View Full Version : Kolej Yayasan UEM
corn2head
13-06-2004, 05:52 PM
I'll be going to KYUEM this july but i coudln't get any info about the college tru the net.. I really need help here.. what is it like there and how's the place there... I'm really blurr!!
LePip
13-06-2004, 06:02 PM
Kolej Yayasan UEM used to be called kolej melayu yayasan saad, that's why you probably couldn't find much. search for Kolej melayu yayasan saad (KMYS) and you should find more, i remember some stuff written by ex-students bout the place.
from what i hear, the place is top-notch. the only drawback (for ppl who like freedom) is that its secluded in Lembah Beringin.. all the peace you need to study a levels..... and from what i've read, you stay in a chalet, four SINGLE rooms with AIR-CON... and one computer shared among these four ppl in the chalet.. plus, something like lecturers stay really close.. you can expect every single sports facility too...
knkh_87
13-06-2004, 08:57 PM
corn2head, are you going there on the JPA scholarship? Coz I will being going there too this july, so will npang. Which course will you be pursuing there?
Anyway, LePip is right. The only setback is that the place is really secluded. If you do not have a car, you virtually can't go anywhere. When I checked the college out that day, it looked nice and very well-equipped. But I have heard that only the halls in the chalets are air-conditioned, whilst the four individual rooms aren't.
13-06-2004, 09:57 PM
corn2head, I believe you get UK Medicine? Congrats!
Even you have a car, I don't think you are allowed to go out.
corn2head
17-06-2004, 10:00 PM
Tanx chenchow... Actually i'm going to kyuem to do my a levels under petronas. taking up accountancy..
Just a ques.. how long is the a levels program at kyuem??
And is it true that an accountancy degree from france is not certified by the ACCA and MICA?? But why is petronas sending some scholars there?
17-06-2004, 10:09 PM
Kolej Yayasan UEM used to be called kolej melayu yayasan saad, that's why you probably couldn't find much. search for Kolej melayu yayasan saad (KMYS) and you should find more, i remember some stuff written by ex-students bout the place.
u are partly wrong.
its kolej matrikulasi yayasan saad. There is no such thing as kolej melayu yayasan saad.
There is only one kolej melayu and that is in kuala kangsar.
LePip
18-06-2004, 05:38 AM
oops, yea sorry, my mistake, it used to be called kolej matrikulasi yayasan saad... i think they even changed it to kolej matrikulasi yayasan satu once right? but i could be wrong again..
nvm, just important to know it's called kolej yayasan UEM now =}
pamlee
28-06-2004, 09:40 PM
Guess what? :D I'll be going to this college in July too. Just left Singapore (ASEAN) last month. Like you, corn2head, i'm to read accountancy/economics/business in UK after my A levels in Kolej Yayasan UEM under petronas scholarship. A few of my friends who were offered JPA for medic UK are also comin' to this college. Boy, am i excited! Heard tat we'll be studying 2 years in the college.
29-06-2004, 11:54 AM
pamlee, Congrats for getting Petronas Scholarships~!
Hope that you guys would enjoy studying there~!
Guess you should be interested in business-related stuff...Join the SIG for Business and you can share your thoughts and discuss with fellow ReComers about it~!
coolster1
01-07-2004, 06:04 PM
Because I used to be in ur shoes :P
I'm a student in KYUEM, formerly known as Kolej Matrikulasi Yayasan Satu, formerly known as Kolej Matrikulasi Yayasan Saad.. There's a whole history behind the two name changes in the college's short history, but let's save that for later..
Come this 13th July, our batch will be the seniors welcoming some 200+ new students into KYUEM.. Yup, I agree that it's kinda hard to find info abt our college, mainly because we still haven't got a fully functioning website yet :( That's one of the few grouses we have abt this place..
For the incoming juniors, KYUEM is basically a leading private college in Malaysia which isn't really as popular as Taylors or Sunway but nevertheless sends more than 90% of its students to top UK universities i.e. Cambridge, Oxford, LSE, Imperial College, etc.. One of our previous seniors got the highest Biology marks in the world so you should be prepared for some fierce competition in terms of academic results.. If you're used to be being the best student, etc. in your previous school, never make the assumption that you're still the best because you'll find almost every best student from around the country becoming your new classmates.. 90% of students are scholarship holders so be prepared to work your butt off :P
Curriculum : 2-yr Cambridge (CIE) A-Levels.. Considerably longer than some 18-mths courses in Taylors or Sunway, but most sponsors send their students for 2-yr preparation courses for entry to top UK universities.. Application to universities in US, Aus, NZ, etc. are rare @<hidden> non-existent.. I advise you do a little bit of research on what A-Levels are all abt (e.g. difference between AS and A2) and what combination of subjects will you need to meet most entry requirements for your future degree courses in UK.. You can freely choose which A-Level subjects you would want to take.. Classes in KYUEM are small.. The largest would be 20 students per teacher, the smallest would be 3 students :P
Accomodation : 4 students per chalet.. Each has 4 individual rooms, 2 toilets and 1 air-conditioned common room, equipped with an Internet-enabled computer.. Male and female chalet areas are separated by a football field.. Chalets are divided into houses, not unlike the system used in schools.. Inter-house competitions are aplenty..
Food : 3 meals served daily at the Dining Hall.. Not unlike SBP-style food service using multi-compartment dining trays but there are a few staff on hand to serve the food and make sure you don't take more than your share :P Wednesday is when Western breakfast and dinner is served :) There's also a cafeteria should you choose to be picky :P
Sports : Multipurpose Hall (MPH) has facilities for every sport imaginable; badminton, table tennis, squash, basketball, tennis, netball, volleyball, chess, etc.. There's an Olympic size swimming pool that's under maintenance and hopefully would reopen by July..
Clubs : Too many to mention.. There'll be a sports, clubs and societies registration day so knock yourselves out..
This is basically what you would need to know about living in KYUEM.. If you have any doubts, you can refer to Student Services or any seniors.. Remember to make your seniors your friends.. hehehe.. It'll make your life a whole lot easier.. There'll be a one-week induction for juniors where you'll learn a lot more abt KYUEM..
Welcome to KYUEM :)
onehaz
01-07-2004, 07:38 PM
http://secretaryman.blogspot.com
the closest thing you'll get to a KYUEM website. :D
And like coolster1 said, remember to make your seniors your friends. hehe.
pamlee
01-07-2004, 09:18 PM
We'll be staying in chalets? That's absolutely cool! I can't wait 2 get there! Thanks 2 coolster1 and onehaz for sharing much needed information bout the college. ... :D
JustB
01-07-2004, 09:27 PM
dear pamlee, (n all future KYUEMsians)
congratz n nice meeting u! u r the 1st junior that i know who's doin exactly what im doin... well, to be precise, economics under petronas in KYUEM..
from my own experience, i can assure u that good A-levels grade at maths+econs+one traditional (heavy, boring, difficult) subject eg history/sociology/pure sciences/further maths will definitely reward u with a place in most, if not all top universities in the UK. Do not feel tempted to take up accounting as an A2 subject tho, no matter how important or helpful u may perceive it to be. (u'll need loads of counselling & research on this matter). nevertheless, u can still opt for accounting as a course in the UK.
and i can assure u that petronas scholars are among the coolest, liveliest and most pro-active students in KYUEM (no offence, JPA, BNM frens =P) right, coolster, onehaz?? ;)
well, find out more for urself about being a 'pet' student, a KYUEMsian.. etc.. we'll be here to guide u =)
hey all.. i'll be going in KYUEM on the 13 this month.. i've been studying in perth for the past 6 to 7 months..though sad..i'm excited to soon be studying in this college that so many have spoken well about.
i would like to find out more on the conditions of the chalet.. do u think a webcam would be allowed for the computer in the chalet.. are messengers even allowed.. will i be allowed to bring my notebook there as well.. :?: :?: .. only know very little bout this college.. the accomodation seems to be rather strict..
are they any music clubs there?.. well i guess i've asked enough.. just feeling rather unsure about this JPA scholarship i got to study there then read architecture in UK..
would be very much appreciate if someone could enlighten me on the chalets..and computers.. thanks a lot .
regards,
Nath
02-07-2004, 06:47 PM
Nath, I am not from KYUEM, but I would say that the education, facilities and experience there should be top-notch. Congrats for getting JPA to UK for architecture!!!
quastar
02-07-2004, 08:43 PM
So many people asking about this jungle college, err.. I mean very nice college.
Well Nath, you can bring your laptop, camcoder, even radio if u want to. But preferebly not on your first day here. Like they say, veni, vidi, vici. TV and refrigerator are not allowed, though.Can use MSN messenger, but wait until you see our internet connection, especially if you're a guy...
We do have music club, just establish some time ago. About the equipment, kinda new. Be warned; the demand for it is quite high.
Well, thanks to our dear coolster1c for explaining things... and onehaz as well. They both are among the important people in college. good thing if you can be their pet bro/sis. *hint* *hint* Hahaha.
Anyway, if you love cycling, and have a bicycle, bring it in. Lembah Beringin have some fantastic scenery and good hills to climb on. Hopefully the long awaited Cycling Club will materialised with the incoming of new juniors...
arisa
02-07-2004, 09:13 PM
yup...a music club exists in kyuem...and it's pretty active too. we had awesome stuff like trips and shows...we had battle of the bands, we went to the incubus concert, etc. ...and i bet there's more to come. :D
we have our own music room, but unfortunately it's not really big...maybe big enough for people to breathe in 8) , but the room has basic instruments...guitars, a drum set, violins, a keyboard...you can basically go there anytime but during academic hours and after 10.30pm...
oh. we also have the 'house' system...there are 4 houses, sapphire (the best one :D), garnet, diamond, and topaz. it's something like what u get in harry potter, but without prefects. :roll: usually competitions such as the inter-house stuff, or the cycling tournament, or whatever are competitions against houses. so it's no more rumah hijau, biru, merah, and kuning... :p
btw, welcome to kyuem! :lol:
pamlee
03-07-2004, 09:46 AM
:wink: Wow, KYUEM's really looks like a resort to me! Wif green dales nearby to explore and climb? That'll be exciting! I wonder if there're any shops nearby. Like... is there a stationery shop near the college? 8) So that i need not bring every single stationery there.
coolster1
03-07-2004, 11:19 AM
More like a jungle resort, if you ask me :P
The only shop you'll find is our co-op shop, dotCo which opens at 10pm-11.30pm.. Sometimes they don't open at all, so if I were you, I'd bring the whole house along with me to KYUEM.. The nearest shop you'll find outside KYUEM is quite far, unless you're willing to cycle :)
wild_card_my
03-07-2004, 06:02 PM
oops, yea sorry, my mistake, it used to be called kolej matrikulasi yayasan saad... i think they even changed it to kolej matrikulasi yayasan satu once right? but i could be wrong again..
nvm, just important to know it's called kolej yayasan UEM now =}
My dad said they change the name frquently, for a college.
Changes in the helm he said...
Last time it was headed by some guy with Saad in his name, thus the Saad name in the college's name. Now it is owned by UEP... i think that one's a duh~ right?
corn2head
04-07-2004, 11:40 AM
Tanx guys for the info bout the college.. i'm going there under petronas doing alevels for accountancy!!! sounds fantastic!! hope it's like what i imagine!! hehehe.. tanx again!! 8O
onehaz
04-07-2004, 08:16 PM
Well fascilitated KYUEM is.
A resort (jungle or otherwise) it is not.
Be forewarned, dear pamlee, Nath, corn2head and other future juniors.
KYUEM is not without its limitations and deficiencies. I'm sure quastar, coolster1, arisa and justb would agree.
So don't have too rosy a view of the place.
But it is good to be optimistic, no? heh :)
KYUEM is a place where there is abundant oppurtunities to challenge and improve yourself. The only catch is, all of these things require some form of self-motivation. Nobody will force you to do anything. You volunteer. You choose.
You can get a million things from two years in the college. Or you could just get the basic CIE A-level certificate. Again, it's your choice.
My advice? Make lots of friends, try to get to know everyone by name. (its not that hard for a population of roughly 400. Teachers included.) Join clubs, represent your house in activities. Volunteer for community services. Try out new things. Most importantly, participate. Be pro-active. Do the things you love, and love the things you do. :D
And to elaborate on coolster1's note on DotCo (your ONLY neighbourhood sundry shop), the reason it's not open sometimes is because there isn't anything to sell. We try our best to restock the items once a week and that depends on the availability of college transport.
Which goes to show how isolated the college is. At least theoretically, that's conducive for studying, right ? :)
In any case, we'll see you during induction week. Have fun packing! :D
thanks guys for replying and giving more information bout KYUEM..
(btw..have a feeling that onehaz is the secretaryman in the blogspot.. might be wrong..)..
i called up the college this morning to ask about the chalets and the holidays.:P.. (for planning purposes....really.) i spoke to a malay lady ..(didn't get her name though).. and she said students are to go home ..( i assume that means not staying in the chalet) during hols.. hmm think that's going to be a prob for me since i'm staying in labuan .. what's this bout guys?..
well feeling rather excited too be a part of this seemingly wonderful legacy .. can't wait to start..:).. see u guys there.
deaf-knee
06-07-2004, 07:38 PM
he is! he is! :lol:
coolness..
a question on books and necessary stationaries.. do we need to get any books beforehand?.. what about stationaries.. would notebook be better or exampads?..or is it up to own preference?.. and is graphic calculator allowed?.
looking foward to KYUEM..
cheers
diey-yana
07-07-2004, 07:18 PM
hey....thanks for all the information...well i'll be there too...i'm doing accountancy under petronas scholar... :) ...from wat i read and i hear..it seems like the college is so great...can't wait to be there...
well...thanks.. :wink:
ellopz
hai,very interesting......seems that juniors are very keen in knowing ur college........ok let me brief u all a bit, but i think my fellow college mate
"coolster" had explained a bit to u all.........
ok lets start.......i am a topazian...u must be wondering wut does topazian means.....ok do u watch harry potter....like harry potter, students in ur college are divided into four houses namely topaz, garnet, sapphire, and diamond.
unfortunately u can't choose to be in any, instead u'll be selected randomly upon ur registration to ur respective chalet.....so i advise u all not too plan anything with ur friend regarding this matter......it's ur destiny just like harry potter.....and fot ur information TOPAZ is the most coolest and "Rawk" house in college....hehehehhe...sorry my fellow collegemate.
wut else......hmmmmm......the resource centre i.e libarary is damn cun......i think u can get any good reference book there...dun worri too much bout reference book...u just come ere first and leave the rest to us.....just make sure that u are very close to seniors.....dun afraid to be called suck up.......hahaha
if u hav any problems plz go to student services or meet members of theStudent Council or any seniors...dun wori they'll help u all.the most important thing is find me in KYUEM........hahahahahahha
faez_ridzal
07-07-2004, 10:56 PM
Heya all!
Can't help but to notice the amount of KYUEMans that have already come in to give plentiful help to the would-be juniors of batch 2004/2006 huh? Well, reading all the inquiries answered, I have little left to answer...
Well, the formal name is now Kolej Yayasan UEM, before this it was KMYS (Kolej Matrikulasi Yayasan Satu) and before that, KMYS (Kolej Matrikulasi Yayasan Saad) too...
One thing for sure, don't expect too much out of the 0.75 hp aircon and the 4 rooms, it's basically enough for you to sleep in and move about, although I'd appreciate it anytime coz you guys will have two showers in a chalet (no more rushing off to some communal bathroom!) AND PRIVACY!
KYUEM students are specifically UK-bound. Nobody goes off to NZ or to the US from our college. We are under the Cambridge International Examinations Board (CIE), doing 4 semesters instead of the usual 3. But it's all worth the 4 semesters. In fact, now stepping into my senior year; I'm glad it's 4 sems than 3!
But one thing I'm definitely proud of the college is the amount of people that you need have your eyes on. These people are undoubtedly will be the most prominent figures in a few years time. Your classmates might be the next Prime Minister, CEO of some consortium, talented artists, or even Nobel Prize winners. I'm not kidding, with these kind of talents crammed into a college in the VERDANT OUTLAND :wink: as onehaz has mentioned, make friends with everybody. The years won't last forever, and I bet these people are going to be your best buddies ever. Not forgetting to mention that our college has 5 out of around 17 people that is going to Cambridge this year! That's almost 30%! Bottom line is, you study hard here, play hard here; you make friends, join activities and events, live up the prestige of being a KYUEMan.
Can't deny Petronas scholars are the best, in my opinion. Sorry to say, but Petronas scholars have the dynamics; we have the crazy ones, the brainy one, the leading ones, the popular ones all under Petronas' belt in KYUEM. Our Student Council president is a Pet scholar, onehaz, quastar, coolster1 are Pet scholars, and so am I! The proportion is pretty slim though, with the majority (almost 50%) are JPA scholars this year (2004/2006 intake).
