View Full Version : Euro 2004
13-06-2004, 03:23 AM
Euro 2004 has just gotten into a start. So, calling all football fans! Join this SIG!!!
http://www.euro2004.com/index.html
First two game as of now:-
Greece vs Portugal 2-1
Spain vs Russia 1-0
So, to all soccer fans, come on board!
CyberJaya
13-06-2004, 04:13 PM
I think portugal are going to find it difficult now that they've lost the first game.
KobeBryant
13-06-2004, 04:30 PM
everyone is going to watch the match between France & England ?
13-06-2004, 08:42 PM
Some people are saying that
whoever wins the France - England game
will win the tournament
hurmm.. we'll wait and see for their performance today
There are still other powerful team in other groups
Italy, Spanish, Portugal, Italy, Netherland etc
after looking at how the Russian team defense against
Espanyol yesterday.. I think every team must put a great
effort if they are willing to win the tournament
13-06-2004, 09:15 PM
What would you predict the results between France vs England?
I go for 2-1 in French favour.
13-06-2004, 09:28 PM
oh.. chenchow... in a way round, i go for 2-1 in england favour! :D
13-06-2004, 09:34 PM
eh.. btw... may i know those important and famous players for both teams do involve themselves in this game or not?
such like owen, beckham, zidane... (not sure the spelling of thier name right or not? correct me please.. :P)
CyberJaya
13-06-2004, 10:36 PM
I think England will draw with France
CyberJaya
14-06-2004, 02:03 AM
France win thanks to two last minute strikes. That was really unfortunate for england
14-06-2004, 02:38 AM
The freekick by Zidane is awesome and before long, the penalty. Guess England must be cursing their luck...haven't made their first win in opening games at Euro since many years ago.
Too bad that can't really watch in US for free... USD20 pay per view.....
14-06-2004, 04:46 AM
oh.. france won ar... wanted to watch... but too sleepy... hehe..
zidane scored both of the goal?
eh.. chenchow... USD20 still ok what? :P
14-06-2004, 05:37 AM
janewai, it is USD20 per game, not the whole euro... Most of the people watching here are International students... Americans generally do not watch world cup, even when US was doing well during the last world cup.
Anyway, I got the right prediction of 2-1 in French favor. hehe
14-06-2004, 05:54 AM
hehe... i know... USD 20 per game is around RM 60++ right?... ok ma.. go to watch once... it's worth... last time i watched world cup game once cost me around RM180++ . i saw zidane in person before.... ^^
14-06-2004, 05:56 AM
oh yeah... when zidane will retire ar? wanna see that france can survive without zidane or not? :P
14-06-2004, 06:14 AM
janewai, I am talking about USD20 (RM76) for watching a game on television, not at the stadium.
14-06-2004, 01:14 PM
oh... hahaha.. then tha'ts really expensive... lolz
i thought u meant one ticket around USD 20.. keke... :P
CyberJaya
14-06-2004, 03:32 PM
what about todays fixtures?
These are my predictions
Denmark 1 Italy 2
Sweden 1 bulgaria 0
14-06-2004, 04:56 PM
I would go with
Italy 3 Denmark 1
Bulgaria 1 Sweden 0
15-06-2004, 03:16 AM
the next big match
nederlanden - duitsland! de oranje! Hup oranje hup!
I predict 2 - 1 in favor of the Dutch!
Nistelrooy and Sneijder are going to score for de oranje! Though the Dutch has been inconsistent lately, the new Advocaat formation is great!
and Zlatan Ibrahimovic scored one in Sweden's 5 - 0 win!
Hup Ajax Hup!
15-06-2004, 05:16 AM
what's italy vs denmark results?
anyway, i watched a little bit...
it was obvious that denmark controlled the whole game.
looked like italy's quality is dropping down...
15-06-2004, 05:16 AM
maybe we can have a recom bookie?
just kidding :lol:
15-06-2004, 06:36 AM
italy drew 1 - 1.
15-06-2004, 07:23 AM
drew 0-0
you should look how sorenson saved all the great effort from italian
i didn't know he's so great?!
cwru players wore Italy jersey for midwest soccer recently
don't forget that
=)
15-06-2004, 12:10 PM
I'd say tonight's big game would be a 2-0 win in favor of the Dutch, with one a piece for van Nistelrooy and one of the young guns (van der Vaart, Sneijder, van der Meyde). Too bad Advocaat would be playing only one striker up front. It would be interesting to see what a Nistelrooy-Robben or Nistelrooy-Makaay partnership could produce. I just can't see how the Germans can match up to the Dutch. With a bunch of untested players and a less than skillful squad, they should succumb to the Dutch, unless a World Cup 2002 style surprise springs up.
The_Observer
15-06-2004, 03:31 PM
I somehow predict another draw...I also have a gut feeling that the Czechs will go through along with either Germany or Holland (both teams notorious of self-destructing at the worse times).
But I could be wrong...
BTW, how would our Recom bookie manage the wagers? Paypal?
15-06-2004, 04:05 PM
Holland 1 - Germany 0
or Holland 1 - Germany 1
CyberJaya
15-06-2004, 05:40 PM
I go with Holland 1 Germany 1
Latvia 0 Czech 4
15-06-2004, 09:05 PM
Euro 2004 fever has its unfortunate victims...
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/6/15/nation/8214579&sec=nation
15-06-2004, 11:03 PM
Euro 2004 fever has its unfortunate victims...
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/6/15/nation/8214579&sec=nation
haha...this is funny man. cant believe this happened. anyway, i never see anyone who is so crazy for football than this guy... I wanted to watch the england vs france match, but i came back from my prom nite that day ...it was 1am, and i cant wait...im too tired...so i slept till the next morning. but this guy, i salute him!
16-06-2004, 12:43 AM
fvcken german
16-06-2004, 01:27 AM
GOALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!!!!
16-06-2004, 01:44 AM
1 - 1.
In my opinion, Overmars helped the Dutch to regain their confidence. All hail to Overmars.
CyberJaya
16-06-2004, 02:04 AM
I was right about the result. It was very predictable. I should have made a bet on it :D
16-06-2004, 02:45 AM
i can't understand why zenden was in the starting lineup. He sucked for god's sake.
Anyway, for a limited time
http://www-personal.umich.edu/~mnoorsha/Gallery/hc.avi
The_Observer
16-06-2004, 11:44 PM
Noooooo......Spain should have won the match.... T_T
17-06-2004, 08:17 AM
Noooooo......Spain should have won the match.... T_T
what happened to spain?
with performance like that.....they can hardly make it to the next stage.... :roll:
retroque
17-06-2004, 03:27 PM
hhaha
looks like the greek's tactic worked.being underdog...such as senegal vs france in wc 2002,basically the best way is to opt defensive tactics...cut out shooting route for figo,raul , morientes...and then do a fast counter attack!
though i fully respect the spain team.....but i am wishing that portugal (being the host nation)would go through.
17-06-2004, 05:28 PM
another russian player got sent off.... this time the keeper.
apparently, he touched the ball outside the box... but tv replays showed he's innocent.
second russian to get sent off.... that's gotta hurt..
CyberJaya
17-06-2004, 06:13 PM
I think England will win three one against switzerland. France 1 crotatia 0
18-06-2004, 11:40 AM
I think England will win three one against switzerland. France 1 crotatia 0
u got pretty close cyberjaya
england won 3 -0
france drew 2- 2
i watch the england match....the swiss play really well in the first half...got hold on most of the possesions too...
but when england is 2 - 0 up... i stop watching and went to sleep instead...hehe... it was 1.30 am in malaysia.... 8)
19-06-2004, 04:31 AM
Ibrahimovic!!!
go ajax go!!!
The_Observer
19-06-2004, 12:27 PM
It was actually fun watching Italy come storming out the gates in the 1st half...should have kept up the pressure in the 2nd half.
I don't think they need Totti anymore...
Vieri was very disappointing....Inzaghi for the Bulgaria match?
19-06-2004, 01:29 PM
i hope sweden and denmark will draw. That would mess Italy big time.
19-06-2004, 03:30 PM
Hey earth. I think Holland are going to get a beaten by the czechs. hehe. I predict a one zero victory for czech. And germany 2 latvia 0
19-06-2004, 03:31 PM
what do hp mp and exp mean in the profile.
19-06-2004, 05:21 PM
Hey earth. I think Holland are going to get a beaten by the czechs. hehe. I predict a one zero victory for czech. And germany 2 latvia 0
i'll go for holland... a 1-0 win over czechs...
