View Full Version : Success Story of ReComers in SPM

15-06-2004, 07:24 AM
Thanks to the wonderful idea of Taufiq. Here it is, the thread for fellow ReComers who have done well in SPM to share their secrets here. Let everyone knows where you do your SPM, what you are doing now, what you get for your SPM etc...

15-06-2004, 08:27 AM
Let me share my background a bit.

I am Chen Chow, formerly from Jit Sin High School, Bukit Mertajam. After that, I was on ASEAN Scholarships to study at Raffles Junior College, Singapore. Getting JPA as a third intake to US, I am studying in Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, majoring in Electrical and Computer Engineering and am doing triple minors in Information Science (Dept of Computer Science), Engineering Management (Dept of Civil & Environmental Engineering) and Industrial System and Information Technology (Dept of Operational Research and Industrial Engineering).

Taken SPM in 1999, got 9A1 and 2A2 (1119 and Mandarin). I will try my best to help everyone here, and I will be mainly helping to develop this SIG. So, anyone with idea, feel free to post it here, or let me know! Hope other ReComers could post here too! Invite your friends to join!!!

15-06-2004, 12:10 PM
Nama saya Kelvin Lew. Nama Sekolah Menengah saya ialah SMK Seaport...

That's why my BM got a C4. Haha.

Anyway, I got 8 A1s and 1 C4 in SPM 2000. Was in the school formerly known as SMK Seaport, Petaling Jaya.

Applied for almost all the scholarships and Universities after SPM. Got lucky with Uniten, MMU, UTP and UTM. Decided on UTP until the last minute when I called JPA for news on scholarship. Finally got it.

Studied in the ALG (A-Levels German) Program in INTEC, UiTM until end of 2003.

Now in Germany studying in Fachhochschule Ulm in Mechatronics 1st Semester.

Still trying to get used to the life here.

15-06-2004, 12:44 PM
I'm Andrew Chan, studied in SMK Raja Mahadi, Klang for my secondary education. I've got 9A1 and 2A2 (Moral Education and 1119) for SPM2003, I took Accounts as my extra subject, and I'm from the Science stream.

Just graduated from Alevels (Taylor's College) and currently waiting for my results. Still undecided on what to study and where, but I've applied to UK and Aus Unis... I applied for a wide variety of courses, Biochemistry for UK unis, Pharmacy, Biotech, Medicine, and Nanotech for Aus Unis.

And, I'm not under any scholarship.... :(

Nice to meet you guys!

david_david
15-06-2004, 01:11 PM
huh? you took spm 2003 and you've already got A'levels???In less than 6 months??

15-06-2004, 01:33 PM
huh? you took spm 2003 and you've already got A'levels???In less than 6 months??

Oopps! Typo!!! I took SPM 2002... hehe... Sorry.. :oops:

kevinkhoo1986
15-06-2004, 02:10 PM
I'm Andrew Chan, studied in SMK Raja Mahadi, Klang for my secondary education. I've got 9A1 and 2A2 (Moral Education and 1119) for SPM2003, I took Accounts as my extra subject, and I'm from the Science stream.

Just graduated from Alevels (Taylor's College) and currently waiting for my results. Still undecided on what to study and where, but I've applied to UK and Aus Unis... I applied for a wide variety of courses, Biochemistry for UK unis, Pharmacy, Biotech, Medicine, and Nanotech for Aus Unis.

And, I'm not under any scholarship.... :(

Nice to meet you guys!

Hey! i am from klang too. My former school is S.M.K Sultan Abdul Samad. I scored straight 10A1 in SPM but get B3 for 1119 :(. I am not under any scholarship too. I do not consider myself as a successful SPM students since i was not offered any scholarship from the government... very sad about it. Currently i continue my form 6 class in Sekolah Tinggi Klang.

15-06-2004, 02:27 PM
Hey! i am from klang too. My former school is S.M.K Sultan Abdul Samad. I scored straight 10A1 in SPM but get B3 for 1119 :(. I am not under any scholarship too. I do not consider myself as a successful SPM students since i was not offered any scholarship from the government... very sad about it. Currently i continue my form 6 class in Sekolah Tinggi Klang.

Did u tried appealling to JPA? Im sure u stand a chance as you have straight A1's. But u r indeed lucky to study form 6 in Sekolah Tinggi Klang, it's a good form six school.

kevinkhoo1986
15-06-2004, 05:27 PM

Did u tried appealling to JPA? Im sure u stand a chance as you have straight A1's. But u r indeed lucky to study form 6 in Sekolah Tinggi Klang, it's a good form six school.

Yupe i do appeal to JPA. Frankly i think i do not stand a chance for it anymore. Do u know in high school klang alone there are 3 10a1 and one 11a1 failed to get JPA Scholarship? While 3 of the bukit kuda top students did not manage to get JPA scholarship too. To date, I have just seen one of my friend got Engineering course in USA! cool man USA! Right now i am trying to forget about JPA scholarship and just concentrate on form 6. Hopefully would not be frustrated again after STPM.

wawa
15-06-2004, 10:28 PM
Right now i am trying to forget about JPA scholarship and just concentrate on form 6. Hopefully would not be frustrated again after STPM.

