View Full Version : PTS student
who is PTS student?just wanna know
11-06-2004, 09:14 PM
May be you should have some discussion on PTS students...or you have some questions to ask them etc...and not just setting up a thread to just find out people.
I am sure you have some questions in mind about PTS students, so you can ask it and get other PTS students to respond and you will know each other etc.
do u guys regret to accept the offer to jump class?
11-06-2004, 09:20 PM
One thing I'd like to know is about the maturity level of PTS students. Does missing one year make a difference? From what I observed in my school, some PTS students who made the jump are less matured compared to their classmates while some aren't. Can this be due to the fact that they skipped a year in primary school?
no i dont think so...........we r exposed to the same environment so it wont affect our maturity......at least in my case
knkh_87
11-06-2004, 09:49 PM
I never regretted skipping one year. The only disadvantage was, being the guinea pig year for the exam, I had no idea what the format was, the scope etc. So, I had to complete the syllabi for Std 4 and 5, just in case.
About the part on maturity, I don't really think that we are 'outcasts'. True...we are a year younger, but we were exposed to similar environments since 10 years old. So, I don't think we are that different. But, I am not qualified to judge this am I?
11-06-2004, 10:01 PM
One thing I'd like to know is about the maturity level of PTS students. Does missing one year make a difference? From what I observed in my school, some PTS students who made the jump are less matured compared to their classmates while some aren't. Can this be due to the fact that they skipped a year in primary school?
I agree with prince. possibly not.
by skipping standard 5 (or is it std 4?), does that make the typical std 6 anymore matured than supposedly std 5?
I don't think so.
12-06-2004, 01:33 AM
There were 2 gals in my JC who were 2 years younger than me, but same JC batch... and i never realized they were younger than me... maybe they behave maturely... but they look young.
I think i can't differentiate the PTS peeps and the non-PTS peeps... i dunno why... maybe sotong kua...
david_david
12-06-2004, 02:01 PM
I think that PTS was good. I got to skip one year.
Why was the programme scrapped???
12-06-2004, 07:11 PM
Frankly, I think PTS is a good programme, but unfortunately, it was being scrapped, after so much hoo-haa by the public, during Tan Sri Musa's term.
I look at it as a very positive initiative, that was brought up during Najib as Education Minister's time. Najib has also initiated IPTS during his term as education minister, leading to MMU, UNITEN, UTP, Monash, etc at that time. So, frankly, I think these two initiatives by him is very good.
babygirl
12-06-2004, 08:36 PM
i think that PTS is a very good programme
seldom heard people skipping regretted...and i'm not the one regretted
knkh_87
13-06-2004, 11:47 AM
I believe that the argument was based on the fact that not all from the first batch of express students obtained straight As in UPSR as expected. I think the percentage of PTS students obtaining straight As was between 50-60%. I recall that a government officer was quoted saying that they expected something near 100%.
Personally, I had a lot of fun being a PTS, mixing with those a year older. The PTSes in my school set up small groups during discussions, naming it "Persatuan Tong Sampah" or something like that....childish, but we were only 10 years old then.
They had problems with PTS being mostly an IQ test. It was a question of whether they wanted those who obtained a high score in the IQ test, or the hardworking bunch who can excel in examinations.
david_david
13-06-2004, 05:28 PM
And usually what percentage of the whole cohort scores straight As???
In fact 50-60% means that PTS are on par with non-PTS, maybe even better.
Also it's hard to tell wheter it is successful by just looking at UPSR.
We were also required to write an essay right?So not merely IQ
But you're right . Not nice being a guinea pig
chankingguan
13-06-2004, 08:37 PM
i'm a pts student...and yes, sometimes people do treat u a little bit differently...or am i being paranoid?????...hehehheeh
knkh_87
13-06-2004, 09:03 PM
i'm a pts student...and yes, sometimes people do treat u a little bit differently...or am i being paranoid?????...hehehheeh
Occassionally yeah....sometimes they like saying "Little kids shouldn't be hearing this." Other than that, we aren't that isolated.
And I agree with david_david. UPSR isn't the best way to measure the success of its implementation. Perhaps they should have followed up a little on PMR and SPM. That may give a better reflection of its effectiveness.
very hard to find lover coz female tends to find someone older hahaha
knkh_87
13-06-2004, 09:55 PM
A result of unjustified conventions. Perhaps we will develop a liking for older women when we grow up...good or bad? A blessing for the girls though.
mediator
23-04-2005, 08:49 AM
hey,it's a pity not many reply to this topic.....
now that you mention it,i have to say that i find most students who 'jump' class always perform considerably well,or maybe it's just my circle of friends?i'm not sure..let's see..
for spm 2004..
*one friend got 9A1 n 1A2
*one got 8A1 n 2A2
*one got 9A's n 1B
*one got 9A's n 3B's
mmmm,don't remember everybody.....
i always tend to believe that age shall not be an excuse for not doing well,..just look at timothy,he's just 17 but is accepted to Stanford,Oxford n Harvard University,man...that's outstanding!!
I don't regret skipping one year too! Yea, although i do occasionally become the target of some jokes, i feel that pts-students are not left out at all. The jokes they crack about us are quite funny anyway. :D In fact, hardly anyone can tell whether you're a pts student or not. We don't walk around with signboards proclaiming that we are pts students la. Haha..And being a girl, i'm not at the losing end when it comes to bgr too. But actually one year age gap doesn't make much difference, imo. :roll:
flyinghigh
23-04-2005, 10:02 AM
my best friend is a pts student.
she is always the NO1. in my class.
sometimes she even teaches me on sth tht i dont quite understand!
n she've got 10A1s (including gce-o) n 2 A2 in the spm
this is some of the spm results of pts students in my school
9A1, 3A2
10A1, 1B3
8A1,2A2,1B3
.... etc
demia88
23-04-2005, 10:11 AM
im a pts student and i dont really feel diff at all. and yeah, of course there are those "one year younger" jokes my classmates make, but its all in good fun. plus, it seems maturity has not much to do with pts, no?
i think our maturity are influenced by our environment. if u're surrounded by older people, u'll think like them too.
when i was in standard 3, i've been bullied by a few std 4 girls. but then, as i pass the PTS exam, i got in the same class with them. still remember on the first day of std5. she(the leader) apologize . then they became my friends. hehe... they must be so embarrased. it's amusing if u see their face(blue) when they saw my father. kecut perut maa...
only when i was in primary school i was treated as 'special'.always call me 'budak pts'. some of them didn't even know my name.
but at sec school, i hide my identity hehe.... as i'm tall, they didn't know i'm a pts student. but after one person realize that, everyone will know. hah, ko pts? cam tak caye.....
demia88
23-04-2005, 11:00 AM
but there is one not-so-good thing (that i feel, anyway) that came from pts, i dont really connect anymore with ppl my age. they feel so...distant and different
PINKPIGGY
23-04-2005, 01:32 PM
I think PTS is a very good programme since we can shorten one year of studying!
There are quite a lot of PTS student in my schl-smjk jit sin (including me, heh heh! :oops: ) Most of them hv quite good results! 4 example, our schl hs 3 students who got the ASEAN Pre-U scholarship 2004, 2 of them r PTS students! *proud*
I am well-connect with my friends who r 1 year older than me. I think we hv no difference compare to them- mentally & physically (except 4 some who r small size, like me)
In primary schl, we r like "abnormal" students lo! But, just 4 a short while... In my primary schl (srjk (C) peng bin), we (pts student) hv to take exam twice~ standard 5 & standard 4 . But, it is all 4 our own good ,rite?
I remembered once that when some of us scored better than the others, one "kiasu" classmate :evil: will say that we should go back to standard 4 & don't disturb them! But, we just took it as a joke and continued our study. Mayb, he is stil a "primary boy", love to act childish (Ha! Ha!) :lol:
Anyway, I support PTS & i wil never regret skipping 1 year! :D
HappyCat
23-04-2005, 02:03 PM
i think PTS programme is ok although i'm not a PTS student. :P
for SPM year 2003, a PTS student in my school got straight A1's.
for SPM year 2004, a PTS student in my school got straight A's.
PTS students are clever and smart especially in calculating subject, like mathematic and physic.
i was not understood why the goverment scrapped the programme. :roll:
anywhere, i support the PTS programme. :D
n_uay
23-04-2005, 03:14 PM
In fact, those who was promoted for passing pts can save 1 years time.... quite similar 2 singapore's education system ( theirs is 6 yrs of primary n 4 years of sec). I'm one of them 2!! Nice to meet u guys here. :D :D
kamilchan
23-04-2005, 10:11 PM
i always get bullied by my schoolmates..coz evry where i go they will shout "oi budak kecik!"
but then i'm already immune to it..heheh..but its a very unique exp to learn with big guys..
and who says gurls tend to like guys older..my ex- was older what..hahaha
anyway it doesn't affect our maturity i think, coz i also see my older frens playing around like kids..
ermm its great to be a PTS student!!..
some excel really good in their exams, but there are some that dont which i seem they feel "bangge" dapat lompat klasss, like they are sooooo geniuses in evrything, then in std 5 hancur!.
anyway don't be too obsessed with what you have now..just an advise..
we still have a long way to go!.
mediator
23-04-2005, 11:04 PM
about the "not-really-connected with ppl of own age" .....
i have to say,true and untrue...
last year i met an old friend in friendster,a friend in standard 1 n 2,i moved to another school in standard 3...so we were like, very excited asking each other how things are,recalling the stupid2 jokes we used to play years ago...n then she started to ask about my spm preparation,i was like..."oh", n explained that i've sat for spm already,that i jumped class bla bla...n suddenly it was as though there's a barrier between us,she no longer said much,asked anything much....and that's it,kinda strange huh?
but then i have this friend i know ever since i was in standard 3... she didn't pass the pts exam,so d next year,obviously we were not in d same class nmore...but guess what?occasionally she would have recess with me during the primary school,always wishing good luck for all my exams right up to spm.even taking the trouble visiting me in boarding school when i was in f5(last year)... so i believe it depends on you n that friend of you... ('',)
generally?of course i tend to have more friends older than me.....
Crystal
23-04-2005, 11:12 PM
hey,it's a pity not many reply to this topic.....
now that you mention it,i have to say that i find most students who 'jump' class always perform considerably well,or maybe it's just my circle of friends?i'm not sure..let's see..
for spm 2004..
*one friend got 9A1 n 1A2
*one got 8A1 n 2A2
*one got 9A's n 1B
*one got 9A's n 3B's
mmmm,don't remember everybody.....
i always tend to believe that age shall not be an excuse for not doing well,..just look at timothy,he's just 17 but is accepted to Stanford,Oxford n Harvard University,man...that's outstanding!!
Oh yeah, I've no doubt about that. I've two PTS friends, they each got 9A1's + 1A2 [Est! Recheck] and 8A1's + 2B3's. The one with 8A1's was offered a place in a uni [Darn, forgot the name!] somewhere in UK but she'd to wait another year because as stated in the letter, she's too young. I laughed at first when she told me but then I realized it's quite unfair for her! Now she's to wait until she's like 17+ to go there! :(
succubus
24-04-2005, 01:26 AM
When people studying in the same year as me find out that i am a pts student, they get a shock. Then the next sentence: 'but you don't look like a one at all' (pardon me, but do pts students have different 'looks'?) Till now i'm still not too sure whether that is a compliment or not. By the way, i'm not a tall person (only 5 feet 2!) so i didn't know how remarks like that came about. But i don't mind really.
I was never bullied in school, although i thought the people my age in school(my ex-classmates in standard 3) gave me the cold shoulder.
glow Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 12:45 pm Post subject:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
i think our maturity are influenced by our environment. if u're surrounded by older people, u'll think like them too.
I totally agree! But then again, say there are 2 non-pts students(A and B), A born in january and B in december. And a pts student, C born in say, january the following year. The difference in maturity level amongst B and C can't be much of a difference - It should be more between A and B, right? So how can we say pts students are significantly less mature than their classmates in standard 5?
littleprince Posted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 11:06 pm Post subject:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
You can always meet a younger girl in the same school or in different schools during extra-curricular activities, right? Isn't that like, very common.
Occassionally yeah....sometimes they like saying "Little kids shouldn't be hearing this." Other than that, we aren't that isolated.
My close friends never said that to me. I knew much much more about the human reproductive system then they did. :D (i was interested in becoming a gynaecologist when i was younger)
Patrick
24-04-2005, 09:55 AM
Hey I'm a PTS student too XD
And here's what I've got to share.
After I got to know that I managed to jump class, I was shocked. Then, I had to make a decision, whether or not, jump class.
I didn't really think much about saving a year or anything like that at that time. I actually thought about losing my friends, a year's education, and being in the same Standard as my brother.
In the end, I thought...what the heck, just accept it, and I did.
All 9 of us PTS students were placed in the 2nd best class. (Probably to prevent kiasuism among the 1st class students) My friend and I topped the class, sending many other students in a state of wonder.
In the UPSR exam, most of us garnered 5As.
In form 1, our PTS identity started to fade, except mine. That's because my brother and I were in the same class. The teacher's will say something like this, and this happens EVERYTIME a new teacher comes to teach us, from Form 1 to 5.
"Aiks, Leong Tian Weng dan Leong Tian Seng, anak kembar ka?"
The whole class explained, "Bukan bukan, Tian Weng ini budak PTS"
LoL, those were the funny times >.<. In Form 1 to 3, I only managed to get into the top 4 of my class. The other PTS students were in the top 10.
However, I started to improve in Form 4 and 5, despite the fact that I'm an avid computer gamer. I topped my class :D and in SPM, i got 12A1s.
I'm pretty sad because they've scrapped this program. From my observation, there are many PTS students selected for the luncheon with the Prime Minister in Putrajaya.
:cry:
Oh yea, the downsides. Universities in the UK have an age limit for student's admission, something like 18 years BEFORE you can enter their University.
I'm pretty lucky because I have my brother. He's the one who looks after me. There was once when I cried after being bullied in Form 1, and my brother whacked em back nicely. >.< After that, no one dared to bully me :D
StupidCupid
24-04-2005, 12:44 PM
I regret never take the PTS... (don't know how i just get to skip the exam... :P )
I knew if i take for sure i can skip the standard 4 year...
(not to praise myself but my result back in standard 3 was among the top 5)
Haih... sesal sesal... :(
i think sometimes, the age issue is not about how we feel but how our seniors feel about us.
like if they asked me to explain some homework prob, they will keep repeating how ashame they feel to seek help from a PTS student. i always feel really awkward, like why can't they jus see me as another classmate?
anyone experienced that?
wongwenhao
24-04-2005, 02:10 PM
hey, i'm a PTS student too(1997 batch)!
just a 45-minute exam, made me save 1 year, hehe!
along the way of education, i'd never experienced any difficulties, due to my age...
but, there's something i need to worrry this year...
i heard that the requirement for studying form 6 is a student has to be 18 years old.
is that true?
last year, it happened to the PTS students...
do you think the ministry of education will be able to identify those students that had passed the exam as there are no certificates or any other relevant documents given to the students to prove that they passed the exam?
iriekindaichi
24-04-2005, 03:26 PM
Hey I'm a PTS student too XD
And here's what I've got to share.
After I got to know that I managed to jump class, I was shocked. Then, I had to make a decision, whether or not, jump class.
I didn't really think much about saving a year or anything like that at that time. I actually thought about losing my friends, a year's education, and being in the same Standard as my brother.
In the end, I thought...what the heck, just accept it, and I did.
All 9 of us PTS students were placed in the 2nd best class. (Probably to prevent kiasuism among the 1st class students) My friend and I topped the class, sending many other students in a state of wonder.
In the UPSR exam, most of us garnered 5As.
In form 1, our PTS identity started to fade, except mine. That's because my brother and I were in the same class. The teacher's will say something like this, and this happens EVERYTIME a new teacher comes to teach us, from Form 1 to 5.
"Aiks, Leong Tian Weng dan Leong Tian Seng, anak kembar ka?"
The whole class explained, "Bukan bukan, Tian Weng ini budak PTS"
LoL, those were the funny times >.<. In Form 1 to 3, I only managed to get into the top 4 of my class. The other PTS students were in the top 10.
However, I started to improve in Form 4 and 5, despite the fact that I'm an avid computer gamer. I topped my class :D and in SPM, i got 12A1s.
I'm pretty sad because they've scrapped this program. From my observation, there are many PTS students selected for the luncheon with the Prime Minister in Putrajaya.
:cry:
Oh yea, the downsides. Universities in the UK have an age limit for student's admission, something like 18 years BEFORE you can enter their University.
I'm pretty lucky because I have my brother. He's the one who looks after me. There was once when I cried after being bullied in Form 1, and my brother whacked em back nicely. >.< After that, no one dared to bully me :D
ehehe..patrick..u got my story too arr...
i'm a pts student..and my sister was also in the same class wif me when i was in standard 6..same as patrick...all the pts's students were placed in da 2nd and 3rd class..
everybody is asking us..
liyana and nadiya..kembar ke??muka lain nih..tak samapun..
haiyaaa...got tired to answer the questions..ehehe....but..i'm very lucky to have a very nice sister...she always take care of me..in fact..she was the head prefect in my primary school...hhehe..it also save budget arr....i share all the reference books except...exercise books..
but..when we stepped in secondary school...my mom had to spend twice..coz we're no longer in da same school...got to buy everything in pairs...2 reference books for every subjects...
but..i'll never regret of skipping one year..besides...i have a lot of frenzz..the frenzz b4 and after pts..yeahh..it's tough for the 1st two years...esp in the 1st year...but..later...u'll find it is very wxciting..challenging..and enjoyable when u stepped in f1...nobody will realise that i'm pts...except if they see my id card..or..my birthday...or if i tell them myself..ehehe
N-Guy
24-04-2005, 04:06 PM
i rejected PTS offer and that's the biggest blunder in my life,lol
iriekindaichi
24-04-2005, 04:38 PM
i rejected PTS offer and that's the biggest blunder in my life,lol
u must be very regret ar...don't u?
Penny
24-04-2005, 06:03 PM
I have this friend. She's a PTS student, and she got into Matriculation.
Now that she's graduated from Matriculation, she'll be entering local university in June or July, with an expected CPGA 4.0.
So, she actually saved 2 years.
Patrick
24-04-2005, 07:43 PM
Maturity does not come with age. Judge.
faithgurl
24-04-2005, 08:05 PM
I'm a PTS student too (1997 batch), and I'm glad to say that I've never actually had problems connecting with people, whether those of my age or those a year older. I've never regretted my choice of skipping a year--it's great saving one year! :)
Maturity definitely does not come with age--it's also partly shaped by our environment. I have had people tell me that they couldn't believe I was a year younger because I was "more mature"! All these years of learning in a class of people older than me made me blend in well, I guess. At the same time, I have very good friends who are my age! So actually I've been very much blessed in that sense.. :D
I have also done well in all my exams so far, recently scoring my straights for the SPM, so I'm very thankful for that too. However, I've heard of many PTS students who just fizzled out later in their school years, especially in the last few years of the PTS, causing the government to stop the PTS exam. I also heard that this was probably due to the fact that in those later years, people began coaching Pri 3 students to STUDY for the exam! The PTS is a test of IQ, natural intelligence, so I don't think tutoring should be done! Anyway, it was done.. and so I believe the PTS couldn't serve its purpose as a genuine evaluation of IQ. Too bad, really.
n_uay
24-04-2005, 09:14 PM
i heard that the requirement for studying form 6 is a student has to be 18 years old.
is that true?
do you think the ministry of education will be able to identify those students that had passed the exam as there are no certificates or any other relevant documents given to the students to prove that they passed the exam?