19-06-2004, 05:23 PM
what do hp mp and exp mean in the profile.
Go to this thread for the answer....
http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=578&highlight=mp+exp&sid=f2503e821c3b4dcb845431c9fe4d5633
or
http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=627#22706
19-06-2004, 08:10 PM
1-0 to the Dutch...and van Nistelrooy strikes again! The other match should be Germany 2 Latvia 0 like PJKru predicted.
19-06-2004, 09:46 PM
i have a feeling that the czech gonna win too. after seeing how the dutch played the krauts, it gonna be tough with czech. after all, in the not so long last meeting, the czech beat the crap out of the dutch.
but i am trying to be optimistic =) so, 0 - 0
but whatever happenes, i can rest in peace since both national teams have Ajax's players; just like Ibrahimovic that screwed italia yesterday.
anyway, this is the probable lineup.
VD Saar
Heitinga, Stam, Cocu, Van Bronckhorst
Bosvelt, Seedorf, Davids
VD Meyde, V Nistelrooy, Robben
Im starting to hate advocaat. but the lineup is better than previously - NO ZENDEN YEAH!!!
come here -> http://www.soccerpages.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12270 for a serious holland's soccer.
and yeah! krauts 0 - 0 latvia!!! a miracle!
retroque
20-06-2004, 01:46 AM
wow!!! a brilliant game by holland n czech!!!
although the dutch did a great work...but i must say...czech was superb.after a 2-0 down ...they managed steal the win with 3-2...
man of the match??
PAVEL NEDVED!!!!
20-06-2004, 03:02 PM
well done czechs for making it into the q finals. Now its one spot for either germany or holland.
20-06-2004, 05:12 PM
did u guys watch the germany vs latvia match?
wow....very interesting...
the latvians have good fighting spirit......and never gave up man...
managed to hold germany to a goaless draw...
the keeper is superb...
The_Observer
20-06-2004, 07:43 PM
Told you guys, the Czechs rock!
Now for Spain and Portugal...man...I hope Spain wins or draw...either one I am fine with it....as long as they dun lose!!!!
retroque
20-06-2004, 08:58 PM
waa...
they dont do live telecast on spain-portugal match....feel like crying..sob sob.
nyway...i hope portugal wins.i know spain is better team..with the likes of raul,torres,casillas,,etc2.but..a tournament without the host nation at least getting through the group stage...is booring.
20-06-2004, 09:01 PM
I think Spain portugal will be a draw.
retroque
21-06-2004, 03:54 AM
portugal 1-0 spain
come on porrtugall!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The_Observer
21-06-2004, 11:59 AM
:) -------> :( -------> T_T
Progression of emotions through the Spain vs Portugal match....not I am only left with Italy to barrack for....
21-06-2004, 03:16 PM
my predictions for todays games.
France 3 switzerland 0
England 2 Croatia 1
The_Observer
21-06-2004, 07:33 PM
Here are my pessimistic predictions:
France 1 Swiss 0
England 2 Croatia 1
24-06-2004, 01:58 AM
AUF WIEDERSEHEN DEUTSCHLAND!
HOLLAND HOLLAND HOLLAND!
http://www-personal.umich.edu/~mnoorsha/Graphics/nedFlag.gif
DE ORANJE!
MAGISH VAN DE KAMPIOEN!!!
wwwww000000000000000000000000ttttt!!!
24-06-2004, 09:30 AM
Err.....sorry....Can you please speak in english? I dun understand what u've wrote....
retroque
24-06-2004, 12:23 PM
yeah especially the "woooot" part.is that suppose to mean anything....or is it just a sound that u made up?
retroque
25-06-2004, 03:19 AM
MUAHAHAHAHAHAHA
bye2 england.so sorry for rooney
but rooonaldo mania is hereto stay!COME ON PORTUGAL!
25-06-2004, 04:08 AM
too bad.
the english played well from the start to the last.
25-06-2004, 11:44 AM
i like the penalty part......
saw how a Portuguese player took a cool penalty?
such a slow ball and yet can enter the goal.... super cool...
so unlike beckham...
8)
The_Observer
25-06-2004, 12:49 PM
I tell you...that grocer/referee made a serious cock up....Campbell's goal is legitimate...England deserved to win...too bad for Rooney though, would have been different if he din injured himself.....
