View Full Version : What's so special about the Twillight saga by the way?
catchthesepieces
27-06-2009, 01:17 PM
the title says it all, my friends are reading it, but i cant find anything interesting in the book. really, not interested, i agree with different ppl like different things, but i just want to know whats so special about this particular vampire drama. :D is it because of the movie? adn btw, harry potter doesnt catch my eye too. LOL
Herlene
27-06-2009, 03:47 PM
Ha... I was wondering about the same thing. I guess it's up to personal preferences. The current frenzy about this series remained a mystery to me. I read the first book after the movie, hoping to find and answer but to no avail. After reading new moon, I gave up! It was a drag, and the story was one-sided and boring to me.
ps: I would rank harry potter above twilight, though I'm not really a hp fan.
Speeddemon
27-06-2009, 04:38 PM
I started reading Twilight last month, and guess what? I finished the first book within 36 hours! And now i'm reading the last one: Breaking Dawn.
I have to agree with Herlene that it depends on your own preference. Different people like different things. Most of my friends who read Twilight are crazy about Edward Cullen (Robert Pattinson, actually). But i find the story quite interesting, especially all those supernatural stuff like vampires and werewolves. :))
By the way, if u ask me about Harry Potter, i would say twilight triumphs!
schem
27-06-2009, 04:43 PM
ppl have different things going on in their mind. It doesnt mean that if u don't like it everyone should. People hv different cup of tea, I should say..
09-09-2009, 10:04 PM
I started reading Twilight last month, and guess what? I finished the first book within 36 hours! And now i'm reading the last one: Breaking Dawn.
I have to agree with Herlene that it depends on your own preference. Different people like different things. Most of my friends who read Twilight are crazy about Edward Cullen (Robert Pattinson, actually). But i find the story quite interesting, especially all those supernatural stuff like vampires and werewolves. :))
By the way, if u ask me about Harry Potter, i would say twilight triumphs!
Haha. I finished all the books less than a week!!! I am crazy about Edward Cullen but not Robert Pattison. It's the character in the novel caught my eyes not the one in the movie. By the way, i do agree that different people would have different preferences. I don't like those robotic alienic story but there are people who like them. So, it depends on individual.
SapphireDragon
09-09-2009, 10:32 PM
Harry Potter wins hand downs compared to Twilight. I thought that the 1st book was quite boring and was a little confused by the way the narrator writes the story(must have been sleepy while reading it so couldn't concentrate). And I personally think that Edward Cullen is not that handsome in the very first place. Don't get me wrong, he is indeed handsome but not in the form of a pale face and weird hairdo.
davinci518
10-09-2009, 11:40 AM
yeah definitely the potter books are much, much more captivating in terms of the storyline and character developments compared to twilight.
Miss_wonderful91
11-09-2009, 03:37 PM
lol i easily get bored while watching twilight..i downloaded the movie december last year and tadaaa i only managed to watch it for the first 20 minutes..and even i tried so hard the next day and yeah always half way of watching..luckily its free..if not,what a waste of money..everyone(lol not really everyone,most maybe) says that edward cullen is so hot?oh yeah?i dont think so..and u want a vampire bf?hey thats so not a real thing..crazy people nowadays..i wish im that crazy..
Herlene
12-09-2009, 12:26 PM
Why do people keep caomparing Twilight with Harry Poter anyway? Is it because of Robert Pattison?
Glassylicious
12-09-2009, 04:54 PM
Why do people keep caomparing Twilight with Harry Poter anyway? Is it because of Robert Pattison?
Probably not really because of Robert Pattinson. I'm guessing it's because both are fantasy series based off a novel.
sugarspice
12-09-2009, 08:18 PM
Aiya, many people are mad at Robert Pat , somemore he's now dating his co-star, so it's like Zac Efron and Vanessa Hudgens in HSM, and everything gets heated up....lol
Cerise
26-09-2009, 07:29 PM
twillight is ok for me...
although i do think robert pat is very hot~
personally i'm not a big fan of this because i think the book is just like one of those love storries except this one is vampire and more challenging in a way.
it is a book that better than most cheesy love stories.
blessusall
26-09-2009, 07:45 PM
the first book is a bore..the others are interesting enough
probably it is famous because of Pattinson or the storyline(a girl not able to fit in in her old school moves to a new place and she falls for a guy who happens to be a vegetarian vampire)
a classic love story.
