View Full Version : JPA scholars who quit or fail their courses

eeeeeeee
29-06-2009, 02:24 PM
Here is my question: Where do JPA scholars who quit or fail their courses go? Does anyone know?

Does JPA ask the student to pay back all money spent on them? What if the student is unable to pay? Anyone who have had this experience dealing with JPA when they don't want to continue the course?

Is there room for negotiation to enable the student to pay back once they get a job?

SapphireDragon
29-06-2009, 04:29 PM
Here is my question: Where do JPA scholars who quit or fail their courses go? Does anyone know?

Does JPA ask the student to pay back all money spent on them? What if the student is unable to pay? Anyone who have had this experience dealing with JPA when they don't want to continue the course?

Is there room for negotiation to enable the student to pay back once they get a job?
Then why apply in the 1st place?

Scrmath
29-06-2009, 04:37 PM

ya have to pay back..no i think..if u cant pay,maybe have to declare muflis lo..(nt sure,jz guess only..)

29-06-2009, 04:45 PM
Doesn't the contract/agreement letter say anything about it?

Anyone who has it in his/her hands right now please read it out aloud here please? :wink

Scrmath
29-06-2009, 04:59 PM
Doesn't the contract/agreement letter say anything about it?

Anyone who has it in his/her hands right now please read it out aloud here please? :wink

ya gt of coz//

twinkle4_ever
29-06-2009, 05:00 PM
the scholarship will be terminated.

29-06-2009, 05:03 PM
I don't think you guys answered the original question. He asked whether he needs to pay back ALL the money spent or the money stated in the contract.

davidchak
29-06-2009, 06:19 PM
No. If you failed (oversea), you will be sent home (as in Local University) to finish off your degree.

If you still failed your degree locally...., you dont deserve the scholarship at all. But I dont suppose you will reach that stage. But if you ever do, just get a rope and hang yourself.

mehul91
29-06-2009, 06:42 PM
No. If you failed (oversea), you will be sent home (as in Local University) to finish off your degree.

If you still failed your degree locally...., you dont deserve the scholarship at all. But I dont suppose you will reach that stage. But if you ever do, just get a rope and hang yourself.

Lol, i think u said it well 'hang urself'....

bluez_aspic
29-06-2009, 07:16 PM
Failure is part of life, peeps. Roll over.

sand3
29-06-2009, 11:29 PM
wat if i am unable to reach their cut-off point, will they terminate our contract?

and do jpa still send scholars to do medicine course at indonesia?

thanks for replying me!
ur help will b greatly appreciated!!

Scrmath
29-06-2009, 11:32 PM
wat if i am unable to reach their cut-off point, will they terminate our contract?

and do jpa still send scholars to do medicine course at indonesia?

thanks for replying me!
ur help will b greatly appreciated!!

they may..but normally they would send u to ipts or country which require lower results..indonesia..maybe..

i heard cases b4,they r new zealand,but cant reach uni there de requirement,so being sent to india..indo,i nt sure but tats possibility..

sand3
29-06-2009, 11:44 PM
india is the place i prefer.
but bfore that hav to work hard for my a-level.
(hoping not to get indonesia, cause i heard hav to use indon as medium, and i sucks at bm!!)

Scrmath
29-06-2009, 11:47 PM
india is the place i prefer.
but bfore that hav to work hard for my a-level.
(hoping not to get indonesia, cause i heard hav to use indon as medium, and i sucks at bm!!)

oic..as long as you work hard,i think u can get wad u wan..all the best to u,and to me as well(i too nid 80 for my icpu^^)

davidchak
30-06-2009, 01:34 AM
Honestly, ICPU 80% is sap sap sui....if you really cant make it to 80, u will be sent to Petronas University to do your degree..but rest assured, getting 80 in ICPU is as easy as passing modern math in SPM

30-06-2009, 08:47 AM
This thread is about people who have already started uni overseas and then are quitting or failing their courses. If you would like to discuss what happens if you can't get into overseas uni after your pre-u course, please refer to this thread (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5255) instead.

eeeeeeee
30-06-2009, 11:09 AM
What I understood is that, even if your school fails you, JPA would still let you study locally to complete the degree you're doing. But is that possible for a student to change his course from doing A to B in local uni?

30-06-2009, 04:27 PM
What I understood is that, even if your school fails you, JPA would still let you study locally to complete the degree you're doing. But is that possible for a student to change his course from doing A to B in local uni?

Well, it depends. If Jpa decides not to continue the scholarship (there are many factors whether they will continue or not), you're on your own. Local gov uni won't accept you because they only recognise matrix and STPM and you would have done other pre-u (ausmat, a-level, etc). So if you go to private, you would have to start from scratch doing the private uni's foundation or diploma course.

So technically, you can change your course (this situation if jpa terminates the scholarship) but I am not sure if you are able to change if they continue sponsoring you.

