View Full Version : ReMag 4
15-06-2004, 08:12 AM
While the editors are working, let's start on Remag 4.
Any idea?
15-06-2004, 09:26 AM
I would suggest that there's one tech review.. anyone? Or do we have in Remag 3 already?
15-06-2004, 10:01 AM
For ReMag 4, I would volunteer to write about my 18-day study trip to Beijing, Shanghai, Guangzhou, Xian and Hong Kong. I would be back from the trip by 23rd July, so it should be in time for ReMag 4.
The study trip would allow me to meet with top government officials in China (Vice Premier of China), mayor of all those cities, local government, visiting tourist destinations, visits to some of the top universities in China and Hong Kong (Beijing, Tsinghwa, Fudan, JiaoTong), visit some business premises and some business investors at Pudong and Shanghai, traditional agricultural folks in Guangzhou and historial sites of Terrocota at Xian.
So, I would like to share with everyone of the trip. It will be a great learning experience. However, have to be away from ReCom for that 3 weeks.
16-06-2004, 10:39 AM
Update!
Progress
If you are interested in contributing, please add the necessary detail below.
Submission deadline: July 30th 2004 (any objection?)
Targetted publication date: August 31th 2004 (any objection?)
Article:
Topic:
China Trip (Chenchow)
Pledge to write:
Comics (luke, want to?)
we dont have a tech review for remag 3. But as i remembered, decentmerson wanted to do one. Hey decentmerson, you want to take this thing up or do you syamsul (you seem to be the tech guy here =) ) want to do it?
you guys have any candidate for guest writer?
16-06-2004, 12:48 PM
heh, seems like my article's in each ReMag hehe..anyway, can i write bout my POV on literature? since most ppl say it's difficult and i dont think so.
what u guys think?
17-06-2004, 10:17 PM
sure. that would be an interest read.
and luke, could i add your comics into remag 4?
17-06-2004, 10:35 PM
I would suggest that we have at least an article on Merdeka, since ReMag 4 will be released on Merdeka Day!!!
Just a suggestion, why don't Luke publish a page of his comic in ReMag 3 to attract others' attention to continue reading it in ReMag 4. It will be good if it is a series of comics..
18-06-2004, 08:44 AM
I think Luke mentioned somewhere that he's going to publish his comic in the Remag 4.
18-06-2004, 09:41 AM
I know, that's why I was suggesting Luke having his page 1 of comic in ReMag 3, so that others would be more tidak sabar-sabar waiting for ReMag 4..hehehe...just a suggestion.
18-06-2004, 06:49 PM
when's the dateline for the tech review thingy??
i think i can write one....
it would be fun to write one .....
19-06-2004, 12:26 AM
guess 30th july..
19-06-2004, 09:30 AM
hmm..if luke can finish up one page, then we can put that in remag 3...dont give away the ending laa...juz bg sket jaa...so ppl will hv even more reasons to want to read remag 4 LOL :wink: camne Luke? up for the challenge?
21-06-2004, 02:28 PM
hi guys
i'm finally settling down in my new place already. i apologize for my non-role in remag3. now i have a 9-6 job and will have more time for versi 4.
last time i talked about categorizing remag into its sections, so that before each issue is released, there will be a 'topic' to write about. then there's always the miscellaenous section for anything under the sun.
i'll writeup a short proposal in the next few days and will post it up somewhere.
and if you want i'll set about on improving the template for the remag page.
eh?
22-06-2004, 08:27 AM
yeah sure empty,!. I think that template has lots of hacks. I'm no pro in designing website. haha. anyways, feel free to redesign the template. BUt I think we should retain the Remag's blue-black trademark. I really like it.
22-06-2004, 09:47 AM
yep...let's keep the black-n-blue design. it looks classy *mcm nm album Backstreet Boyz lak hihihi :lol: *
22-06-2004, 09:57 AM
*mcm nm album Backstreet Boyz lak hihihi :lol: *
Booo! :P
22-06-2004, 10:29 AM
Progress
Article:
Topic:
China Trip (Chenchow)
Comics (Luke)
Literature (Budakkerek)
Pledge to write:
22-06-2004, 10:51 AM
anyone writing on merdeka? do we hv a recommer whos' born in august or better still, 31st august? it'll be good since it's the merdeka month and all (august)
23-06-2004, 12:09 AM
Yeah, someone should write about Merdeka stuff! Any taker?
24-06-2004, 12:08 PM
I've jsut finished my Kem Bina insan article. How am i supposed to give it to Syamsul? Attach the word file to email and address it to you?
24-06-2004, 05:47 PM
ElansarGelmir, email it to _earth at :- mnoorsha@<hidden>
24-06-2004, 07:15 PM
ok, sure... thanks!