Glassylicious
26-09-2009, 08:21 PM
This threatens to veer off-topic, but I find Dr. Cullen [Edward's father] a lot hotter than Edward Cullen himself. -_-;; The latter's hairstyle is way too off-putting, though he may have a killer smile, both metaphorically and literally speaking.
Herlene
19-10-2009, 12:45 AM
the first book is a bore..the others are interesting enough
probably it is famous because of Pattinson or the storyline(a girl not able to fit in in her old school moves to a new place and she falls for a guy who happens to be a vegetarian vampire)
a classic love story.
On the other hand, I found the second book duller than the first and hence had giving up on reading the rest of the sequels.
Anyway, there's this tv series "the Vampire Diaries" that struck great resemblance to Twilight and I love it!
Speeddemon
19-10-2009, 01:29 AM
On the other hand, I found the second book duller than the first and hence had giving up on reading the rest of the sequels.
Anyway, there's this tv series "the Vampire Diaries" that struck great resemblance to Twilight and I love it!
I agree with you. The second books is really boring. But the third and the fourth r really great. Especially Breaking Dawn. That's something readers want i think.
strawglow
06-01-2010, 01:37 PM
Twilight sucks I'm sorry.But it is.Even fantasy books should be logical/related to in some sense.Twilight doesn't...I like the idea of a mortal falling in love with a vampire...but Stephenie Meyer is not a good writer.It's too overrated.
-Dun be hatin its jz an opinion.=)
06-01-2010, 10:10 PM
Stephanie Meyer's book has been translated to various languages. As a matter of fact, some of the chapters in Twilight has also been translated and published in magazines as literature pieces. Not only that, her other creation, The Host was also an international bestseller. Thus, I can't say that Stephanie Meyer is not a good writer.:oh
In my opinion, her books are easy to understand and read. That's why people are easily absorbed into it. She uses the first point of view and gives detailed description of a subject to let her readers feel what her characters are feeling. However, to some, it's over detailed, annoying and irritating. Like how people say half of her book is describing the perfectness of Edward Cullen. Therefore, I do understand what you are feeling. =)
But still, I do think her book is too thick too. :laugh
chocomaniac
06-01-2010, 10:51 PM
persoanally, i dun get how stephanie meyer can make a story which relates vampire and vampires...i mean, vampires doesn't goes along with romances. It simply destroyed those classical vampires where they are supposed to be scary, meany and thirsty!
blessusall
07-01-2010, 02:32 AM
I read Eclipse recently, and I do not like it.(maybe because i'm for team Jacob)
I preferred New Moon and Breaking Dawn.
I don't like Meyer's style of writing...I enjoyed the films more...
Definitely overrated
Good question.
The answer is "nothing".
07-01-2010, 11:15 AM
I don't like Meyer's style of writing...I enjoyed the films more...
Definitely overrated
Agreed. I think many parts of the novel can be "removed" since they are boring and there's too little excitement reading the books, especially the first book. The villains only come out at about the last part of the story. Maybe the writer should write a short passage to introduce the villain at the front part so that readers can continue reading to see what's going to happen to the characters. I'd like to see more fighting scenes. :P
edcac
01-06-2010, 02:28 PM
I'd say everyone is entitled to have their own opinions, but don't be so harsh on the series. Not everyone has the same taste, that's what makes us all different from one another. If we all liked the same things, the world wouldn't be such a nice place to live in if you don't have some healthy debate once in a while.
In my opinion, not everyone will like the book as it is after all told from the point of view of Bella Swan. I don't think guys want to know what it feels like to kiss Edward.
And not all girls will like it as well, I guess some girls are the independent type and hate the fact that Bella can be so dependent and emotional sometimes.
I love the whole series, the way Edward treats Bella right, the way Jacob is so friendly and cheerful. I love the way how many opposite elements can come together so perfectly in the books.
Ah, don't throw rotten tomatoes at me just yet, we all have the right to voice our own opinions, and yea, I'd say loud and proud, I LOVE TWILIGHT! :)
rukia0827
30-06-2010, 10:16 PM
I love Twilight saga...the whole series, the plot, the characters....it's perfect for me! When I first started reading Twilight, I thought it would only be just another plain boring novel...but soon I find myself addicted to the series, anxiously flipping the pages to find out what happens next, I can't explain why I'm attracted Twilight saga...I just know Twilight saga rocks!!! ( perhaps girls would prefer them,haha)
i'm a girl, and i read a snippet of the novel and i thought it was just kind of overdramatic. haha. i didnt like it. :amuse
fokero
01-07-2010, 08:56 PM
haha. i dont really read such genre of books. i prefer thriller & something beyond that.
but i love the movies of this Saga. maybe becos Bella in the movies are so hot . :lol
& yeah, everyone has their own opinion on everything. maybe other person hate Twilight & prefer Harry Potter. maybe some are vice versa. or maybe there's also some out there (like me) dislike both of the series. haha. :P
it's up to the readers & maybe, the writer also create an impact here :)
rukia0827
01-07-2010, 08:56 PM
i'm a girl, and i read a snippet of the novel and i thought it was just kind of overdramatic. haha. i didnt like it. :amuse
everybody has a different taste...haha :wink
bekann
01-07-2010, 09:21 PM
Good question.