Now I run out of team to support liao....who to barrack for now?
.......<muses>.........
25-06-2004, 01:25 PM
I tell you...that grocer/referee made a serious cock up....Campbell's goal is legitimate...England deserved to win...too bad for Rooney though, would have been different if he din injured himself.....
Now I run out of team to support liao....who to barrack for now?
.......<muses>.........
terry blocked the keeper...
it's a good decision actually....
25-06-2004, 04:48 PM
what you guys think for today game between france and greece?
25-06-2004, 08:23 PM
what you guys think for today game between france and greece?
is there ever a doubt?
25-06-2004, 09:00 PM
greece are underdogs ler....
dunno whether they can create an upset or not over france... just like what south korea did in world cup...
26-06-2004, 01:46 AM
Greece beat France with 1-0 already.
i think france played not fast enough as how greece did...
can see that greece keep on trying to goal from the beginning until they made the goal while france looked only started trying hard to attack at the second half.
henry tried so hard and very sayang he failed to make it.
retroque
26-06-2004, 01:49 AM
OH MY GOD!
the defending champs FRANCE just lost 1-0 to GREECE?
(and u said there was no doubt?)
though im not supporting france......i dont want to see a final with greece in it.So boooriiing...nOooo!
please czech....win over denmark..and beat greece.
The_Observer
26-06-2004, 01:55 AM
Greece 1 France 0
The Greeks were bloody cowards and chickens till the very end....even the Italian 'catenaccio' can't beat them.
They had the luck of the devil!
Their sin against soccer is unforgivable no matter how much their culture had contributed to the world.
Anyway, the French did looked a little lethargic tonight...
NB: if they win Euro 2004, I hope their plane back to Athens crash into the Aegean!
26-06-2004, 02:27 AM
oh well. perhaps there were some doubts.
anyway, tomorrow is de oranje vs sweden. as long as advocaat does not make any surprise, i believe holland will be good enough to overcome the swede. It will be close and interesting as both teams are attacking minded, unlike the loser italy.
both teams have ajax's players. =|
26-06-2004, 11:40 PM
for Holland, it's all depends on advocaat right now
I hope he learned well from the wrong decision he made before
Sweden is a very strong opponent
as long as Holland plays well,
I won't regret supporting them
luck also plays a role in a soccer match...
--------------
About the France-Greece game..
I think France should try to use Saha earlier
he created some good chances
but of course he needed some more to get the feel of the game
Greece has good defensive players
they have man-marker for all of the French striker
and for some of the midfielders also
it's always crucial to have some players who know
how to play the man-marker's role
--------------
About the Portugal-England...
it's the most exciting game so far
for the Campbell's goal, I'd give two thumbs up for the referee
a keeper should always have an advantage in his own territory
pity for England, they lose Rooney so early in the game
if not, he might be able to change the result
The Ronaldo-Cole head-to-head battle
is one of the most exciting part to watch also
the young Portugeese has made soccer looks so fun
but Cole also proved that he's one of the best left-back in England
penalty is a matter of luck
and self confidense
but for Ricardo to save Vassell's kick with bare handed...
he is something...
--------
10 more minutes before the Holland-Sweden game
I hope the Dutch players will play their best!
27-06-2004, 12:39 AM
its halftime.
sweden might be strong be the dutch is dominating. =)
27-06-2004, 02:36 AM
hoho... sweden's turn to start packing balik kampung... :P
retroque
27-06-2004, 09:50 AM
a spectacular performance by both teams!(the swedes n the dutch)
3 hours of full offensive football,with both teams defending superbly. advoocat's decision to take off van der meyde n replace with roy makaay is a good one.at least he's making some sense.
its such a shame that it has to be decided by a penalty shootout after so many chances!!
28-06-2004, 02:10 AM
I think, the Czech will be the new champion.
And I think, the Dutch will meet the Czech (yet again for the third time) in the final game.
28-06-2004, 03:26 AM
I think its hard to see the czech beating the dutch again or portugal.
28-06-2004, 03:33 AM
Dutch will meet up Portugal and Greece will meet up with Czech at the semi-final.....
among all the 4 matches in the quater-final, Czech looked beat Denmark easily with 3-0!!!!
28-06-2004, 05:15 AM
I think its hard to see the czech beating the dutch again or portugal.
it was hard to see the czech beat the dutch 3 - 1 during the qualification too.