P.S. is noorsha _Earth's name? sounds girlish. LOL! kidding :wink:
24-06-2004, 07:18 PM
_earth's name is Mohd Hafiz Noor Shams
24-06-2004, 07:53 PM
noorsha is just __earth's 'unmacho' name, assigned automatically by his school.
24-06-2004, 09:35 PM
yup, mnoorsha is what the school computer calls me. damn those in the registar office.
and elasar, attached the file and send it to me. Include also your full name at the top of the page.
25-06-2004, 08:45 AM
can we choose not to put our real names and just our nicks in the articles? :?:
25-06-2004, 09:54 AM
real name.
anyway, do you guest wanna follow up on the guest writer thing?
I really want to but I'm out of idea of whom to invite.
25-06-2004, 10:16 AM
how about marina mahathir?
she's very vocal about her thoughts, a witty and convincing writer, a *youth*, and i hear she's a pleasant individual as well.
aim high man...
01-07-2004, 10:33 PM
Progress
Article:
Topic:
China Trip (Chenchow)
Comics (Luke)
Literature (Budakkerek)
Economic of Altruism (__earth)
Pledge to write:
Hey guys, we still need input of whom we need to invite for the guest writer section. I hope each and every one of us would find a suitable candidate.
And I think we could do an interview. The idea has been floating around since the start of ReMag 3 and it's time we realize it. Two initial candidates are Jeff Ooi (www.jeffooi.com) and Marina Mahathir.
However, I've received feedback on the idea and he thinks we shouldn't interview the bigshot first. I agree with him and thus, maybe we could interview Aizuddin Danian (http://www.aizuddindanian.com/voi/). He is a pretty well-known Malaysian blogger but not as too well-placed as the first two candidates.
Perhaps we could interview him on matter concerning blogging. How about that?
01-07-2004, 11:23 PM
And I think Datuk Azalina is another one that would be great writing for us. Or may be some of the talents within ReCom that are working in various MNCs.
02-07-2004, 04:15 AM
I would suggest that we can utilize the poll as our source. We could write article about the success and the failure of the NS, and quoting from our user comment. I think we have more reliable source right here because we're conducting survey 'first hand'. But at the same time, we should direct the article toward constructive critics , or suggest things for the better (rather than bashing the govt per se).
anyway, if I want to do it, I definitely need one more guy to help, since my written english are not that good and I know I will give the editors some headache. But I definitely willing to help giving points.
we could also draw a bar chart, on others opinions.
This is just like article based on survey that we usually read at forbes, economist, etc. If anyone interested, please email, masterof_none@<hidden> me/ pm me.
08-07-2004, 04:20 PM
hi there....
i will write on my experience at BTN at Banting (4-8 July 2004)....
10-07-2004, 12:29 PM
hi there....
i will write on my experience at BTN at Banting (4-8 July 2004)....
fyi, somebody wrote about BTN too in remag 3.
11-07-2004, 02:52 PM
oooops.... sorry...
just read abt it...
13-07-2004, 10:15 PM
decentmerson, you could still write about it.
But if it is somehow similar to the earlier version, maybe we wont be able to publish it.
Anyway, progress.
Progress
Article:
Topic:
China Trip (Chenchow)
Comics (Luke)
Literature (Budakkerek)
Learn German, part 2 (Kelvinlym)
Pledge to write:
I will submit my ketupat making tutorial to put under 'learning center' category for remag 4 ..
14-07-2004, 12:04 AM
hows the comic luke?
1st page is done .. now I'm thinking of the best way to introduce each character, one character perpage (there are around 4-5 characters) ... I hope you are OK with the number of pages ...
btw, I'm using some disguised recommers nickname as the character names ... hope whoever chosen won't mind :P ...
14-07-2004, 01:03 PM
Article:
Topic:
China Trip (Chenchow)
Comics (Luke)
Literature (Budakkerek)
Ketupat making (luke)
comic sneak peek :)
http://anatilmizun.homeip.net/directlink/recomville_sneakpeek.gif
14-07-2004, 07:12 PM
I don't mind :)
14-07-2004, 11:04 PM
Article:
Topic:
China Trip (Chenchow)
Comics (Luke)
Literature (Budakkerek)
Ketupat making (luke)
Concise Tourist's Guide to Msian Driving(topdog)
15-07-2004, 07:53 AM
fuiyoo..super kawaii!
oh ya..which reminds me..i hvent written my lit paper for remag! gomene! :wink:
17-07-2004, 11:05 PM
wee..i'm in the comic! haha..guess which character am i? :lol: Luke, nice drawing.. :wink:
22-07-2004, 07:28 PM
Just wondering about the update on ReMag articles.
Do we have the article for Commentary yet?.
24-07-2004, 11:17 PM
We don't have any commentary yet. But here is an update.
Concerning Sawittri's articles, I've just managed to find her contact.
And Luke, are the comic done? :D
Received Article:
A Malaysian Day (debbie chow)
Night Fright (Sawittri Shotiwuth Charun)
What We Cannot Live Without (Sawittri Shotiwuth Charun)
Topic:
China Trip (Chenchow)
Comics (Luke)
Literature (Budakkerek)
Ketupat making (luke)
31-07-2004, 12:30 AM
It's time to submit your stuff people!
Submission deadline: July 30th 2004
Targetted publication date: August 31th 2004
Received Article:
How to build a community (jiinjoo)
Ketupat making (luke)
Received Topic:
China Trip (Chenchow)
Comics (Luke)
Literature (Budakkerek)
31-07-2004, 03:54 AM
Cool! I think ReMag 4 is in a pretty good shape now.
__earth, I wonder where's PeiWen's article that I sent it to you. ...
31-07-2004, 04:04 AM
yup. missed it.
Received Article:
Ketupat making (luke)
Malaysia as a tourist destinatoin (peiwei)
Received Topic:
China Trip (Chenchow)
Comics (Luke)
Literature (Budakkerek)
02-08-2004, 12:50 AM
I think I delay my article for ReMag 5. We already have a lot of articles.
To the editors, I'll hand the manuscripts on the 4th.
Received Article:
Ketupat making (luke)
Malaysia as a tourist destinatoin (peiwei)
China Trip (Chenchow)
political dynasties (hafidz ismail)
Received Topic:
Comics (Luke)
Literature (Budakkerek)
02-08-2004, 03:35 AM
_earth, I think you have typo of name. It should be Pei Wen, instead of Pei Wei . This is based on what masterof_none typed earlier.
And it seems that ReMag is growing rapidly. We are getting more and more articles for ReMag. That's a very positive sign.
ReMag 1: 6 articles/poem
ReMag 2: 5 articles/poem + editorial
ReMag 3: 6 articles/poem + editorial
And now in ReMag 4, we have 10 received submission of articles + 2 more received topics. Good sign of ReMag expansion!!!
02-08-2004, 08:31 PM
yo yo wait up. targeted publication date, aug 31st? sorry i'm kinda blur right now (being 12 time zones away from the center of remag activity does that to you). i thought remag's supposed to be every 3 months?
02-08-2004, 11:03 PM
topdog, it is every 2 months... Our first issue was on 29th Feb, 2nd issue supposedly 30th April, 3rd issue supposedly 30th June and this 4th issue supposedly 31st August - Merdeka Day.
24-08-2004, 12:48 PM
any news on remag? been kinda quiet...
anyway, wanna apologise for not being able to write..hv been seriously overloaded w work...my essay's still unfinished even until today...sob sob..will try better next time.. :wink:
24-08-2004, 11:15 PM
_earth, how's ReMag 4 going on? Ready for the release date on Merdeka Day?
ayark, i need to draw 2 more character introduction pages for my comic ... can I just publish the first 4 pages first and introduce the remaining 2 characters later ? :oops:
25-08-2004, 07:49 AM
I'm sorry for the silence but the editors have till the 27th to do their stuff. Until then, I'll let them to do it quietly.
and luke, just give us anything that you have.
26-08-2004, 12:30 AM
hi
remag3 looks good and organized with dedicated columns. so far we have commentary (serious issues), creative literature, learning center, and personal experience.
i propose we add 2 new sections
- interview. here we can bring in new malaysian personalities (or anyone relevant) who can expound better on issues, or just for inspiration.
- a summary on what's being talked about most at recom. especially the important issues.
what say you?
26-08-2004, 06:30 AM
your suggestions have already been suggested but it haven't been carried out yet or rather unfortunately, no follow up. in fact, it is already too late for implementation in remag 4.
perhaps we could do it for remag 5.
in any case, do you have any suggestion on whom should we interview?
debbie
26-08-2004, 09:18 AM
I know it's really late... already the26th of August and the dateline has been over like ages ago but I've got another submission. It's called ' And God Said " Let there be ReCom"'. Another of my lame attempts on humour.*sighs* I only got the idea last night at 11 pm . Do you think the editorial could like stretch for tht entry? Plz?
26-08-2004, 10:22 AM
Thanks Debbie.
You can send it to __earth
http://remag.recom.org/home.php?content=contribute
if it's not in Remag 4, certainly the Remag Team would consider your work for Remag 5.
Thanks!
26-08-2004, 10:36 AM
your suggestions have already been suggested but it haven't been carried out yet or rather unfortunately, no follow up. in fact, it is already too late for implementation in remag 4.
perhaps we could do it for remag 5.
in any case, do you have any suggestion on whom should we interview?
ya i suggested them a while back and was wondering what happened to it. anyway you're right. i myself should follow it up and get the ball rolling. my bad... :oops:
26-08-2004, 11:55 AM
well, el_empty, wanna do an interview? =)
and debbie, i dont think the editors would like that. i'll put it in que for the next remag.
debbie
26-08-2004, 11:59 AM
Well..ok. It's a big mess anyway..needs lots of repairs as i did it in like 2 hrs flat.
26-08-2004, 12:56 PM
hey..at least you did try, debbie...me? i didnt even finish mine *cover face in shame*
will try better for next remag..
26-08-2004, 01:38 PM
ok i'll try to get together an interview. prolly for #5, so we'll see. wish me luck.
the layout for remag 4 will be out soon. sit tight and drum up some harsh and constructive crits!
27-08-2004, 07:50 PM
checkout a draft of the new remag layout.
www.mintlab.org/remag
earlier there were problems viewing it on safari and mozilla, but i think i've fixed them.
feedback please!
27-08-2004, 07:55 PM
Thanks for the layout, el_empty...
On the LRTs network on top, I think perhaps we need to minimize the map, or do something else, basically to highlight the word ReMag more ....it would be nice if ReMag stands out in the map.
On the 3 columns below, I would propose that the center column be made bigger... since that's the crux of stuff we are having...
Hope to hear from other ReComers~!
_earth, how's the Star interview going on?
27-08-2004, 08:22 PM
yeah..i agree w chenchow..i nearly missed the word REMAg there..but other than that, it's fine..but isnt it kinda too white? :D maybe we can add more colours. well..my 2 cents :wink:
27-08-2004, 09:38 PM
thanks for the fb.
ya forgot to mention
there're no graphics on it for now except the lrtmap. it's just the layout for now and in future we'll have graphics for every feature.
as for the lrtmap i was hoping to make it subtle and viisble. but ok i'll make the remag larger. i was also thinking of putting that up as flash. but that'll be later...
and the colum on the left will go on a diet. but basically the columns are for :
left column
major links to articles and features. also in future there will be some sort of feed to major msian news. still trying to figure that out. anyone familiar with RSS?
center column
contents page for articles.
right column
other less important matters, and non-recom/remag items like external links, ads(?), or any other fun stuff we come up with.
i think we're well on our way. after this merdeka issue i think we should start making ourselves more visible (like linking up with other sites, orgs, newspapers, etc.[/b]
debbie
29-08-2004, 10:24 AM
Wow! It's like 2 days away... excitement building up yet? ^_^
Looking forward to seeing it materialize.
30-08-2004, 10:35 PM
remag 4 might be delayed yet again unfortunately due to some problem in the editing process.
i myself won't have too much time on the internet for a couple of days but the team and I would make it done before the first week of september ends.
in the mean time, I think its time we recruit more editors to help with the proofreading.
03-09-2004, 11:29 PM
aye, remag is coming out slow but we'll try our best to make it done before sunday.
03-09-2004, 11:39 PM
i'm back! need to see to some matters before i can work on remag. i'm sure we'll get it done by sunday. btw thanks caitlin, you come through every time!
04-09-2004, 12:42 AM
welcome back Topdog!. We're looking forward to hear from the editor's team ! Thanks to all editors.
-Remag webteam.
04-09-2004, 05:54 AM
terima kasih
06-09-2004, 11:15 AM
The manuscripts are already handed in to the webmasters.
So, this time, we have
1. A Malaysian Day - Debbie Chow
2. A Concise Tourist?s Guide to Driving in Malaysia - James Ng
3. How to Build a Community - Ong Jiin Joo
4. Night Fright - Sawittri Shotiwuth Charun
5. Political Dynasties - Hafidz Ismail
6. Tips on Improving Your German, Part 2 of 3 - Kelvin Lew
7. Reflections from Study Tour of China - Yeoh Chen Chow
8. Editorial - Mohd Hafiz Noor Shams
9. Comics - luke
10. Ketupat - luke
let's go for remag 5
serenete
13-09-2004, 11:24 AM
i'm back! need to see to some matters before i can work on remag. i'm sure we'll get it done by sunday. btw thanks caitlin, you come through every time!
I've been having some trouble logging into Recom lately, so have only just gotten back into reading the SIG - no probs, man :) Sorry my submissions were a little late this time 'round.
Bloody thesis. If only it would stop from going... backwards!
:idea: serenete
20-04-2005, 12:03 PM
dear remag web admins, just wondering...why isn't remag 4 archived?