I don't think this year we'll face any problem enroll 4 f6. My school's authority has told us and assured that those PTS students will be accepted coz the MOE has stated this to all the schools.
egghead2511
25-04-2005, 12:43 AM
hey, i'm a pts student too! i can't believe that this issue is been brought up.
urm... my first two years as a pts student in primary school were quite tough. i was the smallest,the shortest in class but i had to sit at the back of the class.i was bullied constantly by my classmates and i was forced to call them all "kakak" ( it was an all-girl school) it's very difficult to cope with the environment. from stndrd 1-3, i was the best student, the star,everyone from my batch looked up at me, i was the gang leader. and right after that, my whole world collapsed. i no longer had any friends,people ignored me as if i was invisible. they hated me more when i was appointed as a schol prefect.i even considered to switch back to stndard 4. my father wouldn't let me. as time went by, i managed to secure a place among the top three students,beating all other "older" students and the next thing i knew, the whole class were competing to be my best friend. were there any true friends those days, i wonder
got 5As in the UPSR,studied in sekolah berasrama penuh and things changed. every student being a pts or not were treated the same. i found true and honest friendship everywhere,my friends accepted me for being me. they even forgot the fact that i was actually a pts student haha. except at times like the teacher asked you to fill in forms or something and you need to indicate your birth date or age...
my studies were okay i did not have any problems coping with the teachers .most pts students in my batch were well-known for their brilliance, meaning that they didn't need a lot of studying but still managed to be on top of the class. so i guess pts students don't really suffer any discomfort studying with older students. i don't understand why the government actually decide to abolish it.
just a humble opinion of mine...
i'm a PTS student... at first I regret to pass.. but now not anymore.. it's hard for me when i was in standard 5.. and i got 4A's for my UPSR.. yeah.. i was very dissapointed.. but now I realize many things.. I'm younger than others.. I saved my parents money.. I go to university earlier.. and now I'm happy with myself.. :D
i was just thinking, instead of allowing certain 'capable' students to 'jump' class from Y3 to Y5, why not we allow them to enroll standard 1 at the age of 6, not 7.
many other countries start primary education at 6 not 7. why cant we? at least for 'capable' students.
just an idea. tell me why it should not be put in practice if u disagree.
gohweihan
25-04-2005, 02:01 AM
many other countries start primary education at 6 not 7. why cant we? at least for 'capable' students.
They should. Students from India enters university at the age of 17, and graduate at 20.
escalion
25-04-2005, 10:18 AM
Hey hey, I'm a PTS student. No, I have no regrets watsoever skipping one year! In fact, I think it has helped me a great deal in my life. Maturity comes from within, from your own initiative to seek experience, it doesn't necessarily come with age. But I do admit that I haven't grown as much as some of my classmates, but in some cases, I can consider myself a bit more mature than them! hehe.
escalion
25-04-2005, 10:26 AM
i think sometimes, the age issue is not about how we feel but how our seniors feel about us.
like if they asked me to explain some homework prob, they will keep repeating how ashame they feel to seek help from a PTS student. i always feel really awkward, like why can't they jus see me as another classmate?
anyone experienced that?
hmm.. not really, but sometimes they compare me to the other classmates and kinda say something like, "He's so young and still smarter than you!"
I usually just take it as a compliment, but the thing is, sometimes, we're better in other students in certain fields (like for me, mathematics and physics), so I don't really mind people asking me to teach them sometimes.
Ecinue
25-04-2005, 10:46 AM
i'm a PTS student too(97')! well, it was nightmare when i was in standard 5... lots of homework coz i was in the 1st class. i was the only PTS student in my school in that year... in september 98', i went to new zealand and stayed there for 3mths to attend my dad's graduation ceremony sambil go touring there (my dad's a teacher and he went to nz to further his studies under a scholarship by MOE... my whole family got a full allowance from the gov... in fact, some of my dad's coursemates who're also recepients of the scholarship mentioned above brought their family members there for a year! well, as i've mentioned, allowance were given.)
so, in total, i skipped a year+3mths! luckily, i managed my studies well in standard 6 and got 6As in UPSR..
as for my social life, i mixed with my classmates very well! no 'generation gap' at all... :lol: [/i]
elemneon
25-04-2005, 10:55 AM
I don't think age is an issue. If my friends need help with their work they just ask normally. They probably don't even remember that I'm one year younger. In fact, sometimes I can''t even remember my age! :D
The first year in Std 5 was nothing out of the ordinary. My school had 44 ppl who jumped so we were all put in one class. So PTS vs PTS.
lolilo
25-04-2005, 10:55 AM
hrmm....PTS.
I am still wondering why PTS enable students to skip Standard 4 when we are introduced to Science and Kajian Tempatan and essay writing during standard 4? Why not skip Standard 3 or Standard 2 , when things are easier to catch up on?
What is the rationale behind it ? hrm....
Patrick
25-04-2005, 11:18 AM
Actually, I personally think that skipping Std1 is much better than skipping Std4.
Heh, I didn't even read the Std4 syllabus and got 5As >.<
Std 4 Science is filled with crap. I saw a portion regarding inventors and stuff....
funkeeally
25-04-2005, 11:45 AM
haha! another pts student here..i'm proud of being one of pts..eventhough i'm always been bullied by my classmates since i was in standard 5 but who cares? luv being the "budak kecik" of the class.. 8)
kamilchan
25-04-2005, 11:50 AM
i had this one fren that i knew since primary school..std 5 i think.. and he just knew i was a pts student!..man, they think i look matang.hehehe
rab_bit
25-04-2005, 01:03 PM
I don't think the age is the problem...the PTS students in my school memang hebat...one actually was the head girl of my school (can you imagine being 'ruled' by someone younger than you?) and one of them actually got 12A1 for SPM. So, i think PTS is a good programme...pity it was scrapped... :(
petertok
25-04-2005, 02:24 PM
i had this one fren that i knew since primary school..std 5 i think.. and he just knew i was a pts student!..man, they think i look matang.hehehe
is it ? but during form 1/2/3 , we all know u're a pts student.
petertok
25-04-2005, 02:35 PM
I didnt get pts and was rather disappointed during that time.
As for the success of this programme , in my school at least , all the PTS students managed to score good results in upsr/pmr/spm.
