View Full Version : Windows 7
10-07-2009, 12:45 AM
hey people,i just installed windows 7 beta.so far i it is WAY faster compared to vista even to xp which i previously used.anyone using this operating system?as a vista hater,i really love this 7 so far as it is an improved and faster version of vista.let's talk about it.
sugarspice
10-07-2009, 05:39 AM
In what way it's faster?
Btw, Windows XP can change to windows7?
mehul91
10-07-2009, 09:07 AM
i heard its going to be a blast. That's why i postponed my desire to purchase a notebook. Its has cool graphics and as you said its fast
10-07-2009, 12:13 PM
Apparently the techies in The Star actually tried out the Windows 7 beta version and their review was that they give it a resounding "Yes, it's good" sort of review. It was stated that unlike Windows Vista which requires lots of memory and resources to run, Windows 7 can be installed and run on computers with lower specifications smoothly. So far they are happy with it and they anticipate that with computers becoming more and more advanced, Windows 7 should be a success.
Besides, Windows 7 has apparently redesigned their GUI. If you hate Windows Vista because of its lack of user-friendliness, The Star assures us that Windows 7 is unlike Windows Vista.
angel_tnp29
10-07-2009, 12:43 PM
hey people,i just installed windows 7 beta.so far i it is WAY faster compared to vista even to xp which i previously used.anyone using this operating system?as a vista hater,i really love this 7 so far as it is an improved and faster version of vista.let's talk about it.
Where can I get it? Izzit available on Microsoft website? I purchased my laptop because I really need it on may...I heard those who purchase laptop or pc after July can switch to W7 for free..
10-07-2009, 01:36 PM
i have no idea how my friend did it for me but he just did it cos my laptop died.anyway,1 thing i really like,it has all the drivers you can imagine.even my printer is plug and play now.
angel_tnp29
10-07-2009, 01:56 PM
i have no idea how my friend did it for me but he just did it cos my laptop died.anyway,1 thing i really like,it has all the drivers you can imagine.even my printer is plug and play now.
wow...so that mean I dont nid to find all the driver that i needed? I guess I should find it out as soon as possible..thanks^^
technicolor
10-07-2009, 04:38 PM
That's awesome! Anyway, please don't make me regret for buying a new Vista notebook... :notrust
10-07-2009, 05:02 PM
yes,no need for driver installation...and the whole installation of the OS only took half an hour and it was ready to go...though this is just a beta version,i havent found any problems so far.technicolor,if you want,i'll install it for you.come to my room,pg13.
10-07-2009, 05:05 PM
Oit, pirate copy ah? :notrust
technicolor
10-07-2009, 05:07 PM
^ :lol You live in block P eh? So far awayyyy...
My new laptop is just 2 weeks old... Give me some time to enjoy Vista first lah. :P
10-07-2009, 05:23 PM
its beta...wat do you think henry?
humourprince
24-10-2009, 02:25 PM
is pen drive compatible for vista compatible for windows 7 also?
24-10-2009, 02:41 PM
Why wouldn't pen drive be compatible for w7 -.-"
24-10-2009, 04:31 PM
Why wouldn't pen drive be compatible for w7 -.-"
Some manufacturers like Sandisk requires installation of drivers before they can work with windows...
Strangely, the same drive works without anything extra under OS X
24-10-2009, 09:27 PM
So now that Windows 7 is officially released, who's up for Windows 7? Anybody going for the free upgrade to Windows 7 for those currently running on Windows Vista?
breakmx
25-10-2009, 12:08 PM
I would recommend anyone and everyone who is using vista to upgrade to W7....It is way better...free upgrade if you bought your genuine vista recently...don't wait , until jan nex year only...just have to pay for the shipping cost...which is approc aroun 69++ for peninsular ....have fun with power up vista-W7....haha
25-10-2009, 02:07 PM
My brother said that W7 is not very compatible with many software yet...
plus even anti-virus....
Can someone confirm me about this?
25-10-2009, 06:10 PM
My brother said that W7 is not very compatible with many software yet...
plus even anti-virus....
Can someone confirm me about this?Most softwares that are compatible with Vista are compatible with w7... So, go get it guys!
missyrainy
26-10-2009, 05:51 PM
Are all the new notebooks converted into Windows 7? I'm planning to buy one either in this year end or starting of next year. What's the difference between Window7 and Vista?
26-10-2009, 07:27 PM
No more "Allow or Cancel" on every single thing you do.
Speeddemon
02-12-2009, 11:10 AM
7 retains the all the important features of vista (no more uac!) yet is fast and responsive. so no worries if u're running 7 with just 1gb of memory since it's very light on resources compared to vista. people stop complaining finally.
DonFrank
02-12-2009, 11:24 AM
I absolutely love wins 7. It has the beautifulness of vista and smoothness of xp. Try it out :amuse
20-01-2010, 12:38 PM
I've just purchased a new Sony Vaio (the NW series so it's nothing so high-tech anyway :P), and it comes with a pre-installed Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit). I have never used Windows Vista - I have been using Windows XP Home Edition all this while. So a switch to Windows 7 was initially quite a shock for me, because I had to learn about the operating system and how it works quite from the scratch.
So far, the software that I have installed in Windows 7, though are old, are working quite fine. There have been fears between my friend and I that some software designed for the 32-bit operating system may not function in our 64-bit Windows 7. However, so far, I have not yet encountered any problems.
Windows 7 detects certain software as previously having compatibilty issues (maybe because there WERE indeed some compatibility issues when the software was run in Windows Vista). You can opt to check for updates, if you want, or just run the program. I have come across four software which I have installed having previously compatibility issues, but upon running the program, it is just fine. Therefore, I believe that Microsoft has settled quite a lot of compatibility issues in Windows 7 and that it may be well backward compatible.
Printers are now in plug-and-play, meaning there is no need to install the drivers that come with the CD.
When I purchased a new laptop I was thinking of getting a Toshiba M500. However, when I tested Windows 7 on the Toshiba laptop I noticed that its response is still slow, and somewhat lagging - much to my disappointment. I decided against getting the Toshiba and came across the Sony Vaio, and its performance impressed me.
Why did I initially wanted to purchase a Toshiba laptop? Well, my old Toshiba laptop has been with me for the past four years so I thought that it emphasises on durability. However, lately I've received feedback from friends that Toshiba laptops today are not as durable as they once were. I've no idea how true that is.
P/S: IF you purchase a new computer that has a pre-installed genuine Windows 7 and it does not come with a Recovery Disc, most likely it has a Create Recovery Disc option in the operating system. Make sure you create the discs yourself as soon as possible, lest your operating system fails at some point of time!
wieya
21-01-2010, 06:16 PM
i just installed my new win7 ultimate! i love it!
maxdakota
29-06-2010, 03:52 PM
I got windows 7 for my computer cause my windows xp pro didn't have very good virus protection on it. I'm very impressed with the ease of loading it on my computer. Also, I am impressed with the whole set-up and navigation of programs and icons.