View Full Version : Canberra and ANU

nicodemus
08-07-2009, 03:50 PM
I started this thread since there are very few topics regarding Australia. And if there is, it's mostly about Melbourne, rarely about this small capital city of Australia, Canberra...

So, let's start with who's going to ANU for this July intake, what course are you studying and when are you leaving for ANU...

And if there's any important tips or pointers, please do share it here... Let's make this a very informative forum so that it will benefit ANU hopefuls next year...

I'll begin first...

I'm going to ANU this July (if I make it; I'm still waiting for the unconditional offer letter from ANU) and my course would be Bachelor of Science (Honours), intending to major in Chemistry. I'm not sure when I'm leaving for ANU yet though... :-P

lawteoh
08-07-2009, 06:24 PM
I started this thread since there are very few topics regarding Australia. And if there is, it's mostly about Melbourne, rarely about this small capital city of Australia, Canberra...

So, let's start with who's going to ANU for this July intake, what course are you studying and when are you leaving for ANU...

And if there's any important tips or pointers, please do share it here... Let's make this a very informative forum so that it will benefit ANU hopefuls next year...

I'll begin first...

I'm going to ANU this July (if I make it; I'm still waiting for the unconditional offer letter from ANU) and my course would be Bachelor of Science (Honours), intending to major in Chemistry. I'm not sure when I'm leaving for ANU yet though... :-P

wait.. I tot u r studying medic in USM now?? *confused*

vikraman
08-07-2009, 08:16 PM
If all goes well I'm going for ANU Bachelor of Science (Hons), Geophysics + Geology in February 2010. Nicodemus where are you staying in ANU? ANU hostel or your own accomodation?

nicodemus
04-09-2009, 06:01 PM
Seems there's not much people going ANU huh?

I'll be heading to ANU in February 2010, Bachelor of Sciences (Honours), major in Chemistry... :-)

Application for accomodation is opened! For future ANU-ians, don't forget to apply!!

Trekk
04-09-2009, 06:47 PM
Canberra's scenery is beautiful...

vikraman
04-09-2009, 07:55 PM
opened already? thanks for update nicodemus, i'll go and apply now.

Zwitterion
04-09-2009, 08:25 PM
I'm heading to ANU in February 2010 to pursue Bachelor of Science. I intend to major in Biomedical Science.

Cycling seems to be very common in Canberra. I can't cycle though. Such a waste. =(

vikraman
04-09-2009, 08:30 PM
you'll pick it up haha. cycling is very easy to learn. i learnt when i was 4 years old haha :D

Zwitterion
04-09-2009, 08:43 PM
Shall take your word for it then vikraman. Haha. Afraid of falling though. Lol

nicodemus
04-09-2009, 09:42 PM
Shall take your word for it then vikraman. Haha. Afraid of falling though. Lol

Haha.. Don't worry... You won't fall if you can balance well... ;-) we'll give you classes if you want, with a minimal charge that is... :-P JK!!!

Zwitterion
04-09-2009, 10:07 PM
Thank you in advance! :D

How are the internet service charges like in Canberra? I heard they charge by data usage. :S

blessusall
04-09-2009, 11:11 PM
Seems there's not much people going ANU huh?

I'll be heading to ANU in February 2010, Bachelor of Sciences (Honours), major in Chemistry... :-)

Application for accomodation is opened! For future ANU-ians, don't forget to apply!!
I thought honours is by invitation only by the uni? Did the offer letter from the uni mention BSc or BSc(Hons)?

Have JPA paid tuition fees for you to ANU? Have you sent/e-mailed the acceptance letter to ANU? How are you gonna book accommodation now?

nicodemus
05-09-2009, 12:15 AM
Thank you in advance! :D

How are the internet service charges like in Canberra? I heard they charge by data usage. :S

Besides Zwitterion's question, are there any broadband providers out there which we can apply for? Something like Celcom broadband in Malaysia... I'm quite a frequent Internet surfer, so Internet expenses will be quite a lot for me... Guess I have to spend less time surfing the Net...

I thought honours is by invitation only by the uni? Did the offer letter from the uni mention BSc or BSc(Hons)?

Have JPA paid tuition fees for you to ANU? Have you sent/e-mailed the acceptance letter to ANU? How are you gonna book accommodation now?

The offer letter mentioned BSc (Honours)... ANU allows applicants to apply to Honours stream if they are interested... :-)

Chill girl! It's only September!

Of course JPA haven't pay the tuition fees... I haven't send in the acceptance letter because I'm waiting for the financial affidavit from JPA... (BTW, Zwiterrion, have you got it?)

Zwitterion
05-09-2009, 09:41 AM
Nope, they haven't sent me the financial affidavit.

vikraman
05-09-2009, 11:04 AM
Well few things then,
A) I'll teach you to ride a bike for free zwitter,
B) Yes honours are on invitation by the university at the end of your 3rd year providing you've maintained a GPA of 3.2 throughout. (that's roughly an average B on all your papers.) even if you enter the "honours track" or "non-honours track" when you enter the university.

