25-06-2009, 10:02 PM
Texas, don't be so disappointing.
Orientation is not about 'teaching' the juniors, it's actually only one of the ways to let everyone in UM Medic knows each other. No need to be so cruel 1.....
Green Fish
25-06-2009, 10:07 PM
Well, fun or not, horrible or not, it's still part of the challenges we are bound to face. Can't wait to get into UM! :))
arsenwagon123
25-06-2009, 10:08 PM
Not all the seniors are maglinant.
so, they are benign eh? :laugh macam tumour pulak, got benign and malignant.
thx for all the seniors who clarified everything
peterchoo why do u like making other people scared :cry
rihui
25-06-2009, 10:25 PM
peterchoo why do u like making other people scared :cry
perhaps he's very scared himself and wanted some other scared people for company? haha :)
ummedic
25-06-2009, 10:28 PM
PeterChoo is not wrong totally. It is just that his 'advices' are not suitable for everyone.
arsenwagon123
25-06-2009, 10:50 PM
sorry for asking, but what do you mean not for everyone? you mean those who disrespect seniors? lol..
ummedic
25-06-2009, 11:02 PM
For students from KeatHwa, they need to memorise ChungLing n JitSin school anthems. While for students from ChungLing, they need to memorise KeatHwa and JitSin school anthems. It is not for all schools students, just 'selected' schools like ChungLing, JitSin, KeatHwa, SamTet (n mayb some more that I miss, anyone can add in).
arsenwagon123
25-06-2009, 11:08 PM
lol.. those schools are really elite... like producing 90 percent of stpm 4 flatters.
guess they wont bother with a nobody like me.
im safe then.. :p
For students from KeatHwa, they need to memorise ChungLing n JitSin school anthems. While for students from ChungLing, they need to memorise KeatHwa and JitSin school anthems. It is not for all schools students, just 'selected' schools like ChungLing, JitSin, KeatHwa, SamTet (n mayb some more that I miss, anyone can add in).
got some correction here....me last time oso have to memorize chung ling anthems eventhough i just a smk student from penang....
arsenwagon123
25-06-2009, 11:16 PM
oh man, this thread is depressing.
im gonna play CS.. never gonna come back here.
ignorance is bliss sometimes.
jasonbehr
25-06-2009, 11:18 PM
More and more seniors flooding in. :D
Enjoy urselves.
Rest assured, like wat ummedic said, there's nothing to be feared of.
First thing to learn, learn to respect. Yourself as well as others. Only when you respect others and understand things in a broader perspective, then you'll appreciate more.
About racism, we're all brought up that way. Why blame it on the university when we've been asked to fill in forms with "Melayu", "Cina" or "India", or "Bumiputra" or "Bukan Bumiputra" when later on there's a column which enquires about "Warganegara" or "Bukan Warganegara"? So don't talk racism when we're all racist.
arsenwagon123
25-06-2009, 11:19 PM
plz..... we orientate every juniors equally ok....n we r not "tumours" as well!!!!mind ur words!!!
sorry if youre offended, but i didnt mean to say that you ppl are tumours.
how can you be tumours? i'd shoot myself dead before saying that. never in my books to say bad things bout good people.
i think i shouldve said it in a different way, coz what i actually meant was, there are benign and malignant seniors, just like how there are benign and malignant tumours.
jasonbehr
25-06-2009, 11:21 PM
oh man, this thread is depressing.
im gonna play CS.. never gonna come back here.
ignorance is bliss sometimes.
What's so depressing?
:nuts Think of it as a newbie camp. :nuts
Look forward to it and you'll laugh at yourselves when you're older. It's all part and parcel of growing up.
The seniors don't eat you lar. They don't even bite or chew off your leg. It's all a training ground to be actors. We're all actors in real life anyways.
ummedic
25-06-2009, 11:21 PM
arsenwagon123, just don't worry too much about this orientation. It's just a small part of your 5 years study. The important thing is to manage to pass this 5 years. Good luck!
jasonbehr
25-06-2009, 11:23 PM
sorry if youre offended, but i didnt mean to say that you ppl are tumours.
how can you be tumours? i'd shoot myself dead before saying that. never in my books to say bad things bout good people.
i think i shouldve said it in a different way, coz what i actually meant was, there are benign and malignant seniors, just like how there are benign and malignant tumours.
The lecturers are tagged that way as well. So no worries.
Meet Prof. Subra and Dr. Barthi of Anatomy. You'll LURV him! :nuts
But they're nothing compared to all the other senior consultants when you enter clinical schools.
arsenwagon123
25-06-2009, 11:24 PM
What's so depressing?