I know its hard to accept such things. I was accepted for Stanford but no funding and am going to Singapore instead. I was very despondent until i read somewhere saying 'don't let something you can't do inhibit what you can do'

Take it as a setback and use it as a motivation rather than a 'pull you down'. :D

15-06-2004, 10:33 PM
Hi. i am wong han ching from Taman Ehsan, Kepong, KL/selangor.

got 8A1 , 1A2 in SPM 2000

I have to be good both at sport and study....
as SUKMA was in the same year as SPM....

I have received a lot of tips from tuition teachers and netcousins.com

kevinkhoo1986
15-06-2004, 11:14 PM
Right now i am trying to forget about JPA scholarship and just concentrate on form 6. Hopefully would not be frustrated again after STPM.

I know its hard to accept such things. I was accepted for Stanford but no funding and am going to Singapore instead. I was very despondent until i read somewhere saying 'don't let something you can't do inhibit what you can do'

Take it as a setback and use it as a motivation rather than a 'pull you down'. :D

How much it cost to graduate from Stanford? Singapore isnt that bad what :)

gohweihan
16-06-2004, 03:20 AM

Which university in Singapore would you be going to and what course would you be taking?

16-06-2004, 03:48 AM
wawa will be going to NUS, doing Electrical Engineering I believe...

Hope that more people would introduce themselves here and share their success story.

And also invite your friends into this SIG!!! Lets together helping those taking SPM&STPM!!!

knkh_87
16-06-2004, 10:14 AM
I am Kenrick Ng, formerly from SM Sultan Abdul Samad, Petaling Jaya. I obtained 13 1As in SPM 2003 (including English 1119, Accounts, Economics, and Literature in English).

For the past 5 months, I was under the college scholarship to pursue Cambridge A-Levels in Tunku Abdul Rahman College, Kuala Lumpur. Recently, I had received a scholarship from the JPA to pursue medicine in the UK. I will be doing my A-Levels in Kolej Yayasan UEM for two years prior to leaving.

deaf-knee
16-06-2004, 10:59 AM
wah lau. and you're my age.

*dies*

16-06-2004, 06:03 PM

Kevin, not being offered scholarships from the govt doesn't mean that you are not successful. It's just the govt's lost to overlook it's cream of the country. And those who obtain the scholarship (sorry, i mean to some of them, and no offense to scholarships holders) do not necessarily have to be successful...

Anyway, I am Tan Sher Mern, and i scored 10 A1 and an A2 for commerce... 1119 A1, but i dun think that was taken into consideration for JPA's scholarship selection.

16-06-2004, 09:59 PM
Agree with Sher Mern that not getting JPA scholarship or any other scholarship does not mean that you are not successful.

There are much more to life than getting a scholarship. If you have a will, you have a way. Don't be afraid of failures, but learn from it. Try it once, five times, ten times, and each time after failure, learn from it, you will be successful~! For my life, I have gone through many failing moment, it is depressing....and you just have to get your emotions back in control and move on and main thing, learn from it...

17-06-2004, 08:19 AM
The time when u really fail, is when u stop trying and give up. And, failure is the mother of success. Dun ask me who is the father of success ... :wink:

Daniel
17-06-2004, 11:19 AM
The time when u really fail, is when u stop trying and give up. And, failure is the mother of success. Dun ask me who is the father of success ... :wink:

Today i just ask one of my senior what he thought about STPM. He told me STPM is a very very hard exam and most of the teacher could not finish the syllabus on time. To add salts to the injury, this year form 6 class was hindered for 3 months due to NS programme. Hmm.... wondered if i can go through it or not without taking tuition.

17-06-2004, 02:18 PM
I'm Lim Chiun Lin. I scored 11A1s(accounts plus Chinese) in SPM 2002. Currently, I'm under JPA scholarship and am flying soon to US to be Chen Chow's junior.

STPM is indeed very hard, but take it as a challenge and go for tuition if necessary. Besides, take some initiative and learn the syllabus by yourself. And if you need help, come to RECOM!

17-06-2004, 09:59 PM
If I am not wrong, STPM used to start in May too. I think last year, they brought it earlier to April. So, not much difference. Many schools do finish their syllabus before end of the year.

Chiun Lin, invite your sister, Jiun Jen here~! She will be a good asset to help everyone~!

18-06-2004, 09:40 AM
Taken SPM in 1999, got 9A1 and 2A2 (1119 and Mandarin). I will try my best to help everyone here, and I will be mainly helping to develop this SIG. So, anyone with idea, feel free to post it here, or let me know! Hope other ReComers could post here too! Invite your friends to join!!!

I thought you took it in 2000 ?!?
so I am not alone here...
I got 9A1 , C3 for BM and another 3 for my 1119.
Well, was quite shocked when i found out that i got C3 for my BM but I am happy with what I got.