C) University internet is quite value for money as compared to mobile broadband which is the only option you have other than university internet as long as you stay in the university hostels. It's 0.6c per MB, about 60$ a month if you use 10GB a month. Without heavy torrenting, 10GB is more than enough by far.

When you move to your own accomodation from 2nd year ono. you'll have to subscribe to an internet package normally can be bundled with phone and cable tv services. Can be explored later.

Zwitterion
05-09-2009, 12:23 PM
Haha! Thanks for you offer vikraman. See you in ANU next year! Have you applied for the accommodation?

vikraman
06-09-2009, 05:13 AM
yeah i have, fairly simple just fill in a few details and you're done. what are you going to do in ANU?

Zwitterion
06-09-2009, 10:14 AM
Bachelor of Science, major in Biomedical Science.

nicodemus
27-09-2009, 02:12 PM
Hei people... The registration for pre-departure briefing in Malaysia by ANU is now open...

It will be held on the 10th of January 2010, in Hotel Equatorial KL... Registrations are open till 5th January 2010...

So register now at this webpage... :)

http://info.anu.edu.au/studyat/International_Office/events/predeparture?

vikraman
27-09-2009, 03:40 PM
thanks nico. i've already registered :)

blessusall
04-10-2009, 06:31 PM
For those who are going ANU, when is the last date of acceptance/enrollment into the university?

Has anyone received the financial affidavit from JPA?

Trekk
05-10-2009, 10:06 AM
Besides Zwitterion's question, are there any broadband providers out there which we can apply for? Something like Celcom broadband in Malaysia... I'm quite a frequent Internet surfer, so Internet expenses will be quite a lot for me... Guess I have to spend less time surfing the Net...

The offer letter mentioned BSc (Honours)... ANU allows applicants to apply to Honours stream if they are interested... :-)

Chill girl! It's only September!

Of course JPA haven't pay the tuition fees... I haven't send in the acceptance letter because I'm waiting for the financial affidavit from JPA... (BTW, Zwiterrion, have you got it?)

You have 1GB of free internet usage on any of the computers in the ANU libraries. If you stay on campus, this quota can be used in the halls computer labs as well. You only have to pay for internet access in your rooms. Also, if you have a laptop, you can surf unlimited for free on the ANU wireless network. But the network only covers the teaching facultie areas so you can't connect to the network in the halls of accomodation.

btys
14-11-2009, 11:28 AM
hi guys~ joining in happily ^^ i'm going for BComm (Feb 2010), planning to major in accounting or finance, haven't decide thou..

I'd received financial affidavit from JPA but haven't got the eCoe from ANU, hence accom oso pending. u guys?

vikraman
16-11-2009, 06:34 PM
I have to wait for my results to come out first, 30th december.

btys
23-11-2009, 07:11 PM
Hei people... The registration for pre-departure briefing in Malaysia by ANU is now open...

It will be held on the 10th of January 2010, in Hotel Equatorial KL... Registrations are open till 5th January 2010...

So register now at this webpage... :)

http://info.anu.edu.au/studyat/International_Office/events/predeparture?

harlo~ how many of you had registered for ANU's pre-departure briefing (10/1/10)?

vikraman
26-11-2009, 03:30 AM
i have registered.

blessusall
07-12-2009, 04:56 PM
Will the JPA allow to claim money for purchasing of plane ticket if i decide to go to Australia(under the ivy league and equivalent scholarship) with AirAsia? Not MAS.

wiley
07-12-2009, 05:41 PM
Will the JPA allow to claim money for purchasing of plane ticket if i decide to go to Australia(under the ivy league and equivalent scholarship) with AirAsia? Not MAS.

yes. Airasia is allowed

blessusall
07-12-2009, 06:23 PM
That's great!! i wonder if they will refund a premium(not economy) seat ticket in AirAsia?

wiley
09-12-2009, 12:18 AM
That's great!! i wonder if they will refund a premium(not economy) seat ticket in AirAsia?

not sure bout that.
but u may try:)

fweeky
09-12-2009, 11:06 PM
hey i'm hoping to go ANU for B.Actuarial Sc.

you guys signed up for the briefing i naddition to the JPA pre-departure briefing? any fees required for the ANU briefing?

thanks in advance!

vikraman
10-12-2009, 03:16 AM
no it's free.

Sephyrave
20-12-2009, 09:46 PM
Hi everyone,

It's real exciting to see so many newcomers to ANU next year, I am sure with all of you it would make Canberra much more livelier than before.

To all of you who don't know me, my name is Raymond Tan and I am a student from ANU as well. I am the secretary for Malaysian Student Council of Australia (MASCA), Australian Capital Territory chapter. MASCA is under the directive of the Malaysian Student Department of Australia(MSDA), Malaysian High Commission of Australia as well as Malaysian Higher Education Ministry. What MASCA does is to take care of the welfare of all Malaysians in the whole ACT, which includes ANU and University of Canberra and other institutions in this region. If you are a prospective student at ANU, then, MASCA will try its best to help you through its affliate, which is the Malaysian Student Organization of ANU.