The seniors don't eat you lar. They don't even bite or chew off your leg. It's all a training ground to be actors. We're all actors in real life anyways.
this part i agree.. but some people complain that i "act" all the time. im juz trying to be friendly like smiling etc, not that im acting so that i can backstab people .
they dont realise that we as humans of this century need to act.
to those who say you dont act, i dont think you'll get past secondary school.
wise words from a senior. thanks. lol
jasonbehr
25-06-2009, 11:27 PM
are the rules stated by jasonbehr apply to pharmacy students as well? XD
The so called underground orientation happens in all the schools in UM, I think. Heard about the Engineering, Biotech, Pharmacy as well as Dental.
But so far, Pharmacy and Dentistry, the orientation by the seniors go at one go. Meaning the juniors got orientated by seniors from 2nd year up till final year all at once. (Correct me if I'm wrong). While Medical faculty, it goes by batches. When the final year orientates, only the final year orientates. Same goes to the 4th year, 3rd year followed by 2nd year.
arsenwagon123
25-06-2009, 11:28 PM
arsenwagon123, just don't worry too much about this orientation. It's just a small part of your 5 years study. The important thing is to manage to pass this 5 years. Good luck!
thanks for the advice. yeah. i guess the most important thing is the 5 years..
hope i dont flunk...
and jasonbehr, yeah.. housemanship is also the same thing i heard.but of course you'd know bout it.
senior consultants will scold you like you're a 5 yr old kid. lolz..
that's what the junior MOs told me anyway.
perhaps its the cycle of karma... :P
jasonbehr
25-06-2009, 11:31 PM
this part i agree.. but some people complain that i "act" all the time. im juz trying to be friendly like smiling etc, not that im acting so that i can backstab people .
There's always a certain degree of difference between a 'smile' and a 'smirk'. Either the "some people" don't know how to differentiates that, or perhaps you're not a good actor at all.
Fret not, practice makes perfect. ;)
hope i dont flunk...
and jasonbehr, yeah.. housemanship is also the same thing i heard.but of course you'd know bout it.
Heh. It doesn't stop. Heard about the wheel of life?
Perhaps only when you're a senior consultant with some big title in front of your name, then maybe you're on the top of the 'food chain'. :nuts By then, you could finally choose whether you want to 'torture' your staff or be nice and be remembered as a nice man.
Karma doesn't discriminate.
Ooooh... Exams... Rigors...
hope i dont flunk...
dun think too much abt orientation....just be sporting n enjoy the medical life !!!u will miss the time of orientation aft u experienced it...
arsenwagon123
25-06-2009, 11:38 PM
yeah jasonbehr.. gotta work on my acting skills.
ok, roger that, mico. thx for all the advice guys
Green Fish
26-06-2009, 12:21 AM
So agree with you. People tend to think the same way of me too. And then used my height to attack me some more. I remember there's a ceramah guy who said I can't be a doctor because of my height...
changminnie
26-06-2009, 01:49 AM
lol.. those schools are really elite... like producing 90 percent of stpm 4 flatters.
guess they wont bother with a nobody like me.
im safe then.. :p
don't forget malacca high school..
Green Fish
26-06-2009, 02:26 AM
don't forget malacca high school..
Yup, if I didn't get matrik, i would have applied for Malacca High.
timothy
26-06-2009, 03:31 AM
Before I say anything let me introduce myself. As the username says, I'm Timothy. If only others would put their names down to. Some seniors are not gonna like me writing here...but oh well. =P
And, Mr Sikhsat/Satpal Singh, you need to control your capital letters. I seriously have trouble reading. =P
Let me welcome all you juniors to UM.
Before I talk about orientation, let me tell you that there are still some excellent lecturers in the faculty. One of them is my dad. And I'm not biased. haha. But seriously. Our lecturers are good. Some of them. =P
Now about orientation:
Do not fear orientation or anything else. You should fear failing your exams more than seniors. =P
Orientation is good, ragging is not. Unfortunately, different seniors have their own method of orientating juniors. To me, my reading and writing in this forum is a form of orientation is a form of orientation. I do not hide my name from you because I believe that form of orientation is not so effective. Leave all your fears at home and just come and follow your heart.
One thing to point out, that no one has brought up.
Orientation here in the faculty of medicine is done by race. Do you agree? I shall leave that question open-ended and let you all decide.
You will be seeing more of me...and hearing too, actually. So I better stop now. Goodnight. Do get lots of sleep before haluansiswa.
As a senior, I have this deep sense of joy every time I see new students enter. I don't know about other seniors, but I liken it to giving birth to a baby - a new life into this world.