Don't worry about computers. U'll get a really good internet connection. On a good day u'll get around 250 KB/s, thats around 6x faster than streamyx (42KB/s on the 384kbps line). Don't worry, you'll get your normal MSN fix. Webcam is not supported due to the firewall constraints, but just bring em, the seniors have something in plan... find me :)
Oh yeah, the music club is quite active, we have two Bullet Strats, one Ibanez bass + amp, two Fender Valvestate 2000 amps, a humble zoom pedal, 2 stompboxes, one poly-keyboard, Fender PA system, drumset, violins, etc... enough to set up a fusion rock band. You can bring your own musical instrument, but grab them only after u have settled in for a week or two. Well, I'm bringing my Fender Stratocaster American Deluxe 1995 this 12th July and nobody gonna make a big deal out of it... ;)
It has great facilities too. Don't worry about that either. Our MPH is top notch, in fact only a few institutions to have such state-of-the-art flooring like ours. There are two squash courts to release your anger (great way to socialise with the teachers too!) and an Olympic sized swimming pool.
Stationery shops? No way. Just imagine a jungle with a golf course in the middle. Dig out some land beside the golf course and put a college there. That's KYUEM. Nevermind, the DotCo is around, and they sell stuff you would basically need. ESPECIALLY the maggi goreng. For stationery, I suggest you better stock up your erasers and pens. Bring a ream of A4 papers and also a USB thumbdrive, they come in handy.
You'll be surprised, for a student like me to do Maths, Further Maths, Physics, Computing (call me crazy, Psychology and CATS too) you won't need much file. All materials are mostly textbook-based; I keep myself organized with just a file for my Physics class and a multi-slit folder which you can organise.. :)
Well, there are 4 houses in KYUEM, it is randomly selected for applicants, and it's a great thing to be a member of any of the houses actually. As we all know, each houses have it's own identity. AND as xeon has mentioned, Topaz is the most happening one around (with all due respect to other houses!), and I'm proud to be a Topazian as well! Woohoo, Topaz rawk!
Well, good luck and welcome to all the juniors of 2004/2006! Make sure you say hi if you stumble upon us when you're there. The seniors won't eat you, right seniors?
08-07-2004, 05:36 AM
Faez_ridzal wrote:
But one thing I'm definitely proud of the college is the amount of people that you need have your eyes on. These people are undoubtedly will be the most prominent figures in a few years time. Your classmates might be the next Prime Minister, CEO of some consortium, talented artists, or even Nobel Prize winners. I'm not kidding, with these kind of talents crammed into a college in the VERDANT OUTLAND as onehaz has mentioned, make friends with everybody. The years won't last forever, and I bet these people are going to be your best buddies ever. Not forgetting to mention that our college has 5 out of around 17 people that is going to Cambridge this year! That's almost 30%! Bottom line is, you study hard here, play hard here; you make friends, join activities and events, live up the prestige of being a KYUEMan.
gee,isn't e'prepatory college in malaysia is deem to provide the next PM,nobel laureates or artisans?and what about the so-not-good-smart-super-duper human?
sorry,but u sound vain.it all boils down to you.regardless of the academia you gonna enroll,it shouldn't matter.join societies,hold positions.GUIDE PPL instead of leading ppl.study hard,top your class.get certain things done and yada yada yada..
Can't deny Petronas scholars are the best, in my opinion. Sorry to say, but Petronas scholars have the dynamics; we have the crazy ones, the brainy one, the leading ones, the popular ones all under Petronas' belt in KYUEM. Our Student Council president is a Pet scholar, onehaz, quastar, coolster1 are Pet scholars, and so am I! The proportion is pretty slim though, with the majority (almost 50%) are JPA scholars this year (2004/2006 intake).
well,all the 16 A's and 13 A1's that set record are fairly enough,JPA scholars.
i am not buying the fact that ESSO scholars or petron scholars are the best.i'm pretty sure,the highest cgpa holder in your future uni,might be a JPA scholar too.and so do someone who has the lowest cgpa.as a JPA scholar,i dont look up or down to other students from other board of sponsorship.
well,KYUEM is nice place to study.i have plenty of friends there.some like it,some dont.but at the end of day,it just another prepatory college.get straight A's in a-level and move on.life has to go on.
[/quote]
npang
08-07-2004, 05:40 AM
Yo guys, npang here, reporting in as a KYUEMian on 11 July...ecstatic i'm going, in the beginning pretty depressed I was about to be locked up in, I quote, "a jungle with a college hacked out within", reminds me of my terrible National Service experience...but our seniors have already won me over...now I feel enthusiastic about going...cheers, you guys are good marketing personnel.
Well, yeah, the reason why I'm here:
1) How's handphone reception? Digi, Celcom or Maxis? How's reception on campus grounds? Is there any spot where there is miraculously no reception, e.g. (shudder) certain bewitched chalets?
2) How's security/safety there? I mean, what is the crime rate?
3) Conservative or liberal place? (let me rephrase that) is the nightlife there existent? If there IS a nightlife, does it consist of:
Option a) Couples making out and lepakers teeming all over
b) People hanging out bantering lightly, no indecency here
c) Hordes charging for the best spots in the library, the common room, and the abovementioned hangout spots to MUG!!!
4) What is the food like? How many meals?
5) Sorry guys...but if anyone is inclined/bored/enthusiastic enough, could you write a brief diary entry on "A Day in the Life of a KYUEMian" and yeah include ALL the mundane details like all the background noises and ongoing fracases so we can start imagining life there before we sleep.
6) Oh ya...are handphones EVEN allowed in the 1st place? IF they are, what are the limitations?
7) How's teaching staff there? I hear they're all British. Yeeah.
8) How are church arrangements? For the record I'm roman Catholic but i'm not picky about the church i go.
9) What subject combinations available? For the record (again) I'm a JPA scholar, Medicine in UK, one of a lonely breed, so I guess...do you guys offer Chemistry, Physics, Maths and Law/Eng Lit for aspiring doctors? Do you SERIOUSLY have to take Bio? Coz my reasoning is that if I'm to be involved in medicine my whole life, i'll be reading Bio till my dying day, so might as well broaden my horizons now eh? Any one from KYUEM (Medicine-bound) who can help? I'm doing A-Levels now in Kota Kinabalu just to pass time and so you can use all the fancy exam terminology with me.
10) DO you guys have a student council/representative body? What do they do? How much power do they have? Is Secretaryman some hotshot in the council?
11) Nath aka Nathaniel Kang Enn Sin, HELLO!!!!! remember me? from Labuan last year?? Nice to bump into you again...it's a small world i guess...Law Jinn Khing told me you're going.
12) For everyone else, please ignore Post number 11, treat it as a dose of Greek profanity.
13) Just to end my post on an unlucky note, Thanks for your help guys!
My email nicholas4386@<hidden> in case anyone cares, ICQ# 3577123, handphone 016-8388464, please contact, it'd be great to have some company when I arrive...
faez_ridzal
08-07-2004, 09:01 AM
1) Full reception for all phone operators; no dark spots.
2) Security all-round. Crime, what crime? :)
3) Loose conservative. Do whatever you want but respect the community above all. Option B.
4) 3 times a day. Breakfast, lunch, dinner. Great menu!
5) No need imagining. Get here, we have prepared lots for you guys! Life is a rollercoaster, you just got to enjoy it! ;)
6) Handphones are allowed at all times, but those expat teachers won't like it if it rings inside the class. So put it on silent mode.
7) Half british half local. But all is cool.
8) There are sunday trips to the church in Tanjung Malim. Don't worry.
9) Definitely we're offering the subjects you mentioned and more. But most medics take the 4 subject combo, the usual triple science + maths. Students here just go for 3.5 or 4 subjects. Crazy ones are those taking 4.5 and above.
10) Of course we have a student council! Very influential.
08-07-2004, 09:11 AM
1) Full reception for all phone operators; no dark spots.
the last time i visited kmys, all receptions were only possible somewhere near a quadrangle or something. that was in 2001.
faez_ridzal
08-07-2004, 11:01 AM
__earth, they've worked the place out. Now with the TIME's cell transmitter just outside of the toll plaza under Maxis, they've much improved the quality of signals. I haven't heard people complain about not getting signals at all! :)
knkh_87
08-07-2004, 11:28 AM
Hope the seniors can help with a few of my doubts here:
i) I heard that there are Saturday classes at KYUEM. If this is true, what time do classes end on Saturday?
ii) For a student taking 4 subjects, what time do classes usually end?(on weekdays)
Thanks in advance.
hihihihihi
fantastic faez...u hav explained almost everything to the juniors...nothing's left to me dude.anyway i'm very glad dat ur juniors are very interestsd in knowing ur marvellous college.......dun wori to all juniors out there........i think ur 2 years ere will be the most interesting and fascinating time u ever dream.......i can't wait to see u guys.......and guess what i'll be incharge for the induction week...yeah......so try and find me.....hahaha
but juniors be warned that this is not a place dat u can do anything u want...u still have plenty of rules to be obeyed.......plz be aware of that.....
i am aware dat most of u have gone thru national service....so i guess most of u hav known each other even b4 the day of enrolment...but bear in mind, dun think dat if u hav so many sidekicks standing right beside awaiting 4 orders, u can ignore us as ur seniors.......if u are thinking of doin dat.....forget bout it man....
respect ur friends especially ur "beloved" seniors....believe me u'll be needing us like crazy to guide u......hahahaha.....but dun wori we are willing to elp u guys.......we dun expect u guys to call us "abang" or "kakak" just show ur respect.........
ok...i think dat's all 4 now......i would like to welcome u all to ur college...and more thing..believe me ur induction week will be damn tough.......i heard the seniors have my planned so many things for u guys....so be prepared....
ur friendly neigbourhood
xEoN
forever TOPAZIAN
duskknight
08-07-2004, 12:22 PM
Heh! Life is always full of surprise! u can never be too sure... like one of my fren said, 'we have the power to choose, as we decide our own life'
c'mon guys... the college can be all the great thing u guys wanna have, yet there are still some err... minor 'injuries'.... but that's the fun of it...
yupe soon-2-be juniors, we welcome u with all our hearts,...cmon join everything in the college, be part of it, as this prepares u before the more 'fluctuating' life in UK..heh... how hard can it be nway to be a student? ( 8O , erk!)
u can always have teachers as your guidance, yet seniors r much closer 2 u guys... rmmbr the chalet thingy? there are bout 8 chalets in one 'kampung'... probably, 4 chalets are the seniors'... so socialize!. support the community kay?
enjoy ur life in kyuem...(after the insane induction week..rite xeon? :twisted: )
fall like dusk, rise like dawn :D
faez_ridzal
08-07-2004, 12:29 PM
yeap, class on Saturday, but for a very good reason and the seniors are not complaing... I leave that reasoning for the headmaster to answer when you guys get here. ;)
we have the blocks system, the times from 8.30am to 4.10pm are divided into smaller chunks of 45 minutes or so. so if you have class in Block 5, attend it. If not, do whatever you want :). Break time is at 10.40am, and on saturday classes finish at 12.30pm. whether you take 3.5 or 4 subjects, it doesn't matter since you guys will be doing your AS anyway.
anymore questions? :)
LePip
08-07-2004, 04:08 PM
Hey there ppl of Kyuem... salutations to all the seniors of kyuem and big thanks from all the soon-to-be juniors for all the helpful insights of Kyuem... I'm also headed down there next week under BNM, and yep eager to see if Kyuem lives up too all this hype in Recom.. :)
Hey Nath, npang! good to see you two also headed down to Kyuem... we could set up an East Malaysian Legion...
okay, just wanted to ask a lil worry... i have a celcom intm 013 number... since its really rare...unlike maxis/digi... think i can get reasonable signal at Kyuem? any o you seniors have a 013?
kay, another thing.... does Kyuem have a pool table???
how bout LAN ports.... like... to plug in laptops... in case the other coms are occupied or something...
oh yea, and i think for classes students can't wear just anything right.... any seniors wanna give the lowdown on Kyuem fashion?
Don't worry seniors,you'll get our respect... we'll show ya in induction week....
08-07-2004, 04:20 PM
Respect can't be demanded. It must be earned. Anyway, have fun in your studies guys.
I have nothing to do with KYUEM. Just browsing the threads.
coolster1
08-07-2004, 05:33 PM
Well said, kelvinlym :)
Lots of people have 013 numbers here, and I'd like to reiterate.. there is no such thing as 'no signal' at KYUEM.. Unless you're in certain classrooms, where you're not supposed to bring in handphones in the 1st place :P
I don't believe there's a pool table though.. LAN ports are in every room but before we left for the holidays, there were plans on upgrading to a wireless network.. Have to wait and see.. If you want to bring your own PC/laptop into your room, you have to inform the warden and register for your own IP address at the IT Servicing Centre for a one-time fee of RM25.. You can also rent a network cable for RM1.. Well, at least law-abiding students would be following these guidelines :P
Dress code :
Academic hours - Smart casual. Boys : plain shirts, trousers, dark shoes, dark socks. Girls : baju kurung/kebarung, long skirts, blouses, trousers, court shoes.
Formal functions - Boys : Batik, baju melayu + sampin + songkok, long-sleeved plain shirt + tie. Girls : baju kurung/kebarung.
We have to wear our college uniform on Saturday.. I don't wanna spoil the surprise now.. Wait till you guys see it for yourselves ;)
Most of the things you wanna know will be explained in full detail in your Student Handbooks which you will receive on registration day.. So don't worry too much :)
quastar
09-07-2004, 12:47 PM
well, most that anyone want to know already been explained by my fellow soon-to-be-seniors, hahaha. So much for the hype. but none of us told you about the dark side of the story, rite?
Come here and see it for yourself. For me, everything is interesting here.
just some friendly reminder here: house-ism is not everything, and so do scholar-ism. even ex-school-ism will not bring good to you, and so do state-ism or race-ism. what matters is that to be friends with all, no exeptions, especially the seniors.
coolness guys..
can't wait to go...
o yea.. one more question.. i understand that studetns are not allowed on campus during the hols.. so wat do u guys do and go to anyway?.. how bout for ppl comign from east malaysia.. i've heard as well that there's a yayasan sabah place to stay for a small fee.. how's it like.. and when travelling from the airport to college and vice versa.. what's the best mode of transport?.. taxi?.. any buses..(this of coz goes for ppl who do not drive and have friends who r too far away to give us a lift)..
excited bout the music room.. :D ..
hm.. is doing both further maths and maths tough?.. anyone doing architecture next year here??.. just wondering bout the most suitable subjects for achitecture.. (fingers crossed).. hoping that history is not one of them.. and what's this about malaysian studies and moral ed?.. as well as the other compulsory subject..?
cheers seniors.. see u next week,
nath
hey nath.....
looks like u are the first architechture students ere in KYUEM......hehehhehe......none of the seniors are taking architechture......i think u are very lucky to be offered dat course...
yeah....my dear college mate is very right.....there is no such thing as house-ism, scholar-ism or state-ism ere......so plz be aware of that.once u are ere plz make sure dat u'll be friend with each and everyone of us becoz it would make ur life more interesting.
i guess u are from sabah rite nath...dun wori bout holidays..my chaletmate is also a sabahan.i dun know about yayasan sabah providing any places for u guys to stay during da holidays, but i think u can use da holidays to visit ur friend ere in the peninsular maa......it's the time to know ur country......u can travel to any part of malaysia coz ur friends come from various places in malaysia...so dun burden urself with that problem...i'm sure u can handle it when u arrive ere...unless u are not a friendly or a nice guy..then u take it seriously....hehehehe...just kidding.
bout how tough further mate can be......ohhhhhh very hard to answer.....according to my friends.....obviously further math is tougher than add math that we used to learn during SPM level....but dun wori if u reali wanna take further mate, the very excellence teachers ere are there to help and guide u...just ask them.....they'll be happy to answer any of ur question,
but dun be too ambitious...u are taking architechture...why do u bother to take further mate......du u need to study that subject...wuteva the answer is . i leave it to u to decide...hehehe
ok for now...remember my nick...and try to find me
proud to be KYUEM-ian
onehaz
09-07-2004, 11:28 PM
the suave faez_ridzal wrote :
2) Security all-round. Crime, what crime?
Now, now, don't lie to the kids. Cash, handphones (mine included), digicams, and the odd PDA (an XDA II at that) have been reported missing. So take good care of your valuables.
Thankfully, as far as I've heard, there have been no reported cases of anyone getting (severely) beaten up or killed. Within the college compound at least.
heh.
-----
phantom mentioned :
well,KYUEM is nice place to study.i have plenty of friends there.some like it,some dont.but at the end of day,it just another prepatory college.get straight A's in a-level and move on.life has to go on.
well said. very well said. 8) It's true, some students do think KYUEM is the pits. everything's relative afterall.
-----
Nath, worried about east malaysians?
Well, Nath, I'm from Sarawak and sometimes I go back, other times I stay with my friends in KL. You can arrange with the college for transport down to KLIA or to pick you up. Saves you a fortune on taxi fare.
