View Full Version : Info: Principal's Award 2010
Redwine2
14-07-2009, 01:18 PM
Dateline : 14 August 2009
Calling all SPM 2009 students who have contributed significantly to your country, community or school.
Minimum requirement
1. SPM level (based on school mid year exam results)
-Diploma and foundation programs : 6A?s
-A level , SAM, International Canadian Pre-University , IB & ADP : 7 As
-Students whose mid year school?s results are slightly below the requirement but have excellent record of involvement in extra-curricular actions and or community service may also apply.
2. Applicant must hold positions of responsibility in school or in extra-curricular activities such as sports, uniform bodies or have won competition at various level.
Program
many programs available from foundation courses to diploma in many fields
source : Taylor's College University
andkaydoubleu
07-09-2009, 01:59 PM
interview dates and venue for the Taylor's Principal Awards are out. Check Taylor's homepage under scholarship
17-09-2009, 10:34 PM
was wondering if anyone in recom was invited to the interview? Gah! I'm somehow nervous and I don't really know what I should prepare. Brush up my English? Read through some general knowledge? Be bold and daring? Or just be polite and quiet? Anyone going there to share this moment with me? xD
star90
18-09-2009, 05:55 PM
was wondering if anyone in recom was invited to the interview? Gah! I'm somehow nervous and I don't really know what I should prepare. Brush up my English? Read through some general knowledge? Be bold and daring? Or just be polite and quiet? Anyone going there to share this moment with me? xD
heya, I'm currently under this scholarship, what course you applied? don't worry too much, it's pretty easy to get the scholarship, just be yourself. I didn't prepare much last time. LOL wish you good luck! =)) *feel free to ask me any questions, will try to reply your message if and only if I can access the internet* :)
eve29
24-09-2009, 10:19 PM
heya, I'm currently under this scholarship, what course you applied? don't worry too much, it's pretty easy to get the scholarship, just be yourself. I didn't prepare much last time. LOL wish you good luck! =)) *feel free to ask me any questions, will try to reply your message if and only if I can access the internet* :)
What question would they ask? Do i have to brush up on my general knowledge especially the world news etc etc?
Honestly, I haven't been reading the newspaper much.
Sorry but if you don't mind, what questions did they ask you at your interview? (: Thanks!
25-09-2009, 04:04 PM
Hmmm.. I was wondering are certificates of participation important? Even if we didn't win anything? Should we show them to the interviewers?
*Going tomorrow, wish me luck!!! x)
lfwinks
25-09-2009, 10:02 PM
hi there... i went for the interview last year...
it's pretty easy... just relax, don't be nervous..
we don't have to prepare for any general knowledge last year... it's just some questions asking
-why u want to choose the program you chose...
-what's your plan after 5 years/10 years..
-ahha, here's the most popular topic: why taylor's??
don't worry too much.. there's a briefing session before the interview, and they will give u a list of questions to prepare for...
so.. i guess that's all??
All the best to you all!!
star90
26-09-2009, 11:15 AM
What question would they ask? Do i have to brush up on my general knowledge especially the world news etc etc?
Honestly, I haven't been reading the newspaper much.
Sorry but if you don't mind, what questions did they ask you at your interview? (: Thanks!
Sorry for the late reply.. yea.. it's pretty easy, don't worry too much.. just relax.. =) well, they asked me why I want to choose Taylor's, have I been to overseas and do tell them something about my experience over there.. do I like that place and why? which building can be catogerised as one of the greatest building (I choose architecture, that's why they asked me this)... can't remember much.. just be yourself =D very easy to secure this scholarship, don't worry.. GOOD LUCK
Hmmm.. I was wondering are certificates of participation important? Even if we didn't win anything? Should we show them to the interviewers?
*Going tomorrow, wish me luck!!! x)
Sorry for the late reply.. It's alright for just participating the competition.. bring everything along, can't remmeber whether I showed them or just keep it to myself last two years.. good luck again..
26-09-2009, 11:02 PM
I went there today! x] The questions they asked me really focus on mainly three things, that is your academic results, leadership qualities and sports. For academic results, it's if you are capable to obtain 11 A1s. As for leadership qualities, it's your involvement in extracurricular activities, and the activities that you have organized. And sports is to show that you are a well rounded person. So remember to join the taekwando or marathon if you have the time.
However, I would like to know is this Principal Award giving out full or partial scholarship? Is it essential? Or we can just get the scholarship easily if we got excellent results?
unsolvedcryptex
28-09-2009, 06:53 PM
I went there today! x] The questions they asked me really focus on mainly three things, that is your academic results, leadership qualities and sports. For academic results, it's if you are capable to obtain 11 A1s. As for leadership qualities, it's your involvement in extracurricular activities, and the activities that you have organized. And sports is to show that you are a well rounded person. So remember to join the taekwando or marathon if you have the time.
However, I would like to know is this Principal Award giving out full or partial scholarship? Is it essential? Or we can just get the scholarship easily if we got excellent results?
Partial Scholarship depending on which course you are taking.Different pre-u studies has different waiver.As i remember,its 50% for A-levels.but when i checked out the pamphlet that they gave our school,its lesser than that.But what I am sure is that its partial.
Merit Scholarship is different.It depends on ur real SPM results.Different results gives different fee waivers.
For eg,>11A1 -full fee waiver,>10A1-70% fee waiver
Since its Principal's award,it might be essential to have other activities than studying.Most of the time,dun worry ,shouldn't be too hard to get.
I didnt apply.T.T i should.
Yeah, I went to the interview last year. However, I don't think it is worth to take up this scholarships. The waive ranged from Rm1000 to Rm10000 rebate in the course, which I think it is not worth to take it. Rather, if u are really keen to study in Taylor, I recommend that for time being, you study harder and take up as many A1s as you can. There is still a scholarship available using SPM results.
But to be frank, it is a really nice experience as i believe that you learnt some interview "tips" right? =p
trenchcoat101
30-09-2009, 09:33 AM
I went to the interview too. Before the interview, they will give interview tips. It's roughly the same questions that they will ask u during the real interview. Anyway, I didn't take the offer because taylor's fees are very expensive. Unless u have enough $$$..
unsolvedcryptex
30-09-2009, 02:06 PM
Btw,i made a mistake.The 50% off is for foundation /diploma.For A-levels,its 10k,but that actually made up around 50% tuition fees only
30-09-2009, 05:32 PM
Thanks guys!! : )
Got a feeling there are better scholarships offer after SPM, so study hard everyone!! Though I have to admit, the interview experience is quite new and fresh to me. Some part of it is interesting too. Hehe....:cool
adelynneo
04-09-2010, 10:29 PM
i am also going for the interview another 2 weeks .......
very nervous
it means too much for me and my family ....
can give me some advice or questions they asked ?????
anything i need to take note to give them a best impression....
;_________;