Nevertheless , imho , the simple iq and essay test is not sufficient to actually ensure that a student has what it takes to skip an entire year. Suppose the student memorized an essay and got lucky in the iq test ? My father even predicted the topic of the essay that came out which was abt having a picnic by the sea if im not mistaken.. but still i cant pass it. *sigh* :oops:
P/s : i dont think english was tested in the pts test right ? hmm.
Patrick
25-04-2005, 04:19 PM
As for the success of this programme , in my school at least , all the PTS students managed to score good results in upsr/pmr/spm.
Nevertheless , imho , the simple iq and essay test is not sufficient to actually ensure that a student has what it takes to skip an entire year. Suppose the student memorized an essay and got lucky in the iq test ? My father even predicted the topic of the essay that came out which was abt having a picnic by the sea if im not mistaken.. but still i cant pass it. *sigh* :oops:
Ahh, there's no need to have a debate here. Admit it. PTS students are better. No use saying memorizing and stuff.
Are you saying that those who excelled are lucky?
Those who memorized are just lying to themselves and are gonna suffer later
petertok
25-04-2005, 04:45 PM
Ahh, there's no need to have a debate here. Admit it. PTS students are better. No use saying memorizing and stuff.
Are you saying that those who excelled are lucky?
Those who memorized are just lying to themselves and are gonna suffer later
No , i am saying the system is not thorough enough to determine a student's academical capability. And i knw u are clever and deserve it.
Just that there are still some pts students not performing excellently which left me wondering if they might have fared better if they decided not to skip a year.
And im not going to admit pts students are better or worse than those who didnt qualify for pts. We're all the same.
khor_albert
25-04-2005, 05:09 PM
I am not a PTS student and my year's PTS is the hardest.....really...and it's the first year. I always believe that my minus-point is not at the quantitative test, but is in the BM essay question. (1994 PTS candidates wil know wat am I talking about)
khor_albert
25-04-2005, 05:12 PM
Walao eh, Peter.....u still REMEMBER the essay question? But however, you are quite rite...
petertok
25-04-2005, 08:17 PM
I am not a PTS student and my year's PTS is the hardest.....really...and it's the first year. I always believe that my minus-point is not at the quantitative test, but is in the BM essay question. (1994 PTS candidates wil know wat am I talking about)
definitely not 1994 batch...... 1996 was our standard 3 year.
lolilo
25-04-2005, 08:18 PM
I got to go through BM and Chinese essay. i don't even know how to start an essay at that age, what more to write one.
And the sample question came out quite late during my year( pioneer batch) , that was the disadvantages, i think, and only 3 got promoted out of 200 students.
the next year, around 30 got promoted. Its not a fair way to judge student capabalities lah....this hangat-hangat tahi ayam PTS, chehh.
stargal
30-04-2005, 12:38 PM
i am a PTS student too...
and i did not feel any different being younger.....but i am small in size.........so i am always treated as little sister......
i don think tat we are less matured.....since we mix with those elder than us.....
i think tat most PTS student did well in their exam....
for example, in my school....i get 11A1, 2A2 and another friend get 10A1, 3A2....tat's among the best in my school.........n other PTS students also did quite well....
nice to meet ya, fellow PTS students....... :)
DFish
30-04-2005, 05:37 PM
I'm a pts student of the first batch as well, went thru both BM and chinese essays and the IQ test. In my school, there are 4 who get thru the first year pts test. All of us are as mature as our older peers, so there are no problem mixing with them. In fact, we are better connected with these "seniors" than those same age with us, since we are studying at the same level. There are more conversation topic with them compare with same age friends.
we were placed in the 2nd best class also during standard 5, though we all manage to top the class and get into the best class during standard 6. now one of my friend is in russia, sponsored by jpa, after scoring 11A1s, 2 A2s in spm. I got 11A1s and 1 A2s, currently studying in korea. Another got 9As, granted the star education fund.
we had trouble joining form 6 last year. Our name are not in the list, not even selected for matriculations. So we had to appeal to Jabatan Pendidikan that time. But our school let us in unofficially, while waiting for the permission of MOE :wink:
though, i was selected for national service. maybe after finishing my course here (6 years later), i have to attend NS camp with those youngster.. :(
demia88
30-04-2005, 07:35 PM
oh yes, about NS. im going to matrics next month, what if i get selected later this year? (since im with the 2005/06 batch). what will i do?
waikiki
02-05-2005, 11:22 AM
i have a best friend and she is a PTS student.I do treat her like my sister 'cos she is younger mah.But she is more matured than i am.Really.I'm although older i am still childlike.She knows what she wants in her life unlike me ,still so blur.She is very bright.She got 10 A1 and accepted for the JPA interview.Good luck to her.I'm happy for her.I'm gonna miss her.Though she is small in size hey you better watch out she is "diam-diam ubi berisi"(is my peribahasa correct?)Anyway just wanna tell that PTS student is no different than all of us.
meselsohnstahl
02-05-2005, 11:44 AM
im a pts student and i think its ok...
im now in college and i find that my pts friends are smarter than the normal kids..heheh...i think that cause we're younger, we are probably more creative in a way....and a levels(from my current experience) requires creativity and hard qork from me!!!
Anduril
02-05-2005, 12:51 PM
I couldn't even remember we had to write essays that time... :oops: All I did remember was one question about chain food. I got mixed up with the arrows. Another one was a picture of a fat guy with a thin guy, but I forget what the question was.
I am not a PTS student. But as far as I concerned, I did remember telling myself not to get that "promotion" even if I got it by a stroke of luck. Don't ask me why...
halo...another pts student here! :D dun regret skipping std 5...im kinda small so all my frens really look out for me...n i kinda got stuck with da word 'cute' as im da shortest in class...haha...
my best fren is a LOT TALLER than i am...but i dun think im less matured than my peers...i onli look young...im 17 n ppl sometimes tot im 13/14...haha...kinda funny sometimes... :lol:
im da onli student to pass pts 1997 in my school so...it was kinda hard 4 me to fit in...no frens...n guess wat...my classmates even selected me to b da monitor since im quiet n they can bully me... :lol:
lost contact with my frens of same age already though...jz couldn't click together if u know wat i mean... but i hv lots of frens older than me la...n im not that quiet anymore haha... :wink:
onli bad side is that...im stil undecided on my future...n i hope i won get ns... :wink:
stargal
05-05-2005, 09:31 PM
haha, sy3n, we face the same situation...
i am also the shortest in my class n ppl thought tat i am in standard six althought i have finish my spm..........
but i still enjoy my life in my class.........being cute little sister is also kind of fun....
huimay
06-05-2005, 02:12 PM
hey =)
haha i nv knew that ppl view pts student as smarter or some sort til last year when my sis told me..'yah..pts students are smarter'
all this while i didnt take it to heart when others said 'oh you are a pts student..very smart ah..' i though that it was jz a typical remark..
i would say that i do feel a lil 'special'(a bit outcast) but that was only in std 5 =)
i shifted from jb to selangor at the end of std 3..
so it makes no diff since i'll be exposed to new environment anyhow
that's y i took up the offer without hesitating
otherwise i might have rejected it ( its not easy to part with our friends yah =p )
i dont think the one year we skipped effect us in studies
tho i used to spend hours doin 'pembundaran'
lolz~! xp
the first topic in math
used to get me so confused~ xp
bottomline, i personally dont think there's any of us out there who regretted taking up the offer yah? ; )
we do have lots of fun being the 'budak kecik' of the class =p
i still occasionally get the 'hey small kid arent suppose to hear these stuff..' punyer comment haha =)
but being a pts is no diff really =)
Angelia
06-05-2005, 02:22 PM
Hi everybody!