-----
and finally, like coolster1 said, don't worry too much. :D
-H-Z-A-
10-07-2004, 09:14 AM
it's nice to see how some of my friends trying to explain to our incoming juniors about this beloved college of mine..hehe...
nath..i'm doing further maths..just started the course...if you plan to take further maths u have to bear in mind that u have to be consistently doing the revision...even the mathematics is a lot tougher than the SPM additional mathematics...just imagine how tough further maths is...ppl said it's a killer paper....but if u love maths why not take up the challenge..after all it depends on u.....i suggest u browse some of the UK universities website and check on their subject requirement..i don't think u need to do history... but just check it to make sure u r not doing the wrong choice :D anyway..good luck and hope you enjoy your 2 yrs stay there :D
faez_ridzal
10-07-2004, 10:26 AM
hehe, I can't even point a bad senior in KYUEM, all of them are nice, am I right? :)
nath, history is a killer paper, and i don't see any possibility of if you want to couple it with the already challenging further maths. it's like taking both extremes of a-level; even the students who are taking history DO NOT learn everything in the 2 year period, but instead are forced to study selectively for the A-level exam. that's how much the materials are for history.
for further maths, yeah, as my fellow -h-z-a- has mentioned, if you enjoy analytical problems you will like further maths. hey come on, which higher education are not challenging as you progress? :) further maths is stated as HIGHLY DESIRABLE in cambridge/oxford propectuses if you want to apply to them in engineering and comp sci. our college; 2 of the 5 who got into cambridge this year are aces of further maths.
and personally, (hopefully nobody whacks me up) i find further maths very interesting and fun too! you will learn new concepts that makes you go 'ooooooh'. :) you will have 3 ways of drawing your graph instead of the normal one; you will have the cartesian method (x,y), polar method (r,theta), and also the intrinsic method (s,theta), and all 3 have beautiful looking curves that make patterns, e.g. a 3-bladed fan, and also complex motions of loci (lokus in bm... :)). And if you enjoy solving problems, the maths in a-level is divided into pure and applied. if i write, i'd just bore ppl, so come to KYUEM, look for MR. B and say the password : 42
and let me tell you an interesting thing, guess how much you will need to score to get an A? 40/100! but don't worry, i was in form 6 before and i can safely say that :
ADD MATHS SPM < A-LEVEL MATHS < FORM 6 MATHS < A-LEVEL FURTHER < FORM 6 FURTHER.
p-h-a-r-t-j-o
10-07-2004, 09:49 PM
Hey there both seniors of KYUEM and juniors-to-be!
Fart queen just found out about this forum here. Looks like the snrs have been giving alotta briefings to the jnrs bout the do's don't what's where's and how's already eh?
Hm...those interested in music, yeah..we've got a pretty cool but rather small room. We've also upgraded our instruments- fixed a buzzing speaker and snaredrum besides buying a new trumpet in B and a flute. Trips are organised to watch rock bands perform. The B's ( yes..Mr and Mrs B ) organise trips to dewan philharmonik for performances as well(but not under the club). Tickets are priced at RM15 if i'm not mistaken. They manage the Sunday/Saturday church trips as well. There's both Catholic and Methodist there in Tg Malim.
Ah...speaking of Tg Malim, it's a town where you won't die in, neither will you thrive in! Snrs, any other thoughts?
p/s: KYUEM offers you many chances at many things. You either take them or you don't. Then again, no matter what kinda lifestyle you choose, make sure you're happiest with it(even though the going can get tough at times). :D
This is my last posting, going back to college on Sunday!
pamlee
10-07-2004, 09:58 PM
Whoa, is History really one of the most difficult subjects? Why, i was planning 2 take history all along. In my humble opinion, it's quite interesting for we get 2 know bout people and the past... well at least, for me lar.. :lol:
Does the college offer law as A level subject?
Yeah, i'll be at the college in 2 days time... well :D just can't help gettin' a little frustrated bout choosing my subject combi..
Guess i really need lotsa advice :wink:
Wif REGARDs
faez_ridzal
10-07-2004, 11:01 PM
heya pamlee,
I see that you're really interested in history! Just as much as I want to know about the Cold War, the Czars, the revolutions and ideologies that follow the what we coined modern history, it's really a lot of materials. Well, if you're interested you can try taking History AS Level instead of the full History A Level... the teachers will brief the students about it, so don't you worry!
And sorry, we don't have Law. It'll be interesting though, but somehow the college really don't think Law is something worth having at this point, and we lack teachers in that field as well.
so tell me pamlee, what course you will be taking, and under what sponsor?
guys..can't believe i'm leaving tomorrow for KL..and will be seeing KYUEM for the first time!!.. hehe excited to the MIAXX.. :P.
anyway .. seniors. THANKS a lot for all the information!.. it really has helped.. :D ..
well i guess i'll just leave the rest of the questions for myself to find out..
thanks again.:)
faez_ridzal
11-07-2004, 11:42 AM
haha, well it's okay to be excited, but don't be over-excited about the college, i'm sure all seniors, including me, in one way or another, are biased about their views...
true, hopefully you will like the college tomorrow and for the first week, you better bring your own deep heating cream/ointment. TRUST ME, that single thing will determine how you will walk for a month or so... hehe.
lastly, dont forget to look for us in the college! coolster1, onehaz, quastar, duskknight, phatjo, xeon and others are quiet prominent figures of the college. so, for all juniors: me on behalf of all seniors would like to wish you luck. see you there!
pamlee
11-07-2004, 12:17 PM
so tell me pamlee, what course you will be taking, and under what sponsor?
I'm takin' economics/accountancy/business under Petronas. Thanks a lot for ur advice,faez_ridzal. I appreciate tat. :)
faez_ridzal
11-07-2004, 04:58 PM
soo pamlee.. an econs student eh?
well, so far, most of the econs students I know have the following combination :
maths+econs+acc+history AS (3.5 subjects)
maths+econs+acc+computing (4.0 or 3.5)
so i guess there is chance for you to study history after all!
well, get that sleep now, and who knows in a few days time i'll be belanja-ing you a drink in the cafe huh?
cheers! hidup pet!
corn2head
11-07-2004, 07:25 PM
Hey all.. just finish packing my stuff!!! i think i've over packed!! just wondering how big is the room and the space in the chalet!! and how bout the cupboards in the room?? is there a store room to keep my luggage?? urm.. how bout the water pressure?? is there a table lamp in each room?? just wondering what to buy last minute!!
i just cant wait to be in kyuem!! sounds a lot of fun to be there!!!
diey-yana
11-07-2004, 08:04 PM
don't know why...but the truth is i kind of scared to be there....believe it or not...i haven't pack my stuff yet... :? :( :(
diey-yana
11-07-2004, 08:29 PM
hmmm...one ques...i've been wondering wat's the 3.5 and 4.0 (subjects) mean...sorry kind of blurrr :roll: :roll:
hehehe..another one...is it possible for me to take just 3 subjects...(combination of three)bcoz i've been planning to take accountancy+economics+maths...that's all 8O
faez_ridzal
11-07-2004, 08:54 PM
diey-yana, that's what i call anxiety. it either makes you feel scared or feel courageous, and it's not wrong either way. :) i felt the same way the first time too; but you will end up chatting till late nite to some really great chalet-mates, hopefully... :)
some tips to get over your fear, stockpile your handphone credits and have somebody to talk/sms with over the period. start with some seniors, or your best friends outside college, they can be really great company thru the first few days...
but heck, any prob, you can always seek me there okay? would love to help any juniors having probs tomorrow :)
corn2head, the room itself is not that big, so don't bring too much stuff at first; maybe in 2 weeks time you can start bringing the other stuff u want to bring to college.
to give some rough idea about the room, a cozy bed, a large cupboard, a study table and another rack already going to take up almost half of the room if your room isn't not properly arranged.
well, if you're space-concious and organised i'm very shure you can fit in an elephant inside your room. my friend brought his 30W amplifier to college, and I brought along my desktop computer with a bulky 17" monitor, my gibson ES guitar with its hard casing, tons and tons of books and still i can walk around pretty comfortably inside the room.
okay, the easier way to visualise it, imagine that you can grab everything in your room with just two huge steps from one spot to another. that's how small it is. :)
you'd be the one in KYUEM's history who is worried about the water pressure! haha, relax, water shortages happen once in two blue moons. :) table lamps are provided along with a table fan!
but the great trick is to sleep with the door open, you can let the aircon breeze in, really cozy.
faez_ridzal
12-07-2004, 01:56 PM
well, in a-level there are two types of qualification in your certificate, the A-Level or the AS-Level.
Basically AS-Level is like the middlepoint of a subject; and if you feel like you have enough of the subject, you can drop out right after u have completed your AS-Level. If you decide to continue on from your AS-Level, then it is said you are taking the A-Level.
An A-Level subject is counted as 1.0, while AS-Level counts as 0.5.
So when somebody comes up to you and tells you that she's taking 3.5 subjects, it actually means that she is taking 4 subject; 3 full A-Level and one AS-Level.
It's the norm here to take 3.5 minimum, why not computing? it really complements economists and accountants alike... :)
so diey-yana, you can try taking acc+econs+maths A-Level (1.0+1.0+1.0) and Computing AS-Level (0.5)
That will give you a secure 3.5.
Most UK universities look at 3 subjects plus a complementary subject. That's the reason why NOBODY takes only 3 here in KYUEM, although you can.
Besides, if some people are doing 4.5... why can't you do 3.5 right? Well, just get yourself here tomorrow and be briefed about it! :)
diey-yana
12-07-2004, 02:54 PM
thank u faez_ridzal... :) :) :wink: ...hope to see ya 2morrow. u'r under pet scholar rite????thanks a lot..
faez_ridzal
12-07-2004, 06:04 PM
sure thing diey-yana!
i'll be seeing you tomorrow as well, maybe during registration.. coz i have a big feeling some teacher will definitely pull me there to do some kind of clowning over there... i'll be wearing a maroon shirt tomorrow! *hint hint*
yeap, me is a petronas scholar definitely... if i have the time i'll just drop by when petronas gives u guys their briefing tomorrow...
any juniors who approaches me tomorrow get a free teh o ais limau from the cafe! i belanja! hehe ;)
DarkL1ghT
13-07-2004, 11:56 AM
oh my god! theres actually sumthin like this??? whoa!
diey-yana
18-07-2004, 06:12 PM
well..i'm already here...and it's great...eventhough the induction is a bit tough...but i enjoy it...there's lot of people names diana here...aiyaa...so boring... :roll: ...but me is me... :wink:
corn2head
19-07-2004, 05:49 PM
at last!! i'm here.. went tru a tough time of induction!! great place.. great seniors.. the place is just fantastic!! cant imagine me living in such luxury like this place... well just wondering.. what are the requirements for petro scholars to fly.. i heard from pn. kasthuri 2As and a B.. but some senior petro said you must get str8 As!!
just hoping live goes on well here!!
p/s: diy-yana please identify yourself!! having a tough time looking for you!! found nath and nicholas! heheh
diey-yana
20-07-2004, 01:45 PM
hey corn2head...hahaha..u know who am i rite????by the way who is pamlee????been wondering who is that particular person... :roll: :roll:
p/s:-class start today...and can't believe i already got a h/w... :wink:
pamlee
23-07-2004, 05:16 PM
Ha ha :lol: wondering who i am? Ok then, my sirname is Lee. I'm called Wen AI. Know me? Yeah there sure are lotsa 'diana's in here.... :D Wondering who u are, corn2head... Reveal urself
diey-yana
24-07-2004, 05:31 PM
hye...oh so actually pamlee is wen ai...well wen ai..i think we'r in the same class... :wink:
diey-yana
20-08-2004, 06:26 PM
At last....can't believe it...been here for the past 6 weeks...yeyeye...going back home...eventhough it's just 4 2 weeks...bye...bye...jungle college....
justme1407
18-06-2005, 05:56 PM
hello.. i'm a newcomer here..actually i wanna ask something regarding this college.. i got the jpa's scholarship to further my study in accounting uk..b4 dat..we have to do our a level here.. i mean in this college...can somebody advice me on subjects that i've to take for my a level..i'm confused n worried as the registration day is just around the corner.. n one more thing..is the dotco( a sundry shop in this college..if i'm not mistaken) open daily..should i bring all of my things here..n is it compulsory for all students to learn swimming.. :?: i think that's all for now.. really hope to get the answer as soon as possible..thankss so much..
merry_go_round
18-06-2005, 10:26 PM
whoa~ there's actually a thread contributed to KYUEM? Cool~
justme1407~ looks like we will be a college-mate soon~
yeah, I've got some Qs too.
1] do you need to wear collar shirt during the classes?
2] are we allowed to go back home once a week?
3] still thinking....
bryllo
19-06-2005, 08:20 AM
hello everyone! I'll register at kyuem on 12th July under yayasan tenaga nasional scholarship. Anyone on the same boat with me?
btw,merry_go_round which scholarship did u get and wat course r u doin'. I'll further my study in mechanical engineering after the a-levels.
merry_go_round
19-06-2005, 08:43 AM
@<hidden>
cool~ another one~
I got PNB and JPA. Both offered the same offer at the same place except pnb gives me more $$$$. So I guess I'm on PNB's boat.:twisted:
My choice of course is computer science. Hope to see you soon at KYUEM although we have different courses yea~ :wink:
bryllo
19-06-2005, 09:06 AM
PNB is rich.i heard u guys will get 580pounds when abroad. That's about RM4000..huh. I hope the living expenses in uk aren't that high.
Anyway,seniors at kyuem like diey-yana and pamlee, plz reply to this thread so the juniors could get more info.
merry_go_round
19-06-2005, 09:28 AM
I doubted that will be enough. The current living cost in UK is damn high~ I heard from my friend telling that his friend, even with scholarship money + his father's RM3000, still not enough. I guess we still need to study + work, to earn extra money...
yeah, where are our seniors? Come out! don't play hide and seek with us~ :evil:
Patrick
19-06-2005, 10:03 AM
You guys better watch out!
My friend is going there. He's kinda fat but is very friendly. An eloquent speaker. He's going to be really popular there. Make friends with him because you won't regret it.
By the way, his name is Amir Fareed, my ex-classmate. Really cool guy!
justme1407
19-06-2005, 03:34 PM
amir fareed?hope to meet him there..btw, may i know what course did he get?n also.. merry_go_round..i visited kyuem just now..
really cool but it's quite far from kl..huh..nway, i'm looking forward to meet u there..see u soon.. :D
pamlee
20-06-2005, 12:04 AM
A great big hello to our upcoming juniors.... well certainly not playin' hide n seek wif u. We've been really busy, yesterday being last day of the semester- awards day and our 3-week hols have officially started after which we'll b welcoming you wif open arms to KYUEM in July.
The Dotco sells basic stuff like present papers, papermate pens, erasers, door mats, toiletries like toothbrush, shavers and darlie toothpaste and some snacks. actually it's pretty small, n it's run by the student council - the welfare EXCOs in particular. i'd say it's non profit making eventho u may find junkfood sold at higher prices than in the market. u can expect only to get basic stuff in our lil' shop so do bring your personal items, things u can't live without, to the college. Last year, i brought everything i needed. Yes it is opened every night except saturday from 10pm to 11pm. But for the last 2 weeks, we couldn't open it coz we had problems with the keys. sorry. rest assured the problem will b solved n we can hav dotco functioning again once we get back to KYUEM. Right, corn2head? :wink:
Talking about subject combinations, don sweat about it. During your induction programme in KYUEM, you'll be advised on choosing your subjects by our counsellor, Ms Kasthuri. u don wanna study subjects in which you have no particular interest tho. u'll be advised on choosing ur subjects based university requirements, ur interest, relevance of subject to your course. You should always believe in your choices. I'm an accounting student myself, and for your reference, justme1407 and all who are pursuing accountancy, i take a subject combination of maths, history, accounting, economics and AS computing. I take history because a traditional subject like history/ sociology/ english literature gives me a better advantage when it comes to applying to prestigious universities like London School of Economics which prefers strong academic subjects to other subjects like accounting or business studies. It depends on which uni you're applying to actually. I personally enjoy history a lot.
Swimming lessons are supposed to be compulsory. You'll take a swimming test during induction week when u come in. and i think we'll have another swimming test b4 we graduate from college if i'm not mistaken. hey don worry about not being able to swim. The good thing - you get to learn how to swim here. so do make use of our olympic size swimming pool whilst you're here. you wanna make full use of all the wonderful facilities like the squash courts, the tennis courts, the multipurpose hall, gym.... If you're good at swimming, you can join the life-saving club n train hard to earn urself a life saver's medalion or bronze cross to enable u to become a qualified life saver, like a couple o' my friends did here.
During academic hours, u wear formal academic wear. in other words, yes merry_go_around, shirts with collars for the guys. Do remember to abide by the college dress code at all times, for it's important to respect n be sensitive towards the views of people from different backgrounds. You're allowed to go back home during weekend (except during weekend which is a compulsory stay-in) starting from 12.30pm (saturday) after class and make sure u be back by 10pm on Sunday.