As you open all your surat tawarans, and pack your bags for UM, let not the fear of anything or anyone dampen your excitement and joy of starting university as a first year student. It is a new chapter in your life. Embrace it. Learn to think for your own selves, stand up and stand out for what you believe in.
Timothy Cheng
3rd year student
Student Representative
Faculty of Medicine
Students' Representative Council 08/09
Universiti Malaya
017-2513135
http://www.facebook.com/timc88
GreeN_aPPLe
26-06-2009, 10:08 AM
Wow. Thanks 4 all d words of wisdom frm d seniors..Clap.Clap.Clap.
But i hv 2 ques..which i hope d seniors will kindly ans.
1. As for d orientation, will medic students b orientated wif other students like dentistry n pharmacy? Or dey separate accordin 2 courses? (Coz im not medic but dentistry, juz menyibuk here coz its pretty interesting here)
2. Wat if i DON HAVE any talent? *sob...sob*
( cant sing, cant dance, cant act, cant joke...and i only play piano which i cant bring wif me. Can i write an essay or do bookmark or recite a poem instead?)
rihui
26-06-2009, 10:21 AM
thanks to all the seniors who had responded to our queries. see you there in UM! :)
DanielleElocin
26-06-2009, 10:49 AM
Dear seniors,
Is there any possible way that i can appeal for UM Medicine? Any? Any?
Thanks in advance!!!
ummedic
26-06-2009, 12:05 PM
GreenApple: Medic students will only be orientated by medic students only.
GreeN_aPPLe
26-06-2009, 12:07 PM
GreenApple: Medic students will only be orientated by medic students only.
Thanks! well i hope dentistry seniors wil be kind..haha
annlui
26-06-2009, 12:42 PM
Thanks! well i hope dentistry seniors wil be kind..haha
U shd be looking forward to meet new people including seniors in Uni:)
arsenwagon123
26-06-2009, 02:11 PM
oh yeah sorry to malacca high school ppl.
heard from my friend in tampin that he would travel to malacca just to attend that school.
btw the name timothy cheng sure sounds familiar.
remember reading bout an article on the importance of english, published in theStar.
and also the KMNS Director said that I'll be like timothy who's the top student in his batch.lol.i dont know whether he's the same guy? either way, the director must have overestimated me.
btw, how do we know if we get anugerah kecemerlangan matrikulasi?
ive been there in PICC. only as a performer. lolz.
jasonbehr
26-06-2009, 02:19 PM
i'm sure the college will contact you if you're in the list. it'll be wayyyyyy months after you've "enjoyed" your class. :nuts
do medicines student nid laptop??
arsenwagon123
26-06-2009, 03:28 PM
i'm sure the college will contact you if you're in the list. it'll be wayyyyyy months after you've "enjoyed" your class. :nuts
classes here means uni lectures? so u got it then? cool!
i need the money. lol. no lappie yet. sigh.
Ecinue
26-06-2009, 04:00 PM
Bahagian Matrikulasi will send a letter to the award recipients
arsenwagon123
26-06-2009, 05:02 PM
oh thx, dentistry senior .
but when? like months after classes have commenced right?
PINKPIGGY
26-06-2009, 08:46 PM
Hi all, welcome to UM medic! don't get stressed up/panic becoz of the orientation, juz like jasonbehr said, it's juz like a newbies camp, juz enjoyed it.^^ if u r humble, there's no problem at all.. Seniors hv gone thru orientation, so can u all!
Can i clarify smth? pls don't group the freshies according to their respectives schls, like Chung ling, Jit sin, Keat hwa,SMK or SMJK etc..they all get into UM with their good achievements in academic (Matriculation/STPM) and co-curriculum, and they are all UM students,so there is no specialities if you're from those famous schl or not. All freshies should hv equal orientation, regardless of their status.
Jux hv fun & get the chance to know yr coursemates & seniors thru the process. Take it as a challenge!
HMin,
3rd yr UM medic student
Ecinue
26-06-2009, 10:25 PM
oh thx, dentistry senior .
but when? like months after classes have commenced right?
it was held in Sept in 2006. I'm not sure about this year.
jasonbehr
26-06-2009, 11:06 PM
do medicines student nid laptop??
There'll be assignments, which isn't that much in first year. But you might need it for some leisure a.k.a. computer games. Not really sure about the current internet services, but the computer lab in the medical faculty welcomes you with open arms on weekdays up till 11pm.
So... actually you won't die not having a laptop.
classes here means uni lectures? so u got it then? cool!
i need the money. lol. no lappie yet. sigh.
You'll get lectures. You'll have tutorials. You'll have self-directed learning sessions. You'll have labs.
How much money do they give anyways? It won't even be enough for half a laptop lar. Fama scholarships work best! :nuts
timothy
27-06-2009, 01:04 AM
Hmm I shall try to reply as many questions as possible.