The committee of MASCA will be present during the predeparture briefing, and will brief all of you more in detail at that time. Before that, do sign up in our newly-created web portal at http://www.mascaact.com to get notified of updates, create a profile, interact with new friends, seniors, and post a question in its forum.

Thank you,
Regards,
Raymond

btys
21-12-2009, 08:39 PM

Only know that for MAS, it must be economy class.

vikraman
21-12-2009, 10:46 PM
thanks raymond. Also guys here's some useful links..

http://billboard.anu.edu.au
http://info.anu.edu.au/studyat/International_Office/getting_in/acceptance_pack
http://info.anu.edu.au/studyat/assets/Int-Orientation-brochureWeb.pdf

check it out for useful info

btys
10-01-2010, 11:38 PM
in the end, we still din get to know fweeky and vikraman's real identity. *sigh*
raymond, were you there jz now, too?

Sephyrave
11-01-2010, 09:49 AM
Yeah, I was there. I was wearing the white MASCA t-shirt.

People, do sign up for MASCA's new website at http://www.mascaact.com to receive latest updates of the Malaysian events or happenings in Canberra and ANU. :)

Alternatively you can post any questions on our forum or contact form if you have any questions not yet answered during the pre-departure. The committee will be most willing to answer your questions.

vikraman
13-01-2010, 09:53 AM
I was there well.. umm wearing a grey WWF fighting pandas t-shirt and blue surf shorts. Indian guy with crew cut hair.

sheng
14-01-2010, 06:26 PM
i'm going ANU to pursue bac. actuarial studies in this feb....now waiting for financial affidavit from JPA and eCOE....

btys
14-01-2010, 10:46 PM
vikraman>> i'm not sure which one is you though.. memory starts to become vague pictures.. sorry.. *90 degrees bow*

sheng>> welcome welcome!!

blessusall
14-01-2010, 11:31 PM
Although I`m going to Melbourne U in FEb2010, I`m just curious to know how many going are to ANU? How many of them regular[after SPM] JPA students and how many under JPA [Ivy league] students? Can anyone just enlighten me?

btys
15-01-2010, 10:08 PM
so far, i only noe under ivy league's 6. regular (PILN) i think about 15-20? that day i saw a whole big gang... i heard 2 under petronas..

marja, what bout urs? (btw, since you r nt following the jpa group, i assume you don't do a suit, do you?)

sheng
15-01-2010, 10:41 PM
as i know there will be 6 ppl going anu to pursue actuarial studies (under JPA)

blessusall
16-01-2010, 01:07 PM
btys,

i dunno anything about the suit. maybe it's not required for me. so far i know three(including me) who's going for the unimelb 2010 march intake.

btys
16-01-2010, 01:48 PM
sheng, are most of the jpa scholars of your age going for acturial sc?

blessusall, are the 3 those we meet in camp?

sheng
16-01-2010, 02:46 PM
well im not sure there might be other students from other preparation colleges (intec...)go for other courses

star90
16-01-2010, 08:02 PM
is there anyone going for
Associate Degree Specialising in Science

in ANU?

btys
21-01-2010, 08:02 PM
is there anyone going for
Associate Degree Specialising in Science

in ANU?

i'm not sure, but you may ask Zwitterion.

yeliw
29-01-2010, 08:44 AM
hi , glad to hear that u guys r coming to ANU in Feb intake. Congrats . May I knw which hall are u staying? anyone get B&G Hall?

btys
29-01-2010, 11:15 AM
hi , glad to hear that u guys r coming to ANU in Feb intake. Congrats . May I knw which hall are u staying? anyone get B&G Hall?

I'm going to stay at John XXIII. B&G fellas are not recomers :laugh

adele123
10-02-2010, 02:21 AM

Hope u can get into B&G... i couldn't get in... B&G is really the best option if u want to pay the least rent... It's really hard getting into B&G. I ended up being in UniLodge...

Rumour has it that Johns serves the best food. I have yet to try the food there though.

O-week soon... enjoy it... good time to get to know one another

PS: I just another student studying at ANU (not hard to guess what course i'm studying) :)

cfliang
10-02-2010, 01:41 PM
Can we prove our English level by providing MUET results when applying to universities in Australia like ANU and Canberra? Any chance we will be accepted without IELTS or TOEFL results?

yeliw
10-02-2010, 02:30 PM
Can we prove our English level by providing MUET results when applying to universities in Australia like ANU and Canberra? Any chance we will be accepted without IELTS or TOEFL results?

muet is useless for oversea. u may enter without ielts .

cfliang
10-02-2010, 04:19 PM
muet is useless for oversea. u may enter without ielts .

Thanks for clearing my doubt!
So, I can enter without IELTS or TOEFL results, but I have to take them before I graduate from my course?

yeliw
10-02-2010, 07:15 PM
Thanks for clearing my doubt!
So, I can enter without IELTS or TOEFL results, but I have to take them before I graduate from my course?

haha...u r welcum......u no need to take them unless u r applying for PR in Australia......

btys
10-02-2010, 08:02 PM
Hope u can get into B&G... i couldn't get in... B&G is really the best option if u want to pay the least rent... It's really hard getting into B&G. I ended up being in UniLodge...