U guys must be excited about coming to KYUEM :D We are excited to meet you too. :lol:
U can visit http://kyuem.blogspot.com for an account of the many activities and hot news that have been going on in college last semester. It's powered by the 'Veritas' (our college newsletter) editorial team, our fren nicholas (veritas sub-editor) - him in particular.[/url]
spectre
20-06-2005, 02:36 PM
Kolej Yayasan UEM (KYUEM), formerly known as Kolej Matrikulasi Yayasan Satu (KMYS)
is a residential boarding school in Lembah Beringin, Selangor.
google it.
egghead2511
20-06-2005, 02:57 PM
cool! i dunno there's a whole lot of recommers attending or soon to be attending kyuem. i'll be joining you guys too, justme1407,bryllo and the rest.. i got pnb scholarship to read actuarial science in uk. look out for me, merry_go_round! i might be one of the 3 roses among the 17 thorns. i visited kyuem yesterday and i was so damn speechless! it has never occurred to me that the place is so...remote and quiet. but still i'm looking forward to study there. to the seniors, i got some questions here..
i. do you find the library useful, by means of finding some study materials and stuff for further reading or is it sufficient enough to rely solely on the provided textbooks? is the library well-equipped?
ii. does kyuem have its own orchestra?
i know they might sound stupid but i really wanna know. thanks..
is this college good for its a level programme? I guess the fee is very expensive that is Rm 60,000.anyway ,do they offer any scholarship for spm 2004 students who did well in the spm?I mean a-level scholarship only.
Anthony
20-06-2005, 09:35 PM
i wanna enroltoo !!!! if possible....becoz since its such a gud school and i think if they give scholarship to gud students who failed to get JPA...to do juz their A levels..no bonds attached i will be like wow!
merry_go_round
20-06-2005, 10:47 PM
is this college good for its a level programme? I guess the fee is very expensive that is Rm 60,000.anyway ,do they offer any scholarship for spm 2004 students who did well in the spm?I mean a-level scholarship only.
whoa, that much?! Impossible.. :lol:
Just a-level scholarship? whoa again.. is there any such thing? I thought when you are given a scholarship, you'll be entitled on it until you've finished your degree.... but if there is one,, then I'll second Anthony :wink:
@<hidden> : only three girls are offered? haha (no offence ya), :lol:
justme1407
21-06-2005, 06:09 AM
thanks a lot to pamlee for ur explanation.. it helps me very much..
i'm agree with ngu..the a level programme in kyuem is really expensive..for those who are taking science stream..the fee is rm60000 inclusive tuition fees, accomodation n food..n for the art stream..rm58000..guess like i could not afford myself to study in this college if i didn't get da scholarship..
pamlee..i still have a few question..hope u dont mind to answer it..
i've been informed that the college provides a regular trip to kl.. is it true? n also can we go out for outing once in a week n which place do u normally go to buy ur stuff??
i'm looking forward to meeting u pamlee..thanks so much 4 ur information..really appreciate it.. :)
pamlee
21-06-2005, 01:24 PM
hi egghead2511
The resource centre is well managed, well maintained and well equipped with resources ranging from redspot books, text books n magazines to the Harry Potter series n novels by Jeffrey Archer etc. You'll find it very useful for doing further reading on ur subject. ur teachers will give u guidance.
Orchestra? Hmm. no. We dont have a symphonic band or brass band or the chinese orchestra. Occasionally there will be performance by the music club, say during college events. We have a music room equipped with a keyboard, guitars, drums, a trumpet and a saxophone, not to mention there's a grand piano in the great hall. Earlier on tis year, the music club organized the 'Battle of the bands' in college - some of talented KYUEMans group themselves up and form bands to showcase their musical talents n compete amongst themselves that night and i'd say the event was a resounding success.
Ngu, i'm not sure if KYUEM offers scholarship. think they do, then again i aint sure. one thing, KYUEM has a lot to offer. Do appreciate everything u hav in college, make use of all the facilities, make friends, partipate vigorously in college activities n at the same time study smart because in the end, you're the one who will gain.
of coz we dont mind u - our soon-to-be juniors -blastin' us wif questions. am only too pleased to answer to satisfy ur curiosity. Last year, i was in the same boat, a thousand n one butterflies fluttering in my stomach b4 i entered the college. thanks to the founders of recom, there's a network like recom here where we can seek information. Yes Justme1407, we have Sunday shopping trips to KL from 9am till evening. Usually we alternate between Midvalley, KLCC and ONe Utama. Occasionally there'll be a bus trip on Saturday afternoon to Tanjung Malim the nearest town to Lembah Beringin u can buy ur things there. the college provides trips to churches in Tanjung Malim on sunday morn. If u need college transport on weekends, say u and ur bunch of frens would like to go to some concert or seminar in KL, u can ask the Student Services 2 help u arrange college transport. u gotta pay of course for this additional transport.
Anthony
21-06-2005, 04:17 PM
wud just wanna clarify something ..so there is no tuition waiver for SPM students to enrol in KYUEM? the tuition fees waiver i mean is like the Taylors, Help and other private colleges...
quirky
21-06-2005, 05:12 PM
hi everyone!!!
wow, dis kyuem thread is rlly cool! i mean, iv just read all da 6 pages of posts n i already feel like im in da college! heheh... :D
so i guess, i shud thank u 2 all d previous seniors who had explained a lot bout dis ''jungle resort'' :lol: (coolster1, justB, quastar, arisa, xeon, faez_ridzal, n duskknight) coz now i dun rlly feel dat nervous..huhu..
n also tq 2 pamlee, a senior who's der rgt now, who had also briefed on more of da college!! i hope i'll get 2 c u der n da other seniors (corn2head, nath, diey-yana, npang n more)!! man, look at me, excited 2 da core...hehehe
neway, i gues i shud tell a thing or two bout myself...hehe...well, iv just been offered a scholarship 4rm JPA 2 read biotechnology in UK(no need 2 say dis since evry1's uk-bound neway :D )...but b4 dat, of course, i'll hav 2 do my a-levels at none other than KYUEM!! huhu...rlly lookin 4ward 2 study in dis college..no matter how ''isolated'' n ''secluded'' da place seemd 2 be..huhu.. hey, less distractions, more concentration rgt? :) btw, nebody on d same boat wif me? (biotech jpa)
oh n nice 2 meet u, justme1407, merry_go_round, bryllo, n egghead...hehe...i gues we'r collegemates-2-be, huh? hihi... im also lookin 4ward 2 noe u guyz...so on 12th july, reveal urselves k? hehe
btw, anthony, i tink der's sumthin bout d admission 2 dis college on da website (www.kyuem.edu.my)...n wel, 4rm wut i read, i undrstand dat u CAN enrol either with major schlarship 4rm malaysian corporations or 4rm other private sponsors...but im not sure whether KYUEM kud give schlarships tho...keep on askin around!! :)
bsides dat, i also hav sum questies of my own.. hopeflly seniors can help :D :
1) hows da ''dobi'' system der? hehe
2) kud parents just cum n visit anytym?
3)about da sunday outing trips, r dey on a weekly basis? :lol: not dat i'll go out evry week or nethin...hehe
4) except academic hours n other formal occasions,we'r allowed 2 wear jeans rgt?
5)4 girls who wear tudung, do dey hav 2 wear white COLLARED tshirt?
6)compulsory swimming classes!!! heheheh...oh man, 4 dis upcoming intake, i'll b da 1st in kyuem history 2 almost drown... :lol:
whoops...hope its not too many...huhuhu..thanx!! :)
justme1407
21-06-2005, 07:10 PM
wow..seems like everyone is excited to go to this college..so am i..hmm..thank God!!at least i know that there'll be a sunday shopping trip to kl..so that i can buy my stuff there.. :D really happy to hear about dis regular trip as i've visited pekan tg malim.. so sad coz honestly i think there's no thing i can buy at tg malim..
huh..nway..thanks a lot my soon-to-be senior..pamlee..
i still have a few questions..regarding the laundry..is there any washing machine there?n also i've been informed that we have to wear kyuem's uniform on saturday..is that true?? :?
n to quirky..i think i'll be joining u to break the kyuem's record..
drown in the olympic size swimming pool..haha
corn2head
21-06-2005, 10:09 PM
Hello all.. and a special hello to pamlee!!
Well.. I'll explain about the laundry service in KYUEM. There are no washing machines in college. Basicly, a launderette comes twice a week (mondays and thursdays) to pick up our laundry. The compulsory laundry fee is RM18 per month for 6 pieces of clothing per-pick-up. You can send more if you want to but with a flat charge of RM0.50 per piece (this includes bed sheet). Comforter can be sent for a charge of RM5 net. The laundry service is very very useful especially during examinations when you dont have anytime to sort your dirty clothes!
Regarding the uniform.. YES we have to wear a complete set of uniform on Saturdays.. and thanks to me you soon-be-juniors will have to wear an unofficial uniform until you get your brand new college uniform with necktie!! For girls you'll get a vest to go with the uniform! Not too worry about the college uniform.. it's nit like school.. it's cool! hahaha.. you'll get use to it though! btw, you'll only be wearing it for half a day! And just to remind you guys, there's a strict academic dress code in college!!
The pool is one of the perk of studying in KYUEM.. Dont worry guys.. on your first week you'll get to plunge into the pool!!
And just to add to what pamlee said, trips to KL is not FOC!! It's RM12 per head to KL and RM4 to Tanjung Malim.. Tanjung Malim may look like a dead cowboy town.. But trust me.. you'll thank your lucky star that TM is just 10 km from the college!
Btw pamlee.. i've arranged with abang rosman to change the dot.co locks.. and you'll be getting a set! :lol:
merry_go_round
22-06-2005, 01:47 AM
all right.. this thread is getting merrier and merrier..
hem, I want to ask the seniors that do we need to wear long sleeve collared shirt during the academic hours? Or is it just enough by wearing short sleeve collared shirt?
WHoa, new college uniform with a necktie? Is that mean that we will have a uniform shirt? Same colour and same everything? Just like secondary school is it?
haha talking about KYUEM often reminds me of Kolej matriks NS. Tanjung malim can be considered like Kuala PIlah. Virtually nothing you could enjoy there...
Uh oh.. do we need to swim? I don't know how to till now.. :oops: So it's compulsary huh? That's mean we need to bring swimming suit too isn't? Oh man.. imagine a big guy still don't know how to swim... Then I'll third quirky along justme1407... :lol:
corn2head
22-06-2005, 09:30 AM
Hey guys..
Well, it's really hard explain about the dress code in college. I bet you guys have gotten your welcome pack from college (ie the letter from college). There's a basic dress code guide for you guys to bring. trust me, follow the guide as close as possible. For the benefit of all i'll list down the official academic hours college dress code here:
Male
long sleeved PLAIN COLOURED shirt
dark pants, dark socks, dark leather shoes
Female
baju kurung/kebarung
blouse (decent length)
long pants
skirt (knee length)
COURT SHOES
Yes merry_go_round. If you havent notice, uniform means wearing a standard form of attire (that means same everything!) But i can assure you that it's not white shirt with green pants nor it's a pinafore!
Not to worry about the college uniform. It's only for Saturday classes. Don't make a fuss about it.
Not to worry about swimming too! You'll be having a swimming test on your first week (So DO bring your appropriate swimming attire). You'll never want to know what happened to those without swimming attire last year! Then, there'll be swimming lessons for those who can't swim. it's fairly easy. My chaletmate can already swim 10 laps after only 8 months! Just for the record, we have saperate swimming sessions for boys and girls. We also have a mix swimming session for life savers.. like me :lol: [/i]
quirky
22-06-2005, 11:43 AM
whoa, seems like a rlly cool uniform! heheh...at least, iv nver worn any uniform like dat..huhu.. :D but yea, just like wut corn2head said, da uniforms r only for a half of da saturdays...heheh... so, i gues it shudnt b a big deal...
rm12 per head 2 go 2 kl?? whoaaa....huhu...looks like i wont rlly c da city much then...heh...got 2 save money~ hihi...oh yea, i noe dis wud b a weird question but uh...is der an ATM der in da college?? n does dotco sell prepaid cards? heheh...*essential* :D
wow, we'll be havin a swimming test in da 1st week already? oh man..heheh..oh wel, da swimming lessons sound rlly good, so well, i hope i wouldnt see justme1407 and merry_go_round at the bottom of da pool together with me... :lol: hhahhah...rgt guyz? we jst gota pray then...heheh
neway, thanx 4 all da info, corn2head~~!! :)
corn2head
22-06-2005, 12:05 PM
Hey quirky..
Unforturnately there's no ATM in college but the admin staff can withdraw money for you. Don't worry they are very trustworthy and reliable!
Dotco dosent sell topup cards. Sorry.. But you can get topup cards from our own Student Council Food Exco or other student dealers in college, male and female.
:lol: For more formal infomation and pictures do check out the college website www.kyuem.edu.my .
See if you can spot pamlee..
Hint: yellow flower, just like her big yellow banner! :wink:
LePip
22-06-2005, 12:49 PM
hey ppl. i'm just another one of those silly soon-to-be seniors of the happy jungle college known as KYUEM, formerly known as kmys.
btw, corn2head.. i'm still kinda guessing who're you. lifesaver.. hmm..
pamlee.... are you.... welfare exco person.. i'm pretty sure you are.. and saying all those wonderfull things about dotco..tsktsk.
okay, anyway, the rest of the seniors would probably love to be typing tons of other info about this place all you juniors are so excited about, but they're probably collecting turtle shells somwhere in Kerteh. but no, you'll learn more about that your first week of college.
wow, this thread has really come a long way. last bunch of posts was exactly one year ago where we ourselves were asking all these silly nervous questions.suffice to say, you juniors this year have a lot more help. for one, we actually have a professional college website now, complete with a map! back in our time, we just looked for the road sign that said Lembah Beringin Links Golf Club! so yea, the only advice you'll need from me is... dont worry about a thing. you can survive with clothes and a toothbrush. and some maggi would really help you make frens. but anyway, the one week induction course for you juniors is top notch. be sure to pay attention during every single activity, and do read all your handbooks, including all that college junk in Veritas. lastly, a warning. although most of the ppl here love this college and what it offers, not everyone shares the same opinion. for some, it really is a jungle. but as long as you keep yourself optimistic and open to new things, the monkeys wandering around at 6 am won't even touch you.
diey-ya-na, give some pep-talk? and corn2head, jst to add to what you said, certain sponsors will pay for laundry fees, saving you that rm18 per month and yea, are you a welfare exco too?
i this college offering any scholarship or tuition fee waiver like taylors college?I want to enter this college but the fee is just too expensive.I cannot afford it.
LePip
22-06-2005, 01:09 PM
sorry ngu, sad to say this place doesn't offer tuition wavers. the things is, over 90% of the students here are lucky nuff to be sponsored by various sponsors, namely PNB, BNM, JPA, SC, PET, KPM, MARA.. miss anything?
but for the senior batch, and more so for your junior batch, the number of privately sponsored students (as in paid for yourself) is increasing.
just a thought, taylors would offer a tuition waver of 10k ringgit for spm students who score 9 A1 and 10 A1 right... and you would still have to pay the rest of the tuition fee (for A level programme), accomodation costs for the period, and food expenses for the area of SS15. when you add up the figures, the tuition waver does save a big amount (10K), but it's a relatively small proportion compared to the total sum. 60,000 for 2 years worth of tuition, sports facilities, food, and accomodation, isn't really that expensive.
corn2head
22-06-2005, 01:15 PM
Hey ngu..
Sorry to say but KYUEM dosent offer any scholarships nor any tuition waiver.. It's merely a college funded by UEM but UEM gives out limited scholarships. Usually private students (self sponsored) will be guided to apply for scholarships after finishing their studies in KYUEM for their undergraduate programme.
quirky
22-06-2005, 01:26 PM
oh okay...hehe...at least i noe dat we can still get sum more money n i also dun ave 2 worry bout not havin credit 4 months...haha... :D
oh btw, how many clubs can we join? hihihi... i jst cant help askin, u noe, *curiosity kills da cat* :D hehehe...
n yep, i hav read almost all da parts of d web n seen almost all da photos in d web...huhu...n i THINK i saw pamlee....huhu.... she's wen ai rgt? heheh... (yellow flower under big yellow banner) hoho..[/u]
Jhuen
22-06-2005, 02:10 PM
hi..just wondering,about the dress code,can we wear jeans?
HiGhFiDeLiTy
22-06-2005, 02:16 PM
whoa!
this is my 1st post on this topic - kyuem and it seems tht all the questions inside my head had been answered..
well, i guess kyuem is a great place after all. I think it's more like a self-contained place than isolated or a 'jungle resort'. can't wait to start my study back and become one of kyuem's family member.
i dunno if it's necessary to introduce myself here but just for starter, i'll register on this becoming 12th july.. will be doing chemical engineering under petronas schlrship.. :D :D
sila beri tunjuk ajar..
regarding on the uniform issue.. what's the rational of wearing it only on saturday classes? heheh.. just a silly question from me..
alrite.. meet u all there.. hope the orientation week will be ok for me.. it's hard to be a junior back after what seems like a lifetime being a vain senior.. :twisted:
quirky
22-06-2005, 03:35 PM
hey highfidelity...heh...i'll b meeting u der too...huhu...n i agree, i just cnt wait 2 start studyin back!! (did i jst say dat? haha) :) oh well, had enuf holidays, rlly...
oh yea, i was wnderin, wut bout da trnsport system der? hihi.. wel i heard da college offers trnsport..but we gota pay rgt? i mean, u noe...jst wana noe wut 2 do when we'r goin back..is der a train or bus station nearby?
corn2head
22-06-2005, 04:23 PM
Thank god there is a bunch of really really curious juniors-soon-to-be occupying my boring holidays!! Hahaha...