Yes bring your laptop. It's good for research and computer games. =P
No timothy is not the top student in his batch. But he is enjoying uni life and having lotsa fun. haha.
Yes only medic seniors will orientate medic juniors. And only chinese will orientate chinese. But I don't agree. =P
But whatever. Everyone's entitled to their own stand. Find one. =)
If you get the anugerah your matric college will tell you. Someone will lah don't worry. =)
Oh and please leave your name if you can. It is very helpful. Thanks. =P
Oh and someone said something about not having a talent.
Everyone HAS a talent. Let's discover it together. Do not feel pressured or inferior because you can't perform as well as others...it's what's inside that counts. =)
jasonbehr
27-06-2009, 06:39 AM
They're coming in!!! :D
Surprise surprise!
There'll be assignments, which isn't that much in first year. But you might need it for some leisure a.k.a. computer games. Not really sure about the current internet services, but the computer lab in the medical faculty welcomes you with open arms on weekdays up till 11pm.
So... actually you won't die not having a laptop.
You'll get lectures. You'll have tutorials. You'll have self-directed learning sessions. You'll have labs.
How much money do they give anyways? It won't even be enough for half a laptop lar. Fama scholarships work best! :nuts
can you please include a bit info about this fama scholarship??=P
arsenwagon123
27-06-2009, 07:27 AM
They're coming in!!! :D
Surprise surprise!
who's coming in? thx for the replies timothy.
we're supposed to check in on 28th right?
stephanie89
27-06-2009, 08:23 AM
can you please include a bit info about this fama scholarship??=P
FYI, FAMA scholarship= father & mother scholarship :P
To those who are entering UM soon, heartiest Welcome to all of you.
There might be some misunderstandings about the orientation you've heard about, be it from your seniors or on the internet.
Orientation's main purpose is for you to know your batchmates and seniors well, as they (your batchmates) are the one who are going to be with you for at least 5 years in medical school and maybe more when you're working in hospital later. As for the seniors, they do know something more than we do and they could guide us. Yes, some of them might be leaving soon after they've completed their 5 years program but still, you might still meet them in the hospital when you become a HO later. Who's going to help you if not them, our own seniors from our own medical school?
Regarding the race based orientation, it's not that you're not allowed to talk to your batchmates from other races. Just that birds of a feather flock together. I think most of us get along better with those sharing more similarities with us. :)
Em. Throw away your fears and anxiety. Another phrase of your life has just begun!
All The Best! :)
rihui
27-06-2009, 09:35 AM
Thanks again to all seniors who had responded to our queries. I'm going to KL today. See you guys there in UM tomorrow! :)
Lam Ri Hui
GreeN_aPPLe
27-06-2009, 11:30 AM
U shd be looking forward to meet new people including seniors in Uni:)
Yaya..really excited! Meet whoever oso can, dun bully me can ady! haha juz kiddin ;p
I hope no seniors would look down on us.
i am going to UM now..
bye, see u there.
dvmpt
27-06-2009, 03:12 PM
just rmb 1 thing.....orientation is just a phase u nd 2 go thru but dun let anthing dampen ur spirit in ur quest to obtain the license to heal..
go for it, embrace it, BUT most important of all enjoy it!
Regarding race-based orientation,i think this is sumthing vry sad. but again, action speaks louder than words..set ur mindset right and uphold ur principles.
looking forward to meet yawl soon.!
timothy
27-06-2009, 06:15 PM
Birds of a feather flock together. Hmm very true. But we are humans first; then malay, chinese, indian. =)
Green Fish
10-07-2009, 12:47 AM
There's something that I should have said long ago and I want to say it now. To everyone, I'm sorry for leaving any comments on this thread before even knowing what the orientation is really like. I'm sorry for offending all the seniors even before I entered UM. I was foolish and I'm sorry. I didn't do it on purpose. Even though I didn't know whether to believe Peter Choo or not, I was scared because I'd been through bully cases before. Not physically but mentally and I was scared. No, I didn't say that I want to bully back the seniors or anything like that. It'll be very ridiculous since they are more experienced than me and I know we should respect them in every way. A few days after the orientation, I got to know some seniors and trust me, they are really nice despite the fact that I was scolded a few times by them. It was my own fault anyway. So, I'm sorry, and I'm not going to leave any comments anymore. Sorry :(
ivanhtwoo
13-07-2009, 02:18 AM
I dare those juniors who post here to clarify who you are.... I know who is green fish and peter choo.... but i really wanna know who the heck is arsenwagon123.... And i never heard of a batch of senior who are so so so united till their seniors dare not "touch" them...