Rumour has it that Johns serves the best food. I have yet to try the food there though.

O-week soon... enjoy it... good time to get to know one another

PS: I just another student studying at ANU (not hard to guess what course i'm studying) :)

Hi adele123! B&G and UniLodge is like the top choices for Malaysians, Singaporeans and Chinese (as in from China) Both have airconds?

Johns serves the largest serving (they serve you, not you scoop yourself) and I think the most variety? I haven't had the chance to explore other colleges/halls, but I do like Johns' food.

O-week~ looking forward for both weeks'.

a Commerce student, I presume?:))

I did IELTS and I think it actually portrays how good your English is. It's pretty handy when applying to overseas universities. MUET is only accepted in Malaysia and Singapore. You can, though, provide it as support.

sheng
10-02-2010, 08:20 PM
hi i'm in canberra now. i've been offered anu@<hidden> any1 with me?

adele123
10-02-2010, 10:18 PM
Erm... Only Kinloch (the newer unilodge has aircond). B&G is really good, in terms of the environment there... and the rent is cheap. Quite many malaysians in B&G too. In fact, u wont find malaysians a minority in ANU. ALOT of asians in davey lodge (the older unilodge).

About the english requirement, to enter into ANU, IELTS is not a must but it guarantees your admission. I used my SPM 1119 while applying for admission to ANU.

cfliang
11-02-2010, 02:50 PM
Erm... Only Kinloch (the newer unilodge has aircond). B&G is really good, in terms of the environment there... and the rent is cheap. Quite many malaysians in B&G too. In fact, u wont find malaysians a minority in ANU. ALOT of asians in davey lodge (the older unilodge).

About the english requirement, to enter into ANU, IELTS is not a must but it guarantees your admission. I used my SPM 1119 while applying for admission to ANU.

Thanks. Wow, it will be nice if I can use my SPM 1119 to apply for admission to ANU. What do you mean by IELTS guarantees our admission? Is it that we will stand greater chance of being admitted if we provide IELTS results instead of 1119? Does English proficiency play an important part in our application?

adele123
11-02-2010, 06:23 PM
Actually, maybe I didn't phrase myself correctly. You dont need do be excellent in English to get into ANU. By having IELTS (6.5 or 7.0? I forgot the min requirement), you have fulfill the minimum english requirement. After that, would depends on your pre-u results.

They always say it in ANU, "Students of ANU are not required to be excellent in English."

When I said IELTS guarantee your admission, I meant that, if your pre-u results is alright, having IELTS then, everything should be fine. And I also said that because I dont know how well you did for your 1119. I was told (by my agents who did my application) 1119 results need to be really good if it is be to be used as the proof of English proficiency.

Sorry, I was a bit misleading.

Having taken IELTS opens up more doors, because not all uni accept 1119. It just so happens that ANU accept. Maybe I was lucky because I did well in my 1119.

cfliang
11-02-2010, 08:28 PM
Actually, maybe I didn't phrase myself correctly. You dont need do be excellent in English to get into ANU. By having IELTS (6.5 or 7.0? I forgot the min requirement), you have fulfill the minimum english requirement. After that, would depends on your pre-u results.

They always say it in ANU, "Students of ANU are not required to be excellent in English."

When I said IELTS guarantee your admission, I meant that, if your pre-u results is alright, having IELTS then, everything should be fine. And I also said that because I dont know how well you did for your 1119. I was told (by my agents who did my application) 1119 results need to be really good if it is be to be used as the proof of English proficiency.

Sorry, I was a bit misleading.

Having taken IELTS opens up more doors, because not all uni accept 1119. It just so happens that ANU accept. Maybe I was lucky because I did well in my 1119.

Thanks much for the information. I guess I will apply with my 1119 results then.
By the way, when will we usually receive the offer letter if we apply for the 2nd intake in July?

adele123
11-02-2010, 10:33 PM
I applied mine through one those agencies. Around mid-feb last year, I gave them the form. I got my offer letter on 8th of april.

Out of curiousity, which pre-u programme you did?

cfliang
12-02-2010, 04:10 PM
I applied mine through one those agencies. Around mid-feb last year, I gave them the form. I got my offer letter on 8th of april.

Out of curiousity, which pre-u programme you did?

I did Form 6 and am now waiting for my results. So, will we receive the offer letter earlier if we apply earlier? Because the deadline for the application for 2nd intake is the last week of May.

jyzx
12-02-2010, 04:27 PM
i'm also applying for the july intake. but to sydney and UNSW. Do you think Jpa's offer for ivy league uni will still be open around may? cause sydney uni takes like 2 months to send an offer :S

cfliang
12-02-2010, 08:55 PM
i'm also applying for the july intake. but to sydney and UNSW. Do you think Jpa's offer for ivy league uni will still be open around may? cause sydney uni takes like 2 months to send an offer :S

Hi, I am not sure about when is the deadline for JPA Ivy League but I think it should still be open around May. I emailed the officer but I haven't gotten any reply yet.