The Czech is the new emerging force. Look, even their second team has beaten Germany's first teams.
The_Observer
28-06-2004, 08:29 PM
But before that,
Its the ultra- 'chiong ah!' team (Czechs) versus the ultra-coward team (Greeks)
Who Will Win???!
28-06-2004, 09:05 PM
very hard to say lor... now all become so unpredictable.... :roll:
30-06-2004, 11:40 PM
Portugal!!!! goal goal goal..... :)
retroque
01-07-2004, 03:26 AM
i thought holland was gonna win over portugal...after seeing their performance against sweden.arjen robben (is that how u spell his name?) was really a menace down the wing side.
but then...PORTUGAL held on!!ahaha..come on portugal!!
01-07-2004, 03:39 AM
=(
i hope the czech wins. They are the only one with ajax's players (galasek and grygera) now.
hup holland hup. =/
retroque
02-07-2004, 02:11 AM
NNNOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!
CZECH was absolutely...without doubt...a better team than greece.how could this be??
all greece did was defending.much2 worse than italy..n a few counter attacks...czech had more shots on goals!!!
i publicly announce...that i hate the greece team.it got no guts laah.
COOMMEEE ONNN POORRRRTTUUUGAALLLLL!!!!!!!!!
portugal o'le!
02-07-2004, 03:24 AM
well... all is thier nasib la..... Greece goal in at the last second... so unexpectted...
well, Greece already go too much... that's all I guesss....
with the performance like that, I believe that impossible for Greece to beat Portugal....
02-07-2004, 09:45 AM
well... all is thier nasib la..... Greece goal in at the last second... so unexpectted...
with the performance like that, I believe that impossible for Greece to beat Portugal....
Impossible? Nothing is impossible! Greece beat Portugal in their opening match, remember? Hohoho.....2004 is really the year of the underdogs....
Nedved injury really had an impact on Czechs.....
Karel Poborsky didnt play really well in my opinion....
Same goes to Koller too...
03-07-2004, 01:06 AM
Impossible? Nothing is impossible! Greece beat Portugal in their opening match, remember? Hohoho.....2004 is really the year of the underdogs....
Nedved injury really had an impact on Czechs.....
Karel Poborsky didnt play really well in my opinion....
Same goes to Koller too...
Oh... hahaha... sorry ya.... I also just get to know that they beat Portugal before because I can't catch Euro2004 up at the beginning as that time I was having my finals..... :oops: :oops:
03-07-2004, 08:31 AM
Oh... hahaha... sorry ya.... I also just get to know that they beat Portugal before because I can't catch Euro2004 up at the beginning as that time I was having my finals..... :oops: :oops:
It's ok, cos actually I didnt watch the earlier matches too! I just read the reports on newspapers. But I think this time, Portugal will beat Greece in the finals. I'm going for Portugal this time!
retroque
03-07-2004, 08:57 AM
a bizarre tournament this time.portugal met greece in the opening game of the tournament and they r gonna meet each other in the closing game of the tournament.
it's hard to tell who's gonna win this game.but i hope portugal will win it.hehe...hope big phil learnt from the 1st defeat against the greeks.
takkan pisang berbuah dua kali ye tak Felipe Scolari ??
Portugal O'le
05-07-2004, 01:13 AM
Greece is leading.
I thought the world was going upside down when the US beat Portugal in the last world cup.
I guess that was just a gist of things to come.
retroque
05-07-2004, 01:51 AM
the pisang did berbuah dua kali!!!!
nothing much to say.just hate greece defensive tactics.they just took their one n only chances at corner.
let see..how greece will do in the world cup 2006 eh?
to portugal...a job well done.yoku ganbarimashita
PORTUGAL O"LE!!
05-07-2004, 02:00 AM
wow... greece!!!
ronaldo missed a lot goal....
portugal made corner kicks nearly 10 times i think... but greece made the goal with the only corner kick...
:roll:
08-07-2004, 03:32 PM
It's really not an entertaining final match. Regret staying up early in the morning just to watch this match. Have to agree that Greece was the most effective team in Euro 2004. Scored 1 goal from 1 or 2 attempts. I doubt Greece will excel in other international tournaments. Anyway, since Euro 2004 is over, I guess we should lock up this topic.
Thread locked.