I'm also a PTS student.
Having skipped from Standard Three to Standard Five was the most remarkable achievement in my life.
I was a normal child like others but this event made me a little bit distinct from others at a tender age.
I was given a chance to guide a few older pupils in their studies.
It was indubitably a great opportunity for me to teach and learn from others at the same time. :P
Btw,i never regret being one of the luckiest PTS students! :D
PINKPIGGY
06-05-2005, 04:01 PM
I don't think this year we'll face any problem enroll 4 f6. My school's authority has told us and assured that those PTS students will be accepted coz the MOE has stated this to all the schools.
OMG!!! This year it happens again!??Our names r not in the f6 list....... :cry: But, the schl authorities say that they wil settle this problem. So, don't worry!
I m just afraid that this problem wil reoccur when we r applying 4 local u? Better start praying fr now on............... :lol:
picean
07-05-2005, 12:03 AM
hey, i'm also a PTS student...
no regrets skipping 1 yr...(wil regret if i din skip)
maturity wise...i find dat i'm much more matured then those who r my yr...my friends said dat i'm matured too...no doubt i'm the smallest size among my gang...but not the shortest though, n i'm not the shortest in class also even though i'm considered as quite short dee.. :) some seniors even told me maturity cannot be judged by their age...cos many ppl r surprised when they knew dat i'm a PTS student,by the way i handle things n so on...my frens also treat me like their little sis...very biasa d being called 'budak kecik' n a classmate of mine always like to say dat i'm 'extra smart' with higher IQ then normal ppl...blah...just to make fun of me(he is much smarter though) :D
07-05-2005, 08:41 AM
It is very nice to hear from a number of PTS students, and one thing I would say would be that, it is good that you all take up the challenge to skip a year, and eventually still do very well.
To be frank, there isn't much difference in the difference of one year of age. For instance in university here, I have taken classes with those who are like 5-8 years younger than me, or those who are 20 years older than me, and eventually we are judged by our opinion. We learn and we grow. For instance, when we go to society and work, we are no longer so judged by our age. For instance, even if people are going to classify us by age, it would be like in the early 30s, late 30s etc, so 1 or 2 years of difference do not make that much different.
Fellow ReComers, I really hope that everyone could live up to the challenge and learn as much as possible. For those who have skipped PTS, do not even feel inferior to others, or thought that you are less matured. But on the other hand, always strive for the best. Age difference does not matter. Looking from another perspectives, do not get too pre-occupied with being the very smart one identified. The selection was 7-8 years ago, and hence right now, everyone should come back to square one and work hard.
This goes to everyone who has just taken SPM, and score fantastically too, eventually, when you move on to the next phase of life, be it in matriculation, STPM, colleges, universities, preparatory programs, working etc, you start again. The glory or failure of SPM, should not stick within your head. Be confident, yet not over confident, and strive for your best, and be balanced academically, as well as in other aspects. Learn how to communicate, think, find for information efficiently, learn how to learn etc, all these will bring you far in life.
byzhanii_bogn
11-05-2005, 10:14 AM
*hyaks hyaks* i know i'm a bit too late. perhaps this thread is already outdated. but i'm just so impressed to see so much PTSers out there!
i was the first batch, yea 96's. and i was promoted to skip primary4, but i didn't accept it, as my parents said there's no need to rush while studying. they want me to enjoy my childhood (was staying at some outskirt at that time, i was the onlyone promoted in the whole district). and now, i regreted i didn't take it.
transfered to a big city for secondary school.managed to be in the bestclass. there were4 of us,the96'sbatch, who didn't accept itin my class. andanother 3 97 batch who accepeted it andmade it to my class.
maturity is not an issue. true.sometimes, it seems that thoseborn in 87 aremutch morechildishthan thoseof 88! perhaps we're just enjoying ourselves during thosedays! lol
intellegence wise. one girl, oneyear younger, hadbeen dominatingthe firstplace sinceform4. even scoredstraightA1s in SPM,dunneed to say PMRand UPSR lar. so kacangone, who cannot get straight A! :lol:
so, PTS, so menyesal didn't acceptit. what to do???too late already.
ps: blame the spacebar! :oops:
i'm a pts student here aso.so glad to noe tat there r so many of us here too.
actuali i aso dun noe why i can pass the test wan ,i juz simply bulat bulatkan oni i think,maybe luck kuar
but i hv no regret on it either,i can make lots of friends,mixing well wif them.
as time passed,many seemed to forget tat we r pts student coz we r simply the same as them,nothg much 2 difer from us.even some of us r more mature than our classmate.
i can say tat it's a good program tat make me save lot of time,even skipped the year of 'dragon' which wil be congested by top skolar later(more pesaing ).nothg 2 do wif the standard 4 lesson,i can score wel in my upsr aso though i din reali go 2 study standard 4 book,haha.
so,happy wif the decision made by my parents 2 let me skipped the year,which inturn in what i m 2day :roll:
Neutral_pH
11-05-2005, 12:04 PM
I am no PTS student as i was in standard 3 in 1995 so I missed out of the chance...but somehow I do admire those students skip a year during their primary education, can be consider creme de la creme of the whole school population. the older ones who have those people in the class used to look at them with envy, especially when they could answer the questions that their seniors can't!
Frankly I thought that PTS was very hard, by hearing from the amount of rumours generated from it, with IQ tests here and there and other "assessment" s, I thought that those who passed it must be geniuses...UNTIL one of my PTS friend told me that the actual exam was very easy, consists of several calculcations and language tests and that's it. (Thats what he said, I dunno since I've never even seen the paper) and the number of PTS students in colleges now are just quite amazing, can be said that they made up around half of the college population. In fact when I was in Taylor's College SJ, half (nearly!) of my class was PTS guys!