By the way, do you mean it takes about 2 months for Sydney University to process our application and send us the offer letter? Any idea how long it takes for other universities in Australia like ANU and Melbourne University?

adele123
12-02-2010, 10:08 PM
I dont even know whether JPA Ivy League has a deadline. Anyway, I think the earlier you apply, the earlier you get your offer letter, at least I think that applies to me. Applying in Feb, getting offer in April... April seems early to me...

I was also post-stpm student. I applied before I got my STPM results. After my results came out, I send it as well to ANU (through the agents).

Same story, never apply last minute. The deadline, is always end of May but just apply earlier. Easier for you to apply for JPA Ivy League too. (If you can still apply for it)

jyzx
13-02-2010, 02:29 AM
well according to the jpa officer in charge of this ivy league thing , he said end of this month was the deadline. but it's kinda unreasonable as the next intake only stars in june. hmmmm. well i'll just give it my best shot and wait for sydney to reply back then only try with JPA. it's always better to get the offer letter and try to beg JPA :P i tried applying to uk too but the jpa offcer told me the deadline for uk ivy leagues are only closing in august..now tat's only fair compared to the australian one. just what i think

cfliang
13-02-2010, 09:07 AM
well according to the jpa officer in charge of this ivy league thing , he said end of this month was the deadline. but it's kinda unreasonable as the next intake only stars in june. hmmmm. well i'll just give it my best shot and wait for sydney to reply back then only try with JPA. it's always better to get the offer letter and try to beg JPA :P i tried applying to uk too but the jpa offcer told me the deadline for uk ivy leagues are only closing in august..now tat's only fair compared to the australian one. just what i think

Oh I see. Then it's really unreasonable in the case of Australia universities. By the way, how do you contact the jpa officer? By phone call or email?

jyzx
13-02-2010, 04:07 PM
call. just ask them to direct you to the ivy league person in charge

kaiyi
29-03-2010, 12:27 PM
if i apply online (my home is far from the agencies and i missed education exhibitions), what documents should i provide apart from normal academic result? do they need CCA, CV, reference, essays or what?i m post-STPM student.

adele123
29-03-2010, 01:22 PM
Don't need CV, or essays or anything... Academic Results and proof of english proficiency... STPM and IELTS or 1119 should be enough... I think you don't have to worry about other documents too much, it's an application for admission to a university, very different from applying for a scholarship. Just provide the things they ask for.

Feel free to ask any questions, I willl try to help, maybe I can ask them personally in the administration office if that is necessary

cfliang
29-03-2010, 08:42 PM
if i apply online (my home is far from the agencies and i missed education exhibitions), what documents should i provide apart from normal academic result? do they need CCA, CV, reference, essays or what?i m post-STPM student.

I applied through IDP and they only asked for my STPM, SPM and 1119 results. You can try to contact IDP to clear your doubts.

kaiyi
29-03-2010, 09:42 PM
I applied through IDP and they only asked for my STPM, SPM and 1119 results. You can try to contact IDP to clear your doubts.

I live in Muar, nearest IDP center is either JB or Selangor...too far

anybody every apply Malaysia Alumni Scholarship?

adele123
29-03-2010, 09:54 PM
I thought that scholarship, the closing date is always the year before you study?

I got rejected when i applied =P

cows
29-03-2010, 10:32 PM
I would like to ask if I can make it in time for July intake if I'm hoping to get the Tajaan Tambahan thing? Cause I heard they don't give replies for the Tajaan so soon:(

adele123
30-03-2010, 06:05 AM
I would like to ask if I can make it in time for July intake if I'm hoping to get the Tajaan Tambahan thing? Cause I heard they don't give replies for the Tajaan so soon:(

Well, it's pretty early now. At the tajaan thread, someone mentioned it will take around 4 to 8 weeks, it's not that long.

PS: Be quick, do everything you can now... =D

adele123
24-04-2010, 09:47 PM
For those who will going to ANU for july 2010 intake... You can start applying for the accommodation on the 27th of April 2010

Applying for residence is really competitive. Some actually sit and wait for the clock to turn to 12am then register for their choice of residence =D

The website to visit: http://accom.anu.edu.au

lowxuan
24-04-2010, 09:52 PM
For those who will going to ANU for july 2010 intake... You can start applying for the accommodation on the 27th of April 2010

Applying for residence is really competitive. Some actually sit and wait for the clock to turn to 12am then register for their choice of residence =D

The website to visit: http://accom.anu.edu.au

omg...r u serious?!..>< still waiting for jpa's reply....hope jpa reply me asap...juz wonder, from the moment i accept the offer till they gv the econfirmation and so on...how long it takes?

adele123
24-04-2010, 10:09 PM
I've heard stories about people waiting for the clock to turn 12am. Not surprising though. Some residential college are obviously more preferable than others.

Though some of my friends said, they applied for it early, they got their 1st choice. Some said they applied late, manage to get their 1st choice. Though there are more belonging in the former group than the latter.