I know this sounds rather unclear since I'm typing as fast as I can before I have to log off, so my apologies.

kenntan
30-06-2009, 04:52 PM
wow , wow nickvl , u are so fast in typing...well , actually different courses have different policies ...so do ask ur seniors or jpa officers for the consequences of failing in examinations..

catnfish
02-07-2009, 07:22 PM
wow , wow nickvl , u are so fast in typing...well , actually different courses have different policies ...so do ask ur seniors or jpa officers for the consequences of failing in examinations..

lol...easy...just don't fail...:laugh instead of cracking your head here worrying for the consequences :P

04-07-2009, 04:38 PM

Well, it depends. If Jpa decides not to continue the scholarship (there are many factors whether they will continue or not), you're on your own. Local gov uni won't accept you because they only recognise matrix and STPM and you would have done other pre-u (ausmat, a-level, etc). So if you go to private, you would have to start from scratch doing the private uni's foundation or diploma course.

So technically, you can change your course (this situation if jpa terminates the scholarship) but I am not sure if you are able to change if they continue sponsoring you.

I know this sounds rather unclear since I'm typing as fast as I can before I have to log off, so my apologies.

Well, there are 2 contradicting points here. It's still unclear...
Actually I ever heard the point that nickvl mentioned before. But then I need a more confirmed answer. Anyone?

*nickvl, were you in the rush for going back to hostel?* :roflmao

davidchak
04-07-2009, 06:36 PM
Yes, local U will not accept. But heres three cases I've heard:

1) JPA will make special arrangement with public U to let you transfer in
2) You will be sent to Govt Linked Private Uni: like Petronas or MMU
3) You picked your favourite private university, your scholarship will be transferred from PILN (Program Ijazah Luar Negara) to a local IPTS JPA scholarship

GRANDenough
05-07-2009, 01:39 AM
here is my question:

if v quit JPA before the lessons starts (bt already registered n went through orientation), do v considered melanggar kontrak n hv to pay the money?? if v hv to pay, hw much??

plz kindly answer my question, THANKS!!!

chocomaniac
05-07-2009, 12:32 PM
Yes, local U will not accept. But heres three cases I've heard:

1) JPA will make special arrangement with public U to let you transfer in
2) You will be sent to Govt Linked Private Uni: like Petronas or MMU
3) You picked your favourite private university, your scholarship will be transferred from PILN (Program Ijazah Luar Negara) to a local IPTS JPA scholarship

Really? that good? even though they didn't achieve the passing pointers, they still get 'special' link with private u???

davidchak
05-07-2009, 05:31 PM
Yes. I remember that jpa officer teling us : " Jangan risau..JPA takkan tak peduli korang bile u fail ICPU"

something like that

GRANDenough
06-07-2009, 11:59 AM
here is my question:

if v quit JPA before the lessons starts (bt already registered n went through orientation), do v considered melanggar kontrak n hv to pay the money?? if v hv to pay, hw much??

plz kindly answer my question, THANKS!!!

Hie.. cn someone answer my question? URGENT!!!:cry cz i gt teacher training (intake is on 13/7) n m intends to quit JPA~~ someone who had tis experience or know the answer, plz do help!!!:)

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE

Sshuang
07-07-2009, 09:52 PM
Hie.. cn someone answer my question? URGENT!!!:cry cz i gt teacher training (intake is on 13/7) n m intends to quit JPA~~ someone who had tis experience or know the answer, plz do help!!!:)

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE

mayb you should just call and ask JPA if you determined to do so ...^^
I think most of us don't know to answer such sensitive question also .. hehe ... That's my opinion ..

siew
17-08-2009, 07:30 AM
From my last meeting with the JPA officer in NZ :

As far as I understand,

xx If a scholar fails 50% of the courses/papers taken for two consecutive semesters, his scholarship will be terminated

- What happens after, I have no idea as we did not question for more information

xx If a scholar fails to complete the studies within the designated time duration (ie 3 years for a Bachelor degree) and has to extend his contract to complete the full degree with valid reasons(I assume that this would be some sort of negotiation with JPA), he will receive his monthly cost of living allowances at 10% less than the full amount and will also not be entitled to any extra annual allowances for the following year ie elaun perkakas/ elaun buku/ etc.

xx A scholar s contract may end on three conditions:
a/ on success of graduation
b/ health problems (which the scholar may not need to pay back the costs if the scholarship has to be terminated)
c/ disciplinary problems (which the scholar needs to pay back all actual costs incurred if scholarship is terminated)

I hope this may answer some of your questions.

meiso
02-10-2009, 09:03 AM

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
i would like to ask in the end did u get the answer,or did u phone up jpa,then what did they tell you? I have a friend who encountered the same problem as you, but she came out a bit later because she was offered another scholarship.Did jpa ask you to pay amount of penalty or they just let you off like that. thanks.