Was offered STARR foundation scholarship but due to my family economy status, i chose to study local at MMU before getting JPA scholarship to study in Japan.
We are here to share and to help, so if you have any questions or problems... SHOUT OUT LOUD :)

18-06-2004, 11:20 AM

I thought you took it in 2000 ?!?
so I am not alone here...
I got 9A1 , C3 for BM and another 3 for my 1119.
Well, was quite shocked when i found out that i got C3 for my BM but I am happy with what I got.

Was offered STARR foundation scholarship but due to my family economy status, i chose to study local at MMU before getting JPA scholarship to study in Japan.
We are here to share and to help, so if you have any questions or problems... SHOUT OUT LOUD :)

u mean....u got the scholarship based on ur spm result or what?

18-06-2004, 04:22 PM
schye got JPA to Japan based on SPM.

zillion
18-06-2004, 07:08 PM
hi!!! i am emily from SMK Seafield. Graduated from high school and got 10A1s including 1119 for SPM2003. Well, i am pure science student and currently in INti college for ADP under applied science.
well, i hope to succeed as an actuarist but maybe getting a degree in engineering first before taking the professional papers.

I have always wanted to go US to study since young so no matter how, (even if i don't get the scholarship) i will still work hard even if it means part time jobs after college.

So ppl, DARE TO DREAM!! n don't GIVE UP !!!
(take william hung as an inspiratioN!! :P )

18-06-2004, 07:11 PM
hi!!! i am emily from SMK Seafield. Graduated from high school and got 10A1s including 1119 for SPM2003. Well, i am pure science student and currently in INti college for ADP under applied science.
well, i hope to succeed as an actuarist but maybe getting a degree in engineering first before taking the professional papers.

I have always wanted to go US to study since young so no matter how, (even if i don't get the scholarship) i will still work hard even if it means part time jobs after college.

So ppl, DARE TO DREAM!! n don't GIVE UP !!!
(take william hung as an inspiratioN!! :P )

Ooo..interesting.. u r from INTI as well.. is it SJ or nilai?
I was studying in INTI nilai under DME last time.
I love INTI, INTI loves my money, so I go to JPA, because I love JPA?s money. hehehe..

zillion
18-06-2004, 08:22 PM
Ooo..interesting.. u r from INTI as well.. is it SJ or nilai?
I was studying in INTI nilai under DME last time.
I love INTI, INTI loves my money, so I go to JPA, because I love JPA?s money. hehehe..

YEAP ICSJ!! i thought i told you in the forum about extra curricular activities\\??

but act, i am on their full scholarships..
so i Love INTI's money, they love mE too :P

18-06-2004, 08:24 PM
then u have to do a lot of activities for INTI if u get scholarship right?

zillion
18-06-2004, 08:40 PM
hmm..not exactly...they didn't make it compulsory to do anything
BUt
I AM having lots of fun volunteering to take part in their activities.

our next event, circle K charity drive then AUP society's FREEDOM WEEK!

SO FUN!!!

18-06-2004, 09:09 PM
u all r very terror ppl,all got good grade in 1119,i scored 10a1 , 1 a2 n b4 for 1119 (year 2003) , currently i'm doing form 6.

Daniel
18-06-2004, 10:46 PM
u all r very terror ppl,all got good grade in 1119,i scored 10a1 , 1 a2 n b4 for 1119 (year 2003) , currently i'm doing form 6.

You did not granted JPA scholarship? So which school are you from?

gohweihan
19-06-2004, 12:36 AM
Today i just ask one of my senior what he thought about STPM. He told me STPM is a very very hard exam and most of the teacher could not finish the syllabus on time. To add salts to the injury, this year form 6 class was hindered for 3 months due to NS programme. Hmm.... wondered if i can go through it or not without taking tuition.

If it makes you feel more secure about STPM, I took STPM without any tuition (as a matter of fact, I've never been to any tuitions before). Besides, if the teacher could not finish teaching the syllabus, it doesn't mean you cannot read them up on your own and ask your teacher about it. STPM is a hard, but not an impossible exam.

19-06-2004, 12:40 AM
Agree with WeiHan...

Lets keep this thread for SPM. We can talk about STPM stuff in STPM threads.

19-06-2004, 09:41 PM
daniel,i'm from kajang yu hua,and my name is actually daniel too

baby-doc86
22-06-2004, 03:15 PM
wow........littleprince ,if u were considered bad...........what about me? i m terribly bad............i only got 9a1 n 2a2.....n the worst was my 1119 english, i got only C5! most of u did very good on tat papar..........

24-06-2004, 07:58 PM
baby doctor or lai , very bad meh?very good liao lo

The_Observer
25-06-2004, 11:27 PM
Oh well...I guess most of our juniors here would aspire to take up my future profession anyway, so I guess I better tag along to give a hand.