I don't remember exactly how long it was for the e-COE to be produced (IDP did it for me), but I do remember it was fast. Like, less-than-a-week fast. (IDP claimed that they can get the e-COE real fast)

I remember that you can already apply for accommodation now, but you won't be offered a place to stay until you have accepted the ANU offer.

hannah247
24-04-2010, 10:46 PM
I've heard stories about people waiting for the clock to turn 12am. Not surprising though. Some residential college are obviously more preferable than others.

Though some of my friends said, they applied for it early, they got their 1st choice. Some said they applied late, manage to get their 1st choice. Though there are more belonging in the former group than the latter.

I don't remember exactly how long it was for the e-COE to be produced (IDP did it for me), but I do remember it was fast. Like, less-than-a-week fast. (IDP claimed that they can get the e-COE real fast)

I remember that you can already apply for accommodation now, but you won't be offered a place to stay until you have accepted the ANU offer.

is it true that I can apply now wihout accepting the offer first? cuz im worried that i may not get on-campus accommodation if i apply late.. worried

adele123
24-04-2010, 10:53 PM
Yes, can register for it, on the 27th. It should open at 10pm, on the 26th malaysian time. Not sure if the registration really open on time. Normally it does =D

Anyway, ALL new undergraduate student are guaranteed on-campus accommodation provided you apply before the closing date. It's a matter of whether you will get the one that you want. Thus, don't need to worry.

btys
25-04-2010, 05:50 PM
just apply your accommodation while waiting for your ecoe. it's safer. this year's feb intake saw a real intense competition for accommodation. more than 200 ppl can't get on-campus (including fenner).

being the 1st or last doesnt really affect you getting chosen or not (i applied sometime in oct last year for bruce but i didnt get it. got 2nd choice johns though). but it's always to be early than late =)

hannah247
25-04-2010, 09:33 PM
just apply your accommodation while waiting for your ecoe. it's safer. this year's feb intake saw a real intense competition for accommodation. more than 200 ppl can't get on-campus (including fenner).

being the 1st or last doesnt really affect you getting chosen or not (i applied sometime in oct last year for bruce but i didnt get it. got 2nd choice johns though). but it's always to be early than late =)

how many halls of residence are there in ANU?

adele123
25-04-2010, 09:37 PM
catered: 4 (bruce, burgmann, john, ursula)
self-catered: 3 (Burton & garran, fenner, unilodge)

You can get to know more from the accommodation website of anu, or you can post your questions here. As to which to choose, depends on your budget and distance between where you stay and where you go for classes

missyrainy
25-04-2010, 11:26 PM
do you mean that we can apply for accommodation before accepting offer? so what if we decided not to go ANU in the end?

adele123
26-04-2010, 12:14 AM
1) Yes, you can apply for accommodation before accepting the offer. Eventually, you will realise in the ANU handbook and also the accommodation website, they do advise students to apply for accommodation even before accepting the offer.

2) Students are only given the accommodation offer AFTER they have accepted the offer given by the university. I believe, you can see why your 2nd question doesn't really matter in this case.

missyrainy
26-04-2010, 12:25 AM
thank you for clearing my doubts. appreciate it lots! :D

lowxuan
26-04-2010, 09:31 AM
Can i noe which hall is near to engineering fac? except bruce hall?

adele123
26-04-2010, 04:47 PM
B & G is near enough to the places where most engineering classes will be held.

If you have a bicycle, distance problem will be solved, wherever you stay. Not sure about Fenner, since it is off campus.

B & G is probably the best choice. Self-catered, cheapest, on-campus. Though that would mean many people are aiming for it as well.

hannah247
26-04-2010, 05:50 PM
catered: 4 (bruce, burgmann, john, ursula)
self-catered: 3 (Burton & garran, fenner, unilodge)

You can get to know more from the accommodation website of anu, or you can post your questions here. As to which to choose, depends on your budget and distance between where you stay and where you go for classes

As for Actuarial Studies, which hall is near by?
and which hall are you staying now?

cows
26-04-2010, 05:58 PM
Can I know which hall is convenient for a Bachelor of Commerce student?

adele123
26-04-2010, 06:20 PM
If budget is not too big of a concern, UniLodge is the closest. I walk to tutorial classes, in less than 2 minutes. Main lecture theatre is at most 4 minutes away. It is that near.

UniLodge is slightly different from other residential hall, thus, it's more expensive.

cows
26-04-2010, 06:40 PM
If budget is not too big of a concern, UniLodge is the closest. I walk to tutorial classes, in less than 2 minutes. Main lecture theatre is at most 4 minutes away. It is that near.

UniLodge is slightly different from other residential hall, thus, it's more expensive.

Thanks!
Other than UniLodge, are my nearest options Bruce, Burton n Garan and Toad?

adele123
26-04-2010, 06:46 PM
Toad is only for postgraduate students.