03-10-2009, 10:42 PM
Well, there are 2 contradicting points here. It's still unclear...
Actually I ever heard the point that nickvl mentioned before. But then I need a more confirmed answer. Anyone?

*nickvl, were you in the rush for going back to hostel?* :roflmao

There aren't any contradicting points. I mentioned 'local GOVERMENT universities aka public universities. The previous statement only says local universities which probably refers to the private unis that are here in Malaysia. Local uni doesn't necessarily mean only public uni.

As far as I know, goverment/public uni accept only matrix or stpm and i don't know about any 'special links' between jpa and them should a student stops getting the scholarship

vaduz
03-10-2009, 11:02 PM

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE

Hi there.

I quit the JPA scholarship offered to me last year in Sunway Uni. And they didnt ask me to pay for any fees or cost incurred. FOC. But im not sure whether it has change now or not. The best way is to give them a call and ask them directly.

extell
08-11-2009, 07:00 AM
Okay, here's what I've heard so far (form seniors and talks by JPA). If we terminate the contract or get terminated, its a completely different story.

-We terminate the contract-
1. Basically, this happens when we have personally, family or health problems, etc. JPA may offer another place somewhere if we have been performing well.
2. If you wanna switch course, its negotiable with JPA, but rate of success is unknown and it depends on "some other factors".

-Contract gets terminated-
1. Occurs when we fail A-levels or final exams in Medic uni (if all attempts failed and we have to repeat the year, the cost of repeating will be borne by ourselves and if you just can't do it, the contract will be terminated).
2. Say if you failed to reach the cut-off point for A-levels, you may be rerouted (probably to IPTS) otherwise you have to pay for the allowance given and tuition fees which has been paid for by the govt.

I hope I got this right...

bumblebeez
12-01-2010, 06:21 PM
is it possible to continue with jpa scholarship if i quit b4?

i was studying in UK pharmacy. performed extremely well in exams. but somehow realised that pharmacy was not for me. i left uni and told JPA i did not want to continue.

that was 9 months ago. JPA did not follow up with me. they just ask me to send in a letter to state my reasons for leaving.

the thing is, i'm now in sunway studying ACCA. will i be able to appeal so that my previos scholarship be trasfered here? coz JPA did not ask us to pay back or even follow up with my case after i have sent in my letter.

i scored really well for my A levels. 600/600 for bio, 595/600 for chem n 593/600 for math.

should i take the risk of sending a letter of appeal to JPA or should i just keep quiet and act as if nothing happend coz so far they did not ask for any payment.

i wish i could continue my studies. damn sad. i was young when i chose pharmacy. darn, realised what i'm interested in a lil bit too late.

are there any alternative for me? have i been black listed from JPA?

Hi there.

I quit the JPA scholarship offered to me last year in Sunway Uni. And they didnt ask me to pay for any fees or cost incurred. FOC. But im not sure whether it has change now or not. The best way is to give them a call and ask them directly.

have u started with your studies with JPA in sunway? or u did quit half way through?

what courses does JPA offer in sunway uni? do they offer for ACCA?

Appolo
22-01-2010, 09:08 AM
is it possible to continue with jpa scholarship if i quit b4?

i was studying in UK pharmacy. performed extremely well in exams. but somehow realised that pharmacy was not for me. i left uni and told JPA i did not want to continue.

that was 9 months ago. JPA did not follow up with me. they just ask me to send in a letter to state my reasons for leaving.

the thing is, i'm now in sunway studying ACCA. will i be able to appeal so that my previos scholarship be trasfered here? coz JPA did not ask us to pay back or even follow up with my case after i have sent in my letter.

i scored really well for my A levels. 600/600 for bio, 595/600 for chem n 593/600 for math.

should i take the risk of sending a letter of appeal to JPA or should i just keep quiet and act as if nothing happend coz so far they did not ask for any payment.

i wish i could continue my studies. damn sad. i was young when i chose pharmacy. darn, realised what i'm interested in a lil bit too late.

are there any alternative for me? have i been black listed from JPA?
?

I have a friends who was in almost the same predicament as yours(though he quit after getting his A level results and some discouraging laments of seniors). So what he did was that he try to go under FAMA(father+mother) sponsorship for a year and see how he'd perform academically before taking further act of appealing. Fortunately, he did exceptionally well and jpa agreed to sponsor him back.

I guess the primary concern should be checking whether you are still being bound to PSD or they've terminated your contract.To quote a PSD officer whom I talked to : " selagi tak ada surat rasmi, selagi tulah kontrak masih sah". Hence, it's always good to maintain a cordial relationship with your designated PSD officer.

So it's up to you how would you want to decide about your study.The example I gave merely serve as a case study though.