A special welcome to highfidelity I thought I would never meet a petronas scholar in reCom!! At last now there's one saving the dignity and gempak-ness of petronas in reCom (whatever that meaNs) Basicly, what I'm trying to say is..PETRONAS scholars are the most happening ones in college despite the 50% reduction of scholars next semester :cry: !! So remind me to belanja you something from dotco later... and you too quirky for spotting wen ai!! :P
Transportation.. hurmm.. Usually students go out during weekend trips to KL or Tanjung Malim (bus rpovided). During holidays the Student Services (ie admin) provides busses to Tanjung Malim Bus Station or Pudu Raya (for a charge of course)and they will even buy you your bus tickets to your repective destinations (on request). The Rawang station is 20km from college and a taxi from the station to college costs roughly around RM20. That's why making lots of friends is very useful! All you have to do is plan your holiday transportation well.. No transport is NOT an excuse to skip class on the last day of college before holidays... Trust me.. Apart from weekends and holidays I dont think you would want to get out from the jungle. Life is pretty hectic there! And remmber to plan plan plan ahead
I know you guys are anxious and all but not to worry too much.. That's why there is an induction programme on your first week.. Well highfidelity... be prepared to get out from your comfort zone and start becoming a junior all over again! Start thinking of your torturous junior years back in school!! hehehehe.. Good Luck!
About the uniform.. I think... urmm urmmm.... i think.... urmmm i think you should ask the Board Of Directors on the matter! heh...
Yes, jeans are allowe d in college but not during class hours or formal fucntions. you can refer to my previous post on dress code in college. My advice is follow very very very closely to the list given. Especially girls!!
You dont want to offend anybody's sensitivity in college..
Clubs.. clubs.. too many to mention. Once your there you'll notice a big blue board divided into small colums for club notices. The latest addition to the long list of clubs in KYUEM is the Delta Rho Sorority for girls!! There's everything under the sun from conventional math and science and language to football and swimming to cultural and drama to cookery and sorority!
merry_go_round
22-06-2005, 05:21 PM
greetings to HiGhFiDeLiTy :D
er, I only found her big yellow banner. Can't find her la... although have four eyes already..*sighed*
yeah yeah, pet scholars rawk.. but hey, wait till I come ler.. then, you'll know which is better. haha :twisted: (talk about talking big, eh...haha 8) ) but then again, no fair coz only 20 pnb scholars are admitted into the college... how about jpa and other scholars? hehe, looks like we will be influenced with sponsor-ism... :twisted:
quirky
22-06-2005, 06:35 PM
yayy!! blanje, huh? heh...i tink i did spot wen ai...hint2 to merry_go_round: look out 4 yellow flower..hohoho... :wink:
wel, da transportation iz not so bad...huhu...i prefer da train... heheh...but yea, im afraid we'll all be too bz 2 go home often neway...gues i'll b seeing u a lot, jungle college!! haha...
man, wud der rlly be ''sponsorism''?? huhu..hope not...coz no mtter wut our sponsors r, we'r all gona b under da same roof of kyuem, rgt? hehehh..
oh n sorority? hoho...wow..
justme1407
22-06-2005, 06:38 PM
wah..thanks a lot corn2head 4 ur explanation.. i've been viewing this topic since i knew that i got the jpa's scholarship..n really hope to get the post from my soon-to-be seniors regarding this college n answers many silly questions from us..hmm..merry_go_round..u can't swim also?ahakss..so, u can join me, quirky n my frens to learn swimming at da college..haha..cant imagine myself wearing swimming suit..shame2 maa..used to wear it when i was in kindergarden..huhu..
hmm...is there any supermarket or shopping complex in tg malim coz i didnt find any when i visited kyuem n tg malim last sunday..
kyuem is really cool although it looks like a jungle college.. :)
n once again..thanks so much to pamlee, corn2head n other soon-to-be seniors..guess that one of u will be our facy on da induction week.. :)
pamlee
22-06-2005, 10:48 PM
Oh, corn2head the drama lad leaking the details eh? Photos can be misleading :D why, I looked so funny n all cheerie... yes, there's a supermarket at Tanjung Malim, if i'm not mistaken it's the Grand PRix Supermarket. 3 storeys. No shopping complexes.
pamlee
22-06-2005, 10:59 PM
Well quirky, I'll give u the Yoda (Starwars) way of answering... :D :D
Under one roof we shall be. 'Sponsorism', we shall not have. One big family we are, watever ur sponsor, race, religion, language, creed or background.
mission007
22-06-2005, 11:52 PM
hi, firstimer here. I got the JPA scholarship to study computer science in UK. I got a few lame or maybe stupid questions to ask. I hope you people don't mind answering them.
1. What kind of T-shirt are girls allowed to wear during academic
hours in KYUEM? I mean does uncollared T-shirt allowed? Does it
need to be long sleeves?
2. DId anyone get the lampiran A3? The one that should state the
elaun-elaun serta kemudahan-kemudahan sepanjang mengikuti
kursus persediaan di luar negara. Because I didn't receive it.
3. What should I put for the 'Universiti' blank (Borang maklumat
penjamin)?
4. Universiti, kursus and tahun pengajian? (Borang pengakuan
kedudukan kewangan pelajar). I mean what should I put under
those headings.
5. Are there a lot of mosquitoes there?
Thanks alot.
corn2head
23-06-2005, 12:38 AM
[quote="corn2head"]
Well, it's really hard explain about the dress code in college. I bet you guys have gotten your welcome pack from college (ie the letter from college). There's a basic dress code guide for you guys to bring. trust me, follow the guide as close as possible. For the benefit of all i'll list down the official academic hours college dress code here:
Male
long sleeved PLAIN COLOURED shirt
dark pants, dark socks, dark leather shoes
Female
baju kurung/kebarung
blouse (decent length)
long pants
skirt (knee length)
COURT SHOES
I hardly get bitten by mosquitoes in college although i sleep with my windows widely open!
merry_go_round
23-06-2005, 01:32 AM
found her! so comel de.. :wink:
no sponsor influence? all right~ 8)
to corn2head: last Q maybe.. our plain shirt can be dark also right? like read, blue and so on...
anyway greeting to mission007. hard to find computer science course applicant nowadays... anyway welcome aboard! :D
quirky
23-06-2005, 09:32 AM
yayy! a supermarket at Tg. Malim! n no mosquitoes! (reeeeaaaallllyyyy??) :D hahaha...
to pamlee....hehe....grateful i am...to hear dat sponsorism der wont be...so one roof we shall all be under....n then togetherism der will be....huhuhu...
oh hey mission007! heheh...just a qtion: can u swim rlly well? bcoz we'll all be takin a swimming test in our 1st week der, rgt? hehe.. so neway, if u ave any problem at all wif swimming, dun wrry...coz u might jst join me, merry_go_round n justme1407 at da bottom of dat pool on dat day!! hhahahaha...kiddin2, guyz... :lol:
wel, jst wana say anothr round of thankyous 2 corn2head n pamlee 4 helpin us a lot wif da info n 4 satisfyin da curiosity of ur too-curious juniors-to-be....heheheh... :D
justme1407
23-06-2005, 09:52 AM
i've viewed the kyuem's website but i didn't find pamlee..where did u guys find pamlee.. :?: huh..n one more thing..as corn2head said b4..there's no ATM at da college..so i just wanna know bank ape yg ada kat tg malim..coz i wanna apply for the bank card..so dat it will be easier for me to withdraw my money at da atm.. :D n also thank god there's a supermarket at tg malim.. :)
bryllo
23-06-2005, 10:49 AM
hello everyone! hope to meet u guys there on 12th July.
I have a Q about the swimming attire. What does a male muslim wear? I never had a swimming attire before...hehe....usually wear long shorts....
corn2head
23-06-2005, 11:22 AM
Wolcome to all new comers!
Long sleeved plain coloured shirt for academic hours can be in any colour!! You'll be amazed to see guys wearing pink and orange to class. Just make sure it's long sleeved and plain coloured! And do make sure you wear it with dark pants, socks and leather shoes!
As I mentioned in my earlier post, we have separate swimming sessions, alternate between boys and girls. Usually the guys wear knee length thights for swimming..Beach bermudas are not allowed. Just make sure it's latex!
Reminder: Do bring your appropriate swimming attire as you guys will be having a swimming test on your first week. Jokes aside!
Tanjung Malim may look like a dead town but it has the basic necessitie. There are all major banks in TM, there's BCB (esp for petro scholars), Maybank, BSN, Bank Islam, Puclic Bank, Bank Rakyat and Arab-Malaysian..
There are also kedai mamaks, KFC and our local "pizza hut", Pizzeria. Several stationary shops, Avon, bakeries, pharmacies and pirated DVD shops!Not to forget RM2 shops and Saturday pasar malams! Btw, the supermarket is called Grand Union not Grand Prix! So dont go to TM looking for an F1 track! And don't expect GU to be like Giant or Tesco!!
Come on justme1407, look for a very cheerful girl with yellow carnation! If you cant find her now, you'll be meeting her during induction! :lol:
mission007
23-06-2005, 11:38 AM
I can't really swim. I only can swim without breathing. I haven't learn to breathe while swimming yet. And the last time I swm was a few years back. Don't know still can swim or not.
mission007
23-06-2005, 11:43 AM
Err... Can girls wear T-shirt to class? The list didn't say anything about T-shirt for girls.
merry_go_round
23-06-2005, 12:26 PM
haha.. still can't find her? yeah, the one with yellow flower. :wink: so innocent ...8)
haha.. swimming attires... hate swimming (coz I don't know how maybe...) ...how about ol` fashion tracksuit? is it allowed?
:roll:
LePip
23-06-2005, 12:57 PM
Err... Can girls wear T-shirt to class? The list didn't say anything about T-shirt for girls.
as mentioned by pamlee the pet accountant.....
Female
baju kurung/kebarung
blouse (decent length)
long pants
skirt (knee length)
COURT SHOES
ah, to be a junior... so enthusiastic about everything...
and really.. dont worry too much about swimming.. everyone can learn... there will be a full guide 2 Tanjung Malim included in your induction week pack.
also, dont worry too much about atm cards. sure you need a few bucks once in a while.. but unless you drink 50 milo ais a day you won't need that much cash, since you dont spend much at kyuem anyway.... e.g. breakfast: eggs and sausages - free, game of squash - free, midnight movie - free, IT lab gaming session - free.. and so forth...
haha... it's kinda fun polluting the minds of juniors to be... muahaha
justme1407
23-06-2005, 03:00 PM
hehe..i'm very excited to hear dat tg malim is not a dead town actually.. :o thank God.. at least there's still a supermarket, many major banks, night market, avon, kedai mamaks n so on..thanks a lot corn2head!!i think dat i dont have to worry anymore..n seems like i'll enjoy myself there with my new frens n also my ex-schoolmates there..hmm..how about da classes? do u actually have classes for the whole day..i mean from morning till evening like matrik..dat's all 4 now..bubbye!!
egghead2511
23-06-2005, 03:33 PM
to justme1407
classes are from 8am to 5pm, according to my seniors there. very tiring huh? on saturdays, classes are until noon. am i rite, my seniors-to-be?
Jhuen
23-06-2005, 04:12 PM
hi..i'm kinda new to this thread..ermm,i think it's only my second post here..ok,i'll introduce myself..i'm going to this college as well on the 12th,so,hope to meet justme1407,merry_go_round and the others there..i'm under bnm scholarship,taking up actuarial science..any aspiring actuaries here?? :D
WHAT???swimming test?/first week??oh my God,i think i'm gonna barf..dielah..i cant swim!haha,guess i'll join the rest at the bottom of the pool..waaaa......
merry_go_round
23-06-2005, 05:43 PM
hi..i'm kinda new to this thread..ermm,i think it's only my second post here..ok,i'll introduce myself..i'm going to this college as well on the 12th,so,hope to meet justme1407,merry_go_round and the others there..i'm under bnm scholarship,taking up actuarial science..any aspiring actuaries here?? :D
yeah, hope to meet u too. :D
wow a BNM scholar, u have my respect man! A pure cream out of crops. I dont even get the interview... :lol:
between, I believe egghead2511 will be taking actuarial science like you. :wink:
WHAT???swimming test?/first week??oh my God,i think i'm gonna barf..dielah..i cant swim!haha,guess i'll join the rest at the bottom of the pool..waaaa......
welcome to world of Bikini Bottom! (haha I love SpongeBob!) :D
mission007
23-06-2005, 06:31 PM
Does that mean no to T-shirt for girls during classes? I'm really sorry. I'm kind of stupid. I still don't quite get it. Could someone please give me a straight answer, either yes or no to t-shirt for girls during classes. Please don't copy and paste the dress code list again. Thanks.[/quote]
quirky
23-06-2005, 07:08 PM
heheh..yea, i noe how u feel, justme1407....i was also DAMN relieved 2 hear bout dat tnjung malim...altho der may not be a mall, at least its not exactly a dead town...haha :D
der's one thing in wut LePip said dat rlly caught my eye tho....
midnight mvie??????? hahhaha.... :D whoa, rlly? i mean....to dat, i can only say: wow. haha...n its free...heheh...unlike my previous boardin skool...sigh..
oh n hello 2 Jhuen! haha...anothr new member 2 join us all in Bikini Bottom!! (quoting merry_go_round) hahahha :wink:
pamlee
23-06-2005, 07:59 PM
No T shirts during academic hours (morning till 5.00pm) for everybody. Hi Jhuen and all aspiring actuarists, you'll get to meet two seniors who take actuarial science under Bank Negara n several others (seniors) who are self sponsored actuarist wannabes when u get to KYUEM. They take a subject combi of maths, further maths, economics and physics or accounting.
Midnight movies, LePip? :) not actually midnight. I'd say 'night' movies once in a while. say 8-11pm. Unless u wanna watch movies in ur own room/chalet at midnight it's up to u. in fact, during post exam periods, many of us do.
yes Egghead2511, classes start 8.30am n end at 4.10pm.
justme1407
24-06-2005, 09:36 PM
hmm.. i think life is pretty hectic there..classes from 8.30 a.m to 4.10 p.m..huh..it's ok..i'll try to adapt myself with this situation.. :)
bryllo
26-06-2005, 08:41 AM
erm...could the seniors enlighten us about the orientation week.
How long is it...the schedule...about the swimming test....i'm sure some of the seniors in recom are goin' to be our facilitator, right?
corn2head
26-06-2005, 01:07 PM
I'm sorry bryllo..
We cant tell much about the induction week (yup, the duration is roughly within a week)! If we do, it wont be a suprise anymore! Right? In fact, we've given a little too much information about the swimming test. I'm so sorry.. It's just one of those things that you need to find out yourself when you register on the 12th July! Just remember to have fun and enjoy during your induction!! :lol:
bryllo
26-06-2005, 02:19 PM
Looks like the juniors are in for a lot of surprises....hehe...i'm a little bit nervous...furthermore, it's compulsory for me to take maths,further maths and physics because that's the 'syarat2' for ytn scholars.
I heard that further maths is a 'killer' subject. Is this true?
Anyway,what type of scientific calculator should I bring.Is the Casio FX-350MS(the one i used for spm) adequate?
merry_go_round
27-06-2005, 09:11 AM
bryllo is in the hype mode already, all right! :D
yeah, between, can we come earlier to KYUEM before july 12th? July 12th is on Tuesday right? I am thinking of coming there on Sunday? Perhaps I could arrange two night stays there before checking in officially? Or is KYUEM open for outsiders to stay overnight or do we need to settle outside KYUEM before the registration day?
Thanks in advance. :D
bryllo
27-06-2005, 09:49 AM
Anxiety is killing me!
corn2head
27-06-2005, 12:59 PM
Casio FX-350 is adequate but getting an FX-570 would certainly help! In fact you'd need a graphing calculator for further math if im not mistaken.
Sorry merry_go_round, college officially opens on Monday for the seniors and juniors on the 12th July (Tuesday)! I dont think KYUEM is open for outsiders/visitors, you can try calling the administration but i'm afraid the answer would be a NO!
I stayed in a decent hotel/motel in Tanjung Malim last year. Arrived in TM the evening before and stayed at Suria Hotel. You could spend the evening exploring Tanjung Malim.
LePip
27-06-2005, 03:13 PM
Jhuen, pleased to meet you. i'm one of two bnm actuary wannabes in kyuem, your direct snrs pretty much.... do look forward to meeting you!
hope you can gather up the rest of the bnm ppl, coz we're gonna have a bank negara dinner sometime the first or second week. it's a tradition anyway.. you're probably gonna end up being my pet sis anyway... *shuush*
if you have any questions about subjects combos or anything... just look me up when you get here... glad to help. and dont worry bout swimming... there's only 6 of us senior bank negara ppl, so we always try to be close knit... bank negara scholars have a lotta history y'know... and i'm stopping short of bringin up the sponsorism debate, but the petronas guys started it.. right corn2head, the drama king?
and yes, we have midnight movies..,, mostly tv room cinemas, free seating..... but maybe just the guys have it, girls... probably somethin else :P so haha, enjoy hols juniors, and mentally prepare yourself for one hellova induction week
Jhuen
27-06-2005, 03:52 PM
Jhuen, pleased to meet you. i'm one of two bnm actuary wannabes in kyuem, your direct snrs pretty much.... do look forward to meeting you!
hope you can gather up the rest of the bnm ppl, coz we're gonna have a bank negara dinner sometime the first or second week. it's a tradition anyway.. you're probably gonna end up being my pet sis anyway... *shuush*
if you have any questions about subjects combos or anything... just look me up when you get here... glad to help.