Yes, after UniLodge, other nearest options will be Bruce and B & G, but they are many times further away. Then again, if you have a bicycle, your distance problem just got 10 times smaller. You will get used to the walking. Though I believe saving time is important too.

cfliang
06-05-2010, 11:41 AM
B & G is near enough to the places where most engineering classes will be held.

If you have a bicycle, distance problem will be solved, wherever you stay. Not sure about Fenner, since it is off campus.

B & G is probably the best choice. Self-catered, cheapest, on-campus. Though that would mean many people are aiming for it as well.

Do self-catered students cook their meals everyday? Does self-catering save much money compared to catered services?

adele123
06-05-2010, 09:36 PM
I have met self-catered students who don't cook... Haha, someone in my group presentation told me that...

Anyway, yes, if you cook yourself, you will save more money. Though of course cooking means you need to allocate time to cook. Frankly, it doesn't take that much time to cook.

I live in self-catered hall. I don't cook every day (cook more, keep fore another day), but I don't eat out either. Save alot.

kaiyi
25-05-2010, 05:03 PM
I am going to ANU this coming July (just paid the international student deposit). anyone is going? *worry about financial problems as she havent obtain JPA sponsorship*

is it easy to get a part time job in Canberra? How much can i earn in Canberra? is it enough to cover my living expenses?

adele123
25-05-2010, 11:28 PM
1) Don't know whether it's easy to get a job in Canberra, but it's not impossible

2) There's minimum wage rule... Anyway, in Canberra, if the pay is < $15 per hour, it's low. $17 per hour is okay. > $20 per hour, is pretty good. I hope u get the picture.

3) it should be enough to cover most of your expenses. No worries, I don't go to the cinema either... (trying to say, entertainment has to be forego)

kaiyi
03-06-2010, 08:23 PM
pre-depature briefing of ANU will be held on 13 June...anyone is going?
medical check-up, visa, air tickets, transport, all need $$$

adele123
03-06-2010, 09:59 PM
The pre-departure briefing is helpful but not necessary... they do give useful handouts to students during the briefing. Thankfully, the handouts are available on ANU website. If you can't make it to the pre-departure briefing, it's actually okay =D

Of course, the actually useful part of the briefing is the Q & A session... again, no worries... I'll try my best to help...

my suggestion: attend it if you have the time. if not, it's no big deal =D

Cheers

yiling
11-02-2011, 09:04 PM
Hi! ANU has been my dream school all along =)
Is it hard to get admission into ANU? I heard that its a very tough competition to get into it especially law or actuarial science. Can someone enlighten me? =(
I've just completed SPM last year, planning to join form 6, still undecided which course to choose =)

11-02-2011, 10:32 PM
Is it hard to get admission into ANU? I heard that its a very tough competition to get into it especially law or actuarial science. Can someone enlighten me? =(
I've just completed SPM last year, planning to join form 6, still undecided which course to choose =)

The difficulty to get admission to ANU differs according to its courses. But all courses do need you to put in some decent effort to get a favourable score. Since ANU is quite popular for Law and Actuarial Science, their requirements are pretty high (do take note that 'popular' does not necessarily mean 'best').

Here's a link to the 2011 international undergraduates minimum cut-off scores. STPM requirement is in the first column of International Qualifications.
http://info.anu.edu.au/studyat/assets/International_Office/pdf/intadmissions11.pdf
If you need help in interpreting the table I'd be glad to help.

11-02-2011, 11:28 PM

Actuarial Science, aim for Macquarie University instead! :) Good luck with that!

adele123
12-02-2011, 07:20 PM
For actuarial, the requirement is high, though i have the feeling as long as the requirement has been met, it doesn't seem so hard to gain admission to ANU.

ANU is popular for law and ANU is real strong in economics, considering the fact that ppl who make important decisions in ANU, is/was doing research in the school of economics, and they set the standard real high in economics.

as for actuarial, put it this way, there are only 4 uni in aussie recognized by Institute Actuaries of Australia, so, not much competition in the first place. Though macquarie it seems is the better choice for actuarial, though the least famous (to malaysians) of the 4 uni that offers actuarial, i think.

I would say admission to ANU is not that hard... generally, i feel it's not that hard for most aussie uni's anyway, PROVIDED you fulfill the min requirements.

yiling
13-02-2011, 09:50 PM
thanks for the prompt reply!
I thought it was hard at first because out of so many JPA scholars, only less than 10 got admission to ANU (if not mistaken, heard this from my friend). Thanks for the encouragement! Have to study hard for stpm! XD
btw, what's advanced maths? STPM maths T= advanced maths?

14-02-2011, 02:07 AM
thanks for the prompt reply!
I thought it was hard at first because out of so many JPA scholars, only less than 10 got admission to ANU (if not mistaken, heard this from my friend).