Hello, my real name is Michael Wong. Finished my SPM in 2000 with 10 A1s and an A2 (for BM of all things...). Includes 1119 and Rekacipta.

Was actually heading to Tun Jaafar to do A-lvls but my mother insisted on me going to Melbourne so here I am. Did my foundation studies here, got the marks for medicine...BUT...financial problem!
So had to settle for a cheaper course (Biomedical science)...for 2 years before finally getting into the medical faculty (again..) via graduate entry. Right now a 1st year med-head in University of Melbourne.

So, boys and girls...want to be a doctor? Can come see me, if I can't help you...I can give you a referral to other 'specialists'...

26-06-2004, 02:52 AM
Michael, so you have been in the field for quite long since you have taken your SPM 21 years ago.

So, you went out to work for some years... What did you work as?

The_Observer
26-06-2004, 08:35 PM
Hehehehe.... :lol:

zillion
28-06-2004, 02:07 PM
F*** !!!!

I got confused with my birth year....arggghh!!!!....paiseh paiseh...dam paiseh.....my SPM finished in yr 2000 not 1983!!!!

I am 21 yr this yr...s***...how can I make such a mistake....
I am ashamed....my face gone done the drain... :oops:

cool man... 8)

28-06-2004, 02:11 PM
funny...
I am SPM 2000 also but I am 22 years old...

try to avoid using **** lah...... (people dunno the meaning mah... hehe)

The_Observer
28-06-2004, 02:16 PM
My birthday late in the year ma....some more I don't go through transition....

I going to edit that bloody thing!!!!

28-06-2004, 02:27 PM
My birthday late in the year ma....some more I don't go through transition....

I going to edit that bloody thing!!!!

too late.. it has been quoted by zillion... haha

I have been through remove class... so I am older..
one year wasted? some people think so...

teazo_darren
12-07-2004, 07:55 PM
hmmm...i get 10As but found that....haha...nothing much use for SPM except apply for scholarship.....hmmm...but when i faced SPM.haha....most of the time juz...as routine.those were the days.now suffered serious with STPM.another 16 months.....kanasai~~~...;P

18-07-2004, 06:19 PM
hello guys and gals,
i am See Hua, but can call me watermelon if you want(read the name in mandarin and you'll know y i'm called that=p)

I'm from SMK Datuk Patinggi Haji Abdul Gapor,Stampin,Kuching
i completed my spm exams in 2002, got 9A1.....read a lot since i'm small (esp science related books), guess that helpd me a lot

nice to meet you guys

20-07-2004, 06:57 PM
hi! my name is lim shin yi but everyone noes me as laura. my high school's not famous but i'll say it all the same: smk batu lintang, kuching...i got 10A1 for spm 2002 (i took econs as well)...1119 also A1...

was in NJC, spore doin a-levels under asean scholarship before taking up jpa...

now, i'm waiting to go to the university of chicago...going to do biochemistry BUT not intending to stick to it...

i'm a firm believer tad scholarships do not show a student's success...i nvr expected to get straight A1s...if u had known me u'd understand...i noe many many ppl who r really brilliant up there but fail to get scholarships...i also noe many many ppl who haf amazing skills..interpersonal etc...ppl i envy for their talents...but i got the scholarship n not them...to me, they r better than me...

N-Guy
12-02-2005, 06:56 PM
You people have certainly prooved that what is needed to garn a scholarship is something beyond academic excellence,but a rounded person who is capable to face any circumstances~weLL DoNe~~

well,my biggest fear is of course the keen competition for JPA scholarship as we have a new subject called EST and almost every school in urban area took that subject.And the best part,some of my frinds told to need to gain a perhect 12 1A this year to conform a JPA scholarship.How far is this statement true??

12-02-2005, 08:52 PM
For clarification, JPA looks at actual scores (90+ points, 80+ points etc) of critical subjects in SPM for your related fields, like physics, chemistry, add math, english for engineering, etc...

As there are more than 1000 straight A1s and more than 6000 straight As, every little bit counts. From your academic grade, to your interview process (check out remag.recom.org and read the 1st issue), co-curricular activities etc.

13-02-2005, 05:05 AM
For clarification, JPA looks at actual scores (90+ points, 80+ points etc) of critical subjects in SPM for your related fields, like physics, chemistry, add math, english for engineering, etc...

As there are more than 1000 straight A1s and more than 6000 straight As, every little bit counts. From your academic grade, to your interview process (check out remag.recom.org and read the 1st issue), co-curricular activities etc.

Really? So what about everything we have been talking about in the JPA thread? Interview doesn't matter that much, we learnt there.

And can you please elaborate a bit on the "look at actual scores" part? It is the first time I hear this. Do you have any newspaper articles or circulars to back this point? I have never heard of this.

13-02-2005, 02:25 PM
On interview being important or not, it would depend on each and everyone of you. True that interview counts for about 15% for the JPA scholarship selection process, so it is a small part, if you look at 100%. But come to think about it, most students are getting about the same excellent academic results in SPM. Many come in with almost similar co-curricular activities (Profile like being a prefect, president of some clubs are just so normal, and almost every single applicant has that). So, to gain an edge, interview part is somewhere that you can make a difference.

It is up to individual to decide whether it is important. I mean to say that it is pretty important, is my personal view point. I leave it upon everyone to decide on their own. I mean, it makes sense for everyone to try their best in the interview, although its percentage is not too high, as that's the part that can separate you and the other applicants.

I have talked to many applicants of JPA, either those that get it and those that don't get it. And one of the most important aspect, is whether you dominate the interview. Read on carefully. One of the major pitfalls is that many applicants think that the quantity of their talking time during interview matters, so a number of students actually try to take as many minutes as possible during the interview, and hence denying other students in the group, their voice time. Imagine that you are already trying your best to dominate in interview, what would happen when you are working later on? Do you care about whether other students are being left out, as they are not dominant? Do you pay attention to listen when others present their points? Is your attitude correct?

I would leave it to you all to decide what is the better practice. I mean it is subjective, but my personal advice is not to dominate the interview. Speak a decent share of time during the interview, articulate your view points confidently and with a lot of good supporting points and evidence. Do listen attentively to what others say, and be a good listener. Be conscious about whether others never speak at all, and you could perhaps help giving them some chance, by asking them for their opinion. This has always been my personal opinion, but it is up to everyone to evaluate on their own.

On looking at actual scores, I don't have any article or circular to back it up, but that's what I have been personally believing about it. What makes many to believe that straight A1 matters, was because of JPA policy to grant every straight A1 in SPM 2000, 2001 and 2002 with JPA scholarships (This policy was not continued in SPM 2003, as a number of straight A1 students did not get JPA scholarships, due to too many straight A1s.) Again, it is up to each and every one to decide. After all, your SPM has been taken, so you can't do anything to change. Your co-curricular activities part is pretty much fixed.

So, the only thing you can do is to read up on current affairs, as well as prepare for your interview.

coolcatxtreme
18-04-2005, 02:18 PM
my name's Kelvin
SPM 2001 10A1 (science stream +account n geog) BM- B3 1119-a1
stpm 2003 4a's (perfect score +muet band 5...1 mark to band 6 sadz)

anyway...not offered jpa or petronas after spm
and after stpm they dun offer any scholarship....

accepted to ntu nus n melbourne..um also
asean for ntu and nus

so am now in nus

to those taking stpm in future years..be careful...there's now a fight with matriculation (number of top scorer this year drop by almost 50% if i'm not mistaken...number of matric 4.0 reputed to have risen)

anybody wanna know anything about nus..can email me at kelvinlcs@<hidden>

bush
18-04-2005, 10:11 PM
we can clearly see countries like singapore r sucking away all our bright students

20-04-2005, 12:30 AM
Oh dear... everyone here is soooo good...

Anyway, here's my "story":

SPM 2002 8A1 2A2(Chinese+PM) 1B4 (Information Technology... :oops: shouldn't have took it) 1119-A1

Petronas didn't want me, JPA didn't want me, Matrikulasi didn't want me, but Singapore did. So I took the ASEAN scholarship.

A-levels 2004 (double maths double science student) 3A 1B(Further Maths) General Paper-B3, Chinese-A1

Applied for NUS (Material science) and NTU (Aerospace Engineering). Hope to get ASEAN scholarship again. If not, Father Mother Scholarship...

we can clearly see countries like singapore r sucking away all our bright students

Singapore attracts talents like a magnet... they have wonderful scholarships too (if you're willing to be a Singapore citizen)...

balderdash
21-04-2005, 12:00 AM
Singapore attracts talents like a magnet... they have wonderful scholarships too (if you're willing to be a Singapore citizen)...

You don't have to be a Singaporean citizen to get some of those scholarships :) Man....everyone here is some top SPM/STPM scholars eh? I was the one who should have never gone for triple science :)

-audrey-
27-04-2005, 10:47 PM
hie. i'm new. audrey wong.
my results are pretty bad actually.
9A1s, 3A2s(physics, bio, est) 12 subjs includes art n bible knowledge.
i just got my results. most prob going in form6. gotta work hard. i didnt really deserve those As for spm. it's just blessing from god.
petronas rejected me. went for JPA interview on tues(26th april) but i dun really think i'll stand a chance. neway, i applied for pharmacy.

nicodemus
29-04-2005, 10:33 PM
SPM success... ?

I can only boast 9 A1's and 2 A2's :)

well, I just want to give credit to RECOM for providing so much help and advice for post SPM studies, interview tips and etc... :D

KUDOS to RECOM, keeep up the good work.

Well, like audrey too, form 6 will be my resort too. Ha ha ha... :D

Suhanna
02-05-2005, 05:55 PM
hi, my name is Suhanna from Kuching. i got 7A1 & 3A2 for SPM. Actually i am not happy with my result since the first seconds i know my result coz i get 5C for GCE LEVEL!!!!! there must be something wrong with my essays since i dont read that much. Just went to PETRONAS and JPA interview. im no sure wether i can get or not. might be going to matrix but still contemplating coz im interested in form 6 too. i didnt apply for ASEAN scholarship since my GCE level is so lousy. thank you.

bush
02-05-2005, 09:19 PM
hi, my name is Suhanna from Kuching. i got 7A1 & 3A2 for SPM. Actually i am not happy with my result since the first seconds i know my result coz i get 5C for GCE LEVEL!!!!! there must be something wrong with my essays since i dont read that much. Just went to PETRONAS and JPA interview. im no sure wether i can get or not. might be going to matrix but still contemplating coz im interested in form 6 too. i didnt apply for ASEAN scholarship since my GCE level is so lousy. thank you.

u shouldn't worry so much about the so called"GCE O" in ur SPM cert........it not recognised.........its is nothing.....

Suhanna
02-05-2005, 11:34 PM
well, it just so embarassing coz i speak in english more than bm. n went for tuition somemore. guess i concerntrate the wrong thing coz my mom ask me to focus on bm since i got B for BM in PMR.really regret n feel ashamed. well its over! but then i know whats my problem its GRAMMAR

bush
03-05-2005, 09:39 PM
well, it just so embarassing coz i speak in english more than bm. n went for tuition somemore. guess i concerntrate the wrong thing coz my mom ask me to focus on bm since i got B for BM in PMR.really regret n feel ashamed. well its over! but then i know whats my problem its GRAMMAR

if u really want to do something about it, take IELTS or TOEFL........

09-05-2005, 08:35 PM
helo scorpstreet...

i wouldn't say that your result were moderate..in fact, its quite good already...and since it the past, you can forget abt it and carry on...

as we all don't know how jpa will select their batch of scholars this time around, maybe there's hope for you after all...just keep your fingers crossed for that...:)

well, for the time being, keep on with your life and all the best to you in whatever you do in life...c'ya

timunmonster
13-05-2005, 02:14 AM
I'm Ka-Mun, a former student of La Salle Klang High School and I sat my SPM in 2004 scoring 13A1s including my 1119.

There is nothing much I can share on study methods (Almost all are similar =) ) I just wanna highlight the scenario which certain people judge A1s as the say all.

Let's get down to reality, the amount of people scoring straight As comes to a startling amount every year. Many people play down the importance of co-curricular of activities due to several reasons:-

1) Clubs are disorganized in schools
2) Club politics beats the purpose of the club's existence
3) Too many tuition classes? ouch...haha =P

However, future SPM candidates; I do advise you not to play down on these activities =) Trust me, they are good for you =)

During interviews, (such as JPA and PETRONAS's 3 days grueling EDUCAMP), what you had earned from these activities will be put into good use.

(I will have to take my case as the example - I'm not doing a self-promotion here; I am trying to help out what ever i can ! =) )

I was a prefect and an interactor in my school. Upholding these responsiblities bring you closer to the reality of life. You understand the needs and problems of the people; and try solving it. Being a prefect does not mean sending every student who committed offence to the Principal's office; it's about understanding it and help solving - not inflicting more damage. It helps in interviews because it makes you more 'human', you understand the needs of people and other parties - that gives you an edge

Besides that, I joined the debate and drama club. I must admit that back in form One, my english was down the drain. I could not speak proper English as I spoke only Cantonese back at home. It took me a lot of courage to participate. As I joined, it bore fruits of labour. I myself could not believe how much I improved in the time frame of a few years.

Co-curricular activities are indeed helpful in personal growth - they provide you confidence. Most importantly, I discovered that how things ran in the activities were very much related to life - they will aid you decision-making as you are training your awareness and communication skills while participating.

Trust me, many people can obtain straight As, but I believe straight A1s is not the say all. It is the communication skills and awareness you possess that will make you different from other straight A scorers in interviews - these skills will not go down as wastes because they are the trump cards that make you distinct compared to others when you venture into the job market.

Sorry for this lenghty post =) I hope this will assist future scorers in future interviews =) Good luck!

"The path is long and winding. I can choose to make my stride and reach my destination as fast as I can. However, I prefer to tag hands with the others behind me and move forward together. I believe that brings more to life" - Lam M. =)

flibbertigibbet
13-05-2005, 05:47 PM
I must admit that back in form One, my english was down the drain. I could not speak proper English as I spoke only Cantonese back at home.

Wow...When I met you the other day at the luncheon in Putrajaya, you gave me the impression that you are from an English-speaking family. You can speak in English real fluently without the Chinese accent.

And the responsibility must be great to be a Head Prefect right? You excel not only academically but also involved so actively in extra-curricular activities. Just the kind of candidates who have met all the requirements of Petronas. Hah.