Hi LePip :D so pleased to meet u :D thank you so much for offering help,i think i'll be needing a lot while i'm there :oops: actually i just came back from the majlis orientasi at bank negara..i've already met the rest...if i'm not mistaken,there are two aspiring actuaries this year as well :) ok,i'lltry to gather the rest..looking forward to meet you too:D
just got a swimming suit..haha,i think i'm gonna look funny trying to swim..tried once during ns and i had to get help from the trainers just to stay afloat :lol: hope i can improve during my two year stay at kyuem :)
btw,i dont think t-shirts are allowed,only blouses. :wink: am i right seniors?
and hi to quirky and pamlee too :D hope to meet all of you wonderful folks on the 12th :D ..getting pretty impatient here :wink:
bryllo
27-06-2005, 05:50 PM
I guess there will be cliques in kyuem. BNM scholars sit at one table and petronas scholars sit at another one....Haha....cant imagine that.
Come on guys,all for one and one for all.
cheese87
27-06-2005, 07:44 PM
Greetings to all members of KYUEM! Hmm... after reading through this thread, KYUEM's certainly one hell of a cool place!!! Really can't wait to be there!!! Btw, I'm also under BNM (same as Jheun), doing accountancy.
K, hope to meet u all on 12th of June!!!!
Jhuen
27-06-2005, 09:49 PM
I guess there will be cliques in kyuem. BNM scholars sit at one table and petronas scholars sit at another one....Haha....cant imagine that.
Come on guys,all for one and one for all.
ermm,sorry..i hope u didnt get the wrong impression..yup,you're right!all for one and one for all!!
Hidup KYUEM!! :lol:
Jhuen
27-06-2005, 09:59 PM
Greetings to all members of KYUEM! Hmm... after reading through this thread, KYUEM's certainly one hell of a cool place!!! Really can't wait to be there!!! Btw, I'm also under BNM (same as Jheun), doing accountancy.
K, hope to meet u all on 12th of June!!!!
dude,u spelt my name wrongly!! :oops: haha..first time i see a post by you pal!hope to see more posts by u :D
btw,i know it's written that u have to wear long skirts,but are knee length ones allowed as well??
bryllo
27-06-2005, 10:12 PM
Yeah! That's the spirit,Jhuen!
I hope we all could help each other out when we get there.
Maybe we recomers could meet during the registration day? just a suggestion.
Jhuen
27-06-2005, 10:25 PM
hahah,then bryllo,that'll be yet another clique! :lol: but,yah,i kinda like that suggestion...any other supporters?
merry_go_round
27-06-2005, 11:24 PM
greetings to Jhuen and cheese87 ! :D
hahah,then bryllo,that'll be yet another clique! Laughing but,yah,i kinda like that suggestion...any other supporters?
count me in!
Sorry merry_go_round, college officially opens on Monday for the seniors and juniors on the 12th July (Tuesday)! I dont think KYUEM is open for outsiders/visitors, you can try calling the administration but i'm afraid the answer would be a NO!
thanks for the info corn2head. appreciate it. nah, I think I will be going on july 12th instead.. Kajang - Lembah Beringin, not too far right? :wink:
zell_ll
28-06-2005, 01:54 AM
Ellow to all soon-to-be kyuem juniors.......hope to meet u all soon :D ....wen ai aka pamlee and others soon-to-be senior, u guys doing a nice job introducing our college....
For dress code.....when u come to college,go to rc(i.e library) or notice board and there will be a pictures+notice about it. In kyuem, we dun form cliques among sponsor because if we do, jpa will be the largest group...In KYUEM...be friend to all....
crosshatched
28-06-2005, 11:54 AM
hello,
are all those who will be doing a-level in KYUEM only eligible for UK universities only? How about universities in US? Is there any history that kyuem grad went to top unis in US? just wondering.
also is there any student studying there under no scholarship but pure self-sponsored?
to kyuem students, please enlighten me. thank you. 8)
corn2head
28-06-2005, 12:57 PM
hey crosshatched...
There are a few self-sponsored students in KYUEM. The college conducts the Cambridge International Examinations curriculum therefore most (all) students will be applying to the UK but there are exceptions. If sponsors want their scholars to go somewhere else then they will be asked to apply to the US,Australia, NZ or even locally. In fact, 5 Petronas scholars were asked to apply to the US this year! So crosshatched, are you a self-sponsored student too?
Yup, knee length skirts are allowed.
crosshatched
28-06-2005, 01:32 PM
no, I am not. Thanks for asking. :wink:
hem, that's mean those five scholars need to take SAT at KYUEM?(in case if the sponsor is applying ATU for them)
cambridge international examination huh? I thought CIE is internationally recognized. Meaning you are eligible to unis outside UK, right?
another question if you don't mind, which is a better uni for science students, like me, who's planning to take either CS or ECE, imperial college or cambridge? Although I admitted the admission into such unis are hard to obtain.
Thanks in advance. 8)
bryllo
28-06-2005, 05:20 PM
crosshatched, i think kyuem only offers CIE A-level program. but u can use that to apply for universities at UK,US,Aus,NZ or even local universities.
crosshatched
28-06-2005, 06:50 PM
crosshatched, i think kyuem only offers CIE A-level program. but u can use that to apply for universities at UK,US,Aus,NZ or even local universities.
thanks for the explaination.~
yeah, between corn2head, or any kyuem resident, can you guys post some pictures of KYUEM here? Possibly focus on the accomodations available there like chalet, rooms, cafes, library, class, shop(dotco?) and others~ If you guys don't mind the spoils for your juniors lar.. alrite? :wink:
cheese87
28-06-2005, 07:44 PM
dude,u spelt my name wrongly!! haha..first time i see a post by you pal!hope to see more posts by u
V sorry bout that pal! :oops: I'll remember ur name properly now: J-H-U-E-N. :P Ok!
Btw, I saw that kettle and iron in my list. Hmmm... do we really hav 2 bring those 2 items? Does the college provide them?
Tq. :D
cheese87
28-06-2005, 07:48 PM
greetings to Jhuen and cheese87 !
p/s: hope 2 meet u soon merry_go_round! same 2 LePip!!!
Jhuen
28-06-2005, 09:38 PM
dude,u spelt my name wrongly!! haha..first time i see a post by you pal!hope to see more posts by u
V sorry bout that pal! :oops: I'll remember ur name properly now: J-H-U-E-N. :P Ok!
Btw, I saw that kettle and iron in my list. Hmmm... do we really hav 2 bring those 2 items? Does the college provide them?
Tq. :D
haha..it's ok pal..saja aje..ermm,i think u can bring it if u ant..esp a kettle;important for midnight snacks!!(hint:maggi mee)
zell_ll
28-06-2005, 11:59 PM
U can check the photos in college website...www.kyuem.edu.my..bring ur kettle and iron with u(but u can borrow it from ur chaletmate,not provided by college...)...don't forget to bring foods(eg. biscuit, chocholate, junk food etc...)..but dun worry, u can buy good food in cafe(reasonable price)...besides that...bring ur umbrella cuz it always rain in lembah beringin...
zell_ll
29-06-2005, 12:50 AM
good blog by our seniors....
http://www.omegabeng.blogspot.com/
http://secretaryman.blogspot.com/
....and lots more....... :D
crosshatched
29-06-2005, 08:20 AM
thanks for the link zell_ll but pictures there (in photo album) only consisted of official events and special occassions only. I am thinking about the accomodations` pictures themselves, not the residents, mind you :D .
or is there any link that I missed? :roll:
quirky
29-06-2005, 12:11 PM
fuh!!! so much has happend since i last posted a reply here!! huhu :D wel, im here again! muahaha :)
neways, a special hello 2 Jhuen & cheese87!! heheh... :) i'll also b registerin at kyuem on da 12th of july n boy, am i psyched 2 see u guyz, along wif merry_go_round, justme1407, bryllo & more... haha :D
>>>dun 4get bout me!! haha :D
whoh, looks like i'll hav 2 bring a kettle & iron der...huhu... :D how else can i easily make my BELOVED HOT MILO?? *sigh* ...hehe... but about maggi mee...hmm...dun b shocked guyz, but i, uh, i dun exactly makan maggi mee..... :lol: hohohoho!! yep! im not jokin! heheh.. long story 2 dat one... :D
n just like wut bryllo said, one for all & all for one!! huhu :) eh, wait a minute, huhu, did i get it wrong? hmm...isnt it all for one n one for all? or one for all n...wargh! however it iz, da meaning's just da same neway...haha!!
quirky
29-06-2005, 12:33 PM
oh yeah! der's just 1 more thing....
erm..hehe...could anyone tell me if der is a piano der in kyuem??? hihihi....thanx!! :D
corn2head
29-06-2005, 01:54 PM
There's a (grand?) piano in the great hall.. You'll sure to see it when you register! There's also a key board in the music room cum jamming studio . But I'm not sure whether the piano is accessible for students to use it freely though the music room can be used by music club members.
quirky
29-06-2005, 02:10 PM
thanx corn2head! :)
man, i sure hope any student can use da (grand?) piano at anytym.. i mean, outside of academic hours, dat is...hehe.. :)
da music room is only for music club members?
pamlee
29-06-2005, 08:51 PM
da music room is only for music club members?
The music room is for ANYONE who wants to play some music. You'll learn more bout the music room if u join the music club. You have to obtain the room keys from the music club committee or teacher advisor everytime u wish to use it.
Jhuen
29-06-2005, 09:17 PM
neways, a special hello 2 Jhuen & cheese87!! heheh... :) i'll also b registerin at kyuem on da 12th of july n boy, am i psyched 2 see u guyz, along wif merry_go_round, justme1407, bryllo & more... haha :D
hello quirky!!looking forward to meeting u as well!!cheers!
zell_ll
29-06-2005, 11:28 PM
man, i sure hope any student can use da (grand?) piano at anytym.. i mean, outside of academic hours, dat is...hehe..
Yes...u can use the grand piano anytime u like...provided the hall is open and nobody using it. For music room, u only can use it until 10.30pm daily,there will be 2 sets of key for student,1 for male and 1 for female(wen ai u will get ur key for female)..... :D music club also organize battle of the band every year....hope u guys be prepare....u also can bring ur personal music instrument such as guitar, violin, flute etc(for drum, hope u can bring ur own drum stick)....
quirky
30-06-2005, 05:30 PM
heh...thanx, zell_ll!! :D now i dun hav 2 worry bout ''heret''ing my piano all da way der...haha
zell_ll
30-06-2005, 11:38 PM
Hope u're interesting to join music club...hehe..u can do community service by teaching others....
quirky
01-07-2005, 06:55 PM
community service, huh? u mean, teachin others for free?
hehehe...i dun think so, pal. dat wont work 4 me.
hahahahhhaa...kiddin! :D
hello people...glad to see such an enthusiastic bunch of juniors...and amazed to see how this forum has grown!!..anyway..i have pics of the college up on this link
http://share.shutterfly.com/osi.jsp?i=EeCNGjJw5atWKR
check it out..umm..just realized there are no pics taken in the buildings themselves..quite a shame really..but..well..guess this provides suspense.hope the pics help..
btw..any juniors doing bound to Uk to read Architecture?..hope there are..we are a rare species...unique..special...more needed..looking forward to meeting u all (as in non-architects as well) :)
npang
02-07-2005, 08:06 AM
Welcome, boys and girls, to the 8th edition of the Reality TV series, "Survivor: KYUEM" - Outstudy, Outsmart, Outscore, featuring a Mr Richard Small as your (remarkably softspoken) host and a host of challenges.
This is Nicholas, from Veritas Media, the (self-appointed) guardians of the free press in college, http://kyuem.blogspot.com for further details, pictures not included with your complimentary ticket, please check out Nath's site, FYI he's a championship winning photographer, so his pics will probably look BETTER than college itself.
Heh heh. dun worry. college is FABULOUS. This coming from a pessimist, trust me. You'll love the RC (resource centre), best in malaysia, brunei, and some say, batam island. you'll love the DH (dining hall), some live there just for the Wednesdays, when you get Western food. NOT cheap frozen nuggets, mind you. CHICKEN CHOPS, anyone?
It's a tad lonely, peeps, that's for sure - but it's as lonely as you make it to be. If you choose to stay in your room and participate in zero activities and rot, you'll be lonely. It's only logical. If you come out and watch movies and play (shudder) DoTA and play squash, you won't HAVE time to feel lonely.
and just in case you feel lonely, we seniors, been there, done that. We'll take care of you. Just walk in. No appointments required.
Can't wait to meet you guys.
http://kyuem.blogspot.com/
Nicholas @<hidden> unintended consequences
crosshatched
02-07-2005, 08:57 AM
hello people...glad to see such an enthusiastic bunch of juniors...and amazed to see how this forum has grown!!..anyway..i have pics of the college up on this link
http://share.shutterfly.com/osi.jsp?i=EeCNGjJw5atWKR
check it out..umm..just realized there are no pics taken in the buildings themselves..quite a shame really..but..well..guess this provides suspense.hope the pics help..
btw..any juniors doing bound to Uk to read Architecture?..hope there are..we are a rare species...unique..special...more needed..looking forward to meeting u all (as in non-architects as well) :)
thanks for the pictures... now is it possible if I want to take a look inside the chalet? hehe, :wink:
to npang: nice blog there. would u mind to update it frequently? or are u busy lately? with exams and stuffs...? :roll:
zell_ll
02-07-2005, 05:05 PM
Nick pang is back....hehe...when we will get our veritas(senior farewell edition)?what u do during this holiday...thank nick for everything u do during ecotrip... :D i hope more juniors will join the DoTA clan...hello to nath..c u guys in college...
justme1407
02-07-2005, 10:24 PM
hello all..i wanna ask u guys bout the differentiation between a level n as level..n what subjects should i take if i wanna further my study in accounting..
really hope to get the answer as soon as possible..thanks!!
npang
02-07-2005, 11:31 PM
To the prospective accountant:
1) If you are aiming for some big time place in LSE or a very prestigious uni - mind you Oxbridge (Oxford and Cambridge for the uninitiated) have no accounting degree, as yet, but if you can negotiate with your sponsors somewhat I believe there ARE similar courses there that can put you safely in an Accounting job when you graduate.
3 subjects a MUST. Maths Econs and Accounting. No big deal. These 3 subjects are simply compulsory. Imagine NOT taking any of these subjects and trying to be an accountant.
4 subjects is a BONUS but certainly not much additional benefit. Every year LSE takes 3A students without fail - some even getting B for AS Level. Seriously, for all of you UK ppl out there, unless you're trying for Oxbridge, most unis will be perfectly happy with 3 A-Levels and one AS. (Or two, to be on the safe side)
A Levels are (theoretically, but not so in other pirvate colleges in Msia) a 2 year program - the 1st year is called AS, with AS exams at the end, and the 2nd year A2 syllabus, with the A2 exams. SOME private colleges let their students do the whole AS+A2 combo in one exhausting sitting. In KYUEM, unless you fail miserably and resit in your A2 year, there is no such problem.
Suggestions for your one AS/your 4th full A-Level - WAIT for your first day of school. Veritas Media will make sure you know what to choose.
Can't wait for you guys to come.
HINT: For your AS/4th full A-Level, try Physics. Looks good on your application. Also may consider Literature, a remarkably painless way of enjoying at LEAST 5 hours of class a week. As we say, the unis don't really mind anything beyond 3 unless you're Oxbridge, so have fun but your sponsors would CERTAINLY love you to get an A. Seriously...there are recorded cases where students meet the UK requirements perfectly but NOT the sponsors' more stringent ones...and get booted off to some local uni. NOT worth the 2 years of KYUEM boot camp.
justme1407
03-07-2005, 10:29 AM
thanks so much npang 4 ur explanation..feel like i don't have to worry anymore.. :D
pamlee
03-07-2005, 11:54 AM
an ADD-ON to npang's (or a slight alteration)
Actually, contrary to popular belief, it's NOT a must tat u take A level accounting as one of ur subjects. in fact it's a not requirement. Prestigious unis like London School of Economics prefer students who take traditional A-level subjects to those who take subjects which are less academic and traditional like accounting and business studies. Taking ONLY maths, accounting and econs as ur A level subjects is a WEAK combination if ur wish is to get into topnotch unis especially LSE which is the NO. 1 uni for accountancy in the UK. That's when academic subjects like history, literature, sociology or even physics come in. Computing can also do juz fine.
When writing ur personal statement during application for universities in the UK, u need to do nothing more than to prove to the selector than u are really interested in the course you're applying n u know ur course throughout.
1) If you are aiming for some big time place in LSE or a very prestigious uni - mind you Oxbridge (Oxford and Cambridge for the uninitiated) have no accounting degree, as yet, but if you can negotiate with your sponsors somewhat I believe there ARE similar courses there that can put you safely in an Accounting job when you graduate.
As npang said, Oxbridge dont offer accountancy. If u wanna apply for oxbridge, u need to apply for bachelor in economics or degree in business which are the nearest courses related to accountancy.