I applied for several unis in Australia (including ANU) and received offers from all of them, but JPA wanted me to go to UNSW. There is a possibility that JPA has quota for the number of scholars in each uni, so that could be the reason less than 10 got admission to ANU. But my point is, although ANU is undoubtedly one of the top universities it's generally not very hard to gain admission there as long as you put in good effort. But then again, minimum requirements differ based on popularity and difficulty of the courses themselves. Nevertheless, just try your best :)

zeeyang
14-02-2011, 08:52 PM
How is the teaching quality of undergraduate mechanical engineering in ANU? I know ANU is good for research but.. allow me to say, i believe ANU isn't that well known for it's undergraduate teaching.:P

I am now aiming for engineering degree specializing in R&D offered only by ANU in Australia. And they ask for ATAR of above 99 what the heck. :amazed Is anyone taking this particular course in ANU?

yiling
14-02-2011, 11:05 PM
I also noticed that! ATAR 99 :O
The requirement for the courses varies from different pre-u. For instance, the course u mentioned asks for best 4 subjects for STPM. That's means i can easily enter by getting A-A-BB. But SAM students need to hit ATAR 99. It's easier for STPM students to achieve that but not SAM students.

15-02-2011, 01:39 PM
I also noticed that! ATAR 99 :O
The requirement for the courses varies from different pre-u. For instance, the course u mentioned asks for best 4 subjects for STPM. That's means i can easily enter by getting A-A-BB. But SAM students need to hit ATAR 99. It's easier for STPM students to achieve that but not SAM students.

ATAR 99 is not impossible to be attained though. SAM and STPM are totally different playground altogether, hence could not be compared at the same level of judgment. STPM is so much harder than SAM, and if you study hard enough in SAM, you can easily hit ATAR 99 and above; but for STPM, you have to study almost 2-3 times harder to get straight As, or maybe AABB. Hence AABB seems to be on par with ATAR 99, in terms of difficulty of achieving it.

16-02-2011, 12:49 AM
ATAR 99 is not impossible to be attained though. SAM and STPM are totally different playground altogether, hence could not be compared at the same level of judgment. STPM is so much harder than SAM, and if you study hard enough in SAM, you can easily hit ATAR 99 and above; but for STPM, you have to study almost 2-3 times harder to get straight As, or maybe AABB. Hence AABB seems to be on par with ATAR 99, in terms of difficulty of achieving it.

I wouldn't say it's easy to hit ATAR 99 and above (but I'm not saying STPM is not hard too) as the internal assessment (50% of total score) requires more than just studying. For some universitites, the ATAR requirement might be higher due to more applicants using Australian exams results compared to those using STPM result. They prefer to balance the ratio of nationality of students.

yiling
22-04-2011, 03:33 PM
I see ANU offers lots of combined degree program and i'm really interested in it. but it is tough to do two major? is it considered double degree?

adele123
22-04-2011, 05:09 PM
two majors and two degrees is not the same thing...

Not to explain too much, it's neither more or less difficult (doing double degree or double major)...

For double major students, they have less electives and less flexibility in doing something different, like a science student wanting to learn Spanish.

Then again, I'm studying actuarial, single major, but even less electives than some who are doing double major. =)

For double degree students, depending on the double degree combination, if both the degrees are under the same faculty, you actually have more flexibility, and in certain case easier. If say, one takes science and business double degree, then MAYBE not so much electives, then again, depends on which science degree and which business degree specifically.

yiling
22-04-2011, 06:53 PM
how about bachelor of actuarial studies/bachelor of commerce? Both are under the same faculty, means i wont have much trouble coping with both? this is double degree right?

double major is for example a law student takes spanish as another major? Something like this? and i heard that ANU students can take elective subjects. Elective subject = another major? Sorry for asking so much.

adele123
22-04-2011, 11:31 PM
if say you are doing b.comm and b.actuarial... yes same faculty, abit more electives... trouble coping or not, depends how you deal with the subjects... double degree doesn't mean more trouble... does mean higher cost =)

Example, Bachelor of Science... they dont just study science in general... they have majors... From chemistry, physics to biology, zoology, botany, and mathematics... each discipline constitute to one major. Double major would example be like chemistry and physics together.

Electives are non-compulsory subjects. You go to uni, you take 4 subjects in one sem, doesn't mean all 4 are compulsory. so you get electives.

Trayan
25-06-2011, 12:53 PM
Hi everyone, I'll be going to ANU in July and facing problems with accommodation. Wondering if you might know of anyone interested in breaking their studio lease with Unilodge? Thanks!

adele123
25-06-2011, 03:54 PM
lol? why are you having a problem? ANU guarantees accommodation to new students. you can always contact unilodge and see what happens.

Nic0le93
05-02-2012, 08:05 PM
Hi, I'm an UEC leaver with 6A1 (Chinese, BM, English, Maths 1, MAths 2, Chemistry), 1 B3 (biology) and 1 C7 (physics) and i wanna ask if i could b offered scholarship if i enrol in the bachelor of commerce(major in accounting) and if i complete my degree will i be able to get exemptions for ACCA? TQVM ^___^

adele123
10-03-2012, 02:09 PM
scholarship from anu, very very very hard, so don't count on it

You should be able to get exemptions from ACCA considering that ANU accounting is recognized (i'm not sure since i don't study accounting)

In the case of CPA, the degree in ANU does sort of get you through the first step of achieving CPA status