Those who took the PTS matured quite quickly, hmm...too quickly sometimes but anyhow we could bond with them, no problem. It's pity that the government is planning to abolish the PTS system. I felt that it destroy the chances of some very bright shining gems out there.
picean
11-05-2005, 12:27 PM
yea..actually the pts test wasnt dat hard...but i guess for some ppl...they think its crap...depends la...everyone has diff point of view....for me the hard part was the language part...i'm fr a chinese schl...n i'm not very good in my chinese so i find dat part really hard le...but the IQ n maths part was ok...quite fun though...i still remember during my test('97), the invigilator saw the wrong time n asked us to stop when theres actually plenty of time left...i panicked cos i still hv a few pages undone(i tot sure gone d la) ..then he apologised saying theres still time left :roll: haha...dat was my experience in my pts test...4 got tru for my yr...n all r doin pretty well :D
byzhanii_bogn
11-05-2005, 12:34 PM
hoho... my experience was long gone... just remembered that i turned it down, and the class teacher of the primary five was actually waiting for me on the first day of lesson...
agreed with the point that language is very hard. was from a chinese school too. and the standard was way too high for me... the IQ and maths were fun as well. seems like only me understand that in the family :lol: my sis was blur blur when he did the PTS reference book :lol
my brother didn't get it though...
picean
11-05-2005, 01:33 PM
hehe...sometimes my teacher dun even understand the IQ ques...then i hv to explain to her.. 8)
my younger sis got tru the pts too,her batch was the last batch...but my mum didnt let her skip...cos she's hyper active..can nvr sit down n study...but she sed she nvr regret not skipping cos if she does she might nvr be able to be sooo active in her sports...n shes damn good in sports la...my 1st yr was kinda pac...hv to attend std 4 tuition class for sc n kt to cover up a bit.in std 5,theres 3 days of extra tuiton after schl provided by our schl n the extra 2 days i hv to attend std4 tuition :? but overall i was fine with it... :D
Nelson
02-06-2005, 08:15 PM
Hi ya! Another, not the first batch but the second batch, PTS student here. Skipping primary four was a fantastic experience, at the same time which mean losing one year language basic education :cry: . Though I think that I have made the right one.
The second batch, year1997, didn't test us on Malay and Chinese essays :D , hence it was not as difficult as the first batch (on my humble opinion only). Unfortunately, same as some of the first batch PTS students, I'm one of the 'keciciran' student to lower six (year 2005), but luckily everything is back to normal now. Phew...
jbboy88
02-06-2005, 10:01 PM
hahaha!~ still remember when i was in primary 5... i got culture shock... when my science was teaching her 1st class, i just go "what the heck is she talking about?"
hApEenDiNg
08-06-2005, 11:55 AM
WOW...i really seemed outdated here since all posts are kinde history already...
nvm, i was sadden by the decision to abolish pts though... bcoz it really provides a platform for elligible primary threes to hv a big leap across to primary five. it wasn't that hard though to cope with the studies, but then i was just a kid then, wat do i know about sTrEss?
basicaly, I think most of the 1st batches didn't dare to take a move to 'jump' because it was newly implemented by then. but as years went by, they regretted. these people are still fuming around us... u might not know!
i can still recall when i was informed i passed pts. i was basically jumping upside down with my mother on the other end of the telephone conversation. too bad i've bought all the primary four's textbooks that time. there flows the cash...
very weirdly, some primary school teachers still treat this topic with hostile although it's no more a controversy. my aunt can just get heated up whenever she speaks of this.
PINKPIGGY
08-06-2005, 12:16 PM
basicaly, I think most of the 1st batches didn't dare to take a move to 'jump' because it was newly implemented by then. but as years went by, they regretted.
Yup, agree! Same situation with 1st batch of matriculation (i mean when there r places for 10% non-bumis). Only a few of non-bumis applied or even accepted. People r often like this...Don't hv the gut to try something new and then start regretting.
NS: IMO, if we r selected for NS next year, the best solution is to delayed it so that it'll not interrupt our studies. But, I think NS is quite fun (according to my friends), they feel that NS is a gd and memorable exp!
skip pts ? is nice
and not getting jpa?
is another nice experience
coz studying in form 6 make u mature a lot
that's wat happpen to me
but......
wat i hate is the unfairness
the matriks
SercretMan
08-06-2005, 11:35 PM
I m a PTS student also. This is wat i c in my town. Actually, personally, i feel the PTS for the first 2 years are quite standard actually. Because the quality of students maintain well. But the following few years, no matter wat type of students also skip. Maybe the PTS becomes easier...i dunno. But those students, although some students are not good, they will can follow up the lessons. That means, malaysia edu system for primary is actually too easy maybe. Compared to singapore, their standard six are harder than our form 1. Maybe the goverment should make the primary system harder or juz less 1 year but studying STPM become a must.
In my opinion, maturity depends on our own. The range of age between 10 to 12 is about the same actually. When the children can adapt the new surrouding and mix wif frends, their thinking are almost the same wif the normal one coz as wat i say, they are CHILDREN. But..when come to teenagers, discussing about maturity, they are difference. Let me make an example. Just compare the matriculation students and Form 6 students who are now in local U. You can c the difference from all areas.
day-dreamer
08-06-2005, 11:52 PM
Being a PTS student too, I have absolutely no regrets skipping Std 4. Surprisingly, Std 5 wasn't too big a problem for me as my school organized a intensive class - complete the whole of Std 4 syllabus within 1 or 3 months (i forgot already :oops: ).
Actually my friends (apart from those who knew me since primary shcool) in secondary school did not know I was a year younger than them until they accidentally saw my IC or when the teacher called out my D.O.B. to confirm it in front of the whole class. People would never guess that I'm a PTS student. I'm practically taller than half of my non-PTS-classmates.
I guess in terms of maturity, I'm as matured as those a year older than me. I guess that is because we hang out with people whose maturity is at that level and I more or less got influenced. Anyway, it's not a bad thing.
I have no problems communicating with my classmates but with the same-age group... I had problems initially, but recently I found out that we got along OK. However I still preferred my classmates than those of the same age with me - more conversation topics.
