View Full Version : OS
13-05-2003, 05:01 AM
hello everybody,
this summer, I plan to learn how OS works.
I hope RC'ers who have already learned the concepts of OS, can help me...
visit the page <a href=http://www-scf.usc.edu/~hasran/sawit.html>here</a> for updates.
I hope I can post my discovery every day....
please do post anything here or email directly to me...
I hope one day i' got one working OS running....
thanks.
bachok83
13-05-2003, 04:55 PM
that's a good idea, well then, just wanna share with others here that, one of our members said that most of our forums' thread are too technical...hmm i'm sad to hear that.
However, this is a good idea...i'm working on Machintosh...haha I wanna isntall in my pc (running linux then emulate machintosh..)
yeah yeah, people said that it's impossible, but i found the way..haha (waiting for cd from my bro In malaysia)
16-05-2003, 03:44 AM
what do u mean emulate mac? just the interface or how mac actually works?
bachok83
16-05-2003, 01:53 PM
hhahahahaha....not emulate just interface....but actually run Mac....
ok this is how it works, why mac cannot be itstalled in PC?
mas has a rom chip that is just like a RAM in PC, but this is not a memory stick like RAM.
That ROM is "read only memory" and is necessary to run MAC. So, hackers has turned it to software that actually functions the sam way as the ROM chip (it's call ROM file). However, you need to generate that ROM file from actual MAC machine to get the binary code (which is the crucial part). It's crucial because i dont have MAC, not that it's hard to do... hehehe
Then it can be installed into normal PC. Talking about ROM chip and ROM file, it must have a different access speed, as normally accessing data from chip is much more faster than accessing data from your hard disk.
However, i still dont know whether that lower in speed will cause too much degradation in performance. It's worth a try.
bachok83
17-05-2003, 07:41 AM
you gotta see this to believe...heheh
http://www2.recom.org:8000/images/forums/pic12.gif (http://www2.recom.org:8000/images/forums/pic12big.jpg)
20-09-2003, 07:38 AM
looks good. Isn't this something like the program (I forget what it's called) that allows you to install multiple OS on one com?
oreoboy
12-10-2003, 05:29 PM
Virtual PC isn't it? Just a guess... because I've heard of it...
13-10-2003, 12:48 PM
If I'm not mistaken, virtual PC is just for Mac user.
Mac user can access Windows just like any apps.
The picture above is the simulation of Mac OS X,
Apple's new OS, in Linux.
oreoboy
14-10-2003, 08:43 PM
soli... i just wanna share... is it ok?
virtual PC is also available for Windows user... by Connectix.. it has capability to run multiple os simultaneously in windows...
but.. i haven't try it out because it only supported by intel processor... i use neither.. me use VIA C3 and AMD.. hehehe... cikai maaa!
bachok83
15-10-2003, 01:03 AM
WHAT?? AMD cikai??
hey watch your mouth mister.....!!!!
8) 8) 8) 8) 8) 8)
buy AMD,,, made in Malaysia
20-10-2003, 08:45 AM
What do you guys think about Japan's "Lindows" ?
i thought lindows was a walmart product :p
20-10-2003, 10:59 AM
hehe... nice thought! :wink:
20-10-2003, 03:14 PM
lindows is japanese?
seriously though, lindows is not japanese
http://www.lindows.com/lindows_about_about.php
20-10-2003, 07:50 PM
I must heard a wrong news then,
because recently, I heard that Japan and Korea
is trying to build an OS
that will challenge Windows and Mac.
It says something like ''Lindows"
but it must be something else.
Can somebody clarify this?
because the OS must be really good to challenge
Windows and Mac, both at the same time. :D
21-10-2003, 11:38 PM
i think lindows is actually a distro of linux which tries very hard to emulate windows rite?
21-10-2003, 11:56 PM
kind of..
it's like a combination
but not many new inventions
starting from other's idea
not so fun
bachok83
22-10-2003, 01:02 AM
yeah.. we need to develop our OS ourself...
currently we have ketupat linux, (it's in malay)
but do you think it's user friendly enough to be used by malaysian???
22-10-2003, 01:22 AM
it took them 2-3 years kan nak buat ketupat
dah fully siap ke?
bachok83
22-10-2003, 01:50 AM
2 -3 year?? nahh... they took almost 5 to 6 years... i've heard about ketupat since i was in form 3...
i think they release some personal computers using ketupat, and somehow the project stopped in the middle of the field.. you know why?
typical malaysian, buat nak duit... :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:
22-10-2003, 02:00 AM
hurmm still couldn't change much...
23-10-2003, 03:42 AM
ketupat linux? hahaha
why ketupat lah? How about buga raya linux, or linux wira or something like that?
23-10-2003, 02:34 PM
Any idea of designing the
"Made in Malaysia " Operating System ?.
Or Malaysian version of Linux (maybe ReCom Linux. )
I'm going to take the OS class next semester. But any idea put forward could be incoporated in our own assignements.
24-10-2003, 07:16 AM
I;m also taking an OS class next sem...we're using XP as case study i think...maybe next sem we can work something out. I've also been looking at some linux books and learning more about the kernel :)
24-10-2003, 08:09 AM
Hopefully that you all could help share the knowledge with those non-technical people. It would be good to spread the knowledge around.
ShahabudeenJalil
10-11-2003, 09:52 PM
hauhauhauhauah............ i think so chenchow....
01-12-2003, 12:42 PM
That's actually a misconception - the chips are not -made- in m'sia, but -packaged- in malaysia. "Packaged" as in putting the chips together, not only putting it in boxes etc. I think the silicon itself comes from the states. Might be wrong though.
royston
01-12-2003, 01:07 PM
That's actually a misconception - the chips are not -made- in m'sia, but -packaged- in malaysia. "Packaged" as in putting the chips together, not only putting it in boxes etc. I think the silicon itself comes from the states. Might be wrong though.
Not necessary all the silicons (or rather we call it "die") come from Europe countries, some chip manufacturers produce their own wafer too (if you wish to know more about silicon technology, you may refer this this link:
http://www.intel.com/labs/silicon/index.htm?iid=sr+wafer&).
Of course, like screw3d mentioned, from wafer to chip, there are a couple of steps. Hopefully from the link above, you guys can understand more about chip manufacturing.
~ roy ~
01-12-2003, 01:36 PM
The intel man speaketh. :)
But is screw3d right about Malaysia only packaging the processors?
How about Intel companies in Malaysia. Do we produce anything?
royston
01-12-2003, 01:47 PM
As far as I know, Intel Malaysia doesn't produce any wafer but we have a lot of chip maker in Malaysia, such as Motorola, AMD, Zilog and so forth, I can't recall their names all...
Some of them manufacture low-speed-common-usage chips like printer controller, vending machine microcontroller, washing machine fuzzy logic control and so on... I believe there will be some local made wafer 8)
~ roy ~
01-12-2003, 03:35 PM
Linky (http://www.amd.com/us-en/Corporate/AboutAMD/0,,51_52_502_505,00.html)
According to AMD's website, CPU chips (Athlons, Duron etc) are fabricated in Dresden, Germany; while the facility in Sunnyvale, CA is more of a R&D institute - my error on the previous count. AMD's plant in Penang is the "back-end" manufacturing facility that handles "Test, assembly and design package development". Of course, this is only for computer CPUs.. AMD also manufactures other kinds of chips.
Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.
Whoops.. I think I've just hijacked this thread. :oops: