View Full Version : Help me to create my own awesome webpage

CyberJaya
13-06-2004, 05:33 PM
Hi guys. I need some help to create an awesome webpage. What are the things i need to get it going. Who should host the site, etc. I'd appreciate your thoughts.

13-06-2004, 05:41 PM
I am glad that u initiate such thread...
but it?s in the wrong forum..

for time being u can go and download Dreamweaver MX 2004 and learn either online or its built in learnprogramm.. i hope that helps...

but it?s ok if we share some basic HTML and FTP knowledge.. I want to learn too....

CyberJaya
13-06-2004, 06:04 PM
If you go to yahoo, they have something called siteBuilder. You can download the program to your computer and then use the templates they provide. Dreamweaver may be a bit better for design but sitebuilder is intergrated with yahoos geocities so that you get your own free url built in

CyberJaya
13-06-2004, 06:29 PM
IQinq, I've got Dreamweaver 4 in 24 hours the book. I've also got the full version of dreamweaver 4. I can upload it to you if you really need it?

13-06-2004, 06:36 PM
dreamweaver 4? i think it?s old version..

i think i hv downloaded the eBook on dreamweaver MX 2004 ... haven?t read it yet...

I think it?s ok if u share with everyone... hehe

14-06-2004, 02:16 AM
Learn (x)HTML before going into programs like Dreamweaver. You should know what is *really* behind your page!

This (http://www.w3schools.com/) is where you should start.. then pick up some CSS and Javascript/DOM to jazz up your page.. that's all you really need without going into server-side scripting :)

14-06-2004, 02:58 AM
I agree with screw3d....learn the client-side scripting... xhtml, css and javascript will be very useful and essential...

After knowing that, if you want to go to server-side and work with php and some database stuff like mysql, it won't be that difficult!

I learn those few stuffs before, so if you have any question, i would try my best to help.

14-06-2004, 03:10 AM
can u please provide us with some of the links where we can learn HTML, XHTML, CSS or stuffs like that?

thanx...

14-06-2004, 03:18 AM
There are some good source here:-

http://www.w3.org/MarkUp/#tutorials

This is a good place to check whether your codes comply with the standards of html/xhtml. This does not guarantee that your program works correctly, but it ensures that there is no syntax error.

http://validator.w3.org/

Some of the links for Javascript:-
http://www.wdvl.com/Authoring/JavaScript/Tutorial/
http://www.javascript.com/

etc etc..just google to find.

Learn html/xhtml first, and then you would understand what you are doing... And just open a notepad and starts writing and testing the code as you learn... That would be easier way to learn...

Feel free to ask.

14-06-2004, 08:15 PM
I think using dreamweaver, u can create a good website ....with flash animations and javascripts.... without knowing html codes and things like that.

u can read up on dreamweaver books, or by reading the tutorials in the dreamweaver program itself. It's kinda simple.. i tried that some time back...but i've forgotten most of it. Why dun u give it a try? Dreamweaver is good...

14-06-2004, 08:23 PM
the best way to learn HTML for me is .... from all websites I go :) ... there are all made of HTML (or maybe flash) .. I just right-click and view the source ... that's how I learn cool HTML and Javascript codes ..

CyberJaya
14-06-2004, 08:30 PM
Thanks for your tips guys. Have you guys tried to create a webpage with asianavenue?
http://www.asianavenue.com

14-06-2004, 08:48 PM
that's not called "creating a webpage" .. it's just another friendster, myspace or kawanster ... buu :P

14-06-2004, 08:57 PM
wats the purpose of ur webpage?
why dont just create a blogsite? a lot of blogwebsite out there..blogger.com, xanga.com, pitas.com...