I doubt PTS students will rugi in any way, except (as one of my friends pointed out), we celebrate one less Children's Day in primary school compared to the others. :wink:
hApEenDiNg
09-06-2005, 12:01 AM
skip pts ? is nice
and not getting jpa?
is another nice experience
ahahahahhaha....... :lol:
man..we are in the same boat laaa
i'm going to resort to form 6 too for the time being. coz i think i need time off to mature. matriks is juz pure vagueness and i don support it basically... so i don give a damn bout it. if u don get 4 flats, it's hard to guarantee a good uni. not a BrIgHt move.
maturity depends on our own.
i think it has a lot to do with the environment as well, i.e. the friends u mix with. sometimes i look back to the 88s, (i'm with the 87s), i felt they are just childish and blimey...that's juz not my cup of tea!
but of course, they are younger ones who are matured, the above was just a convenient example.
beautiful_soul
09-06-2005, 05:10 PM
pts is/was nice.. no one actually realised i was a year younger and as the years passed, my frens practically forgot. even asked " so, u got NS ar? " hehe..
so i guess maturity level is not much of a diff.. cuz after all tht 1 year difference n i believe our maturity level do depend much on our environment n ppl around us. so technically, no! =) even more so when pts students in my now x sch were the ones topping classes n high ranking posts..
too bad the whole programme was scraped though. thought it was a great platform.. but i think now, even the government has kinda forgotten that pts students do exist
hence, our left out names in the stpm list..
crapped enuff...=)
well
PTS is a good program
why they abolished it?
while matriks
why they still continue it? :evil:
the_losing_end
09-06-2005, 11:37 PM
another PTSians here... thought that the PTS '97 was pretty easy as there was only one paper to sit for...
it was an IQ test consisting of 50 qstions i think and i wonderd how they were gonna choose the right person based on the breezy test.. and i got it!
well ive been acting matured since i was little and seriously i think i dont like to make friends with those of my age bcuz they dont think like me... they think very childishly and that was why i like to join my brother with his friends.. my brother is four years older lol :lol: ... i love fishing when i was 9, and none of my friends thought that was cool... they thought that playing "baling selipar" (the one where u slam a pyramid of selipars by another selipar and make sure the pyramid collapses) was very cool that they brought a selipar everyday to school just to play it at recess!!
whoa... and now that im with an older circle of friends, i dont feel inferior.. and i like it bcuz i think they have entirely forgotten that i am younger... they even asked me why I didnt take any driving classes prbly bcuz they forgot my real age.. haha
when did the govt scrap the program? it was so succesful that all my PTS fellows in my batch got straight As (I got 11)..
beating older people is not a burden haha...
hApEenDiNg
10-06-2005, 12:08 AM
i thought pts was damn hard at 1st too... in the class sessions when we are given exercises to do, i hardly get pass every paper.
and on pts itself, i didn't even finish the paper. all was just tikam :lol:
hell, how did i get "hijacked" to standard 5??
losing_end, just not trying to remind them that you are a pts student la...they will feel takde muka...
btw, i got 12 :wink:
beautiful_soul
10-06-2005, 06:48 PM
when did the govt scrap the program? it was so succesful that all my PTS fellows in my batch got straight As (I got 11)..
beating older people is not a burden haha...
agreed! :) but i do knoe of sum who suffered a lot in the transition fr lower primary to upper primary..
but still.. too bad it no longer exists!!
n_uay
11-06-2005, 09:24 PM
Hi there, another pts '97 student here. Being promoted 2 std5 straight away, i personally think it is a big advantage. We have to make friends with those who r older than us and ultimately, our way of thinking will be influenced and become more matured.
it had been 1775 days since the last post in this thread.
but i would like to say something too:)
i think the last PTS batch wants them to be heard too..
so here a bit of history>> the last PTS exam conducted was in 2000. before it was abolished in the following year.
Proud to be one of the PTS student batch 2000. and i accept the offer to skip primary4. and no regret losing a year in primary. frankly, being a kid, young at that time, i don't really give about being a PTS student, the reward of finishing school early kind of things. it just that, mum told me is a good thing and that she knows i can do it, that make me proceed.
I'm okay to mix with older people but yeah i would say i feel a bit distant with those of the same age with me.
to say PTS is a good program, i agree with that. it had done more goodness than harm, it was just like part of child learning process, with a slight different take in situations and... time:)...
when people asked me, how old are you? i usually take a longer time to answer because I'm just used to people who is one year older than me.. like.. oh, she's 20, he's 20.. me? hurmm*thinking?* but then facts would settle in after few moments and reality check I'm 19:amuse
ohh hurmm.. maybe this happened just to me:laugh
but to say it is still relevant or suit youngsters nowadays? i don't know. the concept maybe.. shorter education period before tertiary.
kaiyi
22-04-2010, 08:45 AM
i am the last batch of PTS student,too(2000). I am quite happy that my family decided to let me skip primary 4 as i think the syllabus of primary 1-3 are too easy.
when i entered primary 5, it's not hard for me to handle academic side but it's tedious on social part (i am too naive and immature by then). *still jumping here and there by primary 6*Thanks to my friends, i was able to mix around quite well. I still have the feeling that 'huh? i am primary X already' after few years.
Maybe due to my underage and immature, i was betrayed by somebody in secondary school. I dont really remember but my friends said "how can you never study, keep playing and still get good result?" Maybe my actions irritated them?
Still, my PMR and SPM result not really excellent(7As , 10 As 2 Bs). But i manage to be one of the top scorer in STPM 2009:P
Since secondary 3, I found out I always said 'We of age X...' and then only found out my difference in age with my classmates:laugh
I am glad for the presence of this system, saved time and money~
cfliang
22-04-2010, 09:19 AM
i am the last batch of PTS student,too(2000). I am quite happy that my family decided to let me skip primary 4 as i think the syllabus of primary 1-3 are too easy.
when i entered primary 5, it's not hard for me to handle academic side but it's tedious on social part (i am too naive and immature by then). *still jumping here and there by primary 6*Thanks to my friends, i was able to mix around quite well. I still have the feeling that 'huh? i am primary X already' after few years.
Maybe due to my underage and immature, i was betrayed by somebody in secondary school. I dont really remember but my friends said "how can you never study, keep playing and still get good result?" Maybe my actions irritated them?
Still, my PMR and SPM result not really excellent(7As , 10 As 2 Bs). But i manage to be one of the top scorer in STPM 2009:P
Since secondary 3, I found out I always said 'We of age X...' and then only found out my difference in age with my classmates:laugh
I am glad for the presence of this system, saved time and money~
Wow, didn't know that we are of the same age.
Yeah. I am another lucky fellow who is the last batch of PTS student. Glad that they didn't cancel it earlier. Saves me 1 year of studying in primary school. I don't mind having 1 year less of time playing with friends in school since my memory of primary school life is vague =.=
Besides, it feels good to be 1 year younger than the people around you and there's lots of fun. Now, I can mix with older people and people of my age easily :P