The answer is "nothing".
I agree. I read the first few pages and was bored to death. :/
01-07-2010, 09:39 PM
I agree. I read the first few pages and was bored to death. :/
Hmmm... I read all 4 books, and was disappointed by the ending...:huh
Decimo
04-05-2011, 02:11 AM
I like the first book. The rest, not so much. Totally agree with Dominic about the ending. I was hoping for death and blood :twisted:. But in the end, the ending was a letdown :notrust
FoxyWoxy25
04-05-2011, 07:11 AM
I'd say everyone is entitled to have their own opinions, but don't be so harsh on the series. Not everyone has the same taste, that's what makes us all different from one another. If we all liked the same things, the world wouldn't be such a nice place to live in if you don't have some healthy debate once in a while.
In my opinion, not everyone will like the book as it is after all told from the point of view of Bella Swan. I don't think guys want to know what it feels like to kiss Edward.
And not all girls will like it as well, I guess some girls are the independent type and hate the fact that Bella can be so dependent and emotional sometimes.
I love the whole series, the way Edward treats Bella right, the way Jacob is so friendly and cheerful. I love the way how many opposite elements can come together so perfectly in the books.
Ah, don't throw rotten tomatoes at me just yet, we all have the right to voice our own opinions, and yea, I'd say loud and proud, I LOVE TWILIGHT! :)
Doesn't Edward have some serious relationship issues? Getting Bella pregnant and then leaving her, then wanting to commit suicide (or sparkle in the sunlight, I can't remember which). Speaking of pregnancies, I remember Jacob wanting to do dirties with Bella's unborn foetus.
All in all, I feel that the Twilight series is actually Stephanie Meyer's wet dream, which is perhaps why it appeals more to girls than to boys. It is why Edward is described to be an "Adonis" (despite being played by what's-his-face), while Bella isn't given a specific description so any girl can pretend its her (although in the movie, it looks like she hasn't had a bowel movement for weeks).
Decimo
04-05-2011, 11:58 PM
I remember Jacob wanting to do dirties with Bella's unborn foetus.
Pedowolf :laugh
chinwenjie
05-05-2011, 12:08 AM
doesn't edward have some serious relationship issues? Getting bella pregnant and then leaving her, then wanting to commit suicide (or sparkle in the sunlight, i can't remember which). Speaking of pregnancies, i remember jacob wanting to do dirties with bella's unborn foetus.
All in all, i feel that the twilight series is actually stephanie meyer's wet dream, which is perhaps why it appeals more to girls than to boys. It is why edward is described to be an "adonis" (despite being played by what's-his-face), while bella isn't given a specific description so any girl can pretend its her (although in the movie, it looks like she hasn't had a bowel movement for weeks).
hahahahahahaha nice :))
amara93
05-05-2011, 12:09 AM
Bella isn't given a specific description so any girl can pretend its her (although in the movie, it looks like she hasn't had a bowel movement for weeks).
LOL Agreed.
And to answer the question of why Twilight is so special:
In what other book can you find SPARKLY VAMPIRES? :laugh I'm just sayin XP
But one good thing about the book is it has so many adjectives, you can make a dictionary out of it. Did any of you notice that?
chinwenjie
05-05-2011, 12:12 AM
I like the first book. The rest, not so much. Totally agree with Dominic about the ending. I was hoping for death and blood :twisted:. But in the end, the ending was a letdown :notrust
Yep same here. the first book caught my interest but the rest...just disappointments. Same goes with the ending.
Dman90
08-05-2011, 01:03 AM
Robert Pattinson didn't even last one movie in the HP series, did he?
Doesn't Edward have some serious relationship issues? Getting Bella pregnant and then leaving her, then wanting to commit suicide (or sparkle in the sunlight, I can't remember which). Speaking of pregnancies, I remember Jacob wanting to do dirties with Bella's unborn foetus
Wow, I'm surprised that you know so much about it :P