Then again, economics is economics. Accountancy is.. yes accountancy. They're different, although it seems in laymen terms they are the same. They are different. I disagree wif npang, and i doubt if similar courses u take other than accountancy in the uni can land u safely in society as an Accountant. Unless u go for another two year ACCA tuition after u graduate wif a degree in economics, u are, after all, not a qualified Accountant who supervises account clerks in their work. Not to mention that during ur application u need to make ur personal statement a bit vague to try to elaborate on ur interest on both accountancy n economics, which i wont say it's a good thing. it's like medicine and say for example dentistry/pharmacy... which are two different thing, not to say completely of course.
Anyway, it's juz my personal view as a chartered accountant wannabe here. The choice is yours, always. You need to know what you're interested in. I came into KYUEM last year not knowing whether i'd like to be an accountant or an economist. U know what i chose. :wink:
There are many more future accountants n economists in college. Talk to them ya?
Dont worry. :D
LePip
03-07-2005, 04:21 PM
It's a tad lonely, peeps, that's for sure - but it's as lonely as you make it to be. If you choose to stay in your room and participate in zero activities and rot, you'll be lonely. It's only logical. If you come out and watch movies and play (shudder) DoTA and play squash, you won't HAVE time to feel lonely.
hey nich.... chill dude :P haha
and yea, DoTA proficiency tests will be after the swimming tests
crosshatched
03-07-2005, 04:56 PM
hey nich.... chill dude :P haha
and yea, DoTA proficiency tests will be after the swimming tests
seriously? :roll: how about CS? :twisted:
Jhuen
03-07-2005, 05:03 PM
pardon my ignorance,but what's DoTA? :oops:
crosshatched
03-07-2005, 05:07 PM
pardon my ignorance,but what's DoTA? :oops:
a warcraft game. defence of the ancients. KYUEMians love that game.
but include me out. :wink:
(hail the power of googlism!) :twisted:
Jhuen
03-07-2005, 05:16 PM
thanks crosshatched for the info :D haha,guess i'll be learning more about it very soon :D
zell_ll
03-07-2005, 07:17 PM
Can't wait to play DoTA...hehe....nick, when u going back to college?? 10 or 11 July??
npang
03-07-2005, 08:41 PM
For the full dossier on DoTA and many other arcane college traditions that just about destroy one's abilities at getting a quality wholesome academic education....juniors...wait for your first day of school. You will be pleasantly surpirised.
And DoTA proficiency tests...are the wishful thinking of a certain Le Pip. So are swimming tests, by the way. In theory all students take them first week; in practise i'm not sure coz I didn't take them (in September), yet qualified as a college lifeguard three months later. Go figure.
BTW....kyuem.blogspot.com has all your KYUEM needs.
sethchairman
03-07-2005, 10:14 PM
First and foremost, a VERY warm welcome to all our future juniors (imagine, in just 8 more days, you'll all begin your induction to the KYUEM family... *tear* - how time flies...) I am so ecstatic to see such a great response from you people - it's really nice to see so many people so curious about the college - as Theodore Zeldin puts it, once you're curious, you lose your fear :-)
Also very much delighted to see my pals here - npang, Nath, and Lepip - my absolutely indispensable Night Crew (you were a bit mischievous, Lepip, directing me here without telling me that you were yourself posting messages up - I have no doubt that an honest jury would convict you of Criminal Conspiracy to Pump the KYUEM Image Up) - and not forgetting, of course, the irreplaceable pamlee and corn2head - I can already see a whole lot of fun ahead, with these two helping you along your way :-)
I think that most of your questions would already have been answered incredibly well by these terribly sweet seniors of yours - so I'll just have a bit more to add.
When you first come in, you may feel somewhat overwhelmed, just like I did - I felt like I was an insignificant speck, among a galaxy of stars - SPM top scorers, math whizzes, public speaking champions, and the Leagues-Apart BNM group (sorry, Lepip :p) - but once you get to know all these legends, you realise that their flesh-and-blood, just like you are (albeit with brains far bigger than your own bird-sized brain). So don't ever be afraid to hold out your hand and say hello - every new friend you make is a new bud in the rosebed of the future (a bit like Sven-Goran Erikson as a seagull, if you ask me, but I'm asinine that way) +you kind of find your own niche pretty quick, if you ask me - everyone has something that they're good at, and chances are, we'll have that something here (otherwise, see next paragraph)
To those who would want to start an orchestra - to that, I say, why not? Remember, even if we don't currently have an activity that you want, you can always request for it - just plan out a proposal, submit it (the Ass-See, as npang so kindly describes it, will be only too happy to assist), and watch as a new tradition is born - I always tell people that we're the embyronic MCKK - only more egalitarian and zero bullying; traditions can start PRETTY easily here.
And a call to any future law students who may be coming in on the 12th - heads up! Big Brother's Watching You! (inside joke - ask the Night Crew - and the Thatcherite Assassin-Wannabe [lunch with Mr Small (or person of near-equivalent status) for whoever gets this one right - so speaks the corrupt politician])
See you on the 12th - I'll be looking out for the group of juniors who seem to know a bit more than they should :p
P.S. Don't worry about swimming. Seriously.
P.P.S. Ahem... perhaps Lepip would like to lead the I-Swear-Off-DOTA-for-the-Juniors'-Grades'-Sake crusade?
P.P.P.S. Don't. Even. Think. About. CS. (just kidding... just)
corn2head
03-07-2005, 11:07 PM
All HAIL!! Hail HIZAMI!!
p-h-a-r-t-j-o
04-07-2005, 12:13 AM
Carrying on with pre-induction-week ey, seniors? KyUem..Miss the place and its people..but not most of the dining hall meals..(not that bad lar actually) The fact that i miss kyuem, that gives you incoming juniors a lil idea about bonds you form in this pretty-much excellent college. In Saruman Singh's most memorable quote during the 2004 induction week... "When there's NOTHING around or outside the college, you focus on what's INSIDE it.." and that includes yourself, as different individuals..it's not as isolated as it seems thanks to college transport, but staying in college for a good whole week can be....actually pretty okay...=) In times of depression..Crash your friend's chalet if you cant find Ms Kasthuri..=p heh..Or go 'lepak' in the lembah..Hilly area, nasi lemak stall, burger stall, with golf course to crash (provided there are no golfers around, you don't wanna die from getting struck by a stray golf ball...dangerous advice, ignore me..)There's OF COURSE your lovely lovely and helpful seniors....*tickled* no, seriously. Hope to meet some of you sometime next month. Cheerio!
quirky
04-07-2005, 07:42 AM
8 more days to go!!! hehehe..... :D (counting down here...huhu)
Jhuen
04-07-2005, 12:09 PM
yup,8 more days to go :D cant believe that in 8 days time,i'll be leaving home sweet home and go off for my studies..time really flies..arrghh,half way through packing now;i hate packing!!
quirky
04-07-2005, 02:40 PM
hehe....yea....wow, ur packin olredi, Jhuen?? haha...wel, nothin wrong wif dat, i mean, it IS tym 2 pack, neway, rgt? haha... :D
im da slow one here...man, i stil dun hav a swimming suit... da last one i ever had was so damn SMALL n it had baby blue rabbits on it....wakaka... :lol: dun ask me how old i was at dat tym :wink:
merry_go_round
04-07-2005, 04:19 PM
kewl, both juniors and seniors are in hype mode already.. 8)
sethchairman
04-07-2005, 04:59 PM
Before I forget, please don't take npang's statements about literature purely at face value. Literature's quite possibly the most fun subject in college, thanks to its intrinsic value and a teacher whose just out-of-this-world when it comes to sarcastic wit and humour. On the other hand, it's also one very very subjective subject - the amount of blood, sweat and tears that have been spent on it makes for exceedingly painful retelling. So, just remember this much - there's a price to pay for fun - and that applies to just about any aspect of life in KYUEM. Having said that, however, it IS immensely entertaining, and as long as you're ready to work your derriere off, it isn't a bad thing to go for at all (have I contradicted myself enough yet?)
P.S. Packing already? *Sniffle* To be young once again...
P.P.S. Hail who, corn2head? (in an interesting tone)
ey..apologies for not taking pics of interiors...(future photography enthusiast take note)...i actually have pics of my own room...but..not fit for public display...might give u incoming juniors a distorted perception of the rooms.. :lol:
was just wondering whether there are any incoming juniors (or sub-juniors) from sabah or sarawak..or by any chance from the smallest state in Malaysia? just wondering..anyway..if u r ..dun worry urself silly thinking about the probs of travelling during the hols..(we'll tell u the probs..dun have to think about it for urself :twisted: ).. everything will be alrite...plenty of seniors from east malaysia...travelling tips easily available..just ask, knock, seek..n u shall find.....
no one has answered my call for incoming architect wanna-be..sad...sad... :cry:
anyway...can't wait to meet u guys...it's already monday...1 week away...excited..looking forward to a wonderful year ahead!
ooo..just in case some of u are still wondering...i dun think the college minds if u have bed sheets and pillow covers in colours other than white...u can have bed sheets with fur or pics of powerpuff girls for all the college cares! :) ...
quirky
04-07-2005, 08:09 PM
wow!! rlly? ANY kind of bed sheets n pillow covers??
ALRIGHTY THEN!! hahaha :D
how bout teddy bears n those stuf?? i mean, kud i bring my, uh...urm..stuffed crab?? wakaka.... :lol:
corn2head
04-07-2005, 09:33 PM
yup yup... Since you'll have a room to yourself you can bring anything approprate that reminds you of home!! hehehe..
I have a whole collection of cute cows on my desk!!
One week left... haih *sigh sigh sigh sigh sigh sigh sigh * :cry: [/i]
merry_go_round
04-07-2005, 11:16 PM
aha, I'll bring my ps2 too. :lol: (J'K)
by the way, does college has a list for items that couldn't be brought? I mean like cigs and stuffs like that... :roll:
zell_ll
04-07-2005, 11:39 PM
no comment bout that....hehe...ask hizami...but u can bring ur radio or cd player...
quirky
05-07-2005, 05:52 AM
7 days to go! huhahaha :D
corn2head
05-07-2005, 01:01 PM
*sigh*:(
justme1407
05-07-2005, 01:20 PM
huh..7 more days to go..so sad.. :cry: i'll be leaving home..hope that i won't feel homesick there..gonna miss my big teddybear..
n also i'm a bit afraid bout the orientation week..hope the seniors n facilitators are ok.. :)
quirky
05-07-2005, 03:48 PM
lorh, y r u afraid of orientation week, justme1407?? i mean, prsonally i tink its gona b 1 of da weeks that i'll always rmmber out of my 2-year stay there...heheh... :) coz it is when we're all still young n uh, innocent? haha... :lol: it is also da tym when we'll hav da tym 2 roam all ovr da place n meet all kinds of strangers dat r our soon-2-be-frens neway.... :D hehe...rgt? n dun wrry bout da seniors, dey'r dfinitly gona be nice n helpful.. :) (at least just think positiv bout it...haha! kiddin, seniors!)
dunno y i said all dat btw...hoho...wutevr it iz, just turn da nervousness 2 anticipation!! huhaha :D i'll b lookin 4wrd 2 meetin ya! n da rest of d recomers here, too...huhu :wink:
p.s. bring la dat big teddybear of urs 2 kyuem!! hehe :D not like its not allowed, rgt? huhu..
sethchairman
05-07-2005, 05:21 PM
I beg your pardon, Zell_ll... 'ask Hizami'?! KYUEM has never had, does not have, and will never have a prefect board, thank you very much :p Having come up with the requisite statement of bald outrage, I would like, however, to say that cigs are a definite no-no (as well as electrical items of questionable safety) Some of your craftier seniors will no doubt expound on ways of dodging the almost-laughable-at-times discipline (the price you have to pay for a liberal education... tsk,tsk), but seriously... out of honour and sheer self-preservation, help make KYUEM a Tobacco-Free Institution - we of the Anti-Tobacco League will thank you to our very ends, bitter as they may well be. Thus ends my Community Service Announcement. (And I am serious about the electrical items too - we haven't ever had a fire in KYUEM [at least, I hope not], and I'd like to keep it that way, if you know what I mean)
Speaking of electrical items, you will perhaps find old towels and those nifty soaker-mops (Pardon my kindergarten-ish vocab) extremely handy - how's that for a non sequitur, o most worthy members of the Night Crew (I'm growing attached to that label :-))
As for induction, don't worry about it - as you will hopefully have realised by now, senior-junior relations in KYUEM are a whole lot more relaxed than they may have been in school - I mean, really, how far can you lord it over someone that, at the extreme, could be just a couple of days younger than you are? You'll find many of us almost embarassingly keen on making your acquiantance, and the 'senior' mystique will fast dissipate (look, Ma, no smoke no more!) - mind you, we still believe ourselves capable of dispensing wisdom, being honours graduates of the School of I-Know-More-Than-You-Do-By-Sheer-Virtue-Of-The-Fact-That-I'm-Ostensibly-A-Year-Older.
So, moral of the story is simple: Don't be scared of us, and think of us as your buddies, 'coz nothing would make us happier (Are you thinking of fluffy bunnies and warm sunshine yet - don't worry, the eternal optimist is very much a minority, as has been continually pounded into my oh-so-stubborn skull)
And finally, on the subject of teddy bears (and any equivalent belongings of similar psycho-emotional significance) - by all means. bring whoever (the common-sense interpretation please) or whatever you may want - I can say, from past experience in the rooms of others, that pieces of home are what makes some rooms have that special feeling - which probably explains why I'm hardly ever in my own room :p
6 days to go... Yippeee!!!
P.S. You're kindling my curiousity, zell_ll
P.P.S. Take a good look at your registration booklet for the official yes-noes of the college.
zell_ll
05-07-2005, 11:47 PM
Yea....say TAK NAK to cigs :D ...5 days to go....this holidays kinda short....
corn2head
06-07-2005, 04:02 AM
Arrrghhhh!!!! What?? 5 days left???????
*sigh sigh* :cry: :cry:
merry_go_round
06-07-2005, 11:49 AM
I beg your pardon, Zell_ll... 'ask Hizami'?! KYUEM has never had, does not have, and will never have a prefect board, thank you very much :p Having come up with the requisite statement of bald outrage, I would like, however, to say that cigs are a definite no-no (as well as electrical items of questionable safety) Some of your craftier seniors will no doubt expound on ways of dodging the almost-laughable-at-times discipline (the price you have to pay for a liberal education... tsk,tsk), but seriously... out of honour and sheer self-preservation, help make KYUEM a Tobacco-Free Institution - we of the Anti-Tobacco League will thank you to our very ends, bitter as they may well be. Thus ends my Community Service Announcement. (And I am serious about the electrical items too - we haven't ever had a fire in KYUEM [at least, I hope not], and I'd like to keep it that way, if you know what I mean)
geez, you sound like I am a smoker or something...
Don't worry I'll carry on your legacy when u r not around.. :wink:
justme1407
06-07-2005, 12:29 PM
hehe..thanks a lot sethchairman n not to 4get..quirky..i'll bring my big teddybear n also my 'bantal busuk' to kyuem.. :D
cheese87
06-07-2005, 01:56 PM
Greetings to the ever helpful seniors of KYUEM!!! :D Can anyone of u kindly enlighten me about your laundry service in KYUEM? :P
Jhuen
06-07-2005, 01:56 PM
6 more days to go!!wah,time files huh??btw bryllo, remember your suggestion for recommers to meet?/is it still on??maybe we can use some way to recognise each other..any suggestions folks? :wink:
bryllo
06-07-2005, 03:37 PM
6 more days to go!!wah,time files huh??btw bryllo, remember your suggestion for recommers to meet?/is it still on??maybe we can use some way to recognise each other..any suggestions folks? :wink:
okay,the juniors..please complete this form and send to kirin87[at]time.net.my
Recom Name:
Scholar:
Course:
Address:
I'll compile the information and publish it on the forum.I think this is easier than everyone sending in their details one by one.
After that, we can set the time and place where we should meet.My suggestion is that we meet on 13th July when we have settled down.
btw, seniors are also welcomed to send their info.
P.S. For the address, just mention the state(negeri) where u live.
corn2head
06-07-2005, 04:32 PM
Hello all..
Well.. I'll explain about the laundry service in KYUEM. There are no washing machines in college. Basicly, a launderette comes twice a week (mondays and thursdays) to pick up our laundry. The compulsory laundry fee is RM18 per month for 6 pieces of clothing per-pick-up. You can send more if you want to but with a flat charge of RM0.50 per piece (this includes bed sheets). Comforter can be sent for a charge of RM5 net. The laundry service is very very useful especially during examinations when you dont have anytime to sort your dirty clothes!
:lol:
Kindly refer to previous posts.. I think we've explain every possible aspect of college life! :P
justme1407
06-07-2005, 06:11 PM
hmm..a good idea, bryllo..hope to meeting all of u in kyuem.. :D
quirky
06-07-2005, 07:19 PM
hehe...yep...gues dats a gud idea, bryllo...huhu :)
zell_ll
07-07-2005, 12:31 AM
4 days to go(seniors)......need more holidays realy....hehe
npang
07-07-2005, 07:09 AM
Yeah...agree wholeheartedly, zell_ll
DEBRIEFING for LAUNDRY SERVICE.