Anyway, it's really good to see you getting more active in ReCom.

jeremy3232
03-06-2005, 03:38 PM
GCE O is quite important if u intend to study in UK during ur tertiary studies...

jackjack
25-06-2005, 04:49 PM
I'm Yew Kit, an SMJK Sam Tet Ipoh student. I sat for SPM 2004 and scored 13A1's (including 1119).

jinnee
09-07-2005, 12:31 PM
i'm jin ro, from smk st mary, kuala lumpur.
i got 8a1 and 2a2 (moral and chinese) im spm 2003
applied for jpa, petronas scholarship, but dint called for interview
so now i'm a upper 6 bio student in smk maxwell, kl

my advice is to study consistently, u need to start to do revision early, perhaps beginning of form5 (if ur form4 year is a honeymoon year). and do a lot of exercises especially pass year papers. if u r active in coco, make sure u balance it well..

zihern
10-07-2005, 10:20 PM
matsuo takumi
smk sultan ismail, johor bahru
taken spm in 2004

result : 7 A1, 3 A2, 2 B3, 1 B4

i obtained A2 in bm, chinese (appeal failed) and chinese literature.
B3 in moral and biologi
B4 in 1119 (pity ...)

i admit that i was quite 'playful' during exam, especially before biologi because as a lazy student during bio lessons, i couldn't absorb anything at the 23th hour. That's why B appeared in my result.

Two advices to all SPM candidates:

one, do more exercises even there's no exam. burning midnight oil might also burn your own fingers.

two, do not believe anything related to 'tips' or 'bocor soalan'. these stuff will make you unable to concentrate. furthermore, there's no guarantee of how accurate the so-called 'tips' will be. trust me.

yuckfou
11-07-2005, 12:16 PM
---

yuckfou
11-07-2005, 12:17 PM
I did my SPM in 1997 and STPM in 1999. Results? I got a couple of A1s' in SPM and passed all of my subjects in STPM. No R's. Back then, the exams were killers. I did Pure Mathematics and Advanced Pure Mathematics in Form 6. I think my year was the final year before Advanced Pure Mathematics was thrown out of Form 6. The tests? superbly hard.

My advice to all those who's going to sit for these exams is never burn the midnight oil. It never helps. Only makes you lose your eyesight. It's not going to help you much because your brain needs sleep during the night. Wake up early in the morning and study smart.

I used to revise old SPM and STPM papers. It helps a lot, but only up to a point. After that, you're basically out of resources. Probably you can go check out some other reference books from other colleges or universities. They might help a little.

Anyway, don't stress so much studying for SPM and STPM. Your grades can only do you so much, it's does not determine your future and how smart you are.

I have a bachelors and masters in EE and yet I screwed up pretty badly in SPM and STPM. I'm not saying that you shouldn't study hard for SPM and STPM, but just don't kill your brain cells and get over stressed in the process of studying. Anyway, in this world, very often the B's are the ones who hires the A's. I hope you know what that means.

Peace out...

12-07-2005, 07:57 AM
matsuo takumi
taken spm in 2004

I've never seen or heard anybody with an A2 initially(in any subject), rewarded with an A1 after appealing...

anybody??

nwx86
12-07-2005, 01:22 PM
nope..I haven't too. I appealed for a better grade for IT which I got B4.
Anyway, I'm from SMK Sung Siew, Sandakan. SPM 2003, 9 A1, 1 A2 and 1 B4.
Did A'levels last year and now doing pharmacy at S.I.T. International College.

13-07-2005, 12:55 AM
matsuo takumi
taken spm in 2004

I've never seen or heard anybody with an A2 initially(in any subject), rewarded with an A1 after appealing...

anybody??

forgot to mention that my fren scored A1 for Chinese Literature, but A2 for Chinese...(he appealed but failed to better his Chinese grade too...)

jackjack
13-07-2005, 01:30 PM
do not believe anything related to 'tips' or 'bocor soalan'. these stuff will make you unable to concentrate. furthermore, there's no guarantee of how accurate the so-called 'tips' will be. trust me.

Well, i recalled my physics tuition teacher advised us to believe the exam tips ("bocor soalan")if got any.

Anyway, for my batch, i didn't hear of any exam tips...

IMO, some tips may be true, one can concentrate a little more on the topics where it's tipped to come out in exams,, but never believe 100% on the tips and put focus on no other areas than what he's tipped off. This really really harms.

petertok
15-07-2005, 09:43 PM
do not believe anything related to 'tips' or 'bocor soalan'. these stuff will make you unable to concentrate. furthermore, there's no guarantee of how accurate the so-called 'tips' will be. trust me.

Well, i recalled my physics tuition teacher advised us to believe the exam tips ("bocor soalan")if got any.

Anyway, for my batch, i didn't hear of any exam tips...

IMO, some tips may be true, one can concentrate a little more on the topics where it's tipped to come out in exams,, but never believe 100% on the tips and put focus on no other areas than what he's tipped off. This really really harms.

During the SPM 2004 BM paper 1 , one hour before i sat for the essay test , some friends got information from their mrsm friends that topic regarding pollution will come out.
So , we just discussed it with our BM teacher for some relevant points and it really came out in the first compulsory essay. woot.

byzhanii_bogn
12-08-2005, 02:19 PM
SMKGR KCH here.

SPM: 9A1, 1A2 (didn't take Chinese in the hope to get a strike, mana tau EST flunk :lol: )

JPA= nope, least by one A1, i suppose :?
Petronas=not even interview :(
BPG=was called for interview, but didn't go because i want to be a doctor :D

so now in matrik... hoping this time won't flunk anymore... :wink:

my advice?
relax, dun put too much pressure, u'll come around eventually... (sounds so lazy, i guess thats y i failed :oops: )

SHuLy
12-08-2005, 05:50 PM
there are definitely leaks in the questions. happened during my year, though i only knew about it after the exam during a brats reunion!

13-08-2005, 03:28 AM
hmm...even if the questions did leak i won't care more about it...remember that looking at leaked questions constitute as cheating, and you are not using your true capability during the exam...so even if they tell you that they have leaked questions for you, never ever read it...

Smilehoe
07-11-2005, 11:41 PM
agrees that depending on bocor and tips is certainly risky. rather than taking the time to look n ask for tips, it would be better to study all the syllabus. i believe that if you plan n allocate yr time wisely, it is a 99% guarantee for good grades.

my grades in spm?hvn't taken it. will start on this thursday, hopefully the result will be something to be proud of. :D

08-11-2005, 10:09 AM
well...good luck to you there...all the best to you and hope you achieve your target in the exam... :)

08-11-2005, 06:33 PM
Good luck to fellow ReComers who would be taking SPM this coming week. Hopefully that all of you would be able to do well in it.

During this last period of time, do try and relax, and don't get too stressed out. Try to live your life as usual, and don't mug too much, as it would just cause undue stress. When you want to wind off, you could visit ReCom for a while, but don't get addicted. You would have a whale of time to spend in ReCom after you finish your SPM.

Good Luck! After your SPM, do try and frequent ReCom. There would be tons of resources on furthering studies, as well as other scholarship information.

Smilehoe
09-11-2005, 02:05 AM
thanks very much. haha, spm will end on 5 dec, by the time i will frequently visit this site to participate more n ask lots of questions...

a word to chenchow:
-i found out that u had received the Asean scholarship before getting the Jpa to US.
i thought that anyone who quit from the Asean scholarship before the term ends will hv to pay a sum of money to the moe. What is the sum n how did u handle the problem?

09-11-2005, 04:43 AM
thanks very much. haha, spm will end on 5 dec, by the time i will frequently visit this site to participate more n ask lots of questions...

a word to chenchow:
-i found out that u had received the Asean scholarship before getting the Jpa to US.
i thought that anyone who quit from the Asean scholarship before the term ends will hv to pay a sum of money to the moe. What is the sum n how did u handle the problem?

err... i think many Recommers here were Asean-then-JPA ppl... I'm one, ElansarGelmir another one... and galflower... and... that's ATU 10 batch... SPM 2002 batch...

the sum varies from JC to JC... not really... actually it varies from Hostel to Hostel... because that's the most expensive part of the BILL... for my 8 months there(first 3 months were free, that was before, i heard there's no free-trial period anymore), the bill was about S$8000... about RM 18k... how i handle the problem? well, it's not really a problem when u compare a pre-U scholarship and with a 4-year undergrad at the top US university of ur choice (if u gain admission)...

Smilehoe
11-11-2005, 06:45 PM
thanks for your info. i will post further question(s) in the scholarship thread cos i don't think that it is appropriate to discuss about the asean scholarship in this thread. better shift before the moderators notice... :wink:

calvin2060
12-12-2005, 10:59 AM
Hi,i got 9A1's(extra EST and Accounts) and 3A'2(BC,BM and Moral) in SPM 2004. A Petronas and JPA reject even though i got both the interviews. Now i'm doing matriculations in KMPP or Penang Matriculation College and taking Physics. To all SPM'ers,do apply matriculation as a safety net regardless all those negative opinions on the system. Yes,i do admit the standard is quite low compared to STPM. The syllabus is about 60% of STPM,the life is harsh,the lecturers aren't easy,the exam was tough,you won't have enough time to play,but the graph is very very low( I left 2 or 3 questions half emptied in the finals and still got an A,think of it). Due to the low graph,a 4.0 is not a problem if you are serious in your academics and studies,compared to STPM's 4.0 this is a much much much easier task as the STPM is much much harder. It's the safest and fastest way to enter local unis,compared to STPM you will be one year earlier and priority will be given to matriculation students as their pointers will be relatively high compared to STPM's. Don't be concerned about the standards or syllabus,my opinion is just get yourself into university first and then only think of other problems like the syllabus or what-so-ever. That's all i think..... :lol:

reign226
12-12-2005, 07:09 PM
A very down-to-earth and practical advice. Also, thanks to people like you championing for Matrix, there will always be that 10% who benefits at the disastrous cost to the rest of the 90% non-bumis who didn't get in.