This is your friendly, voice automated laundry system answerring machine. Press (1) if you plan to go back to KL every weekend, (2) if you will never go home.
(1) Screw the laundry. Wash your clothes at home every weekend, you lucky (insert expletive).
(2) Mondays and Thursdays, you will send your laundry. Without fail, before 9am in the morning (theoretically) but sympathetic laundry services always takes clothes until roughly 3pm. Don't mess around with the system, just send it in early.
Your laundry comes back on Monday and THursday nights - no need a rocket scientist to figure out WHICH day's laundry. It is all piled up in the dining hall, separated in no particular order.
6 clothes per outing, no underwear accepted. Socks are the same value as one huge blanket, so choose your laundry wisely.
WHAT they won't tell you - When it is a public/school holiday on Monday/Thursday or the next Monday/Thursday is a school holiday, laundry services will not operate. This can be a bummer when they give you long weekend breaks and you realise you can't send your Thursday laundry in...have to wait till Monday...makes you wish you had a benevolent distant relative in KL...
SOMETHING else - drying racks are provided, 4 per chalet. One each, in effect, so don't bother bringing your own.
hope this helps.
can't wait to get back to college to eat quality dining hall food.
ihatekolej
07-07-2005, 02:34 PM
hey ppl, when do we hv to be back in kolej? this sunday rite? i kinda....erm....forgot...thats how much i like kolej. dont get me wrong juniors, its a great college.....its not the college, its me. :evil: looks like npang is on his was to being the most popular senior, ay son? ;)
dizhalfa
07-07-2005, 07:37 PM
hi guys .. guess what ? i just came back from the college yesterday .. (took a tour around the coll coz ma mum wanted to ) the college is so ..so so...ops.. i wont spoil the surprise for ya guys ..haha....what i would like to say is just this ...the coll is very very very very very ...urm , oh well ... secluded+senyap sunyi sepi....hak3
hey juniors...( as if im not , hak3 ) lets meet sumwhere sumday ok ? post ur details to bryllo and see what we could make of dat.. :P
cheese87
07-07-2005, 08:32 PM
Tq v much to npang the automatic laundry teller machine & corn2head!! :twisted: !!! Now I understand the laundry system in KYUEM!!! Yippie!!! :o
quirky
07-07-2005, 08:33 PM
hahaha..... :D yerp, dizhalfa... it iz a wellknown fact dat kyuem is very very very EXTREMELY remote n quiet....heheh... :lol: it wasnt nicknamed ''jungle college'' 4 nothin...hohoho... :D
my mom had also checkd dat place out 2 weeks ago... n yerp, she said it was a rlly gud place 2 study, wif all da excellent facilities n all, n literally no distractions.... heheh... :D
bryllo
07-07-2005, 10:12 PM
yeah, i went to the solitary college last saturday,but didnt get the chance to go past the gates.so sad...the guards wont let me in.
Nonetheless, i'll have the chance to explore this coming tuesday..hehe.
The college is a great place to study, look at the surroundings,its like we're in genting highlands,haha. It'll give us inspiration(i hope so). Furthermore, we wont have to worry about the sound of traffic because there arent any.
Hope to meet you all there!
zell_ll
08-07-2005, 01:48 AM
WelCome to the jungle soon juniors...hehe...
merry_go_round
08-07-2005, 11:53 PM
The college is a great place to study, look at the surroundings,its like we're in genting highlands,haha. It'll give us inspiration(i hope so). Furthermore, we wont have to worry about the sound of traffic because there arent any.
Hope to meet you all there!
nah, you have to fear the sound of me later everyday everynight, making havoc in the college...muahaha :twisted:
hi there! :D i am a newbie here! i m going to KYUEM next week and to b frank....i m worrying about my english....is it true that we need to b extremely good in english in order to "survive" in this college? sorry if my question sounds weird or stupid... :roll:
zell_ll
09-07-2005, 04:16 PM
NO...the main purpose u come to college is to learn...try to adapt and improve urself :D ...but good english will become an advantage for u....goOd LuCK....
bryllo
09-07-2005, 06:16 PM
nah, you have to fear the sound of me later everyday everynight, making havoc in the college...muahaha :twisted:
Looks like i'll have to bring my trusty headphones....hehe
Btw, I'll post the names tonight or tomorrow. About the time,date and venue, I cant set it because i'm not familiar with the college. Moreover, I dont have the schedule for the induction week. We dont want to clash our meeting with the induction schedule.
Any ideas? Perhaps, the seniors(especially the facilitators) could help us?
bryllo
09-07-2005, 10:03 PM
ok.. here is the list of names:
recom name: quirky
scholar: JPA
course: biotech
Recom Name: merry_go_round
Scholar: PNB
Course: CS
Address: Kjg, Selangor.
Recom Name: bryllo
Scholar: YTN
Course: Mechanical
Address: Melaka.
Recom Name: Jhuen
Scholar: bnm
Course: actuarial science
Address: Kedah
Recom Name: dizhalfa
Scholar: Mara
Course: Medic
Address: Ipoh,Perak.
Recom Name:justme1407
Scholar: Jpa
Course: Accounting
Recom Name: Cheese87
Scholar: BNM
Course: Accounting
Address: Malacca
Please keep sending in details.I'll just edit this post to add more information.
dizhalfa
09-07-2005, 11:30 PM
Hye FBI ..welcome to the jungle college thread ..ahaks.... :wink: , no need to be worrying about ur english though, there would be plenty of help i reckon , besides , all subjects are in english ..so, go figure .
Bryllo , nice work u have there , but its too few to organise a grand extravaganza rendezvous ..haha..come on guys , keep it comin..
i hope its not too late ... anyone taking medicine here? huhuh...computing, engineering,actuarial sc , .. so far no medic stud here i reckon .. i could now imagine how 'bz ' a level medic students are.. aiyak .. :(
Thanx zell_ll & dizhalfa! :) I will try my best! :wink: Actually i m going to take Actuarial Science under JPA.....still not finish packing.... hehe...:P
justme1407
09-07-2005, 11:50 PM
thanks bryllo 4 da list.. :D i'm looking forward to meeting u guys..
so, quirky is asyikin..hope to meeting u there..i thought u're a chinese girl.. :) btw, i'm a jpa's scholar too..doing accounting..n my name is sarah..dat's all i think..
quirky
09-07-2005, 11:55 PM
n yea, merry_go_round, (or shud i call u izzaldeen now? hoho :) ), u can make ANY KIND OF HAVOC u want, coz i'd be aided wif my headphones too... :) heheh... gues i'll take dis opprtunity 2 inform u guyz dat headphones r goin 2 be VERY handy there, so make sure u bring 1 at least, alrght? haha :lol:
hehehhh.... :D hey FBI!! nice meetin ya~~ huhu... dun wrry, ur not da only 1 who is still in da packing process...haha :wink:
LePip
10-07-2005, 12:01 AM
hey bryllo..... nice work compiling a list of the recom ppl.... one step ahead of us in our time, that's for sure.
you asked for some advice about a meeting place and time.
well, i just thought about saying........... take your time in all this... truth be told, we were feeling a lot of the same things last year. it's probably bad to hype you guys all up again, but yea... next tues you guys will be thrown into the deep end... you'll be meeting tons of new ppl... maybe recom maybe not. in the beginning, everyone's a stranger to everyone else (mostly anyway), so it's a good way for you to mix around and get to know everyone. you'll find it pretty hard to remember every single name you're gonna learn in the first day...
i guess what i'm saying is...... don't be too worried about meeting up with all you recom guys during the first couple of days. believe me, you're gonna spend 2 years in this college here, in a batch of just under 200 students. in good time, you'll get to know almost everyone, and (hopefully!) be friends with almost everyone. ppl would tend to stick to cliques during induction, coz that's more comfortable.... well.... just sort of some nervous advice.... hope you dont stick to recom ppl during induction. induction is designed to help you meet everyone. and yea... i'm probably getting ahead of myself with the typing here.. you guys will get plenty of great advice during induction about everything under the sun.
just pack neat, and don't lock yourself outta your chalet room!
quirky
10-07-2005, 12:09 AM
huhu... :D hey there, sarah! dats fnny...i thot YOU r a chinese girl.. haha... :) wel, im hopin 2 meet u der, too.. huhu... man, r we da only girls in da list? haha... :) aa well..
quirky, u r my senior rite? seems like i got lots to bring.....haih....
dizhalfa
10-07-2005, 12:54 AM
whut ? quirky is a senior ? wahahhaha... i dun know what to say..hak3
merry_go_round
10-07-2005, 01:14 AM
headphone also no use.. :twisted: u'll never know what I'm up to.
by the way, yeah looking forward to tuesday~ need to wear formal wears also is it? :roll:
bryllo
10-07-2005, 08:13 AM
thanks LePip, for the advice. I was thinking the same thing.
quirky
10-07-2005, 10:37 AM
hahaha... :D wow, u rlly think im a senior, FBI??? heheh...
just like dizhalfa, i rlly dunno wut 2 say...hohoho... :) wel, haha, der's 1 thing i can say: u rlly havent MET me, buddy.... coz then u'll see that i am as junior as any junior can be.... :D heheh...u get da picture :lol:
Jhuen
10-07-2005, 04:13 PM
huhu... :D hey there, sarah! dats fnny...i thot YOU r a chinese girl.. haha... :) wel, im hopin 2 meet u der, too.. huhu... man, r we da only girls in da list? haha... :) aa well..
hey i'm a girl too lah :cry:
justme1407
10-07-2005, 05:31 PM
we have 3 girls now in da list..syikin, jhuen n me..but nobody's doing da same course with me..it's ok then..i really hope to get nice chaletmates since we can't choose our chaletmates..huh..
quirky
10-07-2005, 05:53 PM
haha....man, im rlly srry, jhuen!! huhu...its jst dat, i rlly cant tell if its a he or she evrytym i look at chinese names...hehe... :) srry mehh...huehue...
oh, n sarah, my name's actually spelled shiqin laa... hehe... :D i rlly like da H-Q better than da Y-K...hohoho :wink:
justme1407
10-07-2005, 06:12 PM
ahakss..so sorry la syiqin..did i spell ur name correctly dis time? :D haha..i also can't recognise if its a he or she when i look at chinese name..huhu..used to make many mistakes in order to call the candidates' name when i was still working as an abrsm's steward..
btw, jhuen, can u tell me how to recognise one's gender by looking at their chinese names..
bryllo
10-07-2005, 06:19 PM
Great! Now we have 3 boys and 3 girls on the list. Very balanced.
Hehe...actually, I also have a hard time differing chinese name(whether male or female).
justme1407
10-07-2005, 06:35 PM
eh..guess dat i still spell ur name wrongly..haha..H-Q ek? so sorry la shiqin..hehe :) at last, i can spell ur name correctly..
quirky
10-07-2005, 07:51 PM
yerp, a balanced list~ heh..
neway, sarah....hahahahha... :D dunwrry bout it la,pal... huhu.. iv gotten used 2 correcting ppl bout da spelling neway...huhaha :D
ey, btw, wuts dat bout u working as an abrsm steward??? i mean...hehe...wut iz dat?
Jhuen
10-07-2005, 08:11 PM
ahakss..so sorry la syiqin..did i spell ur name correctly dis time? :D haha..i also can't recognise if its a he or she when i look at chinese name..huhu..used to make many mistakes in order to call the candidates' name when i was still working as an abrsm's steward..
btw, jhuen, can u tell me how to recognise one's gender by looking at their chinese names..
hahah,i used to think i dont have this problem,but the other day i just made a mistake!i thought a recommer(also uem bound!)is a guy,whereas in fact it's a girl!! :oops: heheh,i dont know actualu..there's no special way,u just know it! :wink: usually names with chong,yong,wei are guys' names,but it also depends on the last name..o,what is abrsm steward anyway??
Jhuen
10-07-2005, 08:14 PM
errm, yup,the list's balanced but there are some recommers who didnt send in their details..shy perhaps?/ :wink:
tclik
10-07-2005, 11:05 PM
I graduated from KMYS (now KYUEM) in 2003 and all I can say is I spent the best two years of my life there.
You'll love it! :D
Chin Lik
corn2head
11-07-2005, 07:02 AM
Hizami..
I can't fit the Judas Cradle into my car! I had to dissemble it into smaller pieces.. I promise to reassemble the device before the juniors register.. The Wooden Steak will be delivered by tomorrow but I've only gotten charcoal... No firewood! And if I?m not mistaken the Impaling Stick is in the office... IMO, I still think we should use the Iron Maiden.. It's the most classical piece of equipment!! Minimum hustle, maximum agony..
Are you sure you want to go Medieval this year?? I hope the orientation torture tradition won't be too torturous for the juniors!
:evil: hahahahahaha..
HiGhFiDeLiTy
11-07-2005, 11:13 AM
hello guys.. i'm back!
hahah.. sorry i didn't follow up this discussion since my last post here.. and tht was..umm..several weeks ago, i guess.
well,well.. the blissful moments in home sweet home happened in just a blink of an eye.. cant believe i'll be going tomorrow.. the excitement and anticipation i felt transform into anxiety and uneasiness all of sudden! waa.. how come.. you guys sound like you're itching to go there while i keep wishing today is 12th june.. :cry:
ok,ok, i should get my spirit spices up.
corn2head, ur post horrified me! minimum hustle, maximum agony? and what kind of medieval device is tht?
oh well. hope everything turns out fine tomorrow. to sarah, shiqin (i spell it correct rite?) and jhuen, you're not three but four! include me in! :wink:
justme1407
11-07-2005, 12:36 PM
jhuen, abrsm stands for associated board of the royal school of music..n the stewards duty is to give services to the candidates n examiners who are from UK..
n a special hello to HiGhFiDeLiTy[/b]..hope to meet u tomorrow..
huh..seems like i only have a few hours in my home sweet home b4 starting a new life in a new surrounding n meeting strangers..
huh.. :([/b]
cheese87
11-07-2005, 01:03 PM
Chua reporting!!! Count me in!!! See ya all tomorrow. Finished packing, currently savouring every minute and second at home!!! :D
p/s: Guyz, you all have anoter mate ere!! :lol:
bryllo
11-07-2005, 02:02 PM
welcome aboard HiGhFiDeLiTy and cheese87. The Kyuem Starship Enterprise will start its journey tomorrow. Please remain seated while the starship lifts off. Hehe...
Now we have 4 boys and 4 girls....
merry_go_round
11-07-2005, 03:55 PM
still packing... :lol: looks like I am bringing my whole room along with me...
feeling homesick already.. now I realise the power of home~ sighed.. :roll:
npang
11-07-2005, 07:54 PM
I'm back in college guys. The KYUEM Starship Enterprise has lifted off, for real. The iron maiden is real. They have already prepared the obstacle courses, the pails of dirty slimy water, and the Fear Factor food for the induction.
Heh, and by the way, induction is run by Hizami. Do you think we'll punish you?
Ill be in the Great Hall (it's great! Hogwarts-like!) tomorrow, guys, look out for me, Recom-ers. Nicholas Pang's the name, looks like a poorly bred hog. You can't miss me - I'm the ugliest person in the entire campus. Hehe.
If you DO miss me....you will get an enduring reminder of my existence, come afternoon.
FLASH REPORT! There is ALREADY One junior in college. Hehe someone beat you guys to it. His name is Samsul and he's from Sabah (MY STATE! muahaha!) and he's in my room now and i'm entertaining him with horrible stories about colege.
Sigh...makes me wanna be a junior again.
College rocks. guys, my chalet's P30A. Anyone staying in the near vicinity, drop in and pay me a visit, okay. I'm ready to answer any enquiries that may crop up.
Seeya people.
Love you all.
Nick @<hidden> college.
merry_go_round
12-07-2005, 05:34 PM
I had landed and reported to the duty. Now resting in my room, preparing for another take off around the college. LOL8)
I am Diamond! Just met up with Kenrick when sorting the things out in my room. He just bumped and said hello to all members here, chalet P39. Surprised a little bit but nonetheless he is funny guy (=first impression lar..) He always smile all the time.~ nice~~ :D
I think I bumped into quirky. Not sure though. :roll:
Anyway, good luck to all juniors! (as i'm not je...haha!)
Okay, bath time. :wink:
Jhuen
12-07-2005, 10:49 PM
hey there!i'm here at last!!wahahah!!first post in kyuem.already met npang and kenrick and pamlee!they're so cool!!i'm in sapphire.anyone else here??havent met any other recommers like bryllo,merry_go_round and justme1407.
first day's not that bad after all,thought i would be homesick,but come to think of it i dont feel that way! :D the games were pretty fun,actually played that money game once during some interact club activity....anyway,hope to finally the rst of the recommers tomorrow!!where are u guys??
cheese87
14-07-2005, 11:26 PM
Just drop in ti say hi! It's good to be here, no regrets!!! :D
Jhuen
18-07-2005, 09:39 PM
samurai's over,swimming test's over,induction week's almost over!!!!aarrggghhh!!!man,hizami said that life's gonna really start this wednesday,when we start having lessons!!errm,bet life's gonna be be pretty hectic soon....**ouch**..my back really hurts...
hehehe....now only i know that "Jhuen" is actually Jhuen Ri.....